(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Children's Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Illustrated Boston, the metropolis of New England"

riass . 
Book 



COPYRIGHT DEPOSIT 



LIBRARY OF CONGRESS. 



<^^S tnpjjrig^ "^0 

Shelf ...lL^ '5— 

UNIJED STATES OF AMERICA. 



II,I,U$TRAT^D BOSTON 



THE METROPOLIS OF NEW ENGLAND 



1889 




PUBLISHED BY 

AMERICAN PUBLISHING AND ENGRAVING CO. 

I02 Chambers Street 

NEW YORK 






CopyniQHT, 1889, by 
THE AMEHICAN PUBLISHING AND ENGRAVING CO. 



INTRODUCTORY. 



I^i'in'^^ NATION'S a:rowth is centred in tlic freedom of its institutions, the multiplication and expansion 
K'^^a'S of its workshops and factories, and the increase of its commercial establishments and facilities. 
Bjr^)lTO: Herein lie the attractions to the sons and daughters of other nations where freedom is restrained, 
|:-,-,-;-<,-iy,.. i^ despotism paramount, and commerce crippled, to come and abide with us and help us to build up 
this grand Republic into the greatest and most powerful nation the world has known. 

Upon the historia?! rests the responsibility of chronicling the progress and achievements of communities 
from age to age, and of convoying to present and oncoming generations a faithful representation of the times 
in which he lives. The publishers of this volume have been actuated by a desire to place before the readers of 
these pages, not merely an account of Boston as it was in the past, but as it exists to-day — with its vast empo- 
riums of commerce; its thousands of industrial establishments; its hundreds of wharves, to and from which the 
merchantmen belonging to all the countries of the world come and go; its half a million of people, representing 
every nation and tongue; its halls of learning; its institutions for the cultivation of the arts and dissemination 
of the sciences; its charitable associations and religious edifices; its beautiful parks and drives; its memorials of 
by-gone heroes by flood and field ; its improvements over the past, in buildings and thoroughfares ; its civic 
government; and its attainment to the distinction of the manufacturing and commercial metropolis of New 
England. 

To every American citizen, some knowledge of the history of his country, and of its leading cities, is indis- 
pensable; and in the compiling of this work, telling of the origin of the second city founded on American soil, 
of its subsequent growth and present status, the publishers believe that they have not been uselessly employed, 
and that the reader will rise from the perusal of its pages with an increased knowledge of Boston and its pro- 
gressive people. This book is intended for the average American ; for the manufacturer and merchant, who 
have neither time nor disposition to plod through ten or twenty volumes of elaborate historical dissertations ; for 
the practical man of the shop, the counter, and the plough. The story of the coming of the first settlers to the 
pcar-sha[)cd peninsula on which they began the building up of the present giant city of Boston is briefly but 
iiiteresting.y told ; the great work of converting that which was but a narrow neck connecting the city to 
the mainland, into what is now the broadest part of the municipality, is adequately described ; the valiant deeds 
• if the forefathers, who sounded the tocsin and fired the first guns of the Revolution ; have been concisely but 
faithfully related, and old landmarks pointed out. But the ambition of the authors has been to give a pen-pic- 
ture, with beautiful new illustrations, of the city as it is in this year of grace 1889 ; to tell of the character of its 
multifarious manufactures, and of its miscellaneous commerce; and to make the reader acquainted with its 
representative business men, who have won fame for themselves and made the name of Boston known and 
honored in all the corners of the earth. 

The data given touching the various business enterprises have been drawn from the most authentic sources, 
have been carefully collated and intelligently revised ; and the utmost care has been exercised in order that the 
information herein given may be relied upon, since it is highly desirable that the most accurate knowledo-e 



iv INTRODUCTORY. 

with regard to a coiumunit)' so useful and progressive in trade and manufactures as Boston is should be as 
widely diffused as possible. While it is not claimed that the work is free from imperfections and shortcom- 
in^s, it is confidently asserted that no previous publication of a like character has contained so much new and 
valuable points for reference. The preparation of the work has needed much labor, patience, and perseverance; 
but, great as the task has been, the drudgery of compilation has been shorn of unpleasantness by the universal 
courtesy extended to us, and the cheerful manner in which information has been afforded wherever it was ap- 
plied for. Without such help, this work could not have been issued in the form in which it now is. To so 
many are our thanks due, that it would be impossible to tender them individually ; and though we do so col- 
lectively, our sincerity of appreciation of favors received is none the less. 

Designed for distribution among persons residing in other localities, as well as among the citizens of Bos- 
ton, and especially among those who are unacquainted with the real magnitude of the city and its extraordinary 
manufacturing and mercantile facilities, we are assured that this work will perform a mission of the highest 
utility. It is dedicated to the manufacturer, the merchant, the household, and to the libraries of the rich and of 
the poor. It is inscribed to the business man, to the father, the mother, the son, and the daughter of the Amer- 
ican family. If the man of business, the father, mother, son, and daughter shall be more proud of their ancient 
city, the " Athens of the New World," and love it and their country better, if they shall understand more 
clearly and appreciate more fully the founding, progress, and growth of liberty in the New World, and be 
brought to a more perfect knowledge of the giant strides that are being made in manufactures and commerce 
in the capital of the Old Bay State, the publishers will be abundantly repaid. 

The Publishers. 



GENERAL INDEX. 



Abbott, H. E., insurance ... iSg 

Adams, Blodget & Co. , bankers 264 

Adams, Taylor & Co., wine importing merchants 122 

Adams, F. P. , & Co. , flavoring extracts 1 5S 

Albee, H. L., & Co., manfrs. folding-beds 301 

Albee, Brown & Co., stoves, ranges, etc 2S7 

Albion Milling Co., merchant millers, etc 16S 

Alden Furniture Spring Co., The 192 

Aldrich, H., & Co., eggs, butter, and cheese 1S2 

Allan Line of Royal Mail Steamships 135 

Allen, E., & Co., woolens 24S 

Allen & Whitney, marine insurance brokers 213 

Allen, A. G., hardware, etc 242 

Allen & Ginter, manfrs. cigarettes, etc 266 

Allen Bros., manfrs. rubber and steel stamps 280 

Alliance Insurance Ass'n. The, of New York 297 

Almy, R. T., & Co., clothiers 226 

American Loan and Trust Co. of Omaha, The 138 

American Grip Machine Co 227 

American Loan and Trust Co igS 

American Fire Alarm Co 1 36 

American Investment Co., The 147 

American Manfg. Co., manfrs. fertilizers 1S3 

Amsden, J. F., & Son, bankers 175 

Anderson, Wm. G., window screens, etc iSS 

Andrews, Jno. A., & Co., wholesale grocers 124 

Andrews & Co., truckmen 290 

Appleton, G. C, real estate 271 

.'\ppleton, C. F., boots and shoes 217 

Appleton, S., insurance 144 

Appleton, Geo. B., & Co., cutlery, etc 17S 

Archer & Pancoast Manfg. Co., gas fixtures 177 

Ateshian, O. H., & Co., Turkish and Persian goods. . . 150 

Atkins. H., & Co., wine merchants 122 

Atwood, E. L. , teas, coffees, etc 2S6 

Atwood & Co., commission merchants 272 

Atwood, H. & R., oysters 203 

Babson, C , Jr., American and foreign patents 137 

Bacon. W. M., architect 259 

Bacon, F. H., shirts, etc 256 

Bailey, J. W., & Sons, mouldings, brackets, etc igo 

Bnker. J. Y., & Co., oysters 234 

Baldcrston & Daggett, rubber goods 14S 

Ballance & Sorrell, manfrs. boots and shoes 166 

Bangs & Horton, coal iSo 

Banks, D S.. tea broker 285 

Barber Bros., cigars, etc 287 

Barbour Bros. Co., The, manfrs. thread 137 



Barker & Starbird, photographic apparatus, etc 280 

Barnard's Bakery 270 

Barnes, F. G., & Son, auctioneers, etc 177 

Barnes & Cunningham, bankers and brokers 174 

Barnes, E. B., & Co., manfrs. gold and bronze frames. 160 

Baron & Co. , manfrs. cigars 295 

Barrelle & Co., auctioneers, etc 182 

Barry. J. A., millinery 262 

Bartlett, S. L., teas, cocoas, etc 305 

Bartlett, B. F. , periodicals, cigars, etc 262 

Bastey & .Sutherland, manfrs. harness, etc 24S 

Batcheller, E. & A. H., & Co., manfrs. boots and shoes. 133 

Bates, A. M., carriages, etc 1S2 

Bates, H. M., & Walley, stock brokers T15 

Battey, W. A., commission merchant 163 

Baxter, Stoner & Schenkelberger, manfrs. cut soles and 

taps 1 04 

Bay State House, Geo. Q. Pattee, propr 135 

Bay State Boiler Compound Co., manfrs. boiler com- 
pound, etc 136 

Bay State Manfg. Co., egg-beaters, etc 150 

Beal, J. W., architect 144 

Beale, C. C, publisher, and teacher of phonography. . . 169 

Beals & Co., wholesale leather remnants, etc 181 

Beals, J. W., Jr., timber land investments 180 

Beals, Col. Wm.. public decorator 269 

Beaman Bros., commission merchants 228 

Beebe, L. , & Co., cotton 179 

Beiermeister & Spicer, manfrs. collars and cuffs 240 

Bent, C. T. A., boots and shoes 246 

Berry, C, bottler of lager beer 266 

Berry, A. C, engraver and stationer 255 

Berry, H. W., pianos , 185 

Besses, R. & J., caterers 277 

Bicknell & Robinson, fire insurance 198 

Billman, C, rigger loft 2S4 

Bird, H., & Co., beef, pork, lard, etc 231 

Blackstone National Bank of Boston, The 103 

Blake, C, Furniture Co.. desks, hall-stands, etc.. .. 167 

Blake, C. D., & Co., publishers of music 172 

Blakemore, W. B., real estate 141 

Bliss, J., & Co., grocers, etc igS 

Block, E., & Sons, distillers .. .. 212 

Boardman. E. A., wine merchant 189 

BoUes & Co., bankers and brokers 3^7 

Bond, W., & Son. chronometer and watch makers.... 127 

Boston Consolidated Produce Co 152 

Boston Dyewood and Chemical Co 195 



VI 



GENERAL INDEX. 



FACE 

Boston Daily Globe, The 129 

Boston Dash Stitching Works, J. L. Taylor, Propr 244 

Boston & Gloucester Steamboat Co 207 

Boston Ice Co 168 

Boston & Lockport Block Co., manfrs. self-lubricat- 
ing metaline tackle blocks, etc 157 

Boston Mercantile Business Co 279 

Boston Paste Co., manfrs. paste 289 

Boston Photogravure Co., fine art publishers 137 

Boston PUting Co 2S5 

Boston Rubber Shoe Co 125 

Boston Type Writer Co., The 165 

Boston Tavern, Robinson & Fitzsimmons, Proprs iig 

Boston Watch Co.. W. W. Farr, propr 199 

Bourne & Co., commission merchants 141 

Bowen & Co., real estate, etc 2c,6 

Bowler, W. F., driving and working horses 244 

Boyce. E. J., manfg. jeweler 293 

Boyce Bros., furniture I74 

Boyle Bros., furniture, etc , 1S6 

Boynton & Co., commission merchants 291 

Bracket!, C. A., manfr. paper boxes, etc 237 

Bradbury, B. F., pharmacist 2S5 

Bradley's Troy Laundry, G. E. Bradley, Propr 292 

Braman, D. & Co., bankers and brokers 150 

Bray, E. L., manfr. curtain fixtures 2S3 

Brett, Wm. H., The. Engraving Co 148 

Brewster, Cobb & Estabrook, bankers no 

Brigham & Co., engravers on metal 244 

Brigham & Pillsbury. commission merchants 219 

Brine & Norcross' Reliable Stores, hosiery, gloves, etc. 119 

Broadway Hat Store, Wm. McCarthy, propr 255 

Brockway, J. L. & Co., wholesale grocers 179 

Brooks, S. P., manfr. pianos 2S0 

Brooks, J. N., cotton buyer 303 

Brown, G. D. & Co., mutton, lamb, etc 145 

Brown, E. J. & Co., cotton 252 

Brown, B F. & Co., manfrs. blackings and dressings 

for leather 126 

Brown. Riley & Co., bankers and brokers 175 

Brown, DeLoriea & Co., commission merchants 176 

Brown, A. H. & Bros., millers agts 293 

Browne. G. F., insurance, etc 206 

Brunswick-Balke-Collender Co.. billiard tables, etc.... 1S3 

Bumstead, J. F. & Co., paper hangings, etc 179 

Bunker Laundry & Towel Supply 1S6 

Burbank, E. R. , real estate, etc 294 

Burke, J. B., undertaker, etc 251 

Burnham, D S., real estate, etc ig2 

Burrill & Dutton, saws 246 

Butler, W. S. & Co., millinery goods, etc 232 

Butler, E. E., & Co., produce commission merchants.. 29S 

Caley, J , & Co., engravers, etc 261 

California Insurance Co. of San Francisco 145 

Call & Carlton, butter, cheese, etc 2S3 

Campbell Bros., loan brokers 2S4 

Campbell, C. A., & Co.. coal 1:0 

Canning & Patch, pharmacists 194 

Canny. P., West India goods, groceries, etc.. igr 

Cantwell, M., plumber 2S8 



PAGE 

Cape Ann Granite Company 172 

Carleton, R H., & Co., manfrs. boots and shoes 281 

Carleton, A. D., silver and gold plater 265 

Carr, C, mechanical engineer 229 

Carr, D. A. , stoves, ranges, etc 273 

Carrie, W. A., bank stationer, etc 304 

Carrington, R., bookbinder 266 

Carter, C. N., cloaks, suits, and furs 164 

Carter's Band, T. M. Carter, leader 250 

Casey, II. D., manfr. and gilder of frames. . , 2;S 

Caswell, Livermore & Co., salt and pickled fish 176 

Chamberlin, S. W., manfrs. steam cookers 277 

Chandler & Farquhar, hardware, etc 27^ 

Chapin, Trull & Cc . distillers of rum 146 

Chapin Bros., wholesale producecommission 159 

Chapman, A. F , publisher 199 

Chard, D. T.. & Co., cigars 301 

Chase. R. G., & Co., proprs. Chase Nurseries 252 

Chase, W. P.. book lettering and stamping, etc 186 

Chessman, G. H., & Co.. general commission merchants 219 
Chester M.uiufacturin'j Co., suspenders, braces, etc.... 221 

Chicago Lumber Co., A. H. Bolton & Co., agts 202 

Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul Railway 160 

Child, A. J., boarding uid baiting stable 263- 

Cigarmakers' Coonerative Association, The 153 

Citizens' Mutual Insurance Co 197 

Clark, C. C, printer and publisher 279 

Clark, G. A., broker in chemicals 225 

Clark, H. H.. & Co., book printers 233 

Clark, C, insurance 250 

Clark. R. F.. stock broker 168 

Clark & Haley, commission merchants 172 

Clarke. G. R.. & Co., interior decorations 216 

Clarke. G. A. , designer 294 

Clapp, A , & Co., wholesale lumber 232 

Clatur, A. A., leather remnants 102 

Clayton, F. I., tailor 212 

Cleaves, J. H., weigher and ganger 246 

Clement. H. E., & Co., watches, jewelry, etc 302 

Codman & Hall, drugs, etc 239 

Cohn, L., & Co., manfrs. picture frames, etc 241 

Cohn. I., clothing, etc 303 

Coffin. Geo. W., insurance 126 

Collins & Co., real estate, etc 180 

Comer's Commercial College 159 

Commonwealth Loan & Trust Co 15S 

Condell, W. S.. agt. Union Pacific Railway 259 

Condon, T. J., provisions, etc 268 

Conner, W. N., propr. London Hair Store 290 

Coolidge House, Wm P. Comee, propr igg 

Coon, H. J.. & Co.. grain shippers 252 

Coon, H.. &Co., masons, contractors, etc 300 

Cosmopolitan Dining Room, The 255 

Cosiigan. E. A., shipwright and caulker 303 

Cotton & Haley, commission merchants 187 

Cousens & Pratt, sail makers 295 

Cowan. H., watch materials, etc 232 

Coy. S. I., restaurant 156 

Crafts & Co.. druggists 299 

Crawford House 102 



GENERAL INDEX. 



Cressy, M. D., & Co., teamsters and forwarders 245 

Crine, H., manfr. fur garments, etc 133 

Crocker & Eldridge, wholesale grocers 163 

Crosby, Geo. E., & Co., printers 295 

Crowell, S. R., ship broker 293 

Cullen, J. P. , provisions 259 

Cummings, J. A., Printing Co 114 

Curtis, J. G., & Co., coffees and spices 214 

Curtis & Motley, stock and bond brokers 152 

Curtis & Weld, costumers I54 

Cushing, Wm. , & Co. , real estate, etc 237 

Dale, J. P., & Co., publishers and bookbinders 196 

Damm & Penkert, manfrs. clarinets, flutes, etc igi 

Damrell & Upham, bookseller 23S 

Dana, T., & Co., wholesale grocers 210 

Dasey, C. V., steamship agt 143 

Davenport, Peters & Co., lumber 260 

Davenport, Chas. L., salt 151 

Davis, Stebbins, & Co., hardware, etc 274 

Davis, J., & Son, ship stores, etc 265 

Dawson, J. F., gold gilder 125 

Dean, S. B., cut soles and leather 23S 

Deering, Wm., & Co., grain and grass cutting machinery. 122 

De Lue, G. V., & Co., carpenters and builders 246 

Demain, W. C, & Son, manfrs. blank-books, etc 229 

Denham. M. T., treasr. and agt. for Eastern Forge Co. 208 

Dennett, J. A., paper hangings, etc 292 

Derry, C. T., & Co., granite, etc 20S 

Desk E.xchange, office and library furniture 202 

Dewey, S. W, & Co. , cotton buyers 200 

Diamond Cutting 134 

Diaz, R. M., & Co., wholesale hardware 184 

Dickerman, G. H., & Co., manfrs. paper boxes 152 

Dickey, L., manfr. whips, etc 276 

Dinner, I. H., ladies' traveling caps, etc 305 

Dixon, J. B., & Co., lumber 201 

Doane & Co., ship brokers 282 

Doane, A. S., & Co., engravers and printers 242 

Doane, F., & Co., manfrs. blank-books, etc 114 

Dole, C. G., mutton, lamb, etc 105 

Doll & Richards, fine arts 212 

Dooling. J., caterer and confectioner 178 

Dorr, C. A., note broker 265 

Dow, E. C, outer and inner soles, etc 293 

Dowling, P. F., fish and oysters 255 

Downer & Co., bankers and brokers 207 

Drew Bros., groceries, etc 298 

Driscoll, y., manfr. cigars 288 

Dubin & Carroll, manfrs. cigars 266 

Dunbar, D. A., poultry and game 231 

Dimbar, W. H., & Co., tailors 223 

Dunning, G. H., beef, pork, lard, etc 247 

Dunshee & Co., photographers 302 

Dyer, L. M., mutton, lamb, etc 219 

Dyer, Rice & Co., straw goods, robes, furs, etc 127 

Dyer. J. T.. & Co., gents' furnishers 167 

Dyke, Shute & Co., weighers 184 

Eames, C. E.. druggist 182 

Earle, J. H.. publisher, etc 272 

Earle, J., & Co., tailors 224 



Eastern Lobster Co., S. S. Poole, mgr 192 

Eddy, P. E., insurance 215 

Eddy, R. H., solicitor of patents 175 

Edmands, W. H., optician 164 

Egin, Wm., manfr. pipes 304 

Elliot, C. E., & Co., tailors 275 

Elliott, C. D., civil engineer, etc 162 

Ellis, J. D., paper and linen collars 275 

Emerson, W. R., architect 153 

Emerson, T. W., & Co., seeds 173 

Emerson, W. H., molasses and sugar 302 

Emerson, H. P., & Co., manfrs. agts 304 

Emery, J., Jr. ,& Co., wholesale fish 192 

Emery, W. H. & S. L., coal, etc 202 

Eppler cS: .\dams Sewing-machine Co 238 

Essex Boot & Shoe Co., L. F. Keene, propr 236 

Eustis & .\ldrich, genl. commission merchants 228 

Eutebrouk, C. H., importer and gun maker 289 

Everett, E. F. , insurance adjuster 195 

Eyelett Tool Co., G. W. Robbins, agt 177 

Faccini, L., & Co., wines, brandies, etc 214 

Fairbank, N. K., & Co, lard refiners 169 

Family Grocery and Wine Store 27S 

Faneuil Hall National Bank 114 

Farmers' Loan & Trust Co 167 

Farrell, J. R., tailor 2S7 

Favor, E. W., groceries, etc 270 

Faxon, C. A,, genl. agt. Cheshire, Central Vermont & 

Del. & Hudson Canal Co.'s Railroads 25S 

Farley, Harvey, & Co., dry goods in 

Fisher & Fairbanks, rock cordials, etc 1S6 

Fisher, A. P., & Co., brokers in grain, etc 134 

Fisher's Restaurant 128 

Fisk, M., cigars 233 

Fisk's Lunch and Dining Rooms 277 

Fitzpatrick, D. W., tailor 260 

Fitzmeyer, W. J., japanner 282 

Fletcher. J. V., beef, pork, lard, etc 299 

Fliiner, J. H., & Co., general commission merchants. . igo 

Florence Shirt Co., The 244 

Fobes, Hay ward & Co. (incorp.), m.anfrs. confectionery 106 

Fogg, A. T., embroideries, etc 220 

Fogg Bros. & Co., bankers, etc 166 

Foss & Gault, hosiery, etc 276 

Foster, D. W., manfr. horse blankets, etc 270 

Foster, H. H., & Co., coal and wood 254 

Foster, C. , & Son, groceries, etc 1 1 S 

Fowle, Hibbard & Co., produce commission merchants 140 
Fowle, E. M., & Co., shipping and commission mer- 
chants 151 

Fox, A., & Co., manfrs. cloth hats and caps 120 

Frank, D., & Co., cigars 188 

Franklin Rubber Co.. Fuller, Leonard & Small, proprs. 213 

Frazier, L. B., stockbroker 227 

French Bros. , provisions, groceries, etc 1 1 1 

French, C. E., distiller of N. E. rum 1S7 

French, W. C, bedsteads, etc 196 

French, J.. & Sons, real estate, etc 203 

French. F., employment Agency 172 

Frink & Hayes, builders of gas and water works 135 



GENERAL INDEX. 



Furness Line of Steamships 139 

Gatcomb, L. B., & Co., raanfrs. banjos, guitars, etc. .. 183 

Gay & Jeffrey, provisions, etc 267 

Gay, A. R.. & Co., manfrs. account boolcs 140 

Gendron, Miss A. M., photographer 247 

George, I. M., & Co., commission merchants 22S 

Gilman, J. T., apothecary 279 

Gill, J. W., fish, oysters, etc 278 

Gillespie & Hutchinson, dry and fancy goods, etc 258 

Gillette & Hennigan, wholesale apples, oranges, etc.. . 175 

Gillis, F. E.. photographer 268 

Gleason & Kimball, commission merchts. in fruits, etc. 204 

Gleeson, T. \V., & Co., electricians 28 1 

Glen Shirt and Collar Co.; A. B. Rice, manager 232 

Goldberg, H. H., manfr. cigars 267 

Goldsmith, Silver & Co., manfrs. cigars 106 

Goodman, J., & Co., fire insurance. ... 118 

Goodridge, M . E. , stable 260 

Gore, T. W., average adjuster 214 

Gossler & Co., bankers and importers 162 

Gould & Co., wholesale paint 297 

Gould's Hat, Trunk, and Glove Depot 262 

Graham, T. J., & Co., manfrs. trunks, etc 251 

Grant Jott, water filters iii 

Gray, E. E., commission merchant 276 

Great Atlantic & Pacific Tea Co. , The 178 

Green, C, & Co., clothing 154 

Green, B. F., & Co., tailors 16S 

Grose, J. R. , manfr. paper boxes 195 

Gustin, H, E., & Co., country produce 292 

Hadley, A. G., stair builder 249 

Haines, F. H., jeweler and optician 283 

Haley's Fashionable Millinery 272 

Hall, G. O., dentist 290 

Hall, J., & Son, carriages, etc 172 

Hall, C. E., & Co., marble 115 

Hall, D. F., meats, provisions, etc 254 

Hall & Cole, commission merchants 221 

Hall, J. M., & Co., house painters 261 

Hallett, F. E., commission merchant 2S4 

Halma, H. P., sailmaker. etc 275 

Hamlin & Martin, furniture, etc 290 

Hammett, J. L., school furniture, etc 179 

Hammond Type Writer Co 141 

Hancock Inspirator Co., The, manfrs. inspirators.... 103 

Hano, Sam'l .Co., manfrs. manifold books 220 

Hanson, M. F., boarding, hack and livery stable 302 

Harrington & Freeman, watches, diamonds, etc 149 

Harrison, Beard & Co., manfrs. furniture, etc 302 

Harrison, E. S., & Co., proprs. Dr. Harrison's Peris- 

talic Lozenges, etc 245 

Harmon, J. W., manfr. spirit levels, etc 256 

Hartnett, E. J., millinery 292 

Haskell, H. A., manfr. Eureka Pipe Bender 128 

Haskins Bros., isinglass, Irish moss, etc 159 

Haskins, W,, & Son, lumber 195 

Hastings, H. C, bookseller, etc 239 

Hatch, L. P.. hats. caps, etc 143 

Hatch, S., & Co.. auctioneers 251 

Hatch, D. B., manfr. paper and wood boxes 256 



Hatch, H., & Co., steel and stencil letter-cutting 259 

Hatchman, J., manfr. moldings and picture-frames.... 263 

Hathaway, Soule & Harrington, manfr. men's shoes . . 131 

Hathevvay & Co., ship and freight brokers 185 

Hawes, G. W., manfr. suspenders, etc 190 

Hawes, J. P., broker in fertilizers 248 

Hawkes & Crawford, plumbers, etc 256 

Hawkes, B. L., stationery, etc 244 

Hayden, Geo. E., costumer 288 

Hayden, A. L. , boots and shoes 266 

Hayes, S. C. & Co., commission merchants 280 

Haynes, A., manfr. white wine and cider vinegar, etc.. 240 

Hazeltine, H., & Co., butter, cheese, and eggs 162 

Heald, A. V. , meats, etc 267 

Hearn, T. H., apothecary. 274 

Heath & Co., apothecaries 216 

Heath, L., & Co., manfg. opticians 184 

Hewes & Mayo, sign and office painters 275 

Hewins & Hollis, outfitters 234 

Higgins, R. R., & Co., wholesale oysters 152 

Highton, W., & Sons, manfrs. of hot-air registers, etc . 21c 

Hills, R., watchmaker 283 

Hilton, H. C, commission merchant 272 

Hilton & Woodward, mutton, lamb, etc 238 

Hinckley Bros., & Co., cordage, chains, etc 184 

Hitchcock & Browne, druggists 255 

Hixon, W. S., & Co., manfrs. soapslone 181 

Hobbs, H. B.. sign painter, etc 281 

Hobday, Thos. W., mechanical draughtsman 244 

Hodges, L. L. , japanner 185 

Hodgdon, W. S.. manfr. tongues, stays, etc 254 

Hodgman Rubber Co., manfrs. India-rubber goods. . . . 131 

Holden, C. W.. insurance igo 

Holden. F., & Co., beef, pork, lard, etc 297 

Holland, Dr. A. J., dentist 266 

Hollis, C. N., commission merchant 196 

Hollis, T., drugs, etc 227 

Holman, J., & Co., bedding and bed lounges, etc 249 

Holmes, E. D., lumber, etc 301 

Holmes, W. A., &. Co.. grocers 221 

Holmes, T. J., specialist in atomizing tubes, etc 261 

Hoi way Bros., & Woodbury, sailmakers 277 

Homer, J. W., real estate 181 

Hood, R. S. , scrap iron, etc 303 

Houghton & Colby, grain and feed 156 

Howard, M. E , &. Co., printers 290 

Howard National Bank of Boston, The 106 

Howe. I. A., manfr. shirts, etc 227 

Howe. O. F., wooden and widow ware 203 

Howe, J. M., real estate, etc 247 

Howes, A. C, hotel and restaurant supplies 269 

Howland, F. H., men's furnishings 282 

Hoyt. G. T.. & Co., sailmakers, etc 273 

Hovt & Tripp, mechanical draughtsmen 291 

Hubbard. J., & Co., manfrs. Hubbard's Deodorizer and 

Germicide 183 

Hubbard. J.. & Co., manfrs. and proprs. Hubbard's 

Deodorizer 193 

Humphrey. B. F.. blank-book manfr 274 

Hunnewell, J. W., & Co., wholesale petroleum 132 



GENERAL INDEX. 



Hutu, Rodney, Machine Co ... 155 

Huston, W. A., druggist 294 

Hutchinson, J. F., & Co., wholesale and commission 

butter, cheese, etc 1 70 

Hyde, E J., insurance, etc 2^6 

Ingalls, Brown & Co., leather 119 

IngersoU Rock Drill Co., Mellen S. Harlow, mgr 213 

International Trust Co 123 

Irving. K., flour mill products iiS 

Isburgh & Co., carriage dealers 252 

Jacobs, S., & Bros., manfrs. cigars 272 

]eaneret. A. E., watchmaker and manfr. of Diamond 

Luster.. 145 

Jeliison, J. M., & Co., Boston and Maine Drug Co. ... 227 

Jeselsohn, L., tobacconist 2S1 

lewell & Co.. bankers and brokers 145 

Jewett, F. P., coffee broker 24S 

Johnson, J. P., produce and provisions 267 

Johnson. B., mutton, lamb, etc 231 

Johnson, F. H., & Co., fish 230 

Jones, M. D., & Co., manfrs. ornamental iron work.. 212 

Jones, J. F., & Co., oils, etc 245 

Jordan, Lovett & Co., insurance 151 

Judge, R., tailor.... 17S 

Kansas Investment Co loS 

Keenan, M. H., printer 272 

Keenan, J., wool and wool stock 272 

Keenan, M. T. J., glass cutter 255 

Keene, C. S., agt. Buchanan and Lyall's tobaccos 130 

Kelley, S. D., architect 243 

Kellogg, H., Jr., note broker 262 

Kelly, T., & Co , birds, etc 271 

Kendall, G. A., feathers, etc iSi 

Kenney, A, E. , furniture, etc 255 

Kent, John; agt., A. French Spring Co., Limited, and 

Carnegie Phipps & Co., Limited 106 

Kent, J. L., & Co., commission brokers 157 

Kerr, W., & Son, watches, etc 257 

Keys, D. W., & Co., produce commission merchants. . 2S3 

Kilborn, Whitman, &Co. , manfrs. furniture 300 

Kimball, Chas., photographer 264 

Kimball Bros., beef, pork, lard, etc 225 

Kimball, L. L. , & Co., wholesale fruit and produce.... log 
Kimball's Fine Confectionery, R. H. Kimball, propr. .. 223 

Knapp. J. M., machine and tool forging 2S7 

KnoAvle-K & Co., grain shippers . . 215 

Koeller, F.. cutter 291 

Koschwitz & Co., lithographic engravers and printers.. 266 

Ladd, N. M., boots, shoes, etc 263 

Laforme and Frothingham, commission merchants. .. . 127 

Lalley. C. H., wholesale bottles 273 

Lamb, B. F., & Co., lumber 161 

Lamkin, G., & Co., manfrs. boots and shoes 305 

Lane, E. A., painter, etc 268 

Lane & Small, machinists 300 

Lapworth, J., carving, etc 279 

Laycock, R., tailor 299 

Law. G. H., musical instruments 265 

Lawrence & Robinson, real estate 240 

Lawrence, H. L., & Co., poultry, etc 211 



Lawson, W. S., & Co., bankers and brokers 195 

Learnard & Bird Oil Co., The 230 

Learnard, S. S., beef, pork, lard, etc ... 204 

Leavitt, A., manfr. church organ keys 19S 

Leavitt, M. L. H., Ph.G., pharmacist 251 

Leighton, R. B., insurance, etc 200 

Leland, A.M., music goods ... 294 

Leman. F. N., sign painter 231 

Lennon & Co., brass founders and finishers, etc 156 

Lent & Braham, tailors' trimmings 296 

Levy, D., manfr. clothing 170 

Levy, B., & Co., French perfumers 193 

Levy, B., & Co., French perfumers 193 

Lewando's French Dyeing and Cleansing Establishment 

and Laundry, W. L. Crosby, mgr 194 

Lewis, D. \V., sewer and drain pipes, etc 14S 

Lewis, B., stationery, etc 240 

Lewis' Wharf Tow-boats. N. P. Doane, agt 274 

Libbie, C. F., Jr., printer 280 

Lincoln, W., & Son, insurance 196 

Lincoln, F. H., real estate, etc 175 

Lindall's Band, Lindall, C. E., mgr 263 

Litchfield. H. C, & Co., manfrs. of fishing tackle, etc. 153 

Littlefield, W. H., & Co., apothecaries 262 

Littlefield, G. E., old books, etc 190 

Livermore. A. H., dentist 27S 

Lloyd. G. H., manfg. optician 118 

Locke, H . . beef 236 

Lockett. W., & Co., merchandise brokers 295 

Lockhart, W. L., manfrs. coffins, etc 138 

Logan, S. B., auctioneer, etc 303 

Lombard, H. S., clothing, etc 278 

Lombard, N. C, mechanical engineer, etc 203 

Loring & Clark, insurance 237 

Lougee, G. F., & Co., cotton brokers and buyers 127 

Lovell, A. J., grocer 2S6 

Low, O., real estate, etc 206 

Lowe, W. W., real estate, etc 146 

Lowell, R. M., plumber 294 

Lundahl, E. W., photographic printer 284 

Lydon, P. W., music plate printer 258 

Lyman & White, stationers and printers 144 

Macdonnell, Mrs. S. A., gloves 223 

Macullar, Parker & Co., clothing lor 

Manning, W. E. & Co., real estate, etc no 

Manning & Bro., oils, etc 156 

Mariner & Williams, shipping agts 294 

Market National Bank no 

Marshall, H., & Co. , printers. 253 

Marshall, J. E., manfr. Saratoga potato chips 194 

Marston, J. W., & Co., wholesale lobsters 271 

Martin, W. H., window tickets, show cards, etc 2go 

Martin, A. P., & Co., manfrs. boots and shoes 139 

Mason & Co. . coin dealers i Sg 

Massachusetts Mutual Fire Insurance Co 114 

Massachusetts Loan and Trust Co., The 146 

Massachusetts Real Estate Co. , Geo. Leonard, genl. agt. 147 

Mattson, J., & Co., real estate and insurance 243 

Mazeppa Sign Co. , F. F. Applequist, mgr i S5 

McAdams, W. M. L., stationer, etc. .... 24? 



GENERAL INDEX. 



McArthur, A., & Co., furniture and carpets 142 

McCarthy, J. H., mutton, lamb, etc 292 

McCarthy, C. F., manfg. jeweler 191 

McCarthy. N. F., & Co., flowers, etc 234 

McClean, A., & Co., lumber, etc 294 

McCleery, A, L., sawing, planing, and moulding 214 

McCoster, T., photographer 304 

McDonald, A., manfr. trunks, bags, etc 250 

VU Ehvin, D., manfr. show cases, etc 287 

.McFarland. F. J., grocer 283 

McFarlin, G. R., china, glass, etc 234 

McGraih, J., real estate, etc 204 

McGreenery Bros., cigars, etc 240 

Mrlntyre, P., & Co., wholesale grocers 1S8 

McKay, H. S., architect 171 

McKenney. C. H., & Co. , manfrs. gas fixtures 149 

McKey, J. W., crockery, china, etc ... 257 

McLean, Ella C, artist 279 

McMahon, T., cigars, etc 263 

McPherson Bros., commission merchants 203 

Measures. J., brass foundery 2S6 

Mckclburg & Cobe, manfrs. cigar 199 

Melledge. R. J. , mortgages 243 

Mercantile Fire & Marine Insurance Co 140 

Merchandise National Bank ... 136 

Merchants' National Bank of Boston, The 171 

Merchants' & Miners' Transportation Co 174 

Messer, G. E., &. Co., black walnut and amber work. . 201 

Metropolis Land Company of Boston 124 

Metropolitan Steamship Co 132 

Miller & Son. manfg. confectioners 305 

Miller, The. Boot and Shoe Trees, O. A. Miller, propr. 204 

Miller, E. W., manfr. Miller's Reform Boot 235 

Miller. R., & Co., manfrs. sails, etc 280 

Mills & Gibb, lace curtains, etc 225 

Mills. Miss V. A., corsets and panniers 263 

Missouri Pacific Railway Co., The 154 

Mitchell, A. R., & Co., cigars and tobacco 235 

Mitchell. A. S., auctioneer, etc 181 

More, C. H., & Co., granites 170 

Morrill, F. W., & Co., butter, cheese, etc 254 

Morrill, J. Jr., & Co., manfrs. soap and candles 15S 

Morrison, E. L, & Co., commission merchants 222 

Morse, H. & A., & Co., coal.. 300 

Morse, E., manfr. billiard tables 202 

Morse, R., wines, liquors, etc 242 

Moulton, B. S., & Co., art gallery, etc 176 

Muc;ridge, C. R., carpenter 2S6 

Munch, C. R.. Jr., hat tip printer 276 

Munch. H. W., manfr. ribbon badges for societies, etc. 257 

Murphy, M. J., undertaker 271 

Murphv, W. T., watchmaker, etc 191 

Murray. R. p., provisions 266 

Myers Bros. & Co., tobacco manfrs 194 

Nardi. J., & Co., manfrs. Moorish and Nubian figures. 249 

Nash, M. E., furnaces, stoves, etc 265 

National Supply Co., J. Brodie, mgr 193 

National Supply Co.. clothing, dry goods, etc 193 

National Mortgage & Debenture Co 116 

National Bank of the Commonwealth 155 



National Plating Co 292 

Naylor, R. F. , real estate, etc 202 

Ness County Bank, Ness City, Kansas, A. E. Alvord, 

Eastern mgr 132 

Newell, J. S., & Co., mechanical engineers, etc 289 

Newhall, F. C, wood easels, fire screens, etc 238 

Newhall & English, costumers 262 

Newhall, J. Q., pattern maker 211 

New England Weston Electric Light Co., The 123 

New England House, J. T. Wilson, prop 113 

New England Furniture E.xchange 2S5 

New England Supply Co., clothing, dry goods, etc 278 

New England Steam Cooperage Co., manfrs. tanks, 

casks, etc ; 1 39 

New England Grip Co 224 

New England Lobster Co., G. L. Young, mgr 190 

New England & Savannah Steamship Co 170 

Newman, J., & Sons, floral artists 220 

Niagara Fire Insurance Co., Henry B. Turner, genl agt. 205 

Nichols & Fish, manfrs. cigar boxes, etc 282 

Nichols, L. E., watches and clocks 275 

Nichols, O., & Co., manfrs. Resilene Heeling 246 

Nickerson, W. E., patentee of Nickerson's Hydraulic 

Elevator Safety 22g 

Nickerson & Glidden, commission merchants 296 

Nims, O. F.. apothecary 268 

Norris & Corthell, insurance, etc 187 

Norris Piano & Diamond Co 112 

North, C. H., & Co., packers and curers of pork, etc. . 185 

Northern Assurance Co., of London 155 

Nowell, C, real estate, etc 204 

Noyes, E. W., printer 269 

Noyes, B., mortgages 236 

Ober, C. S., & Co., manfrs. table sauce 108 

Oberle, F. X., manfr. cigars 260 

O'Brion, T. L. , insurance , 200 

O'Callaghan, T.. & Co., carpetings, etc 128 

Ocean Steamship Berth Co , no 

O'Hara, F. J., & Co., wholesale fish, etc 177 

Old Boston National Bank 154 

Old Colony Grocery, Wm. C. Cooledge, propr 304 

Oliver, D. M., & Co., pork, lard, hams, etc 216 

Oriental Coffee House Co 217 

Orne, C, W^, butchers' scales, saws, etc . 247 

Osgood, J. H. , & Co., printers' rollers 218 

Otis, G. D., & Co., bonded truckman, etc 151 

Page, M. S., & Co., merchandise and money brokers.. 205 

Paine, A. W., tailor 246 

Palmer, Parker & Co., mahogany and veneers 222 

Park House, W. D. Park & Son, proprs 129 

Parker, F. M., provisions, etc 267 

Parker, G. S., real estate, etc 2co 

Parkinson & Burr, bankers and brokers 239 

Patten & Stratton, photographers 300 

Patterson, R. A., & Co., tobacco manfrs 156 

Patterson & Lavender, manfrs. show cases, etc 179 

Paul, W, F., paper stock 247 

Pazolt, T. C, &Son, furs 224 

Pease, C. F., bindings for carpets, etc 296 

Peck Bros., printers, etc 126 



GENERAL INDEX. 



Pelonsky, M., dry and fancy goods, etc 287 

Peninsular Novelty Co., The. manfrs. button attaching 

machines and fastners 297 

Percival, J. P. T., pharmacist .... 133 

Peretii, L., cigars 242 

Perlcins, A. D., mutton, lamb, etc 221 

Perkins, C. L , manfr. candies, etc 162 

Perry, J. P., & Co., plumbers, etc 259 

Perry, W. A., real estate, etc 297 

Pettee Machine Works, manfrs. cotton mill machinery 22S 

Phelps, F. S, insurance iiS 

Phenix Hotel, I. M. Southuick, propr 268 

Phillips, W. P., manfr. lubricators, etc 177 

Pickens, L. W. , planing mill 249 

Pinkhani, H. W., provisions, etc 2S6 

Pinopalmine Co., George C. Stewart, mgr 104 

Plumer & Co., commission merchants in flour, etc. . . . 151 

Pollock, C, photographs 230 

Pond, G. L., & Co., real estate brokers 239 

Porter, J. W., insurance 126 

Porter, W., & Co., fire insurance 165 

Porter, A., optician 175 

Post, J., Jr., & Co., mechanical engineers 115 

Potter, C. D., commission merchant, etc 142 

Power, J. E.. designer and engraver 269 

Power, T. C, employment agency 244 

Power, J., manfr. corks 293 

Powers, C, musical goods, etc 264 

Pratt, I. L., & Co., metals 303 

Pray, B. S., commission merchant 210 

Pray & Tillson, diamond cutters 299 

Preston. G., commission merchant 303 

Prior, W. H., mutton, lamb, veal, etc 21S 

Pullen, O. C, market 267 

Quimby, M. T., & Co., manfg. jewelers, etc 164 

Quincy, The, G. G. Mann, propr 117 

Quincy Club Stable, H. W. Miller, manager 2iS 

Rand, C. F., auctioneer, etc 197 & 306 

Raymond, G. P., costume parlors 242 

Read, Hawkins & Co., flour and produce 192 

Read Furniture Co., The Geo. E , 140 

Read W. , & Sons, guns, sporting goods, etc 296 

Reardan, J., & Co., engraved and painted signs 272 

Reardon. M.. manfr. horse collars 303 

Redding Electrical Co., manfrs. electrical supplies. . . . 130 

Reed & Bro. , fire insurance 226 

Reed, W. G., fire insurance 146 

Revere House, J. F. Merrow & Co., proprs 105 

Reversible Collar Co., manfrs. collars and cuffs 188 

Reynolds. A. N., & Co., manfrs. oils. 116 

Rice, J. S., & Co., manfrs. tin cans, etc 264 

Rice & Hohvay, commission merchants 148 

Richards Si Co., tin plates, etc 211 

Rink, J. J., blacksmith, etc 250 

Ritchie & Brown, auctioneers 15S 

Ritz, E. F.. photographic artist 182 

Roach. G. F.. & Co., furniture, etc 216 

Roberts, J. N., collateral banking rooms 1S2 

Robbins, N.. poultry and wild game 241 

Robinson, W, F., & Co., wholesale beef, pork, etc. . . 157 



Robinson, C. F., produce commission merchant 265 

Roby, W. G., & Co., metal dealers 112 

Rockwell. G. C, & Son, produce commission merchants 261 

Rock wood, E. E. , apothecary 259 

Rodonachi, J. M., Smyrna and Mediterranean products 304 

Rogers, L. A., & Co., commission merchants 209 

Rollins, L. B., & Co., commission merchants 274 

Rowe, R., insurance, etc 142 

Rovve, A. A., & Son, forwarding agts. and truckmen. . 2S8 

Ruggles & Buss, commission merchants 250 

Russell, B, B., publisher 283 

Russell Counter Co., manfr. waterproof moulded stif- 

fenings 133 

Russell, J. M,, publisher of sheet music 248 

Russell, C, & Co., wholesale ice 192 

Russell, D., steam and gas pipe, etc 298 

Rydingsvard, K. A., wood carver 139 

Sages Trunk Depot, O. F. Sage, propr 295 

Samuels, E. A., publisher 1 1 1 

Sanborn, C. B., & Co., produce commission merchants. 258 
Sanderson & Son. genl. agts. Wilson Line of Steamers. 225 

Sargent, F., & Co., manfrs. carriages, etc 191 

Sargent, E. P., Jr., & Co., manfg. stationers, etc 200 

Savory, T. C, banner painter 222 

Sawyer, G. A., mutton, lamb, veal, etc 131 

Sawyer, N., & Son, printers 161 

Sawyer, E., civil and mechanical engineer 166 

Scanlon & Dillon, fruit, vegetables, etc 170 

Schaefer, W. R. & Son, sporting goods, etc 236 

Schloss, N., wholesale cigars and tobacco 225 

Schmidt, S., manfr. jewelery, etc 246 

Schwarz, R., toys 258 

Scribner, H. M. & Co. , photographers, etc 279 

Schofield, W. J., printer 247 

Scott, Jesse, confectionery 276 

Scull & Bradley, fire and marine insurance 103 

Sears People's Drug Store, G. T. Sears, propr 166 

Sears, J. H. & Co., shipping commission merchants... 161 

Seaverns, H., hair felt, etc 226 

Security Investment Co 235 

Sewell & Day Cordage Co 216 

Sewing Machine Supplies Co., The 245 

Sexauer. W. L., manfr. cigars 263 

Sharp, S. T., foreign exchange and insurance 247 

Shattuck & Jones, fish, etc 228 

Shaw, E. A., cotton buyer 237 

Shedd & Crane, leather 222 

Sheehan, D. C, fruits and produce 256 

Shepard & Morse Lumber Co 144 

Sherman, C. J. F., & Son, watches, clocks, etc 271 

Sherman, J. W. , stationery, toys, etc 2S8 

Shurtleff Bros., commission merchants 281 

Siebert, H., leather and findings 267 

Silsby, B. F., confectioner 291 

Simonds. C. H., & Co., printers 264 

Simmons, Arasden & Co., fruit and vegetables 218 

Simpson Bros. , asphalt floors, etc 180 

Singleton, T.. & Son. manfrs. glassware 269 

Siskind. L., & Co., 5 and 10 cent goods 278 

Skillings, Whitneys & Barnes Lumber Co 150 



GENERAL INDEX. 



Slade, L., butter, cheese, etc 289 

Slayion & Boynton, commission merchants 264 

Smith, J., & Son, fish, etc 26S 

Smith, E. F., photographer 256 

Smith, T. E., cigars, etc 256 

Smith, T. J., tea broker 145 

Smith & Blanchard, wholesale lumber 131 

Smith, W. E., fruits, etc 206 

Smith, Wm. A., diainonds 250 

Smith, H. W., watchmaker 115 

Smith, L. B., & Co., manfrs. machine screws, etc isg 

Smith, F. A., & Co., commission and wholesale paper. 164 

Smith, J., & Co., manfrs. harness, etc 173 

Smith, Geo. W., insurance 2S9 

Snow, P., ladies' and gents' furnishings 271 

Snow, J. P., railroad lands 153 

Snow & Higgins, groceries 171 

Snow, T. G., manfr. Commonwealth Solid Cream, etc. 2SS 
Soule, Dillingham & Co , pavers and street railway 

contractors 230 

Sowden, C, signs and show-cards 2S4 

Spalding, Elms & Co., tailors' trimmings 231 

Spencer, S. M., stencil and stamp works 1S7 

Sprague Mrs. H., dry and fancy goods 251 

Spring Lane Furnishing Co., gents' furnishing goods. . loi 

Stahl, H., manfr. cigars 2S6 

Standard Cordage Co., manfrs. cordage and binders' 

twine 103 

Stanwood, F., cotton buyer 273 

Slarratt, D. W., & Co., tailors 223 

Stearns, W., & Co., wholesale grocers 283 

Stedman & Kellogg, bankers and brokers 166 

Stetson, A. M., & Co., coal, wood, etc 143 

Stevens, CD., millinery 252 

Stevens, E. F., photographer 137 

Stewart, Miss M. B., typewriter, etc 254 

Stewart, H., manfr. carriages, etc 25S 

Stillings, E. B., & Co., stationers and printers 109 

Stockwell, F. F., engraver 2S4 

Stone. C. D., & Co., grocers 186 

Story & Stevens, wholesale fish 1 76 

Story, O. L., scenic artist igS 

Stratton, G. F., mouldings 248 

Strecker, L., & Co., manfrs. pants, etc 299 

Stiibbs, J. A., wholesale oysters, etc 164 

Sturtevant Mill Co., manfrs. mills for crushingores, etc. 121 

Suffolk National Bank of Boston, The. ... 130 

Sullivan Consolidated Gold Mining Co ... 124 

Sumner, F. H., & Co., bankers and brokers iSS 

Swain, Earle & Co., teas and coffees 163 

Swift, T. S., horse-shoer 26S 

Sylvester, W. A., mechanical draughtsman 270 

Tamarack Mining Co 174 

Tarbox & Clarke, flour, etc 249 

Taylor, H. VV., real estate, etc 222 

Taylor, Dr. E. S., demist 212 

The Quincy, G. G. Mann, propr 117 

Thomas, F., manfr. candies 282 

Thompson, A. T., & Co., manfrs. stereoptlcons, etc.. 137 
Thompson, E. W., N. E. Pass. Agt. C, R. I. & P. Ry. 291 



Thorndike Bros., beef, mutton, etc 291 

Tighe & Burke, grocers 223 

Tilton, S., & Co., tobacco 162 

Tinkham, J., undertaker 260 

Todd, Thomas, printer 123 

Todd, F. W., & Co., real estate, etc 210 

Tower, H. C, commission merchant 247 

Townsend, T. W. , real estate;, etc 264 

Toy, D., tailor 304 

Tracey. photographer 186 

Tregurtha, J., machinist 271 

Trickey, F. P., boarding, baiting, and sale stable 165 

Triggs, F. J. , representing Arthur & Bonnell, lithog- 
raphers 298 

Troeder, A., Eliot Loan Co 251 

Try on, S. C, beef, pork, lard, etc 2ig 

Tucker, J. A., & Co., pho.^phate 112 

Turnbull, W., & Co., dry-goods commission merchants 217 

Turnbull, G. L. , clothing, etc 230 

Turner & Kaupp, silver platers, etc 218 

Turner, R. W., real estate, etc 207 

Turton, T., & Sons (Limited), manfrs. spring steel, etc. 209 

Tuttle, A. & J. E. . mechanical draughtsmen 273 

Tuttle, C. F., real estate 263 - 

Tuttle, J. W., & Sons, wholesale commission merchants 178 

Twitchell, C. A., & Co., engravers 270 

Tyler, G., & Co., agricultural machinery 140 

Union Debenture Co 109 

Union Investment Co., W. M. Mick, mgr 128 

Union Steam Sponging Works, M. Crohn, propr 300 

Valentine, L., ladies' tailor 258 

Van Dalinda, W. H., manfr. barbers' supplies 292 

Van Derveer & Holmes Biscuit Co 209 

Varney, N. R., watchmaker 2S4 

Ver Planck, E. D. . sugar, hemp, etc 144 

Vinton & Jenkins, manfrs. boots and shoes 261 

Virginia. Tennessee & Georgia Air Line 260 

Vorenberg, S., & Co., clothing . . 199 

Wainwright, H. C, & Co., stock brokers 207 

Wait & Cutter, architects 205 

Wakefield, E. H., real estate, etc 171 

Walker, G. A., Machine Co 1S3 

Walker, H. E., & Co., manfrs. stoves, ranges, etc.... 233 

Walker & Pratt Manfg. Co - 215 

Walker, S., & Co., oils, naphtha fluid, etc 246 

Wall, J. E., manfr. bamboo furniture, etc 239 

Ward, C. M., & Co., manfg, jewelers 294 

Ware, Geo. H., printer 274 

Ware, G. A., barbers' supplies 302 

Warner & Jarvis, salt 196 

Warner, R., & Co., manfrs. wooden ware, etc 171 

Warren, M. C, & Co., hardware 104 

Warren's Military Band & Orchestra 264 

Washburn, L, insurance, etc 199 

Wasserboehr, J. E., & Son, manfrs. cigars 290 

Waterhouse, W. A., lumber 208 

Waters & Litchfield, beef, pork, lard, etc 224 

Walts & Willis, commission merchants 243 

Waverly Manfg. Co., confectioners' specialties 163 

Webb, J. H., engraver 261 



GENERAL INDEX. 



Weber, F. E., confectioner and caterer 194 

Webster, H. P., tea and coffee 191 

Weiss, Max, clothing 291 

Wells Manufacturing Co., manfrs. brass and wire goods 240 

Wemyss Concert Co. of Boston, Alex. J. Wemyss, mgr. 134 

West, W., & Co., manfg. confectioners 2gS 

Weston Lumber Co 211 

Wetmore & Story, tailors 279 

Wheatland, P. D., stock broker 1 87 

Wheeler, G. H., real estate, etc 258 

Wheelock, C. W., & Co., oil stoves, etc 142 

Wheildon, L. B., & Co., real estate brokers 215 

Whidden, Curtin & Co., furniture, etc 235 

White & Johnson, provision, etc 292 

White, W. H., Jr., & Co., boots and shoes 287 

White, C. H., & Co., manfrs. hot air furnaces, etc. . . . 143 

White, C. E., cigars, etc 278 

White's, T., Sons, truckman and forwarders 226 

Whiiaker. N. C, & Co. , tortoise shell and horn goods. . 276 

Whitaker Bros., ecclesiastical decorative painters 161 

Whiunore, C. E., & Co., brokers 132 

Whitney, J. E.. East India goods 149 

Whiton Bro. & Co., agls. for the W'oodbury Cotton 

Duck Mills 176 

Whiton & Knight, printers 295 

Whiiten, Biirdett & Young, clothing 107 

Whittington, H., & Co., horse clothing 113 

Wilson, B. O. & G. C, wholesale druggists 2S3 

Wilson, Cassells & Co., New England representatives 

of Hall's Safe & Lock Co 241 

Wilson, E. M., D.D.S., dentist 302 

Wilcox, Geo. B., printer 2ig 



Willard, J. H. , picture framer 270 

Winegar, M. B. & Co.. stationery, etc 305 

Winn, Ricker & Co., commission merchants, etc 206 

Winship, W. W., manfr. trunks, bags, etc 257 

Winslow Furniture Co., S. Winslow, mgr 29S 

Winslow, Geo. S., & Co., provisions, poultry, etc 259 

Wise, Harris & Co., manfrs. cigars 160 

Wolff, A., watchmaker, etc 267 

Wood, Kilbourne & Co., pianos 254 

Wood L., Jr., manfr. cabinet work, etc 293 

Wood Bros., paints, oils, etc 301 

Woodbridge, S. F., & Co., wholesale beef, pork. etc... 206 

Woodbury, Shaw & Co., wholesale'oysters, etc 152 

Woodcock, S. S., architect and landscape gardener. . . . 160 

Woodman, J. H.. manfr. boots and shoes 282 

Woodward, S. T., lumber 274 

Woodward, W. E., architect 201 

Woodward, H. E. , & Co., wholesale salt and pickled fish 173 

Woolson, H. H., tailor 2S5 

Wright Bros. & Co., manfrs. umbrellas, etc 2S1 

Wright, C, & Co., lard refiners 207 

Yale, R. IL, & Co., sail makers 285 

Yarrington, P., & Co., agents Automatic Water Gas Co 138 

Ybarra, General A., coffee and cocoa importer 147 

Yenetchi, G. V., wholesale wines and liquors 117 

Yeretsky A., tailor 254 

Young A., & Co., building materials, etc 149 

Young, J. A., wholesale lobsters 288 

Young's Hotel, J. Reed Whipple, propr 120 

Ziegler, J. J., &. Co., real estate, etc 262 

Zohrlaul H., Leather Co., Leavitt & Libbey, mgrs. . . . 214 




'\t^ 



9rt 

I 



[(Xy^Ci^yife, from whatever point of the compass approached, — 
whetlicr by any of the eiglit railway lines which radiate from it 
as a centre ; or by the numerous broad, well-kept highways that cleave 
the fragrant gardens and verdant pastures of its vicinage on the land 
sides ; or by the ocean, whose shimmering waves dash and spend their 
force against the numerous wooden wharves which skirt the shore, — 
presents one object — a golden one, flashing in the rays of the hot 
summer sun, or dully glimmering under the fleecy winter sky — that arrests the attention of the traveller. It 
is a gilded dome, towering above all the thousands of buildings that cluster around it. It is the pivot of 
industrial, cultured, and fashionable Boston : in the characteristic language of Dr. Oliver Wendell Holmes, 
it is " the hub of the solar system," — whence Boston's sobriquet, " The Hub." While from every side of 
the city this gold-leaf-covered cupola is seen to stand out prominently like a tall monarch overlooking 
ambitious minions compactly crowded on gentle slopes, its interior, which is open to visitors at certain 
seasons of the year, commands a view of unsurpassed grandeur. It is a vantage-ground from which the 








34 ILLUSTRATED BOSTON. 

eye can encompass the outlay and form of the city ; the deep blue sea, dotted with innumerable islands 
and sailing craft of every kind, and stretching out to the level eastern horizon, whence the sea meets 
the sky; the picturesque Blue Hills of Milton and the rocky heights of Essex; the scores of white 
villages, towns, and hamlets, strewn, as it were, at random, and interlineated with tortuous rivers, like so 
many silvery belts ; and the dark, wide-spreading forests which form the background of a beautiful land- 
scape stretching to the westward sky line. 

This " hub of the solar system " is the dome of Massachusetts' capitol, which stands on Boston's highest 
ground, the breezy crest of Beacon Hill, whereon for more than fourscore 3'ears "the wise men and foolish, 
noble men and petty," constituted by the suffrages of the people "The Great and General Court," have man- 
aged and mismanaged the public affairs of the State, and influenced more or less the greater and more im- 
portant national councils. 

BEACON HILL 

and its immediate surroundings are rich in historic associations. Historians tell of a time when there was 
only one solitary log hut nestling on the breast of this far-famed hill, and of this being the only habita. 
tion on the whole of Boston's domain. It was the abode of an eccentric gospel minister, the Rev. William 
Blackstone, who, after fleeing from the haunts of men in old England, sought seclusion here. He it was wlio 
first purchased from the Indians the entire peninsula on which Boston now stands. At this time there were 
three hills on the peninsula, and these had given to them the name of Trcamount, while the whole peninsula 
was designated Trimountaine, instead of Mushauwomuk, as called by the Indians, and since abbreviated to 
Shawmut. Mushauwomuk is variously assumed to have signified in the Indian tongue "living fountains," 
"free land," and "land unclaimed." These hills came to be separately known as Beacon, Copn's, and Fort 
Hills. Beacon Hill, however, had three peaks, and some writers claim that the name Trcamount v.as derived 
from this fact. In 16.3.3, Wood, the voyager, wrote of Beacon Hill as "three little hills on top of a high moun- 
tain." Blackstone's hut was situated near Pinckney and West Cedar Streets. East of the hut was the clergy- 
man's garden ; and a spring, from which he drew his water supply, and which proved to be the earliest in- 
ducement to the founders of New England's metrojiolis to come and settle lierc, was not far from the cetitre of 
the grass plat in the present enclosure of Louisburg Square. 

A number of people from Dorchester, England, had in 1628 purchased the territory now known as the 
Massachusetts Bay State Colony. They were one of two parties of dissenters — Puritans and Separatists — from 
the Episcopal Church of England, and the laws of Britain made it a crime to worship God in any other form 
than that prescribed by this church, by law established. The religious dissenters, who came to the old Bay 
State for conscience' sake, were Puritans, who lamented the evils in the church, and hoped to reform it from 
within. The pilgrims who settled in the neighboring colony of Plymouth, about thirty miles from Boston, in 
1620, were Separatists, who, believing Episcopal ianism utterly corrupt, came off from it. The Puritans were 
a strait-laced sect, and came to the new colony accompanied by John Winthrop as, their Governor, and by 
Thomas Dudley as lieutenant-governor. The colonists settled at Charlestown, which for a long time was a 
distinct municipality, but is now a part of the city of Boston. Experiencing at Charlestown a lack of whole- 
some water, a number of the colonists crossed the stream in a boat to Blackstone's peninsula to search for 
some. Hero they found it in abundance, and this discovery led to overtures between Blackstone and the 
colonists. The negotiations resulted in Blackstone and many of the Puritans becoming close neighbors 
Winthrop had at this time built himself a house at Charlestown, and there the headquarters of the colonists was 
located. Though a few houses rapidly grouped around that of Blackstone's, no thought had yet been enter- 
tained of establishing here a city which should one day be the most noted one in the Republic, and which 
should play an important part in the creation of the great United States. It is true the governor and his 
lieutenant had decided upon looking up a tract of country more suited for the seat of government than Charles- 
town was believed to be ; but Boston had not been considered — if indeed any place had been thought of — as 
eligible for the distinction. Accordingly, one day in 1630 the governor and his lieutenant mounted their 
horses and started out to explore the plains and swamps and forests lying to the westward, and find a suitable 
site for a capital. The spot they finally picked out, with the help of some assistant magnates, lay about three 
miles west of Charlestown, on the banks of the tortuous little river since sung of by poets, and already named 



THE METROPOLIS OF NEW ENGLAND. 



35 



the Charles by Captain John Smith, who never saw it. The location seemed to Winthrop " a fit place for a 
beautiful town ;" and accordingly, on the 29th of December, a goodly number of persons bound themselves 
with Governor Winthrop to build houses there in the following spring. The village they named Newtown, 
and this has since developed into the present Cambridge. The town was laid out regularly in squares, and 
early in 1631 houses began to arise. Governor Winthrop set up the frame of his dwelling on the very spot 
where he had first pitched his tent. But the people who had gone over from Charlestown to Boston had been 
promised by Winthrop that he would never move away anywhere unless they accompanied him, and of this 




Soollay Square 

promise they now reminded him in pretty strenuous terms. Bound by two solemn agreements, and under 
the necessity of brenking one of them, Winthrop found himself in a " fix ;" but his conscience yielded to the 
promise he had first made. So, in the fall of 1631, he disappointed his Newtown friends by taking down the 
frame of his unfinished dwelling and by setting it up in Boston, near Beacon Hill. Dudley had completed his 
house and installed his family into it; and ho and the rest of the Newtown colonists refused to accompany 
Winthrop. This led to an open quarrel between Winthrop and Dudley, and a coolness existed between them 
for years. Winthrop's excuse for quitting Newtown was somewhat strengthened in his own mind by the fact 
that Chickatabut, the chief of the neighboring Indians, had promised to be friendly, so that tlie necessity of 
having a fortified settlement in the colony, three miles west, was somewhat less urgent. The commercial 
prospects of Boston, too, had begun to look brighter than those of Newtown. M.iking the best of their oppor- 
tunities, the remaining settlers at Newtown proved thrifty and prosperous, and in 1632 received accessions to 
their number from Braintree, England. The quarrel between Winthrop and Dudley continuing, the minis- 



36 



ILLUSTRATED BOSTON. 



ters justified the lientenant-governor by ordering Wintlirop to get a clergyman for Newtown, failing in which 
he should pay Dudley £20. This sum Wintlirop liad to render, but the pacified Dudley was magnanimous 
in his triumph, and returned it with a polite note, in which he courteously intimated that he would rather lose 
£100 than Winthrop's friendship. Their difficuitiss settled, the two magnates lived on friendly terms there- 
after, and 




- — cj-~^^^£)]^i{^jj^^m 



Post Office. 



BOSTON BECAME THE COLONIAL CAPITAL. 

Of the new State no one could become a citizen unless he was a member of the Puritan Church. Under 
stern, theocratic discipline, the town and colony grew steadily and surely, and sanguinary edicts were issued 

against the Baptists, Episcopalians, and 
Quakers who came to reside here. Rigid 
sumptuary laws were enforced. A high 
official was reprimanded by the governor for 
indulging in the luxury of a wainscot in his 
house ; a clergyman was reproved for the 
vanity of painting his house on the outside. 
Fast riding, ball-playing in the streets, ab- 
sence from church, speaking disrespectfully 
of the clergy, using tobacco publicly, charg- 
ing high prices, denying the Scriptures, a 
man kissing his wife on the street or on a 
Sunday, and sheltering Quakers or Baptists, 
were all crimes in the sight of the law- 
makers. Watchmen patrolled the streets 
by night, and walked " two by two to- 
gether, a youth joined with an elder and 
more sober person." Their instructions 
set forth: "If after ten o'clock they see lights, to inquire if there be warrantable cause; and if they 
hear any noise or disorder, wisely to demand the reason. If they find young men and maidens, not of 
known fidelity, walking after ten o'clock, wisely to demand the cause ; and if they appear ill minded, to watch 
them narrowlv, command tlieni to go to their lodgings, and if they refuse, then to secure them till morning." 
The people were warned by the ringing of public bells when to go to bed, when to rise in the morning, and 
when to eat and drink. The ringing of the Boston town bells, at nine o'clock in the evening, was instituted 
in 1649, and was doubtless originated from the curfew, a custom introduced in England before the Norman 
conquest to command the people to put out their fires. The ringing of the nine o'clock bell remained a custom 
in the city within living memory, and the practice is still kept up in some New England villages. Josselyn, 
describino- the town as it was between 1660 and 1670, says: "On the south there is a small but pleasant 
common, where the Gallants a little before sunset walk with their marmalet madams, as we do in Moorfields, 
etc., until the nine o'clock bell rings them home to tlieir respective habitations, when presently the Constables 
walk their rounds to see good order is kept, and to take up loose people." The " morning bell," in those 
days of early rising was rung "half an hour after four." In 1664 an "eleven o'clock bell" was ordered "for 
tlie more convenient and expeditious dispatch of merchants' affairs." In course of time this bell became the 
recoonized signal for the worthy tradesmen to adjourn from their places of business to the nearest tavern, 
there to take a "nip" of rum, Holland or Cognac (whiskey was not a beverage in those times). This ringing 
of the town bells at 11 o'clock continued until 1835, when the hour was changed to 1 p.m., or, as it was said, 
" from the hour of drinking to the hour of dining." ^'arious bills in the city clerk's files, however, show that 
different hours were chosen in the different neighborhoods. In 1718, £3 were voted "to pay a Bell Ringer at 
the New South Meeting House for a year," he to officiate at five in. the morning and nine at night, "as other 
Bell Ringers did." 

The religious bigotry and civic intolerence on the part of his neighbors proved too much for minister 
Blackstone, the proprietor of the peninsula, for, said he, " I came from England because I did not like the 



THE METROPOLIS OF NEW ENGLAND, 



37 



Lord Bishops, but I cannot join witli you, iiecause I would not be undei' tlic Lord's Brethren." Accordingly, 
about four years after the removal of the colonists to the peninsula, and being ill at ease among them, he agreed 
to sell to them the whole of the peninsula, except six acres where his house stood on Beacon Hill, for £30 
($150), and the money was raised by a rate, each householder paying six shillings (about $L50). Compared 
with the price paid for Manhattan Island, the site of the commercial metropolis of the country, that paid for the 
peninsula on which New England's leading city stands was six times greater; but the former was bought from 
the Indians and the latter from an Englislmian, and a parson at that. With the money received from the sale, 
Blackstone bought cows and other thing.s, and travelled fartlicr into the wilderness, csfal)lishing a iicw home, 
which he called "Study Hill," not far from Provi- 
dence, R. I., on the banks of the picturesque river, 
which is now known as the Blackstone. 

Since Blackstone shook the dust of Boston off 
his shoes forever, and looked for the last time upon 
the first house his own hands had reared on the site 
of the now prosperous city, Beacon Hill, with its 
three peaks, has undergone great transformations. 
The peaks have long since disappeared. One was 
located behind where the State House now stands, 
near Mount Vernon, Temple and Hancock Streets 
(where the beacon stood), and was for a time desig- 
nated Gentry Hill ; another, situated farther west, 
was named Copley's Hill, and subsequently Mount 
Vernon, from which the present Mount Vernon Street 
derived its name; and the third, located to the east 
of Centry Hill, was first known as Cotton's Hill, and 
then as Pemberton's Ilill, from which the present 
Pemberton Square took its name. The original 
Treamount stretched from the head of the present 
Hanover Street on the east to near the present Charles 
Street on the west, and near West Cedar Street was 
a high bluff known as W^^st Hill. From Cambridge 
Street on the north, the hill extended to the Com- 
mon on the south, and its highest point was 138 feet 
above sea level. 

The beacon — a fiery alarm to the surrounding 
country of invasion or other danger — was fixed on the 
summit of the hill, just below the present Mount Vernon 
and Temple Streets, in 1634, by order of the Gen- 
eral Court, and thenceforward the eniinence became 
known as Beacon Hill. The beacon consisted of an iron 

skillet, filled with combustibles always ready for use, and was suspended from a crane of iron at the top of a 
tall mast, into which were driven tree-nails that served the purposes of a ladder. The times in which this 
beacon was erected were troublous, and the beacon had often to render important service to the struggling and 
harassed colonists, of whom twenty thousand came to the colony in the first ten years after the settlement of 
Boston. When the beacon was raised on the hill, a rude castle arose on an island before tlie town, and war 
vessels were commissioned, because at various times the port was menaced with attacks from Dutch, Spanish, 
and French fleets. In 1639 a thousand well-armed men mustered on the Common, and powerful contingents 
went out from Boston to aid the British expeditions against Louisburg, Quebec, Acadia and Havana; and the 
colonists, marching side by side with the best troops in the world, became veteran and skilful soldiers. One 
of the earliest colonists wrote to bis folks in the old country that the new land was " a hideous wilderness, 
possessed by barbarous Indians, very cold, sickly, rocky, barren, unfit for culture, and like to keep the people 
miserable." 





Lief Ericsson — Commor 



38 ILLUSTRATEDBOSTON. 

The first beacon that was erected fell, thiough some unknown cause, and a new one was erected in 1768. 
In the dark days of the Revolution the British troops tore down the beacon and erected a small square fort 
in its stead ; but as soon as the English left the town in 1776 the inhabitants again placed the beacon in posi- 
tion. During a gale in 1789 it was blown down. On its site, in 1790-91 was erected a monument of brick 
to commemorate tlie lieroic deeds of those patriots who fell in the sanguinary struggle on Bunker Hill. The 
monument, which was sixty feet high and four wide, had a tablet on each of its four sides, and it was sur- 
mounted by a gilded eagle with outstretched wings. The inscription on the east-side tablet read : " Amer- 
icans: While from this eminence, scenes of luxuriant fertility, of flourishing commerce, and the abodes of social 
happiness meet your view, forget not those who have by their exertions secured to you these blessings." That 
on the south side: "To commemorate that train of events which led to the American Revolution and finally 
secured liberty and independence to the United States, this column is erected by the voluntary contributions 
of the citizens of Boston. MDCCXC." The west and north-side tablets contained lists of the principal events 
connected with the War of the Revolution. 

This hill formed a part of tlie public lands, and in 1811 the town sold off many of these, including the 
hill, to raise money to reduce its debts, which were pressing heavily upon it. Following the sale, a spirit of 
improvement set in, and the various eminences of Treamount were removed, much of the soil being used to 
raise the low land in the neighborhood of Charles Street, and to reclaim from the waters of the ocean thfi 
whole of the land now lying west of that thoroughfare. The tablets of the monument were placed in Doric 
Hall )n the State House, and the gilded eagle occupies a place over the speaker's chair in the House of Rep- 
resentatives. The work of improvement lasted for about a dozen years, and the whole aspect of Beacon Hill 
was changed. 

That side of the hill, overlooking the Common and the Public Garden, has for a hundred and fifty years 
been occupied by the most aristocratic houses in the city. Indeed, Beacon Street has been famed as the pa- 
trician street of Nevf England, and as corresponding with Fifth Avenue in New York, though much less splen- 
did than that grand thoroughfare, being lined with tall, sombre, brown stone structures, with no rich archi- 
tectural grandeur in church edifices to relieve the monotonj' as in the avenue. Beacon Street runs in a straight 
ine from Tremont Street over the crest of the hill, and has been extended by recent improvements to the 
aristocratic suburb of Longwood, running for a considerable distance close to and parallel with the river 
Charles. Along it and beyond it are the finest driveways in the country. On the hilly section of the street 
are the most fashionable and select clubs of the city, and here arc or were several houses of interest to literary 
men. One of these — now rebuilt — was for twoscore years the abode of the late George Ticknor, the bosom 
friend of Hawthorne, the fast friend of Southey and Scott, and the historian of Spanish literature. Another 
■was the residence of the famous blind scholar, W. H. Prescott, the historian of the Spanish Conquests of 
Mexico and Peru, etc. Among other residences may be pointed out that of C. C. Perkins, whose works on 
Tuscan sculptors and Italian art have had a world-wide circulation ; that of one of the best poets of a past 
generation, Richard H. Dana; and that of Charles Sumner, the famous leader of the anti-slavery movement, 
also many others too numerous to particularize in this work. 

Louisburg Square, situated on the western slope of the hill, and between Mount Vernon and Pinckney 
Streets, is an historic spot. Here was Blackstone's garden and spring. It is now private property, and in 
1834 was enclosed and given its present name to commemorate the victory at Louisburg, upon whicii the 
French had spent twenty years and 30,000,000 livres in fortifying, as a menace to New England. In 1745 an 
army of 4000 undisciplined Yankee farmers and artisans left Boston and, joining a powerful British squadron, 
overthrew the fortress. The enclosure has manv fine, noble trees, and two fine Italian statues of Aristides and 
Columbus. 

In late years, even on the patrician Beacon Street, trade has planted its vigorous foot, and the aristocracy, 
as it has multiplied its members, has moved in a westerly direction, but under the shadow of the time-honored 
Beacon Hill. The sturdier rank and file of humanity and the representatives of commerce have taken pos- 
session of the other slopes of the hill, and among the changes of recent years, a massive, gloomy structure of 
granite on Doane Street, built in 1849 for a distributing reservoir, has been removed, and the heavy stone work 
has gone to form the Charles River embankment, and to aid in constructing a wilderness into a beautiful park 
in the Back Bay district, thereby adding much to the beauty of that section. 



THE METROPOLIS OF NEW ENGLAND. 



39 



Whose gilded dome is, as we 
stranger approaching Boston in any 
Beacon Hill, a fitting position for the 
above water level. Its dome, which 
reared, been a well-known land-mark 
has been an object prominent above 
House stood the old Hancock House, 
one of the noblest private mansions of 



THE STATE HOUSE, 

have already said, the first object that strikes the eye of the 
direction by land or sea, stands majestically on the highest point of 
capitol of the State. Its foundations are more than one hundred feet 
rises to an altitude of one hundred and ten feet, has, ever since it was 
in every direction; and since it was covered with gold leaf, in 1874, it 
all its surroundings, and an ornament to the city. Near to the State 
, the residence of Governor Hancock of Revolutionary fame, and it was 
the colonial period. It was razed in 1803, and private residences now 




"Washington Street, Looking North. 

occupy its site. The site of the State House was Governor Hancock's pasture, and over ninety years has 
slipped by since the town of Boston purchased it and presented it to the State. On July 4, 1795, there was 
a pompous display of Puritan burghers, the Freemasons marching to the strains of bands of music to lay the 
corner stone of the State House, under Grand Master Paul Revere, and Governor Samuel Adams, not long be- 
fore exiled for liberty's sake, giving the speech of dedication. The stone itself was drawn up the steep slope 
of Beacon Hill by fifteen white horses, representing the number of States forming the Union. The edi- 
fice was erected under the direction of Charles Bulfinch, and in January, 1798, the members of the Legislature 
marched in solemn procession from tlie Old State House, at the head of State Street, and took possession of 
the new capitol, which is a plain enough brick building, constructed massively, but at small cost, and seeking 
ornament only in a dark colonnade of Corinthian pillars and its shining Byzantine dome. Lofty flights of 



40 ILLUSTRATEDBOSTON. 

stone steps .ead from the street to tlie main entrance, and the high terraces are kept enlivened i_>y masses of 
brilliant flowers, in the midst of which stand bronze statues of the great orator, Daniel Webster, and of th& 
famous educator, Horace Mann. The steps lead into a large hall, known as Doric Hall, where, in the recesses, 
protected by plates of glass, are shown the tattered remnants of several scores of flags carried bv the Massa- 
chusetts regiments through the fierce struggles of the war for the Union. Here are also statues of Washing- 
ton and Governor Andrew; busts of Samuel Adams, Charles Sumner, Henry Wilson, and Abraham Lincoln; 
f(tc nimiles of the tombstones of the ancestors of Washington, from England ; the tablets from the Bea- 
con monument, and many rare remembrances of ancient days in the Old Bay State. The Hall of Repre- 
sentatives has accommodation for five hundred legislators. Over the speaker's chair is the gilded spread eagle 
which once did duty on the summit of Beacon monument ; and opposite hangs suspended from the ceiling 
the ancient wooden codfish brought from the Old State House, and typical of one of the foremost industries 
of the State. The Senate Chamber, where the Upper House meets, is adorned with notable trophies, and 
portraits of ancient worthies of Massachusetts ; and near it is the State library, where more than forty thou- 
sand volumes are kept. Younger States — States that have sprung into being since this old edifice was built — 
have reared, where a few years ago were wildernesses, capitols with marble walls, fretted with sculpture and 
carving ; but no State can be prouder of its capitol than that of Massachusetts, whose State House is typical 
of that simplicity and solidity which characterized the founders of the government. Plans have been prepared 
for enlarging the capitol and providing increased accommodation therein. On the slope and at the base of the 
hill, overlooked by the capitol, is 

THE COMMON, 

probablv the most famous bit of land on the American Continent. It is an undulating natural park of forty- 
eight acres, surrounded by an iron fence over a mile long, crossed by five walls, shaded by a thousand ancient 
and graceful elms. It is located in the heart of the city, is surrounded on all sides by hne upon line of busy 
and populous streets, and is the admiration not only of our own citizens, but of every visitor to the city, 
American and foreigner. When the early settlers purchased, more than two and a half centuries ago, the 
whole peninsula from Blackstone, they hiid out this place for a "training field," and "for the feeding of 
cattle." Until 1830 cattle continued to be grazed on the Common, wliich is still sometimes used as a training 
field. Originally the Common extended in one direction as far as Tremont House, and in another to Mason 
Sti'cct, bordering westerly on the Back Bay, then a marshy tract, the waters of the ocean then flowing up to 
Charles Street and to the foot of the Roxbury Hills. Where Park Street now is an almshouse, a bridewell, 
and a granary stood, and was called Sentry Field. Forty-three and three forths of the Common was enclosed 
in 1835 at a cost of $80,000, and later the remainder was enclosed. The Common is now surrounded on its 
four sides by Tremont, Boylston, Beacon and Park Streets, and it is one of the most beautiful and attractive 
parks in the country, rich in its greensward, its thousands of trees with umbrageous boughs, its ponds, monu- 
ments, and lovely walks. 

The Common is not valued by Bostonians alone for its beauties and for the opportunities for out-door 
recreation it affords, but for its historic associations. In the old granary referred to were made the sails 
of the frigate " Constitution," or "Old Ironsides," concerning the threatened destruction of which Boston's 
favorite citizen. Dr. Oliver Wendell Holmes, wrote in pencil, in his attic room in Cambridge, in 1829, and 
when he was but twenty years old: 

'■ And one who listened to the tale of shame. 

Whose heart still answered to that sacred name. 

Whose eye still followed o'er his country's tides 

Thy glorious tlag, our brave Old Ironsides ! 

From you lone attic, on a summer's morn, 

Thus mocked the spoilers with his school-boy scorn," 

The troops who captured Louisburg, the troops enlisted by Amherst, and who conquered Quebec, and 
the soldiers whose fights brought about the American Revolution, mustered here. Boston, as more copious 
histories will tell the reader, handled the torch that set aflame the Revolution. It had resisted the imposition 
of taxes by England time after time, and given the mother country to understand it was prepared to conduct 
business on its own account, if let alone. Its sons had boarded vessels in the harbor and thrown taxed tea 



THE METROPOLIS OF NEW ENGLAND, 



•il 



into the sea ratlier than have it. They had resented the Stamp Act and other imposts, and made themselves 
so obnoxious to the English government that the latter declared the former rebels, and ordered the army of 
soldiers quartered on the town to send them to England for trial. Between the soldiery and the citizens there 
was, of course, no kindly feeling, and the dislike was intensified by an event known as 

THE "BOSTON MASSACRE," 
■which, it is not too much to say, was one of the most important events which united the interests and feelings 
of the colonists, and brought on the revolutionary war. After the elapse of more than a centnry tlie event 
has been commemorated by the recent raising on the Common of a monument, known as the Attucks Me- 
imorial, which stands on the greensward near the Tremont Street Mall. The massacre occurred toward even- 
ing, on Monday, March 5, 17 70, in the very centre of the business part of the town, in the rear of the State 











w^^^'^^f^^^^ 




.^•^m 



V S«'''' 



Boylstoii Street, from Copley Square. 

House, on King Street — known since, for nearly a hundred years, by the more appropriate name of State 
Street. Of the five victims of the massacre, four of tliem, namely, Samuel Gray, Samuel Maverick, James 
Caldwell and Crispus Attucks, where buried on the Thursday following, March 8, in what is still known as the 
old Granary burying ground, on the present Tremont Street. On the occasion of the funeral the bells of the 
town were rung, places of business were closed, and vast numbers of all persons of citizens were in attendance. 
Various accounts have been written and published of the Boston massacre, not differing, however, much in 
their essential particulars, and all appear to agree in condemning the outrage as a natural result from the quar- 
tering of troops in the town. The soldiers belonged to the 14th and 29th Regiments, and it Las been well 
said that it was a move highly criminal to quarter troops in such a town as Boston then w^as. The people 
hated the soldiers, and this feeling was reciprocated by the latter with interest. The inhabitants could not go 
about their ordinary avocations without being challenged at every corner by sentinels, and often insulted and 
assaulted. Some outrage, it is said, was complained of every day ; and if soldiers in all cases of misconduct 
and violence were not the offending parties, their presence induced them, and they generally had the credit of 
them. "From the time the troops arrived in September, 1768," says one account, "until they left the town, 
there were complaints against them and trouble with them." On the afternoon before the massacre the sol- 
diers posted the following in writing as a warning to tlie people: — " Boston, March ye 5. 1770. This is to 
Inform ye Rebellious People in Boston that the soldjers in ve 14th and 29th Regiments are determined to 
Joine together and defend themselves against al' who Oppose them. Signed, Ye Soldjers of ye 14th and 29th 
Regiments." 



42 



ILLUSTRATED BOSTON 



" The evening of tlie 5tli came on. . . . Parties of soldiers were driving about the streets, making a pa- 
rade of valor, challenging resistance, and striking the inhabitants indiscriminately with sticks or sheathed cut- 
lasses. A band poured out from Murray's barracks, in Brattle Street, armed with clubs, cutlasses and bayonets, 
provoked resistance, and a fray ensued. One soldier after another levelled a firelock and threatened to make 
a lane through a crowd. At about nine o'clock, a party of soldiers issued violently from the main guard, in 
King Street, their arms glittering in the moonlight, hallooing. 'Where are .they? Where are they ? Let 
them come on !' Presently twelve or fifteen more, uttering the same cries, rushed from the south-side into 
King Street, and so by way of Cornhill (Washington Street) toward Murray's barracks. They knocked a 
small boy down, and abused and insulted several persons at their doors and in the street, while their outcries 
of fire caused the bells to be rung. A body of soldiers came up Royal E.xchange lane, crying, 'Where are the 

cowards ?' and, brandishing their arms, passed through King 
Street, a crowd of boys following them. A parley oc- 
curred with the sentinel, who had previously knocked one 
of the boys down, and loaded his gun and threatened to 
shoot them. 'Stand off!' said the sentry. 'They are 
killing the sentinel,' reported a servant, running to the main 
guard. ' Turn out ! why don't you turn out ?' cried 
Preston, captain of the guard. A party of six, two of 
whom, Kilroi and Montgomery, had been previously worsted 
in a fight at the ropewalk, formed with a corporal in front 
and Preston following. With bayonets fixed they rushed 
through the people upon the trot, cursing them and pushing 
them as they went along. They found about ten persons 
round the sentry, while about fifty or sixty came down with 
them. ' For God's sake,' said Henry Knox, who was pass- 
ing by, liolding Preston b)^ the coat, ' take your men back 
again ; if they fire your life must answer for the conse- 
quences.' ' 1 know what I am about,' said he, hastily and 
much agitated. None pressed on them or provoked them 
till they began loading, when a party of about twelve in 
luimber, with sticks in their hands, moved from tlie middle 
of the street, where they had been standing, gave three 
cheers, and passed along in front of the soldiers, whose 
muskets some of them struck as they went by. ' You are 
cowardly rascals, they said, ' for bringing arms against naked 
men. Lay aside your guns and we are ready for you !' 
. . . J\ist then Montgomery received a blow from a stick 
which had hit his musket, and the word ' fire !' being given 
by Preston, he stepped a little on one side and shot Attucks, 
who at the time was quietly leaning on a long stick. 
The people immediately began to move off. 'Don't fire,' said Longford, the watchman, to Kilroi, lookinir him 
full in the face; but yet he did so, and Samuel Gray, who was standing next to Longford, with his hands in 
bis bosom, fell lifeless. The rest fired slowly and in succession on the people who were dispersing, . . . 
Three persons were killed, eight were wounded, two of them mortally. Of all the eleven, not more than one 
had any share in the disturbance. So infuriated were the soldiers that when the men returned to take up thv 
dead they prepared to fire again, but were checked by Preston, while the 29th regiment appeared under arms 
in King Street. 'This is our time,' cried the soldiers of the 14th, and dogs were never seen more grecdv fur 
their prey. 

" The bells in all the cluirches were rung, and the cry of the people was 'To arms ! To arms !' ' Our hearts,' 
said Warren, ' beat to arms, almost resolved by one stroke to avenge the death of our slaughtered brethren.' 
The people would not be satisfied or retire till the regiment was confined to the guard room and the barracks, 
and Governor Hutchinson gave the assurance that instant inquiries should be made by the county magistrates. 




John Glov 



THE METROPOLIS OF NEW ENGLAND. 



43 



Sucli, as we have described, was the Boston massacre and some of the atteinliiiii; circumstances. It was a rude 
and brutal and unnecessary nmrdering of the people, in support of unjust and wrongful claims and pretensions 
of the British ministry. Parliament and the King. It was the first blood spilled by British soldiers upon 
American soil, and, in fact, the initiation of the war which followed between the colonies and the mother 
country. From this time forward there was no longer agreement or concord of action between the govern- 
ment (king, ministry and Parliament) and the peo[)le of the American colonies. 

On the morning following the massacre, the Sons of Liberty gatliered in great numbers in Fancuil Hall, 
and resolved tliat the people and soldiers could no longer live together in safety. In the afternoon over three 
thousand persons assiemhled at the Old South Church and appointed a committee to wait upon the governor 
and Ooloncl J )alrymple, the commander of the forces, and to demand that the soldiers should be removed 
from the town if the peace of the province was to be preserved. The governor and his council and 




Colonel Dalrymple were in a dilemma, but seeing tliat the people meant hnsiness unless their demand was 
complied with, took the responsibility upon themselves of ordering the soldiers to remove to Castle Island, in 
the Harbor. 

Captain Preston and eight of his men were put on trial for murder. The court, on a pretence of its in- 
ability to determine whether it was Preston or some one else who gave the order to fire, acquitted him. Two 
of the soldiers, who declared that they had simply done their duty in obeying orders to fire, were found guiltv 
of manslaughter and sentenced to be branded in the liand in open court. For a long time the anniversary of 
the massacre was annually celebrated by Bostonians, but it was not until Wednesday, November 14, 1888, that 
a permanent memorial of the event was completed and unveiled on the Common with much ceremony, to 
immortalize Crispus Attucks and liis fellow victims. Attucks was a negro, and the monument is named after 
him. By publicly immortalizing the name of a negro who, it is presumed, was a patriot, race distinction in 
this country has received a blow that should be fatal. By inference a man is now declared a man, be he white, 
blact, rich or poor. This is undoubtedly the highest thought sugsjested bv the dedication ceremonies, though 
they were confined chiefly to eulon;y of the victims of the massacre by Professor Fiske and other orators on 
the occasion. The monument, while an ornament to the Common, stands as a silent encouragement to the 



44 1 L L U S T R A T E p B O S T O N . 

valor of future generations. It is the work of Mr. liobert Kraus. It bears in bas-relief, a representation of 
the event as it occurred in King (State) Street. The soldiers are in the act of firing upon the people, at the 
command of their captain, while the victims are seen falling among the crowd of people which surrounds 
them. The work is very vivid, life-like, and a very excellent representation of the scene. The sentiments 
which have been inscribed upon the monument, with the names of the authors, indicate the public estimation 
of the event at the present time almost as emphatically as compelling the troops to leave the town did more 
than a hundred years ago. These sentiments are the following : " From that moment we may date the sev- 
erance of the British empire." — Daniel Webster. " On that night the foundation of American independence 
was laid." — John Adams. 

After the massacre England continued to tighten the screws of exaction and oppression, while the Bos- 
tonians grew more obstinate. In March, 1774, the English Parliament ordered the closing of Boston port, 
and in the following September instructed the newly appointed governor of Massachusetts, General Gage, to 
reduce the colonists by force. A fleet and an army of ten thousand soldiers were sent to aid in the work of 
subjugation. Boston Neck was seized and fortified by the governor's orders ; the military stores in the ar- 
senals at Cambridge and Charlestown were conveyed to Boston; and the General Assembly was ordered to 
disband. 

The Common became the fortified camp. Earthworks were thrown up on several of its eminences, of 
which all traces have long since disappeared. The British artillery was stationed upon Flagstaff, or Powder- 
house Hill, where there were intrenchments and a powder house. A battery was located on Fox Hill, which 
stood near the present Charles Street. On the Boylston Street side, opposite the present Carver Street, was a 
strong fortification. The marines were located near the Tremont Street side of the Common, and the infantry 
were scattered over the old " trayning field." Deep trenches wore cut near the present Charles Street Mall, 
within a short distance of which was then the water front. Here during the winter of 1775-76 over 1 700 
British warriors waited in expectation of being attacked b}' Washington, for the whole town was in a state of 
siege. 

When it became ap[)arcnt what General Gage's instructions were, the Bostonians, concealing their guns 
and ammunition in cartloads of rubbish, conveyed them to Concord, sixteen miles away. Gage discovered the 
movement, and on the 18th of April, 1775, dispatched a regiment of 800 men to destroy the stores. Another 
purpose was to capture John Hancock and Samuel Adams, who were supposed to be hidden at Lexington or 
Concord. The fact was that they were not hidden anywhere, but were abroad encouraging the people. The 
plan of the British general was made with great secrecy ; but the patriots were on the alert, and discovered 
the movement, and when the regiment, under the command of Colonel Smith and Major Pitcairn left the foot 
of the Common at Boston about midnight for Concord, under Gage's orders, the people of Boston, Charles- 
town and Cambridge were roused by the ringing of bells and the firing of cannons by the patriots. Twa 
liours before, William Dawes and Paul Revere had started off on horseback to spread the alarm tlirougli the 
country, and at two o'clock in the morning a company of one hundred and thirty armed patriots had assem- 
bled on the Common at Lexington, with guns loaded. At five o'clock the English regiment hove in sight, and 
Pitcairn rode up and shouted: "Disperse, ye villains! Throw down your arms, ye rebels, and disperse 1" 
The minute men stood still ; Pitcairn discharged his pistol at them and cried "Fire!" The first volley of the 
Revolution whistled through the air, and sixteen of the patriots fell dead or wounded. The rest 
fired a few random shots and then dispersed. But the end was not yet. The British pushed on to 
Concord, but the inhabitants had removed the greater part of the stores to a jilace of safety, and 
there was but little destruction. Two cannons were spiked, some artillery carriages were destroyed, and a 
small quantity of ammunition thrown into a mill pond. While the English were pillaging the town the min- 
ute men gathered from all quarters, and came in contact with a company of soldiers guarding the North 
Bridge, over Concord River. For the first time the Americans fired under the orders of their officers and two 
English soldiers were killed. The bridge was taken by the patriots and the enemy began a retreat, first into 
the town and then through the town on the road to Lexington. Then the minute men attacked the enemy 
from every side, and kept up a terrible fire from behind rocks, trees, fences and barns. Nothing bnt good 
discipline and reinforcements which, under the command of Lord Percy, met the fugitives just below Lexing- 
ton, saved the English from total rout and destruction. The fight continued to the precincts of Charlestown, 
the patriots becoming more and more audacious in their onslaughts. At one time it seemed that the whole 



THE METROPOLIS OF NEW ENGLAND, 



45 



British force would be obliged to surrender. Sucli a result was prevented only by the fear that tlie English 
fleet would burn Boston. The American loss in this, the first battle of the war, was forty -nine killed, thirty- 
four wounded and five missing ; that of the enemy was two hundred and seventv-three — a greater loss than 
the English army sustained on the Plains of Abraham. 

The battle of Lexington inspired the patriots everywhere, and within a few days an army of twenty thous- 
and men had gathered in the vicinity of Boston. A line of intrenchments 
encompassing the city was drawn from Roxbury to Chelsea, and tlic talk 
of the camp was to drive (iage and his army into the sea. On the 25th 
of May, Generals Ilowe, Clinton and Burgoyne arrived with more men, 
and the British army at Boston was increased to 10,000 strong. Gage issued 
a proclamation styling all in arms as rebels, and offering pardon to all who 
would submit to the King's authority except two, Samuel Adams and John 
Hancock, who were to be put to death, if canglit, as traitors. A well- 
f'uinded rnnior was set on foot that the English intended to sally out of 
liostou and burn tlie neighboring towns and devastate the country. The 
Americans with a view to preventing tins, seized and fortified Bunker Hill, 
but afterwards removed to a neighboring height, subsequently called Breed's 







Park Street Chupoh. 



Hill, which was within easy cannon range of Boston. On the l7th of June the British advanced against the 
stronghold, and a fierce struggle ensued, the patriots being only driven from the trenches at tlie point of the 



46 



ILLUSTRATED BOSTON, 



ha_vonet. It was, however, a costly victory for the English, who lost 1054 men in killed and wounded while 
the American loss was 115 killed, 305 wounded and 32 prisoners. 

The Bunker Hill fight showed that the British army was not invincible, and it was followed by increased 
enthusiasm among the Americans everywhere; and in all parts George the Third's authority was set at nought. 
Fifteen days after the Bunker Hill engagement General Washington arrived at Cambridge and tooi command 
of the patriotic army, while General Howe succeeded General Gage in command of tlie British troops in Bos- 
ton. Washington besieged the city all winter, and by tlie middle of February the American army had in- 
creased to 14,000 men. Washington was frequently urged to force a fight with the enemy, but until the 
spring he contented himself with narrowing his lines, strengthening his works, and waiting his opportunity. 
On tlie north, Boston was commanded by the peninsula of Charlestown, and on the south by Dorchester 
Heig-hts. Since the battle at Bunker Hill the former position had been held by the British; the latter was, as 




yet, unoccupied. "Washington resolved to take advantage, liy a strategic movement, of the enemy's oversight, 
to seize the Heiglits and drive Howe out of Boston. To distract the attention of the British, heavy cannon- 
ading was kept up from the American batteries for two days, and during the night of the 4th of March a 
detachment of Americans ascended the Heights and established a line of formidable intrenchments and cannon 
frowning upon the city. Howe was astonished next morning when he saw how he had been out-gcneralled, 
an(i that lie must either drive the American.s from the Heights or abandon the city. He directed Lord Percy 
to place liiniself at the head of 2400 men and storm the redoubts before nightfall. It was the anniversary of 
the " Boston Massacre," and the patriots were eager for vengeance. Percy got as far as Castle Island, when a 
violent storm arose and rendered the harbor impassable all day, so that the attack could not be made. The 
Americans continued to strengthen their position until Howe found liimself in the extremity ofgiving up the 
capital of New England to the rebels. By an informal agreement between Washington and Howe, the latter 
was allowed to retire from the city unmolested, on condition that lie did not burn the place. On the lYth of 
March, Howe and his army and some 1500 loyalist citizens left, and from tliat date the contending hosts trans- 
ferred their struggles to other parts of the country. On the 20th, Washington rode triumphantly into the 
city, and the ten months' siege had ended. Tlie whole country was exultant, and Congress ordered a gold 



THE METROPOLIS OF NEW ENGLAND, 47 

medal to be struck in honor of Washington, who wont in pursuit of the enemy to Long Island, but not before 
he had strengthened the defences of Boston. 

The Common not only played an important part in the Revo.uaonary era, but in the days of the Rebel- 
lion it was the mustering and encamping ground of the Massachusetts regiments wliich were sent to do battle 
with the armed hosts of the Southern Confederacy. The Common is yet the place on which military bodies 
muster on anniversary days and public events, and it has been the scene of celebrations of many military and 
naval victories. In ante-Revolutionary times, on this historic ground frequent executions occurred under the 
ancient trees, especially in 1676, when the Narragansett Indians had been subjugated in a fierce battle among 
the swamps of Rhode Island, and when many a valiant red-skinned warrior was brought hither in chains and 
suspended from the boughs of the w'ide-spreadmg elms. Thirty Indians were thus put to death in a single 
day. Here, too, Whitfield preached and Quakers were hanged for conscience' sake. The famous old Common 
has been swept by shot and shell by night and by day, and nobles, generals, and statesmen have plotted and 
planned, under the leafy shades, the fate of dynasties and empires ; and, within its cool retreats, lovers have for 
ages held their trystings, built airy castles, and whispered " sweet nothings," Orators have fretted and fumed 
on the greensward over real and fancied public wrongs ; youngsters liave, year after year, made the air ring 
with their merry shouts and laughter as they have swiftly glided on the winter ice on the hill-slopes ; musi- 
cians have filled, and do fill in the summer months, the balmy air with pleasant sounds ; and on festival days 
the old Common is a scene of jollity, presenting many of the sights of a country fair. 

The glories of statesmen, warriors, and scholars are commemorated on tlie Common by monuments and 
statues. On the highest point of the Common, long known as Flagstaff Hill, or Monument Hill, as it is now 
called, is the Army and Navy Monument, which is worthy of a city that gave to the cause of the LTnion in the 
War of the Rebellion 24,434 soldiers and 685 ofllicers. This magnificent specimen of the sculptor's art was 
the work of the late Mr. Martin Milmore, and cost $75,000. The corner-stone was laid September 18, 1871, 
and at its dedication, September 17, 1877, militia, veterans, and civic societies, numbering 25,000 men, marched 
in procession. This monument bears this record: "To the men of Boston, who died for their country on 
land and sea in the war which kept the Union whole, destroyed slavery, and maintained the constitution, the 
grateful city has built this monument, thai their example may speak to coming generations." The base is 
cruciform, three steps rising to a pedestal which is faced with large bronze reliefs, representing the departure 
of the State troops, battle scenes in which the army and navy were engaged, the work of the hospitals in the 
field, and the returti of the volunteers to the city. Between and above these stand four heroic bronze statues : 
The Soldier, fully equipped, with his musket and bayonet fixed; the Sailor, facing seaward, with drawn 
cutlass; History, a female figure, laurel-wreathed, clad in Greek costume, and about to write on a tablet; and 
Peace, another classic female figure, seated and holding an olive-branch toward the South. Above these rises 
a tall Roman Doric Shaft of white Maine granite, with allegorical figures representing the North, South, East, 
and West at its base and four marble eagles at the top. The summit of the monument, seventy feet high, is 
a colossal bronze statue of the Genius of America, crowned with thirteen stars, holding a bare sword and two 
laurel wreaths in one hand, and a banner stafE in the other, and with her face bowed towards the south. Of 
this great and imposing memorial we give a fine illustration in these pages. 

At the foot of the hill, within an iron inclosure, stood an old tree, known as the " Old Elm," until the 
winter of 1876, when it was destroyed in a gale. It was believed to have been there even before Blackstone 
set foot on the peninsula, and was regarded as the oldest of its kind in Boston. It was decrepit even in l775, 
and was tenderly cared for for more than a hundred years. It liad been the scene of many stirring events. 
Witches, Quakers, murderers, pirates, and others had been hanged from its branches; the "Sons of Liberty" 
had illuminated it with lanterns in Revolutionary days ; duels had been fought under its shadow ; and it had 
been a tryst for generation after generation of Bostonians. A foot above the ground, its circumference was 
22^ feet, and it rose to a height of over 72 feet. A shoot off the "Old Elm" is now thriving on the spot 
where the old monarch of the forest stood. 

THE PUBLIC GARDEN 

lies just to the westward of the Common, with which it forms one of the handsomest parks in the country. 
The Garden, which is only separated from the Common by Charles Street, is in form varying little from a par- 
allelogram, and contains over twenty-four acres. The site of the Garden was formerly a dreary expanse of 



48 ILLUSTRATED BOSTON. 

marshy flats, overflowed by high tides, and was known as Round Marsh, or " the marsh at the bottom of tlie 
Common." After a great fire among some rope-wallcs in the present Congress Street in 1794, the cit}', in a fit 
of generosity, gave the marsh to tlie burned-out roperaakers. In 1819 their rope-walks on the marsh were 
burned out, but, as the land round about had increased much in value, they determined that it would pay them 
better to sell the marsh for building purposes than to reconstruct their rope-walks. The citizens were indig- 
nant, but the ropemakers were determined, and finally, in 1824, the city fathers concluded to buy back their 
gift of thirty years before, for $54,000 to make a public garden out of the marsh. In this they have succeeded 
admirably. In the centre is an artificial lake, with fountains, swan-houses, pleasure-boats, etc. The Garden 
is intersected with fine, graveled, sinuous walks, the velvety lawns are kept in splendid order, and the floral 
displays are tlie finest in America. The Garden contains many fine statues, among them being a colossal eques- 
trian one of General Washington, bronze statues of Charles Sunmer and Edward Everett, and a granite and 
red marble monument to commemorate the discovery in Boston of ether as an anaesthetic. By night the 
Garden is illuminated by electric lights, and the place is a popular resort for persons of all conditions. 

ORIGINAL AND PRESENT AREAS OF BOSTON. 

In the preceding pages frequent reference has been made to the first settlement of Bostonlans being on a 
peninsula. When Blackstone was here " lord of all he surveyed," his landed jiosscssions formed a pear- 
shaped peninsula, and up to the beginning of the last half century the territorial area of the city was limited 
to the land owned by him. Its extreme length was less than two miles, and its greatest breadth a little more 
than one. The peninsula "hung to the mainland, at Roxbury," says one writer, "by a slender stem, or neck 
of a mile in length, so low and narrow between tide-washed flats that it was often submerged. Now tlie 
original 783 acres of solid land have become 1829. The broad, oozy salt-marshes, the estuaries, coverts, and 
bays once stretching wide on its northern and southern bounds have been reclaimed ; and where then the 
area was the narrowest, it is now the widest. The liills have been cut down — one. Fort Hill, entirely removed ; 
the whole surface of the original ground has been levelled and graded, and every square inch turned over and 
over ; new territory has been added by annexing adjoining suburban cities and towns, until now the area of 
the city, with all its districts, is 2.3,661 acres (36 j-^ square miles) — more than thirty times as great as the original 
area. The areas of the districts are as follows: South Boston, 1002 acres; East Boston, 836; Roxbury, 2700; 
Dorchester, 5614; West Roxbury, 7848; Brighton, 2277; Charlestown, 586; Breed's Island, 785; Deer 
Island, 184. 

The following islands in the liarbor of Boston belong to the city, viz. : Deer Island, containing 184 acres 
upland, and 50 acres flats, conveyed to the inhabitants of Boston, March 4, 1634-35 ; Thompson's Island, an- 
nexed to Boston by actof March 15, 1834; Great Brewster Island, containing 16 acres, purchased in 1848 
for $4000; Gallop's Island, containing 16 acres, purchased in 1860 for $6600 ; Apple Island, containing 9+ 
acres, purchased 1867 for $3750; Rainsford Island, containing 11 acres, purchased, together with all hos- 
pital buildings and dwellings thereon, in 1871, for $40,000. Male paupers whose settlement is established 
in this city are now located in the large hospital building upon this island. Moon Island, containing about 
30 acres, was taken by right of eminent domain from the heirs of James Huckins and others in 1879, and 
constitutes the point of discharge of the great sewer of the city of Boston. The city has within it 123,268,652 
feet of marsh-land flats ; and the measurement of the city from north to south is eleven miles, and from east to 
west nine miles. The principal business section of the city, lying between the harbor and Charles River, is a 
mile and a quarter across. 

The various annexations tliat have been made to the city have necessitated the building of many bridges 
over the water-ways that separate the city proper from the districts annexed. These bridges are : Broad- 
way Bridge, over Fort Point Channel to South Boston; Cambridge Bridge. Western Avenue and North Har- 
vard Street bridges, from Brighton to Cambridge ; Canal, or Craigie's Bridge, Leverett Street to East Cam- 
bridge ; Charles River Bridge, Charlestown Street to Cliarlestown ; Chelsea bridges (North and South), Cliarles. 
town to Chelsea ; Chelsea Street Bridge, East Boston to Chelsea; Commercial Point Bridge; Congress Street 
Bridge, over Fort Point Channel ; Dover Street Bridge, to South Boston ; Essex Street Bridge, Brighton to 
Cambridge ; Federal Street Bridge, to South Boston ; Granite Bridge, Dorchester to Milton ; Maiden Bridge, 
Charlestown to Everett; Meridian Street Bridge, East Boston to Clielsea ; Mount Washington Avenue Bridge, 
to South Boston ; Neponset Bridge, Dorchester to Quincy ; North Beacon Street Bridge, Brighton to Water- 



THE METROPOLIS OF NEW ENGLAND. 



49 



town; Prison Point Briilgo, Cliarlestown to P2a>t Cambridge; AVarrcn Bridge, Beverly Street to Charlcstown ; 
West Boston Bridge, Cambridge Street to Cambridgeport ; Western Avenue Bridge, to Watcrtown ; W'intlirop 
Bridge, Breed's Island to Wintlirop. A new bridge is now in course of construction from the Back Bay lands 
across the Charles River to Cambridgeport, and will bo of vast service to the people located in these thriving 
sections. 



CREATED LAND. 

Proudly as she sits by the sea, majestic as she appears in her thrift and grandeur as the metropolis of 
New England, Boston has not acquired her present domain, her pre-eminence among the cities of the New 




World, and her prosperity as a great manufacturing and com- 
mercial ciiitre on the Atlantic seaboard, without a patient and 
prolonged struggle with natural obstacles and manifold ad- 
versities in varied forms. From statistics, given in a previous 
page, it will be seen that what arc now the most \aluable sec- 
tions of the city have been stolen, as it were, by engineering 
skill from the boundless and restless ocean. Mucli of the 
original peninsula was rocky, and what is now the Common was 
liberally strewn with boulders deposited there ages ago. The 
first settlers found the peninsula abounding in abrupt and 
gradual elevations; large inlets of sea-water, that nearly 
divided it ; broad fringes of ooze, and mud, and extensive marshes; an inner bay and with but a slender 
neck connecting it with the mainland. The greatest breadth of the Neck was at Beach Street, and its nar- 
rowest at Dover Street. From the latter point, says Drake, " it increased gradually in width to the neighbor- 



Post Office Square. 



50 



ILLUSTRATED BOSTON, 



road 



hood of Dedliam Street, tlience expanding in greater proportion to tlie line at the present car-stables, nearly 
opposite Metropolitan Place." In Revolutionary times the Neck was known as that part lying south of Dover 
Street, and at high tides the road was in some places covered with water which reached to the knees of horses 
passing through it. A sea-wall was built on the west side and a dyke on the east. A little south of the pres- 
ent Dover Street a fortification was built, and here were gates which were closed at night and which prevented 
any one from coming into or leaving the town on that side after a certain hour at night. 

Since that time tne city has been enlarging its area on every hand by making inroads upon the domain 
of Old Neptune, and this at fabulous cost, for the materials with which to do this have had to be carried from 
a distance. Trees were not found numerous on the peninsula by the first customers, though bushes were 
abundant ; and to what extent the trees growing on the site served for house-building, the records are silent. 
But, when it was found necessary to construct piers or wharves, or to form solid borders to the territory over 
marslilands, or to push out to deep water, piles and timber had to be brought chiefly from the islands in the 
harbor. For a long time cargoes for sea going vessels had to be carried in small boats between the shore and 
the shps. It would be a curious calculation, were it possible, to estimate the number of forest trees which, 
from the earliest days to the present, have been driven into the marginal or alluvial soil of Boston, as solid 
land has been made over the water-flowage. These trees, covered with granite from the blowing up of local 
quarries and from Cape Ann, and with sand and gravel from hills a score of miles inland, illustrate the condi- 
tions by which a foothold has been secured on the peninsula. It is interesting, however briefly done, to in- 
quire what has been achieved in this direction in the various 

SECTIONAL DIVISIONS' OF THE CITY. 

In the earlv days the " Old Canal," or Mill Creek, which ran on the line of the present Boston & Maine Rail- 
from Causeway Street to Haymarket Square, thence through Blackstonc Street and North to the old town 

dock, where North Market Street now is, divided the city into the 
North and South Ends. At the beginning of the present century 
the whole of what is now llaymarket Square — the termination of 
Union, Washington, Sudbury, Cross, Merrimack, Canal, Haverhill, 
Charlestown, and Blackstone Streets — was a pool, known as Mill 
Cove and Mill Pond, and this was spanned by a bridge. This 
waterway was known as the Middlesex Canal, by which canal-boats 
came down from the up-country, along the Merrimack, to the East- 
Side wharves of Boston. The Canal was filled up and Blackstone 
Street opened as a thoroughfare in 1834. At this time, and for 
some years afterwards. Commercial Street, from the Old Battery, 
or Battery Wharf, to Long Wharf, was a water-front ; and, until 
Broad Street was laid out, in 1808, Battery-march, to its junction 
with Kilby Street, marked the water-line. Where Dock Square 
now is, was formerly the Town Dock, which ran along the foot 
of the Market Place, about where Faneuil Hall now stands ; and 
near the junction of North and Union Streets was the " Watch- 
house.' Near the latter was a reservoir of water, raised in the 
centre and sloping at the sides, and was called the "Conduit." It 
was about twelve feet square, and the top was utilized as a meat- 
market on Saturdays. At the foot of Merchant's Row was a swing- 
bridge over the dock. What is now Atlantic Avenue was at one 
time the site of an ancient hai'bor defence known as the Barricado, 
but sometimes called the " Sea- Wall " or " Out-AVharves." It 
connected the South Battery, which was on the spot where Rowe's 
Wharf now is, with the North Battery, which was at the North 
End, opposite Charlestown. It formed a line of about 2200 feet in length, about 15 feet in height, and 20 
feet in breadth at the top. It was erected in 1673, and was provided with openings to allow shipping to 
pass within its line, while it was calculated to mount heavy guns en barhcttr. It was of little use, fell into 




Odd-Fellows Monument. 



THE METROPOLIS OF NEW ENGLAND. 



51 



decay, and finally gave way to iiupioveiiients. It will be seen that all the present water-front extending to 
a line with Commercial Street, and, in places beyond it, is made land, and the most valuable in the city. 
Atlantic Avenue, extending from the junction of Commercial Street and Eastern Avenue to Federal Street, 
was constructed by the city at a cost of |2, 404,078, and is 100 feet in width. Here are immence wharves, 
huo-e warehouses, and immense traffic, which is facilitated by the railroad cars running along the line of 
docks. It was at one of these wharves — the Liverpool (formerly Griffin's) Wharf — where the famous 
" Boston Tea Party " took place, and to which we shall revert hereafter. 

The term " North End " is usuallv applied to that section of the city lying towards Charlestown, between 
the Boston & Maine Station and Faneuil Hall. This was the tirst settled part of the town, and it is historic 
ground and once the residential quarter for Boston's aristocracy, and now the abode of thousands of the 




State House. 

liumb.er classes. North Square, the small triangular 
inclosure between North and Moon Streets, was, in the 
early days, the heart of the " court end " of the town. 
In the immediate neighborliood the first families dwelt. For years the " Old 
North," the "Church of the Mathers," occupied one side of the Square, near 
where the Mariner's House now is. This church was torn down by the British 
during the siege of the city, and was used by them for firewood. In 1734 
one of the three town markets was located in the Square, in which was 
located the residence of the Revolutionary hero, Paul Revere. Near the Square, on corner of North and Rich- 
mond Streets, was the famous hostelry, the Red Lion Inn, kept by a Quaker, one Nicholas Upsall, who, in the 
days of reliciious persecution, was put to death because of his Quakerism. In time this section became a 
" dangerous " quarter, the habitation of the immoral and vicious, but street improvements and electric lights 
have done much to take away from the locality a large measure of its unsavoriness. Till within a compar- 
atively few years the North End retained the quaint, old-fashioned look of the town as it was a hundred and 
more years ago. Many of the ancient houses still remained, with "gambrel roofs and overhanging stories, 



52 ILLUSTRATED BOSTON. 

standing close upon tlie narrow, crooked and winding streets that characterize the older portion of most old 
cities." But the hand of improvement has been busy here, as elsewhere for streets have been straightened 
and widened, and the old houses sliced off, set bade, torn down, or decorated with new fronts. Tlie most 
marked improvement is in Hanover Street, stretching from Court Street, on the slope of the Pemberton Hill, — 
one of the peaks of the ancient Treamount, — to tlie water-front on Atlantic Avenue. This thoroughfare was 
opened out about a quarter of a century ago, since which time many old store edifices have given place to 
fine business blocks of spacious character, and Hanover Street is to-day one of the best-known business av- 
enues of the city. Salem Street (which runs oil obliquely from Hanover Street, and then runs nearly parallel 
with it), and the streets which cross it, offer to tlie lover of the antique and curious much to interest him. 
.Modern innovations in the building art are here and there apparent, but on Salem and the intersecting streets 
there are still many good examples of the colonial style of building yet extant, with the second story projecting 
over the first. Salem, Cross and adjacent streets are to-day chiefly occupied by Jews, and their stores are 
the centres for trade in second-hand clothing, jewelry, and " odds and ends " of every description. From the 
left of Salem Street, through Baldwin Place, is the Home for Little Wanderers, where poor children, many of 
them orphans, are received and cared for, and ultimately given permanent homes in the country and in West- 
ern States on farms. Farther down Salem Street, opposite Sheafe Street, is the Industrial Home, where poor 
cliildren and adults are instructed to become useful workpeople. The most interesting part of Salem Street 
is below Prince Street. The picturesque features are the old Christ Church, which fronts on Hull Street, and 
the ancient Copp's Hill Burying-ground near bv. Christ Church is associated with the outbreak of the Rev- 
olutionary War. It was 

" Here the patriot hung his light 
Which shone through all that anxious night 
To eager eyes of Paul Revere." 

An inscribed stone in the front of the steeple declares, in spite of some writers who have found time to argue 
to the contrary: "The signal lanterns of Paul Revere displayed in the steeple of tliis churcii April 18, 1775, 
warned tlie country of the march of tlie British troops to Lexington and Concord." Here, top, is the oldest 
■chime of bells in America. The inscriptions on them tell their history. On the first is, "This peal of 
eight bells is the gift of a number of generous persons to Christ Church in Boston, New England, anno 1744, 
A. R. ;" on the second, "This church was founded in the year 1723, Timothy Cutler, doctor in divinity, the 
first rector, A. R. 1744 ;" the third, " We are tlie first ring of bells cast for the British empire in North 
America, A. R. 1744;" the fourth, "God preserve the church of England, 1744;" the fifth, "William Shirley, 
Esq., Governor of the Massachusetts Bay in N. E., anno 1744;" the sixth, " The subscription for these bells 
was begun by John Hammock, Robert Temple, Robert Jenkins, and Ino Gould, church wardens, l744;" the 
seventh, "Since generosity lias opened our mouths, our tongues shall ring aloud its praise, 1744;" the eighth, 
"Abel Rudhall, of Gloucester, cast us all, anno 1744." The aggregate weight of the eight bells is 7272 
pounds; they cost £560; the freight by ship from England was given by John Rowe, and the charges for 
wheels and hanging were £93. 

These bells relate their own story so concisely that one wishes they could chronicle with equal clearness 
the events which have occurred around them since first they rang their opening peal. What an interesting 
tale it would be ! But they have had their share in making history, and their voices have often been lifted in 
behalf of liberty and humanity, as well as for the sacred cause of religion. The belfry in which the bells now 
are is not, however, the same that first received them. That was blown down by a tempest early in the pres- 
ent century, and the present erection, though old as things go in America, is modern compared with the main 
edifice. In the times that tried men's souls to the uttermost, the bells here tolled when danger for the col- 
onists was at hand ; thcv' called meetings of patriots, and rang merrily when the independence of the United 
States was declared. 

Near by the church is the ancient burial-ground of Copp's Hill, once the site of the homestead of W'il- 
liam Copp, an industrial cobbler. The lull was originally much higher than it is now, but, notwithstanding 
changes affected in its surroundings, the old graveyard, where the bones of many noted old Bostonians have 
been laid at rest, has been carefully preserved, aud is a place of great attraction to all who find interest in old- 
time associations. At one time a small mill stood on the summit of the hill, which in 1660 was laid out for 



THE METROPOLIS OF NEW ENGLAND. 



53 



a gTaveyard, and this f,>r a iciig- time was known as tlie 01.1 North Cur) hig-gi-ouu.l. In the sk-ge of Boston 
the Britisli established a redoubt on this hill, and from the battery- hero they fired upon the Americau earth- 
works on Breed's Hill in the battle of Bunker Hill. From here, too, the English poured hot shot into Charles- 
town, and destroyed the village. It is said that the Britisli, wliilc here, made targets of the gravestones of 

the burying-ground. Wlien the English evacuated Boston, 
on March 17, 177U, three of the heaviest guns of the battery 
here were found to be spiked and clogged so as to jircvent 
tlieir immediate use. 

In late years the whole of the North k^nd has under- 
gone great transformations. New churches have arisen, 
streets have been straightened and widened, and large ware- 
houses, and factories, and work-shops have taken the place 
of what were once habitations of the humblest and least 
favored of the population. Ilaymarket Square, once a pond 
with a bridge over it, is now one of the busiest centres in the 




The New Old South Church. 



City with streets branching off from it to all points of the compass. The Boston & Maine Railroad Station site 
fronting on the Square, and all the ground in tlie rear of it is made land, and now of enormous value. When the 
projected new Union Railroad Depot shall have been erected on Causeway Street and on the water's edge the 
who.3 of the space now occupied by the railroad between Causeway Street and Uaymarket Square till be 
thrown open for improvement and new buildings, and as important a cliange will be effected as was achieved 
Z InA'l ^'y t'-^ ''I'™^"/ "P of Washington Street from Dock Square to Ilaymarket Square at a cost of 
11,500,000. But let ns for a moment turn from the North End (which is the designation of that part of 
the city lying towards Charlestown, between the Boston A- Maine Station and Fancuil Hall), to 



54 ILLUSTRATEDBOSTON. 

THE SOUTH END. 

This appellation now applies to that part of the city lying to the south of Dover Street and extending to 
the Roxbury district. All this area is largely made land, and the newer portion, towards the West, joins the 
New West End, or Back Bay distr.ct ; but in the early days the canal which ran through Causeway Street, 
Haymarket Square, and Blackstone Street to the old town dock, where North Market Street now is, divided 
the city into the North and South Ends. The Old South Church, on the corner of Washington and Milk 
Streets, was, when erected, out at the South End ; hence its name. For many years the South End contained 
the principal shops, the finest mansion houses, and the Common. What is now known as the South End 
was then the Neck Field. At a later date the present Winter Street formed the down-town boundary. Then 
the boundary was extended to Boylston Street, and next to Dover Street, which is now recognized as the line 
between the Central portion of the city and the South End. 

For over thirty years subsequent to the settlement of Boston all that part of the South End embraced in 
the territory included between Knoeland and Eliot Streets north, and Castle Street south, was one unbroken 
field, the property of Deacon William Colbron. The " highway to Roxberrie," as it was termed, leading from 
North End, made a detour at Kneeland Street eastwardly, following thence the margin of the Old South Bay 
to Ca.stle Street, whence a return was made to the road leading over the Neck, which, a short distance beyond 
the present Dover Street, had a gate across it to keep out marauding animals, and as a sort of protection against 
the incursions of Indians. In 1663, however, a straighter line was made for the highway by an opening 
through the Colbron field. W^licn Washington Street — now a continuous thoroughfare from Haymarket 
Square, through the heart of the city, to the Highlands — existed under several titles, that portion of it south- 
ward from the intersection of Essex Street bore the name of Orange Street, and at this point the Neck of 
former days actually commenced. The tide came up to within a stone's throw of old Orange Street on the 
easterly side and to Pleasant Street on the westerly margin. From Essex Street the width gradually dimin- 
ished, until there was a mere thread of land, which was often overflowed by the high tides. This pari of the 
territory of Boston, a century back, was practically in the " country." There were not more than seventy- 

five families on the whole of it, extending from Essex Street to the Roxbury line and including all adjoining 
territory, and these families were distributed widely apart in the manner common with outlying precincts of 
villages. Each householder had and cultivated more or less of a garden for the growth of fruits and vegetables. 
Some of these residences were the abodes of persons of affluence who had retired from the active channels of 
trade. The district, too, was noted for several prominent distilleries a century ago. Following this period the 
town had a healthy growth, on the recovery from the depression consequent upon the Revolution, and there 
was excited and exploring spirit for new habitations. This led many seekers to the Neck district, and to the 
filling up of the vacant places with residences. Streets were opened intersectingly ; and those openings which 
had previously been simple places or courts leading to single houses were rearranged for the purposes of thor- 
oughfares. 

In 1809 the Boylston Market was erected on the corner of Washington and Boylston Street, and its site 
was then on the outer margin of the town. This building (removed during the last three years) was named 
in lionor of Ward Nicholas Boylston, a great benefactor of Harvard College. He it was who presented the 
clock that for so long a period did faithful duty in the tower of the quaint-looking old market, which con- 
tained three floors and basement. The land upon which the building was erected cost 75 cents per foot and 
the building itself $i30, 000. In 18.59 the building was extended 40 feet, and in 1870 was bodily removed 
back from the street 1 1 feet. The lower floor served as the market, and the Boylston Hall, above it, was used 
for church services, musical, theatrical, and miscellaneous entertainments, drillroom, armory, etc. A new, ele- 
gant structure of larger dimensions, covering about 15,000 square feet and costing about $250,000 to build, 
has just been erected on its site. The lower floor is a clothing store, and the upper floors are divided into 
offices. In its day the old Boylston Market was a great factor in promoting good living, and it drew its 
patronage from the elite of the city. Its erection led to the building in its vicinity of other public edifices of 
considerable note, among these being Mellish Motte's Unitarian Church, Dr. Phelp's Congregational Church, 
the Franklin Schoolhouse, etc. 

The work of creatino; the area comprised witliin the modern South End was begun, about the year 1853, 
by widening tiic Neck. This was done by reclaiming the flats on either side of it. Before this time, how- 



THE METROPOLIS OF NEW ENGLAND. 



55 



ever, — in 1844, — Harrison Avenue liad been laid out, and in 1832 Tremont Street, on tlie west side of the 
Neck, liad been extended to tlie Roxbury line. When in 1856 the street-railroad system was introduced, — 
the first line of the Metropolitan Company running from the old Granary Burying-ground, on Tremont Street, 
to Roxbury — the South End at once became the favorite residence portion, and building was extensively 
begun. Until the building up of the Back Bay district, the South End was the best residence section, and 
large portions of it still contain fine estates occupied by the most substantial citizens of the city. Legrange 
Street, once known as Legrange Place, was formerly one of the most charming spots in town, having nice 
houses, in a secluded position, handy to business. For some unexplained reason, however, the tenants were 
restless, and made frequent changes, but for many years tenants wore drawn from the better class of citizens 
engaged in mercantile life. In time " boarding-places " were opened, and later Langrange Place bad become 




^ ^,< ' J" 



r It 



#-T"^/H 



- ■■ , ^f _ I ■ - 






* " '' I'.fl II % ■'£ i * 

iiiiLiii, ... iiiiBliili'^'Nt - 



-JlilinriiUP *, 







^" '■ ,^^ ''I lv-fm_ ^'^* ,1', T ra-i W^ vSz' Xt^ML hSTTTT t^ 







:^-'.;^^- 






^li!*^l' ^/j.tSs#1C!f 



fi "- ::- 



Liberty Square, showing Mason Building and KilV:»y Street. 

a centre for residences of musical people. Since the place was opened out as a thoroughfare from Washington 
Street to Tremont Street, it has been a headquarters for the sporting fraternity, besides being the locale of 
one of the most lively police stations in the city. In former days the atmosphere of the South End was per- 
meated with an aromatic and pungent odor derived from various distilleries. There were two distilleries in 
the vicinity of Harvard Street, one of which was quite extensive, and was owned by W. C. Fay. Another, 
kept by Gardner Brewer, was situated on the corner of Washington Street and the present Indiana Street 
(then known as Distill house Street). Luther and Artemas Felton each prosecuted the distillery business a little 
farther up-street, and, on Castle and Suffolk Streets, Alexander Meldrum carried on an extensive brewery, where 
old-fashioned ale was made, and which was a popular resort for all thirsty Soutli-Enders. 



56 



ILLUSTRATED BOSTON. 



While tliree score years ago tlic air was redolent with the flavor of liops and the odor of new rum, there 
were three cliurclics in this region exerting a " powerful influence in exhibiting the religious tendencies of the 
inhabitants. They were all flourishing to their utmost. Dr. John Pierpont's society, in Hollis Street, repre- 
sented the most rigid Unitarians, and embraced in its congregation several who, like Francis Jackson, held 
advanced views upon moral questions, in common with their pastor. He was talented, and his independence 
often took an oflEensive form. On the corner of the present Motto Street stands a relic of what was one of 
the most fashionable Unitarian churches in town. Here Rev. Mellish Motte preached, and here Charlotte 
Cushman (before her theatrical days) sung in the choir, along with several members of the Handel and Haydn 
Society, including John G. Roberts, before alluded to. The immediate neighborhood of this church had then 
recently been improved and occupied by the residences of a number of its members. Orange Street then was 
a charming place, and its houses were eagerly sought for when erected. The houses are there now, but the 
street has a forbidding appearance. In placing the railroad bridge near by, it was made necessary to raise the 
grade, and the corners of Orange Street were demolished. On the lower corner the building contained an 
elegant hall, where fashionable parties and dances were held. Across the street, at its entrance, was sprung a 
tasty iron arch, holding a handsome lantern in the centre, which threw its rays down the street, giving a cheer- 
ful aspect after nightfall. The other church in allusion was known as the Pine Street Church. The old shell 
of this edifice still remains. The society held a first-class position under the ministration of Rev. Amos A. 
PhelDS, and is perpetuated to-day by the church corner of Berkeley and Appleton Sti-eets, as Mr. Mottc's 
society is by that known as Edward E. Hale's." The site of the Hollis Street Church, which was built in 
1819, is now occupied by the Hollis Street Theatre, and the congregation of the old church have now com- 
fortable quarters in a fine new edifice on the corner of Exeter and Newbury Streets. 

The avenues and streets of the South End section of the city are wide and handsome. It needs but little 
discernment for one familiar with the territory and its properties lying between Washington and Tremont 

--__-_^_^ - ... Streets, and extending from School to Dover 

Streets, to divine the purpose of enterprising 
citizens in 1868 of laying out a new thor- 
oughfare to the South End, midway between 
the tlien and now main arteries of the city. 
Shawmut Avenue did not then exist except 
as Suffolk Street, and thatliad not then been 
extended and widened to intersect with Tre- 
mont Street. Washington Street was narrow 
and crowded with traffic and stores, and 
Tremont Street was just beginning to de- 
velop into a business property. The im- 
provements made, of what had been rear 
property, valuable front building lots, and 
new residences and stores soon lined the 
avenue. Shawmut Avenue and Tremont 
Street arc of generous width, as also is 
Washington Street and likewise Columbus 
Avenue on the west, while on the east side 
the chief thoroughfares are Albany Street 
and Harrison Avenue. These are the main 
thoroughfares running from north to 
Young Men's Christian Association New Building. ^^^^^^^ " ^^^^ ^„^ ^^,.^,^ "^j^^ exception of a 

small strip on Washington Street, are on made land. The streets crossing these are very numerous, several of 
them containing many beautiful residences, and the most of them lined with comfortable dwellings. The 
principal cross streets include Canton, Brookline, Union Park, Newton, Rutland, Concord, AVorcester, Spring- 
field, and Chesterpark Streets. The " through" streets are spoken of as East or West, taking Washington Street 
as the dividing line. Scattered all through the South End are many large public and private buildings, a 




THE METROPOLIS OF NEW ENGLAND. 57 

nunilior of noted cluircli edifices, numerous large manufactories, and some of the finest apartment Iiouses in tlie 
cit_v and country. 

The leading streets and avenues stretching from north to south extend for miles, and are lined with richly 
equipped marts of trade and attractive residences, sanctuaries, hospitals, halls, and educational institutions. 
Building operations liave been actively prosecuted in late years, the entire region of the South End has been 
changed in its aspect, and real estate has increased immensely in value. The whole district is intersected with 
horse railroads, and an old-time Bostonian can find much here to interest him in comparing tlie present with 
the past. Let him take a horse-car on Tremont Street, and as the vehicle sweeps round the corner of the 
Common into Boylston Street he espies on the opposite corner the Hotel Pelham, the first building of the 
"French flats," or "family liotel " class in Boston. The edifice was erected a little over a quarter of a century 
ago by Dr. John Dix, and lias always been regarded as the finest and most popular of its kind. The building 
is valued at $120,000 ; the whole is assessed at $134,300, and the tax paid by the proprietor, Mr. J. L. Little, 
is $31,500. Some years ago, when Tremont Street was not as wide at this point as it is to-day, this hotel 
was raised up bodily and moved about twenty feet down Boylston Street, without disturbing the occupants, 
or in the least disarranging the interior. This was tlie greatest engineering feat of the age, being the first 
instance of the moving of such a large mass of masonry ; and it not only excited tlie wonder of people at home 
but of those in Europe, where the newspapers published full descriptions of the work of removal. On the 
opposite corner is the Hotel Boylston, originally erected as an apartment house, with the kitchens in the upper 
story. It belongs to the estate of Charles Francis Adams. The total valuation of this house is $419,000, the 
building being assessed at $180,300, and the tax paid by the trustees amounting to $30,000. Adjoining the 
Pelham Hotel is one of the most useful and most appreciated institutions in the city — the Public Library. As 
the car sweeps along Boylston Street, the traveller notices many changes that have been made and that are 
being made in the buildings fronting on the deer park and the old burying-ground at the foot of the Common. 
A few years ago these buildings were occupied as residences by noted wealthy Bostonians; now thev are being 
utilized for business purposes. Turning into Park Square, one notices here many improvements which did not 
exist a few years ago. A prominent feature in the Square is the " Emancipation Group " monument, repre- 
senting Lincoln with the figure of a slave kneeling at his feet in gratitude for the Emancipation Proclamation, 
the broken fetters falling from his limbs. This group is of bronze, designed by Thomas Ball. It was pre- 
sented to the city by lion. Moses Kimball, proprietor of the Boston Museum. On one side of the Square is 
the station of the Providence Division of the Old Colony Railroad, built at immense cost, and forming one of 
the handsomest and best-equipped railroad stations in the world. The property in this Square and in the 
streets branching off from it has increased phenomenally within the pa.st few years, and vast improvements are 
distinguishable on every liand. This increase between the Square and Church Street may be said to be 
greater than in any other section of the city. Ten years ago this property was held at a very low valuation, 
and some of it could hardly be given away, so to speak — that is, could not find a purchaser. Now some of it 
is immensely valuable, and all of it is very desirable, and with a great future before it. The corner building 
on the Square was erected by William J. Rotch of Now Bedford, at a cost of $75,000. This estate is so val- 
uable that it is assessed at about $40 a foot for tax purposes. The Hollander Building, adjoining, another fine 
business structure, cost $100,000 to build. Tlie Hotel Thorndike, on Church Street, extending from Boylston 
to Providence Street, cost about $75,000. It is owned by the heirs of the late Dr. Thorndike. Many of the 
buildings between the hotel and the Square have been altered over for business purposes, and command hiah 
rents. 

Let the voyager continue his ride, or his walk along Columbus Avenue; in fact, explore the whole of the 
South Kiid, and he will be amazed to witness the transformations that have been effected within a life- 
time. Wliere the sea water once rolled unhindered in majestic waves there are beautiful, wide, well-shaded 
streets, lined with buildings varying from the plainest to the most splendid in architecture. On two corners of 
Columbus Avenue and Berkeley Street stand the handsome People's Church (Methodist Episcopal) and the 
equally attractive First Presbyterian Church, while to the riglit and to the left are costly apartment houses and 
mansions betokening affluence on the part of the occupants. Passing over the railroad bridge one sees on the 
corner of Clarendon Street the fine Columbus- Avenue Universalist Church, the pastor of which is the Rev. Dr. 
A. A. Miner. Farther on, and located on tlie corner of the avenue and West Rutland Square, is a picturesque 
structure with ivy-covered walls. This is the Union Church (Congregational Trinitarian). The visitor may 



68 



ILLUSTRA'iED BOSTON, 



vary his journeyings as lie pleases and fiiul sonicthhig to interest him at every tnrn in noting the improvements 
efEected and the air of refinement which characterizes this residential section. If at Columbus Square he 
turns down Warren Avenue to reach the far-stretching Tremont Street, his attention will he arrested by the 
Church of the Disciples standing out prominently on the corner of Warren Avenue and West Brooldine Street, 
where the late Rev. Dr. James Freeman Clarke was for a long period the pastor. Beyond, on the corner of 




Paine Memorial Building, AppletonJ Street. 
West Canton Street, is the Warren Avenue Baptist Church, and on the corner of Warren Avenue and Dart- 
mouth Street stands one of the most noteworthy structures of its kind in the country— the building of the 
Latin and English High Schools, containing seventy-eight rooms and halls, drill hall, gynmasium, etc., stand- 
ing on an area of 423x220 feet. Beyond the avenne a little, and to the left on Dartmouth Street, is the old 
Rice School building, now occupied by the Normal School for girls, and lierein is a training-school. On the 



THE METROPOLIS OF NEW ENGLAND, 



59 




Army and Navy Monument, Boston Common. 



60 ILLUSTRATED BOSTON. 

lot adjoininn; the site of tlic Latin and English High School, and forming the corner of Montgomery and Clar- 
endon Streets, stands the Clai-endon Street Baptist Chnrch, of which the Rev. Dr. A. J. Gordon is the pastor. 

Continuing the walk along ^Yar^en Avenue until Berkeley Street is reached, there, standing on the corner, 
at the left, is the handsome Berkeley Street Congregational Trinitarian Church, and on the opposite corner, 
to the right, the handsome Odd Fellows' Hall building, with its marble front. Near tlie latter, on Berkeley 
Street, is the famous Parker Memorial Building, with the Parker Memorial and Summer Halls; while alongside 
of this edifice is the Paine Memorial Building, with its Paine and Investigator Halls. Li the same vicinity are 
two notable circular buildings, with fortress-like entrances, — the Cyclorama of Gettysburg and the Cyclorama 
of the Battle of Bunker Hill, both of which are worth visiting. 

Turning into Tremont Street, and proceeding up it, the Clarendon Hotel and the St. Cloud Hotel are 
reached, and opposite the latter is Union Park Street, with a trim, neat parkway in the centre. Through this 
a view is gained of what was once Edward Everett Hale's South Congregational (Unitarian) Church, but now 
a Hebrew synagogue. Farther along Tremont Street, and at the corner of West Brookline Street, the Shaw- 
mut Congregational Church (Congregational Trinitarian) stands ; and when the corner of Pembroke Street is 
reached we get a glimpse, on looking down the latter street, of the imposing school building occupied by the 
Girl's Latin and the Girl's High School. Journeying farther up Tremont Street the corner of West Concord 
Street is reached, and here stands one of the most handsome churches of the Methodist denomination in the 
city. On Springfield Street, to the left of Tremont Street, is the Home for Aged Men, a most popular and 
well-managed institution. 

Reaching Chester Square, a pleasant little park is seen, intersected with walks ; and taking the centre 
path we reach Washington Street, where, on the left, between Springfield and Worcester Streets, looms up the 
large marble front building, the Commonwealth Hotel, recently remodelled at a cost of $100,000. Near it, 
standing in the midst of ample grounds on the corner of West Concord Street, is the building long occupied 
as the State Normal School for the training of teachers of drawing in the public schools of the State. The 
school is now located on Newbury Street. 

While here it is worth while to turn into East Concord Street, then into Harrison Avenue, and inspect 
the City Hospital buildings, covering the entire block on this avenue, between East Concord and Springfield 
Streets. Near these buildings, on East Concord Street, are seen the Homoepathic Hospital and the Massachu- 
setts Medical School. In the immediate neighborhood is the Church of the Immaculate Conception, possess- 
ing one of the richest and most impressive interiors of the Roman Catholic Churches in the city. Attached 
to it is the Boston College of the Roman Catholic body. 

Passing into East Newton Street the New England Conservatory of Music — once the St. James Hotel, 
and now one of the largest and most useful educational institutions in the country — presents itself for inspec- 
tion. This, started as a music school, is now a general college, with and without boarding conveniences. It 
is proposed to enlarge the building by making a large music hall, into which is to be placed the "Great Or- 
gan," long a noteworthy feature of the Boston Music Hall on Winter Street. In the rear of the Conservatory, 
and occupying the lot fronting on Washington Street, is the Old South Burying-ground, laid out in 1810. 
Here are two small, but much appreciated parks, lying on either side of AVashington Street, and extending 
from Newton to Brookline Streets. That on the east side of Washington Street is Franklin Park, and that on 
the west side Blackstone Park. 

Walking along Washington Street in the direction of Boylston Street, one recognizes vast changes in 
store and other buildings lining this magnificent thoroughfare that have been effected in recent years. Old 
buildings, of diminutive size, have given place to high, towering structures that are now busy, prosperous 
marts of trade. One of the most noteworthy edifices on this thoroughfare is the great Cathedral of the Holy 
Cross, located on the corner of Union Park Street. It is the largest and finest Roman Catholic edifice in the 
city. It covers more than an acre of ground and its style is of the early English Gothic, cruciform, with nave, 
transept, aisle and clerestory, the latter supported by two rows of clustered metal pillars. The total lengtli of 
the building is 364 feet; width at the transei)t, l70 feet; width of nave and aisles, 90 feet; height to the 
ridgepole, 120 feet. The entire interior is clear space, broken only by two rows of columns, extending along the 
nave, and supporting the central roof. The arch separating the spacious front vestibule from the cliurch is of 
bricks, taken from the ruins of the Ursuline Convent on Mt. Benedict in Somerville, which was burned by a 
mob on the night of August 11, 1834. The interior is very rich in decoration, and has pew accommodations 



THE METROPOLIS OF NEW ENGLAND. 



ei 



for 3,000 persons. Tliere ;irc two iiiuin towers in front, and a turret, all of uiuM|iial lieiglit, and all t(j be 
eventually surmounted by spires, tliat on the soutliwest corner to tlie height of 300 feet, and tliat on tlie 
opposite corner to 200 feet. At the rear of tlie Cathedral, on tlic corner of Union Parli Street and Harrison 
Avenue, is the residence of the Archbishop. 

Another notable edifice, erected in 1887, is the Grand Opera House, a building of great size on Washing- 
ton Street, just above Dover Street. At the corner of Wasliington and Dover Streets is the Grand Museum, 
opened in 1888. Tliis was formerly the Windsor Theatre, and was the first " up-town " theatre in the city 
proper. It was at about this spot that the old fortifications at the " Neck," we liave already spoken of, were 
located. On reaching Hollis Street it is well worth while paying a visit to the handsome theatre which has 
been erected on the site of the old Unitarian Church, and by the time Boylston Street — the starting point for 
the tour through the South End — has been reached, a most comprehensive idea of the wonders which have 
been wrought, and of the vast wealth now centred in the South End will have been gained. 



THE BUSINESS DISTRICT. 

The region between the North End and South End, the Common and the Harbor, is occupied by the 
" Business District," where the chief wholesale and retail shops are grouped, the theatres, the city and national 
buildings, and the older hotels. It is a region bristling with old time associations, is full of historic spots hal- 
lowed by the tread a»d blood of bygone heroes, and was the battle-ground where the forefathers dared to risk 
limbs and lives in resisting foreign oppression, to throw before them warlike shields, and, a la Macbeth, call to 
their political taskmaster to "Lay on, Macduff; and danin'd lie him that first cries, 'Hold, enough!'" It is 
a region where the "Cradle of Liberty" has vigilantly rocked, where justice has been gagged and unbound, 
where fortunes have been won and lost, where statesmen have harangued and poets sung, where fire swept off 
buildings of generations and men's indomitable pluck and busy hands reared edifices more majestic and beau- 
tiful tiian those which went before, and where modern Bostonians love to point 'with pardonable pride to past 
achievements. Here are "items of interest" that would fill volumes, but the limits of these pages neccssarlK 
enforce conciseness. 

Let us, however, take a hasty run through some of the principal avenues of this renowned, busy centre, 
and notice in brief some of the relics that have been preserved and link the past with the present, and jot 
down such chief improvements and alterations in latter days that catch the eye during tlie journey. Let our 
starting point be Scollay Square, through 
which Court Street passes, and from which 
Treniont Street at the south, and Cornhill 
at the north, begin. Here is a puzzle for 
a stranger to start with, for the Court 
Street which rims through the Square, and 
off which Brattle, and Hanover and Sud- 
bury Streets shoot, is only a one-sided 
street, the otjier side of the thoroughfare — 
a busy shopping quarter — being designated 
Tremont How, the why and wherefore of 
which it is difficult to discover. Scollay 
Square, now a great street railroad centre, 
takes its name from Scollay's Building, 
which for a long period stood in the middle 
of the Square, and had a streetway on each 
side of it. Scollay's Building was the last 
of a row of buildings, of wedge shape, that 
extended from the line between Treniont 
Street and Cornhill to Hanover Street. It was owned by William Sriill;iv, an apothecary, lience its name. 
It was removed in 1871, and the site was then officially given the iianic Scollav Siiuare, where, since Sep- 
temljcr 17, 1880, a find bronze statue of Governor Wintlirop has stood. 

The two main streets of the city are Treniont and Washington. As we turn into the former from tlie 




62 ILLUSTRATEDBOSTON. 

Square, we notice on the left corner that one of Boston's old landmarks has vanished. This was an old-time 
mansion, where Washington lodged on the occasion of his visit to Boston in IT 89, but for a long period prior 
to its demolition in 1883 was devoted to business. It was originally a three-story building, and another story 
was added when it ceased to be used as a residence. On the Court Street front of the building, between the 
second and third stories, was a stone tablet, bearing the inscription, "Occupied by Washington, October, 1789." 
For half a century the lower story was occupied by S. S. Pierce & Co., grocers, and in the upper rooms Daniel 
Webster, Harrison Gray Otis, Judge R. I. Burbank and other notabilities had their offices. On its site now 
stands a high, towering brick structure of many stories, named the Hemenway Building, erected at a cost of 
$230,000. The old grocery firm are the occupants of the lower part of the building, the upper floors of 
which are used for offices. On the opposite side of the street, on the corner of Tremont Street and Peuiber- 
ton Square, a number of old buildings, crowded with lawyers' offices, have within the past two or three years 
given place to a most imposing brick edifice of many floors, built at a cost of $75,000 by the heirs of Eben- 
ezor Chadwick, and named the Chadwick Building. Here, as of old, the lawyers still "do most congregate." 
Adjoining the Hemenway Building is the Boston Museum, erected in 1846 at a cost of a quarter of a million 
of dollars. It is the oldest of the existing theatres in the city, and on its stage have appeared the most cele- 
brated actors and artistes of the time. The granite building next beyond, at Nos. 30 and 32, extends back- 
ward into Court Square. It is jointly occupied by the Sufiolk County Probate Office and the Massachusetts 
Historical Society, which possesses a valuable library, a lot of rare relics, paintings, busts and unique curi- 
osities. 

Adjoining this building is the King's Chapel Burial Ground and the Old King's Chapel itself, occupying 
the corner of Tremont and School Streets. These arc among the most cherished landmarks in the city, and the 
chapel still preserves in its name the memory of the ancient time when Boston was loyal to England's King. 
Now a Unitarian church, it was the first Episcopal church erected in New England. In the year 1646 a few 
Episcopalian citizens timidly craved the Puritan authorities to allow them to worship with the Book of Com- 
mon Prayer " till inconveniences hereby be found prejudicial to the churches and colony ;" but the stern old 
Roundheads would have none of it. The chaplain of Charles Second's Commission, however, introduced the 
Episcopal ritual by royal order twenty years later, and in twenty years more a church was erected. On the 
same site the present King's Chapel was built, in 1749-54, a small and massive structure of blackish stone, 
whose lower windows, deep set and square, gave point to Matthew Byles's pun, that he had heard of the 
canons of the church, but had never seen the port-holes before. The interior, with its high, old-fashioned 
pews, its tall pulpit and sounding-board, its massive pillars, stained glass window, mural tablets and monu- 
ments, is remarkably attractive, and the organ, selected by Handel, the great composer, and sent hither from 
England in 1756, still serves the church. When the English army evacuated Boston in l775, the rector left 
also, and carried with him the vestments and registers and the communion service, a gift of the King, and 
amounting to 2800 ounces of silver. In 1787 this parish, under the lead of its rector, exchanged Episcopa- 
lianism for TJnitarianism, and King's Chapel became the first Unitarian Church on the American continent. 
The old burial ground is rich in coats-of-arms and quaint epitaphs on its monuments, and headstones, and here 
lie the remains of Winthrop, Shirley and others of the colonial governors, several of the early Puritan clergy, 
Isaac Johnson and other founders of Boston. Johnson's wife was Lady Arabella, daughter of the Earl of 
Lincoln, and the climate of New England proved too severe for both of them, for three months after her 
arrival she died at Salem, and a month later her husband was buried in the King's Chapel Burial Ground. In 
1878 the city discussed a proposal to utilize the sites of the chapel and burial ground for a new court-house, 
but old landmarks were permitted to remain untouched. 

In the rear of the chapel, and fronting on School Street, is the handsome City Hall, a costly white granite 
structure, in the Renaissance style of architecture, built in 1862-65. The city government, on its organiza- 
tion in 1822, was located in Faneuil Hall. Later the Old State House, at the head of State Street, was used 
as the City Hall, and in 1840, the old Court-House, which occupied the site of the present City Hall, became 
the seat of the civic government. When the present edifice was erected it was thought to be on a large scale, 
and sufficient for the needs of the city for many years; but it became overcrowded and for a long time past 
quite a number of departments have been located in other buildings in the immediate neighborhood. The 
building, which cost over half a million of dollars to erect, contains five floors and an attic, above which is a 
high louvre dome, surmounted by a balcony, from which rises a flag-staff 200 feet high. The attic and the 



THE METROPOLIS OF NEW ENGLAND. 



63 



dome are utilized as the centre of the firc-alaiiu telegraph system which spreads all over the city, and the rest 
of the building is utilized for the ofhces of the municipality. The structure is handsome and substantial, and 
is elegant in its appointments throughout. In front of the building is a neatly kept lawn, and this is adorned 
on one side with a statue of Benjamin Franklin, and on the other with one of Josiah Quincy, the second mayor 
of the city (in 1823). Probably when the new Court-llousc, now being erected in Pemberton Square, has 
been completed, the present Court-llouse, on Court Square, in the rear of the City Hall, will be utilized for 
the enlargement of the latter. 

School Street (so called because of the old Latin school having been located here) is famous for its an- 
cient corner bookstore. It has stores of a varied character, and lawyers' offices in considerable number, and 
is noted as the locale of the. famous Parker Uouse, which, before its costlv enlargement, Dickens called the best 
hotel in America. Originally, it was a spacious six-story marble structure, and during the past four or five 
years it has been extended on f) the corner of Tremont Street, the front of the addition being also of marble 
and towering higher thin the jider part of the building The addition cost to construct o\er $100 000, ind 
it forms one of the most imposing atti actions on Tremont Stiett 




III" 

jl!iH!S 




^^ 



Opposite King's Chapel, and on the corner of Tremont and Beacon Street, Messrs. Houghton & Dutton 
have, within the past three years, erected, as an addition to their extensive store, a nine-story, fire proof struct- 
ure at a cost of §190,000. On the opposite corner is the famous old Tremont House with heavy, dark granite 
walls, where Henry Clay, Andrew Jackson, the Prince of Wales, Charles Dickens and other notables have so- 
journed. Dickens wrote of it — " It has more galleries, colonnades, piazzas, and passases than I can remem- 
ber, or the reader would believe." It has been recently considerably modernized. The heavy portico and 
flight of granite steps in front have been removed, and the office, reading-room, etc., brought down to the 
street level. It is said that Mr. Fred. L. Ames has acquired this property and purposes building upon its site 
a monster hotel in the near future. Adjoining the present building is the famous Old Granary Burying 
Ground, once a part of the Common. The title of the Old Granary Burying Ground was given to it because 
of its proximity to the old town granary, which stood where the Park Street Church now stands. More dis- 
tinguished persons have been buried here than in any other place in the city. Here are entombed the remains 
of nine governors of Massachusetts, two signers of the Declaration of Independence, six famous divines. 



64 



ILLUSTRATED BOSTON. 






tlio victims of the Boston Massacro, Jolin ILincuek, Saiiiucl Adams, Peter Fancuil, raul Revere, Samuel 
Sewall, tlie parents of Benjamin Franlclin, and many oilier notable Americans. Until about sixteen rears an-o, 
the crowded sidewalk in front of the burying ground was partly occupied by a lino of noble elms, which 
were imported from England in 1672. To meet the demand of the street railways they were cut down at 
night, for the civic authorities feared the opposition of the people, who were indignant. Admission to the 
burying ground is by permit, obtained at the City Uall. On the side of this "God's Acre," is the Park Street 
Cluirch, built in 1809. It was the lirst Congregational Trinitarian Church established after Unitarianism had 
won over from orthodox ranks its principal members. With such persistent earnestness was Calvinism con- 
tended for from its pulpit that 
the "ungodly" of the other 
sects nick-named the locality 
"Bi-inistone Corner." It has 
now a large amd wealthy con- 
gregation. 

Ojiposite the Tremont 
House is a notable building, 
the Tremont Temple, sand- 
wiched between marts of trade. 
Its site was formerly occupied 
by the Tremont Theatre, in 
which Charlotte Cushman, the 
famous actress made her dehut 
on April 8, 183.5. lu 1843 the 
Baptists bought the building 
anil erected in its stead a Tem- 
ple, which was destroyed by 
tire, as was also its successor, 
the present structure having 
been erected iu ISTu. Il is the [ilace of worship of the Union Temple Free Church, the headquarters of the 
New England Baptists, and a popular place for public meetings. The main hall is one of the finest in the 
country, and contains an organ of great power and singul.ir beauty. The hall is 6G feet high and 122 x 72 feet 
in dimensions and has two galleries. There is seating accommodation for 2,600 persons. Beneath this hall is 
a smaller one, called Meionaon Hall, with a seating capacity of nearly one thousand. Farther along the street, 
and facing the Old Granary Burying Ground is the Horticultural Hall, a handsome granite edifice, standing 
between Montgomery Place and Bromfield Street. This is the headquarters of the Massachusetts Horticultural 
Society. It contains offices and large, handsome halls for meetings, exhibitions, etc. During a fire which 
occurred on December 29, 1888, many valuable paintings of past presidents of the society were ruined. 

Bromfield Street is one of the many cross streets which connect Tremont and Washington Streets. It 
contains several publishing houses, oifioes, varied business stores, and a largely attended Methodist Episcopal 
Church, of which the Rev. G. A. Crawford is pastor. Some of the buildings adjoining the church have re- 
cently undergone extensive alterations and effected a marked improvement in the business aspect of the street. 
At the corner of Bromfield and Tremont Street is a handsome edifice, the Studio Building, devoted to offices, 
etc. It has quite recently been reconstructed to a considerable extent internally. Side by side with this 
building are art and other stores fronting on Tremont Street, and extending to the corner of Hamilton Place, 
whence Tremont Street is built up only on one side as far as where it is crossed by Boylston'Street, the other 
side of the thoroughfare being occupied by the Common. This length, during shopping hours, presents at 
all times an animated aspect, the broad sidewalk being at all times crowded with persons good-naturedly el- 
bowing their way through the moving throng. 

At the corner of Hamilton Place and in the " place " itself two magnificent buildings have been lately 
erected at a cost of about $225,000 by the heirs of Jonathan Phillips, and on the opposite side of the " place " 
most of the old buildings have been rebuilt. In the " place " is one of the entrances to the great Music Hall, 
another entrance being on Winter Street. It was built in 1852, and is almost entirely concealed by surround- 




Street eor Clarendon 



THE METROPOLIS OF NEW ENGLAND. 



65 



ing buildings and is devoid of Hrcliiteotural pretensions, it contains two nails, one seating 2600 and the other 
SOU persons. The main hall used to contain the largest and finest organ in the world, and it is said it will 
soon bo introduced into the New England Conservatory of Music on East Newton Street. The Mu.sic Ilall 
seems to have outlived its usefulness as the home of musicians, and of late years it has been occupied for all 
sorts of purposes, including fairs, public meetings, balls, cat and dog shows, foot races, walking and wrestling 
matches, beer garden, etc. More than once the idea has been entertained of demolishing the building to make 
way for business improvements and to extend Hamilton Place straight through to Washington Street. 

Near the corner of Winter Street and fronting on Treniont Street and the Common, is St. Paul's, a 
church of the Episcopal Communion, erected in 1819— "20, and built of dark granite, with a fine Ionic portico 
and colonnade of sandstone. The ceiling is panelled and cylindrical, and the chancel contains modern frescos 
and a brilliant stained window. Winter Street, like Temple Place and West Street, is a fa.shionable retail 
shopping centre, filled with elegant stores, many of which have been improved and enlarged in recent years. 
On the corner of Temple Place used to stand tiie Masonic Temple, always an attractive feature from the time 
of its erection in 1832 owing to its peculiar forn)ation. It was five stories high and was built of rough Quinev 
granite. The entrance was a low, broad Norman doorway, and the various floors were lighted by long arched 
windows. The building was surmounted by battlements and pinnacles and had two towers, each sixteen feet 
square and ninety-five feet high. The Masonic body held their lodges here until they erected their new Tem- 
ple on the corner of Boylston Street, and tlien it was for years occupied as the United States Circuit Court. 
Three or four years ago the property was purchased by R. H. Stearns & Co., and the building was raised 
bodily and two .stories built under it, while its outward aspect as well as its interior arrangements was entirely 
changed. It is now devoted to the dry-goods business. 

From West Street to Boylston Street high, imposing buildings iiave been erected on the sites of old 
houses, and this quarter is now chiefly occupied by the Boston Conservatory of Music, and by so many piano 
manufacturing concerns as to have earned the name of "Piano Row." The new Masonic Temple, on the 
corner of Tremont and Boylston Street, built in 1867, is seven stories high, with octagonal towers rising 120 








66 ILLUSTRATEDBOSTON. 

foct. It contains three magnificent halls for meetings, one being furnished with splendor in the Corinthian 
st}le, anotlicT in the Egyptian, and the third in the Gothic. 

We now turn into Washington Street, and retrace our steps northward along this busy thoroughfare, 
filled at all hours of the day with a seething mass of human beings. As we turn from Boylston Street 
(anciently called Frog Lane) into Washington Street, a tablet, with a representation of a spreading tree, 
will be observed on the front of the building on the east side of Washington Street, corner of Essex. 
Here stood the "Liberty Tree" under which the "Sons of Liberty" were organized in 1765, and 
under which meetings were held to give expression of opposition to the revenue oppressions of the English 
government. When a meeting was intended to be held the signal was given by placing a flag in the branches 
of the tree, and the flag is still preserved in the Old South Church. In the siege of Boston the tree was pur- 
posely destroyed by the British, to the grief of the people. 

The present Washington Street has always been the chief artery of the town, thougli it lias not always 
been known by the name it now bears nor was it formerly so far-stretching in its length. The name Wash- 
ington was given in honor of General Washington on the occasion of his visit to the town in 1789. At first 
the present Washington Street was a series of streets from down-town to the Roxbury line, known as Cornhill, 
Marlborough, Newbury, Orange and Washington; and it was not until 1824 that the old names were dropped, 
and the entire thoroughfare named as now. Until 1873-4, the down-town end of Washington Street was at 
the present Cornhill and Old Dock Square , in that year, as noted elsewhere, the street was extended through 
to Ilayinarket Square, from which point it now stretches through the city and the Roxbury district to the 
Dedhain boundary. A few doors north of Boylston Street corner we enter the theatre district, where are the 
Park, Globe, Boston and Bijou theatres, the neighborhood of which presents a very brilliant appearance at 
evening or just after matinees. In the bend of the street, near the Boston Theatre, is the Adams House, a 
splendid hotel built in 1883 on the site of the old Adams House, wliicli itself long stood on the site of the 
Lamb Tavern, whence the first stage to Providence started before the days of railroads. Recently the pro- 
prietors of this house have acquired, on a lease for fifteen years at a rental of $30,000 a year, two estates on 
which they have erected an extension of the hotel. In this immediate neighborhood are the great retail dry- 
goods houses of the city, notably those of R. H. White & Co. and Jordan, Marsh & Co., with their acres of 
floorage space. Congregated about these are stores where every variety of merchandise is to be obtained ; and 
the sidewalks are filled from morning till night with an ever-moving throng, while the carriage-way is frequent- 
ly choked with vehicular traffic. Much of the property hero was destroyed in the great fire of 1872, of which 
more anon. Most of the buildings lining this thoroughfare have, during the past sixteen or eighteen years 
been greatly altered or entirely rebuilt upon an expensive and ornamental scale ; but the street is too narrow 
for these improvements to be seen to advantage and also for the accommodation of great traific constantly 
found here. 

Farther on we come to the corner of Milk Street, where stands the lamous.old South Church, that relic 
of revolutionary times, that tells on a tablet in its tower that the church was erected, first, in 1669, rebuilt in 
1729, and that it was "desecrated by the British in l775," by using it as a riding school and liquor saloon. 
In those troublous times, however, neither the British nor the colonists hesitated to use the churches for the 
exigencies of war, for of the latter it is said that they took away the lead pipes from the then church at Cam- 
bridge and converted them into bullets with which to kill the armed hosts of England. The site of the old 
church was originally occupied by the house of Governor Winthrop, who lived and died here. The property 
Tvas bequeathed by Mrs. Mary Norton (wife of Rev. John Norton) for the erection of a meeting-house. In 
the days immediately prior to the Revolution, meetings of citizens were held here to discuss their grievances, 
and such meetinos British officers sought to repress. One such meeting was held here when the famous Bos- 
ton Tea Party, which culminated in the Revolution, occurred on December 16, 1773. Paul Revere, Samuel 
Adams and about twenty other kindred patriots, had been concocting a plan for some time to rid the port of 
some hateful tea chests that were at the wharves, or soon to arrive there — hateful because of the obnoxious tax 
of the British government, imposed upon it after the repeal of the " odious Stamp Act." It is said that Sam 
Adams had contrived this meeting to draw off the attention of the English officers from the sclieme to destroy 
the tea brought over by the ships Dartmouth and Eleanor and the brig Beaver, then at Griffin's (now Liver- 
pool Wharf). When the meeting opened, British officers, with wonted effrontery, crowded the pulpit, so that 
Dr. Warren, the pastor and the orator on the occasion, had to climb through a rear window to get into the 



THE METROPOLIS OF NEW ENGLAND. 



67 



WJ r rr r r. rrir jr rr r rxq 






rr-r r- 



pulpit, whicli lie did. Daring the proceedings, John Rowe asked, " Who knows how tea will mingle with salt 
water?" a question which was greeted with shouts of laughter. About sunsot an Indian yell was heard out- 
side the church, and a hand of men, disguised as Moliawk Indians filled the street. The meeting at once broke 
up; and the Indians in disguise marched down to the ships, whence they threw into the harbor 342 chests of 
tea. After the war, the church was used for divine service until the society erected the Now Old South 
Church in the Back Bay district. The old edifice just missed falling a prey to the great fire in 1872, and wss 
tlien for a time used as a post-office. It is now used for the exhibition of historic relics, lectures, etc., and 
the basement is occupied as an old bookstore. In the vicinity of the clinrch on the opposite side of the 
street, formerly stood the Old Province House, of 
whose quaintness Hawthorne wrote so charmingly. 
It was built in 1679, and became the vice-regal 
residence of Shutc, Burnet, Shirley, Pownall, Sir 
William Howe, and a long line of British govern- 
ors, when the court ceremonies of the province 
were conducted within its halls, and the royal pro- 
clamations were read from its high balcony. The 
present Province Court was the way to the stables. 
From its high estate the vice-regal residence de- 
scended .to the level of a shabby gin-mill and 
concert hall, and finally to that of a cheap lodging- 
house, while it became hidden almost from view 
to pedestrians on Washington Street by the tall 
buildings erected about it. Now, a handsome 
six-story hotel, to be named the Boston Tavern, is 
being erected on its site. In the same vicinit}', 
too, is the great publishing centre, and the oldest 
bookstore in the city. Book houses are plentiful, 
and the leading newspaper offices are crowded 
into this locality. Opposite the church, in Milk 
Street, is the Post building, occupying the site of 
the house in which Benjamin Franklin was born. 
Near too, on Washington Street, is the Trunscript 
building, and farther north, crowded near each 
other, are the offices of the Herald, Journal, Globe, 
Advertiser, and Record, all occupying tall, costly, 
well-appointed buildings, the Globe building being 
the latest accession and which is a fitting monu- 
ment to its enterprise. The Globe Newspaper 
Company is comprised of some of Boston's most 
hio-lily esteemed and public-spirited citizens,with Mr. 
Ed. Prescott as president and cashier, and Colonel 
Charles H. Taylor as manager. This represen- 
tative and progressive Newspaper Company are 

proprietors of the daily, Sunday, and weekly Globe, which are the recognized leading newspapers of New 
England. The Globe Newspaper Company was duly incorporated in 1S72 under the laws of Massachusetts. 
It was reorganized in 1878, with a paid-up capital of §125,000, and now its daily and Sunday issues of the 
Globe have a larger circulation than any other Boston newspaper. The first editor of the Globe was Maturin 
M. Ballon, and the first paper, issued March 4, 1872, contained eight pages of seven columns, the price being 
four cents. He was succeeded, in August, 1873, by Colonel Chas. H. Taylor, who has been the editor and 
manager of the Globe from that time until the present. The success achieved has been due to his enterprise 
and industry. The building is one of tlie finest and largest in Boston, and was built expressly for the Globe. 
The building is admirably equipped with all modern appliances, including elevators, electric lights, etc., and no 







ft' 
ft 



fa.:, 'TT : : 




Globe Buildi 



68 ILLUSTRATEDBOSTON. 

pains or expense have been spared to make this establishment complete in every detail. In the printing-rooms 
are three splendid single and two double Iloe presses, which are able to print 1400 papers in a minute. The 
machinery is driven by two superior 125 horse-power steam-engines, and the total number of persons em- 
ployed in the various departments is about 500 There are likewise two elevator and electric-light engines on 
the premises, of the latest type. Eight editions of the Globe are turned out daily, which consume fifteen tons 
of paper. The daily, Sunday, and weekly Globe are got up in the highest style of the typographical art. 
An able and superior stafE of editorial writers, reporters, and correspondents is employed. It has regular letters 
from its own correspondents abroad, and carefully covers all political, local, and foreign news ; while at tlie same 
time it gives ample descriptions of races, base-ball, and all kinds of manly sports and pastimes. Its editorials 
are able, crisp, direct to the point, and treat all matters of interest in an impartial and fearless manner. The 
circulation of the Sunday Globe in November was 127,02.3, and the daily Globe 148,710. Its advantages as a 

splendid advertising medium have been recognized 
very generally by all classes of the community ; and 
in this line it conducts the largest and most lucra- 
tive business in Boston. In consequence of its 
large size and vast amount of original and able read- 
ing-matter, it is not only the cheapest, but un- 
questionably the best, paper in the city. Colonel 
Chas. H. Taylor, the manager, was born in Charles- 
town, Mass., and during the civil war was a private 
in the 38th Mass. Vol. Infantry. He served one 
year, and was seriously wounded at the battle of 
Port Hudson, Miss., and eventually retired from the 
service, for disability. He was private secretary to 
Governor Clafflin, and was also clerk of the House 
of Representatives. Colonel Taylor is a popular 
member of the Press, Temple, Central, and Algonquin 
Clubs, etc., and is one of Boston's highly esteemed 
and public-spirited citizens. The circulation of the 
Globe is steadily increasing, not only in Boston, but 
in all sections of New England, and its present pros- 
perous status augurs well for the future. In 
"Printing House Square" — and Dock Square, are 
many old-time buildings, relieved by but few new 
edifices, prominent among which are Rogers' 
and Sear.s' Buildings, magnificent structures at 
the head of State Street. The whole of the 
buildings, except a few on the east side that line the remaining length of Washington Street from Dock 
Square to Haymarket Square, have been built or rebuilt since this section of the street was opened, and no city 
in the country can show a finer range of business blocks than those to be seen here. Dock Square, on the 
site of the old Town Dock, which was spanned by a swing bridge at the foot of Merchants' Row, is now a 
busy centre, and standing in the middle of it is a statue of Samuel Adams erected in 1880. From here is 
seen the front of Faneuil Hall, and off Washington Street, at this point, Cornhill and Brattle Street swing round 
to Scollay Square. The famous hostelry, Quincy House, stands on the corner of Brattle Street and Bratt.'e 
Square ; and in this square stood formerly a churck- which the British turned into a barrack during the siege 
of Boston. Cornhill, renowned for its old bookstores and up which we must now pass once more to Scollay 
Square, was so named in 1828, having previously been called Market Street, because it lead to the market, the 
original Cornhill being at the foot of Washington Street before its extension. Having returned to Scollay 
Square, we must now prepare for a journey, through the principal sections of the great 




FINANCIAL AND WHOLESALE BUSINESS CENTRES 



THE METROPOLIS OF NEW EN GLAND. 69 

of the city. These centres ure confiiieil l)otween the liarbor on the one liand, and tlie streets of Essex, Wash- 
ington, and Hanover on the other, and lie chiefly south of Blackstone Street. A large portion of this area is 
frequently spoken of as the "Burnt District," laid waste by the "Great Fire" in 1872. At 1.15 p.m. on 
November 9th in that year a fire broke out in a building on the corner of Summer and Kingston Streets, and 
spread with terrible speed, in spite of all the efforts that could be brought from far and near to suppress it, 
and, before the conflagration was quenched, it had spread over sixty -five acres, and destroyed about eighty 
million dollars' worth of property and many lives, leaving the entire district bounded by Summer, Washington, 
Milk, and Broad Streets a smoking chaos of ruins. This was a terrible blow to Boston, but the city soon re- 
covered from it, and tlie "Burnt District" is to-day a section of imposing and sub.stantial warehouses, its 
appearance greatly improved, and tlie wealth and convenience of this part of the city thereby increased. The 
financial centre is circumscribed by Washington, State, Broad, and Milk Streets. The great dry-goods and 
clothing quarter covers a large area. The wholesale trade is chiefly centred in Devonsliire, between Milk and 
Franklin Streets, Franklin and its lateral streets, Winthrop Square and Otis Street, Summer and its lateral 
streets. The great woolhouses are located principally on Federal, Pearl, and High Streets; the boot, shoe, 
and leather, and hardware trades on Pearl, High, Purchase, lower part of Summer, South, Bedford, and parts 
of Lincoln and contiguous streets; the paper trade, on Federal Street and vicinity; crockery, on Federal and 
Franklin Streets; drugs, on Milk Street and vicinity; grocery trade in neighborhood of Broad, Commercial 
India streets ; fish, on Commercial Street and Atlantic Avenue ; flour and grain, on Commercial Street, near 
the principal wharves ; fruit and produce, Merchants' Row, Chatham and South Market, Commercial, Com- 
merce, and Clinton Streets ; and provisions, on streets about Fancuil Hall Market and the new meat market on 
Mercantile Wharf. 

As we start from Scollay Square, in the direction of State Street, the County Court-house, on Court Street 
(called Queen Street in pre-Revolution days), claims attention. It is a ponderous, gloomy granite building, with 
a heavy Doric portico in front, and formerly had a similar portico at the rear end of the building, facing the 
City Hall. Here numerous courts are held, and, as a consequence of its inadequacy to meet the demands upon 
it, the new court-house on Pemberton Square is being erected. On the old court-house, which was erected in 
1836, an intense excitement centred many years ago, when the fugitive slave cases were under trial; and the 
citizens of Boston, indignant that men should be carried from their free soil into a terrible and degrading ser- 
vitude, came near rebelling against the United States and rescuing the doomed negroes by force of arms. In 
the vicinity of this seat of justice are the Tudor Buildings, on the site of the liome of Colonel William Tudor, 
a statesman and jurist of manj'- years ago. In this neighborhood, also, Smibert, the canny Scot, painted 
" Landskips," more than a century and a half ago ; and Franklin printed his pioneer newspaper ; and Captain 
Kidd, the famous pirate, was jailed; and Sir John Leverett, the friend and veteran of Cromwell, resided. 
Standing near the Court-house is the famous Young's Hotel, adjoining which is the splendid Sears' Building, 
occupying tlie corner of Court and Washington Streets. 

Directly opposite this, occupying the head of State (once King) Street, is the old State-house, occupying 
the site of what was originally the old village market-place. A town-house was first erected here in 1038, and in 
1748 a new building arose on the same ground, which was used for the Provincial Council, and also at differ- 
ent times for an cjfchange, a post-otflce, an engine-house, barracks for British troops, and a capitol in which the 
State Legislature met for fifteen years. Here, according to John Adams, " Independence was born ;" here the 
death of George II. and the accession to the throne, of George III. were proclaimed ; here Generals 
Howe, Clinton and Gage held a council of war before the battle of Bunker Hill ; and a year later the Declara- 
tion of Independence was read from the balcony to the rejoicing soldiers and people below ; and the consti- 
tution of Massachusetts was planned; and Governor Hancock gave a grand reception to the Count d'Estaing; 
and Washington reviewed the militia and was welcomed by the people. The quaint old steeple lost part of its 
height and the lion and unicorn disappeared from the angles of the roof after the Revolution and were burned; 
but otherwise the building maintained its original aspect. Some six or seven years ago the building was com- 
pletely restored, to preserve its historic features, even to the fixing of the lion and unicorn on the west front, a 
fact which raised the ire of Iri.sh citizens, who could recognize nothing even that was good out of the land of 
the hated Anglo-Saxon. Attempts were made to destroy these emblems in secret, but too strict a watch was kept 
on the toothless lion and blind unicorn, and they were permitted tc remain ; still the grumblers declined to be 



70 



ILLUSTRATED BOSTON. 



quiet until sometliing of a counteracting cliaracter was put on the Washington Street end of the building, to 
balance it, to hold it down, or something of that kind. A gorgeous gilt eagle was accordingly spread on the 
outer wall, acconipanied witli the State's motto in gold characters on a broad ribbon — " Ense Petit Placidam 
Sub Libertate Quietcm." And it did " quiet 'em ;" so the old lion and unicorn are now at peace. It was near 
here — on the corner of State and Exchange Streets, where the Custom-house then stood — that the Boston 
Massacre, described elsewhere, occurred. On the building now on the corner the Bostonian Society, in 1886 
placed a tablet bearing this inscription: "Opposite this spot was shed the first blood of the American Rev- 
olution, March 5, lYVO." On the opposite side of the street, near the Old State-house, the first church was 
built, iu Boston. Brazer's Biiildiiig now occupies the site, and near this is the oflice of the Traveller news- 
paper. 

On State Street are numerous banks and insurance offices, and the headquarters of many mining and man- 

ufacturing companies and railways, shipping-offices, etc. The 

Merchants' Exchange, the Board of Trade, and the Stock 
Exchange are in the building No. 53, opposite 'Change Avenue. 
Great changes are projected here. The entire lot of buildings 
extending from the Treraont Bank Building to Kilby Street 
will soon bs torn down to make room for a new Stock Ex- 
change, to be erected at a cost of millions of dollars. Messrs. 
Peabody & Stearns have for some time been engaged in making 
designs, and the plans, sections, and elevations are completed. 
Builders will soon be at work, and the building they will 
raise will be the largest of its kind in the city. It will be 
ten stories high above the basement, and in parts eleven 
stories high. From the sidewalk on the State Street front to 
the cornice there will be a height of about 160 feet. It will 
-Tzr have a frontage of 171 feet on State Street from the Trcmont 
Bank Building (which is five stories high) to Kilby Street, 
about the same on Kilby Street, and 52 feet on Exchange 
Place and Post-office Avenue, the last named leading from 
Congress Street, just in the rear of the Treinont Bank building. Stone will be the material for the two lower 
stories, the rest being of brick, with stone trimmings. The interior finish will bt, plain but very serviceable, in 
marble, natural woods, and plastered walls suitably tinted. Steam heat, open fire-places, electric lights, and all 
the modern conveniences, together with six fast-running elevators, will make the building desirable in every 
way for the purposes to which it is to be put. The main entrance will be on State Street, A broad corridor, 
finished in marble, will lead direct to the entrance of the Stock Exchange Hall, and another corridor, at right 
angles to it, will lead from the Kilby Street entrance to an entrance at Post-office Avenue, a short alley lead- 
ino- from Congress Street. Near the junction of these corridors will be the large main staircase. In the base- 
ment, at the right of the main" entrance on State Street, will be rooms and vaults for a safe-deposite company. 
In front is the large banking-room, 50 by 60 feet, and in the rear the vaults for about 10,000 boxes of varying 
sizes, as well as " coupon-rooms " for the patrons of the company. A novelty here is a number of coupon- 
rooms, eight feet square. At the left of the main entrance, and along tlie Kilby Street front, are half a dozen 
offices of varying size, the largest being the one on the corner, and this has a separate entrance at the intersec- 
tion of the streets. In the wing of the building extending to Exchange Place are a couple of desirable offices 
fronting on that street, and several smaller ones. The Boston Stock Exchange, as already stated, will occupy 
a hall in the first story under a tw.enty years' lease. This hall will have an area of about 5000 feet, and will be 
in the Exchange Place wing. Here also are three large rooms for "puts" and "calls," and the bond and tel- 
ephone rooms. The Stock Exchange wilt have a private entrance on Exchange Place. The main portion of 
this floor, with frontage on State and Kilby Streets, will be devoted to banking and insurance offices, which 
will be subdivided to suit tenants. The arrangement of the second story is very similar to the first, the E.x- 
cliange Place wing being taken up by the Stock Exchange Hall, which is two stories in height, and the State 
and Kilby Street fronts being divided up into banking and insurance offices. Upon this story begins the 
light-well, 116x38 feet, situated west of the central stairway and over the safe-deposit vaults, which, as well 




Massachusetts Horticultural Society Buildi 



THE METROPOLIS OF NEW ENGLAND 



71 



as the rear of the offices on the first story, are lighted by it. This well extends from the Trcmont Bank Build- 
ing, parallel with State Street, and is nearly as broad as Kilby Street. By means of it, an additional row of 
well-lio-hted offices is obtained in the upper stories. Above the second story the arrangetnent of the floors 
will be substantially alike, as represented in the third-floor plan. Tiie floors will be devoted to offices, ranging 
in size from 12x20 to 20x20 feet, which are reached by broad corridors following the several frontages of the 
building. The central stairway stops at the second story, and from thence upward there are flights of stairs 
in front and rear, directly opposite the elevator- wells. The third and the stories above have toilet-rooms over 
those in the basement, thus concentrating the plumbing as far as possible. There are 350 offices in the bnild- 
insr. Changes in the floor plans will be freely made to suit tenants. In the interior finish, no elaborate effects 
will be sought, and the exterior convenience has nowhere been sacrificed for architectural effect. Nevertheless, 








g Hotel Vendome, 



the building will be an exceedingly handsome addition to the business blocks of Boston. It will be a year 
and a half before the building will be completed; and the cost of building and land will probably be upwards 
of $3,000,000. 

On the north side of State Street the Hospital-Life Building has just been completed at a cost of $800,000, 
and opposite Merchants' Row tliere is now nearing completion a nine-story building erected by Mr. J. N. 
Fiske at a cost of half a million of dollars. State Street is, in fact, becoming a region of tall, costly buildings, 
and has changed much of its aspect of a dozen years or so ago. 

Proceeding through Merchants' Row, the historic Fancuil Hall, the "Cradle of Liberty," and the New 
Faneuil Hall, or Quincy Market, are reached. The latter, built in 1825-26, is a granite structure two stories 
high, and covers 27,000 feet of land. The centre part rises to a height of 77 feet, and is ornamented by a 
graceful dome. The height of the wings on either side of the central part is thirty feet. The market is on the 
lower floor, the stalls are well arranged, and the place is always a busy one and worthy of a visit. The upper 
floor is used for office.s, and a large hall under the dome is occupied by the Boston Chamber of Commerce, for 
whom it is proposed to erect, at an early date, a separate building. Faneuil Hall was built in 1742, and pre- 
sented to the town by Peter Faneuil, a prosperous Huguenot merchant, as a market and public hall ; and the 



72 ILLUSTRATEDBOSTON. 

present city charter contains a provision forbidding its sale or lease. The lower floor is occupied as the market. 
and the npper floor as a hall, which contains no seats, and which gives standing room to thousands of people. 
In the galleries, however, there are settees. The platform is spacious, the walls are adorned with copies of 
large and valuable historic oil-paintings, the originals being deposited in the Art Museum for safe keeping; and 
the quaint and antiquated architecture is very interesting. When any great popular question takes definite 
form, the people say, " Let's go down and rock the cradle," and assemble in the hall, to be addressed by their 
favorite orators and leaders. It was so before the Revolution; it has been so since. It lias, in fact, during its 
history, been used for all sorts of purposes. The coronation of George III. was celebrated in it, pirates and 
robbers have been tried in it, and the Earl of Elgin was feasted there. " Every political party in the country 
has had its use at one time or another. Anarchists, Socialists, Fenians, and Land-leaguers have spoken there. 
The Chinese have been told to go, and the poor Indian pitied by large audiences. The Constitution of U. S. 
has been styled ' a covenant with death and a league with hell' in this hall." In June, 1887, the British 
Charitable Society obtained the consent of the Maj'or and Board of Aldermen for its use on the occasion of a 
l>anquet on the 21st of that month to celebrate the jubilee of Queen Victoria. It provoked a howl among the 
Irish residents against such a " desecration " of the hall, the use of which they themselves secured to protest 
against the " desecration " and to say hard things against Britisher, generally. Tlie Aldermen reconsidered 
their resolution granting the use of the hall, but without change, and the Britishers held their banquet, and 
that a lively one, for a mob of about 15,000 persons gathered about the hall ready to turn the " cradle " over. 
The whole police force, of over 800 men, were called out, armed with revolvers, and 400 were stationed around 
the hall. Several of the militarj- companies were under arms, and Gatling guns were placed in position to rake 
the mob if necessity required. Several persons were seriously injured, and during the night an attempt was 
made to pull, with ropes, the lion and unicorn from off the Old State-house. The occasion served as a lesson to 
the English, who had generally been indifferent to naturalization ; they formed the British-American Associa- 
tion, with branches all over the country, the object of which was to encourage Englishmen to become American 
citizens and to vote against class rule. 

North Market and South Market Streets, Chatham, Clinton, and Commerce Streets, rnnning parallel with 
Faneuil Hall and Quincy Markets, and Blackstone, Fulton, and Commercial, and other neighboring streets are 
great centres for the wholesale trade in all kinds of food products. The conversion of the so-called Mercantile 
Wharf property, at the foot of Clinton Street and on Atlantic Avenue, into a country market, as well as a whole- 
sale meat market, has attracted provision-dealers aud grocerymen to that section of the city, and naturally the 
wholesale grocers in that vicinity, and especially on Commercial Street, have pushed their trade. Below this 
market, on Atlantic Avenue, is the Fish Market, another attraction to dealers. Property between Richmond 
Street and Faneuil Hall Market has improved recently in value, in keeping with the improved surrounding con- 
ditions. On Fulton Street the wholesale fruit trade is advancing, and tall warehouses have been and are being 
erected. To meet the exigencies of the shipping trade, costly warehouses have been erected along Atlantic 
Avenue, from near the corner of which, and extending almost close up to the Custom-house, on State Street, a 
magnificent, extensive granite block of spacious warehouses of pleasing exterior has been put up. 

The Custom-house was built between 1837 and 1849, at a cost of over one million dollars, and rests on 
ground reclaimed from the sea, the foundation being composed of a deep bed of granite masonry, laid in 
hydraulic cement on the heads of three thousand piles. It is a massive granite structure, built to stand for 
generations. It is Doric in style, cruciform in shape, and fire-proof in constrnction, with thirty-two fluted 
monolithic columns, weighing forty-two tons each, fronting its stately porticoes and extending around the 
sides, surmounted by classic cornices and pediments, and sustaining a roof and dome of granite slabs. Lender 
the dome is a handsome rotunda, surrounded bv twelve tall Corinthian columns of white marble. This build- 
ing is one of the principal attractions on State Street, which maintains its old-time supremacy as the financial 
centre, though in some of its off streets, notably Devonshire, Congress, and Kilby Streets, banks and brokers' 
and insurance offices are to be found in great numbers. These are located in buildings of large size and of 
great architectural beauty. Congress, Devonshire, Milk, and Water Streets, at their crossings, form Post-office 
Square, wherein stands the Government Building, an immense Init very oraamental pile of Cape Ann granite. 
The erection of the building was begun in lS7l and some fourteen or fifteen years elapsed before it was en- 
tirely completed, the cost being upwards of six millions of dollars. 

Fronting on Post-oflice Square are several fine sperimcns of the nuMlern business structure, designed 



THE METROPOLIS OF NEW ENGLAND. 



73 



both for avcliitectural effect nml utility. On llie soiitii side of the squ.'ire is a niagniticcnt white marble build- 
injT, with a majestie clock-tower. This is by some considered the liandsomest block in New England and it 
cost $900,000 to build. It is owned and occupied by the Mutual Life Insurance Company of New York. The 
tower is surmounted by gilded crests and an iron flag-staff, and the height from the street to the top of the flag- 
staff is 234 feet. At a height of 198 feet from the sidewalk is a balcony on the tower; and from this balcony 
a charmLng view of the city and liarbor is to be obtained. Adjoining, and occupying the corner of Congress 
Street, is tlie handsome building of the New England Mutual I^ife Company, erected -at a cost of $1,000,000. 
In the basement of the building are the extensive fire and burglar-proof vaults and the superb reading- 
room of the Security Safe Vaults Co. From the roof of tliis building a fine view is to be obtained. A 
few yards away, occupying the corner of Devonshire and Milk Street, is the splendid building of the Equitable 




Boylstori Street and Copley Square, 



Life Assurance Society of New York, built in 1873 at a cost of between one and two millions of dollars. In 
188.5-86 the building was extended, and its Milk-street fagade altered, at an immense outlay of capital. It 
stands on the site of the house of Robert Treat Paine, one of the signers of the Declaration of Independence. 
Within about a stone-throw from here, and bounded by Milk Street and Kilby Street, is Liberty Square, 
whereon stands an immense, imposmg, solidly built business structure, presenting a rounding front on Kilbv 
Street, and possessing a peculiar, dome-like roof. This is the Mason Building, occupied by banks and offices. 
Contiguous thereto are the great wholesale trade thoroughfares of Broad Street (opened in 1806 and originally 
called Flounder Lane) and India Street (opened in the following year for the East India trade). 

Nearly opposite the Milk-street end of Mason Building, we enter Oliver Street and the " Burnt District," 
and by way of this street attain Fort Hill Square, where used to stand Fort Hill, one of the three noted hills of 
"Treamount." Half a century ago this was an aristocratic residential quarter. The hill has been carried away; 
and the work of doing this was started in 1869, and continued for years. A park occupied the summit of the 
hill, on whicli at one time were fortifications. Within the fort here Sir Edmund Andros, in 1689, sought 
shelter from, and was subsequently surrendered to, the enraged colonists, whose rights he had usurped. A neat 
circular grass-plat occupies the centre of Fort Hill Square, now the hiirhcst ]ioint of the liill. From liere tlie 



74 ILLUSTRATED BOSTON. 

entire area, stretchina; to Essex and Washington Streets on tlic one hand, and from Atlantic Avenue to Milk 
Street on the other, is occupied by Oliver, Pearl, Franklin, Purchase, Congress, Devonshire, Summer, Bedford, 
Kingston, Arch, Chauncey, and Hawley Streets and Winthrop Square; and here are centred the great wool, boot, 
shoe and leather, hides, fur, oil, dry -goods, paper, hardware, and crockery jobbing-houses. This was the area swept 
and laid waste by the great fire of 1872. Here are now to be found some of the finest specimens of modern 
architecture; and no business section of any of unr American cities presents more solid and attractive features 
than this one does. The buildings are palatial in character, and new structures are continually arising and 
others being altered and extended. From the corner of Congress Street down to the property of the New 
York & New England Railroad, adjoining its passenger station, there is a row of six magnificent blocks of 
business buildings of recent erection the equal of which it would be difficult to match in the country. Five of 
them are occupied by extensive wool firm, and the sixth for other kinds of business. They aie all six stories 
in height, of enough difference in facade to break up tlie monotony of equality in other respects. They are 
of solid and substantial construction, and have passageways on the sides and rears for receiving and ship[>ing, 
which preclude the necessity of blocking sidewalks and stopping travel, as is too frequently the case in all cities. 
These buildings cost $411,000 to erect. On one corner of Purchase and Pearl Streets formerly stood a Pro- 
testant Church, which subsequently became a Catholic Church, and now it has been replaced, at a cost of $60,- 
000, by a handsome si.x-story business building. On the opposite corner stand the remains of an old building 
that escaped the fire. This lot and one on the corner of Oliver ?nd Purchase Street, are the only two which re- 
main unimproved in the " Burnt District." The prospectus of the year 1889 indicates a large increase in build- 
ing operations within the city proper, as well as the outlying districts. Plans now matured and presented, but 
for which permits have not yet been issued, are for some of the most palatial business structures, which will 
rival, if not surpass, any now erected in the Union. 

THE BRIGHTON DISTRICT 

constitutes the 25th ward of the city, and was annexed to Boston in 1873, and increased the city's dimensions 
by 2277 acres. The situation is one of the finest in the vicinity of Boston. The neighborhood generally is 
one of high lands, possessing fine facilities for drainage, and abounding in the finest locations for dwelling pur- 
poses to be found anywhere. A great feature of the Brighton District is Chestnut Hill Reservoir and the 
parkways about it. The construction of the reservoir was begun in 1865, and the city of Boston became pos- 
sessed of 212f acres of land, the work costing about $120,000 before it was finished. It is, in fact, a double 
reservoir, divided by a water-tiglit dam into two basins of irregular shape. Their capacity is 730,000,000 gallons, 
and the water- surface is 123^ acres. A magnificent driveway, varying from 60 to 80 feet in width, surrounds 
the entire work. In some parts, the road runs quite close to the eml)ankment, separated from it by only a 
smooth, gravelled walk. 

The splendid driveway around the reservoir is reached from Boston by the Brighton Road, which is a 
continuation of Beacon Street, and a noted trotting and driving course that at almost all seasons in the year 
is, especially on afternoons, crowded with gay equippages, worth coming from afar to see. Brighton can also 
be reached by the Boston & Albany Railroad, and by horse and electric cars. 

Originally, Brighton formed a part of Cambridge, and was known as Little Cambridge. It became a 
separate town in 1807, and remained so until it was absorbed by Boston, in 1873. The elevated lands of 
Brighton afford charming views, and the streets are pleasant and shady. Brighton has long been noted for its 
extensive abbatoirs ; and persons who know little about the place have pictured its streets as being crowded 
with cattle and hogs, and as being ill-smelling. The abbatoirs, however, are situated near the line of the Bos- 
ton & Albany Railroad ; and while thousands of cattle, sheep, and pigs are slaughtered here weekly, so retired 
are the slaughter-houses that the most refined inhabitant of Brighton may abide here in happy ignorance of 
their presence. 

Brighton contains many beautiful mansions. Within the last few years, building operations have been 
active, land has increased in value, the population has multiplied; and it is predicted that the range of 
hills in this District, running southwest from Covey Hill, and including the latter, \vill in time be the "court 
end" of Boston. The opening up of Commonwealth Avenue, from Arlington Street to Chestnut Hill Reservoir 
— four and three quarters miles in length, — a,nd also of Beacon Street, thus offering tlie finest faf ilities for travel, 
brought much low-j)riced farm lands into the m;u-ket for building purposes. The route from the city proper to 



THE METROPOLIS OF NEW ENGLAND. 



75 



this section is a magnificent series of pa.ks ; and in the District itself are several fine parks, in the improvement 
of which considerable expense has been incurred. On Brighton Square is a splendid branch of the Boston Pub- 
lic Library. This branch was originally founded in 1864 as the Ilolton Library, by the town of Brighton ; and on 
the annexation of the town the library became a branch of the now main library of Boston. The building is a 
very convenient one and well-stocked with books. Brighton was one of the first places in the State to erect a 
monument to the soldiers and sailors who fell in the War of the llebelliou. The monument, a very handsome 
one, stands in Evergreen Cemetery, 
and was dedicated July 26, 1866. 
It is 30 feet high and of Quincy 
granite. Brighton is assured a pro- 
gressive and prosperous future. 

SOUTH BOSTON 
was set off from Dorchester and 
joined to Boston in 1804. Tlie 
district extends about two miles 
along the south side of the harbor, 
an arm of which, known as Port 
Point Channel, separates it from 
the city proper. This channel lias 
been much narrowed by filling up, 
and the " made " land is chiefly oc- 
cupied by the railroad.s. The chan- 
nel is crossed by bridges. When 
South Boston was added to Boston, 
the city acquired 1002 additional 
acres of land; but at that time there 
were only ten families on the terri- 
tory. The annexation, it is said, 
was the outcome of a real-estate 
speculation ; and the most active 
promoters of it were actuated by a 
belief that in the near future this 
district would become a very popu- 
lous and fashionable one. But their 
expectations were not as rapidly 
realized as they predicted. Soon 
after the annexation, a bridge was 
built across the channel at the 
" Neck," at Dover Street, and was 
opened in March, 1804, vyith a mili- 
tary display and great civic " pomp 

and circumstance." It was 1550 feet long, and cost S50,000 to construct it 
has been substituted a fine, substantial iron bridg 
from the foot of Federal Street; and now in 
Boston are adequately connected, the latest 
iron bridge extending from Broadway to 




Slate Street. 



In recent years there 
In 1828, a second South Boston Bridge was built, 
in the matter of bridges the city proper and South 
important addition in this respect being the magnificent 
Harrison Avenne. The building of the earliest bridges 
led to an increase of the population of South Boston; and though the district failed to become, as had 
been predicted, the " court end " of the city, many fine residences were reared upon the sightly bluffs 
towards the South Boston Neck. South Boston experienced its most rapid growth after tlic street-railway sys- 
tem h:id been established, in 1854. Then it was that building operations multiplied. Dwellings arose on every 
hand, and several important and notable public institutions were erected here, while factories, foundries, 
work-shops, etc., kept on increasing, parks were laid out and the place in many ways made attractive. The 



76 ILLUSTRATEDBOSTON. 

street system of South Boston is very regular, wliich is more tliau can be sairl for tlie city proper, 
especially in its most ancient parts. Broadway is the principal tlioroughfare, and runs through the 
centre from Albany Street, in the city proper, to City Point, at the extreme end of South Boston. The 
parallel streets on either side are generally numbered, and the cross-streets lettered. Broadway, on which 
are located many fine business blocks, splendid cluirch edifices, and neat-looking mansions, is divided into West 
and East, that portion from Albany Street to Dorcliester Street being designated as West Broadway, and that 
from Dorchester Street to City Point, East Broadway. A walk or ride up Broadway is interesting, particularly 
so beyond Dorchester Street. City Point is the common terminus for the horse-car lines, and is one of the two 
chief places of interest for the mere spectator, the other being Dorchester Heights. The Point is a favorite 
resort in the summer season, when the place presents a lively appearance, visitors finding all necessary facilities 
for fun and frolic and everything that can contribute to their ehjoyment. The Point commands magnificent 
liarbor views, and yachting sights innumerable. Indeed, this is the greatest rendezvous on the Eastern Massa- 
chusetts coast for yaclits, as respects numbers ; for there are other places where yachts of larger tonnage than 
those which anchor here arc more numerous. Southerly, a fine view is obtained of Dorchester, the Blue Hills, 
and parts of Quincy. The Pomt abounds in seaside hotels and cafes. Here, too, is the new Marine Park, 
with its long promenade pier extending nearly to Fort Independence (the old Castle Island) in the liarbor. 

In the immediate neighborhood is the School for Idiotic and Feeble-minded Children, at No. V23 East 
Eighth Street; also the City Asylum for the Insane, and the Suffolk House of Correction on First Street. 
Standing on a high elevation on the corner of Broadway and Emerson Street, and commanding charming views 
over land and water, is the building of the world-renowned charity, the Perkins Institution for the Blind, over 
which the late learned Dr. S. G. Howe presided successfully for many years. Near by are the historic Dor- 
chester Heights, famous in Revolutionary lore. These heights were included in the territory annexed to Bos- 
ton in 1804, and are sometimes spoken of as Telegraph Hill (though it is many years since it was used for 
marine telegraphing purposes) and also as Mount AVashington. As mentioned elsewhere in this work, Wash- 
ington, during the siege of Boston, by a strategic movement, seized upon these heights and fortified them, to 
the astonishment of tlie British, who were in possession of the city. All other points of vantage were in the 
hands of the English; and Washington, .seeing they had neglected to hold the heights, determined, in March, 
1776, to seize them and throw up formidable works with despatch. The ground was frozen and the weather 
bad, and his army was scattered over East Cambridge and Roxbury. When night set m, he caused a heavy 
cannonading to begin from both East Cambridge and Roxbnrv that should claim the attention of the English 
soldiery and prevent the work going on on the heights from being heard. To still further deaden the noise 
of the carts passing over the frozen ground, their wheels were bound with whisjjs of straw, and straw was 
strewn over the roads through which they passed. When daylight dawned on the morning of the 4th of 
March, the British were not only surprised, but alarmed, by the fortifications they saw on the heights. Howe, 
the English commander, determined to storm the fortifications on the following night, and to this end sent 
three thousand men to Castle Island (now Fort Independence), to make an attack from that side. A storm, how- 
ever, arose, that prevented the carrying out of the design ; and meanwhile the Americans kept on vigilantly 
strengthening their works until the British recognized they were too formidable to overthrow, and decided to 
evacuate the town. This they did on the I7th ; and Washington, to the great delight of the citizens and the 
whole country, then marched with his soldiers into Boston, where ho was hailed as a deliverer. This is re- 
garded as one of the greatest military achievements of the " Father of the Country." 

On the slope of hill on Old Harbor Street is Carney Hospital, a public institution of great excellence, 
conducted by the Sisters of Charity, and its usefulness is extended to both Catholics and Protestants alike. 

A vast area of land has been reclaimed and is being reclaimed from the Bay at South Boston, and the place 
is renowned for its numerous and varied foundries, sugar-refineries, breweries, and other noteworthj- industries. 
These are for the most part located along the water-sides of the district and afford employment 1o vast num- 
bers of workpeople. Among the most noted works here are those of the South Boston Iron Company, on 
Foundry Street. The concern covers nearly seven acres, and is the largest of its kind in the country. It was 
founded by Cvrus Alger, the famous metpilurgist and inventor, who constructed the first perfect bronze cannon 
for the national and State governments. Here have been produced the largest cannon ever made in America. 

Handsome as South Boston is as a residential section, noted as it is for its cottages, atfli populous as it is, 
it has never been very atlracti\r to the aristocratic citizens as a place of residence; and a peculiarity attached to 



THE METROPOLIS OF NEW ENGLAND. 77 

it is the falliiio- in value of property in what were once tlic most select sections and the growth in value of 
building-lots in others. The old-timers who owned the line hill residences have been attracted to more fash- 
ionable sections of the city, or made homes in the suburbs; and, on putting their property into the market, have 
found that they could sell only at from thirty to tifty per cent below the cost of building. The consequence is 
that there has been considerable falling off in the valuation of property in this section of South Boston; but it 
has been more than made up by the advances realized elsewhere through the erection of tenement-houses and 
moderate-priced dwellings. Since 1883, about 600 houses (chief3y of the tenement class) have been erected in 
the district, most of them in the territory east of Dorchester Street and well toward the Point. These are 
occupied mostly by mechanics. Many single bouses, too, have been erected, costing from $3000 to $4000. 
In Ward 13, there is a large co-operative tenement building on Second Street, corner of Athens, near Dorches- 
ter Avenue. It is a four-story building, and contams about thirty tenements, ranging from three rooms and 
upward each. There have been many improvements made at and near the Boston wharf property. Among 
others is the establishment at this place of the Chace Confectionery Works. To show how, on the other hand, 
land has varied in value, it mav be stated that the local gas company, some ten or fifteen years ago, paid $2 a 
foot for a piece of land on the corner of B and Third Streets, for which a dollar a foot can now be hardly 
realized. There has been an offer of Vo cents a foot for it. Another peculiarity of land values is that, while 
vacant land on the south of Broadway is taxed at from 40 to 50 cents a foot, on the north side of that thor- 
oughfare, it is ta.xed at only from 20 to 25 cents per foot. The valuation of the three wards, 13, 14 and 15, 
comprised in South Boston has increased in the last five years $2,939,100, and the population, according to the 
number of polls, about 7000. 

EAST BOSTON. 

This now populous and busy centre little more than half a century ago was a wilderness, and was occupied 
by only one family, while to-day it has upon it more than forty thousand people; is crossed and recrossed 
with streets lined with stores, factories, foundries, workshops, dwellings, churches, schools, etc., by the thous- 
ands ; its thoroughfares are kept lively with the eternal jingle of the bells of railroadcar horses and the din 
of the wheels of traffic: from its piers ferry-boats flit hither and thither by day and by night; and to and 
from its extensive wharves ocean steamers come and go at will burdened with merchandize and human freight ; 
while its shipyards turn into the deep vessels that plow the billows from coast to coast. And all this is the 
achievement of half a century ! 

East Boston is an island situated at the confluence of the Mystic and Charles Rivers, and is connected 
with the city proper by ferry, and with the mainland at Chelsea and Winthrop hy bridges. Its original name 
was Noddle Island, and it received this appellation on account of having been occupied by one William Nod- 
dle, who, by old writers, was designated "an honest man from Salem." Its "settlement" — if such a term can 
be legitimately used — -dates back to the earliest accounts of Massachusetts Bay, and its history includes many 
interesting incidents, both of a local and general character. From the time of its discovery it became, owing 
to its close proximity to Boston, a favorite pasture-ground. In this way both it and the otlier islands in the 
harbor yielded considerable revenue, and at the time of the Revolution all the islands were well-stocked with 
domestic animals. Noddle Island was also a favorite fishing-ground. 

On November 3, 1620, King James I. granted the territory hereabouts to the council of Plymouth, who, 
on December, 13, 1622, gave to Robert Gorges, youngest son of Ferdinando Gorges (who had expended £20,- 
000 in fruitless attempts to make settlements in various parts of Massachusetts) various lands. This gift in- 
cluded Noddle Island. Robert died, and his brother John, who succeeded him as proprietor in January, 1628, 
conveyed the island and other lands to Sir William Brereton, of Handforth, Co. Chester, England, who sent 
over servants to improve the lands and make leases; but neither the Plymouth council nor his own own govern- 
ment seem to have recognized his authority, and he does not appear to have ever come to the country himself. 
But be that as it may, it seems that according to the colony records, the General Court, on April 1, 1633, 
granted the island to S.imuel Maverick, and this under the title of Noddle Island. This fact demonstrates that 
William Noddle, who is believed to have been one of Sir W. Brereton's colonists, and who was made a free- 
man in 1631, occupied the island previously. Prior to Maverick coming into possession the General Court 
seems to have exercised a care over the island, for in 1631 it passed an order restraining persons from "putting 
on Cattell, felling wood or raiseing slate" on this island. Like all the islands in the harbor, there appeared to 



78 



ILLUSTRATED BOSTON. 



be forests growing upon Noddle's Island in former times, and apparently a similar fate befel tliera all to be 
bereft of this growth. In 1632 the following order was passed: " Noe p'son wt'soevcr sliall shoot atl fowle 
upon Pullen Poynte or Noddle's Ileland, but the sd places shalbe reserved for John Perkins, to take fowle with 
netts." The following is a copy of the orders passed in favor of Mr. Maverick, who acquired all John Per- 
kin's privileges : 

"Noddle's Ileland is granted to Mr. Sam'l Mavack to enjoy to to him and his heires for ever. Yielding 
and & payeing yearly att ye Generall Court, to ye Gov'n'r for the time being, either a fatt weather, a fatt hogg, 
or Xls in money, & .shallo give leave to Boston and Charles Towne to fetch woode contynually, as theiro necde 
requires, from ye southerue p'ts of sd ilslaiid." It appears that the " neede " of Boston and Charlestown re- 




of Fine Arts, St. James Avenue. 



quired all the wood growing, and these two enterprising towns appear to have used it pretty freely, for by 1833 
they had removed all the timber on the island except two trees ! 

Noddle's Island was " layd to Boston," as it was termed, in 1G36. It originally contained about 663 
acres, together with the contiguous flats to low-water mark. Before any alterations in toposrraphy had been 
made the island was fancifully stated to resemble a great bear, described as follows : " The bear's licad, an 
elevated tract of land, was known as the ' middle farm,' with Hog Island marsh at its northeast. The small, 
round pond in this part called Eye pond in consequence of the loss there of the eye of a noted gunner helps 
out the fancied figure. The bear's back, fronting the mouth of Mystic River, was tlie most elevated part of 
tbe island, and was known as Eagle llill, and its abrupt tcrmmation at the confluence of Mystic River and 
Chelsea Creek as West Head, and more recently as Eagle Point. The two fore feet of the assumed bear were 
called Eastern and Western Wood Islands, being isolated from the Great Marsh, wbich also isolated Camp 
Hill and its marsh, the two binder paws from the same. The heel of the hinder leg was called Smith's Hill, 
the site of the old buildings which anciently stood on the island, and was separated from Camp Hill by Great 
Creek, since the canal of the water-power company, lyinj, between the present Bainbridge and Decatur Streets. 
The old liouses on Smith's Hill were destroyed in ITTojdurinri; the seige of Boston, and were rebuilt soon 



THE METROPOLIS OF NEW ENGLAND, 



79 



after tlic Eritisli evacuated the town from materials taken from the old barraeks used by Wasliington's army 
in Cambridge. In 1776 a fort was erected on Camp Hill. This or Smith's Hill may liave been the site of 
Mr. Maverick's fort of four guns erected in 1630." In 18 U another more substantial fort was placed on Camp 
Hill, called Fort Strong, in compliment to the governor then. This was long ago removed, and Belmont Square 
now occupies its site. 

Samuel Maverick, who was the son of the Rev. John Maverick of Dorchester mentioned in the foregoing 
pages, was born in 1602. lie was evidently in his day a man of considerable importance, and exercised great 
hospitality at his island home, where he was frequently visitod by Governor Winthrop and other notabilities. 
Wlien Mt. Wollaston in Quiney belonged to Boston, Maverick was there granted tlie use of five hundred acres 
for the pasturing of his cattle. In 1645 he made a loan to the town toward fortifying Castle Island, wiiich the 
toun i,u III iiitied should be refunded " in case said garrison be defeated or 
dunolisliLd, (.\eept by adversary power, within three years." Fioni the earliest 
scttlcmtnt of Boston religious persecutions characterized the colonists, tliough 
the} lud fled from tlieir native land on account of similar intolerance. 
Mivciick was a devout Episcopalian and because of the persecutions to which 
he w 1-, '-iibjLCled he gave up his residence, and, conjointly with his wife and 
von, N ith unci, sold his property to (Captain George Briggs of Barbadoes, 
wh > in the suiie year (1650) conveyed it to Nathaniel, and the latter on Oc- 
tober Jb, lOoO, conveyed it to Colonel John Burch of Barbadoes. In 1656 



'.V q,:'^\' 



ri 



1 



,,'5 b.i'ii 
-lilj;,--. 





Boylston Street. 






Thomas Boughton purchased the island through Kichard 
Leader, his attorney, who took the deed in his own name and 
that of Richard Newbold. On account of financial embar- 
rassment Boughton, on April 19, 1659, conveyed tlie island 
and other property to Henry Shrimpton and Ricliard Cooke 
of Boston, and Walter Price of Salem, in trust for 
his creditors Shrimpton declined this trust, as full pos- 
session of Noddle Island liad iieen previously given to Walter Price. In 1664 Sir Thomas Temple pur- 
chased Cooke's interest, and in 1657 Ncwbold's interest (as creditors of Boughton) in the island and be- 
came sole owner. In 1670 Temple sold out to Samuel Shrimpton, who, in 1682, by the payment of £30 to 
the State, cleared the island of all the conditions in the grant to Maverick, and thus became the first person 
who lield it in his own right in fee-simple. The property descended to his widow, Elizabeth, who became the 
wife of Richard Stoddard, and by her will, dated April 11, 1713, slic devised the island to her granddaughter, 
the daughter of her son, Samuel Shrimpton, Jr. This grand(hiuo:hter married into the Stoddard and Yeamans 
families, and her three daughters married into the Chauncy, Greenleaf and Hyslop families, one of tlic Tlyslops 
and a descendant of Shrimpton, also becoming the wife of Governor Increase Sumner. The representatives of 
these families came to have interests in the island, and finally death carried off some of the owners and the 
island came to be owned by David Stoddard, who held, in fee, three-sixths of the island ; David Hyslop, who 
held one .sixtli; and Elizabeth (Hyslop) Sumner, who hold two sixths. General W. H. Sumner, son and suc- 
cessor of tlie latter, purcliased the others' interests, and in 1833 formed the East Boston Company, to accom- 



80 ILLUSTRATEDBOSTON. 

plish tlio great object of his life — to make Noddle Island a valuable addition to the metropolis of New Eng- 
land. 

One of the early arrangements made for travel to and from Noddle Island appears in the following oi'der, 
passed October 30, 1637, authorizing Edward Bendall to " keepe a sufficient ferrie-boat to carry to Noddle's 
Island and to the Shipps riding before the Towns, taking for a single p'son ijd. and for two 3d." Prior to 
1833, the island shores were resorted to by pleasure-parties, to cook their fish and to have a jollification, to 
which end they were aided by the liospitality of the one resident, Mr. Thomas Williams, as long as he lived. 
This gentleman and his father, Mr. Henry Howell Williams, held the lease of Noddle Island for seventy years ; 
and as a consequence the place came to be frequently spoken of as Williams' Island. In the war of the Rev- 
olution, the island was occupied by the British, who carried off Williams' flocks and herds and made a bonfire 
of his farm dwelling. After the British evacuated Boston, General Washington gave, as a recompense, the 
building which had been used as barracks at Cambridge, to Williams, who removed the structure to the 
island. 

After the East Boston Company was incorporated, on March 25, 1833, the island property, according to 
the survey of 1801, consisted of 663 acres of upland and marsh, surrounded by several hundred acres of flats, 
which were declared, by an act of the legislature, " to belong to the ordinary cove water marke." The island 
was separated from Boston by a distance of 132 rods, which distance was afterwards diminished by the exten- 
sion of the wharves The island and the city of Boston, to which it was annexed in 1830, were originally 
reputed to be of about equal .size, each being supposed to contain about a thousand acres, some three hundred 
acres of the island having been washed or worn away by the action of the sea. 

Shares in the company were rapidly taken up, lands reclaimed and mapped out into streets, and building- 
lots set off and sold. In street nomenclature, the plan was of a judicious nature. The selection of names of 
American towns, commemorative of their services in connection with struggles for liberty, was not only thought- 
ful, but comprehensive. The names of Bennington, Lexington, Saratoga, Princeton, Eutaw, Monmouth, and 
Trenton were out of commonplace, and of a sterling character. Maverick, the early owner of the island, 
was not forgotten ; nor were those patriots, Sumner, Webster, and Everett. These all made good names for 
streets. There can be little objection, also, to the names of Paris, London, Liverpool, and Havre, which con 
stitute the other principal street names. 

A census was made in 1833, but the numbering of the people was an easy task, for there were only eight 
persons — three males and five females — on the island, and these comprised three families. From 1833, to 
1835, however, great progress was made, and the tax valuation rose from $60,000 to $806,000. In 1836, the 
Eastern Railroad Company was organized to construct a line of railway from East Boston to Salem, and at 
East Boston the company's depot was located until 1854, when it was removed to Boston. In 1 839, the 
Cunard line of ocean steamships made East Boston their entrepot, and the construction of railway and wharves 
and the establishment here of a sugar-refinery gave an impetus to the settlement in that locality, of mechanics 
and others engaged about the wharves, depot, and in building operations. Portions of the land were laid out 
in sections, comprising those known as sections 1, 2, and 3; lots were then apportioned and sold off at auction. 
In a short time, as if by magic, a handsome edifice appeared upon the highest summit of the southerly portion, 
near the remains of an old fort which occupied that eminence in former days. This mansion was for the use 
of one of Boston's afiiuent citizens, Benjamin Lamson ; and a more delightful situation could not be found in 
the vicinity, as it commanded a fine panoramic view of the city and harbor. This was the pioneer settler in 
that section of the island. Soon, however, others came in his train. Elegant mansions and more terraced gar- 
dens followed, until the whole southern slope, with Webster Street for a foreground, became a blooming par- 
adise. Mr. Lamson also built a block of nine five-storied, swelled-front brick houses near his residence; and 
these had gardens in the rear. Beyond this block, and directly overiookiug the fort, James Cunningham 
erected a princely mansion. The view from this house was the most extensive of any on the island, it being 
more lofty than others. Advancing to the extreme southerly point, passing several pretty cottages, there was 
seen at the terminus, like a bird's nest overhanging the water, the unique and romantic residence of Dr. Jef- 
fries. This point is still known as "Jeffries' Point," in perpetuation of the doctor. 

The only wharves at East Boston forty years back were those known as Cunard's (where the British 
steamers stopped) ; Locke's, on Marginal Street ; Miller's, foot of Maverick Street ; and Tuttle's, foot of London 
Street. It reinaine<l for after-developments to form a fringe of piers all along the harbor front. In the early 



THH MBTROPOl.lS OF NEW ENGLAND. 



81 



40's, these was consideralile of a tiow of population to East Boston, and by 1857 the residents numbered 16,618. 
There were 1879 dwellings, 11 churches, 10 schoolhouses, 24 manufactories and mills, 76 warehouses and 
stores, 109 mechanics' shops, several liotels, 5 fire-engine liouses, 12 counting-rooms, and 77 stables; while 17 
miles of streets had been laid out. The story of the building of bridges, the construction and operation of 
ferries, the creation of manufacturing enterprises, the growth of the ship-building interest, and other ventures 
would fill a volume. There arc two feri-ies now — known as North and South — connecting East Boston with 
the city proper ; and these are owned by the city. A ferry, owned by the Boston, Revere Beach ik Lynn 
liailroad (whose depot is at East Boston) is run between the island and Atlantic Avenue. 

East Boston and the other harbor islands comprise the first and second wards of the city, the " harbor 
islands" being included in the second ward. It is to-day one of the most populous sections of Boston; where 
the well-to-do people of industrial callings principally have homes. It is indeed a district of homes, and has 
not within its limits a modern apartmont-liouse, though there are many blocks where two or more tenements 




PubUe Gander 



and Arlington Street, 



for family housekeeping exist. It lias abundant scliool and church accommodations. Its population is now 
computed at fortv thousand. Its valuation lias grown to Sl7,961,700, the increase since 1883 having been 
$1,863,900. 

The building improvements in East Boston during the year 1888 have been far in advance of those made 
within the past twenty years. Many of the unsightly vacant lots on Chelsea, Paris, Havre, Bennington, and 
other adjoining streets have been brought up to the street grade, and fine tenement-house structures erected 
thereon. In the first section the most notable improvements have been made at the foot of Everett Street, 
where a long line of houses have been put up. On Maverick Street, east of Chelsea Street, it is intended shortly 
to make many improvements in the neighborhood of the dump, in anticipation of laying out new streets and 
giving citizens a straight road over the marsh to the fourth section. The Atlantic Works, which were burned 
last summer, have been fully rebuilt at a cost of over -$50,000, and 300 men are at work. The new structure 



83 ILLUSTRATEDBOSTON. 

is the liandsoinest machine-shop in East Boston. Tlic Xe« Enghmd Cooperage Company recently vacated its 
extensive building on Summer Street, to take up new quarters on Chelsea Street, and is employing a larger 
number of hands than ever. In the third section the most noticeable building is that of the new Trinity Bap- 
tist Church. It is an imposing structure and an ornament to the hill upon which it stands. The most e.x 
tensive of recent improvements is that of the construction of the machine-works of the Boston Tow-boat 
Company, on Border Street. They cover several acres. In the fourtli section over twenty houses and tene- 
ment blocks have been b'lilt. At Orient Heights and Wintrop Junction a number of new dwellings have 
been erected. 

Among the improvements now making in the district are those of the East Boston Company. This com- 
pany own about 110,000 square feet of land, bounded by Meridian, West Eagle, and Falcon Streets, which is 
from 25 to 30 feet above grade. The company also own about 36 acres of high marsh land, bounded by the 
city parkway, the Boston, Revere Beach & Lynn Railroad, Prescott Street, and the track of the Boston & 
Albany Road. The material from the higli lands is being carted on to the marsh property, on which the street 
and cellar grades will be brought up to the city standard, viz.: 12 feet for cellars and 18 feet for streets. This 
is one of the choicest locations in East Boston, being on the harbor front and near the new city park. Some 
of the best houses recently built in East Boston was located in this neighborhood. 

CHARLESTOWN. 

The Charlestown District, au old-fashioned, quaint place, once a distinct city of itself, has formed an im- 
portant section of Boston since its annexation in 1873. It now comprises the third, fourth, and fifth wards 
of Boston. It has an interesting history, dating from the very earliest settlement of the colony, for it was here 
that Governor Winthrop and his associates landed from their ship and established their abodes. Before they 
came the Indians were here, and the place was called Mishawun. Then it took unto itself the name of Charles- 
town, and as a town it embraced the areas of what are now the town of Burlington and the cities of Woburn, 
Maiden, and Somerville, as well as parts of Reading, Medford, Cambridge and West Cambridge (now Arling- 
ton). Charlestown was a difBcult place to get to from Boston until after the Revolution, for such ferries as 
existed between the two places were of a very primitive character, and wagons from the North End had to 
travel roundabout by way of Roxbury, over the " Neck," to reach Charlestown or Cambridge. 

Charlestown, for all that, was a flourishing place in colonial times. It was founded in 1629, and in the 
following year many hundreds of English were trying to live in huts and tents on or around the Town Hill, at 
tiie foot of which was the great house, sheltering the Governor and his chief officers. A part of the inhabi- 
tants went across the water to keep minister Blackstone company and to found the city of Boston. Charles- 
town, liowever, continued to grow, if slowly, and when the revolutionary era arrived, there were some three 
hundred dwellings and from 1.50 to 200 other buildings in the place. There is nothing to be found now to 
tell us what the little settlement was like then, but whatever there was of it was wiped out by fire started by 
the British forces then located in Boston. General Gage had repeatedly warned the people that he would burn 
their town if they allowed it to be used as a basis of hostilities against his army, and he kept his word, for he 
wrote home to his government on June 26th, 1776, that the town "was set on fire during tlie engagement, and 
most part of it consumed." The engagement referred to the Bunker Hill fight, for this is the home of the far- 
famed Bunker Hill. 

After the outbreak of the war at Lexington, armed colonists to the number of twent}' thousand, formed an 
encampment around Boston from Roxbury to the Mystic River, and General Gage received powerful reinforce- 
ments, accompanied by Generals Howe, Clinton, and Burgoync from England. Gage had the idea that the 
Americans wanted to drive him into the sea, and the colonists suspected that Gage and his troops intended to 
sally out into the country and burn up and destroy everything they could. The Americans determined to an- 
ticipate this movement by seizing and fortifying Bunker Hill, a height which commanded the whole peninsular 
of Charlestown. Orders were accordingly issued on the 10th of June, l775, to Colonel Prescott, father of the 
historian of the same name, to proceed witli a thousand men to occupy and entrench the Hill ; but by some 
mistake, or designedly, as some assert. Breed's Hill was marked out instead of Bunker Hill, seven hundred 
yards distant. Bunker Hill was higher, but Breed's Hill was near Boston, and within common range of the 
city. Under cover of darkness, Prescott and his men reached the hill without being observed, and on the 
summit the men labored from midnight to dawn in building a redoubt, which the British viewed with consider- 



THE METROPOLIS OF NEW ENGLAND. 83 

able astonishment as soon as daylight appeared, for Prescott's eannon coniiiiaiided the city. " We must carry 
those works immediately," said General Gage to his officers, and soon the slups in the harbor began to can- 
nonade the new fortifications. The Britisli battery on Copp's Hill also opened a heavy fire. But little damage 
was done in this way, and the Americans returned but few shots, as their supply of ammunition was very 
limited. Soon 'after noon, three thousand English, commanded by Generals Howe and Pigot, landed at 
Morton's Point to carry the hill by assault. The Americans numbered only one half of the British, and were 
wearied with their night's work and hungry as well ; but they had a big stock of courage. When the can- 
nonading was at its hottest, Prescott climbed out of the defences and walked leisurely around the parapet in full 
view of the British officers. Generals Putnam and Warren volunteered as privates and entered the trenches. 
At three o'clock in the afternoon Howe ordered his column to advance, and at the same time every gun in the 
fleet and batteries was turned upon the American redoubt. Then it was that Charlestown was set on fire and 
destroyed. The people mounted the house-tops in Boston to behold the engagement. On came the British 
with steady march, and not until they were within a hundred and fifty feet of them did the Americans show any 
signs of their presence. " Fire !" cried Prescott, and instantly from breastwork and redoubt every gun was 
fired, and the front rank of the British melted away. There was a recoil, and fifteen minutes afterwards a pre- 
cipitate retreat. When beyond musket range, Howe rallied his men and led them to the second charge. Again 
the American fire was withheld until the enemy was but a few rods distant. Then, with steady aim, volley 
after volley was poured upon the charging column until it was broken and a second time driven to flight. The 
British officers grew desperate, and the vessels of the fleet changed position until the guns were brought to 
bear upon the interior of the American works. Then for the third time the assaulting column was put in 
motion, and the men came on with fixed bayonets up the hillside where were strewn the dead and dying. The 
Americans had but three or four rounds of ammunition left, and these were fired into the advancing enemy. 
Then there was a lull. The British climbed over the ramparts, and after a fierce struggle drove the patriots 
out. Prescott lived through the fight, but Warren was numbered among the slain. In this terrible engagement 
the English paid dearly for their victory, for they lost 1054 men in killed and wounded. The American loss 
was 115 killed, 305 wounded, and 32 prisoners. Prescott and Putnam conducted the retreat to Prospect Hill, 
where a new line of entrenchments was formed, and which still commanded the entrance to Boston. The fight 
showed that the British soldiers were not invincible, and the Americans were proud of their achievement, 
though defeated. The event is yearly celebrated at Charlestown on June l7th, by a holiday, processions, etc. 

The event, too, has been commemorated by the building on the site of the redoubt a great granite obelisk, 
rising to a height of 221^ feet. It has a base 30 feet square and the column tapers gradually to 15| feet 
at the ape.x. Inside the shaft is a hollow cone, surrounding which is a spiral flight of 295 stone steps, ascend- 
ing to a chamber 11 feet square and 17 feet high, whence a beautiful view is obtained from the four windows. 
The capstone of the apex, above this observatory, is in one piece, and weighs 2J tons. The room contains two 
small cannons, the inscriptions upon which tell their story. The cornei"-stone was laid June l7th, 1825, by 
General Lafayette, and it was dedicated June l7th, 1843. The orator on both occasions was Daniel Webster. 
The monument cost over $150,000, and at the foot of it is a building containing a marble statue of General 
Warren and various memorials of the battle. The surroundings of the monument are handsomely laid out, and 
in the main path of the grounds, on the spot where he is supposed to have stood encouraging his men, is a 
bronze statue of General Prescott, erected in 1881. The celebration of the centennial of the battle on June 
l7th, 1775, was an event which drew together military representatives and others from all sections of the 
country. The real Bunker Hill is crowned by a Catholic Church. 

In 1777 the people began to rebuild their town, and by the end of 1785 there were 279 buildings and 999 
inhabitants. In l786 the Charles River bridge to Charlestown was built at a cost of $50,000. It was then 
considered one of the grandest enterprises ever undertaken in the country. It was 1503 feet long, and 42 feet 
wide, with a 30 foot draw. It was opened amid great rejoicings on the anniversary of the battle of Bunker 
Hill. In the following year (1787), a bridge was cpened between Charlestown and Maiden, another to Chelsea 
in 1803, and one to East Cambridge in 1820. These established communications of immeasurable benefit, ;ind 
in 1793, when the work of constructing the Middlesex Canal was begun, it was of immense advantage to the 
town. It was one of the earliest undertakings of the kind in the country, and was to connect tidewater with 
the upper Merrimack. The canal was completed m 1 803, but was never very profitable. The railroads came 
and took away the traffic. The charter was forfeited in ISGO and the canal destroyed. 



84 



ILLUSTRATED BOSTON. 



Charlestowii is adequately supplied with railroad and other transportation facilities. Formerly the Fitch- 
burg passenger and freight stations were located here, but in 1848 were removed to Boston. The district has 
many objects of interest to visitors. The "Neck," over which the Bunker Hill warriors went to give battle, 
and over which they retreated when worsted, connects Charlestowii with the mainland of Somerville beyond. 
It was washed liy the tides in the early days, but has been entirely changed by the filling up of the marshes and 
flats on its borders. The Neck properly begins near the foot of Bunker Hill and ends at the boundary line 
over the Maine & Eastern Railroad Bridge, between the Charlestown district and Somerville. The Navy 
Yard stands on what was once Moulton's Point, at the confluence of the Charles and Mystic Rivers, and was 
founded in 1800. The Yard and buildings cover an extensive area, and as they are daily open to visitors, an 
inspection is to be commended. Another object of interest is the handsome Soldiers and Sailors' Monument 




7P" M^{^- 



Public Garder 



ing the Lake. 



in Winthrop Square, once the military training-field. On Main Street is Edes House, the birthplace of S. F. B. 
Morse (the inventor of the electric telegraph), and the oldest house in the district. On the same thoroughfare 
is the oldest burying-ground, where a granite monument surmounts the grave of John Harvard, ihe founder of 
Harvard College ; and near by is the tomb of Thomas Beecher, ancestor of the Beecher family of America. 
The district also contains the old state prison, a free dispensary and hospital, several other charitable institu- 
tions, public free library, and schools, churches of all denominations, and many fine mansions and neat cot- 
tages. The streets are wide and well kept, and illumination is supplied by gas and electric lights, while the 
water supply is abundant in quantity and excellent in quality. 

While Charlestown has not been what is called a manufacturing place, it has numerous industrial estab- 
lishments of a varied and extensive character, and these are constantly being multiplied. The principal 
thoroughfare. Main Street, is lined with stores, in which every conceivable class of merchandise is to be secured. 

Charlestown never had a theatre or concert-room, yet it has occasionally been favored by visits of a circus. 
Plays and concerts, however, have been given in the old Town Hall (where the public library now is), and in 
the Waverloy and Monument Halls and Navy Yard, but in no regular places. The growtli of population is in- 



THE METROPOLIS OF NEW ENGLAND. 85 

stanccd by the following statistics: In 1785 tin.' population was 999; in Isoo, 2751 ; m 1805, 2800; in I&IO, 
4736; ill 1834, 10,000; in 1840, 10,872; in 1850 15,9;;3; in 1855, 21,742; in 1865, 26,398; in 1870, 28,- 
323 ; in 1885, 37,673 ; and now it is eoinputed to be over 40,000. Values of property, however, have been 
but little increased during the past few years by the erection of new buildings. As in the case of South Boston, 
noted elsewhere, — thoughin a greater degree, — ^inuch of the former high-cost property in residences has largely 
depreciated in value, owing to tiie desire on the part of owners to move into more fashionable quarters, and 
other causes that would induce vacation and sacrifice of property. Houses worth #10,000 and upward have 
shrunk in value, while lower-priced buildings hold their own. There have been some dwellings and a few 
apartment-houses erected in Charlcstown in the past five years, but the decrease in residential property on the 
hill — where the wealthy people of the district mostly resided — has so largely off-set tlie increase of real-estate 
values thus acquired that in that period the gain in real-estate valuation has been only $1,717,300. The gain 
in population has not been large, as would naturally bo expected from the fact that the district is pretty thickly 
built over, the only vacant land, and that limited in extent, being on the Neck. 

THE NEW WEST END. OR BACK BAY DISTRICT, 

The reader has seen, in the perusal of the foregoing pages, how the original boundaries of Boston have 
been extended, not merely by the annexation of out-lying districts, but by the reclamation of thousands of acres, 
of now valuable lands, from the ocean. He has, how ever, yet to be told of the greatest acliievement of creating 
building land, and that the most attractive and valuable in the city. It comprises the whole region of the now 
showy and fashionable "New West End" or "Back Bay District," the "Court End" of the city. 

When the present century was ushered in, the appearance of Back Bay was like unto that of Dorchester 
Bay to-day. At that time the waters of the bay flowed up to the present Washington Street at the " Neck," 
and swept over the present Public Garden to the coast now forming Charles Street. At flood tide the bay 
was a beautiful sheet of water spreading out far and wide, with the Brookline Hills in the distance, much as 
the Blue Hills are observed from South Boston, with no bridge, dam, or causeway intercepting the view of 
rustic Cambridge lying amid forest surroundings at the foot of Mount Auburn, between the West Boston and 
Brighton Bridges. In 1814, the Boston & Roxbury Corporation was organized to utilize the water-power of 
the great basin by dams thrown across it, and to use these dams as causeways for communication between 
Boston and Roxbury and the western suburbs. The " Mill-dam," now lower Beacon Street; the " Cross-dam," 
now Parker Street; and the causeway, now known as Brookline Avenue, were made to divide the waters. The 
Mill Dam was completed in 1821, and three years later the business of the corporation was divided, the Boston 
Water-power Company being then chartered to use the water-power of the mill company, which retained the 
roads and the lands north of the dam, while the i;ew company became possessed of the mills and water-power. 
In 1831, the Boston (fe Worcester and the Boston & Providence Railroad Companies were given authority to 
construct lines across the Back Bay, and the riparian owners power to fill up their flats — concessions which 
so interfered with the water-power as to lead t<i the Boston Water-power Company converting itself into a land 
company. Much of the sewage of the citv was thrown into the basin, until it became a nuisance and the filling 
up of the bay an absolutely necessary sanitary act. Below the line of riparian ownership the State had the 
rio'ht to the flats, and in 1849 the State appointed a commission to deal with the subject of creating new land 
here. A comprehensive plan was reported in 1852, and it was arranged that the mill corporation should fill up 
the area north of the Mill Drmi ; that the State should attend to that north of an cast-and-west line drawn fron) 
near the present Boston &; Providence Railroad Station ; and that the water-power company should see to all 
south of that line. The contractor for filling in and making marketable the wdiole of tliis section (in which 
work millions of piles were used) was Norman C. Munson, who received as payment for his first work 260,000 
square feet out of upwards of a million square feet of land reclaimed. By continuous contracts, the work ex- 
tended over twenty years, and finally Munson received about seven million dollars as reward for his enterprise. 
The work was planned by the famous architect Arthur Oilman. 

The State filled in its section at a cost of $1,750,000, and it has since sold land for $4,625,000 and has yet 250,- 
000 feet unsold. The water-power company found the work alike profitable. The city, too, has for years been 
engaged in filling up swamps, levelling lands, constructing avenues driveways, and parks, and ornamenting tho 
whole of this region, which for beauty and residential magnificence has no counterpart in either the New or Old 
Worlds. I,et the reader spread before him a map of the city as it exists to-day and strike a line through Charles, 



86 ILLUSTRATEDBOSTON. 

Boylston, and Essex Streets, running crookedly from Charles River on the west to the Port Channel dividing the 
citj' proper from South Boston. All the area represented below this line up to the foot of the Highlands is 
" created" land, save where Washington Street runs, and this thoroughfare is over the Neck, which was itself 
frequently Japped by the waters of the ocean. All the land lying to the south of the Boston & Providence 
Railroad, including Columbus Avenue, is now territorially identified with the "South End," already referred to 
in these pages. The "Back Bay District" includes all the "made" land on the other side of the railroad. 

In this district, running from Arlington Street (the western border of the Public Garden), and parallel with 
Beacon Street, are Commonwealth Avenue, Newbury, Marlborough, and Boylston Streets, with Huntington 
Avenue branching oS the latter street at the junction of Clarendon Street. Parallel with Arlington Street are 
Berkeley, Clarendon, Dartmouth, Exeter, Fairfield, Gloucester, and Hereford Streets, West Chester Park, etc. 
As we have said, vast improvements are now in progress in this district, the most prominent of which is the 
opening up of Boylston Street to public travel in its entire length. This street, which skirts the Common on 
its southern end, as Beacon Street does on the northern side, is in every way a more available and convenient 
avenue from the business section of Boston to the Back Bay ; but, owing to the fact that it crossed the tracks 
of the Boston & Albany Railroad near its junction with West Chester Park, and the difficulty and expense of 
bridging the railway, its completion was delayed, to the great inconvenience of the public, as well as to the 
stagnation of values of property on the unfinished line of the street. This condition is now in active process of 
being remedied. Boylston Street had been completed to E.xeter. From this point down to where the line 
crossed the railway, the grade liad to be raised, the filling in some places, viz., from Gloucester to Hereford 
Street, being from 15 to 18 feet. The work of 'filling in this section of street, as well as the portions west of 
the bridge and beyond to the Back Bay Park, was begun in the fall of 1887, and completed in February, 1888. 
The north abutment of the bridge, just beyond Hereford Street, was first built to enable the filling in of this 
section of the street to be accomplished, and to render available the use of the new police station and engine 
house which had been erected at the corner of Hereford and Boj'lston Streets. The work of grading and 
macadamizing is, at this writing, in active operation on the section of street in question, in conjunction with 
the construction of double street-railway tracks by the West End Railway Company. The railway tracks, it 
may be said, are now completed up to Hereford Street, and the street department is now macadamizing the 
driveways on each side in the most substantial manner. Every part and detail of this work is done thoroughly, 
and, when the street is opened, it will present one of the best driveways on the Back Bay. From the corner of 
Hereford Street to the bridge, the roadway will be paved, for the purpose of providing against the wear and 
tear of running in and out of the engine-house the fire apparatus; and the city will join with the railway com- 
pany in this work. Beyond West Chester Park to the new Back Bay Park, the roadway of Boylston Street is 
completed, and now forms one of the entrance driveways to that attractive place. When this latter improve- 
ment was undertaken, it was found that, in order to conform to the grade established by the park commission- 
ers and that already existing on West Chester Park, it would be necessary to raise the grade of Boylston Street 
about five feet near and at the point where Parker Street leads out from it. A block of new brick buildings 
on the south side of Boylston Street at the junction of Parker had to be raised in consequence of this eleva- 
tion of the roadway, at an expense of over $30,000 to the owner, the city allowing but $5,000 toward the 
work. The cost to the city of the construction of the roadway of Boylston Street from Exeter Street lo the 
park, not including filling in, of course, will be about $25,000. 

The bridge over the tracks of the Boston & Albany Railroad is, owing to the acute angle at which the 
street crosses it, a structure of peculiar form and details. The width of the railway road-bed under the street 
is only 60 feet, yet on the line of the street there is a distance of about 210 feet between abutments. The 
north abutment has a length of 185 feet, with flanking walls or abutments of 100 feet in length on the north 
side of the street and 122 feet on the south side. The south abutment is 174 feet in length, with a southern 
flank of 36 feet and a northern one of 105 feet. The piles for the foundation are driven in concrete 
to the depth of 3^ and 4 feet is filled in, on which rubble masonry is laid. Then succeed granite blocks 
on the railway fronts. The height of the roadway above the track of the railroad is 20 feet, the distance from 
track to under side of bridge being but 14 feet. The length of the truss-spans of this bridge is each 216 feet, 
being the longest of any bridge-truss span in the city. The total weight of the bridge — that is, of the struc- 
ture of iron and steel composing it — is about 400 tons. The total width of the bridge is 80 feet, which is the 
full width of the street. The width of the roadway inside the trusses is 44 feet. The construction was by the 



THE METROPOLIS OF NEW ENGLAND. 87 

Boston Bridge Works, of Cambridgeport. The bridge cost about $50,000, and is one of the best, as well as 
the most unique, of its kind in the city. The cost of the abutments of this bridge was about $80,000, which, 
added to that of the bridge superstructure, would make the total cost of the bridge |230,000. This is a costly 
improvement, to be sure, but one of great utility and public importance. With the completion of the bridge, 
the tracks of the West End Railway will be quickly puslied forward and united to those on W' est Chester 
Park; and a direct line of communication, not only to the Back Bay residences south of Commonwealth 
Avenue established, but to the Back Bay Park, which can thus be readily and quickly reached, and the round- 
about way through Marlboro Street avoided. Altogether this work of completiug Boylston Street is one that 



j£MMfM?S 




APJ-ii-','J^S(~^ 



statue of Washington— Public Garden. 



adds another to the many great improvements that the city government is making on the Back Bay district of 
Boston. 

In addition to these public improvements the whole of the Charles River embankment, beginning at Lcv- 
erett Street near Craigie's Bridge, and extending to Cottage Farms Bridge, is being enlarged, fronted with a sea 
wall and laid out as a park, 200 feet in width, and will connect with a park at Brighton. Near West Chester 
Park a bridge — to be known as Harvard Bridge — is in course of construction across the Charles River to Cam- 
bridge, and will, when completed, be a great boon to residents on both sides of the river. West Chester Park 
is not a park but a street ninety feet wide. It crosses Cominonwealth Avenue, about five blocks west of the 
Hotel Vendome, and beginning at Charles River, and varying its direction at Falmouth Street, runs across the 
city. Between Tremont and Shawmut Avenue it broadens into Chester Square, a modest park of 1^ acres. 
East of Washington Street, it is called East Chester Park. 

Back Bay has, or will have, its park, liowever. It is now being laid our and will contain ponds fed by 



88 ILLUSTRATEDBOSTON. 

the waters of the Stony Brook, promcn:ides, drivewa3's, etc., connecting witli Beacon, Parker, and Boylston 
Streets, and also with Commonwealth, Westland, Longwood, Huntington, and Brookline Avenues. The work 
is a costly one, but when the park is completed it will, in addition to its own attractions, have a surrounding 
of beautiful scenery, and will be a connecting link in a long splendid parkway stretching from the Common 
and Public Garden, through Commonwealth Avenue, along the Muddy River Improvemennt, Jamaica Pond, 
the Arnold Arboretum and ending in the spacious and picturesque Franklin Park. The Charles River embank- 
ment will be separated from the Back Bay Parkway, only by Beacon Street, which is itself a popular driveway, 
extending along the Mill Dam, the surrounding of Chestnut Hill Reservoir and the shady, rustic lanes of 
Brighton. 

Back Bay is the richest section in the city, and it takes the lead in expensive dwellings and in the constant 
advance in the value of real estate. That portion of the district which is bounded by Charles River, Arlington 
Street, the Boston & Providence railway tracks and West Chester Park, in 1883 had a total valuation as fol- 
lows : Land, $26,182,600 ; buildings, $22,315,200. In 1888, land in this section had increased to $34,056,500, 
and buildmgs to $30,504,500, a total increase of rising of $16,000,000. But Back Bay has, in fact, two dis- 
tricts. One is the ultra-fashionable and aristocratic section, and extends west from Arlington Street to West 
Chester Park, and is bounded on the south by the line of- the Boston & Albany Railroad, and thence northward 
to Charles River. South of the railroad line, out to the Back Bay Park at least, the section is less aristocratic, 
and land is not much, if any, over one half the price that it is on the other side. No very costly residences are 
erected. On Huntington Avenue and on the back streets large apartment houses are being put up. West 
Chester Park, south of the Boston & Albany Railway track, besides family hotels, buildings with stores on 
the street level are being occupied ; and, with the completion of the bridge at this point over the Charles 
River, this street promises to become an important thoroughfare. 

But what shall be said of the Back Bay District as a whole'? Volumes might be written descriptive of 
its magnificent thoroughfares, its architectural splendor, its palatial mansions and hostelries, its public institu- 
tions, and its creation from out of the sea into one of the most attractive and beautiful habited spots the world 
can show ; but we are compelled to dismiss the whole in a page or two. 

Commonwealth Avenue is undoubtedly the chief attraction in this charming section. It is, in reality, two 
streets in one, with a fine park in the centre, containing rows of ornamental trees, neatly kept paths, benches, 
and several statues. The width of the thoroughfare, from house to house, is 250 feet, and from curb to curb 
175 feet. It extends through the new Back Bay Park to Brookline Avenue, and is lined with costly and 
beautiful residences, in the erection of which architects have had no limit to the exercise of their talents, nor 
had their plans marred by lack of capital. Commonwealth Avenue, from Arlington Street to West Chester 
Park, may be said to be practically built up. 

The cost of Mr. Fred L. Ames' residence, on the corner of Dartmouth Street and the avenue, was very 
great. The residence of Governor Ames, corner of West Chester Park, is said to have cost $180,000, exclusive 
of the land. Mr. Nathaniel Thayer's house, on the corner of Fairfield Street cost about $135,000 to build ; and 
on the corner of Gloucester Street and the avenue, Mr. Eugene V. R. Thayer recently completed a residence 
which cost $135,000. This is about as sightly a dwelling as there is on the avenue. On the corner opposite, Mr. 
Charles Francis Adams has erected a very fine dwelling whieli cost about $80,000. The residence of Congress- 
man John F. Andrew, on the corner of Hereford Street, cost about $100,000 to build. One of the hand- 
somest residences on the avenue is that of Mrs. William Powell Mason, located between Dartmouth and 
Exeter Streets, and built at a cost of $61,000. It is of the coming-into-fashion colonial style, and maintains the 
dignity of its ancestry even amid the more modern and artistic structures which are in its vicinity. Between 
Exeter and Fairfield Streets Mr. Alexander Cochran has an elegant residence, which cost in the neighborhood 
of $100,000 to build. The above are all on the north side of Commonwealth Avenue. On the south side of 
the avenue there are also many fine and costly residences of recent erection, ranging all the way from $30,000 
to $50,000 

Beacon Street (from the corner of Arlington Street) has in recent years shown more activity in the erec- 
tion of mansions than any other thoroughfare in this section. This is the most noticeable in the vicinity of and 
beyond West Chester Park. It contains some of the finest residences to be found in this section of palatial 
homes. General Whittier has put up a magnificent building at a cost of $145,000, and a number of other 
dwellings have been erected at a cost varving from $20,000 to $125,000. Beacon Street during the past two 



THE METROPOLIS OF NEW ENGLAND. 



89 



years, has shown ii marked ailvam-e in buildinu' improvements, and real estate quotations have consequently 
been increased. 

Boylston Street, in that section overlooking- the Common and the Public Garden — once a fashionable 
residential quarter — is rapidly being given up to business, but beyond the Public Garden, there are many 
handsome residences and the opening out of the street in the region of West Chester Park, will lead to more 
buildings being put up. The Boston & Albany Railroad owns the land on the south side of this thoroughfare, 
west of Exeter Street, and may build a passenger station there. Owing to these conditions and other con- 
tingencies, the north side of the street has not been built upon, with two solitary exceptions, west of Exeter 
Street. That section of Boylston Street, between the Old South parsonage and Exeter Street, north side, has 
been built up mostly within the last live years, with a good class of dwellings, costing on an average about $20,- 
000 each. The Hotel Kensington, one of those fashionable family hotels, is located on the corner of Boylston 
and Exeter Streets. It was erected by Mr. Henry B. 
Williams, at a cost of about $200,000. Land prices 
have all along this street increased amazingly within 
the last few years, and in many places building lots 
command from $12 to $15 per square foot. 

West Chester Park will soon be a busy scene of 
operations among builders, for the opening up of ' 
Boylston Street and the erection of the Harvard Bridge 
has brought this district into the market, and as both 
the thoroughfares just named are the only Back Bay 
Streets on which there are no restrictions as to busi- 
ness structures, it is likely that both will, ere long, be- 
come great centres of trade. 

Almost everywhere in tliis section of tlie city new 
buildings are arising. In this region are some of the 
finest hotels in the country, chief among which are the 
marble Vendome, the imposing Brunswick, and the 
Victoria (the new " Delmonico "). Then there are nu- 
merous first-class apartment houses, the Hotel Berlielev 
being the first erected in the district. On ]>oylston 
Street is the handsome building of the Young Men's 
Christian Association, also the Natural History Society 
Building, the famous Institute of Technology, Trinity 
Church (Rev. Dr. Phillips Brooks, pastor), one of the finest and most impressive church edifices in the country ; 
and the Second Church (Congregational Unitarian) with chapel adjoining (Rev. E. A. Horton, pastor). The 
society worshipping here once occupied the Old ^forth Church, on North Square, torn down and used for fire- 
wood by British soldiers during the siege of Boston. At one time Ralph Waldo Emerson was the pastor 
of tlie present church. Near this church is the far-famed Chauncy School. Opposite to it, with entrance on 
St. James's Avenue, is the Museum of Fine Arts, and beyond, on the corner of Boylston and Exeter Streets, is 
the Harvard Medical School. Near by, on the corner of Exeter and Newbury Streets, is the Prince School 
building, the only public school in the district. The other corners of Exeter and Newbury Streets are oc- 
cupied by the South Congregational Church (Unitarian) ; the First Spiritual Temple, a costly, curious edifice ; 
and the Massachusetts Normal School. Farther on, on the corner of Boylston and Hereford Streets, is a hand- 
some, new Romanesque building, occupied by the Back Bay police and fire departments. On Dartmouth Street, 
nearly opposite Trinity Church, the immense new Public Library building is being erected and will take years 
to complete. On Exeter Street and St. James Avenue, on December 29th, 1888, was opened the new Athletic 
Association building (erected at a cost of nearly $300,000), the finest edifice of its kind'in the world. The 
New Old South Church — one of the costliest church bnildings in the city — stands on the Dartmouth Street 
side of Copley Square, on the corner of Boylston Street. The society worshipping here formerly occupied the 
historic Old South, on the corner of Washington and Milk Street. Near the New Old South, on Dartmouth 
Street is the handsome new building of the Art Club. Located on the corner of Commonwealth Avenue and 




^^■^ ■ ■iJJL ji. 



The Chauncy Hall School Boylsto i Stieet 



ILLUSTRATED BOSTON 



Clarendon Street is the massive stone edifice of the First Baptist Church (formerly the Brattle Square Congre- 
gational Unitarian). The First Church (Congregational Unitarian) is located on Marlborough Street and 
Berkeley Street. It is the direct descendant of the first church established in Boston. The church was first 
formed in Charlestown, and the members of it, on coming to Boston, built the first meeting house on State 
Street, near where tho Brazer Building stands. The church was afterwards removed on to Washington Street 
near top of State Street, then to Chauncy Place, and, finally to its present location. The Protestant Episco- 
palians have a fine church, with a very rich interior, on Newbury Street, known as the Emmanuel Ciiurch. 




Boston Common— Beacon Street Mall. 

A short distance from it, on the corner of Newbury and Berkeley Streets is the handsome Central Church 
(Congregational Trinitarian), which possesses the tallest spire in the city, the height being 236 feet. On 
Berkeley Street is the Notre Dame Academy, and at the corner of Boylston and Arlington Streets is the widoly 
known Arlington (LTnitarian) Church, of which Rev. Hereford Brooke is pastor. Huntington Avenue has upon 
it the famous exhibition building of the charitable Mechanic Association, covering an area of 96,000 square 
feet, and erected in 1881. A short distance from it is the Children's Hospital, a useful and well-conducted 
institution. There are many other notable residences and buildings, but space will not allow us to treat of 
them separately. 

ROXBURY. 

The thoroughfares leading to it are four, namely, Harrison Avenue, Washington Street, Shawmut Avenue 
and Tiemont Street. This is the order of their succession, viewed laterally, Tremont Street being the most 
westerlv. Columbus Avenue, which lies more to the westward, will in the future be extended through to the 
Roxbury district. At present Washington Street, Shawmut Avenue, Tremont Street and Huntington Avenue 



THE METROPOLIS OF NEW ENGLAND. 91 

are available tlirongliout l>y horse-cars, but the Washington Street route is to bo preferred by the stranger and 
sight-seer. The Roxbury district includes the old city of Roxbury, which was annexed to Boston in 1867. It 
comprises wards 19, 20, 21, and 22, the latter being bounded on the east by West Chester Park, and includ- 
ing, therefore, a portion of tlie Back Bay territory. When first settled it was called Rocksbury, or Rocks- 
borough, and was recognized as a town on October 8, 1630. The town originally included the present West 
Roxbury district (set ofi in 1851) and annexed to Boston in 187.S, Jamaica Plain, and the present town of 
Brookline, known in the early days as- " Punch-bowl Village." William Wood, the first historian of New 
England, writing in 1633, says, after describing Dorchester : — "A mile from this Town (Dorchester) lyolli 
Roxberry, which is faire and handsome Country-towne : the inhabitants of it being all rich. The Towne lieth 
upon the Maine, .so that it is well-wooded and watered : having a cleare and fresh Brooke running through 
tlie Towne ; up which although there come no Alewives, yet there is great store of Smelts, and therefore it 
is called Smelt-brooke. A quarter of a mile to the North-side of the Towne is another River called Stoney- 
river, upon which is built a water-mihie. Here is good ground for Corne and Meadow for Cattle. Up west- 
ward from tlie Towne it is something rocky, whence it has the name of Roxberry," etc. Another writer 
(1654) describes the town as "being filled with a very laborious people, whose labours the Lord hath so blest, 
that in the roome of dismall Swamps and tearing Bushes, they have very goodlie Fruit-trees, fruitful! Fields 
and Gardens, their Heard of Cowes, Oxen and other young Cattell of tliat kind ••ibout 350, and dwelling houses 
neere upon 120. Their streetes are large and some Fayre Houses." 

If inquiries were made of a hundred persons resident in Boston as to where tlie dividing line existed be- 
tween the domains of the two former municipalities, no doubt 99 would not pretend to guess at what the 
hundredth would be likely to miss, yet that line is distinctly marked to-day. One at all curious in this regard 
needs only to bestow his glances when enjoying a horse-car ride in the direction of the suburbs over Wash- 
ington Street, upon a granite curbstone post of the horse-hitching kind, which stands on the sidewalk abut- 
ting the old car station at the extremity of the Neck, near Lenox Street, where it has stood so long that it 
may be considered a landmark. On one side of this stone, m deep-engraved work, is, "R., A.D. 1823." 
On the reverse is a similar inscription, save that B. takes the place of R. This indicates Roxbury and Boston. 
At present the top of this puny shaft is black and greasy, looking as though it had received the caresses of 
many dirty hands, which has doubtless been the case during the last 66 years of its standing as a monitor. 

What, in the parlance of the inhabitants of Roxbury of former days, was denoted as " the street," or " Rox- 
bury Street" (now Washington Street), commenced at this line and terminated at Vernon Street. Here were 
concentrated the shops ; and a considerable degree of business was performed in them, especially before omni- 
bus days. There were several local inns on this street, stopping-places for stages plying to and from Provi- 
dence, as well as for transient travel, .and local imbibing and feasting, to which, if rumor is to be believed, the 
ancient " gudemen " were somewhat devoted. On this " street " in later days were stores that prosecuted a 
large business; and hereabouts reside many old-timers. The "street" of to-day has been considerably elon- 
gated, and includes a great number and variety of stores, presenting quite a metropolitan aspect, both for this 
reason and for the magnitude of business performed there. At no place in the city, save in the main shop- 
ping district, two miles distant, is there more life and activity noticed, especially on Sat.u'day evenings, when 
the citizens of the neighborhood turn out en masse, seemingly to do their shopping, thereby crowding the 
large clothing, dry-goods, boot and shoe, and furniture stores, likewise the many food-providers, the vari- 
ety shops, the several gayly illuminated tea-stores, etc., to repletion, and forming kaleidoscopic throngs surging 
along under the electric lights. There is ''a sight" of difference in this respect, compared with the "fayre" 
street views of the forefathers. 

The territory now lying between the Lenox Street horse-car stables and the Roxbury stables at the 
Providence Railroad crossing, and including the contiguous streets and places, was formerly called Grab 
Village; and the name is still sometimes applied to it This is a picturesque and unique locality, espe- 
cially that part lying towards Tremont Street; and the business signs contain, for the most part, Teutonic 
names. It is, in fact, the mercantile portion of Germantown which is concentrated in this vicinity in conse- 
quence of the number of breweries in Roxbury, Boylston Station and Jamaica Plains, with which hundreds of 
the inhabitants are connected. Where or when the sobriquet of "Grab Village" came to be applied is a pro- 
found mystery to the present generation. The oldest inhabitant of the region knows naught regarding the 
inception of such a queer name. 



92 ILLUSTRATEDBOSTON. 

Sixty years ago this territory was flooded by tlie tides of the Back Bav, and its (inly inhabitants were 
fishes and birds. In 1832, the Tremont Road (now Tremont Street) liad been filled in, laid out, and became 
open for travel from Pleasant Street, South End, to Roxbury. Both sides of this roadway were marshes cov- 
ered with water when the tide was m. Other land was acquired in the vicinity by the process in which most 
of the present South End and all of Back Bay were secured. Lots were quickly taken, and houses sprung up 
like magic. The outflow from South End — then a contracted and crowded region — took this direction nat- 
urally. Practically, it amounted to an exodus from the city to suburban homes, for there existed no means of 
public conveyance ; and this necessitated the keeping of horses or long walks with business men who located 
there. In many respects it proved to be a charming place for residence, and, in fact, that portion of the city 
lias always borne a good reputation for healthfulness. Gardens were planted, fruit-trees were set out, ;uid 
shortly the locality gained credit for its lovely show of flowers and the quality of its fruit. While it has lost 
much of its former aspect. Grab Village has assumed other peculiarities which make it a very lively part of 
tlie city. The Tremont Street portion, from end to end of its three-fourths-raile length, is a busy mart of traffic. 
Stores of many kinds fine both sides of the street. In no otlier part of Boston, away from the shopping dis- 
trict, excepting perhaps on Broadway, South Boston, is such a condition to be found. Some of these stores, 
in extent and appearance, witli their large plate-glass windows filled with nice dress goods, etc., rival down- 
town concerns, and no doubt their patronage is commensurate with their spirit of enterprise. Veritably, Grab 
Village is a city in itself, covering over portions of several wards, and numbering a population high up in 
double numbers of thousands. Despite its seemingly derisive title, it constitutes a portion of the city that 
bears a good reputation ; and that is highly cherished by the residents. 

But let us return to the old boundary line between Boston and Roxbury — at the Neck, near the horse- 
railway stables, beside Lenox Street, for tliis is a historic spot. It was here that the American troops who 
were engaged in the siege of Boston erected strong fortifications and planted heavy batteries, to resist any 
attempt of the British troops to get into the country from the city. A few rods beyond this point is one of 
Roxbury's old landmarks — the venerable burying-ground, corner of Eustis and Washington Streets, where the 
remains of the Apostle Eliot lie. This ground has been sadly neglected in the past, and bears marks of dese- 
cration at present. In its vaults were deposited many of the bodies of the notabilities in Roxbury of colonial 
times. A writer of the olden time describes Eliot as " a young man at his coming thither, of a cheerful spirit, 
walking unblameable, of a godly conversation ; apt to teach, as by his indefatigable paines both with his own 
flock and the poore Indians doth appeare ; whose language he learned purposely to helpe them to the knowl- 
edge of God in Christ," etc. His body, together with those of five other pastors of the First Parish, rests in 
the " parish tomb," and near by it are the graves of Governor Thomas Dudley, Governor Joseph Dudley, and 
Chief Justice Paul Dudley. 

Proceeding a little beyond this resting-place of the forefathers, and still continuing on Washington Street, 
we reach Eustis Street, where the travel is divided into three principal lines. To the right, Roxbury Street 
stretches to Eliot Square, better known as Norfolk House neighborhood, on account of the large hotel there. 
To the left, Warren Street sweeps away through what were recently rural pastures toward Central Dorchester 
by the way of Grove Hall. At these points of divergence the principal stores, banks, public institutions, post- 
office, public halls, etc., of Roxbury are located. Washington Street extends towards Jamaica Plains, sweeps 
past Forest Hill Station and the noted cemetery of that name ; and along its course is beautiful scenery and 
several old-fashioned mansions, each with an interesting story of its own of the past. The old First Parish 
Church, on Eliot Square, is an object of great interest as a splendid specimen of Puritan church architecture. 
It stands on elevated land, which was fortified by General Washington to command the roads from Boston. 
About a quarter of a mile to the southwest were still stronger works, known as the Roxbury Fort, whereon is 
now located the standpipe of the Boston Water-works, which, as an architectural column, is an object of 
great beauty. 

Roxbury, small as she was, had a conspicuous part in the events of the Revolution. It was the native 
place of the immortal Warren, Heath, and Greaton, and the residence and burial-place of Dearborn — all generals 
in the Continental Army. The old Roxburyites have sliown in various ways that they have not forgotten the 
heroes of those trying times. 

Here is the great public pleasure-ground of forests and fields, formerly known as Roxbury, and now as 
Franklin Park, to which thousands daily find their way in the summer from all parts of the city. Not alone 



THE METROPOLIS OF NEW ENGLAND, 



m 



is the park an olijfCt of lioaiitv, Imt tlic wliole region of Roxbury, which in late years has become a favorite 
residential cjuarter, and consequently has experienced a large growth in population. 

As we have already observed, Roxbury comprises four wards of the city. These wards contain more than 
one .sixth of the polls of the city of Boston, which is a good index of the extent of their population. The 
same thing will show their growth in population in the past five years. In 1883, the number of polls in them 
was, in round numbers, 19,000; in 1888, it was 23,000 — an increase of 4000 in the five years. The valua- 
tion of these four wards will also show their advance in material wealth. In 1883, their total valuation was 
$59,324,900 ; in 1888, it was $74,394,800 — an increase of $15,069,900 in five years, a most encouraging 
showing. This great advance in po[iulation is due, in the first place, to Roxbury, with its high lands, abound- 
ing in the finest sites for residence, and being so situated that Boston seems to natually merge into it, and to 




Boston Common — Tremont Street Mall. 



form a part of the city itself in reality, while still retaining many rural features. Another important fact is 
that there are several parallel lines of liorse-railway penetrating every section of the district, and these led to 
the more convenient localities being seized upon for dwellings, and to the building of apartment-hou.ses in 
great numbers. But even these failed to provide for all who wanted liomes, and the territory beyond was 
encroached upon. On one of the main avenues. Warren Street, as far as Grove Hall, the drift of population 
found a way, as well as on Washington Street on the west and Blue Hill Avenue on the east, which crosses 
Warren Street in its course at Orove Hall. These streets and their affluents furnished land for dwelling pur- 
poses, which was utilized from time to limo, until to-day there is but little land, comparatively, left in the 
limits of old Roxbury to build on, the last of the considerable farm properties (the Horatio Harris estate) 
being now in process of arrangement to be put upon the market. Land has consequently appreciated in value; 
for lots which five years ago or less were bought for 15 to 20 cents a foot are now held at from 40 to 60 
cents per square foot. Walnut .\ venue, running in a southwesterly direction from Warren Street, and nearly 
parallel to Washington Street, up to Franklin Park, opened up a district for settlement, in which many fine 
and costly mansions have been constructed in the past tiftcen years or more. In the territorv northwest and 



94 ILLUSTRATEDBOSTON. 

southeast of this avenue, and especially in the latter sections, there have been Liiilt in the past five years a large 
number of very fine dwellings. This section is known as Elm Hill ; and on Elm Hill Avenue, and between it 
and Walnut Avenue, some of the best houses are located. Many of these are veritable palaces, representing 
all styles of architecture and varying in cost from $12,000 to $60,000. Many of them are surrounded with 
trees, shrubbery, flower gardens, or grassy lawns, adding to the beauty and attraction of the streets and av- 
enues as excellent driveways. Walnut Avenue, Humboldt Avenue, and Elm Hill Avenue all lead up to Frank- 
lin Park, and the two latter end at Seaver Street, which skirts its northern side. The park is of vast extent, 
and, as no residential buildings can be put upon it, the rush of settlement in that direction to some extent has 
been stopped, and the operations here in the future will be the filling up of the gaps now existing, with the 
result in a few years of a compactly built district, though, compared with that north of it, owing to the nature 
of its settlement, it will be a great many years before houses in it are crowded so closely together. In other 
sections of the district, dwellings are rising rapidly. On nearly every street, from Dudley Street to Grove 
Hall, new houses have been erected in the past five years, either by those who had them built for their own 
use or to let or for sale ; but there have been but few'erections for business purposes in the district in the 
same period. 

On the northwest side of the Roxbury district is Parker Hill, a splendid location, overlooking the city, 
and on which is located the Parker Hill Reservoir. Its high and favorable location places it in the line of 
future occupation. 

THE DORCHESTER DISTRICT 

which forms the twenty-fourth ward of the city, is delightfully situated on Dorchester Bay, an arm of Boston 
Harbor, and in a healthy, attractive and picturesque region. It is to-day one of the most interesting of the 
outlying districts of the city, and is a favorite place of suburban residence. It is, too, an historic place, and 
was established as a town on the same date as Boston itself. On the 20th of March, 1629-30, "that grftit 
ship of 400 tons," the Mary and John, set sail from Plymouth, England, for the New World, and during the 
ten weeks of the voyage the party on board, including two clergyman. Revs. Meverick and Warham, spent 
every day " in preaching or expounding the word of God." The ship, which was commanded by Captain 
Squeb, landed on May 30, 1630, at Nantasket (now Hull), where the captain turned his passengers adrift into 
the "forlorn wilderness," though his contract bound him to carry them to the Charles River. They found their 
way to Dorchester, then called Mattapan by the Indians, by whom they were well received. They at once 
changed the name to Dorchester, after the town of the same name in England. Dorchester has its quaint old 
town-hall; its ancient meeting-house and magnificent soldiers' monument on Meeting-IIouse Hill ; at Uf ham's 
Corner the graves of several eminent public men of the Colonial and Provincial periods; and Jones's Hill 
affords from its summit one of the finest and most extensive views in the neighborhood of Boston. North- 
ward is seen the old city and the famous Dorchester Heights. Westward is presented an amphitheatre of hills 
and villages. Southward is a wide and deep intervale, the famous Blue Hills of Milton showing up on the 
horizon. Near at hand in this direction is observed Meoting-House Hill, capped by the First Parish Church 
and by the Soldiers' Monument of red Gloucester granite, rising to a height of 31 feet, and erected in 1867. 
Looking eastward the eye embraces within the range of vision nearly all the islands of the harbor, the harbor 
itself and its shipping, and the ocean in the extreme distance, while near at hand is Savin Hill, rich in rustic 
beauty and commanding charming views. An object of special interest and one meriting inspection is the 
Lyman Fountain, which is located on Eaton Square, a sightly and beautiful spot, well chosen for its situation. 
The fountain occupies the sight of a famous old tavern — the Eaton Tavern, kept by a once equally famous 
Captain Eaton. 

Of this handsome fountain we give a fine illustration in these pages. It was erected in memory of one of 
Boston's noblest and revered sons, the late Theodore Lyman, Jr., who was mayor of the city in 1834-35. 
Mr. Lyman was a descendant from one of the pilgrim fathers who came from England to the Old Bay State in 
1631 in the same ship that bronght John Eliot. Mr. Lyman was born in Boston on February 20, 1792, and 
his father was one of the city's merchant princes. He received his early education at Phillips Academy, Exe- 
ter, N. H., and graduated at Harvard College in 1810. He afterwards became a student in the famous Uni- 
versity of Edinburgh, Scotland, and then travelled extensively throughout Europe. In 1820 he published a 
work of much merit entitled " The Political State of Italv," and in the same year delivered the Fourth of 



THE METROPOLIS OF NEW ENGLAND, 



95 



July oration before the town authorities of Boston. In 1826 he published an important work, " Tiie Diplo- 
macy of the United States." From 1820 to 1823 he was aide-de-camp to Governor Brooks, and from 1823 to 
1827 was commander of the Boston Brigade. From 1820 to 1825 he was a member of the Massaclinsetts 
Legislature, occupying a seat in the Senate in 1824. In 1834 and 1835 he was mayor of Boston, and gave 
the city a dignified, fearless, and able administration, during a period that called for unusual qualities in her 
chief magistrate. He was a large hearted, generous man, and many noble public institutions had their useful- 
ness developed by his munificence. One of his most intimate friends spoke of him as " a pure, loving, devoted 
man, of unusual grace or bearing and manly beauty," who " used the gifts of God as His steward, and not for 
his own indulgences." He died on July 18, 1849, but he continued to live in the memories of his friends, 
who, thirty-six years after his demise, determined to erect some tangible memorial of him. The leader in 
this movement was the Honorable Nahum Capen, and the erection of a water fountain was decided upon. A 
sum of two thousand dollars was quickly subscribed, and an application was made for an allowance from the 
Phillips Fund, the munificent gift of Jonathan Phillips, who gave by his will to the city of Boston, in 1860, 
the sum of $20,000, as a trust fund, the income of which shall be annually e-xpended to adorn and embellish 




Memopy of Theo. Lyman, Jp., 



Dorehestep 



the streets and public places in the city. The authorities voted from this fund towards the cost of the foun- 
tain $4050, and a further sum of $175 for incidentals. 

The site for the fountain in Eaton Square was selected by Mr. William Doogue, the city forester, and the 
commission to design and construct the fountain was entrusted to Mr. M. D. Jones, of the firm of M. D. Jones 
& Co., No. 76 Washington Street. The design is original. The structure is of fine proportions, rich in orna- 
mentation, and is believed to be the highest and handsomest fountain in the New England States. It rises to 
an altitude of 26 feet. The basin is of Monson granite, and 33 feet in diameter. The first pan is 12 feet and 
6 inches in diameter ; the .second pan 6 feet and 8 inches. The surmounting groups of figures represent 
Venus, Cupid and swan, while the figures about the pedestal.^ stand for the four seasons. The supply of water 
is from three pipes attached to a 3-inch main, a sixty-pound pressure providing ample force. One of these 
pipes discharges through the swan's mouth and through four dragons on the first pedestal and four griffins, 
between the first and second pans. Another furnishes a supply for one hundred and forty -four jets in the rim 
of the first pan, and eighty in the second, while the third pipe feeds the four cascades at the base of the ped- 
estal. The water from the jets does not overflow the pan, but discharges through four gargoyle heads. The 
fountain proper is of bronzed iron and zinc. The whole reflects the highest credit upon Mr. Jones. His 



96 ILLUSTRATEDBOSTON. 

experience as a designer and builder of fountains in various parts of New England has been extensive, but tliis 
is one of his most ambitious undertakings as well as one of his most successful achievements. The basin was 
constructed by Mr. John Kelly, a Boston contractor. The fountain, in its playing power, has realized all 
expectations. Cut in the granite basin is this legend: — "In memory of Theodore Lyman, Jr., mayor of Bos- 
ton in 1834-35;" and upon a bronze plate attached to the basin is this inscription. — "This fountain as a 
memorial was originated by Nahura Capen, designed and constructed by M. D. Jones, Boston, locsited by 
William Doogue, city forester, accepted and dedicated by Hugh O'Brien, Mayor, October 24, 1885." 

The occasion of the dedication service was a red letter day in the annals of Dorchester. Around the 
fountain a large and interested company of prominent persons gathered, the Germania Band was in attendance, 
the fountain was accepted by Mayor O'Brien as a gift to the city, and speeches were delivered appropriate to 
the occasion by Honorable Marshall P. Wilder, Honorable C. Winthrop, Rev. Peter Ronau, Honorable Lcver- 
ett Saltonstall, and Honorable Nahum Capen. 

Dorchester, which was annexed to Boston, June 22, 1869, has, since it was accorded good railway and 
horse-car accommodation, enjoyed a large and steady growth in population and in popularity as a residential 
section. Hotels, apartment-houses and costly dwellings are more numerous than they were a few years ago. 
Farm lands are being constantly cut up into streets and offered to those who desire to build, and as a result 
there is a steady increase in the value of property. Since 1883, it is safe to say that there have been built in 
the Dorchester district from 700 to 1000 houses of various styles and grades of cost, the great majority of 
them being single dwellings. In that year the real estate valuation of Dorchester was $17,797,600. In 1888, 
it was $22,913,300, being gain of $5,115,700 or at the rate of over $1,000,000 of gain in this item of valua- 
tion per year. The number of polls in 1883 was 4981, and in 1888 it was 6803, or nearly 2000 gain. The 
gain in population has been a substantial one, and is due quite largely to the good railway accommodation 
afforded, as well as to the horse-railwav lines and low fares. 

STREETS AND AVENUES. 

Boston is the most like an English city of any place on the American continent both, in the peculiarity of 
its ancient buildings and in the tortuous windings of its oldest streets. The crookedness of the streets, formed 
on the lines of old cow-paths, makes an unceasing puzzle to strangers to find their way about, and yet these 
twists and turns afford good opportunity for the display of architectural qualities of buildings, and add much 
to the picturesque appearance of the city. Millions of dollars have been expended in straightening old 
thoroughfares and in effecting improvements, but tliere are curves and bendings that will ever remain unless 
another conflagration like that of 1872 slionld involve the old parts of the city in ruins and provide an op- 
portunity for remapping the section in " square cuts." The modern wards of the city, however, are laid out 
in Babylonian rectangularity, with streets that are broad and straight, and vistas ending on hills in the suburbs. 
Streets and avenues are being increased in number or lengtli year by year, for there are thirty-two more miles 
of streets now, in 1889, than there were four years ago, the total munbers now being 412. The streets are most 
efficiently sewered, for Boston has the most perfect sewerage system of any city in the country ; and this has 
been attained at immense cost. The thoroughfares are sufficiently illuminated. At this writing there are 
within the city limits the following street lamps in use: Gas, 10,104; oil, 2994; electrics, 704; large gas- 
lamps, 74; naptha lamps, 49 ; total, 13,925. 

The streets are divided up into twenty-five wards, and there are 202 miles of street-railway tracks. For- 
merly there were some six street-railroad companies in Boston, and some opposition in consequence but a year 
or two ago these corporations amalgamated, or formed a " trust," so that one huge corporation now controls 
the whole street-railroad system, not only in the city, but the suburbs also. The company have in use 1912 
cars, and are now introducing electric cars through the Back Bay district, Brighton, Brookline, etc. and 
ere long it is likely these cars will come into general use. One need not be a prophet, however, to foresee the 
time when the elevated railroad will be one of the institutions of Boston. The Meigs plan of elevated railroad, 
now being introduced into Chicago, has been proposed, and a short experimental line built in Cambridge. By 
this plan the use of a ponderous, smoke-producing locomotive is entirely done away with, and in its stead is 
used the most improved form of the electric motor, the power of which is transmitted through a third rail and 
applied to every third car by a simple device hidden in the bottom of the vehicle, and which is under the im- 
mediate and perfect control of an attendant. The weight and size of the supporting posts are reduced to the 



THE METROPOLIS OF NEW ENGLAND. 9" 

minimum compatible vfith safety ; and, as all the structure is of iron and steel, the obstruction to light and 
trafRj is almost inconsiderable. Every precaution has been taken in regard to safety, and the speed that can be 
acquired is one of the especial feature of the system. The expense at which the road can be constructed is 
marvellously small, and its operating expenses will also be much less than those of any other road — facts which 
will result immediately to the public benefit by allowing the fares to be placed at a very low point. 

Of the architectural changes to be noticed in a walk through Boston's streets, the following, written re- 
cently by Mr. A. W. Barrett, is apropos : 

"In place of the old buildings destroyed by the devouiing element, have sprung up huge edifices imposing 
in their size and extent, and in some cases of architectural beauty. It is a fact easily proven that the archi- 
tectural styles of Boston have closely followed the prevailing ones of the same period in Europe. Early in the 
century there was a Greek revival, the principal monuments of which are the Court and Custom houses, the 
Tremont House, Quincy Market and St. Paul's Ciiurch. In 1838 began the Gothic period, an example of 
which is found in Old Trinity Church. Then followed the ' French-roof style. The Deacon, Ilousc on Wash- 
ington, Concord, and Worcester Streets, was probably the first building of this style in the country. W' ith the 
increase of popular travel, the influence of foreign models became more strongly felt in a great variety of styles. 
Northern and Southern Gothic, Romanesque and Renaissance, Frencli Renaissance, became extremely popular 
and are the styles of many business and public building.s, including the City Hall and Post-office. Gothic has 
remained the favorite for churches. A peculiarity of Boston architecture is the richness and variety of. the 
building-material. The prevailing material is red brick, but there is an abundance of light, dark, and red 
granite , brown, yellow, and bufi sandstones; a variety of marble, Roxbury pudding-stone, and other material. 
When a ' big building" is mentioned, one naturally thinks of a huge edifice conspicuous for its size, and stand- 
ing alone like a giant pine above the scrubby undergrowth. Examples of tliis kind of buildings are not un- 
common in Boston ; and yet it must be borne in mind that there are hundreds of ' big buildings,' side by side 
for blocks and blocks that are worthy of the title, though they do not strike a spectator so forcibly as a build- 
ing like the Mason Building, which stands by itself." 

TRANSPORTATION FACILITIES AND COMMERCE. 

At the close of the war of the Revolution, Boston was the most influential community in America, but 
now there are two cities of greater importance and four larger in population. Then she took the lead in com- 
merce, now, although her trade is immense, she occupies a second-rate position. Her shipping interests are, 
however, multiplying, and she is growing in popularity as the western port of several lines of British steamships, 
doing an immense and increasing freight business, and favored by the depth and security of the harbor and by 
the marginal railways, which allow freight vans to be run directly out upon the docks. The distance from 
Boston to Liverpool is shorter than from Philadelpliia to Liverpool by, 370 miles. New York to Southampton, 
by 260 miles, and New York to Liverpool by 160 miles. The liarbor of Boston is the most picturesque on 
the coast, is of ample dimensions, and of suflBcient depth to accommodate the largest vessels afloat. Her 
wharves are extensive, and upon them are built largo warehouses. The city, too, is the starting-point for eight 
extensive railway lines, and the lieadquarters for numerous railroad corporations. Her transportation facilities are 
therefore of the most extensive and complete character. The Inman Steamsliip Company, it is reported, in- 
tends to establish a line of steamers between Boston and Europe to compete with the Cunard and other lines 
already located here. The tendency of recent railroad construction in the Northwest, and the developments in 
trade that are promised in that quarter, all liave the outlook of largely increasing the merits of Boston as a 
point of shipment for the export and import trade of this country. The old combinations made by the trunk 
lines have given in the past certain advantages in rates to New York and Philadelphia; but it is questionable 
whether these can be maintained in the future. Then, beside having a large advantage, so far as ocean dis- 
tance is concerned, over Philadelphia, and a considerable gain over New York, Boston has hitherto enjoyed 
the merit, when compared with the latter place, of low-er port charges for the vessels which come here. Bos- 
ton may perliaps never hope to compete with New York as the great centre of tlie export and import trade of 
this country; but, as this trade is constantly increasing, there is no reason why it should not maintain its rela- 
tive position; arid there are some reasons for thinking tliat it may in tlie next few years have a larger propor- 
tionate share of this business than it has enjoyed in the past. As an indication of the extent of the foreign 



98 ILLUSTRATED BOSTON. 

sliipping trade now done, it may be here stiUc-d that the receipts for duties at the Custom-house amounted in 
1888 to $21,166,212.31. 

Boston is the great centre, too, for internal traffic, especially in food products, shoes, leatlier, macliinery, 
rubber, dry goods, etc.; and in all these great ecJminodities there is an increase year by year, the record for last 
year being largely in e.\cess of that of previous years. The city has its Shoe and Leatlier Exchange, Boston 




0i\i';\K .13 b lilt 'i ^, 1 _ 



-<S»^ 



'^J^ 

('V^ 



11 ^li^^ll ^*\i^^ ~ 




^/^\. l-_-V'^ '^ ^ OTOORAVURE CO 

Faneuil Hall Square, showing Faneuil Hall and Quincy Markets. 

Commercial Exchange, Produce Exchange, Chamber of Commerce, New England Furniture Exchange, Fish 
Bureau, Board of Trade, Firemen's Exchange, Boston Board of Marine Underwriters, Boston Board of Trade, 
Boston Fire Underwriter's Union, Boston Grocers' Association, Boston Merchants' Association, Master Build- 
ers' Association, National Association Wool Manufacturers, New England Cotton Manufacturers' Association, 
New Enfjland Retail Grocers' Association, New England Saddlery Hardware Association, Mechanics' Exchange, 
Merchants' Exchange and Reading-room, etc. 

Financial facilities are afforded by sixty national and several private banks, seven trust companies, and 
thirteen savings banks; and numerous home and foreign insurance companies afford protection against losses 
by fire to buildings, merchandise, and other property. 

SCHOOLS AND CHURCHES. 

Boston has always occupied a prominent position among the American cities in respect to Jiterarj' and 
scientific culture. She has been liberal in her provision of public libraries and schools, which are renowned all 
over the country for their number, affluence, and efficiency. The public schools are under the direction of a 
school committee, elected by the popular vote, a superintendent, and several supervisors. There are 530 regular 
schools with 1253 teachers and over 58,000 pupils, and 21 .special schools with 151 teachers and 4086 pupils. 



THE METROPOLIS OF NEW ENGLAND, 



99 



In addition to these, there are evening schools, attended by about 1900 pupils. (_»n June 12, 1888, the school 
board discontinued Swinton's " Outlines of History " from the textbooks of the English High-school, at Rev. 
Theodore A. Metcalf's instigation, for a harmless paragraph about the sale of indulgences while Leo X. was 
pope. This would not have created any great amount of popular feeling, perhaps, but, on the 19th of June, 
the school board accepted a report transferring Mr. C. B. Travis from Ins post as teacher of history m the Eng- 
lish High-school, to another duty. This action of the board created much public indignation, which was ex- 
pressed in various ways. A tremendous meeting was held at Faneuil Hall on the evening of July lltli, and an 
overflow meeting at Tremont Temple, to protest against the displacement of Swinton's " Outlines" from the 
textbooks of the English High-school and transferring Mr. Travis from the historical department of that 
school. This was one of the most memorable meetings held in Faneuil Hall during recent years. It took the 

initial steps towards forming 
a committee of one hundred 
that wielded a marked influ- 
ence upon the city election. 
Women were enlisted in the 
movement to reconstruct the 
school board so that it might 
be freed from mischievous 
ecclesiastical control, and sev- 
eral associations were formed 
to promote the assessment and 
registration of women to vote 
for school committee. The 
Loyal Women of American 
Liberty, Independent Women 
Voters of Boston, School 
Suffrage Association, Bunker 
Hill Educational Association, 
and Women's Christian Tem- 
perance Union took an active 
part in this work. The assess- 
_ _^^^ _ _ ment of women elicited a 

ll?^N 1^ ft - * "^=5;^"^" "^^""^ * '°'^ °'^ Music. spirited trial of strength be- 

-IIlji Ifb- ^^.1 ^r -"-""" ^ ~ - tween Protestants and Catholics. The Republican city convention 

to nominate mayor and school committee assembled on the evening 
of Nov. 16th, and on the first ballot nominated Thomas N. Hart for mayor. A committee 
was selected to nominate eleven members of the school board. Subsequently the Re- 
publicans nominated a ticket for school committee, which was indorsed by the committee of one hundred and 
the women's associations affiliating with them. A vigorous canvass was made in its behalf by the committee of 
one hundred and the women's organizations acting with them. This ticket had no Catholics upon it, but a 
women's ticket was sent to every woman registered, having upon it the names of Messrs. Williamson, Dunn, and 
Canning, then members of the school board, who voted to reject Swinton's "Outlines" and transfer Mr. Travis. 
Besides this, there was a regular Democratic woman's ticket. Mr. Hart accepted the Republican nomination on 
a non-partisan platform entirely. A citizens' movement, into which the British element threw all its influence 
and zeal, was started in his favor, and .snbse(|uently put a school committee ticket m the field, embracing, among 
others, the names of Caroline E. Hastings, Messrs. Williamson, Dunn, Canning, and Collison of the present 
school board. The Republican canvass for the city government was made on the issue of reform and the 
necessityof an entire change in methods at City Hall. The appeal was made to all parties, but a potent factor 
was the determination of the women to rebuke the school board for submitting to priestly control. Mr. Hart 
was elected mayor on the Uth of December by a plurality of '2021. The Republicans elected two thirds of 
the aldermen, and gained in the Common Council. It was a rout of the City Hall ring. The people em- 
phatically condemned the school board by electing the entire Republican ticket for school committee, which 




100 • ILLUSTRATED BOSTON. 

has been indorsed by the Committee of One Hundred. The city voted for license by a majority of J 7,651, 
against 8483 last year. An enormons vote was polled, considering the heavy, penetrating rain wliicli pre- 
vailed. The total for mayor fell short of the presidential vote only 1550. Of the twenty-one thousand woman 
registered, seventeen thousand voted under the most disagreeable circumstances as regards the weather. But 
this did not appear to daunt them in the least. They labored zealously and effectively from the opening to 
the closing of the polls, were everywhere treated with consideration, and had the satisfaction of having con- 
tributed very materially to the election of the Republican school committee ticket, made up wholly of Pro- 
testants. The school committee, as elected, consists of: Caroline Hastings (one year), W. A. Mowry (two 
years), Laliah B. Pingree, W. S. Allen, R. C. Humphreys, T. J. Emery, S. B. Capen, Dr. W. C. Green, Solomon 
Schindler, J. P. G. Winship, Dr. Liberty Packard. 

There are over 220 churches in the city, representing all sects of religionists, and some of these and their 
pastors have won fame both at home and abroad. 

THE CITY GOVERNMENT. 

Boston received its city charter in 1822; and the government comprises a mayor, a board of 12 alder- 
men and a common council consisting of 73 representatives of the 25 wards. The executive power was for- 
merly vested in the mayor and aldermen, but the law of 1885 (Stat. 1885, ch. 266), amending the charter of 
Boston, vests all executive power in the mayor, but retains, with very few exceptions, all the boards, commis- 
sions, trustees, and separate departments or ofBces existing at that time or since established. The number of 
these separate bodies exceeds 50, some of whom are not even required to publish regular reports. The election 
takes place annually on the Tuesday after the second Monday in December. From what has already been 
.stated in connection with the election of the school committee (conducted at the same time) that of the mayor, 
aldermen and councilmen was, in December, 1888, an excitable one, and resulted in arresting the executive 
power so long held by the Democrats, by the Republicans, with the aid of the women and the British citizens. 

The police force, numbering 800 men, some three years ago was taken from under the control of the civic 
authorities and placed under that of the State. Not including druggists, 1561 places were in 1888 licensed in 
the city for the sale of intoxicating drink, or one to every 263 persons, the population of the city on January 1, 
1889, being computed at 410,688. The law of 1888 (chapter 340) demands the reduction of these licenses to 
781, or exactly one half. The fire department is one of the most efficient in the country, and the water-supjily 
is of a most adequate and excellent character. 

THE CLIMATE AND HEALTH. 

The climate of Boston is severe, especially in winter and spring; but the intense heats of summer are tem- 
pered by refreshing east winds, which fill the streets with the salty smell of the adjacent ocean. The death- 
rate in 1888 was 24.57 for each 1000 inhabitants, against 25.18 per 1000 in 1887. 

THE SUBURBS. 

No city has more attractive and picturesque suburbs than Boston, and it would take volumes to consider 
the traits and beauties of those outlying districts. 

Many popular summer resorts are by the .sea, and the most charming and most visited of these are Nan- 
tasket Beach, Revere Beach, and Point of Pines. A sail down the beautiful harbor is one of the .special de- 
lights of Bostonians, and a pleasure which no visitor should forego. 



ILLUSTRATED BOSTON. 



The pages that follow contain many of the representative houses of this metropolis, and in 
connection with the illustrated portion of the work will be found profitable and interesting. 



SPBINf? LANE FURNISHING COMPANY, Gents' Furnish- 
ing Goods, No. 279 Wasliiugton Street.— A point o£ in- 
terest and comfort, close to tlie Old Sontii Cliurcli, at 
No. 279 Wasliington Street, and two doors from Scliool 
Street, is a spot, wlilcii tliough it at first presents nu strii;- 
ing appearance on tlie outside, is nevertlieiess in a quiet way 
one of tlie best linown and most largely frequented of any of 
the places in this busy locality; for it is always prodnctive of 
comfort and satisfaction to Bostonians .and visitors. Tlie rea- 
son why this is tlie headquarters for the business men of tliis 
vicinity, as well as tlie stopping for those wlio are on their way 
to or from the various railway stations are tliese: First. At 
this store can be obtained all tlie best and latest varieties of 
gents' furnishing goods. Second. Immediate attention is given; 
no time is lost by customer in waiting, .at tlie times wlien the 
patronage is very large the number of clerks is doubled. The 
Spring Lane Funiishiiig Company buys direct from the most reli- 
able manufacturers and is one of thelirst in the city to import latest 
novelties in neckwear (every known style), shirts, collars, cuffs, 
underwear, hosiery, suspenders, gloves, and umbrellas with hun- 
dreds of notions for gents' outfits. The beautiful display of goods, 
artistic arrangement of store, and scrupulous neatness and polite- 
ness of clerks are very pleasing. Laundry work. In order to meet 
the large demand in tliis direction a slide has been made into 
whicli parcels can be dropped from the outside any time, day or 
night, without stopping to come into store. Three of the best 
laundries make daily calls. This company is especially to be con- 
gratulated in having for the person in charge at the store Mr. W. 
B. Diiiper, who has been so long connected with this business and 
whose management and attention have been so universally accept- 
able. 

MACULLAR, PARKER & CO., A Representative New Eng 
land Clothing House, Nos. 398 and 400 W.ashington Street. 
The recent .addition of a department for boys' and youths' 
clothing to the other blanches of business at Macullar, 
Parker & Co.'s advances that house still another step in the cloth 
and clothing trade. They carry on a great business, as will be 
seen by tlie following sumtnary of operations: To begin with, they 
are direct importers of fine woolens, with a sampling office at No. 
30 Golden Square, London ; they are jobbers of piece goods, having 
correspondence with merchant tailors in almost every state and 
territory in the United States, with agencies in New York and Chi- 
cago. In connection with the jobbing department, they employ a 
force of specialists, who shrink and finish, after the London man- 
ner, all goods requiring that treatment. Entrance to tliis depart- 
ment is from Hawley Street. They run a series of shops or halls 
for manufacturing ready-made clothing, and others for custom- 
work. They sell at ret.ail to men. youths and boys everything 
needed for dress and general equipment, except hats and .shoes— 
their furnishing goods and shirt department being a familiar fea- 
ture of trade to all Bostonians. They employ upwards of six hun- 



dred men and women, by whom, all the year round, the words 
"h.aid times and dull season "are never heard, and to whom every 
favorable consideration in the way of satisfactory wages, vaca- 
tions, early closing, and weekly half-holidays all through July and 
Augu.st, cheerful, well-lighied, well-ventilated, and commodious 
working quarters, is accorded as a matter of simple right and 
propriety. All these things can only go with a prosperous and 
well-ordered house. One great feature here also is the exceptional 
variety and quantity of fine piece goods distributed to the mer- 
chant tailoring trade, as well as the amount cut up in tlie shops on 
the premises. The con.stant services of one hundred and fifty peo- 
ple are required in the custom department, nine of wlioin are cut- 
ters, with but very lew idle hours in the year. This .ah ne implies an 
immense stock of piece goods, and the re.ady-made shops are of 
more than twice that capacity. In respect of operationsin strictly 
fine goods, therefore, this firm is not surpassed by any other 
in America. Tlie great Scotch mills on the Tweed and Yarrow, 
and the Dee and Don, and the equally celebivated looms in the 
west of England and in France .and Germany, contribute their 
standard coiitings and suitings; wliile the best home mills are 
called upon for their leading specialties notably the Middlesex 
yacht cloths and the excellent rough-faced goods from the George's 
River Mills in Maine. Jlore people wear ready-made goods than 
formerly in proportion of ten to one, and they dress better, too, in 
proportion simply as they take p.aiiis in finding the best shops. It 
is only a matter of a little discernment and discrimination. A house 
like Macullar, Parker &Co. keeps the standard advanced so high 
that all trade novelties and betterments gravitate naturally to its 
quarters in search of recognition and illustration. Its reputation 
gives iminedi.ate character and circulation to meritorious devices in 
loom-work. Chemistry and the elements are cited to attend here 
in.the interests of pure woolens. The sun and the rain bring to 
light and view all surface crudities and all h.alf-way coloring. 
The dyer's hand must be cunning, indeed, that can evade these 
irresistible natural forces. Is there a suspicion of cotton where 
the contract calls for all-wool ? Then in goes a .sample section of 
the cloth to contend with boiling chemicals m a crucible heated to 
the hottest degree of Fahrenheit. Sometimes the result justifies 
the suspicion. The mass gradually revolves itself to its original 
elements. The wool, being of the animal, takes on the appearance 
of a formless solution, while a tell-tale insoluble residum of intact 
cotton fibre (being of the vegetable kingdom and proof against the 
acid) .attests at once the scope of chemistry and the finesse prac- 
ticed by certain weavers. The house of Maeuller, Parker & Co. 
dates back to 1849. It has gone on from year to year without a 
single interruption save one sharp trial by fire, gaining strength 
and popularity as a conservator of correct business principles, and 
with a widespread reputation for producing the best clotliing at 
prices proportioned to intrinsic values, and therefore upon a scale 
fairly adjusted as between buyer and seller. Its outlook for a 
great business, bounded by no local lines, w.as never fairer than it 
is to-day. 



101 



102 



ILLUSTRATED BOSTON. 



CRAWFORD HOUSE, European Plan, (ioodwin & Kimbacli, 
Piopiietors, Nos. 83 Court to 19 Brattle Streets.— One of tlie 
most popular, most largely patronized and most ably eon- 
, ducted hotels in Boston is unquestionably the Crawford 

' House. It is just such comfortable and perfectly run houses as 
this that are full and make money while the badly kept old-style 
hotels make poor showings. The Crawford was established fully 
twenty-five years ago by Messrs. Stunicke & Goodwin, and whose 
liberal policy, able methods and central location of house, secured 
to them a large and-growing patronage. In 1886, Mr. Stumcke died 
after a lengthy career of efficient and progressive management, 
and was succeeded by Mr. Henry Goodwin, under the name and 
style of Henry Goodwin & Co. On Jan. 1st, 1889, he took into 
copartnership Mr. George H. Rimbacli, nephew of the late Mr. 
Stumcke, a native of Boston, and though still a young man, 



thorough system of organization. The restaurant and bar are on 
the Brattle Street side, and are strictly first-class in every respect. 
The large measure of patronage enjoyed, including the best 
classes of the commercial and traveling public, permanent resi- 
dents, etc., indicates the superior inducements offered, and no 
hotel in Boston is more worthy of an extended and influential 
class of patronage. 

ALFRED A. CLATUR, Dealer in All Kmds of Leather Rem- 
nants, No. 137 Sunnner Street —One of the most important 
adjuncts to the shoe and leather trades of Boston, is the 
scrap leather business. From an insignificant branch of 
Massachusetts' great industry, it has grown witliln a few years to 
immense magnitude, and has now an invested capital of about a 
million dollars. Large quantities of remnants of leather, that used 




-^ik^^ 



brings to bear fifteen years of experience in the business. As thus 
constituted the firm stands second to none in regard to every qHall- 
fication. On Jan. 1st, there was added an annex containing sixty 
rooms, particularly adapted lor families; large square com- 
modious rooms, with steam heat "and all modern convenience, 
elegantly furnished, and connected by iron bridge with main 
liouse. The Crawford House is the most centrally located of 
any hotel in Boston as regards all the depots, theatres, lines of 
street cars, and points of interest. It is a handsome and substan- 
tial structure, facing on Scollay Square, Hanover and Brattle 
Streets, five stories in height, and embracing all the modern im- 
provements. There are steam heat, electric light, gas, safety pas- 
senger elevator, etc. On the first floor are the office, newstand, 
re.adiug-room and dining-room, the floors are tiled ; the office and 
other apartments are very handsomely furnished and decorated. 
On the second floor are the ladies' and gentlemen's parlors ele- 
gantly furnished. There are 200 rooms, single and double, all com- 
fortably and newly furnished throughout, and carefully looked 
after by a staff of servants. The house is conducted upon the 
European plan, and accommodations can be had at remarkably 
low rates for a Hrst-class hotel, viz: single rooms, from $1. per day 
upwards, and double ones fiom 82. to $1. per day. A staff ol 100 
hands are employed, and Messrs. Goodwin and Rimbach are noted 
ior the exercise of the highest order of ability, and for enforcing a 



to be regarded as nearly worthless, are now gathered up, assorted, 
and made of considerable commercial value. Nothing in the 
leather line nosv goes to waste. Among the numerous merchants 
in Boston who make the scrap leather business a specialty, is Mr. 
Alfred A. Clatur. He was one of the first to give it close attention. 
He started with a small cajiital in 1864, on Pearl Street, which was 
then the centre of the shoe and leather trade. From there lie re- 
moved to No. 100 Higli Street in order to secure more commodious 
quarters. He was burnt out in the great fire of 1872, but immedi- 
ately obtained temporary quarters, and kept his trade going 
without a break, meeting all his obligations promptly, and rapidly 
increasing his sales. He followed the extension of the leather 
trade southward, and removed to his present location. No. 317 
Summer Street, corner of South Street, July 1, 1879, where he occu- 
pies two spacious floors, besides filling one floor in building No. 90 
South Street. He carries a large and varied line of stock, includ- 
ing remnants of sole and upper leather, moulded stiffenings, 
inner soles, heels and|boot counters. Having a thorough knowl- 
edge of the business in all its detail, she knows what stock is re- 
quired to supply the demands of the trade, and being in a position 
to take advantage of the market, and to at all times discount 
ins bill, he is thus enabled to give his customers the benefit of 
me lowest current rates. Mr. clatur has always taken a deej> 
interest in [lolitical affairs. 



THE METROPOLIS OF NEW ENGLAND. 



103 



SCULL & BRADLEY, Fire and Marine Insurance, No. 85 Water 
Street.— Tlirmigliout tlie United .States, Boston is recognized 
as one of tlie principal centres of all business interests, and 
so important is this fact, that all the more prominent corpo- 
rations and companies are represented in this city by responsible 
and energetic agents. In insurance affairs this is equally noticea- . 
ble, and tlie leading companies both of the United States and Great 
Britain find it essentia! to maintain branches or agencies in this 
city. Prominent among our most reliable and widely known in- 
surance agents, is the lirm of Messrs. Scull & Bradley, whose well 
equipped offices arc centrally located at No. 85 Water Street. This 
business was established in 1868byG.E. Foster, who was succeeded 
by Foster & Cole, Foster & Scull and Scull & Bradley. The mem- 
bers of this copartnership, Messrs. Gideon Scull, Fred. Bradley and 
Geo. P. Field, are expert and prudent underwriters, fully con- 
versant witli every detail of fire and marine insurance and the re- 
quirements of property owners and merchants. They represent 
the following lirst-cl.ass companies, viz: The Insurance Company 
of North America, Philadelphia; Pennsylvania Fn-e Insurance Co., 
Philadelphia: American Fire Insurance Co., Philadelphia: Royal 
Insurance Company, Liverpool, England. Messrs. Scull & Bradley 
are prepared to take risks to any amount, .and write policies in any 
of the .above named companies at the lowest rates of premium, 
and losses on rislis placed by them have always been promptly 
adjusted and paid, and numbers of our prominent citizens tes- 
tify to the just and straightforward manner in which Messrs. 
Kcull A Bradley conduct all transactiims. Outside manuf.acturers, 
properly and ship owners will study their best interests bv insur- 
ing with til is agency, securing to tliem in every case the lowest rul- 
ing rates and entire security. The partners are popular members 
of the Underwriters' Association, and are liighly esteemed in busi- 
ness circles for their promptness and integrity. Mr. Bradley takes 
charge of the m.arine department, while Messrs. Scull and Field 
devote themselves to the fire branch. 

THE BLACKSTONE NATIONAL BANK OF BO.STON. .Joshua 
Loring, President ; James Adams, Casliier; No. 132 Hanover 
Street.— One of the representative financial institutions of 
Boston, which is contributing largely to tlie prosperity of 
the city and maintaining its reputation .at the highest standard 
throughout every section of the United States, is The Bl.ackstone 
N.atioiial Rank of Boston, whose banking rooms are located at No. 
132 Hanover Street, corner of Union. This successful bank was 
originally incorpor.ated in 1851. and eventually in 1864 became a 
national bank. It has a paid up capital of $l,f«),00n, which has 
been further augmented by a surplus of $190,000. The interests of 
the Blackstone N.ational Bank have always been intimately allied 
with the material progress and prosperity of Boston, and its policy 
lias ever been to promote, .as far as is consistent with its own safety, 
the well-being of the niannf.aeturing industries and commerce of 
tliecity. The following gentlemen are the officers and directors;— 
Joshua L(Ming, president; J.amesAd.ams. cashier. Directors:— Geo. 
■W.Chipnum, Eleazar Boynton, Joshua Loring, Wm. A. Rust, Eustace 
C. Fitz, Ebenezer N. Blake, John S. Piiine, J. Otis Wetherbee, John 
Edmunds and Geo. F. Blake. The bank tr,ansacts a general bank- 
ing, exchange and collection business, and receives u|)on favorable 
terms the .accounts of banks, bankers, merchants, corporations and 
individuals. Its management is thoroughly conservative, its busi- 
ness is riipidly growing, and it is one of the strongest financial or- 
giinizations in New England. The directors are men iutim.ately 
Identified with the best interests of the City of Boston, and whose 
n.ames are synonymous of integrity, prudence .and stability. Mr. 
Joshua Loring h.as been with the bank since its incorporation, as 
cashier till 1871, when he was elected president. He is a judicious, 
able financier, and a vigorous exponent of the soundest principles 
governing banking and finance. Mr. Adams, the cashier, has held 
office since 1875. He is an experienced and capable bank officer, 
with every qualification for his important position. The deposits 
of the Blackstone National Bank now amount to $3,300,000 and its 
future prospects are of the most favorable and encouraging char- 
acter. 



T 



HE HANCOCK 1NSPIR.\.T0R COMPANY, Manufacturers of 
Inspirators, Ejectors, and general Jet Apparatus, Office, No. 33 
India Wharf, foot of Atlantic Avenue.— This representative 



company was duly incorporated under the laws of Massachu- 
setts in 1878 with a paid up capital of $50,000, and since its or- 
ganization at that date h.as built up an extensive and permanent 
patron.age not only in all sections of the United States andC.an.ada, 
but also in Europe. The works of the company which are fully 
equipped with all the hitest improved tools and machinery, and 
furnish constant employment to 120 skilled workmen, are situated 
on Watson Street. The Hancock Inspir.ator Company make a 
specialty of the mauulivcture of the famous Hancock inspirator, 
the Hancock ejector or lifter and all kinds of general jet appa- 
ratus. The Hancock inspirator is the best aiipliance known for 
feeding all kinds of boilers, on account of its simplicity of opera- 
tion, the great range of its duties, and the fact tli.at all the steam 
used in operating it is returned to the boiler, there being no loss, 
excepting by radiation, from the pipes u.sed in connecting. It lias 
one set of tubes for lifting, and another set of tubes for forcing, 
water— a combination entirely new reliable and efficient. Water 
can be delivered at a high or low temperature, as may be desired. 
E.ach inspirator is carefully tested before leaving the factory, and 
is guaranteed to perform all that is claimed for it. The Hancock 
ejector or lifter is liighly recommended for use in raising water, 
either for filling or emptying tanks, for pumping out wheel pits, or 
for raising and transferring liquids, hot or cold, in tanneries, dye 
houses, etc.; also for filling railroad tanks, and locomotive tenders. 
To be perin.anently attached by the side of the road, in the vicinity 
of water supply, whether well, brook or pond : or to be attached to 
tender or engine as in:vy be most convenient, taking steam from 
the locomotive boiler to operate the ejector in either case. The 
company has already sold 160,000 inspirators and great num- 
bers of ejectors. Numerous testimonials from the leading rail- 
road companies, not only of the United St.ates but also of Europe, 
bear undoubted testimony to their efficacy, reliability and superi- 
ority over all competitors. These splendid inspiiatirs and ejectors 
were invented by Mr John T. Hancock, who died in 1883. The 
company's principiil agents in America are Fairbanks & Co., of 
New York, Boston, Chicago, Cincinnati, St. Louis, San Francisco, 
etc. Messrs. John G. Kollius & Co., of Loudon. England, are the 
agents for supplyuig Great Britain and other European countries. 

STANDARD CORDAGE COMPANY, Manufacturers of Cordage 
and Binders' Twine : Silas Potter, President; Chas. H. Pear- 
son, Treasurer and General Manager; Office: No. 127 State 
Street.— The extent and importance which the manufacture 
of cord.age of all kinds, ;iiid binders' twine has attained in the 
United States, within comparatively recent years, can scarcely be 
over-estimated. The large amount of capital invested, the wide 
sphere covered by its operations and the great number of opera- 
tives to wiiom it aftords employment, all impart to this great 
branch of industry a special interest and imiiortance. Prominent 
among the leading houses actively engaged in this growing trade 
in Boston, is that known as the Standard Cordage Company, whose 
office is situated at No. 127 State Street. This company w as incor- 
porated under the laws of Massachusetts in 1884 and has a paid up 
capital of $150,000, and since its organization has built up a libei-al 
and permanent patromage, which now extends throughout the en- 
tire United States, Canada and South America. The chief execu- 
tive officers of the company are Mr. Silas Potter, president, and 
Mr. Chas. H. Pearson, treiisurer and general manager. The Stand- 
ard Cord.age Company manufactures extensively cordage and 
binders' twine, maiiilla and sisal goods, which are unrivalled for 
quality, finish, strength .and general excellence. The company's 
Lactory which is fully equipped with modern appliances and ma- 
chinery and furnishes constant employment to 150 operatives, is 
situated in Camden Street. The output of the f.actory is about 
twenty tons daily of cordage and twine. Messrs. Potter and 
Pearson, the officers, are highly regarded in trade circles for their 
sound business principles, enterprise and integrity. Mr. Silas 
Potter was previously president of the Boston Cordage Company. 
He Is a director of the Shawmut National Bank and of the Mer- 
chandise National Bank, and Is one of Boston's progressive and 
public spirited citizens. Mr. C. H. Pearson has h.ad twenty-six 
years' experience in the manufacture of cordage and twine, and is 
as widely known for his .ability and sterling integrity as for the 
just and prompt manner in which he attends to the interests of 
patrons in all sections of the country. 



104 



ILLUSTRATED BOSTON. 



BAXTER, STONER & SCHENKELBERGER, Manufacturers of 
Cut Soles & Taps, Nos. 70-7) Lincoln Street.— The leather 
trade with its numerous tributary brandies constitues a 
feature of colossal proportions and coninianUiui; importance 
in the commercial activity of this city, and one of the principal 
branches of this industry is that so ably represented by Messrs. 
Baxter, Stoner & SchenUelberger, manufacturers of cut soles and 
taps, at Nos. 70-74 Lincoln street. Owing to the Increase of im- 
proved machinery and the general tendency toward specialties, 
many shoe manufacturers have been compelled to confine them- 
selves to the production ol certain lines of goods; in this way only 
requiring the soles suitable for each grade, and. in place of buying 
their leather in sides, as formerly, they go direct to the sole-cutter 
who supplies them with just the grade of sole they require In their 
special line of goods. The custom shoemakers and repairers aie 
now, almost without exception, buying soles and taps instead of 
side leather. The advantages of buying the bottom stock cut, in- 
stead of buying the leather in the side are manifest. The business 
has been brought to such a degree of perfection that the manufac- 
turer can buy any desired quality and thickness; he knows just 
exactly what his soles cost, which knowledge he is unable to ob- 
tain accurately by cutting his own .stock. He is relieved of the 
necessity of being constantly on the lookout for desirable and 
suitable leather to cut. for reliable men to cut it, for men to over- 
see that it is cut properly, without waste and loss. He avoids ac- 
cumulating grades that he cannot use to good advantage, and 
which must be worked in where best they can be, at a loss, of 
course. When the manufacturer cuts his own leather he cannot 
get the uniformity in his soles that the sole cutter can give him. 
The sole cutter has a market for all his soles, and by being 
able to place all his grades where they will bring what they are 
worth, he is enabled to sell his soles as low and often lower 
than tlie manufacturer can cut them. Baxter, Stoner & Schenkel- 
berger are thoroughly practical and experienced in the cut sole 
business. Their policy has been to make the best, and they 
are winning in this line. They occupy a fine seven-story building, 
fully equipped with new and improved machinery and give steady 
employment to upwards of fifty skilled and experienced workmen. 
The genei-al arrangement is systematic and convenient, and every 
facility is afforded for the advantageous prosecution of the busi- 
ness. They have Just made arrangements with the tanner of the 
celebrated Camden Hemlock sole leather, whereby they are hence- 
forth the only sole cutters in the United States who cut this leather. 
Made from a straight Texas packer hide, thoroughly tanned and 
solid, it is to-day the best leather for taps In the country. Cutting 
as they do, only one tannage of hemlock leather, the firm is able to 
give a, uniformity of stock, quality and assortment that no other 
cutter can give. They follow this principle in Union and Oak 
leather also, cutting in the former the firm and solid West Branch 
backs, and in the latter the celebrated Cover— pure Virginia 0;ik. 
Their specialties are in heavy and steadily increasing demand 
throughout the United States. Always at the head, and offering 
superior inducements in quality, it is no wonder that the produc- 
tions of this house have a standard value in every market into 
which they have been introduced, and they bid fair to retain the 
position they have achieved at the head of the cut sole trade of this 
country. 

MC. WARKEN & CO.. Jobbers and Retailers of Hardware 
and Building Materials, No. 9 Dock Square.— An oldes- 
j tablished and well-known hardware house is that of M. 
C.Warren & Co., located at No. 9 Dock Square. For 
more than a century Dock Square has been a recognized centre of 
the hardsvare trade in Boston, and though.few of the present day 
will recall the names of those engaged in the business in the 
earlier part of this century, there are probably many who will re- 
member those of John Bradford, Charles Brooks & Co., West & 
Parkman, Thomas P. Barne.'s, Otis Vinal and A. J. Wilkinson, who 
were located there some fifty years ago, and several of whom con- 
tinued for many years after, but there are none now remaining 
except the one who is the subject of this sketch. This lirni was 
W.1S established April 14, 1841, by the present senior member, in 
the same building as that now occupied, and was conducted by 
him with but few changes until 1871. when his son, William H. 
Warren, and Messrs. John R. Norton and Engene B.Stoddard were 



admitted to partnership under the firm name of M. C. Warren dc 

Co. Messrs. Norton and Stoddard retired in 188.3, and the business 
has since been conducted by the father and son under the same 
title. It is now, and has always been considered one of the most- 
responsible firms devoted to this line of business in the city, and 
receives a large patronage, not only from residents of Boston and 
the surrounding cities and towns, but from various parts of the 
New England States, many goods being shipped to Maine, New 
Hampshire anil Vermont, and there are at times shipments made 
to some of the more remote states in the Union, both in the south 
and west; and even to some of the far away countries of the 
earth, as orders from Burinah and China will testify. The busi- 
ness premises occupy four 20x60 feet floors, and a complete stock 
of goods are constantly on hand, and a force of salesmen em- 
ployed sutticient to meet the requirements of the trade, it being a 
cardinal principle of this house that its patrons slinnld be well- 
served, and with as little delay as possible. The stock on hand 
comprises a full assortment of the latest styles and best grades ot 
builders' hardware and carpenters' tools, to which the business, 
which is both wholesale and I'etail, is almost exclusively devoted. 
There are,liowever, many other articles in general use,sucli;is table 
and pocket cutlery, scissors, razors, butcliers'tiiols, shovels, spades, 
rakes, etc., together with an almost innumerable variety ot other 
goods, selected with care to meet the wants of the mechanic, the 
farmer or the family. The Messrs. Warren & Co. have always been 
strictly honorable and just in all their dealing.s. 

PINOPALMINE COMPANY. Geo. C. Stewart, Manager; No. 
130 Commercial Street.— One of the greatest improvements 
and valuable aids to health, adding to our comfort and pro- 
moting nature's sweet restorer— balmy sleep, that has been 
brought to the notice of the public during the past few years is 
the pine needle bedding or piuo-palmiiie, whicli is without excep- 
tion, the driest, purest and most healthful bedding material in the 
world and is endorsed and recommended by the medical faculty in 
all parts of the country. Pino-palmine Bedding is made from the 
leaves of the Florida pine tree, called the Fox-tail Pine, from its 
bushy appearance while on the stock. These leaves are about 
fourteen inches in length, of a peculiar odor, strong, but not rank, 
and agreeable to every one. They occupy a high place in materia 
medica. From them come the balsams, turpentines, tars, frankin- 
cense and, in general, the oleo resins in medicines. They act as a 
tonic and diuretic, checking disease of the mucous inembriine, etc. 
Its beneficial influence depends on its stimulant and diaphoretic 
operation, especially in old or debiltated persons. The great merit 
of this filling for mattresses, pillows and comforts is its toughness, 
dryness and el.asticity ot its fibers together with its delightful 
fragrant, pleasant aromatic odor. The medical properties of the 
pine and its balsams are clearly defined in the United States Dis- 
pensatory, the highest standard authority, on Materia Medica as 
valuable remedies in asthma, bronchitis, catarrh, hay fever, nerv- 
ousness, insomnia, neuraliga, rheumatism and other diseases. 
Pino-Palmine was first introduced by Mr. George C. Stewart who 
was an invalid with rheumatism for a long time, and derived such 
benefits from sleeping on this material, that he caused several 
beds to be made for his friends, and in 1879 he mamifaetured about 
thirty mattresses, and such were the remarkable results and 
benefit derived by those who were using them, that in 1886 he de- 
termined to place the Pino-Palmine before the public. The prem- 
ises of the company consist of two floors, each 25x125 feet in ex- 
tent, which are convenient and capacious. Two assistants are 
employed, and a business extending to .all parts of the United 
States is carried on. The following experiment made by Dr. H. L. 
Bowker, May 12tli, 1881, speaks for itself. Gentlemen :— At your 
request I made a series of experiments with various articles ol 
bedding, with a view to test their merits .as to dryness, and the 
amount ot moisture they will retain. 100 grains of best quality 
of curled hair, feathers, excelsior and Pino-Palmine were selected 
and thoroughly dried, and immersed in water for fifteen minutes, 
after which they were pressed so as tp remove all the water 
except what had been absorbed or adhered to the surface, with 
the following result:— 100 grains of excelsior retained 246 per 
cent, of moisture. 100 grains of feathers retained i21 per cent, of 
moisture. 100 grains of hair retained 107 per cent, of moisture. 
100 grains of Pino-Palnilne retained 65 per cent, of moisture. 



THE METROPOLIS OF NEW ENGLAND. 



105 



REVERE nOTJSE, Bowdoin Square ; J. F. Merrow & Co., Pro- 
prietiirs.— There is nothing wliicli adds so much to tlie 
prestige of a city, .is first-class liotel accommodations, and 
in this respect Boston stands pre-eminent. One of tlie lead- 
ing and most successful hotels on the European plan in the cit.v is 
V,\.: favorite Revere House, eligibly Ijcated on Bowdoin Square, 
and of which Messrs. J. F. Merrow & Co. are the popular and en- 
ergetic proprietors. This noted liotel was first opened to the pub- 
lic in 1S47 by Paran Stevens, who was the originator of our present 
American first-class liotel system. In 1H84 tlie Revere House was 
ijoroughly renovated, refurnished and remodeiied, when Mr. J. F. 
Jl.'rrow assumed the management. He has introduced all modern 
improvements including, safety passenger elevator, electric lights, 
electric bells, steam heat, hot and cold water on every floor. Then 
tlie Revere while conducted strictly on tlie l':iiin|ican plan, nuw sm 



The night clerk is Mr. E. W. Hall, and the cashier, Mr. W. D. Mer- 
row. AH tiiese gentlemen are experienced and are noted tor tlieir 
obliging and courteous manners. Mr. J. F. Merrow, the proprietor 
was born in New Hampsliire. He is thorouglily conversant with 
the management of first-class hotels, and has made hosts oi friends 
owing to his promptness, business ability and integrity. Tiie 
Revere House lias been rejuvenated under Ids careful manage- 
ment, and is now always full, at all seasons of the year. 



c 



G. DOLE, Mutton, Lamb, Veal, Etc., Stall No. 19 New 

Faneuil Hall Market.— Among those dealers who have 

I attained prominence and popularity in the meat and pr(> 

vision trade of Boston is Mr. C. G. Dole, wlio occu- 

Stall No. Ill, in the New Faneuil Hall Market. This 

I'lnaii has been established in tlie business here since 




generally prefeaifd \>\ Un- Iruvclliug public, lias the finest restau- 
ant considering price and quality to be found in Boston. Its cuis- 
ine is renowned and no pains or expense are ever spared to make 
it a leading feature of comforts and excellence. The hotel is 
finely built and is attractive in appearance both inwardly and out- 
wardly. It contains 200 rooms available for guests, graduated in 
price according to location and size from $1.00 per day and up- 
wards. There are al.so a number of suites, varying from $.'>.00 per 
day, etc. All the rooms are commodious, handsomely furnished 
and elegant in all their appointments, fixtures and upholstery, 
while the halls and corridors are spacious and beautifully tiled. 
The ladies' and gentlemen's parlors and reception rooms are 
richly furnished, and the offices are fitted up in a convenient and 
attractive style. The sanitary arrangements are perfect in every 
detail .and the means of escape in case of fire, ample. In the 
office is one of the new improved Howard electric clocks, which 
compels the night-watchman to make rounds at stated intervals, 
and pass every point in the house. In the yard enclosed by the 
house is a handsome fountain constantly playing. The bar is su])- 
plied with the finest wines, liquors and cigars, which are obtained 
direct from the most reliable houses. We would observe that the 
parlors of the Revere are far more spacious than those of any 
other American hotel, while the accommodation for dinner parties 
is absolutely unsurpassed. Tlie day clerks are Messrs. O. H. 
Thornton and C. M. (ireen for many years connected with the Tre- 
mont House and two of the best hotel clerks in the United States. 



October. ISij.j, and li.is ouill up a large and influential trade 
as a wholesale .<nd retail dealer in mutton, lamb, veal, 
etc. He commands all the .advantages naturally accumulated by 
long years of identification with a special line of trade, and pos- 
sesses the best possible facilities for conducting all operations 
under the most favorable auspices. He exercises the greatestcare 
in the selection of his stock and in preparing it for the market 
which justifies him in claiming to offer the trade and consumers 
a line of meat products that cannot be excelled ror quality, relia- 
bility and excellence. He is prep.ared to supply hotels, restaur- 
ants, families and large buyers with meats in quantities to suit 
with the utmost promptness and at prices which are safe from suc- 
cessful competition. Having always been earnest and unremit- 
ting in his endeavors to meet every demand of his customers in a 
prompt and satisfactory manner, he has developed a patronage of 
great .and gratifying proportions, which is in itself the best possi- 
ble iiroof of the superiority of the goods he offers, and of the hon- 
orable and straightforward metliods that have ever characterized 
his dealings. Hi» trade extends to all parts of the city and to the 
surrounding towns, and is annually increasing in volume and 
v.alne under enterprising, reliable and painstaking management, 
Mr. Dole is a native of Acton. Mass, and well and favorably known 
in the social and business circles of this city for his strict probity 
and integrity, his liberal and obliging methods of dealing, and his 
business tact and ability, all of which his customers derive the 
benefit of in their dealings with hiin. 



106 



ILLUSTRATED BOSTON, 



FOBES, HAYWARD «Si CO., (Incoipoiated) Manufacturing Con- 
fectioners, A. F. Hay ward, President ; Nos. 42 to 52 Cliardon 
Street.— Americans, especially the rising generation, are 
probably tlie largest consumers of candy and confectionery 
in the world, and the productions of our manufacturers of these 
delicious luxuries can now compete favorably with those of France, 
which country for a very long period has been considered the 
most successful in tliis particular line. One of the most promi- 
nent and representative houses, extensively engaged in the manu- 
facture of confectionery of all kinds in New England, is that of 
l'"obes, Hayward & Clo. (incorporated), whose office, factory and 
salesrooms are located in Boston at Nos. 42 to .52 Chardon Street. 
This business was established in 1848. In 1860 Messrs. Fobes. 
Hayward & Co., succeeded to the management. Eventually in 
1886 it was duly incorporated under the laws of Massachusetts, 
with a paid up capital of $150,000. Tlie following gentlemen being 
the officers viz.: A. F. Hayward, president; E. F. Fobes, vice 
president; F. H. Woodward, secretary. The premises occupied 
comprise a spacious sixstory and basement building 120x120 feet 
in dimensions. The manufacturing departments are fitted up 
witli the latest improved machinery, apparatus and appliances 
necessary for the systematic conduct of this extensive industiy. 
Here 200 operatives are employed, and the machinery is driven by 
a superior 80 horse power steam engine. Purity is the main essen- 
tial with these goods, and to-day the difficulty to obtain candies 
and confectionery devoid of adulteration and deleterious sub- 
stances is so great, tliat the advantage of dealing with a house like 
that of Fobes, Hayward & Co., whose reputation is so high for mak- 
ing none but the purest and best goods, is at once manifest. All 
their productions are warranted to be exactly as represented, and 
the creditable position that their goods have in tlie market, is due 
to the determination of the officers to always maintain their stand- 
ard. The company manufactures in large quantities plain and 
decorated creams, marshmallows, plain and fine chocolate creams, 
mixed candy of all kinds, vanilla chocolate, cream almonds, mac- 
earoons, etc., which are unexcelled in this country or Europe for 
quality, purity and uniform excellence. All orders are promptly 
and carefully flllcil ut tlie lowest possible prices, and the trade of the 
iiouse whicli is steadily increasing, now extends throughout all 
sections of the United States and Canada. The officers are 
thoroughly able and lionorable business men. Retailers and job- 
bers will find it greatly to their interests to make a factor of tliis 
responsible house, and will obtain such advantages here, as will 
fully sustain all that has been stated in this editorial article. 

GOLDSMITH, SILVER & CO., formerly the Mass. Co-opera- 
tive Association, Manufactureis of Cigars, No. 108 State 
Street.— Among the various industries represented in the 
City of Boston, few deserve more attention than that of 
tlie manufacture and handling of cigars. This business involves 
the investment of a large amount of capital and gives employ- 
ment to hundreds of operatives. A thoroughly enterprising and 
l)rogressive house engaged in this industry is that of Messrs. tjold- 
sinith. Silver & Co., whose office and factory are located at No. 108 
State Street. The gentlemen comprising the firm are Mr. I. N. 
Goldsmith, Mr. S. C. Silver, Mr. Henry Mack and Mr. H. Van Ulm, 
all of whom were formerly connected either as officers or members 
of the cigar manufacturing house known under the title of the 
Massachusetts Co-operative Association; who entered into this 
present copartnership on January 1st, 1889, under the existing 
Arm name, and, although of such recent organization they have 
acquired already a very large and increasing patronage, such as is 
not often accorded to much older houses in this line of business. 
The business premises comprise three floors, each 25x60 feet in di- 
mensions, which are fully equipped with all conveniences and em- 
ployment is given to from thirty-five to forty skilled operatives. 
Competition in the cigar trade is very keen, but tills firm owirg to 
the evident superiority and standard quality of their productions 
have had no difficulty thus far in convincing their trade, wliich ex- 
tends throughout New England, that their goods are honestly 
made from the purest materials. It is the aim of this concern to 
make a thoroughly good cigar, well worthy the attention of con- 
nisseurs and experts and to maintain their brands at a high and 
uniform standard of excellence. That they are successful in this 
laudable endeavor is evidenced by the extensive demand created 



for their cigars wherever they are introduced, which is the best 
possible assurance of tlie continued success and permanent pros- 
perity of this house. They make a leading specialty of their famous 
brands M. C. A., a ten-cent, and 108 a five-cent cigar, which have 
quickly become among tlie most popular cigars in tills market, 
and are handled by the best dealers and retailers throughout 
New England and eagerly sought for by experts and good Judges 
of fine tobacco. Dealers and large buyers requiring a high grade 
of cigars at moderate prices should give their orders to this relia- 
ble house, which is prepared to offer inducements and advantages 
not easily obtained elsewhere. The members of the firm have had 
a wide range of experience in this line of trade, and devote their 
entire attention to their business. They are well and favorably 
known in tlie commercial and trade circles of this city and vicin- 
ity and are thoroughly identified with every interest effecting the 
city's welfare and prosperity. 

JOHN KENT, New England Agent of The A. French Spring Co., 
Limited, and Carnegie, Phipps & Co., Limited, Nos. 52 Mason 
Building, No. 70 Kilby Street.— Prominent among the import- 
ant manufacturing enterprises of the country represented 
in this city are those under tlie management of Mr. John Kent, 
whose office is located at Room 52, Mason Building, No. 70 Kilby 
Street. This gentleman is the New England agent of Carnegie, 
Phipps & Co., manufacturers of steel plates, merchant iron and 
forgings, of Pittsburgh, Pa.; the A. French Spring Co., limited, 
manufacturers of springs of all kinds, of Pittsburgh, Pa.; and 
has been established in the business here since 1882, and enjoys 
a large wholesale trade throughout New England. His connec- 
tion with the above powerful corporations and prominent manu- 
facturers enables him to conduct all branches of the business 
upon the largest scale. He ships direct from the manufactories 
to his customers in all cases, iuid is in a position to guarantee 
the prompt and perfect fulfillment of all orders, of whatever 
magnitude ; and also to offer inducements to the trade as regards 
both superiority of goods and liberality of terms and prices, wliich 
challenge comparison and defy successful competition. Control- 
ling the entire trade of these mammoth manufactories in New 
England. Mr. Kent is prepared to battle on even terms with Ills 
most formidable contemporaries from any part of the country, and 
is transacting an immense and constantly increasing business. 
The great resourcesat his command endow liiin not only with ad- 
vantages for the successful prosecution of the trade, but also insure 
to the benefit of all his patrons, rendering business relations once 
entered into with this agency not only pleasant for the time being, 
but of a character to become lasting and permanent. Mr. Kent lias 
been identified witli the iron business for many years, has a foun- 
dation understanding of all Hie details and requirements of the 
trade, and is eminently popular and successful in meeting all its 
demands. 

THE HOWARD NATIONAL BANK OF BOSTON, R. E. Dem- 
mon. President; S. F. Wilkins, Cashier; No. 19 Congress 
Street.— The Howard National Bank of Boston is the suc- 
cessor of the Howard Banking Co., which was incorporated 
In 1853 with a capital of $500,000. In 1858 the name was changed 
to the Howard Bank, and under that style the institution contin- 
ued until January, 1865, when having re-organized under the 
national banking law it assumed the present title. In March, 1865, 
the capital was increased to $750,000, and in October, 1869, it was 
further increased to $1,000,000. The bank has been located since 
January 1, 1879, at No. 19 Congress Street, occupying tlie first floor 
of the Howard Bank Building. Its total dividends as a National 
Bank have been $1,.590,000 and its present surplus fund is $177,000 
besides other profits of $47,000. The Howard has among its deposi- 
tors many of the best firms and corporations in the city and has 
also a large number of bank and mercantile correspondents. The 
president is R. E. Deinnion and tlie cashier is Samuel F. Wilkins. 
The directors are A. B. Butterfield, John W. Candler, Samuel B. 
Capen, R. E. Demnion, Francis Flint, J. M. W. Hall, A. P. Matin, 
N.W Rice, and Samuel F. Wilkins. Among the principal Ameri- 
can correspondents of the bank can be named the Importers' and 
Traders' National Bank, of New York; Mercantile National Bank, 
of New York ; National Bank of Commerce, New York, and the 
Corn Exehiinge Bank, of Chicago. 



THE METROPOLIS OF NEW ENGLAND. 



107 



WHITTEN, BURDETT & YOUNG, iManufactureis and Job- 
bers of Men's and Boys' Clothing, Nos. 3 Wintlioip 
Square and 36 Otis Street.— Boston's supremacy in tlie 
wholesale clothing trade is assured by the possession 
of such an eminent and enterprising house as that of Messrs. 
Whitten, Burdett & Young, whose sound judgment, marked execu- 
tive capacity and perfected facilities have secured for the line 
clothing of Iheir manufacture the national reputation of being 
fully the equal of custom made in every respect. The immense 
industry centred in the magniflcent modern structure, corner 
Winlhorp Square and Otis Street, was established upwards of fifty 
years ago by Messrs John Gove & Co. ; in 1858 Mr. Chas V. Whitten 
entered the house, organizing the firm of Whitten, Hopkins & Co., 
and who thus continued up to 1862, when he and Mr. Horatio S. 
Burdett formed a copartnership under the name and style of 
Whitten, Burdett & Co In Ih62 Mi Amos S. Young came into the 
firm under the now longtiinilni tide of M ssrs. Whitten, Burdett 
Ai Young. As till bnsin in 1 i I I paitiTii'iils increased in 



and made up in the most thorough manner by experienced work- 
men, of whom the firm employ no less than 2,700, thus bringing 
their industrial army up to the round nnniber of 3.000— the equal 
of three big regiments— all busy in producing the clothing that is 
first sought for by shrewd and careful b\iyers in Boston and all 
over New England and the west. The business lias attained pro- 
portions of enormous magnitude growing up on the sound basis of 
the best clothing of every grade, at the lowest prices commensur- 
ate with honest workmanship. The firm's policy is synonymous 
with integrity, and the popular demand for its clothing became so 
urgent that to meet it the concern opened large retail stores in 
such great cities as Worcester, Mass. ; Providence, R. I. ; Hart- 
ford, New Haven and Bridgeport, Conn., and in Minneapolis, 
Minn. Each one has been a pronounced success and as a further 
instance of their enterprise, we may state wliat is already so 
familiar to tlie Boston public, the opening in December, 1888, of 
their magnificent and mammouth clothing store in the prominent 
new building, conuT of Wasliington and Kneeland Streets. It is 




FACTORY AND 

WHOLESALE STORE, 

NO. 3 WINTHROP SQUARE. 

m.agnitude two other partners were admitted, viz: Mr. Jules M. 
Burns in 1881, and Mr. James Rankin in 1886. As thus constituted 
this house has no equal for every qualification insuring eftlciency 
and success and their concern is the recognized, largest and the 
model establishment of the kind in Boston, and one from which 
the leaders of the New York clothing trade can secure valued sug- 
gestions. From the start Messrs. Whitten, Burdett and tlieir col- 
leagues were animated with the laudable ambition to excel— to lift 
the wholesale manufacture of fine clothing from the rut into 
which it had fallen, and their efforts were from the start crowned 
with a legitimate and lasting success, their enlightened policy prac- 
tically revolutionizing the trade and securing for their goods the 
eager demand of the most celebrated retail clothiers and jobbers 
of Boston and the country at large. The firm make the finest cloth- 
ing put on the market— in every respect the equal of custom work. 
The firm occupy five immense floors, splendidly lighted, and most 
handsomely and conveniently fitted up, all the modern iinjirove- 
ments being at command. The premises are 80x140 feet in dimen- 
sions, which figures give a faint idea of the immense area of floor 
space here utilized. A thorough system of organization is 
enforced and 300 salesmen, cutters, clerks, examiners, porters, etc. 
are here busily engaged in the work of preparing the cloths and 
woolens for the cutters, (who include the best talent) and the 
reception of the made up clothing and suitable disposition, pack- 
ing, shipping, etc. Messrs. Whitten, Burdett & Young exercise 
sound judgment and the greatest enterprise in the selection of 
their woolens and suitings, bringing ample resources to bear and 
being the first to secure all the newest shades, p,atterns and tex- 
tures in American and foreign fabrics; their styles are ever the 
leaders, correct, fashionable and elegant. Their cutters, as before 
remarked, are all trained experts from fine custom shops; all 
goods are critically examined and the slightest imperfection or 
blemish condemns the piece of material. All goods are duly sponged 




RETAIL STORE, 

COMMONWEALTH CLOTHING HOUSE, 

COR. WASHINGTON AND KNEELAND STREETS. 

admittedly the finest clothing store in Massachusetts, and is 80x 
165 feet in size and is fitted up as only the accurate taste, ripe 
experience and ample resoinces of this eminent house could dic- 
tate. There are displayed in profusion, every possible form and 
style of garment worn by man or boy in season, all of the firm's 
perfection of manufacture, and quoted at prices, which quality 
considered, cannot possibly be duplicated elsewhere. The sales 
have far more than met the most sagiiine anticipations of the firm 
and their store has at once taken rank as the leading representative 
in Boston. Mr. Charles V. Whitten was born in Maine. Early in 
life he came to Boston and has ever been prominently identified 
with the wholesale clothing trade. The remarkable progress man- 
ifest is very largely due to his skill .and enterprise. He saw the 
need of progress and so did Messrs. Burdett and Young, and these 
three gentlemen are veritable public benefactors in their line. 
Mr. Burdett was born in Massachusetts, and Mr. Young in New 
Hampshire, thus they represent the three principal New England 
States. Mr. Whitten is a public spirited citizen and has been and 
is active in public life, h.as as chairman of the Boston Board of 
Aldermen, most ably and creditably presided over the delibera- 
tions of that body and doing much to secure to the city an efllcient 
and economical administration. He is a director of the Mechanics' 
National Bank, while Mr. Bnrdett is a director of the Lincoln and 
Exchange National Banks, both gentlemen being vigorous expon- 
ents of the soundest principles governing banking and finance. 
Mr. Burns is a native of New Hampshire, and Mr. Rankin of Maine ; 
both are v.alued factors in guiding the immense business of this 
famous old house, wliose wise guidance is so noteworthy, whose 
f.acilities are unequalled, connections the most influential and 
which has brought such a lasting source of credit and value to 
Boston and an enduring monument to the industry and enterprise 
of the copartners. 



108 



ILLUSTRATED BOSTON. 



KANSAS INVESTMENT COMPANY, Topeka. Kansas, East- 
ern Office: No. 101 Devonhsire Street, George C. Morrell, 
Vice President and Manager.— The rapid growth ot the 
fertile west in population, wealth and material improve- 
ments of every kind, would have been greatly retarded without 
the tree borrowing of eastern capital by the sturdy farmers and 
stock raisers, who have turned the bleak prairies into waving 
wheat fields and productive cattle ranges. In this connection 
special reference is made in tliis commercial review of Boston, to 
the reliable and successful Kansas Investment Company ot To- 
peka. The company's home ollice Is at No. 535 Kansas Avenue, 
Topeka, Kansas. This company was duly incorporated under the 
laws of Kansas, in 1883, with a paid up capital of $500,000, and 
since its organization at that date has built up an extensive and 
liber<al patronage. The comp.any's business is cunlined exclusively 
to the negotiation of first mortgages and debenture bonds to sav- 
ings banks, insurance and trust companies, trust estates and indi- 
vidual capitalists. The company employs ten expert examiners 
six of whom are stockholders and two directors in tlie company. 
Tliese examiners are paid a salary, and have no interest except to 
protect the company. Every property on which a loan is made is 
carefully inspected by one of these examiners before the loan is 
granted. The western managers and examiners liave had a suc- 
cessful experience of from ten to fifteen years in this line of work, 
and not a dollar has been lost of the millions that have passed 
through their hands. The fact that the company has a Boston of- 
fice should not mislead any one. The company is a|Kansas insti- 
tution ; its western managers and officers are Kansas men, on the 
ground, to give personal attention to the important work of mak- 
ing loans— the work that is the key to the safety of the whole busi- 
ness. The directors of the company, east and west, are among 
the heaviest stockholders, and have a deep interest in tlie success 
and prosperity of tlie company. The company urges all interested 
parties to examine minutely into its methods, its personnel and its 
general status. Tt begs careful inquiry of competent judges, and 
has no doubt or fear as to what the answer will be. The following 
gentlemen, who are highly regarded in financial and busine.ss cir- 
cles for their executive ability, prudence and just methods are the 
officers. H. E. Ball, president ; Geo. C. Morrell, vice jiresident -, B. 
R. Wheeler, secretary; P. T. Bartlett, assistant secretary; S. L. 
Leavitt, manager city dept. ; G. J. Wilmot, general examiner ; 
Jones & Mason, counsel ; Byron Roberts, Rankin Mason, auditors ; 
O. S. Bowman, cashier; J. P. Goggiu. assistant cashier; Boston 
Safe Deposit and Trust Company, trustee. Directors: Wm. Lloyd 
Garrison, Boston, Mass.; Hon. Joshua G. Hall, Dover, N. H., ex- 
meinber of Congress, director Dover National Bank; Lewis W. 
Anthony, Providence, K, I. ; Greene, Anthony & Co., wholesale 
dealers in boots and shoes, director Traders' National Bank ; Isaac 
J. Carr, Gardiner, Me., president Gardiner National Bank ; Edwin 
A. Smith, Providence, R. I., cashier City National Bank; W. H. 
Winants, Kansas City, Mo., cashier Armour Bros., Banking Com- 
pany ; Hon. N. C. McFarland, Topeka, Kansas, ex-commissioner 
General Land Office; William Sims, Topeka, Kansas, president 
State Board of Agriculture, vice president First National Bank ; 
Dr. Keid Alexander, general surgeon, Chicago, Kansas and Ne- 
braska Railway; Herbert E. Ball, president, Topeka, Kansas; 
George C. Morrell, vice president, Boston, M.ass. ; Bennett R. 
Wheeler, secretary, Topeka, Kansas; Sylv.anus L. Leavitt, man- 
ager city department, Topeka, Kansas, director Kansas National 
Bank ; G. J. Wilmot, general examiner, Kansas City, Mo., manager 
Kansas City Office; Byron Roberts, auditor, Topeka. Kansas, 
treasurer Shawnee County, Kansas; Rankin Mason, auditor, To- 
peka, Kansas, Jones & Mason, attorneys at law; B. M. Davies, To- 
peka, Kansas, vice president Bank of Topeka; Hon. Albert H. 
Horton, Topeka. Kansas, Chief Justice Supreme Court; Hon 
Samuel T. Howe, Topeka, Kansas, president Kansas National 
Bank, ex-treasurer State of Kansas. The following statement .at 
the close of business October 31st, 1888, shows the company's affairs 
to be in a most substantial afld nourishing condition: Resources; 
Loans secured by mortgage on real estate. $1,591,995.91 ; remittances 
for interest within sixty days, $2,481.69; other past-due interest re- 
mitted for but not paid us, $1,706.95 ; cash on hand and in bank, $221,- 
813.69; special trust fund mortgage loans, $7,361.30; total, $1,825,359.- 
M. Liabilities: Capital stock paid in. $500,000.00; surplus fund, 
SliHi.OOO.OO; undivided earnings. $27,723.03; debenture bonds out- 



standing, $1,009,800.00; trust savings deposits, $6,040.00; trust fund 
interest .account, $1,472.26; certihcates of deposit bearing inleiest, 
$43,451.20 ; other deposits and funds awaiting investment, »136,b72.55 ; 
total, 51,825,359.54. The company employ no commission men, 
make no loans on personal property, or second moiigages— busi- 
ness confined to the exclusive loaning of money on first mort- 
gages of real estate. Deposits may be made to the credit of the 
Kansas Investment Company, witli any of the following banks: 
National Bank of Redemption, Boston. Mass.: Bank of Topeka, 
Topeka, K.ansas; Ninth NatioualBank,New York City; Amoskeag 
National Bank, Manchester, N. H.; Kansas National Bank, 
Topeka. Kansas; The British Linen Company Bank, Edinburgh, 
Scotland, and London, England; Boston Safe Deposit & Trust 
Company, Boston, M.ass. ; Central National Bank, Topeka, Kans.as; 
Armour Bros., Banking Company, Kansas City, Mo.; Gardiner 
National Bank, Gardiner, Me. We would observe that the com- 
pany's debenture bonds are rapidly becoming a popular form 
of investment with cautious and careful investors and capital- 
ists. First: Because these bonds are negotiable by delivery, 
just as a government or railroad bond is, and can be sold by the 
holder without assignments or transfers in writing.which have tobe 
made w hen mortgages are sold and transferred. Second : For pur- 
poses of collateral, the bonds are preferable to the mortgages. 
Third: They can be held by parties without publicity, and if any 
holder desires, he can cut the coupons off and send them directly 
to the company and receive a New York draft therefor. Fourth: 
The amouut of security behind each series of $100,000 is $5,000 more 
than the par value and interest of the bonds, besides the further 
security found in the entire assets of the Kansas Investment Com- 
pany, which in law may be exhausted to meet these bonds in case 
ot any default by the company. These bonds are sold at par and 
accrued interest, and the comp.any recommends them as the most 
desirable and remunerative investment that ic.an be made in any 
form of western securities, and as absolutely safe as Government 
bonds. In conclusion it m.ay be justly stated, that this responsible 
company aims solely for the absolute safety of the lender, and 
m.ikes no loans to applicants who are not known to be sober, in- 
dustrious and honest men with capacity to accomplish what they 
undertake and meet their obligations promptly. 

CS. OBER & CO., Manufacturers of Wiesbaden and Devonshire 
Table Sauces; New England Depot for "Scourene," Etc., 
, Nos. 134 and 136 Commercial Street.— The increased atten- 
tion given of Late years in this country to the prepara- 
tion of a superior quality of table delicacies, condiments, fla- 
voring extracts and kindred specialties has resulted, as it is 
scarcely necessary to remark, in very notable improvement hav- 
ing been made in these palatable articles. Indeed, some of those 
engaged in this line here in Boston have achieved a signal suc- 
cess, and on absolute merit, too. Among those referred to, 
special mention should be made of C. S. Ober & Co., manufact- 
urers of Wiesbaden and Devonshire table sauces, Ober's flavoring 
extracts and grocers" sundries, whose commodious establishment 
is located at Nos. 134-136 Commercial Street, and whose productions 
have secured an enduring hold on popular favor throughout the 
country owing to the uniformly high standard of excellence at 
which the s.ame are maintained. These goods are articles ot ex- 
ceptional merit, being noted for their choice flavor, purity and 
quality, and as a consequence they are in steady, extensive and 
growing demand in the triide. This now flourishing enterprise 
was started in 1878 in a rather modest way, and no better criter- 
ion of the superiority of the productions need be offered than the 
unequivocal success that has attended the efforts of the firm since 
the inception of the venture. The business premises, including 
salesroom and factory, occupy three 25x75 feet floors, and are well 
ordered and equipped in every respect, the establishment being 
under the capable and efficient management of W. F. Eraser. A 
heavy and AI stock is constantly kept on hand, the concern being 
New EngUand depot for "Scourene" and goods manufactured by 
George A. Moss, of New York, while a large st.aff of hands is 
employed on the premises, besides half a dozen traveling .sales- 
men on the road, and the trade of the firm, which is principally 
located in the Eastern States, is of a highly gratifying character. 
Their trade is ot that conservative class that they continually 
retain. 



THE METROPOLIS OF NEW ENGLAND. 



109 



UNION DEBENTURE COMPANY, John C. Taylor, President ; 
Julius L. Clarice, Secretary.— The Union Debenture Com- 
pany: The almost magical growth of the Slate of Minne- 
sota during the last twenty-five years has made great de- 
mands on eastern capital. There are at the present day very few 
sections of the country which offer more profitable, and, at the 
same time, more absolutely sate methods tor the. investment of 
funds than in carefully selected first-class farm mortgages mi this 
thriving state, as also in some of its neighboring jurisdictions. In 
connection with these remarks, special attention is directed intliis 
commercial review of the City of Boston, to the representative iind 
reliable Union Debenture Company, whose oftice is located at Nos. 
55 Congress and 40 Water Streets. The company has likewise offices 
in Cliicagoand Minneapolis. The Union Debenture Company was 
incorporated under the laws of Minnesota, in 1887, with authority 
to commence business on a paid up capit.al of $100,000, which has 
since been more than doubled. so that its present surplus .as legards 
patrons is upwards of $200,000. Tlie gentlemen .associated with its 
management are highly regarded in financial and commercial cir- 
cles for their executive ability, prudence and just methods. 
Amcmg its present officials are:— John C. Taylor, president; I. R. 
Beeiy, vice-president and general manager; Julius L. Clarke, sec- 
retary; A.S. Burt, assistant secretary, Hon. George C. Wing, John 
C. Taylor, William Oswald, A. S. Burt, Hon. Julius L. Clarke, and 
I. R. Beery, directors. The debenture bonds issued by this com- 
pany areiu denominations of $100, $500, and $1,000 at 6 per cent, in- 
terest, each series being specially and fully secured by real estate 
mortgages deposited with the American Loan .and Trust Company 
of Boston. Tlie comp,any also issues $600 ten year investment 
bonds, which are sold on the installment plan and delivered on the 
first payment, the purchaser paying $30 a year. or $300 in ten years, 
and receiving in return $600, or a compound interest accumulation 
of over 9 per cent, on the investment. These bonds are non-for- 
teitable after two annual payments, their values with compound 
interest accumulations after e.acli payment being definitely stated 
thereon. Being transferable, they have at all times a present mar- 
ket value, incre,asing with every year appro.icliing maturity. For 
tlie protection of these bonds a sinking fund is specially provided, 
wliich, with the large interest accumulations realized on its mort- 
gage investments, fully enables the company to guarantee the 
generous return assured to its patrons. The company confines 
its operations in farm mortgages chiefly in Minnesota, Nebraska 
and Dakota. Its .stock and bond holders represent persons in every 
calling and condition of life: while its loaning agents are mostly 
bankers and stockholders in the company, and therefore person- 
ally interested in each and every loan. The following financial 
statement issued November 1. 1888, sliows the affairs of tlie com- 
pany to be in a satisfactory condition: Resources— Bonds and real 
estate securities, $205,939.45; bills and .accounts receiv,able, $77,- 
220.82; accrued interest, $9,521.50: office furniture, expense and 
supplies, $3,.5fl0.00; cash and cash items on hand and in bank., and 
with .St. Paul Trust Company for investment. $fj,405-i'6; total $302,- 
586.83. I.i.abilities— Capital stock paid up, $206,800.00; investment 
bond sinking fund, debenture bonds and all other liabilities, $80,- 
099 49; total, $286,899.49. Surplus— $15,687.34. Surplus as regards 
patrons, $222,487.34, being over $277 for each $100 of liability. Tills 
exhibit, which h.as been officially attested by proper authority, and 
the company's compliance with the laws of st.ates requiring statu- 
tory supervision, coupled with the benefits so easily available to 
its patrons, may well claim tlie attention of all classes of invest- 



EB. STILLTNGS & CO., Stationersand Printers, No. 5.5 Sud. 
bury .Street.— No Boston house has achieved a more en- 
j viable reputation th.an that of Messrs. E. B. Stilliiigs 
& Co., the widely celebrated stationers and printers, 
whose office is conceded to be the best in the country for a high 
artistic class of printing, engraving and blank book work. Mr. 
Stilliiigs established this business in 1867 and early became noted 
lor the elegance, accuracy and durability of all jobs executed by 
him. The growth of trade taxed his facilities to the utmost and 
repeated enlargements and introduction of new and improved 
presses and macliinery attest to not only his popularity but the 
determination to maintain the lead for the execution of the finest 
work. At No. 55 .Sudbury Street Mr. Stillings has the model office 



of its kind. He has here twelve Job presses and four Hoe presses 
run by steam, including tlie recent addition of one of Hoe's latest 
stop cylinder presses, costing over $4,000, .adapted to the last print- 
ing of the finest work and insuring beautiful typographical execu- 
tion. With his equipment and having a stall of lifiy tif the most 
skillful aud experienced workmen he otters substantial induce- 
ments to customers in every department of the stationery and 
printing tr,ade. A specialty is made of the engraving and printing 
of bonds and stock certificates, engraved either on wood, stone or 
steel. They do only strictly firstcUass work, and among their 
patrons may be menlioned such concerns as "The Thomson 




55 Sudbury st. 



Houston Electric Company;" Noyes Brothers; Tliayer, McNeil & 
Hodgkins, New York and New England Railroad, leading Ma.sonic 
Lodges, Grand Army Posts, Societies, Woman's Relief Corps, etc., 
etc. An important department is that devoted to ilie manufacture 
of account books, ledgers, journals, day books, etc., produced to 
order of the very best materi.als, promptly and always at the most 
reasonable prices. Mr. Stilliiigs is a man of inventive ability, who 
has effected several important improvements in liis line, and has 
devised a system of books for keeping records and accounts, so 
conipreliensive, handy and concise as to receive general public 
endorsation and which lias been adopted by the (iraiid Army of 
the Republic, and Woman's Relief Corps. Mr. Stillings executes 
.all kinds of book, commercial and Job printing, and in fancy 
cliromatic and high class circular and other letter, press ai d orna- 
mental printing, h.as become one of the leading representatives in 
New England and second to none in the United States. His energy, 
enterprise aud skill .are proverbi.al; his printing house is thor 
oughly typical of the best methods and most skillful work, and Mr. 
Stillings is worthy of the enviable reputation acliieved and of the 
heavy growing trade developed in his branch of industry. 

LYMAN L. KIMBALL & CO., Wholesale Fruit and Produce, 
Nos. 29 and 31 Richmond Street.— Among the repi-esentative 
houses engaged in the handling of produce and fruits at 
wholesale in this city is that of Messrs. Lyman L. Kimball 
& Co., the well known shipping and commission mercliants. The 
proprietor of tliis concern, Mr. L. L. Kinib.all was born at 
Barry, Mass., forty-eight years ago, and has resided in Boston 
since he was seven years of age. He liiis been identified with 
the fruit and produce tr.ade for the past thirty years, and 
for five years was connected with liis father's establishment, 
Charles Kimball & Co. In 1868, Mr. Kimball started business 
on his own .account, and reino\ed to Ills present premises in 
1878.. The premises are very ciminiodious and in every way 
admirably adapted for the purposes to which they are de- 
voted. They are equipped with every appli.ance and convenience 
that can be suggested for facilitating tlie transaction of business 
—the receiving and storage of supplies jind the shipping of orders 
to all points. Every description of domestic and foreign fruit and 
produce is handled, a leading specialty being made of potatoes. 
Indeed this house is the most extensively engaged in the handling 
of potatoes of any in the city. Consignments are received, quick 
sales are effected, and prompt and satisfactory returns are made. 







11(» 



ILLUSTRATED BOSTON. 



MAUKET NATIONAL BANK. Charles J. Wliitinore, Esq. 
President; Richard H.Weld, Esq., Vice President; Josiah 
Q Bennett, Esq., Cashier, No. 86 State Street.— The import- 
ance ot Boston as a great financial centre is forcibly 
tlcnionst rated by the record and solid prosiierity of her leading 
banks. Commercial stability is largely dependent on the extended 
facilities accorded by these fiscal institntioiis and tliey are inti- 
mately linked with the growth of every interest in Boston and 
New England. One of the oldest, and thoroughly representative 
in every respect is the Market National Bank, wliich was duly 
organized in 1&'!2 as a state bank, and in 1864 was reorganized 
under the National Banking Act. Tlie Market Bank has ever 
been a favorite with tlie business world, its unusually extended 
lines ot deposits are largely those ot active merchants, while it 
discounts much of the most desirable commercial paper on the 
market. The bank has a capital of $800,000 held by leading citi- 
zens, as one ot the choicest and remunerative of investments. Its 
board of directors is as follows : Messrs. Benjamin P. Cheney, 
Charles VV. Hubbard, George Hyde, Herbert Nash, Francis H. Ray- 
mond, Kichard H. Weld, and Charles ,1. Whitmore. The above 
gentlemen are prominent and influential in commercial circles ; 
their names are synonymous with stability and integrity, and 
there is no fiscal institution in the city which enjoys greater cou- 
Sdence, or whose management is more signally prudent or saga- 
cious. Its president, Mr. Cliarles J. Whitmore is recognized as 
as one of Boston's ablest financiers; an energetic and far-sighted 
liead ot the Executive, and whose services ot the bank are justly 
appreciated. He was born in Boston and has ever accorded a 
hearty support to all measures best calculated to advance the 
city's prosperity. He is also treasurer ot the Ames Plow Com- 
pany, and is connected with other important enterprises. Mr. 
Richard H. Weld, the vice president, is a native of Boston, and is 
prominently identified with her great shipping and import trade 
being member of the firm oS Aaron D. Wells Sons, the leading iml 
porters of liemp and sugar. Mr. Weld is an authority in financial 
circles, and has devoted himself indefatigably to the dischai'ge ot 
the onerous duties devolving upon him. The cashier, Mr. Josiah 
Q. Bennett is a native of Somerville. Mass., and is a bank officer 
of the greatest practical experience, and thoroughly qualified for 
the duties of his responsible post. His acquaintance is most wide- 
spread throughout American financial circles, he is a vigilant offi- 
cer, ot sound judgment, and is a thorough exponent ot the great 
principles governing banking and finance. Mr. Bennett is a resi- 
dent of Cambridge, and is i)resident of tlie Cambridge Electric 
Light Com|)any, as also of tlie Fresh Pond Ice Company. The 
Market National Bank transacts a general business, ft lias great 
and remunerative lines ot loans and discounts and makes ex- 
tended series of collections, among its correspondents being the 
Hanover and Fourth National Banks of New York ; the National 
Bank of Hliuois, of Chicago, etc. The bank has safely weathered 
every financial crisis; its present management is eminently con- 
servative and Boston is to be congratulated upon the possession 
of such a valued financi.al factor. 

WE. MANNING & CO., Real Estate and Mortgages, No. 
•J66 Washington Street, (Room No. 3).— Among the best 
J known and most responsible firms engaged in the real 
estate line in Boston, may be mentioned that of W. 
E. Manning & Co., whose office is located at No. '266 Washington 
Street, Room 3. Established in 1873. this popular and reliable firm 
has from its inception steadily won its way to public favor and 
confidence and numbers among its clientele some of the staunch- 
est citizens in the community. The firm transacts a general real 
estate business, buying, selling, exchanging and letting city and 
suburban property of every description, and attends also to the 
collection of rents and the management ot estates. Loans are 
procured also and mortgages negotiated, while investments are 
desirably placed and insurance effected in first-class fire com- 
panies, and, altogether a very fine business done. Mr. Manning, 
who is the sole member, the company being nominal, is a gentle- 
man of middle age, and a native of this city. He is a man of en- 
tire probity in his dealings, as well as energy and excellent busi- 
ness ability, and prior to embarking in this line luid been for 
m.any years engaged in manufacturers' supplies and importing and 
exporting chemicals and naval stores. 



BREWSTER, COBB & ESTABROOK, Bankers, No 35 Congress 
Street.— This is an old establislied and thorouglily repre- 
sentative Boston banking house, its origin dating back to 
1854, wlien it was founded by Brewster, Sweet & Co. They 
were succeeded by tlie firm of Brewster. Bassett & Co., and event- 
ually in 18SS the present firm assumed the management. The in- 
dividual members of this copartnership are Messrs. Henry K. 
Cobb, Artliur F. Estabrook, f^liarles E. Eddy. C. H. Watson and 
Arthur L. Sweetser. These gentlenien are intimately identified 
witli tlie best interests of Boston, and tlieir house lias ever been a 
recognized exponent of just methods and legitimate enterprise in 
the financial world. Messrs. Brewster, Cobb & Estabrook conduct 
a general banking and brokerage business, ,and are advantageously 
connected with a large circle ot banks, bankers and copartners in 
various parts of the country. They buy and sell government, state 
and city bonds, make collections on all available points, and also 
■act as agents and advisers to a number of wealthy residents and 
capitalists. The firm have private wires to New York, Providence 
and New Bedford, and execute all commissions in a prompt and 
satisfactory manner. Messrs. Brewster, Cobb & Estabrook make 
a specialty of placing loans for state, city and railroad companies. 
The partners are popular members of the Boston and New York 
and Chicago Stock Exclianges. In conclusion we would observe, 
tliat they ably cover all branches of financial activity as bankers 
and brokers with zeal, integrity and well organized methods, 
wliich reflects great credit on the facilities, ability and resources of 
this responsible firm. 

OCEAN STEAMSHIP BERTH COMPANY, Sole Owners of the 
Letters Patent and Property of the Brunswick Ships' Berth 
Company, No. 7 Exchange Place.— The time is r.apidly ap- 
proaching when no person going to Europe or to foreign 
countries, will patronize a steamer which is not fitted with self- 
leveling berths. AVIien once tlie traveling public has experienced 
the delightful repose afforded l)y these berths, it will demand 
them for ocean use. equally as much as the Pullman cars are 
required for land transit, for, in point of f.act, the self-leveling 
berth is the " Ocean Pullman." In connection with these re. 
marks we desire to make suitable reference in this commercial 
review of Boston, to tlie representative and successful Ocean 
Steamship Berth Company, sole owners by purchase of the letters 
patent and property formerly owned by the Brunswick Ships' 
Berth Company. The Ocean Steamsliip Berth Company was duly 
incorporated under the laws of Maine in 1887 with an authorized 
capital of $500,000, and since its organization at that d.ate has 
already obtained a liberal and influential patronage. The execu- 
tive officers of the company, are Dr. H. E. Townsend, presi- 
dent, and Mr. Chas. R. Tucker, Jr., treasurer. When the Pull- 
man car was first brought to tlie attention of the traveler 
but little interest was manifested in it, and its obvious merits 
carelessly passed over. Many people regarded it as an extortion, 
and were disinclined to pay for its use, while some regarded it as 
an aristocratic exclusion inconsistent with the American demo- 
cratic idea. For years the Pullman cars were but sparingly pat- 
ronized and the railroad corporations disliked to haul them. To- 
day, owing to the untiring energy of the Pullman company, the 
public has been convinced, railroad companies have been com- 
pelled to haul them on account of the demand, and no thoroughly 
equipped passenger train is complete without them. Analagous to 
tlie Pullman experience is that arising from the introduction of 
the self-leveling berth of the Ocean Steamship Berth Company. It 
w,as with difficulty that passengers could at first be induced to try 
them and steamship companies be led to adopt them, and even to- 
day but comparatively few of the traveling public are cognizant 
ot the merits of the berth. Numerous attempts have been made to 
invent a berth which sliould be self-leveling, that is, one that 
would always maintain a horizontal position no matter how great 
the roll of the steamer, and one that would rotate and not swing. 
This has only been achieved in the berth now owned by this com- 
pany, and is secured to it by letters patent ofthe United States and 
foreign countries. The berths are now in use upon the steamers 
of the Inman and North German lines, and it is the purpose of the 
Ocean Steamship Berth Company to introduce them extensively 
and as rapidly as possible to the ocean-traveling public, affordins 
them the greatest degree of comfort. 



THE METROPOLIS OF NEW ENGLAND. 



Ill 



FARLEY, HARVEY & CO., Importers and .lobbPis of Bry Goods, 
Nos. 61 and 67 Chauncy, and Nos, 39, 41 and 4S Bedford Streets. 
— Tlie wliolesale dry goods trade of Boston has attained 
proportions of the greatest magnitude, and tlie supremacy 
maintained by tliis city in that field of commerce is almost wholly 
<lue to the exercise of an able and energeticbusiness policy, on the 
part "f our leading representative houses, coujiled with the ample 
resources at their connnand. One of the oldest, largest and best 
known houses tluis referred to, is that of Messrs. Farley, Harvey 
& Co., located at Nos. 61 and 61 Ch.anncy, and Nos. 39, 41 and 43 
Bedford Streets. This firm enjoys an enviable reputation as ex- 
tensive importers and jobbers of dry goods. Tlie business was 
founded in 1848, by Mr. N. W. Farley. In 1807 Mr. G. D. Harvey be- 







h<\ii^\ life Ki^ 1 



'~7-7- 



§1^ 



' \,M 



''■'"'^[I'l'S'^ill^lPf 




came a partner an I in lb.S Mi A C 1 nl \ i I ii 1 I i 

was also admitted topartneiship compusiugtheflim isat piesent 
constituted. The pieniises occupied by the hrm weie destioyed 
by fire in 1872, on Summer Street, and the present site lias been 
occupied since 1877. Here a spacious salesroom, basement and 
lofts are utilized, having a frontage of eighty, and a depth of one 
liundred feet, where is displayed a most excellent stock in fancy 
and staple lines, chief among which may be named imported and 
domestic dress fabrics, linens, domestics and wliite goods, woolens, 
and many valuable specialities in complete assortment. Messrs. 
silks, Farley, Harvey & Co., are recognized as among the most ac- 
tive and extensive importers in this city, being always in the fore- 
front of the trade in securing tlie freshest novelties and latest pat- 
terns in all fabrics of the loom. Tlie partners are thoroughly ex- 
perienced in catering to the demands of buyers from every section 
of the country, and their widespread and influential trade has 
been developed;by reason of a thoroughly enterprising, liberal and 
honorable business policy. A force of from fifty to sixty ex- 
perienced clerks and siilesmen are required for the exigencies of 
the business. Mr. Farley, senior came from the Granite State to 
Boston in 1848 and lias continuously been engaged in his piesent 
line of business from that date. Mr. Harvey is also a New Hamp- 
shire man by birth, and Identified with the Boston dry goods trade 
for m.any years. Mr. A. C. Farley is a gentleman in the early 
prime of life, and trained to the business from his boyhood. All 
are prominent members of the Boston Merchants' Association. 



FRENCH BROTHERS, Wholesale and Retail Dealers in Pro- 
visions, Groceries, and Ship Stores, Fruit and Vegetables, 
Nos. 390,392 and 394 Hanover Street.— A careful reviewof the 
l)usiness interests of Boston reveals the existence of a class 
of houses, prepared to compete in tlie several lines they represent 
with the rival establishments of any city in the United States. 
Tlieir complete stocks, ample resources and remarkable enterprise 
are matters of which our citizens have every reason to be pnmd. 
In connection with these remarks, special reference is made in this 
commercial review to the representative and progressive firm of 
Messrs. French Brothers, wholesale and retail dealers in provis- 
ions, groceries, ship stores, fruit and vegetables, whose office and 
.salesrooms are located at Nos. 390 to .394 Hanover Street. This busi- 
ness was established eight years ago by Messrs. Byron L. and Elmer 
L.French. Both partners have ever been identified with the best 
class of trade, and in all departments of their establishment have 
successfully aimed to give entire satisfaction to their numerous 
patrons, while at the same time they possess great pr.actical experi- 
ence in all details, and personally attend to all orders. The prem- 
ises occupied comprise a superior store, having a frontage of sixty 
feet, by a depth of seventy feet, with a spacious basement and 
second floor. Tlie store is utilized for meats, canned goods and 
vegetables, the second floor for groceries and ship chandlery. The 
different departments are arranged and fitted with special refer- 
ence to the tr.ade, which involves the handling of a vast quantity 
of meat, provisions, etc., and it may be safely asserted that in 
freshness, quality and general excellence, the stock of Messrs. 
Fieiich Brothers' has no superior iu tlie city. The store is a model 
of neatness and cleanliness, and the provision dejiartnient is sup- 
plied with a large refrigerator for the preservation of meat, etc. 
Messrs. French Brothers deal only in the finest groceries, teiis, 
cotfees, etc., and pay particular attention to the furnisliing of ves- 
sels. In such staples as canned goods, sugars, syrups and soaps, 
the firm is always prepared to olfer substantial inducements to 
patrons. They promptly and carefully fill orders at the lowest 
possible prices, and their trade extends not only throughout all 
sections of Boston and its vicinity, but also largely among the 
leading steamship lines. Tlie firm employ twelve clerks, a.ssist- 
ants, etc. Both Messrs. Byron L. and Elmer L. French were born 
in Vermont, but have resided in Boston for the last eighteen 
years, where they are higlily esteemed in business circles for 
their enterprise, energy and integrity. To those who desire a 
high grade of provisions and groceries, this pojuilar house com- 
mends itself as one that m.ay always be implicitly relied on, to 
furnish only such supplies as shall rank superior in every respect. 

EDWARD A. SAMUELS, rublisher of Choice Band Music, 
Band Bonks, Etc., No. 86 State Street.— The most extensive 
and representative band music publishing house of the city 
of Boston, is that of Mr. Edward A. Samuels. This business 
was established twenty years ago by Mr. Samuels, who has since, 
built up a liberal, influential and iiermanent patronage in all sec- 
tions of the United States and Canada. Mr. Samuels publishes ex- 
tensively choice band music, band books.albums tor military b.ands, 
cornet and piano music, which are ottered to customers at ex- 
tremely low prices. He has already supplied music for 10,000 bands 
in the United States and Canada and his patronage is steadily in- 
creasing, owing to the sniieriority and excellence of his publica- 
tions, which are general favorites with a critical public wherever 
introduced. Though the American people have not yet produced 
such famous musicians as Handel, Mozart and Beethoven, yet the 
present generation has made marked advances in musical culture. 
Music is an unfailing source of pleasure and a powerful means for 
development and advancement, and its importance to society is 
now universally acknowleded and recognized. This taste for mu- 
sic has been cultivated in no small degree by Mr. Samuels, whose 
publications are now everywhere recognized and appreciated by 
eminent musicians. The premises occupied are commodious, and 
the stock is systematically arranged in all departments and full 
and complete in every particular. Mr. Samuels is a native of 
Boston, well known throughout a large iiorlion of Massachusetts 
and is highly esteemed by the community for his sound business 
principles and integrity, and h.as ever evinced the greatest 
anxiety to assist in any measure or movement, which have been 
brought forward to .advance musical literature and studies. 



112 



ILLUSTRATED BOSTON. 



. Mm\A\Jlt-.\M4=tt 



NOREIS PIANO AND DIAMOND COMPANY, Dealers in 
Pianos and Organs, Diamonds, vvatclies and Jewelry, No. 
37 c;ourt Street (Opposite Court House).— Those articles of 
universal demand in tlie reflned, intelligent and wealthy 
communities of civilization— nuisical instruments and jewelry and 
precious stones, are of varying degrees of value and merit, so 
largely so, indeed, as to necessitate the average purchaser dealing 
'with an honorable and responsible firm it they wish to avoid all 
chance of imposition and deception and rest assured that every 
article is absolutely as represented. In Boston, and as regards 
New England, the most justly celebrated and reliable concern in 
the above lines is the Norris Piano and Diamond Company of No. 
37 Court Street. This extensive business was founded in 1852 at 
No. 3 Tremont Row by the late Mr. G. W. Norris, father of the 
jiresent proprietors and was con- 
tinued at No. 1 Pemberton Stinare 
by tlie name of the Palace of Music, 
and, so remained until 1882 when 
the style was changed to the 
American Piano and Diamond Com- 
pany, with headquarters at No. 004 
Washington Street. Eventually in 
1887 it was removed to the more 
commodious quarters. No. 37 Court 
Street, under the above style and 
title. Mr. Norris became nationally 
famous for the superior goods he 
handled and his liberal, honorable 
policy. Upon his lamented decease 
in August, 1887, he was succeeded 
by his sons, Messrs. L. W., A. M., 
and E. E. Norris, all natives of 
Somerville, and now residents re- 
spectively of Everett, Winthrop, and 
this city. They occupy very spa- 
cious, anel maguificentlyequipped 
•and furnished premises, 150 feet in 
dimensions, where they carry a large 
stock of the popular Norris pianos, 
with a department larger than the 
average jewelry store devoted to 
their splendid and comprehensive 
stock of diamonds, watches and jew- 
~ --^" *..v.S;- ■ - eiry. This is the bargain store of 

New England for everything in the above lines. For instance 
pianos ranging all the way from $40 up to $600, any one of which 
can be purchased by paying from $'> to $25 down, and from 
$3 to $20 monthly thereafter. These pianos are of tlie company's 
own make, constructed of the best materials and upon the most 
approved principles, embodying all the modern improvements, 
and justly renowned for perfect action, purity and brilliancy of 
tone, great comp.ass and power, and elegance and durability. 
The firm also sell the best organs on easy terms, do all kinds of 
tuning and repairing, and are leaders in this important branch of 
trade. This is also headquarters for the popular music boxes, of 
which the company imports a large assortment of all .sizes from 
Geneva, Switzerland, and which are kept in their miscellaneous 
musical depot and are made a leading specialty, selling at prices 
ranging from $1 to $125, for cash or on instalments. Here are the 
best make of cornets, drums, piccalos, zithers, flutes, accordeons, 
guitars, banjos, violins, harmonicas, metallaphones, children's 
pianos, etc., all at prices which, quality considered, cannot be 
duplicated elsewhere. This is the place to buy diamond jewelry, 
where the largest stock .and choicest di.amoiids can be had at a 
sm3.Il margin above cost. For instance, di.amond rings. $5 to $400; 
diamond e.-vr jewels, $10 to $600; diamond studs .and collar buttons, 
$6 to $300, etc., etc., .also full lines of solid gold jewelry in .all the 
latest styles. A feature of the company's business worthy of atten- 
tion and affording opportunities that will be gladly .availed of by 
many is. that diamonds, watches and jewelry at reduced prices 
are taken in exchange for pianos, organs, etc. Many are thus 
en.abled to secure a piano at but slight cash outlay. Their stock of 
watches is equally desirable, comprising ladies' and gents' gold 
and silver w.atches from $5 to $1.')0; also plain and fancy clocks, 
optical goods, etc. The warerooms are divided into three depart- 




ments, viz: The piano department, under the'supervision of Mr. 
L. W. Norris; the di.amond department, under the supervision of 
Mr. A. M. Norris, and the small musical instruments' department, 
under .Mr. E. E. Norris' supervision. The copartners bring to bear 
vast practical experience; they are leading authorities as to all 
goods they handle, selecting with the utmost care and selling in 
such enormous quantities as to be able to place prices away below 
those of dealers doing a limited trade. The company publishes 
about four months in the year, during tlie holid.ay .season a very 
h.andsome eight-page paper, and whicli is full of interesting stories, 
sketches, v,aluable receipts and other informtion, besides .advertise- 
ments of the company's specialties. Every one of our readers 
should send for a copy, and when they want a piano, or musical 
Instruineiit, any jewelry,watch or clock, they can by selecting here 
save money and feel certain of securing the best bargain obtain- 
able in New England. The Messrs. Norris are popular and 
respected business men and have ever retained the confidence of 
leading commercial and fln.aucial circles. In conclusion we would 
state, that the late Mr. G. W. Norris was the originator of the 
now celebrated instalment plan, having been the first to inaugu- 
rate the sale of pianos on monthly payments. 

J A. TUCKER & CO., Original Bay State Bone Super-Phos- 
phate, No. 13 Doane Street— The growing demand for fertil- 
^ izers for agricultural operations indicates that farmers and 
growers of special crops have come to realize the absolute 
necessity of m.aking liberal useof the best'manures if they desire to 
derive increased returns from tlieir lands. As in every other branch 
of industry in Bostoii; so in that of the fertilizer trade there are 
numerous competitors for public favor, and prominent among the 
number is the representative and reliable firm ot Messrs. J. A. 
Tucker & Co.. manufacturers of the Original Bay St.ate Bone Super- 
Phosphate, whose oliice is located at No. 13 Doane Street. The 
flriu's factory, which is fully supplied with the latest improved 
machinery and appliances, is situated at Chelsea. This business 
Wits e.stablished twenty-eight years Ago by Mr. J. A. Tucker, who 
eventually, in 1880, admitted his brotlier, Mr. H. F. Tucker, into 
partnership, the firm being known by the style and title of J. A. 
Tucker & Co. They make a specialty of maiiutacturing the 
Origiii.al Bay State Bone Super-Phosphate, which is especially 
suitable for the nourishment and forcing of crops of all kinds. This 
superphosphate is carefully prepared to meet a long-felt want, 
and is found by practical results to be .absolutely unrivalled. The 
firm fill all orders at the lowest possible prices, and guarantee 
entire s.atisfaction to patrons. They .ship direct from their fiic- 
tory, and their trade, which is steadily increasing, extends 
throughout all sections ot New England and New York. Mr. J. 
A. Tucker was born in Dunstable, Mass., but has resided in Bos- 
ton tor the last thirty-nine years. He established the first post- 
office at East Pepperill, Mass., and was the postmaster until he 
retired and came to Boston. Mr. J. A. Tucker was in oflice under 
the .administr.ation of President Fillmore and remained so till he 
requested President Pierce, whom he knew personally, to pl.ace 
.another man in his position. President Pierce appointed the per- 
son Mr. Tucker recommended. The position is now worth $1,400 
per annum. Mr. Tucker w.as a member of the Boston School Board 
tor nine years, an alderman three years, and is now President of 
the City Hospital Board. His brother, Mr. H. F. Tucker, is a 
native of Pepperill. 

WG. ROBV & CO., Metal Dealers, No. 11 Broad Street.— 
Coppe. in its native state is generously distributed 
J throughout the United States. Our copper mines in 
importance rank with iron, coal, gold and silver. A 
prominent and well established house, dealing extensively in 
metals, in the city ot Boston, is that of W. G. Roby & Co., No. 11 
Broad Street, who are among the oldest metal houses in the city. 
Their stores are tnlly stocked with every variety of crude and 
manufactured metals, which are offered to buyers at the low- 
est ruling market r.ates. Mr. Roby is also selling agent for the 
well known Taunton Y'ellow Metai. and Colorado Ingot Cop- 
per, Copper Nails, Sheet and Bolt Copper, Yelloto Metal Bolts and 
Nails, which are unrivalled for quality and general excellence. 
The incre.a-sing trade of this relLable house extends throughout all 
sections of the United States and Canada. 



THE METROPOLIS OF NEW ENGLAND. 



113 



NEW ENGLAND HOUSE, Corner Blackstone and Clinton 
Streets.— Boston is favored with tlie benetits and advan- 
tages derived from liaviug located in lier midst some of 
tlie best hotels in existence, which are recognized by trav- 
elers and experts as a true type of tlie modern art of hotel-keep- 
ing. One of the most popular and best-patronized is the New Eng- 
land House, situated at the corner of Blackstone and Clinton 
Streets. This famous hostlery was opened about the year of 
1836, and was successfully managed by numerous parties, among 
them being sucli well-known liotel men as Paran Stevens, who left 
it to take possession of the Revere house ; Lambert Maynard who 
was its proprietor for twenty-eight years; Joel (iray : Bell cSi Bailey 
—the latter firm being succeeded in ls73 by the present jiopular pro- 
prietor, Mr. Josiah T. Wilson. These are among those whose names 
have been linked with the New England House in the past, and from 



establishment of machinists and inillwriglits in Chicago, remain- 
ing there and in Fulton. 111., until 1858, when he returned to 
Brighton, Mass,, and entered into partnership with his brother in 
the then famous Brighton Hotel, coi.tinuing in the hotel business 
ever since. His record as a hotel man exceeds in continuous serv- 
ice that or any other Boniface now in Boston, while liis reputation 
as a genial, prompt, enterprising and agreeable liost is second to 
none in the whole country. 



H' 



-IRAM WHITTINGTON & CO., M-anufacturers of Hor.se 
Blankets, Carriage Robes, Etc., No. 22 Federal Street and 
No. 121 Congress Street.— Tlie elements of commercial suc- 
cess are seldom found in happier combination than in tlie 
case of Mr. Hiram Wliittington of this city, who has secured for 
the goods manufactured and dealt in by his hou^e such celebrity 



whose booli of experience, laudable ambition and sound judgment^ ^coupled with a trade of great and growing magnitude. Mr. Whit- 
— • tington w.os born in Massachusetts, and af- 

ter acquiring an education, he decided to 
embark in commeicial puiEUits, and perceiv- 
ing an opening in the line of better and 
cheaper grades of horse blankets, carriage 
robes, etc., he in 1871 began tlieir manufacture 
under the name and style of Hiram Whit- 
tington & Co. He began with but limited 
experience and little or no capital, finan- 
cially speaking, more than counterbalanced 
however by his sound judgment, great en- 
ergy of character and sterling integrity. 
He speedily secured the recognitioji and 
jiatronage of tlie best class of the trade 
tlirouglicmt the United States, and once in- 
troduced into any section, his horseblankets, 
carriage robes, saddlery and carriage hard- 
ware, rapidly enlarged their sales strictly 
on theii merits. The substantial induce- 
ments offered by him both as to price and 
quality, have had their natural result, and 
Mr. Wliittington though the youngest, is now 
the leading representative of any house in 
the above lines in Boston or New Engl.and. 
^ He manufactures horse blankets and car- 
riage robes very extensively and of all 
weight and grades, adapted to every class 
of t-,;de throughout the United States. 
Quality has ever been his first consideration 
and his personal attention is given to the se- 
lection of the wools, yarns, etc., for the pur- 
poses of manufacture. He has introduced the 
most popular original shades and patterns in 
robes, and the attractive array of these goods to be seen in his large 
establishment is sufficient evidence of his cultured, refined taste. 
Mr. Whittington also imports and deals heavily inall klndsof sad- 
dlery and carriage hardware, riding saddles and everything con- 
nected with these lines, all bearing the most famous brands of Euro- 
pean and American manufacturers, and the best in their line. His 
store is centrally located at No. 22 Federal Street, running through 
to No 121 Congress Street, securing a double frontage, and .abund- 
ance of light. A thorough system of organization isobserv.able, and 
buyers can at onee see any goods called for, a number of oblig- 
ing and courteous clerks being always in attendance for this pur- 
pose. Mr. Wliittington is a recognized authority in everything 
appertaining to his branch ot trade, and successfully solved sev- 
eral problems insuring greater efficiency and security. He is the 
inventor of a patent hame bolt handy, simple, strong and durable, 
and which is now largely used by both Boston and New England 
street car and teaming companies. It is destined to supersede 
all other hame bolts lor heavy harness and is such a marked 
improvement that will lead the trade to expect further inven- 
tions from the same source. Mr. Whittington has been a perm- 
<anent resident of this city for eighteen years past, and during this 
period has won the confidence and esteem of the leading social 
and business circles of Boston. He is'a typeof New England's intel- 
ligentand educated young business men and to whom is so largely 
due the renewed spirit of capacity and ability, which permanently 
retains to this section its due share of national trade supremacy. 




many a landlord has since taken a leaf for his guidance and sup- 
port. Its location is excellent. The site is the centre of all 
the markets, fruit and provision dealers, and in close prox- 
imity to the Faneuil Hall and Quincy markets. It is a four-story 
structure, conducted on both the American and European plans, 
and contains ninety-nine rooms for the use of guests. Its spacious 
and inviting dining-room has a seating cap.tcity for one hundred 
and fifty persons, whilea fine lunch-room is also provided, where is 
provided all kinds of hot meats, vegetables, tea and coffee, salads, 
pastry and hot lunches to order, and which is largely patronized 
by the general public, who are attracted by the fair prices and ex- 
cellent menu. The best table for the price in Boston is set right 
here at the New England house. Mr. Wilson is a liber.al andpains- 
t.aking caterer. He believes in the best and plenty of it, and to 
travelers who desire the comforts of life we would recommend 
this old-established and deservedly popular house. Rates are but 
$2 .and $2.50 per day on the American plan, and its service, cuisine 
and accommodations are unsurpassed. A word as to its host. Mr. 
Wilson is a native of New Ipswich, N. H., where he was born 
Dec. 18, 1834. At the age of fifteen he entered the hotel of his 
brother, Geo. A. Wilson, at Watertown, Mass., where he stiyed 
two years. Then, desiring to learn a trade, he choose that of a ra.a- 
chinist, and became an apprentice of Capt. Seth Wilmarth, of the 
South Boston Locomotive Works, where he thoroughly learned the 
trade in all its various departments. In 185.5 he occupied the posi- 
tion of machinist and engineer for Messrs. Fulton & Ferkius' large 



114 



ILLUSTRATED. BOSTON. 



FANEUIL HALL NATIONAL BANK, J. V. Fletcher, President ; 
T. G. Hiler, Cashier; Corner Soutli Market Street and Mer- 
cliants' Row.— The city of Boston as a great national centre 
of financial activity lias in no branch attained sucli a re- 
markable degree of development, as the prosperity and usefulness 
of her banks and fiscal corporations. Tlieir management is m the 
hands of men whose ability, prudence, and just methods have won 
the admiration and confidence of the financial world. In thiscon- 
nection, special reference is made in tiiis commercial review to 
the old established and successful Fanenii Hall National Bank, 
which was originally organized in 1857 as a State Bank. In 1865 it 
was reorganized under the national banking laws with a paid-up 
capital of $1,000,000, which has been further augmented by a surplus 
of $2UO,000 and undivided profltsof$6D,nOO. The Faneuil Hall National 
Bank receives upon favorable terms tlie accounts of manufacturing 
firms, corporations, merchants and others. It likewise issues sight 
drafts useable in the principal cities of the United States and Canada, 
makes collections on all available points, negotiates and collects bills 
of exchange, discounts commercial paper and attends carefully and 
promptly to all kinds of legitimate banking business. Its career 
lias been a very prosperous one and closely allied with the growth 
and development of the city's business interests. The following 
gentlemen, who are widely and favorably known in financial cir- 
cles for their Integrity and prudence, are theollicers: J.V. Fletcher, 
president; T. G. Hiler, cashier. Directors: J. V.Fletcher, J.H.Cur- 
tis, RalphWarner, Clias. E. Morrison, S. S. Learnard, A.J. Adams, G. 
W. Fiske,and L. M. Haskins. The bank occupies spacious and hand- 
some banking rooms in the four-story brick building fronting on 
Faneuil Hall Square, Merchants' Row and South Market Street. 
Mr. Fletcher, the president, is also president of the Belmont Sav- 
ings Bank, trustee of the Belmont Public Library and is the Repub- 
lican Senator to the Massachusetts Senate from the Second Mid- 
dlesex District. Mr. Fletcher is an able financier, and a vigorous 
exfjonent of the soundest principles governing banking and finance. 
During four years membership of the Legislature of Massachu- 
setts, he was one of the committee on banks and banking, 
and for the last two years has been Senate Chairman of that 
committee. Mr. Hiler, the cashier, has been connected with the 
bank tor many years, and is eminently qualified for his important 
position. The business of this substantial bank is steadily increas- 
ing, and its defiosits at the present time are about $1,600,000, while 
its future prospects are of the most encouraging character. 

MASSACHUSETTS MUTUAL FIRE INSURANCE COM- 
PANY, Chas. B. Cumings, President; John M. Corbett. 
Secretary: No. 28 State Street.— Insurance, th,at element 
in society which guarantees against loss that may arise to 
property or merchandise from the ravages of fire, is one of the 
most potent influences in the development of business activity and 
human progress. Of the varied phases of the principle of fire in- 
surance none presents such popular and beneficial features, as the 
mutual system, of which the old established and substantial Mas- 
sachusetts Mutual Fire Insurance Company is one of the most suc- 
cesslul exponents in the United States. The main office of the 
company is at No. 28 State Street, Boston. This company was orig- 
inally organized in 1798 and after many years of success, was re- 
organized and duly incorporated in 1872, under the laws of Massa- 
chusetts. The following gentlemen, who are widely and favorably 
known in mercantile circles for their prudence, energy, and integ- 
rity, are the officers .and directors, viz: Chas. B. Cumings, presi- 
dent; John M. Corbett, secretary. Directors: H. H. Hunnewell, 
Thomas Wigglesworth, Nathaniel J. Br.adlee, C. Wm. Loring, Chas. 
B. Cumings, George A. Gardner, 'WiUiam P. Kuhn, William Minot, 
Jr.. Moses Williams, William Endicott, Jr., Peter C. Brooks, Frank- 
lin Haven,Jr.,NathanielH.Emmons, and John L.Thornrtike. The 
business of the company is confined to the insurance of dwellings, 
house property, etc. The company's st.atement to policy holders 
January 1st, ISSS. w.as as follows: cash assets, $328,766.32; contin- 
gent assets, $147,087.69; total, $475,854.01. Liabilities (including 
capital and reinsurance fund), $272,196.95; cash surplus, $56,669.37; 
amount at risk. $19,401,503.00. Although the cost in the Massachu- 
setts Mutual Fire Insurance Company has been less than other 
companies, it has always paid its losses promptly, while it need 
scarcely be .added to prudent and able business men. that the true 
principle of insurance is to become your own insurer. In this 



carefully managed company there are no inducements to take spe- 
cially hazardous risks, as the object is to save more than to make 
money. All policies cover against loss and damage by lightning, 
as well as by fire. There is a large amount of insurance in New 
England and the adjacent states, in which the risk is very slight, 
yet it is not prudent to be without protection. To this class espe- 
cially this responsible company is well adapted. In conclusion we 
would observe that this noted corporation is in every way worlliy 
the attention of all persons desirous of placing tlieir property in a 
company's liands, which is abundantly able and makes a specialty 
of immediately adjusting and paying all losses as soon as they are 
properly determined. 

J A. CUMMINGS PRINTING COMPANY, Printers, Publishers 
and Stationers, No. 252 Wasliington Street.— In some lines 
^ of business the mere mention of the name of a house carries 
with it the ideaofstrengtii, reliability and success. The 
printing, publishing, and stationery establishment of tlie J. A. 
Cummings Printing Company, at No. 252 Wasliington Street, 
is one of this sort. Tlie foundation of the business of this house 
was laid in 1868 by Mr. J. A. Cummings, who died in 1886, and in 
1887 the present company was incorporated witli a capital of $12,- 
000, and with the following board of officers, viz : President, John 
Haskell Butler; secretary, S. Z. Bowman; treasurer, G. W. Cum- 
mings. Mr. Guy P. Cummings, son of the founder, and Mr. Wm. A. 
Wood are the business managers. Under such favorable auspices, 
the business has grown in extent and reputation until it stands 
well in the front rank of all tlie houses in New England. The bus- 
iness premises comprise two floors, 25x125 feet, wliich are thor- 
oughly equipped with new and improved machinery and appli- 
ances, including nine presses, operated by steam power, and em- 
ployment is given to from twenty-five to thirty skilled hands. In 
later years, while devoting prompt and skillful attention to the gen- 
eral mercantile line, this house has made a long step forward in 
the direction of the very highest class of book, illustrated catalogue 
and magazine work. They are also the publishers of the Knights 
of Honor Reporter, the best society paper in the country, witli a 
circulation of 40,000 monthly, which is the largest of any society 
paper known. Its methods of business, while recognizing the 
competition of the hour, do not go to the length of placing its 
prices at the lowest rate offered for inferior work, but parties who 
deal with tliis house will find its motto to be "a fair price for fair 
work," and that proves the most satisfactory in the long run. The 
patronage is large, first-class and influential in this city and 
throughout New England, and it is clearly evident that both the 
facilities of the company and the policy of its management have 
met with the approval of the trade. Orders and coinmissions by 
telephone or otherwise, are given prompt and careful attention, 
and all transactions are placed upon a thoroughly substantial and 
successful basis. The officers of tlie company are among the best 
known citizens and prominent business men of Boston. The pres- 
ident, Mr. Butler, is a leading member of the legal profession, as 
is also Mr. Bowman, the secretary, who has served his fellow-men 
as a member of Congress. Mr. Cummings, the treasurer, is a 
brotlier of the founder of the business, and cashier of the Frances- 
town National Bank. The curriculum embraces everything in the 
job printing line. 

FRANCIS nOANE & CO., Manufacturers of Blank Books, Sta- 
tioners, Etc., No. 116 State Street.— This business was estab- 
lished in 1825. In 1867 Messrs. Doane & Greenough suc- 
ceeded to the man.agement and continued it till 1884, when 
on the retirement of Mr. Greenough. Mr. Francis Doane became 
sole proprietor. The line of business includes everything re- 
quired in the routine of office work, such as blank books, day 
books, ledgers, journals, cash books, etc., letter, note and bill 
heads, fine commercial printing, checks, bonds, certificates of 
stock, lithographic work, stationery, flexible memorandums and 
letter presses. Mr. Doane makes a specialty of railway, office 
.and bank supplies, and guarantees entire satisfaction. He gives 
personal attention to the filling of all orders, and quotes prices in 
all cases very difficult to be equ.alled elsewhere in the city. Mr. 
Doane was born in Boston, and is an honorable and able business 
man, and is well worthy of the liberal patronage, which lias re- 
warded his efforts. 



THE METROPOLIS OF NEW ENGLAND. 



115 



JOHN POST, JR., &C0., Mechanical Engineers, Mason Build- 
ing, No. 70 Kilby Street.— New England has no better source 
ot supply in tlie line of steam engines for its innumerable 
factories and mills than that offered by Messrs. John Post. 
Jr., & Company, the well-known meclianical engineers, whose 
offices are located in the Mason building. No. 70 Kilby Street. 
This firm have been established in the business here since 18S5. and 
are deservedly prominent and popular as dealers in and agents for 
the Ide steam engines, the Rollin steam engines, and tlie 
Weber centrifugal pump, making a leading specialty of 
supplying factories and large works with engines of from 
ten to two thousand horse power. They also contract for 
supplying entire plants of nuachinery. The engines fur- 
nished by this reli.able and responsible house are noted for their 
simplicity, strength, durability and perfection of operations, and 
have no superiors in this or any other country. These engines 
have been furnished by this lirni to Messrs. Abbott & Co., Granite- 
ville, N. H. ; the Stockiugnet mill, at Manchester, N. H.; the 
Waterbury Watch Company, the Waterbury Clock Company, the 
American Mill Company, and the Smith-Gregg Manufacturing 
Company, all at Waterbury, Conn.; the Bridgeport Forge Com- 
pany, at Bridgeport, Conn.; the P. and F. Corbin Company, at 
New Britain, Conn., and others. Controlling the sales of tliese 
engines tlirougliout New England, thio urm are in a position to 
conduct the business under tlie most favorable auspices and to 
place all transactions upon a substantial and satisfactory b.asis. 
Contr.acts and commissions are promptly and carefully fulfilled, 
and many of the incidental improvements in the engines and 
machinery supplied are due to the long experience and close ob- 
servation of Mr. Post, who is determined that perfection shall be 
as nearly attained .as human ingenuity can possibly acliieve, in all 
works set up under liis management. Mr. Post is a n.ative of this 
city, la practical mechanical engineer of large experience and es- 
tablished reputation, formerly employed in that capacity for 
twelve years in a large cotton mill, and widely prominent as an 
.accomplished and expert master of his profession. He is highly 
esteemed in the social and business circles of this city, and stands 
deservedly high in the esteem ot the trade throughout New Eng- 
land. 

HfRAM W. SMITH, Practical Watch M.aker, and Manufacturer 
of W.atch Oil, No. 1.57 Washington Street.— .Mr. Hiram W. 
Smith, wiis born in Cornish, N. H., and has been identified 
with the watch making trade for more tlian half acentury- 
In 1840 he left his native state to come to Massachusetts, and for 
thirty -eiglit years lie has been in business on his own .account ij> the 
locality where he is now located. For ofHce and salesroom he oc- 
cupies the second floor of the building, which is attractively and 
appropriately fitted up. Here is displayed a large, fine stock of 
watches of foreign and domestic manufacture, and the trade 
which is chiefly ot a wholesale character, extends to all parts 
of the country. For more than tliirty years Mr. Smith has also been 
engaged .n the manufacture of watch oil that, as yet, has met with 
no equal in the market, and is largely used in the principal w.atch 
f.actories of the country and by tlie trade generally. Thisoii is 
taken from the head of black fish, and is free from acids and gluti- 
nous substances, so that it will remain for years perfectly limpid in 
all climates. As a lubricant for chronometers and watches it hr.s 
no competitor. The following correspondence will explain itself: 
—"New York, Jan. 17. 1888. Dear Sir:— Kindly let me know what 
oil is used on the Waterbury watches at their factory. It is ap. 
parently a good one. Yours truly, J. P. Delany." An inquiry in 
response to above brought the fallowing reply: "The Waterbury 
Watch Co., Waterbury, Ct., Feb. 1, 1888. Mr. A. Curtis Bond, Edi- 
tor of The Waterbury— Dear Sir:— For the past two years we have 
used a w.atch oil prepared by Hiram W. Smith, No. 157 Washington 
Street, Boston JIass. Previous to the fall ot 1886, we were having 
trouble with and complaints from the different oils we were then 
using. From 'he watchmakers employed in some of the oldest and 
best-known houses in New York and Bo'ton, we heard such good 
reports concerning this oil th.at we concluded to give it a trial, and 
since then we have used no other. We have ]iut it to the severest 
test -have found it to stand on our chronometers for over a year 
and to remain sweet, clear and limpid. As we repair our makc'of 
watches we have a good opportunity of witnessing the results on 



them, and we find that this oil does not gum like most of the other 
oils which we liiid previously tried. Mr. Smith is an old and favor- 
ably known w.atch repairer, and experienced the difficulties which 
all ot his craft do in procuring a reliable oil, and solved the prob- 
lem after years of experimenting. We cheerfully p.ay the tribute 
to the product, and trust that the reUail dealer who makes the 
inquiry of you, and all other retail watch dealers who appreciate 
the need ot a good, reliable watch oil, will send to Mr. Smith for a 
trial bottle as we did. Very truly yours, E. A. Locke, secretary." 

CHAS. E. HAI>L & CO., Manufiicturers and Importers of Mar- 
ble, Nos. 69 to 93 Charlestown Street.— Among the represen- 
tative .and reliable manufacturers and importers ot marble 
In the city of Boston is tlie old establislied and successtui 
firm of Messrs. Chits. E. Hall & Co., whose office, salesrooms and 
works are eligibly situ.ated on Cluarlestown Street. This business 
was established a quarter of a century ,ago by Mr. Chas. E. Hall. 
Ill 18C8 Mr. M. Moran became a partner, and in 1888 Messrs. W. 
J. Coogan, F. L. Magiiiie and M. J. Driscoll were admitted into 
partnersliip. the firm being known by the style and title of Cli.as. 
li. Hall & Co. The works have an area ot 15,000 square feel, and are 
fully equipped with the latest improved machinery and appliances- 
Here 250 skilled artisans are employed, and the machinery is driven 
by a powerful steam engine. Messrs. Chas. E. Hall & Co. import ex- 
tensively the finest lt,ali.an. and deal also in Vermont and Tennes- 
see, and all the other American m.arbles. They manufacture all 
kinds of mantels, altars, dados, tiling, plumbers' slabs, soapstone 
sinks and tubs and all kinds ot interior marble and soapstone work. 
The firm are prepared to turnisli any grade of marble work from 
the plainest to the most elaborate. Tlieir references in Boston 
are; S. S. Pierce's new building, Huntington Avenue; Safe De- 
posit Vaults, No. 87 Boylston Street; Burnham Building, Tremont 
Street; Tlie Boston Tavern ; Hougliton & Button's new building; 
Boston Post Office and Sub-Treasury; Boston Custom House. 
Elsewhere' Union Hallway .'■ttition, Portland, Me.; State War and 
N.avy Department. W.ashington, D. C. ; United States Court House 
and Post Office. N.ashville.Tcnn.; United States Court House and 
Post Office, Utica, N. Y'.; United States Court House and Post 
Office, Austin, Texas; United States Appraisers Stores, San Fran- 
cisco, Cal. Estimates are promptly furnished and contracts taken 
for work of any magnitude, while care, reliability and moderate 
prices are always guaranteed. The partners are all natives of 
Massachusetts. They are highly regarded in trade circles for 
their artistic skill, industry and just metliods. Tlieir patronage 
extends througliout the United States and Canada and is steadily 
increasing owing to the superiority of their productions, 

HM. BATES & WALLEY, Stock Brokers. No. 51 State 
Street.— Among the most enterprising and popular firms 
^ of stock brokers in Boston are Messrs. H. M. Bates & W,al- 
ley, whose experience, perfected facilities .ind infinenlial 
connections entitle them to tlie contimied confidence and patron- 
age both of operators and investors. The business w.as established 
upw.ards of twenty two years ago by Mr. H. M. Bates and Henshaw 
B. Walley. In 1876 Messrs. Bates and Walley lormed the existing 
copartnership and bung to bear every qualification for the carry- 
ing on ot a stock commission business. Tliey bring to bear the 
widest range of pr.actical experience, perfected facilities and 
influenti.al connections in all the leading financial centres of the 
country. They trans.act a general business, promptly filling all 
orders for the purcluase or sale of bonds, stocks, or miscellaneous 
securities exclusively on commission, and through their corres- 
pondents promptly execute all orders in New York, Phil.adelphia 
and San Francisco, giving the utmost care and attention to the 
interests of their customers, who include ,a number of the leading 
capitalists and investors of New England and Boston. Mr. Bates 
h.as been an active member of the Boston Stock Exchange since 
18C6, he and Mr. Walley enjoy the confidence and esteem of the 
leading financial circles and are worthy representatives ot the 
Boston stock market. The firm's offices are centrally located in 
the Merchants' Exchange Building, and orders and inquiries relat- 
ing to intended investments receive the immediate p-^rsonal atten- 
tion ot the partners, and no house is better able to attend to the 
Interests of customers either in the city or in any section of Nev» 
England than that of this honorable and responsible firm. 



116 



ILLUSTRATED BOSTON. 



NATIONAL MORTGAGE AND DEBENTURE COMPANY, 
Samuel N. Brown, Viesident; George May, Treasurer; No. 
51 State Street.— This company is tlie only corpoiation of 
the kind, having a Massachusetts perpetual charter. It 
was organized in 1886 with an autliorized capital of $500,0(10, of 
whicli S250,000 has been paid in. The following gentlemen, wlio 
are widely and favorably known in financial and mercantile cir- 
cles for their prudence, executive ability and integrity are tlie 
oHicers and directors, viz; Officers, Saimiei N. Brown, president; 
William P. Fowler, vice-president; George M.ay, treasurer ; Car- 
roll N. Beal, general manager; Geo. Y. Jolinson, general agent. 
Directors: Samuel N. Brown, of Fairbanks, Brown & Co., No. 83 
Milk Street, Boston ; William P. Fowler, lawyer. No. f State St reet, 
Boston ; George May, treasurer (formerly cashier First National 
Bank, St. Johnsbury, Vt.) ; Carroll N. Beal, manager (president 
Kansas Mortgage Company): Frank E. Cordley, of Young & Ful- 
ler, No. 1^1 Devonshire Street, Boston; Clark W. Hatch, of 
Hatch & Woodman, State and Kilby Streets, Boston; Charles 
A. Rogers, of Kogers A. Co., Milk Street, corner Pearl; Sam- 
uel K. Heyvvood, president People's Savings Bank, Worcester 
Mass.; Eli;is S. Seals, of Beals, Torrey & Co., Boston, Nortli Wey. 
mouth and Milwaukee: John E. Mulvane, president of Bank of 
Topeka, Topeka, Kansas; Charles P. Searle, lawyer, No. 70 Kilby 
Street, Boston ; Charles L. James, James & Abbot. No. 07 State 
Street, Boston ; Charles J. Glidden, treasurer Erie Telephone Co , 
Lowell, Mass. This responsible company has likewise made 
arrangements, whereby tlie Interests and capital of the Kansas 
Mortg.age Company have been consolidated witli those of the 
National Mortgiigf aiid Debenture Company. The Kans.as com- 
p.iny was one of the earliest pioneers, having begun loaning money 
upon farms and improved city properties in the west in 1869 as a 
private flrm, and continued actively therein to the date of consoli- 
dation two years ago. Its career has been marked by success and 
conservatism, while the results have been highly satisfactory to all 
who have had business relations with it. The National Mortg.age 
and Debenture Company is only authorized by its charter. First 
—To make loans of money secured by first mortgage, or deed of 
trust upon real estate. Second— To sell and dispose of the fccuri- 
ties so taken, and guarantee the payment thereof Third— To 
issue collateral trust or debenture bonds, and secure the payment 
of the same by the assignment of the securities owned by it. In 
the transaction of the business it is authorized to pursue the cor- 
poration is required to so conduct its affairs:— First— That no loans 
be made for a sum greater than half the cash value of the property 
securing the same. Second— That all moneys loaned shall be 
secured by mortgages or deeds of trust, which are perfect first liens 
upon the property covered thereby. Third— That the securities 
assigned for the benefit of the holders of the company's collateral 
trust, or debenture bonds, shall exceed the amount of such bonds 
in the ratio of one hundred to ninety. Fourth— That a guarantee 
fund, equal to one fourth of the capital of the company, must be 
created and kept invested in only such securities as the savings 
banks of Mass;iclmsetts are permitted to invest in. Fifth— That 
all real estate acquired by the corporation, through enforcing the 
collection of any loan made, shall be sold witlun a reasonable 
time. The corporation is also required by its charter, to make 
stated returns to the Secretary of the Commonwealth, showing its 
true condition, and is at .any and all times subject to be audited 
and examined by the Commissioner of Corporations, who is author- 
ized to take proceedings in the interest of the holders of the cor- 
poration's securities whenever, in his judgment, it is necessary to 
do so. Through a complete consolidation of interests. Kan.sas Mort- 
gage Co., of Topeka has now became the general western depart- 
ment of the National Mortgage and Debenture Co.. and its capable 
and experienced force is now engaged in making loans, which 
form the basis of the business of both companies, that of furnishing 
investors with ;in unusually desirable line of high class securities 
as follows: first mortgage loans and collateral trust bonds. Trust 
conditions: As trustee for the bondholders and custodian of the 
pledged collaterals, an old and favorably known eastern corpora- 
ation, the Boston Safe Deposit and Trust Company, has been 
selected, and has entered into a written agreement whereby it 
undertakes that no bonds shall be certified save those for which 
collateral deposit has been made; to inspect the mortgages .as 
deposited, and accept none for the trust save those which fully 



conform to the standard fixed by the agreement; to maintain the 
proper ratio between the outstanding certihed bonds and the col- 
lateral deposit, and, in emergency, to realize upon the deposit, 
either by sale or collection, and use the proceeds in redemiition of 
the bonds. Each bond issued by the corporation recites the trust 
conditions on its face, and bears a certificate from the trustees to 
the effect that it is one of the bonds referred to and that the col- 
lateral deposit, to secure payment thereof, has been duly made. 
The collateral deposit: Tlie mortgage loans which make up the 
collateral trust deposit are carefully selected by the investing 
department of the coiupany, and are secured by first mortgage 
upon choice productive properties in the best agricultural sections 
of the country. With every possible legislative safeguard thrown 
around its operations, b,acked by ample capital, having an exten- 
sive acquaintance in, ana full information concerning all the 
desirable fields for investment, and the pr.actical knowledge 
requisite to the proper management of the interests of its clients, 
the corporation invites those having funds to place at interest to 
give the securities wliich it offers fair consideration, and will 
cheerfully furnish all who ask, by letter or in person, the fullest 
information concerning its methods, and the results already 
attained; and by adhering to those lines, which long experience has 
clearly proven thoroughly safe and legitimate, and which have uui- 
forraly produced the desired results, it can confidently assure all 
its patrons of the future of such funds as may be committed to its 
care. Full information regarding the company's bonds svill be 
sent upon application, and all inquiries relative to fields of opera- 
tion, business methods, etc., are cheerfully replied to. Besides 
the general offices of the company its securities are on sale at var- 
ious places throughout the country, notably: I. W. Parker, 
Kooms Nos. 31 and 3'2, Clark's Block, Natick, Mass; I. M. Board- 
man, Belfast, Maine; C. C. Chapman, Oxford Building, Portland, 
Maine ; Warner & Cocks, No. 45 Broadway, New York ; Rupert & 
Philips, Westminister, Pa.; W. A. Stone, No. 27 White's Opera 
House, Concord, N. H.; James D. Lane, No. 24 Wieting Block, 
Syracuse, N. Y. ; L. B, Tillotson, Cazenovia, N. Y. ; Maynard Sum- 
ner, Merchants National Bank, Rockland, Maine; Alex. D. Leete, 
No. 72 Westminister Street, Providence, E. I. ; Blake, Barrows & 
Brown, No. 9 Central Street, Bangor. Maine; E. L. Scott, West- 
field, Mass.: L. L.Keith, Machias, Maine; Frank Nelson, Calais, 
Maine ; N. B. Nutt, Eastport, Maine ; John H. Humphreys, Bath- 
Savings Institution, B;ith, Maine; R. W. Swift, First N,ational 
Bank, Provincetown .Mass ; general western office, Kansas Mort- 
gage Co.. No. 109 Sixtli Avenue, East Topeka, Kansas. 

AN. EEYNOLDS & CO., Manufacturers and Dealers in Fine 
Oils, No. 382 Atlantic Avenue.— A representative house is 
I that of Messrs. A. N. Reynolds & Co., the well-known 
manufacturers and dealers in fine oils for all purposes, 
lubricating compounds and greases, which li.as been in successful 
operation for a period of twelve years, and enjoys a large and in- 
fluential trade, at both wholesale and retail, In this city and 
throughout all the New England States. The premises occupied 
comiirise a spacious store and basement, and unsurpassed facili- 
ties are ,at hand for handling .and storing the immense and valua- 
ble stock that is here carried. This stock comprises all kinds of 
illuminating, engine, spindle, sperm, lubricating, linseed and 
other oils, compounds and greases, which are of the best quality 
known to the trade. The oils offered by this firm have from the 
first been recognized as the best that can be used for cylinder, 
engine, spindle and general machinery works, and are all guaran- 
teed pure and maintained at the highest standard of excellence. 
The lubricating compound of this firm is the outcome of tlie de- 
mand of machinery users for a lubricant that would effectually 
prevent wear and tear and give the best results with the greatest 
economy. It is warranted not to gum nor to contain any acid or 
deleterious substance. It requires less attention and lasts many 
times longer than anything of the kind in the market. The trade 
of the house in these valuable specialties h,as developed to gre.it 
proportions, including among its customers numerous leading mill 
and factory corpor<ations, I'ailway and steamship companies, steam 
users and manufacturers all over New England. Jlr. Reynolds, 
the active member of the flrm, was born in New York State, and is 
a member of the Boston Oil Association and stands very high in all 
circles. 



THE METROPOLIS OF NEW ENGLAND. 



117 



THE QUINCY, Geo. G. Mann, Proprietor.— The Quincy is one of 
the representative institutions and a feature ol Boston, and 
as a magnificent liotel has no rival anywliere in the United 
States, conibinini; as it does in the most perfect manner 
every comfort, elegance and convenience with the refined, quiet 
atmosphere of the best circles of home life. Tlie Quincy was estab- 
lished seventy years ago and has always been a favorite stopping 
place for tlie eminent in every profession, branch of business, and 
tliose in public life. Repe.ated enlargements of this fine hotel have 
at different periods been necessitated to meet the growing demands 
(if tlie public, and it is now one of the largest on the continent. 
Its internal arrangements and furnishings are also of the best, and 
the house under tlie able, experienced proprietorship of Mr. 
George G.Mann, is (he best kept, most popular and comfortable 
hotel in New England. In 1874, Mr. J. W. Johnson and Mr. George 
G. Mann became sole proprietors under the name and style of J. W. 
Johnson & Co., aud it was under their vigorous, capable regime 



hotel of vast dimensions, its seven floor3 covering an area of 23.000 
square feet eacli, and there are 500 rooms for guests, adapted to 
every requirement, and many arranged en suite, meeting the 
wants 01 families and prominent guests. The utmost care and at- 
tention has been bestowed in their fitting up and furnisliing, and 
they offer the most comfortable accommodations In Boston. 'Ihe 
Quincy is conducted jointly on the American and European plan.s, 
and in either case tlie house offers substantial inducements not 
duplicated elsewhere. The cuisine of the Quincy is made the con- 
stant study of the most famous of caterers, while a French chef 
and experienced staff of assistants, meet the demands of the elabor- 
ate bills of fare for which this representative liouse isso renowned. 
In fact tlie great feature of this house is the table, whicli is unsur- 
passed by any first-class hotel on tlie continent. Every thing is on 
themost liberal scale and immense quantities of suppliesare used, 
the beef of tlie hotel for one year being $76,000, from $400 to $700 per 
week being spent for poultry, while eighteen to twenty-two bushels 




THE 

QUINCY. 

AMERICAN 

AND EUROPEAN 

PLANS. 

500 ROOMS. 

J. W. Jolinsou 6l Co. 



J. IV. Johnson. 



George G. Mann. 



th.at the Quincy began to make such rapid progress. Both proprie- 
tors were exceedingly popular, and both had mastered every detail 
of the modern art of hotel keeping. The lamented decease of Mr. 
Johnson occurred in 1886, since wiiich date, Mr. Mann as pro- 
prietor has effleiently carried on the business and run the hotel at 
the same high standard of excellence. The Quincy is a magnifi- 
cent specimen of architectural achievement, its solid and ornate 
stone front, rising to a height of seven stories, surmounted by an 
elegant buttressed clock tower, and having on one side, a series of 
beautiful bow windows capped by dome and flagstaff, which is 128 
feet six inches in length, and one solid piece. No pains orexpense 
have been spared in the fitting up of the interior. Every modern 
accessory of the decorator, the cabinet maker and the upholsterer 
have been utilized, and the house is a beautiful and artistic exhibit 
of the most advanced achievements in the above lines. Marble 
wainscots and stair-cases, mosaic tiled floors, frescoed ceilings, 
elaborately decorated walls and furniture in keeping, characterize 
the public apartments and corridors of the Quincy. It embraces 
every modern improvement, gas, electric light, safety passenger 
and freight elevators, which run day and night, and guests com- 
ing by late trains, at tliree and four o'clock in the morning, can 
take the elevator to the seventh story, electric bells, etc., 
being a few of the conveniences, while under one roof are 
gathered all the accessories to complete hotel life. In the 
basement is the engine room, a large steam laundry, barber 
shop fitted up at an expense of $20,000, and gents' toilet fitted 
up at an expense of $10,000, ceiling and walls of solid mirrors, 
and solid marble, no wood work except door and seat. On 
the main floor are the office, bar and cafe carrying the choic- 
est stock in Boston; billiard room, smoking room, etc. On 
the second floor are the magnificently furnished suits of par- 
lors, luxurious in their equipment, likewise handsome club- 
rooms. The spacious and attractive dining h.all Is on the first 
floor, with the finest restaurant in Boston attached. The Quincy is a 



of potatoes are used in a day. the potatoes being purchased by the 
car load of 3,000 bushels. Three tons of butter per month is used 
ifiid from 100 to 150 dozens of eggs per day. Twenty tuns of sugar 
is bought in one order and canned goods are bouglit by the car 
load, the house itself putting up POO bushels of pears forthe table 
each season. Flour is bought by the 600 barrels or carload, .and 
every thing else is done on the most magniHcent scale. All the 
preserves served here are home-made, a specialty being made of 
strawberry juice for ice cream, of wliich about 200 gallons is kept 
on hand in cold storage, (while most hotels use some artificial 
coloring to produce the same effect,) and which is a delicious fruit 
lor the table. All the beef used in the Quincy. is selected by Mr. 
Geo. G. Mann, who is one of the best judges of meat. This beef 
is put in cold storage from three to four weeks before being 
used, they having thirteen immense ice houses in the hotel, 
which takes from ten to tliirty tons of ice per day. Mr. Mann 
has made a life study of the cuisine, covering a period of over 
twenty-five years. The wines, liquors and cigars handled are of a 
superior quality, and in f.act everything connected witli the house 
is of the very best. Many notable dinners liave been held here in 
honor of the great men in every branch of public, literary or 
dramatic life, and the most celebrated statesmen, authors', .actors, 
members of the European aristocracy, clergy, etc., liave been and 
are now guests of the Quincy when in Boston. The registers con- 
tain thousands of the prominent names of the age, and under Mr. 
Mann's able management, the Quincy is, as never before enjoying 
a patronage of tlie most extensive and profitable character. Mr. 
Mann is noted for his superior executive methods and watchful 
attention to enforcing a thorough system of management, this 
hotel with upwards of 300 help and servants running smoothly and 
in perfect order, a fact often spoken of by parties stopping at tlie 
house, meeting the wants of the traveling public, and at rates 
which are extremely moderate, the unrivalled character of the 
accommodations being considered. 



118 



ILLUSTRATED BOSTON 



JAMES GOODMAN & CO., Fire Insurance Agency, No. 46 Con- 
gress Srreet.— Tlie City or Boston is one of the principal cen- 
tres in tlie United Slates for lire insnrance. Tli is, all agree, 
can be secured only tlirongli tiie medium of well regulated, 
honestly conducted and sound fire Insurance companies ; those that 
not only i.ssue policies, butadjustand pay losses as soon as theyare 
stated and clearly shown, Many of the leading insurance corpora- 
tions place their interests in llie c<mtrol of gentlemen who have se- 
cured honorable reputations in this unportant branch of business. 
Prominent auKmg those in Boston, is the old established and relia- 
ble linn of Messrs. James Goodman & Co. This business was orig- 
inally established in 1848 by Kent A Parsons, who were succeeded 
by Kent & Goodman. Eventually, in 1872. on the death of Mr. 
Kent Mr. .James Goodman admitted his son, Mr. W. A. Goodman 
into partnership, the Arm being known by the style and title of 
James Goodinan & Co. The firm represents the following first-class 
and substantial companies, viz:— The Olens Falls, of Glens Falls 
N. Y.; Fire Insurance Company of the County of Philadelphia; 
Mercliants' and Farmers' Mutual, of Worcester, Mass., etc. As 
practical and experienced underwriters. Messrs. James Goodman & 
Co. are prepared to offer substantial inducements and advantages 
to patrons including low rates and liberally drawn policies, wlnle 
all losses sustained are equitably adjusted and promptly paid 
through their agency. They undertake tlie entire charge of the 
insurance of estates, stores, office blocks, dwellings, merchandise, 
and business firms, placing and distributing risks among solid, 
and reliable companies only, renewing policies when expired 
and generally relieving property owners and merchants of all care 
and trouble in this important respect. Mr. James Goodman has 
l)een a director of the Merchants' & Farmers' Mutual Insurance 
Company, of Worcester, since 1876. He was for many years special 
agent of the Merchants' Fire Insurance Company, and for three 
years was secretary of the Charter Oak Fire Insurance Company, 
of Hartford, Conn. He is a popular member of the Underwriters' 
Association of Boston, while his son, Mr. Wni. A. Goodman, is a 
member of the rate committee of the same association. Mr. James 
Goodman was born in Springfield, while Mr. W. A. Goodman is 
a native of New York. The former was for a period of three 
years connected with tlie city government as councilman, and dur- 
ing that time never was absent at a meeting, never failed to res- 
pond at roll call, and never left the meeting until adjournment. 

KENNETH IKVING, Flour and Mill Products, and .Millers' 
and Shippers' Agent, No. 214 State Street.— The activity 
and jirogress shown in the Boston flour and grain market 
is largely due to the enterprise and energy of our leading 
brokers and commission merchants. Prominent among this number 
is Mr. Kenneth Irving, flour bioker, millers' and shippers' agent, 
at No. 214 State Street. Mr. Irving established his business in 1884. 
He transacts a general brokerage and commission business and is 
especially well known in this market asagent for flour mills , and 
grain shippers in all parts of the west, north-west and New York 
State. He sells car-lots only and has developed a large and grow- 
ing trade in the city, and throughout the New England States, 
Muritime Provinces and Canada. He has eveiy facility for doing 
the business in the best manner possible, and his long experience 
with and knowledge of the wants of the buyers, makes him a most 
useful correspondent. Correspondence is desired and consign- 
ments are in all cases carefully and profitably handled, and 
promptly acknowledged. The influence of this house on the trade 
Is steadily on the increase, and those interested in establishing re- 
lations with it may depend on receivmg prompt and liberal tieat- 
ment, and other advantages difficult to be secured elsewhei-e. 
Mr. Irving, who is a native of Nova Scotia, has also had a long 
business experience in the west, the benefits of which to the cus- 
tomers who do busine.ss through him is manifested in many ways. 
He is an active member of the Boston Chamber of Commerce, al- 
ways manifesting a deep interest in all measures conducive to the 
welfare of tliat important institution. 

FKANKUN S. PHELPS, Insurance Agent, No. .53 State Street, 
Kooni 4 Merchants Exchange.— At the present day the pro- 
tection afforded by the leading fire insurance companies, is 
without question one of the most potent influences in the de- 
velopment of trade and commerce. In this connection we desire to 



make special reference in this commercial review of Boston, to 
Mr. Franklin S. Phelps, state agent for Massachusetts for the Mu- 
tual Fire Insurance Co. of New York, and the Fire Association of 
New Y'ork, wliose offices are centrally located at No. 53 State 
Street. Mr. Phelps established this business in 1855, and has now a 
number of suburban and local agents under his control. The Mu- 
tual Fire Insurance Co. returns the entire profits of its business to 
policy holders in scrip, without liability to assessment. The scrip 
issued in 1883 was redeemed August 1st, 1888, at par with 6 per cent, 
accrued interest. The Fire Association of New York returns to 
policy holders SO per cent, of the proHts without liability to iisses.s- 
ment. In .addition to attending to liis insuiBnce business, Mr. 
Phelps deals in Georgia farm and real estate first mortgages, and 
has alw.ays completed loans on hand and for sale at his offices. The 
terrible shrinkage in nearly allkindsof securities,and theconst.ant 
and increasing failures of banks, and disasters to railroad and 
manufacturing companies, have justly created distrust, and care- 
ful, far-seeing capitalists of the north are now turning their atten- 
tion southward where reliable and safe investments in real estate 
loans can be m.ade at eight per cent, inteiest. Mr. Phelps is tli« 
Boston agent for Mr. C. P. N. Barker, of Atlanta, Georgia, who is 
not only a wealthy capitalist, but has given his attention for up- 
wards of a quarter of a century to real estate first mortgages. Mr. 
Phelps is highly esteemed in business circles for his promptness, 
ability and just methods, fully meeting the influential patronage 
secured in this growing and valuable enterprise. 

C FOSTER & SON, Provisions and Groceries, Meats, Produce 
and Fruits, Nos. 336 and 338 Atlantic Avenue, Head of 
, Howe's Wharf —An old est.ablished and excellent general 
provision and grocery store is that of C Foster & Son, 
located at Nos. 336 and 338 Atlantic Avenue, which for over tliirty- 
six years h.as maintained an enduring liold on public favor and pa- 
tronage. It is. in fact, one of tlie oldest and best known establish- 
ments of the kind in this part of the city, and has a very large and 
growing trade. Tills flourishing business was started in 18.52 by 
Christopher Foster, the present senior member, who conducted the 
same alone up to 1882, when he admitted into partnership his son, 
Henry W. Foster. The firm occupy a fine 25x100 foot store and 
basement. They were formerly located at Liverpool Wharf, where 
they were burned out in the big fire of 1872. They carry constantly 
on hand an extensive flrst-class stock, which comprises prime 
fresh beef, mutton, lamb, and pork, corned, salt and smoked meats 
of all kinds, lard and provisions, choice creamery butter, clieese 
and fresh eggs, fruits and vegetables of every variety, fine teas, 
coffees and spices, canned goods, dried fruit, best brands of west- 
ern flour, and everything comprehended in staple and fancy gro- 
ceries; yacht and family supplies being a specially. About fifteen 
in help aie employed, while several teams are in regular ser- 
vice supplying customers throughout Dorchester, Roxbury and 
all parts of the South End and Back Bay, and during the sum- 
mer months keep several teams running to Hull and Nanta.sket 
Beach. Orders by telephone (No. 1091) or otherwise receive imme- 
diate attention. 

GH. LLOY'D. Manufacturing Optician, No. 325 Washington 
Stieet.— There is probably no business requiring a 
greater degree of intelligence than that of the inanu 
facturing optician, and among those In Boston there are 
probably none more fully conversant therewith, than Mr. G. H. 
Lloyd who has devoted many years to perfecting himself with all 
th.at pertains to it. He commenced operations on his own ac- 
count in February last, and has since become well known to the 
medical profession and among oculists, and is doing a large, 
steadily growing business. His establishment at No. 325 Wa.sh- 
ington Street, is perfectly fitted up and is well equipped in 
every particular. Mr. Lloyd, who is an expert optician, manu- 
factures to order, complicated lenses and has all the latest im- 
provements in spectacles and eye-glasses, .and makes to order trial 
sets of glasses and has a general assortment of many designs in 
trial frames, and is a practical expert in adjusting gl.asses to suit 
the sight of the eye, and also inserts artificial eyes, and re- 
polishes old artificial eyes .and makes a fine display of all kinds 
of optical goods. Mr. G. H. Lloyd, is a native of Nova Scotia, 
and has lived in Boston many years. 



THE METROPOLIS OF NEW ENGLAND, 



119 



THE BOSTON TAVERN, No. 347 Washington Street (Within), 
M. P. Kobinson and J. A Fitzsimnions, Proprietois.— In 
spealcing of the relative merits of New York and Boston 
hotels, their capacity, management and methods, it must 
now be stated, as an important and highly creditable fact, that 
Boston has far the most magnificent and luxurious gentlemen's 
hotel, there being nothing like it, either in Nevv York or any- 
where else on the continent. This splendid consummation of hos- 
pitable ide.as with practical business methods and marked ability 
of management is embodied in the already popular and deservedly 
fam 'US Boston Tivern, located at No. 347 Washington Street 
(within), which location furnishes quietness, although situated in 
the very business centre of the city, like the largest banking houses 
and hotels in London. Tliis hotel is the only one in Boston so 
located, and first threw open its doors on January 28th, 1889. 
It Is an important event to chronicle in Boston history, as on this 
historic site is reared one of the finest specimens of architecture in 
the city, .specially planned, arranged and designed throughout its 
imposing eight stories, as the model bachelor's hostelry of America. 
Work on the tavern was begun in September, 1887, the owner, 
deciding to erect here a structure that would fully meet the most 
advanced requirements of ttxe lessees, Mr. Marvin P. Robinson 
and Mr. James A. Fitzsimmons, both Boston hotel men of vast 
practical experience in the highest plane of the business. The 
building, which cost fully $250,000, is eight lofty stories in height. 
On the east it fionts on Ordway Place for 85 feet; tlie north side 
lias a frontage of 61 feet on Piovince Court, while the other sides 
have abundance of light and air, rendering it exceptionably 
desirable for guests. The area of floor space is about .5.000 square 
ieet; the exterior is of brick, with handsome Ohio freestone 
trimmings, and the height from curb to loof is 102 feet. The 
architect, Mr. Sanmel J. F. Thayer, in planning the Boston Tav- 
ern, made a special study to secure to every room wiiidows 
•opening into the outside air, and to insure the house being abso- 
lutely fireproof. He hiis succeeded admirably, and future hotel 
architects can profitably study the Boston Tavern in detail. The 
exterior of the first story is of iron columns filled in with brick, 
while above are thick vaulted walls of brick and freestone. The 
floors of the building are laid upon iron beams and terracotta 
arches, and .all interior partitions are of incombustible materials. 
The floors and walls, being vaulted and deadened, the rooms are 
practically sound-proof. The interior was planned in consonance 
with the suggestions of the lessees, who.se long practical experi- 
ence has rendered them recognized authorities. The office, cafe, 
bar and smoking rooms are situated on the giound floor, and are 
reached direct from the main entrance. The air of quiet elegance 
and refined taste that characterizes these apartments has no equal 
elsewhere in Boston. The walls are finished in light-tinted mar- 
ble; the wainscots and trimmings are of mahogany, whilelhe floors 
are paved with marble tiles to matcli the walls. In the smoking- 
room is hung Pope's mammoth oil painting, " The Calling of the 
Hounds," while in tlie cafe is one of Gallison's marine vieivs. The 
cafe comfortably seats 100 guests. The kitchen and serving rooms 
are close adjoining, and models in their line, thoroughly venti- 
lated, so that no odors reach other parts of the house. The mag- 
nificent banquet rooms are desirably situated on the second floor. 
They are the most advanced exponents of architectural skill and 
decorators' and furnishers' arts. The suite can be thrown intoone 
grand hall, luiving a seating capacity of over 150. There are 125 
elegantly furnished rooms tor guests, including many en suite, 
with toilet room and bath attached, while each floor has a separate 
bath-room and closets accessible from the corridors. Every mod- 
ern improvement known to science has been introduced here, 
including two safety passenger elev.ators, electric light, electric 
bells, steam heat, etc. The sanitary appliances are perfect, all 
pipes being thoroughly trapped and ventilating through the roof. 
This is the beau ideal home for gentlemen— Ihe most advanced of 
its kind in America— and which has become instantly popular with 
and patronized by the leading circles of male society. The cuisine 
is the most elaborate in Boston ; the culinary arrangements are 
perfect, being under the guidance of the distinguished chef, 
August Gris.setti. A thorough system of organization is enforced 
and the service of the Tavern is unrivalled. Mr. Marvin P. Rob- 
inson has iiad vast experience in the highest plane of hotel man- 
agement, and resigned the chief clerkship of the Hotel Brunswick 



to take the proprietorship with Mr. Fitzsimmons here. He w,as 
formerly connected with the Tremont and other first-class hotels, 
and is noted for the highest order of executive capacity and 
energy of character. Mr. James A. Fitzsimmons materi;illy con- 
tributed to the prosperity of the barker House during his thirty 
years experience therewith, having the advantages of a training 
under Mr. Harry D. Parker. He resigned from a responsible post 
in the St. James Hotel, New York, to join forces with Mr. Robin- 
son in conducting the Boston Tavern, and is specially qualified for 
the post. The proprietors have secured experienced and popul.ar 
assistants in Mr. S. B. Sabin, cashier, Mr. H. P. Doane, chief clerk, 
and Mr. C. W. Bickford, chief steward. This harmonious and tal- 
ented executive force insures the utmost degree of comfort to 
guests. Messrs. Robinson and Fitzsimmons have thoroughly m<as- 
tered the difficult art of modern hotel keeping. They are in Ihe 
front rank of the business, and have a certainty of achieving an 
international reputation. 

BRINE & NORCROSS' Reliable Stores, Hosiery, Gloves, Sniiill 
Wares, Etc., Nos. 17 and 18 Tremont Row, Nos.70aiid 7i Tre- 
mont Street, Nos. 1 and 3 Tremont Street and Nos. 660 and 
662 Washington Street.— A house that has been established 
tor ninety years must necessarily engage and attract more than 
ordinary attention from the compilers of this review of the com 
merce and industries of the city of Boston. Such an establishment 
is th.at of Messrs. Brine & Norcross, whose extensive haberdashery 
establishments are eligibly located. This widely-known and repre- 
sentative house was established in 1798, by J. Leach, in the 
old ScoUiiy Building (formerly located where the statue now 
stands), who w,as succeeded by J. Holmes Si Co. and 
John Harrington and William H. Brine under the style 
and title of John Harrington & Co. This firm carried on busi- 
ness with great success for twenty-two years, when Mr. Wil- 
liam H. Brine and J. Henry Norcross formed the present co- 
partnership. Mr. J. Henry Norcross had previously been a mem- 
ber of the firm of Lewis Coleman & Co., tor fifteen years. The 
stores are sp,acious and are elegantly equipped, and possess every 
convenience for the accommodation of the extensive and valuable 
stock, which has no superior in this country for quality, freshness, 
reliability and general excellence. Two hundred assistants, sales- 
ladies, etc., are employed in the various departments, and the stores 
are the favorite resorts of ladies of every class of society. The stock, 
which has been carefully selected, includes all kinds of liaberdash- 
ery goods, small wares, fancy goods, gloves, laces, tapes, piii.s, 
needles, thread, hosiery, jewelry, etc. The firm have brought into 
every-day practice a thoroughly efficient system of organization, 
which conduces greatly to the successful prosecution of this exten- 
sive business. The stock is alw.ays complete in every department, 
and is constantly renewed by fresh importations, and something 
new, beautiful and useful can always be found upon the shelves 
and counters, while the prices quoted in all cases are extremely 
moderate. Messrs. Brine and Norcross are both natives of Boston. 
They are very popuhar, socially and coinmerchally, and bear the 
highest of reputations .as business men and private citizens. 

1NGALLS, BROWN & CO., Leather, No. 137 Summer Street.— 
In referring to the business transacted in leather in Boston 
we have particul.ar occasion to note the house of Ingalls, 
Brown & Co. It was established in 1881. Mr. John B. In- 
galls, who has been identified with the trade tor more than eigh- 
teen years, and Mr. S. H. Brown, Jr., who has also had a long 
experience in the business, compose the firm. They are both 
natives of New England, and conduct their operations with that 
energy and careful attention, which has always distinguished 
them in their dealings and which have been the means of estab- 
lishing the prestige and reputation the house enjoys in commercial 
circles. They represent leading manufacturers of goat, kid and 
morocco of southern finish, and are well equipped for meeting the 
demands of the boot and shoe manufacturers, and control a large 
substantial permanent trade, widely diffused throughout New 
England. The business connections of the firm are first-class and 
the goods which tliey handle are superior in quality and very de- 
sir.able. The house will be found one of the best with which to 
form business relations, as the very lowest market prices are 
always quoted. 



120 



ILLUSTRATED BOSTON. 



YOUNG'S HOTEL, J. Reed Whipple, Esq., Proprietor; Court 
Square aud Court Street.— Boston has of recent years 
made rapid progress and notably so in the character ot 
her hotel accommodations. She is now, with the enlarged 
and maKniflcent Young's Hotel in her midst, fully the equal of 
New York with its famous old Fifth Avenue Hotel. For what that 
centre of social resort and of the best classes of the traveling 
public is to New York, Young's is to Boston. Young's Hotel has 
an interesting history. It was originally, and that was many 
years ago, known as Tafts Coffee House, and it was in 1845 that 
Mr. George Young succeeded to tlie proprietorship, renaming the 
establishment Y'oung's Hotel. It then entered upon a lengthy 
and prosperous career, noted for being a comfortable stopping 
place and its patronage at times taxing its limited capacity to the 
utmost. Eventually in 1S7G, Messrs. Hnll & Whipple succeeded to 
the proprietorship, the house then having but eighty-five rooms. 
The lirm were likewise the proprietors ot the Adams House and 
with the two establisliinents were doing a business of great mag- 
nitude. In 1884 they dissolved partnership, Mr. George H. Hall 
taking the Adams House, and Mr. J. Reed Whipple becoming sole 
proprietor of Young's. Mr. Whipple's regime has been one of 
exceptional ability and remarkably successful. He has made 
Young's, Boston's social pivot; we say this advisedly, for other 
places claim consideration, but an examination of the registers of 
Y'oung's Hotel and a knowledge of the famous clubs and promi- 
nent bodies that regularly dine aud meet here, it is manifest that 
this is the social sun round which the lesser social planets revolve. 
Since 1875, Mr. Whipple h.as been obliged to enlarge the hotel no 
less than four times. The alterations and extensions have been 
effected upon a liberal scale of space, and the bote' is big, broad 
and roomy every way. There are now 2.50 rooms, besides magnifl- 
cent and spacious dining halls, parlors, reading rooms, office, etc. 
The hotel comprises three connecting buildings, constructed of 
freestone, one fronting on Court Street and Court Square, and 
seven stories and basement in height, one on Court Avenue, five 
stories and basement in height, and opposite which are the new 
billiard room and bar, the finest and most elaborately fitted up in 
Boston. Young's Hotel is admirably pkanned and every portion is 
convenient of access. On the first floor are four of the largest 
sized dining rooms, three billiard parlors, etc. The decorations 
and outfit of the dining halls are most costly and elaborate, and 
harmonize with the rest of the artistic features of the house. The 
ladies' parlors and reception rooms, etc., are most richly furnished 
and everything is modern, stylish and in keeping with the most 
refined requirements. All the modern improvements have been 
introduced here, including two passenger elevators, steam heat, 
electric light, annunciators, repeating call bells, etc. There is a 
thorough system of organization enforced, and no less than 350 
employees are in attendance in the various departments. The 
service is perfect, and Mr. Whipple in this essential has no rival in 
the United States. The 250 rooms are all most comfortably and 
completely furnished, and many arranged en suite are elaborate 
in their appointments The house is conducted on the popular 
European plan, single rooms ranging from $1 to $8 per day, and 
double rooms or those en suite from $2 to $12 per day. The culi- 
nary department has received Mr. Whipple's special attention. 
He was determined to render the cuisine of Young's the finest 
in Boston and he has succeeded ; nowhere are such elaborate bills 
of fare served in such perfect form as here, the kitchens being in 
charge of a distinguished chef, and the dining rooms of a most 
eminent .steward. On an avei-age 2,500 persons dine here daily, 
and of the most critical classes, who all the more appreciate the 
excellence and liberality of the table. Among the many leading 
political and other clubs that dine here weekly or every other 
week are: the Massachusetts Club, New England Club, Norfolk 
Club, Middlesex Club, Essex Club, Paint and Oil Trade Club, etc. 
The registers contain the names of the most eminent politicians 
and professional men, from all over the country, and the reportor- 
ial errand is always first to Y'oung's corridors, where political and 
other happenings are first heard of. The executive staff of 
Young's Hotel is composed of the following gentlemen : Mr. W. H. 
La Pointe, chief clerk ;"Mr. C. F. Davy, book-keeper Mr. C. I. 
Lindsay, room clerk; Mr. H. H. Tirrell, cashier; Mr. CUaude M. 
Hart, book-keeper; Mr. F. E. Tibbets, room cashier; Mr. George 
H. Newton, cashier ; and Mr. Oscar F. Mercer, night clerk. They 



all bring to bear special qualifications for the discharge of their 
duties, and are deservedly popular. Mr. W H. La Pointe has 
been with the house for eighteen years. He has been h resident of 
Boston for twenty years past and for the last fourteen years has 
ably .and faithfully discharged the onerous duties devolving upon 
him as heiid clerk. A hotel man from his youth up, he is thor- 
oughly posted and ably supervises the running of this great estab- 
lishment. Things go smoothly, and every guest is under obliga- 
tions to Mr. La Pointe and his staff for favors rendered and courte- 
ous, prompt attention to every request. Y'oung's Hotel has an 
equipment that is perfect throughout. It is the leader in this 
field of enterprise, and under Mr Whipple's skilled proprietor- 
ship, has inaugurated a new era in the business. He w,as boi'n ia 
New Boston, N. H., and has had an experience in hotel manage- 
ment of twenty years duration, h.aving been steward in the Parker 
House for six years before becoming joint proprietor of Young's. 
He has made a thorough study of the difficult and complex art of 
modern hotel keeping, and that he has solved every problem s.atis- 
factorily is fully borne out by the marked popularity of Young's 
under his Individual guidance. He resides in his own house on 
Commonwealth Avenue, and like any other business man, devotes 
his full day to the personal direction of this magnificent hostlery. 

CA. CAMPBELL & CO, Coal, No. .59 Congress Street.— The 
commercial interests of Boston are intimately connected 
, with the coal trade, in which not only is large capital In- 
vested, but likewise the energy and enterprise of many of 
our influential citizens. Prominent among the number is the old 
established and representative firm of Messrs. C. A. Campbell & 
Co., whose offices are locatei at No. 59 Congress Street. This busi- 
ness was established twenty-eight years ago by Mr. Campbell, whO' 
possesses an intimate knowledge of the wants of the wholesale and 
retail trade of Boston and the adjacent cities. The yards and 
wharf are situated at Chelsea, Mass. Messrs. Campbell & Co. 
deals largely In anthracite and bituminous coal and wood. Tliey 
promptly coal steamships from barges, and likewise have a num- 
ber of first-class barges for lighterage purposes. Orders by mail or 
telegraph receive immediate attention, and dealers and manufac- 
turers can be promptly supplied with any quantity from a boat 
load to any smaller lot .at the lowest ruling market prices. They 
deal largely in the finest grades of anthracite, and employ in their 
yards a large number of workmen. Pine, oak and hickory wood 
are also sold by the load or cord, sawed and split to order in any 
size, and delivered to any part of the city. Mr. Campbell is a pop- 
ular member of the Boston Coal Exchange. Having thus briefly 
sketched the facilities of this house, it only remains to be added, 
that its business has ever been conducted on the sound principles 
of equity, and relations once entered into with it are sure to be- 
come not only pleasant but profitable and permanent. 

A FOX & CO., Manufacturers ot Cloth Hats and Caps, No. 
8fi Bedford Street —For enterprise, maiked skill and 
strictly honorable methods, no house has more speedily 
and permanently .attained a position of prominence and 
popularity than Messrs. A. Fox & Co., the widely-known manufac- 
turers of cloth hats and caps. The business was founded in 188'i 
by Messrs. A. and B. Fox, gentlemen of a wide range of practical 
experience in this line, and who early developed influential con- 
nections with a trade of great magnitude. They have their factory 
and salesroom centrally located at No. 86 Bedford Street, and where 
they employ upwards of twenty-five skilled hands in the manufac- 
ture of all styles and descriptions of cloth hats and caps. Their spe- 
cialty is children's goods, and in this line the trade recognizes them 
to be the leaders, whose methods and policy insure perfection in 
cut, workmanship and finish, and who ever maintain the highest 
standard of excellence. From their large and comprehensive 
stock the most critical trade buyers can be suited, and they are 
doing the largest business of any concern in New England in 
children's goods. Messrs. Fox have been permanent residents 
of Boston for the past eight years, and have ever retained the 
confidence of leading commercial circles. They exercise sound 
judgment in the selection of materials, and give close personal 
supervision over all the processes of manufacture, insuring to 
their patrons the best goods at the lowest prices, and who caa 
promptly fill the largest orders in any special line. 



THE METROPOLIS OF NEW ENGLAND. 



121 



STCRTEVANT MILL CO., Manufacturers of the Stiirtevant 
Mill, for Crushing and Pulverizing Ores, Phosphates, Etc., 
E. 0. Huxley, President, No. 89 M.ason Building.— This relia 
ble company are the proprietors and sole manufacturers of 
the famous Sturtevant Mill, which is absolutely unrivalled in the 
United States or Europe, for crushing and grinding ores, phos- 
phates, cement, and all other bard and refractory materials. The 
Sturtevant Mill Company was duly incorporated in 1882, under the 
Laws of Maine, with a paid-up capital of $300,000, and since its or- 
ganization has secured aliberal and influential patronage not only 
in the United States and Canada, but also in Me,\ico, Central and 
South America, Europe, Africa, Australia and New Zealand. The 
chief executive oHicers of the company, are E C. Huxley, president 



pies a space of three by ten feet. Receives of some kinds of 
rock, pieces three inches to five inches through; but for the 
harder rocks working best to the size of not above four inches 
square. Speed, 1,200 revolutions. Power, about forty horse 
power. Twentyinch Heads will crush and grind from two to 
twenty tons per hour, according to the fineness, and is equal in 
capacity to a seventy-stamp mill upon the same work. Weight 
about nine tons. Occupies a sp.ace four feet by fourteen feet, and 
is five and one-half feet in height. Tliis mill is truly a giant 
grinder. Receives rock from four to eight inches through, 
but works best on the harder rocks that are not over four 
inches. Speed, 900 revolutions. Power, about eighty horse- 
jHintr. TiR'se machines are now in operation upon a large scale. 




and manager, and W. H. Ellis, treasurer. The Boston office is 
situated at No. 89 Mason Building. The Sturtevant mill develops 
an entirely new principle, avoiding the usual wear and tear of 
machinery, and accomplishing in a much more rapid and thorough 
manner the work of a crusher and stamp mill combined. The 
above illustration gives a view of the machine as it appears in 
opei'ation: the material to be ground is conveyed through the hop- 
per at the top to the case A, filling the ease and tlie revolving 
cylinders or heads B, B, which, being put in motion, hurl their con- 
tents againts each otiier with sucli power thalf the rock is at once 
crushed to atoms. The mill does not grind the materials, but 
simply furnislies the power that compels the rocks to crush them- 
selves; consequently, the hardness of the rock does not affect the 
result, as it acts upon itself. The Sturtevant mills are made in 
three sizes, with heads from eight to twenty inches in diameterand 
vary in capacity according to size. A mill with eight-inch 
heads will grind from four hundred to two thousand pounds 
per hour, according to the fineness. Weight about eighteen hun- 
dred pounds, and can be bolted directly to a well-supported floor. 
Occupies a space three by eight feet, and is built for very heavy work. 
Will do all that a ten-stamp mill will do upon the same material. 
Speed, 180O revolutions per minute. Power, about twenty horse- 
power. A mill with twelve-inch heads will crush and grind from 
one to eight tons per hour, and is equal to a thirty-stamp battery 
doing the same class of work. Weighs about three tons. Occu- 



ilouig \aiious foims of gnnding, and can be seen at any time at 
woik upon the most difticult material,— ores, mattes, phosphates 
and cements. It will gne the ofticers much pleasure to show these 
mills to those who would like to see them at their everyday work. 
The mill has been put to the severest tests. At the Catasauqua 
Cement Company's Works near Allentown, Pa., in December last, 
two tons of wet quai'tz rock were pulverized in the short space of 
four minutes, a test that was regarded as one of the severest to 
which the mill could be put. The ease with which it did the work 
and the fineness to which it reduced the material fairly amazed all 
who witnessed the test. Still later six and and a half tons of iron 
ore were sent to the cement mill for the purpose of testing the 
crushing quality of the Sturtevant mill. The rock was of extraor- 
dinary hardness and there were those who doubted the ability of 
the mill to grind it. Finer screens had to be put in the mill for this 
puipose and when this was done the machinery was started. The 
rock was shoveled in and in thirteen minutes the ore was ground 
and deposited on the second floor of the building, with none ef the 
pieces larger than corn and two-thirds of it as fine as sand and 
finer. The test far exceeded in its results the anticipations of 
most of those present and won for the Sturtevant mill the most un- 
qualified praise. Three-quarters of an hour after the test the mill 
wiis again fixed for grinding cement and ground it at the rate of 
eighty barrels per hour. All who witnessed the workings of the 
mill went away satisfied that it is capable of doing all that is 



122 



ILLUSTRATED BOSTON. 



claimed tor it. Tlic Sturtev.ant mills are no toy machines that 
wear out after a few weeks' run, but giant grinders of uiiparralleled 
capacity, whether grinding coarse or fine, wliile one of their clilef 
merits is the slight wear, wliicli is reduced to aniinimuin,aiidtlielr 
simplicity renders them sate from damage in tlie hands of a com- 
mon meclianic. The mills are most highly endorsed by many 
prominent manufacturers, wlio have forwaided testimonial.': of the 
higliest cliaracter, and state that after using four years they are in 
as good condition practically as wlien first erected. All orders for 
these splendid mills are promptly tilled at extremely low prices, 
while entire satisfaction is guaranteed in every particular. 

WM. DEERING & CO., Grain and Grass-Cutting Machinery, 
Cliicago, III.; F. C. Piers, General Agent for New Eng- 
land, No. 80 South Market Street.— In surveying the wide 
field of manufacturers, in tlie line of agricultural imple- 
ments, grain and gr.ass-cutting machinery stand pre-eminent in 
Importance and utility. The largest and best known manufactory 
in tins branch of industry m the United States is tii.at of Messr.s. 
Wiiliam.Deering & Co., of Cliicago, 111., who are represented in 
Boston by Mr. F. C. Piers, the General Agent for New England. 
Tills agency has its oftlce and sample room at Nos. 80 South Market 
Street, and 71 Clinton Street, and was est.ablished in January 
1887. Mr. Piers, the general agent, has been connected with the 
house for the past ten years, and is thoroughly conversant with 
all the details of the business and the requirements of the 
trade. He occupies spacious quarters with the Atlas Ware- 
house and Storage Company, carrying a large and complete 
line of Win. Deering & Co.'s machines, besides a stock of repairs 
valued at $65,000, operating thirteen transfer houses through, 
out New England and having three hundred and si.\ty local 
agents in the same territory. The reputation of the Deering 
grain and grass-cutting machinery is world wide ; the competition 
among manufacturers of tills class of machinery has been and 
still Is very great, stimulating inventions, until more than three 
thousand patents have been granted in this country that pertain 
to this line alone. The Deering interest, however, moves steadily 
on, lengthening and strengthening its stakes, enlarging its commer- 
cial relations, increasing its capacities and tiicilities, and expand- 
ing its fame and popularity with coming generation.'^, undisturbed 
by competition, sliining only the brighter by comparison or con- 
trast. It has now but tew competitors in the land, and is abso- 
lutely without a peer. Six thousand people are employed in the 
business, and wherever tlie Deering machinery is introduced, 
their claim as to its superiority over that manufactured by other 
concerns, as well as the reputation of the manufacturers, is con- 
stantly extended and confirmed Mr Piers opened the Boston 
house in January, 1887; previous to that time no sales had been 
made by William Deering & Co. in New England. During 1887 
six hundred and eighty two machines were sold by Mr. Piers and 
his agents, followed in 1S88 by over three thousand five hundred 
sales. This is the best possible proof of the superiority of the 
Deering machines wlien brought into competition with old-estab- 
lished manufacturers who have had the control of this great agri- 
cultural territory without serious opposition for many years. Mr. 
Piers is prepared to oiler inducements to agriculturists and dealers 
as regards terms and quality, which challenge competition, and 
necessarily command the attention of careful buyers. His house 
in this city possesses unsurpassed facilities for filling all orders 
promptly, and attending to the wants of patrons with the greatest 
care and foretliought. Mr. Piers has gained the respect and con- 
fidence of a large circle of friends and patrons throughout New 
England during the past two years, and is certainly tlie right man 
in the right place. 

ADAMS, TAYLOR & CO., Foreign Commission and Wine Im- 
po.-ting Mercliants, No. 105 State Street.— The importance 
of using only the purest and best brands of wines and 
liquors is generally recognized, and the retail trade and 
druggists v/hich keep the superior grades of these goods are the 
ones to retain and build up the heaviest trade in their section. The 
oldest and leading house engaged in the wholesale branch of this 
trade in Boston is that of Messrs. Adams, Taylor & Co., located at 
No. 105 State Street. This firm are widely and deservedly promi- 
nent as foreign commission and wine-importing merchants, and 



have become justly celebrated for their able and honorable busi- 
ness policy. Tlie business was founded by Messrs. Foster & Tay- 
lor in 18.^9, the present firm succeeding to the control in 1871. The 
business premises comprise four floors, 25x100 feet each, fully sup- 
plied with every modern convenience for liandliiig and storing the 
goods, and giving abundant opportunity for meeting the most ex- 
tensive demand. Tliis firm are manufacturers' agents for Blue 
Grass, Royal and G. O. Blake's Bourbon County Kentucky Whis- 
kies, which are accounted among the purest and smoothest whis- 
kies made. They are guaranteed of tlie finest grade, and are 
strongly recommended by the medical profession for the use of 
invalids and comsumptives. A leading specialty is also made of 
Honeysuckle Gin, and cased goods of all kindsare largely handled. 
They import their fine wines and foreign liquors djrect from the 
most famous European houses, and sell their whiskies free or in 
bond. They supply a large, first-class and permanent trade 
throughout New England, both with old ryeand Bourbon whiskies, 
old gins and brandies, they specially import champagnes, clarets, 
ports and sherries, Bordeaux, Burgundy, Moselle and Madeira 
wines, and offer substantial inducements to customers as regards 
both reliability of goods and liber.xlity of terms and prices. The 
house is represented on the ro,ad by a corps of talented salesmen, 
and orders of any magnitude are promptly and satisfactorily 
filled in all cases. The members of this responsible firm are 
Messrs. Luther Adams, George W. Taylor and C. A. Barney. Mr. 
Adams is a native of New Hampshire, and a prominent citizen o£ 
the suburban town of Brighton. Mr. Taylor is a native Bostonian, 
as is also Mr. Barney. All are members of the Massachusetts 
Liquor Dealers' Association, the National Liquor Dealer' Associa- 
tion and are greatly esteemed in social, financial and trade circles 
for their ability. Integrity and personal worth. 

HENRY ATKINS & CO., Wine Merchants, Nos. Sand 9 South 
Market Street.— The wholesale house of Messrs. Henry 
Atkins & Co., at Nos. 8 and 9 South Market Street, has long 
been recognized by first-class dealers and critical buyers 
as headquarters for the highest grades of pure wines and liquors- 
Hundreds of purchasers throughout the United States have long 
ago discovered that the choicest champagne, ports and sherries 
can only be obtained through this firm's direct importations. The 
business of tills old and honored house was founded in 1819, by 
Mr. Henry Atkins, whose lamented demise occurred in the year 
'70. He was succeeded by his two sons. Messrs. Henry H. and John 
E. Atkins, the former of whom died in May, 1888, leaving Mr. John 
E. Atkins sole proprietor. He has been connected with the house 
for the past thirty-five years, and brings to bear the widest range 
of practical experience, coupled with amjile resources and direct; 
influential connections both at home and abroad. As wholesale 
wine merchants, imiiorters of foreign wines and spirits, and agents 
for Pommery &. Greno champagne and other choice vintages, this 
house is justly famed and deservedly popular. Thebuildingoccu- 
pied for trade purposes contains four floors and a basement, 25x60 
feet in dimensions, admirably equipped for the stonige and preser- 
vation of the choice and valuable stock. The house are agents and 
importers of Pommery & Greno champagne, dog's head bottling 
of Bass' English ale and Guinness' Doublin Stout, HenkeiiJt Co.'s 
Rhine wines, Yriarte sherries, clarets, Sauternes and Burgundies, 
Hennessy's Cognac brandies, the original pine apple and wreath 
gins, Scotch and Irish whiskies, London dock, Jamaica rum, 
Phillippe & Cana^id's sardines, etc.; and also have in stock 
and in bond the choicest old Bourbon and rye whiskies. 
Every taste of the connoisseur and lover of fine wines and every 
requirement of a first-class trade can here be met on the spot. We 
would recommend dealers and critical buyers to sample some of 
the leading specialties of this house, as they positively are not to 
be duplicated elsewhere. As authorized agents and extensive im- 
porters, this house handles superb vintages of dry, fragrant wines, 
all the standard goods in fine old Scotch and Irish whiskies, and 
fine flavored Bourbon and rye, and are in a position to supply club 
and prviate cellars with speciallyselected wines and liquors of un- 
exampled purity and excellence, while they have developed im- 
portant wholesale connections tliroughout the country that are 
very creditable to the energy and intelligence of the management 
Mr. Atkins is a native of Boston, highly regarded in mercantile 
and trade circles, and prominent and popular in social life. 



THE METROPOLIS OF NEW ENGLAND. 



123 



THE NEW ENGLAND WESTON ELECTRIC LIGHT COM- 
PANV, U. S. System, Moses Williams, President, Andrew 
Kobeson, Treasurer, No. 18 Post Office Square.— At tlie pres- 
ent day it is evident that tlie electric light has come to stay. 
The dynamos of the best systems give now over ninety per cent, 
of efficiency, while the steam engine has only reachetl Iifteen per 
cent. It is cheaper than gas, where any large number of electric 
lights are used for any length of time, moreover it gives a better, 
steadier light, securing also pure air with no heat. In connection 
with these remarks, special attention is directe'i in this mercan- 
tile review of Boston, to the reliable and successful New England 
Weston Electric Light Company, whose cilices are located at No. 
IS Post Office Square. This company was duly incorporated 
under the laws of Connecticut, in 1880, with a paid up capital of 
$1,000,000, and since its organization at that date, has secured a 
liberal and influential patronage in all sections of New England. 
The chief e.\ecutive officers of the company are, Moses Williams, 
president, Andrew Robeson, treasurer, and J. H. Alley, secretary. 
The New England Weston Electric Light Company contracts 
for and supplies the following four complete systems: U. S. In- 
candescent System for isolated plants; U.S.Long Distance Sys- 
tem for incandescent lighting of streets and stores from central 
stations ; U. S. Alternating Current System for general distribu- 
tion of incandescent lights over wide areas; U.S. Arc System 
for arc lighting, either from central stations or isolated , "plants. 
The electric lights produced by the apparatus of this popular 
compaiij are soft and pleasant to the sight, and are unrivalled for 
economy, utility and reliability. More than 30.0 U. S. incandes- 
cent lights are used in textile mills alone; among them are 
the following: P.aciflc Mills, cotton, Lawrence, Mass., 2,500; 
Patterson Mills, cotton, Chester, Pa., 600; Merrimack Manufactur- 
ing Company, cotton, Lowell, Mass., 1,350; Boott Mills, cotton, 
Lowell, Mass., 1,250; Boston Manufacturing Company, cotton, 
Waltham, Mass., 700; Manville Manufacturing Company, cotton, 
Manville, R. I., 1,200; Globe Mills, cotton, Woonsocket, R. I., 600; 
Nourse Mills, cotton. Woonsocket. B. I., 600; Shenandoah Cotton 
Company, cotton, Utica, N. Y., 400; D. Trainer & Sons, cotton, 
Trainer.Pa., 40U; John Dallas & Sons, cotton, Philadelphia, Pa., 357; 
Thomas M. Holt, cotton. Haw Rivei-, N. C, 350; Natchez Cotton 
Company, cotton, Natchez, Miss., 250; Nashville Cotton Company, 
cotton. Nashville, Tenn., 250; Hanover Manufacturing Company, 
cotton, Hanover, 111.. 250; W.ashington Mills, woollens, Lawrence, 
Mass., 600; Lippitt Woollen Company, woollens, Woonsocket, R. I., 
600; Alex. Smith & Sons, carpets, Yonkers, N. Y., 200; Lowell Man- 
ufacturing Company, carpets, Lowell, Mass., 1,350; Root Manufac- 
turing Company, knitting, Cohoes, N. Y., 400; Luckemeyer & 
Shefer, silk. Union Hill. N. J., 400; Lipps & Sutton, silk, S. Bethle- 
hem, Pa., 250; Nightingale Bros., silk, P.atterson, N. J., 60O; Fol- 
well Bros. & Co., worsteds, Philadelphia, Pa., 600; B.L.Solomons 
& Sons, Philadelphia, P,a., 375; Dartmouth Spinning Comiiany, 
Augusta, Ga., 200; Allentown Spinning Company, Allentowii, 
?a., 250 lights; also The Equitable Building, N. Y., 8,000; 
The Equitable Building, Boston, 1.000; Massachusetts Gen- 
eral Hospital, Boston, 586; Capital at Albany, N. Y. ; All the 
U. S. Postofflces lighted but two, Boston and N. O. ; U. S. S. S, 
Atlanta; Pennsylvania Railroad System. Tlie electric car fitted 
up by this company and run on the West End Street Railway with 
storage batteries has been a complete success, the batteries after 
eighteen months use being perfect, and the economy of this motive 
system is beyond question. The patents covering this unsurpassed 
system will be issued shortly, when the company will be ready to 
contract for cars. The New England Weston Electric Light Com- 
pany promptly fills orders for plants for incandescent or arc 
lights according to the U. S. System, while the prices quoted tor 
all kinds of its apparatus are as low as those of any other contem- 
porary corporation. A large amount of work has already been 
executed by this responsible company to the entire satisfaction of 
patrons, and its prospects in the near future are of the most en- 
couraging cliaracter. 

INTERNATIONAL TRUST COMPANY", John M. Graham, Presi- 
dent, No. 45 Milk Street.— This representative Trust Comp.iny 
was duly incorporated in 1879 under the laws of Massachu- 
setts, and since its organization has obtained a liberal and 
lufluenti.al patronage. It is ably oflicered, and its executive 



committee and board of directors are composed of gentlemen, 
who are highly regarded in financial circles for their prudence, 
ability and just methods. The list is as follows: John M. Gra- 
ham, president ; Henry L. Jewett, secretary. Directors :— William 
Claflin, Robert M. Morse, Jr., William A. Haskell, John C. Paige, 
William T. Parker, William W. Crapo, John Goldthwait, P,atrick 
A. Collins. John A. Collins, John M. Graham, Thouuas F. Temple, 
Warren B. Potter. The paid up capital of the company is 
$500,000, which has been further augmented by a surplus ot 
$400,000. By the provisions of tlie charter the company's stock- 
holders are liable for an additional amount equal to the capital 
stock. This reliable company is authorized to accept and execute 
trusts under any will or instrument creating a trust, and to take 
care and management of property and estates. Trust funds are 
kept separate and distinct from the general business of the com- 
pany. The International Trust Company transacts a general 
banking business, discounts commercial paper, receives deposits 
subject to check, buys and sells foreign exchange and makes col- 
lections on all points throughout the United States and Canada 
upon favorable terms. It likewise draws its own bil's of Sterling 
Exchange on the London and Westminster Bank (limited), Lon- 
don, England, in amounts to suit customers, and also makes cable 
transfers. The company, moreover, acts as register, transfer 
agent and trustees under mortgage of railroad and other corpora- 
tions. Interest is allowed on deposits subject to check, and spec- 
ial rates when p.ayable at specified dates. All the checks on this 
company are received through the Boston Clearing House. The 
following statement of the affairs of the Internatiimal Trust Com- 
pany of Boston, to the Commissioners of Banks in Mass.acliusetts, 
October 31st, 18&8, shows its condition to be most substantial and 
flourishing: Assets— Demand loans, $339,192.34; Time loans, $1,- 
792,560.44; Time loans to corporations in New England, $963,300.00; 
United States bonds, $125,000.00; Municipal and other bonds, $57,- 
917.50; Railro,ad bonds and stocks, $454,706.80; Municipal and other 
securities (special trusts). $375,150.00; Sinking fund bonds (special 
trust), $30,500.00; Trust funds, $21,80.^.60; Expenses, $9,504.85; Cash 
on baud and in b.inks, $560,753.46; Total, $5,280,-390.97. Liabilities 
—Capital Stock, $500.000.0O; Surplus fund, 8350,000.00; Undivided 
profits, $118.7dS.41; Deposits subject to check, $3,726,188.70; Cer- 
tificates of deposit. $124,485.17 ; Trust deposits, $396.956.60 ; Deiiosits 
forcoupons, $24,256.32: Sinking funds for corporations, $39,466.79 ; 
Dividends unpaid, $i70.00; Total, $5,2.80,390.99. In conclusion we 
would observe, that tlie International Trust Company, througli an 
honorable and conservative course has secured a leading position 
among the solid and responsible institutions of the United States, 
and fully merits the entire confidence ot the community. 

THOMAS TODD, Printer, No. 1 Somerset Street.— The industry 
of the printer in these modern days of enterprise, is ot the 
utmost importance. Not only do our educational institu- 
tions depend upon the printing press, but commerce would 
loose one of her most powerful allies were printing to be sud- 
denly lost to US; the newspaper, that univers.al educator and 
friend, would be unknown, and civilization would sink back into 
the condition from which she was raised at the end of the dark 
ages. There are but tew industries, which have no need ot the 
printing press, and in the great and flourishing city ot Boston, 
those who are engaged in this valuable business have an amplo 
field before them. One of the most popular and reliable printers 
in the city is Mr. Tliomas Todd, whose office is located at No. I 
Somerset Street. This business was established twenty-two years 
ago by Mr. Todd, who has since built up a liberal and influential 
patronage in New England, New York and the middle states. He 
employs thirty expert printers, etc., and his establishment is 
tully equipped with latest improved printing presses, and all 
material necessary tor turning out work in the best possible man- 
ner. All kinds ot book, commercial printing and job work are 
done here at the lowest cash prices, and satisfaction is guaran- 
teed in every particular. Mr. Todd was born in Portland, Maine, 
and now resides at Concord, Mass. He is highly regarded in trade 
circles tor his energy and just methods, fully meriting the Mgnal 
success secured in this valuable business. His skill in printing is 
unsurpassed and is quite equal to anything at home or abroad, 
and being practical in every department of the art, he has 
obtained an enviable reputation for the artistic meritsot his work. 



124 



ILLUSTRATED BOSTON. 



JOHN A. ANDREWS & CO.,WIiolesaie Grocers, Kos. 5 and 7 Com- 
mercial and 8 Commerce Streets.— Representative among 
the largest and most reliable establishments in the city of 
Boston, is tliat of Messrs. John A. Andrews & Co., importers 
and wholesale grocers, whose ofBces and salesrooTiis are centrally 
located on Commercial and Commerce Streets. This business was 
established in 18G5 by Wadley, Nourse <i Raymond, who were suc- 
ceeded by Wadley, Jones & Co., Wadley, Andrews & Co., and An- 
drews, Barlcer & Co. Eventually, in April, 1888, the present firm 
was organized under the style and title of John A. Andrews & Co., 
the copartners being Messrs. John A. Andrews, Wm. Y. Wadleigh, 
B. F. BuUard and William A. Dole. The premises occupied are 
the best located and most convenient for the business in the city 
and comprise a superior seven-story building 2.5x100 feet in area, 
with a wing 25x75 feet in dimensions. Tiie stocli carried is essen- 
tially representative of the choicest food products, staple and 
fancy groceries and sundries from every quarter of the globe. A 
specialty is made of teas, coffees and molasses, wliich cannot be 
excelled anywhere, either as regards prices or quality. In such 
staples as canned goods, sugars, syrups, spices, farinaceous goods, 
soaps, tobacco and cigars the llrm is prepared to offer substantial 
inducements to the trade, while all goods are guaranteed to be ex- 
actly as represented. In the best selected foreign and domestic 
dried fruits, condiments, sauces, pickles, and full lines of fancy gro- 
ceries,their stock challenges comparison witli any in tlie country for 
purity ,quality and general excellence. The firm employ about fifty 
clerks, assistants, etc., and numerous traveling salesmen. Their 
trade extends througliout all sections of New England, ana tlie 
Eastern and ^[iddle States. The partners are popular members of 
the Board of Trade and Wholesale Grocers Association, and are 
highly regarded in trade circles for their promptness, business 
ability and integrity, justly meriting the signal success achieved 
in this growing and important enterprise. 

METROPOLIS LAND COMPANY OF BOSTON, No. 7 E.x- 
change Place, Henry W. Moulton, President.— The rapid 
development of the real estate market of Boston and the 
steadily enhancing values of choice property render the 
financial interests involved of paramount importance. No form of 
investment has latterly become so popular with the conservative 
public as judiciously selected real estate, for not only in improved 
realty is a permanent source of income assured, but there is like- 
wise a reasonable certainty of a prospective increase in value. In 
this connection we desire to make a special reference to tlie Me- 
tropolis Land Company of Boston, whose offices are located at No. 
7 Exchange Place. This business was established in 1868 by Mr. 
Henry W. Moulton, who conducted It till 1886. when the present 
company was duly organized under the laws of Massachusetts and 
succeededto the management. The capital of the company is 
$.'>0,000 in shares of $100 each. The following gentlemen, who are 
v/idely and favorably known in financial circles for their pru- 
dence, sound business principles and integrity, are the trustees, 
etc.: George D. Wildes, Henry W. Moulton, president; Charles N. 
Goodrich, Charles J. Patch, Alexander Beal and Frederick W. 
Marston. This company owns tliirty-five lots in the city of Boston. 
Tliese lots are in the Back Bay District, near the Huntington en- 
trance to the Park, .ind are rapidly increasing in value. Hotels 
and stores of high character are being built upon adjoining lots. 
Also, very large tracts of land in New Hampshire, Vermont and 
New York State, for development into summer village? or water- 
ing places, and large tracts of choice land in Florida and Texas, 
for development into delightful winter homes. No shares of this 
company can be bought in open market. Only one or two shares 
at the most are allowed to any one person : .md it is desired that 
the subscriber be young and active to be eligible to membership. 
I The actual property of the company is far beyond its nominal capi 
tal of $50,000, and $100. the par value of shares. Is below the real 
value. Anyone desiring to become a participant in the profits and 
operations of the company, must be known to the company, and be 
willing to actively promote its interests, as it contemplates exten- 
sive purchases and sales. Mr. Henry W. Moulton. the president, 
has an excellent reputation as an expert upon the present and 
prospective values of city and country property, and has often 
been called on to act officially as an appraiser of all descrip- 
tions of realty. His valuations have ever been borne out by subse- 



quent sales, and his Just methods have gained for him the confi- 
dence and esteem of the entire community. Mr. Moulton is ilie pro- 
prietor of Moulton Hill, generally known as "Moulton Castle," 
Newburyport, Mass., where tlie Moulton family has resided for 
over 200 years. He is the founder and owner of that part of New- 
buryport called Moultonville. He is a member of the Genealogi- 
cal Society and various other institutions, both civil and military, 
and is one of Boston's public-spirited citizens, having laid out, and 
given to IBoston, three public streets, and made many other real 
estate improvements. During the war he commanded a battalion 
of troops, under a commission from Governor Andrew, through the 
Antietam campaign, when he was promoted by President Lincoln, 
and appointed by him, and by liis order commissioned by Secretary 
of War Stanton, to a high position in the War Department. At the 
close of the war, after serving in the Massachusetts Legislature, 
and having the confidence of General Grant, who knew every 
military man s record, he was appointed by him a marshal of the 
United States, and commissioned by and with the unanimous con- 
sent of the Senate. He discharged the duties of all these positions, 
with honor and credit to himself, and to those who entrusted him 
with power. 

SULLIVAN CONSOLIDATED GOLD MINTNG COMPANY, G. E. 
Yarrington, President; G. W McKinney Vice-President; C. 
M. Sprague, Treasurer; Offices: No. 27 Doane Street.— There 
is no .section of the mineral regions of the United .States 
where such favorable prospects and results attend the operations 
of the goldminesasinthe famous Black Hi lis of Dakota. Immense 
fortunes have already been made In this region and with skilled 
guidance and sufficient capital to introduce improved madiinery, 
and properly develop the best properties so as to secure abundance 
of rich ores, the prospects are most favorable to investors. One of 
the most able and conservatively conducted corporations engaged 
in mining m the Black Hills, is the Sullivan Consolidated Gold 
Mining Co., with main office at No. 27 Doane Street, in this city. 
The Sullivan Mining Company was formed in 1887 to develop certain 
valuable claims on Castle Creek, Lookout, Pennington County, 
Dakota, and in September, 1888, its properties, with others adjoin- 
ing, were consolidated as the property of tlie present company, and 
whose capital of J600,000 has been rapidly taken by prominent 
capitalists and investors of Now England. The following are the 
company s directors Messrs G E. Yarrington. G W. McKinney, 
C. M Sprague, Nathan P. Kidder, F. J. Ayer. .1. T. Hooper, Herbert 
L. Peck. They are all representative and responsible business men 
of Boston and New York, and whose names are synonymous with 
integrity and stability. The comp.anys officers are. Messrs G. E. 
Yarrington. president; G. W. McKinney, vice-president; CM. 
Sprague, treasurer, and Nathan P. Kidder, clerk. Mr. Yarrington 
Is very widely and favorably known in leading railroad circles and 
is a resident of New York, Mr. McKinney is a respected and influ- 
ential citizen of Lynn, while Mr. Sprague is a resident of Boston 
and is a business man of marked executive ability, and who faith- 
fully discharges the onerous duties devolving upon him. Mr. F. J. 
Ayer, is the company's superintendent, and Is a mining expert of 
wide experience and fully conversant with Black Hill ores and 
their treatment The company owns the following mines Sulli- 
van, Beaver, Elgin, Volunteer, Almont, Aster, Hoosac, Tariff, Rev 
enue and Eclipse, covering 101 acres and forty acres beside of gold 
places and claims, notably rich in gold The company has had Mr. 
Gilbert E. Bailey E. M., Ph. D., late geologist of Wyoming terri 
tory. and a practical authority on the Black Hills gold and tin de- 
posits, make a careful examination of its properties and he reports 
that they give a greater number and larger grains of gold 
to the i>au than any other mine in the Lookout District. This is 
saying a great deal and with the efficient management of the com- 
pany insures a very large return on its capital. The company is 
erecting a fine sixty stamp mill on its property and has control of 
a splendid water power on Castle Creek, insuring extraordinarily 
cheap milling, while the accessibility of the ore and cheapness 
of handling it, insures the cost of working tlie mines to 
average less than $1 per ton of ore rained Everything points to 
the company paying big dividends as soon as it starts up and those 
who desire to fully investigate this opening for legitimate, solid 
mining investment should send to Treasurer Sprague for a copy of 
Prof. Bailey's full official report. 



THE METROPOLIS OF NEW ENGLAND 



125 



BOSTON RUBBER SHOE COMPANY, E. S. Converse, Treas- 
urer; No. 245 Causeway Street.— The Boston Uubber Shoe 
Company was incorporated in 1853 and lias always manufac- 
tured rubber boots and shoes. It has been and is one of the 
most aggressive and enterprising companies in the business, 
always stiiving totake the lead in styles and maiutuiiiiog the best 
quality regai'dless of the variations in tlie prices of its goods. It 
now has two large factories, one located at Maiden, the other at 
Meli-ose: both within four to si.\ miles of Boston, possessing the best 
and largest facilities iu tlie world for the manufacture of rubber 
boots and shoes. Its veiy long experience in the hiisiiioss insures 



obtain the best wear from a rubber boot or shoe it is absolutely 
necessary to secure the best lit possible. Many rubbers are ren- 
dered worthless the lirst time worn by eiiher being too small or 
too large, causing the rubber to break. If careful attention is 
given to this matter it will often avoid unjustcriticism of the man- 
ufacturer. Mr. E.S.Converse has been its treasurer for over thirty- 
five yeai'sand it is largely due to his indomitable perseverenceaiid 
ability that the company has achieved its success; as it has been 
brought safely through many hard times and trials and the 
increasing competition in its business. Its general office and ware 
rooms are located at No. 245 Causeway Street, Boston. 







the making of the highest quality of goods which ait and expei 
ience can pioduce. It lias in its employment about 3,000 pei sons 
and its capacity at present is 40,000 pairs per day. Its buildings 
are all of brick, lighted by electricity and eveiything is done for 
the consideration and comfort of its employees. Its name is 



J 



[AMES F DAWSON Gold Gildei to the Trade Nos. 30and43 
Hauovei Stieet.— As agildei Mr. James F. Dawson has been 
known in the trade for more than ten years, and is recog- 
nized as one of the best in the city. He executes work in all 
branches of gold leaf gilding, and regilds old pictures and mirror 




known throughout the length and breadth of the land, butouiug to 
attempts made from time to time to imitate its name and brand and 
90 con fuse the general public, caution should always be taken to see 
that its full name, Boston Rubber Shoe Company, is stamped upon 



framis which have the appeaiance of being new after leaving his 
hands. Frames are also jointed, and engraving of all kinds is 
done to order. Estimates are furnished by Mr. Dawson, who will 
always be found prompt in his attention to orders. He is a native 



its goods. It should always be born in mind that in order to of England, and came to this country about eighteen years ago. 



126 



ILLUSTRATED BOSTON. 



BF. BROWN & CO., Manufacturers of Blackings and Dress- 
ings for Leatlier, Nos. 154 atid 156 Commercial Street.— 
^ Boston is headcjuarteis for several great houses which have 
acquired international celebrity for the superiority of 
their product. A notable instance of this is afforded in the suc- 
cessful and highly creditable career of the celebrated firm of 
Messrs. B. F. Brown & Co. Mr. B. F. Brown established this busi- 
ness in 1855 on a comparatively small scale. His blaclcings and 
dressings for leather produced upon formulas original and exclu- 
sive to himself, speedily arrested the attention of the trade as far 
superior to any others in the market. The demand for them in- 
creased at sucli a rapid ratio that in a short time the facilities of 
the house were taxed to the utmost, and in 1873 they removed to 
their present spacious premises, comprising six flours, eacli 2oxl00 
feet in dimensions, and four others, 50x100 feet. Every foot of the 
vast door space is utilized for manufacturing, storage and shipping 
purposes, and a trade is supplied tiiat practically girdles the 
earth. Besides the above the house has a factory at No. 41 Banner 
Street, St. Luke's, London, where llfty hands are employed in man- 
ufacturing the same class of goods as are manufactured here and 
also have another at St. Aiitoine Street, Montreal The sole basis 
of this grand success is Merit. The late Mr. Brown had made a 
careful study of the problems involved and invented blackings 
and dressings that alford the necessary elements to effectually 
preserve the leather, impart a beautiful polish or gloss at once 
brilliant and durable. Brown's French Dressing is the finest ever 
invented. It is entirely free from anything that will shrink, 
crack or rot the leather and is the only liquid dressing that ful- 
fills all the requirements, leaving tlie fabric soft and pliable with 
entire freedom from cracking. No lady's toilet or traveling 
equipment is complete witliout the celebrated Brown's Dressing. 
The introduction of these goods to the Canadian and European 
markets was followed by as great a demand as in the United 
States, and now in their Boston and London factories, upwards of 
100 hands are employed in the manufacture of French Dressing 
for ladies' and children's boots and shoes, trunks, harness, car- 
riage tops.etc. ; Brown's Satin Polish for ladies' and children's boots 
and shoes, etc.; and the standard Army and Navy blacking. These 
blackings and dressings for leather have been honored with prizes 
at the great exhibitions of the world, at the Centenuiel E.\|iosltion 
In Pliiliidelphia in 1876 at Berlin in 1877, at Paris in 1878 wliere they 
received the only medal awarded for leather dressings, in Mel- 
bourne In 1880, at Frankford in 1881, at Amsterdam in 1883. and the 
New Orleans Exposition in 1884 and 18S5, Brown's dre.ssings was 
awarded the highest honors. This is the oldest and leading con- 
cern of its kind in America and is a valued f.actorin the promotion 
of Boston's commercial prosperity. From its inception llie business 
has been managed carefully and .scientifically, using only the best 
materials in the process of manufacture. The trade of the liimse 
Is not only extended over every state of the Union and the Can.a- 
dian provinces, but has reached the most remote countries, includ- 
ing India, Pacific Islands, Australia, New Zealand, Ceylon, Siain, 
Bengal, Sandwich Islands, etc., with a large trade throughout 
Europe where Brown's dressing is prized .as higlily as it is here 
and where the sales are constantly increasing. 

GEO. WINTHROPCOFFIN, Agent Atkantic Mutual Insurance 
Company of New York, No. 29 State Stieet.— One of tlie 
most important departments of insurance is that devoted to 
mariners' interests, while the first application of the prin- 
ciple of insurance was to marine risks. In this country our early 
colonists, who were extensively engaged in ship building, com- 
menced to look about for some protection of their capital when 
disaster overtook their property at sea. Ship-owners and mer- 
chants began to combine, and agreed to assume the responsibility 
for a certain amount of loss, signing their names for the amount 
ol their liability under the list of the ship's cargo, and from this 
method the name of " underwriter " became applied to marine in- 
surance. The largest and leading m.arine insurance company in 
the world at the present day is the Atlantic Mutual Insnr.ance 
Con)p,any of New York. Their last annual statement shows 
premiums marked nif .as earned, $.'f.672,3.'?1.21; losses paid, $1.. '599,- 
468.25 ; return premiums and expenses, $788,846.38. A dividend of 
forty per cent, was given to policy holders on terminated 
premiums during the year. This company do a purely marine and 



inland business and give to their clients the security of a surplus 
exceeding ten millions of dollars, and their premiums at cost. As 
an institution the Atlantic Mutual is recognized as of the highest 
character and stability in tlie tiiiancial world, having passed 
through many trying ordeals, which have resulted only in render- 
ing it still stronger and better able to cope with each succeeding 
dilticulty. Its business connections are co-extensive with the civ- 
ilized world, and its pre-eminence lias been honestly won, due to 
the unremitting care and excellent judgment of its president, Mr. 
John D. Jones, whose connection witli thecomiiany dates back to 
its origin. Mr. Coffl ■ is one of the best-informed insurance men ia 
Boston, having an experience covering thirty-six years in the busi- 
ness, while he has been agent for the company here for a period 
of thirty-three years, and during that time has developed an exten- 
sive and influential connection with all cla.sses of ship , and vessel 
owners, shippers and importers, in this city and all along the 
Massacliusetts coast. He commands all the advantages naturally 
accumulated by long years of identification with a special line of 
business, and possesses uneqii,alled facilities for conducting all 
kinds of marine underwriting on ve.ssels and cargoes. His asso- 
ciate, Mr. William K. Colby, has been twenty years in the business. 
Both are natives of Boston, and personally are eminently popular 
with the sliip-owners, merchants and the community at large, 

JW. PORTER, Insurance, No. 27 State Street.— Our largest 
and leading insuiance companies invariably place their 
g Interests in tlie control of gentlemen who have secured 
honorable reputations as insurance agents and brokers, and 
among the latter in tills city is Mr. J. W Porter, whose office is 
eligibly located at No. 27 State Street. Mr. J. W. Porter has been 
prominently identified with the insurance business of thiscity and 
vicinity, as agent and broker, ever since 1861, and it is no flattery 
to say that he occupies a first-class position among our home in- 
stitutions, .and enjoys the entire confidence of the business public 
by his prompt and equitable methods ofadjnstment and the liberal 
and reliable policy that has ever characterized all his transac- 
tions. He now represents the following solid and substantial cor- 
por.ations, viz. :— First National Fire Insurance Company, of Wor- 
cester; Atkantic Fire and Marine Insurance Comijany, of Provi- 
dence; and the Dorchester Mutual Fire Insurance Company, of 
Boston. Having absolute control of the Boston business of these 
companies, and also agent for the British .and Mercantile Fire 
Insurance Co.. of London, and Providence Washington, of 
Providence. Mr. Porter is in a position to promptly place the largest 
risks, quoting the lowest rate" of premium, and guaranteeing a sure 
and liberal adjustment of all losses. He controls the insuring of 
many of the choicest lines of residential and business properties In 
this city and its suburbs, .and is also prepared to place policies in 
any comp.any desired at the lowest r.ates. He is eminently pop- 
ular with .all classes of property-owners, and enjoys a large and in- 
fluential patronage among leading merchants, manufacturers, 
shipowners and steamship companies. Mr. Porter is a Massachu- 
setts man by birth and training, and President of tlie Boston 
Board of Fire Underwriters. 

PECK BROTHERS. Steam Mercantile Printers and Tag 
Manufacturers. No. 31 Fulton Street, Cor. Cross.— The busi- 
ness of this concern was organized in 18.81 by Messrs. J. A. 
and H. A. Peck, both of whom had previously h.ad a long 
practical experience in the tr.ide. In 1884 the latter retired, leav- 
ing the former sole proprietor of the business, which he has con- 
tinued under the origln.al firm style. The premises occupied com- 
prise two floors, eacli having an area of 25x60 feet. The second 
floor is utilized as an office and composing room, and the third 
floor as the press room. The mechanical equipments include the 
most recently Improved cylinder and job presses, which are oper- 
ated by steam power, and the other acces.sories of the establish- 
ment embrace a vast variety of fonts of fancy, plain, antique and 
modern types, and all the paraphernalia pertaining toa first-class 
general mercantile printing establishment. Bill heads, note liead- 
Ings, circul.ars, cards, price lists, catalogues, memoranda, in fact, 
everything from a small business card to a book is printed here at 
short notice and in the highest style of the art. Upwards of a 
dozen skilled hands are constantly employed. The firm are also 
manufacturers of tags, and in this department have a brisk trade. 



THE METROPOLIS OF NEW ENGLAND 



127 



DYEK, KICE & CO., Tla.t'i, Straw Goods, Japanese Robes, and 
Ladies' Furs, Nus. 3fi, oS and 40 Chauncy Street.— The manu- 
facture of specialties in liats. furs and straw goods, has 
made great progress among tlienidustnes of Boston, and a 
le.adinp; factor in llie business isllie liouse of Messrs. Dyer, Kice & 
Co., located at Nos. 30, 38 and 40Ciianncy Street. Tliistirin enjoy 
a reputatioii and a trade co-extensive witli the entire country as 
manufactuiers of and dealers in hats, straw goods. Japanese robes, 
buffalo robes, ladies' furs, etc. The business was established in 
1850 by Hart, Taylor & Co., and subsequent changes occurred as 
follows, viz: 1S79, Dyer, Taylor & Co , 18S6 Dyer Kice & Co. The 
building occupied for maiiufiicturliig and sales pnrposes contains 
fivestories an<l a basement, "5x150 feet in dimensions, and admira- 
bly equipped with every convenience for the accommodation and 
display of the immense and valuable stock carried and for rapid 
and perfect i>r»ducti(in A force nuinberiiig fr(un sixty to seventy 
skilled hands is constantly employed and the output is one of 
gieat magnitude and importance. The necessity of having ladies' 
Jur garments made to order has been reduced to a minimum, as 
this firm make umple provisimis for extieine as well as uniform 
figures, and can nearly always fit perfectly the most critical and 
exacting customers fnmi their splendid stock. They make like- 
wise all kinds of fur garments to measui-e. and employ a coips of 
highly skilled workmen for this particular brauch. Theirseveral 
departments include seal garments and fancy furs, Japanese 
robes, rugs, etc. ; and straw goods of every description Only the 
finest materi.Tls manufactured or known in the United States or 
Europe are utilized, and the goods are sold at the smallest margin 
of profit. The fur department is a gieat attraction to the Ladies, 
and is famous far and near. In the manufacture of their sacques, 
dolmans and other fur garments, only the finest Alaska sealskins, 
London dyed, are used, so that customers can be absolutely certain 
of obtaining at this establishment truly first class garments that 
will last for yeais, and at prices much lower than those quoted by 
other noted establishments. Shipments ai'e freely made to all 
parts of the United States, the mail order department affording a 
ready means for people throughout the country at large to satisfy 
their wants. The members of tins responsible and rei)resentivtive 
firm, are Messrs. B. F. Dyer, J. B. llice, Jr., F. E. Dyer, and N. G. 
Nickerson, all well-known Bostonians. The two first mentioned 
partners were previously in business together, and succeeded to 
control of the present house in 1879. Mr. Nickerson has had large 
experience in the business as salesman, and was admitted to the 
firm in 1880, as was also Mr. F E. Dyer, a .son of the senior partner. 
These gentlemen are all highly esteemed in business and financial 
life for their enterprise, business cap.acity and integrity, and well 
deserve the brilliant success they have achieved in this field of 
commerce. 

WILLIAM BOND & SON. Chi'onometer and Watch Makers, 
No. 112 State Street.— The oldest established and most 
noted house in the city of Boston, .actively engaged in 
the manufacture of chronometers and watches, is that of 
the Messrs William Bond & Son, whose stoi'e is located at No. 112 
State Street This business after a long existence in England 
was established In Boston in 1793 by William Bond, who was 
succeeded by W. C. Bond and his sons. Mr. W. C. Bond 
was the fii'st director of Harvard College Observatory, which 
was built by subscriptions of his friends. He retired from busi- 
ness to assume this lesponsible position. In 1858 Mr. Uichard F. 
Bond succeeded to the business, and in 1882 his son Mr. Win C. 
Bond was admitted into partnership: the business, however, is 
still conducted under the old fiiin name of William Bond & Son 
Mr. Wm. C. Bond, the son of the founder made the first chrono- 
meter in the United States in 1812. and his son Mr. Richard F. 
Bond, now dead, intioduced many improvements in chi'onoineters, 
which were at once taken advantage of by European makers- 
The firm liave always received the highest awards wherever they 
have exhibited their productions in competiticm with others. 
They received a medal at the Paris exiiosition in 1867 for a superior 
clock invented by Richard F. Bond, and also the Grand Council 
medal at the London exhibition, 1851, for an astronomical record- 
ing apparatus the design of the same gentleman. This last medal 
was one of the twelve of that grade, which were awarded to 
inventors in America. The present firm macufactuie chrono- 



meters, which are unrivalled for accuracy, finish and reliability, 
and have no superiors in this country or Europe. They are the 
sole agents in this country for the celebrated watches of Victor 
Kullberg, and James Poole Ss Co. of Ijondou which are undoubt- 
edly the finest in the world. They likewise rate and loan chrono- 
meters and import scientific instruments to order, while their 
prices in all cases are extremely moderate. The present partners 
are highly esteemed for their scientific ability, skill and integrity. 
Their agents in New 'i'ork are John Bliss & Co., No. 128 Front 
Street, and in Philadelphia Wm. E. Harper, No. 10 South Fourth 
Street. 

GEO. F LOUGEE & CO , Cotton Brokers and Buyers, No. 4 
Liberty Squaie — One of the most active and enterprising 
firms engaged as cotton brokers and buyers in this city is 
tliat of Messrs. Geo. F. Lougee & Co. wlio occupy eligible 
ottice qnartei-s at No. 4 Liberty Square. The business was origi- 
nally established in 1868, by Messis. Gurney & Lougee, who were 
succeeded by the present firm in 1885. F-rom a comparatively 
small beginning the business has been steadily developed and in- 
creased, its progi'ess being commensurate with the energy and 
enterprise displayed in its management. Tlie firm buy and sell 
cotton on commission, supplying mills and dealers throughout 
New England with all grades desired, through tlieir agents in the 
South, and are known in tiade cii'cles as among the most experi- 
enced and successful buyers in the city. Their connections and 
facilities are of a strictly firtt-class chaiacter, enabling them to 
offer speci.al advantages to customers, and to fill all orders of 
whatever magnitude in the promptest and inost satisfactory man- 
ner. Few firms are so highly respected or so universally popular, 
which result has been attained by years of inflexible integrity 
and a strict adherence to honorable and legitimate business 
methods. They carefully consult the best interests of their nu- 
merous patrons, and are prepared to offer desirable grades of 
goods at prices which command the attention of the closest and 
most prudent buyers. The members of the firm are Messrs. 
George F. Lougee and Edw B Coleman. Mr. Lougee was born in 
New Hampshire, is still in the prime of lite, and a well known 
citizen of New Ipswich. N. H. During the war he enlisted in the 
22d I'egiment of Massachusetts volunteers and was distinguished 
for his biavery and served a term of hardships as a prisoner in 
both Libby Prison and Belle Isle. Mr Coleman is a native 
Bostonian and resides in Cambridge. They combine their laige 
practical experience, eminent ability and thorough knowledge of 
the demands of the trade to form a business firm of coinnianding 
influence, wide popularity and solid worth. 

LAFORME & FROTHINGHA.M, Commission Merchants. Rooms 
45 and 46. No, 19 Milk Sti'eet.— The city of Boston is ably 
maintaining her supi'einacy in every branch of import and 
export trade. Representative among our leading shipping 
and commission merchants is the widely known and leliable firm 
of Messrs. Laforine & Frothingliam, whose jflSces are located at 
No. 19 Milk Street. This business was established in 1868 by 
Messis J. A. Laforine .and F. G. Frothingham, both of whom are 
able and enterprising commission merchants, fully conversant 
with every detail of the shipping tiade, and the requirements of 
foreign and domestic markets. Special attention is given by the 
firm to vessel business, and to the purchase and shipment of goods 
on foreign orders. They likewise attend to the chartering and dis- 
patching of vessels, load and discharge cargoes, collect freights 
and act as agents for the owners of steamships or sailing vessels. 
Messrs. Laforme & Frothingham own several vessels and export 
largely petroleum and dry goods to Mediterranean ports. They 
likewise import opium, figs, dried fruits, wool, rags, etc.. and 
make libeial advances when i-equired on consignments, guaran- 
teeing at all times to p.atrons quick sales and prompt returns. It 
will be of direct interest to manufacturers of cotton and dry goods, 
seeking foreign mai-kets to communicate with this responsible 
house, which is promoting the expansion of the export trade ot 
the United States in a marked and successf'il manner. Both 
Messrs. Lafoi'me & Frothingham are natives of Boston. Tliey are 
popular members of the Clianiber of Commerce and of the Vessel 
Owners' Association, and are highly esteemed in commercial cir- 
cles for their business ability, enterprise aud integrity. 



128 



LLUSTRATED BOSTON. 



FISHER'S Restaurant, for. Ladies and Gentlemen, No. 202 Tre- 
niont Street.— The popular well-known Fisher Restaurant is 
one of the most prominent in the city o£ Boston and is lib- 
erally patronized by an appreciative public. Mr. Fisher is 
a native ol the city aud has the correct idea of what is required by 
the citizens, and Jully understands how to cater to their appetites 
and please them. He has been establislied in business since 1880 
and for six years was located at No. 202 Tremont Street. In 1886 
lie removed to No. 7 Hay ward Place, but finding his business over- 
growing his room to accommodate his increasing patronage he re- 
turned to his old stand No. 202 Tremont Street in 1888, which he 
lias had fitted up in a most unexceptionable manner, and made 
more attractive, comfortaljle, cosy and inviting by pleasant sur- 
roundings. It is elegantly Htted up and finished in artistic wood- 
work, with mirrors, reflectors, etc. An ample area of 26.\100 feet, 
afiord every convenience for the purposes of the business and 
every attention is given to patrons by courteous assistants. Mr. 
Fisher is a liberal provider and serves besides the substantials, all 
the various delicacies and game, poultry, oysters, etc., when in 
season, at popular prices. In tact all the marine and farm and 
garden products of our own country and other nations are to be 
lound here. He has been very successful since he commenced 
business, and has by his enterprise and liberality and serving tlie 
choicest, well cooked viands, become well-known as a restaurs n. 
teur and his establishment is highly commended by business men 
and citizens generally. Excellent accommodations are provided 
for ladies with or without escorts, and besides regular meals, de- 
licious lunches are served at all hours. Thorough system and or- 
der prevails throughout the establishment, and those who desii-c to 
obtain a well cooked, neatly served nieal or delicacies, will find 
just what they want at Fisher's, aud a well selected bill of fare to 
. choose from. 

HA. HASKELL, Manufacturer of the Eureka Pipe Bender 
No. 38 Cliardon Street.— One of the best among the many 
, mechanical appliances that have recently been intro- 
duced is that known as the Eureka Pipe Bender which is 
designed for use among plumbers aud house carpenters and 
builders. It is the first appliance ever devised for bending lead 
pipe above an inch in diameter for goose necks or other irregu- 
lar forms and has received the unqualified endor.senient of 
all who have seen or used it. In its construction it is very simple 
and accomplishes in a very short time all that is claimed tor it 
without flattening or collapsing the pipe. They have only been in 
use about a year but in that time they have been inquired for and 
sora in all parts of the United States. Mj-. Haskell, who controls 
the right and is the manufacturer of this bending appliance 
occupies the second floor of the building No. as Cliardon Street 
which is equipped with special machinery operated by steam 
power, and is kept con.stantly busy filling orders. One of the fea- 
tures of this appliance is the low price at which it is sold, averag- 
ing from $1.00 to $1.25 according to size. They are made in eight 
sizes from one to three and a half inches. A sample will be sent 
to any address on receipt of price, and all information cheerfully 
lurnished by calling or writing to the above address. Mr. Haskell, 
who was born in Maine and resides in Hyde Park, is an expert 
practical mechanic and since he introduced the Eureka Pipe Ben- 
der he has become widely known and is receiving that reward his 
skill and ingenuity justly entitle him. 

THOMAS O'CALLAGHAN & CO.,Wholesale and Retail Dealers 
in Fine Carpetings, Etc., Nos. 597, ,509aiKl 001 Washington 
Street.— Handsome carpets and oil-cloths are now properly 
regarded as but parts of an harmonious whole, in consider- 
ing the subject of household furnishings and interior decorations, 
and products of the carpet looms of the present day are works of 
art, and these indispensable articles for covering our floors are no 
longer confined to the homes of the opulent, the economy of steam 
production placing them within the reach of all classes of the 
community. In this connection special reference is made in this 
commercial review of Boston, to the progressive and representa- 
tive house of Messrs. Thomas O'Callaghan & Co., wliolesale and 
retail dealers in carpetings and oil-clotli.s, whose salesrooms are 
located at Nos. ,597 to 601 Washington Street. This business was 
established in 1886 by Mr. Thomas O'Callaghan, who is sole propri- 



etor. Mr. O'Callaghan is considered one of the ablest salesmen 
in the country. The premises occupied comprise a superior four- 
story and basement building, 60x150 feet in dimensions, fully 
equipped with all modern conveniences that good taste and enter- 
prise can suggest for the successful prosecution of this steadily 
growing business. The stock shown here is one of the finest in 
the United States and comprises all the leading novelties in ax- 
ministers, Wiltons, Brussels, velvets, ingrains, tapestries, oil-cloths, 
mats and mattings, rugs, etc., which are unsurpassed for qualify, 
beauty, and excellence, while the prices quoted are extremely 
moderate. A specialty is made of Lowell and Roxbury carpets. 
Fifty experienced clerks, assistants, etc., are employed in the va- 
rious departments, and the attendance upon customers is always 
prompt, oolite, and intelligent. The trade of this popular house is 
by no means confined to Boston, but extends througliout the prin- 
cipal cities of New England. Mr. O'Callaghan was born in Boston, 
where he is highly esteemed by the community for his enterprise, 
energy and integrity. The success which has attended this house 
since its establishment has caused the proprietor to buy exclu- 
sively from the most famous importers and manufacturers, thereby 
giving patrons the benefits previously acquired by jobbing houses 
only. 

UNION INVESTMENT COMPANY. Kansas City, Mo., W. M. 
Mick, Manager, Eastern Oflice Room A No. 81 State Street. 
—Kansas is now recognized as the most productive agricul- 
tural section of the United States. The energetic farmer 
finds nature at her best m the soil which she gives him, yet he 
must have capital to enable him to carry on his work successfully. 
The eastern capitalist supplies him with this, and at the same 
time the investor places his money where it accomplishes material 
good, while it yields him a very profitable return in the shape of 
interest. In connection with these remarks, we desire to make 
special reference in this commercial review of Boston, to the 
representative and substantial Union Investment Company of 
Kansas City, Mo., whose eastern olTice is located at No. 31 State 
Street. This company was duly organized under the laws of Mis- 
souri in 1886 with a paid up capital of $1,000,000, since which period 
it has built up a liberal and influential patronage. The following 
gentlemen, who are highly regarded in financial and business 
circles tor their executive ability, prudence and just methods, are 
the officers and directors; W. P. Rice, president; H. P. Stimson, 
vice president; O. F. Page, secretary and treasurer: W. M. Mick, 
Boston manager; Directors, W. P. Moores, W. M. Mick, W. P.Rice, 
H. P. Stimson, and O.F.Page. The Union Investment Company 
confines its loans on improved farms strictly to the corn growing 
sections of Kansas. The company loans solely on first mortgage, 
its agents carefully inspecting every security offered, and being 
centrally located to its field of business, its officers have at all 
times a thorough knowledge of the values. This corporation not 
only pl.acessums loaned upon mortgage directly from the investor 
accompanied by its guarantees, but also issues its debentures 
based upon farm mortgages, similar in all respects to those it 
transfers and assigns. These debentures are secured on an average 
of many mortgages, besides being secured by the company's 
capital. They are most permanent and reliable forms of invest- 
ment, can be readily tr.ansferred, convenient and amply secured 
at the ratio of $250,000 security for every $100,000 of debentures. 
The following statement of the Union Investment Company at the 
clo.se of business September 19, 1SS8, shows its affairs to be in a 
most flourishing and stable condition. Resources: Bills receivable, 
$235,373.00; accounts receivable, $115,819.00; real estate, $335,- 
649.95; real estate lo.ans, $97,725.00; bonds, stocks and securities. 
$562,921.10; furniture and fi.xtures, $5,174.91; cash in Hanover 
N.ational Bank, New York, $54,444.36; cash in National B,ank of 
Redemption, Boston, $54,813.50; cash in American N,ational Bank, 
Kansas City. Mo., $12,156.96: due from other banks and bankers, 
$25,694.01; total, $1,400,078.87. Liabilities: Capital stock, $1,000,- 
000.00; bills payable. $59,000.00; time deposits and accounts p.ay- 
able, $253,078.38; debentures, $13,.500.00; interest account, $8,723.88t 
undivided proflts, $2.5,776.61; dividend No. 3, payable October 10, 
$40,000.00; total, $1,400,078.87. Mr. W. M. Mick, the Boston manager, 
is a Virginian. He has a large banking experience, is known as a 
careful and conservative business man, and is highly esteemed in 
financial circles for his integrity and sound business principles. 



THE METROPOLIS OF NEW ENGLAND. 



129 



THE BOSTON DAILY GLOBE.— Boston as a central point for 
(iistinguished joiunalistifi enterprise and the development of 
liiKli class newspapers, lias long held aprominent position in 
the United States. In tliisconnection we desire to directspe- 
cial reference in this commercial review to tlie representative and 
progressive Globe Newspaper Company, proprietors of the Daily, 
Sunday and Weekly Globe, which are the recognized leading news- 
papers of New Engl.ind. The Globe Newspaper Company was 
duly incorporated in 1872 under the laws of Massachusetts. It was 




reorganized in 187S, with a paid-up capital of $125,U00, and now its 
Daily and Sunday issues of the Globe have a larger circulation 
than any other Boston newspaper. The first editor of the Globe 
was Maturiu M, Ballou, and the first paper issued March 4th, 
1872. contained eight pages of seven columns, the price being four 
cents. He was succeeded in August 1873, by Colonel Ch.is. H. 
Taylor, wlio has been the editor and manager of the Globe from 
that time until the present and the success aciiieved has been due 
to his enterprise and industry. The building is one of the finest 
and largest in Boston, and was built expressly for the Globe; 
is admnaljly equipped with all modern appliances, includ- 
ing elevators, electric lights, etc., and no pains or expense 
liave been spared to make this establishment complete in every 
detail. In the printing rooms are three splendid single and two 
double Hoe presses, which are able to print 1,400 papers in a min- 
ute. The machinery is driven by two superior 125 horse power 
steam engines, and the total number of persons employed in the 
various departments is about 500. There are likewise two elevator 
and electric iiglit engines on the premises, of the latest type. 
Eight editions of the Globe are turnedout daily, which consume 



fifteen tons of paper. The Daily, Sunday and Weekly Globe are 
got upon in tlie highest style of the typographical art. An able and ' 
superior stall of editorial writers, reporters and correspondents is 
employed. It has regular letters from its own correspondents 
abroad, and carefully covers all political, local and foreign news, 
while at the same time it gives ample descriptions of races, base 
ball, and all kinds of manly sports and pastimes. Its editorials 
are able, crisp, direct to the point, and treat all matters of interest 
in an impartial and fearless manner. The circulation of the Sun- 
day Globe in November was 127,023, and the Daily Globe 148,710. 
Its advantages .as a splendid advertising medium have been 
recognized very generally by all classes of the coninuniity, and 
in this line it conducts the largest and most lucrative business 
in Boston. In consequence of its large size and vast aiiiount 
of original and able reading matter, it is not only the cheapest 
but unquestionably the best paper in the city. Col. Chas. H.Tay- 
lor, the manager, w.as born in Chaiiestown, Mass., and during 
the civil war w.as a private in the 38th Mass. Vol. Infantry. He 
served one year and was seriously wounded at the b.attle of Port 
Hudson, Miss., and eventually retired from the service for dis- 
ability. He w.as priv.ate secretary to Governor Clafftin, and was 
also clerk of tlie House of Represent-itives. Col. Taylor is a 
popular member of the Press, Temple, Central and Algonquin 
Clubs, etc., and is one of Boston's highly esteemed and public 
spirited citizens. The circulation of the Globe is steadily in- 
ere.asing not only in Boston but in all sections of New England, 
and its present prosperous status augurs well tor the future. 

"vARK HOUSE, W. D. Park & Son, Proprietors; European 
J Plan, Bosworth Street— The city of Boston has long been 
recognized as tlie centre where unlimited capital, thor- 
ough experience and boundless enterprise have com- 
bined to make its cafes and restaurants superior to any in 
tlie country. As a contributor to the reputation of the city in 
tliis reg.ard, and as a model establishment of its kind, the Park 
House, on Bosworth Street, stands pre-eminent. It is f,anious 
Uh- country over for its 'good cheer and expert management, 
hihI is tlie oldest and best known chop-house In Boston. It 
was established in 1842 by Mr. T. D. Park, on Devonshire Street, 
now the site of part of the post oHlce ; w.as removed in 1848 to 
.\lurton Place, off Milk Street, where he died in 1855, and w.as 
succeeded by his son Hon. W. D. Park, and in 1858 removed to 
Centr.al Court, oft Washington Street, in the rear of Jordan, 
Marsh & Co.'s; then to present site, oft Fremont Street, (for- 
iiieiiy known as Montgomery Place,) in 1875. The firm of W. D. 
I'ai k & Son was organized in 1883, both partners bringing to 
lii'ar the w idest range of practical experience, and giving the 
ijusiness the benefit of their close personal attention and sound 
judgment. The Park House is an eleg.int four-story brick 
liuilding, containing forty -eight guest rooms, conducted on the 
European plan, while the sp.acious cafe and restaurant are 
situated on the ground floor, and cover a floor space of 60x100 
feet. The arrangements and aiipointments are of the best pos- 
iible chaincter, reflecting the utmost credit upon the enterprise 
and good taste of the management and perfectly insuring the 
convenience and comfort of its patrons. The cuisine is in charge 
of cliefs of marked ability and n.ational reputation. The manage- 
ment secures its table supplies from the most varied sources, all the 
important inarkets of the country paying tribute to its enterprise. 
All the delicacies that can possibly be obtained are served in liberal 
abundance, while the perfect manner in which the viands are 
served, (having a person.al supervision of both proprietors,) make 
a meal at tiie Park House a most .agreeable experience. While 
there are larger cafes in the country, there are none which pos- 
sess such well founded claims upon the public f,avor or enjoy a 
more deserved popularity. Any dish is cooked to order in the 
best manner, and at moderate prices, and a bar and smoking 
room are located on the same floor. A specialty is made of Park's 
Musty Ale in pewter mugs, and boiled live lobsters, for which this 
house has a wide prestige and popularity. The patronage of the 
Park House is of a char.acter thoroughly complimentary to the 
firm whose energy, enterprise, discrimination and intelligent en- 
terprise have ni.ade the establLshment a prime favorite with the 
best classes the world over. The Messrs. Park are native Boston- 
ians, and are held iu universal esteem as accomplished exponents 
of their business. 



130 



ILLUSTRATHD BOSTON. 



THE SUFFOLK NATIONAL BANK of Boston, A. Lawrence 
Edmands, President, and Edward Tyler, Cashier, No. 60 
State Street.— This reliable bank was originally chartered 
as a State Bank in 1818. Eventually in 1865 it was reorgan- 
ized under the National Banking laws, as the Suffolk National 
Bank. The paid up capital of the bank is $1,500,000 which has been 
further augmented by a surplus of $280,000. The tollowing gentle- 
men, who are widely and favorably known in financial and busi- 
ness circles for tlieir prudence and just metliods are tlie officers 
and directors: A. Lawrence Edmands, president, and Edward 
Tyler, cashier. Directors: Henry Austin Whitney, David R. 
Whitney, A. Lawrence Edmands, Edmund Dwight, Benjamin W. 
Crowninshield, Augustus Lowell, Alanson Tucker, and Harcourt 
Amory. The banking rooms are spacious and elegantly appointed, 
affording ample accommodations to patrons, and possessing also 
every convenience for facilitating the dispatch of business. A 
general banking business Is transacted, including the receiving of 
deposits, the discounting of approved commercial paper, the col- 
lection of drafts, and the dealing in goverinnent and first-class se- 
curities. The bank likewise makes telegraphic transfers of money, 
and deals in foreign and domestic exchange This is not only one 
of the oldest banks in Boston but also one of tlie best managed 
and most liberally patronized, and from its foundation has re- 
tained the confidence of the public in a marked degree. Tlie In- 
vestments of tlie Suffolk National Bank have always been made 
with care and judgment, and its ventures of capital are at all 
times well secured. The officers are obliging and efficient in tlieir 
dealings with the public and are consequently very popular. The 
president, Mr. Edmands, is a tlioroughly capable financier, and a 
vigorous exponent of tlie soundest principles governing banking 
and finance. Mr. Tyler, the cashier, has been in tlie employment 
of the bank for the last fifty years— fifteen years discount clerk 
and thirty-flve years cashier. He Is an able business man, emi- 
nently qualified for his Important position. The directors are 
prominent merchants, manufacturers and capitalists, whose con- 
nection witli the bank promises a long career of usefulness and 
prosperity. 

REDDING ELECTRICAL COMPANY, Manufacturers of Elec- 
trical Supplies; Harvey Redding, President; Jerome Red- 
ding, Treasurer; No. 48 Hanover Street.— A representative 
and successful company in the city of Boston, actively en- 
gaged in the manufacture of all kinds of electrical supplies, is that 
known as the Redding Electrical Company. This business was es- 
tablished in 1868 by Jerome Redding and Harvey Redding, who 
conducted it till 1883, when it was duly incorporated under the 
laws of Massachusetts, the officers being Harvey Redding, 
president, and Jerome Redding, treasurer. The company has 
a well-equipped workshop and manufactures all descriptions of 
telegraph and electrical supplies, electrical bells, annunciators, 
burglar alarms, watch clocks, electric gas lighting apparatus, 
speaking tubes and electric lighting and plating machinery. The 
company makes a specialty of fitting buildings with electrical ap- 
paratus of every kind, incandescent lights, etc., and the famous 
Redding Electric Watchman's Time Register. The Redding Elec- 
tric Watchman's Time Register is UKfd in buildings where watch- 
men are employed, and is a guard against (ire and thieves, giving 
an exact report of the faithful, or unfaithful performance of duty 
of the watchman. It is the only register in the market giving a 
plain, printed record, whicli Is greatly superior to the ordinary 
record made by punching small holes through the dial. The punc- 
tured record is very hard to read, even when made in the most per- 
fect manner: and In addition to this defect, tlie needles which 
make the holes through tlie dials are very liable to stick and tear 
the paper-dial, thus spoiling the record for the whole 
night. This usually occurs accidentally, but it Is within the power 
of the watchni.in to destroy tlie dial at any time when he wants to 
neglect his duties, by simply pressing on one of the station but- 
tons for a few minutes, when he can leave his beat for the wliole 
night, and claim that he has performed his duty faithfully. The 
Bedding Electrical Register obviates all these difficulties. Instead 
of needles to punch holes through the dials. It is provided with 
steel figures which press against an Ink ribbon, and prints the 
numbers of the stations in plain figures on the face of the dial. 
These figures cannot tear the dial because they do not stick to it. 



or against it, even when the circuit is closed, but spring against it 
mechanically, when the station key Is operated in tlie same man- 
ner as tlie hammer of an electric bell strikes the gong. This regis- 
ter is especially recommended by the Insurance companies, be- 
cause tlie record is so plain that the Inspector can tell at a glance 
If the watchman has made every round faillifully, the omission of 
the record of one station being noticed instantly ; whereas the old 
style of dial has to he very carefully examined all over, in order to 
see if every minute puncture is in its correct place. This requires 
such close attention, and takes so much time, that it is sure to be 
done in a negligent manner, Instances having been known where 
watchmen liave for months omitted one station without detection. 
The company furnishes a burglar-proof Yale lock with every regis- 
ter ; but if tlie watchm.an succeeded in getting a key to fit it, he 
could not get at the dial to tamper witli it, for one of the printing 
figures is connected to the lock of the door in such a manner that 
it prints its niunber on the dial every time the door is opened, tlius 
effectually preventing any attempt of the watclini.an to open the 
door and tamper witli the clock without certain detection. The 
register is placed in tlie office and connected to iron key-boxes lo- 
cated at every point which it is desired to have the watchman 
visit, into which he inserts Ills key (which fits all stations alike), 
and gives it one full turn; after which the station automatically 
prints its number on tlie paper-dial in the register. The stations 
are all independent of each other, and may be visited in any order 
and number of times. The record of any number of watchmen can 
be made on the same dial, and each watchman will be obliged to 
operate his respective beat at tlie same time the others are operat- 
ing; therefore, it is impossible for one watchman to relieve the 
other. The trade of the Redding Electrical Company extends 
througliout all sections of the United States and Canada, and is 
steadily increasing. A superior illustrated catalogue and price 
list is i>ublished by the company, which is forwarded iiromptly 
upon application. 

CS. KEENE, Eastern Selling Agent, of Buchanan and 
Lyall's Toh.accos, No. 14 Central Wharf .—New England .and 
, Boston form one of the most important fields for the 
wholesale trade In the highest grades of manufactured 
tobaccos. As Is well known inferior grades have no success in 
this market. Dealers universally seeking and demanding the best 
qualities and the most popular brands, more especially those of 
the famous old house of Buchanan & Lyall, which permanently 
maintain the lead In the markets of the Middle and Eastern 
St.ates, They have been selling in Boston since 1863 .and have 
achieved the most enviable of reputations, tor every qualification 
of purity, choice selections of tobaccos, and uniform care In man- 
ufacture. In 1881, Mr. C. S. Keene, who from 1878 had been one of 
the firm's most enterprising and successful traveling salesmen, 
was appointed the Eastern or New England general agent, and 
early developed a big increase In the sales. Buchanan & Lyall's 
tobaccos have only to be brought to the attention of the trade to 
be bought In tlie largest quantities, and Mr. Keene In his commo- 
dious premises on Central Wharf, carries a heavy stock of Bu- 
chanan Si Lyall's most popular brands of plug and smoking tobac- 
cos. He employs seven clerks and porters and four men on the 
road, selling to jobbers and wholesalers all over New England and 
in tlie Provinces. His specialties are the celebrated " Pl.anet " 
brand, admittedly the king of all dark tobaccos, and " Neptune," 
equally famous, as being by far the finest brighttobacco m.anufact- 
ured. The consumption of the above two brands throughout New 
England is enormous and constantly growing. Other popular 
brands handled by Mr. Keene are "Queen Checker Bars." 
" Sailor's Choice," the standard dark navy, " Flush," the standard 
light navy, " Rouser Smoking Plug," and Navy Clippings, in two, 
four, eight and sixteen ounce papers, Mr. Keene is a native of 
Providence, R. I., and though a young man is old in practical ex- 
perience, an authority in the wholesale tobacco trade, and uni- 
versally popular and respected. His energy and enterprise In 
pushing the sales of the tob.accos he represents have resulted in 
steady enlargement of trade, and we cannot but urge dealers 
everywhere who are not already handling Buchanan & Lyall's 
product to send a trial order to their wholesale merchant. They 
will find these goods to be the most ready sellers and to give the 
greatest satisfaction of any In the market. 



THE METROPOLIS OF NEW ENGLAND. 



131 



HATHAWAY, SOULE & }IARRIN(iTON, Manufacturers of 
Men's Fine Shoes, No. 280 Devonshire Street. New York 
Branch: Nos. 126 and 128 Duaue Street.— One of the most 
niaiked records of successful progress and development in 
the New Engl.and boot and shoe manufacturing industry, is that of 
the celebrated and enterprising house of Messrs. Hathaway, Soule 
& Harrington. For every essential and every feature of elegance, 
style and comfort tlieir lines of men's fine slioes are recognized to 
lead the market, and aie in growing demand with the best class of 
trade throughout the United States. The business was established 
about twenty years ago by Mr. Savory C. Hathaway, succeeded by 
the firm of Hathaway & Soule, and who thus continued until 1874, 
when the present house was organized.coniposedof Messrs. Savory 
C. Hathaway, Rufus A. Soule and Herbert A. Harrington. The two 
former gentlemen are residents of New Bedford, while Mr. Har- 
rington lives in Brookline. They unite every possible qualification, 
bringing to bear the widest range of practical experience, perfected 
facilities and influential connections. Their business has grown 
upon the legitimate basis of supply and demand to proportions of 
great magnitude, and they now have In active operation, three 
great factories thoionghly equipped with the latest improved 
machinery and appliances, and situated respectively at New Bed- 
ford, Middleboro and Campello. From six to seven hundred hands 
are there employed in the manufacture of medium and fine grades 
of men's shoes, and which embrace eveiy feature of excellence 
and all the niodein improvements rendering them fully the equal 
of the finest custom work. The copartners give their personal su- 
pervision to every branch of the business, selecting their leather 
and findings with the utmost caie, introducing the latest popular 
styles, employing the most skilful cutters and foi-emen, and guar- 
anteeing the qu.ality of every pair of shoes leaving their factories. 
They offer a stock of men's line hand made shoes, Goodyear welts, 
and machine sewed, and at their headquartei-s. No. 280 Devonshire 
Street, buyers can select from the finest and most comprehensive 
stock in Boston. The firm's trade extends throughout the United 
States and the British Provinces, and has necessitated, by reason 
of its growth, the opening of a branch store in New York City, at 
Nos. 126 and 128 Duaue Street, whence the very finest trade of the 
metropolis is supplied with these fine shoes, and the demand for 
which is rapidly enlarging in the metropolis of America, a sure in- 
dication of their superiority. Messrs. Hathaway. Soule'A Harring- 
ton are all natives of Massachusetts, and have here developed a 
great and growingly important branch of skilled industry, and of 
the utmost value to Boston as a prominent factor of her commerce. 
They have ever retained the confidence of leading commercial cir- 
cles, and are worthy representatives of the boot and shoe manu- 
facturing interests. 



ments of every blanch of trade. Mr. Smith was born ih Maine, 
and has been a business resident of Boston since 188'2. He is 
largely interested in Maine lumbering operations, and has done 
much to develop the industries and business of his state. Mr. 
Blauchard was born in Cambridge, Mass., is a giaduate of Harvard 
College, and is of a race of lumber men. His experience was 
gained by connections with the western pine yards, and by years 
of intimate acquaintance with the New England tiade. The fimi 
in addition to their long list of customers, who are dealers and 
manufacturers, sell to exporters for shipment to Europe, West 
Indies, etc., and are thoroughly representative of the best metli 
ods governing the wholesale lumber tiade of Boston and New 
England. 

HODGMAN RUBBER COMPANY. Manufiicturers of India 
Rubber Goods, No. 32 School Street.— The extensive enter- 
prise conducted under this heading constitutes the Boston 
br.ancli of wh.at is unquestionably one of, if not the oldest 
rubber Industries in the country. This industry was founded as 
far back as 1838, by Mr. Daniel Hodgman, and was incorporated 
under the present title in 1886. The officers, Geo. F. Hodgman. 
president, and Charles A. Hodgman, secretary, .are sons of the 
founder, who, from having liter,ally been raised in the business, 
are familiar with all its details and eminently qualified for its suc- 
cessful conduct. The comp.auy h.as laigeand well eqflipped man- 
ufactories at Tuckahoe and Mt. Vernon, N. Y., which give em- 
ployment to a large force of experienced operatives, and the pro- 
duct comprising all descriptions of India rubber goods, h.as an old 
established standard reputation in the trade and commands an 
extensive and profitable niiirket throughout this country and Can- 
ada. The Boston branch was established in Jan. 1887, and fiom 
its inception has enjoyed an extensive and prosperous business. 
The spacious premises consisting of a stoie and basement 25x12.5 
feet in size, are fitted up in a style of modern convenience and 
attr.activeness. eveiy facility being at hand for the advantageous 
display of goods. The mammoth stock comprises all kinds of lub- 
ber clothing and footwear, a speci.alty being made of gentleman'-i 
mackintosh and plain rubber coiits and.Kadies' gossamers, which 
are m.ade up in the newest patterns and styles and embody in a 
notable degree all the advantiiges and comforts obtainable in 
these garments. A large force of clerks and salesmen is kept 
busy in supplying the tr.ade throughout New England with tlie.se 
justly celebr.ated goods, and the geneitil business is to the highest 
degree prosperous. Mr. Noyes, the Boston manager, is a gentle- 
man of fifteen years experience in the business, .and to his well 
directed and enterprising management is laigely due the signal 
success achieved. 



SMITH & BLANCHARD, Wholesale Dealers in Lumber, No. 75 
State Street.— An old established, progressive and thor- 
oughly representative firm of wholesale lumber merchants, 
is tli.at of Messrs. Smith & Bl.anch.ird, who enjoy unrivalled 
facilities for the filling of the largest orders for any description of 
eastern, western or southern lumber both hard and soft. The busi- 
ness, which has now grown to proportions of such magnitude, was 
originally founded by O. H Smith, in 1870, thus continuing until 
1885, when he and Mr. H. W. Blanchard formed the present co- 
partnership. They have direct and most infiuential connections 
with every important lumber region of the country east of the 
Mississippi. They are direct receivers of southern yellow pine by 
steamer and in cargo lots from Georgia and Florida; of western 
hardwoods such .as oak, walnut, ash, maple, whitewood, etc., via 
rail, and of the best growths of New England and Provinces 
spruce pine, etc. A prominent specialty is their famous Pennsyl- 
vania hemlock, in constant and growing demand iu the New Eng- 
land markets. They are the sole eastern agents of the Pennsyl- 
vania Lumber Storage Company, the largest company ever formed 
for the handling of hemlock. This company controls over half of 
the hemlock in Pennsylvania, and expect to handle over two hun- 
dred million feet during the ensuing year. The firm is one of the 
largest shingle concerns in New England, marketing upwards of 
fifty millions each year. They also furnish Large quantities of 
spruce by rail, controlling the cut of sever.al of the best mills in 
New Hampshire .and Vermont. The copartners bring to bear the 
most practical experience, and thoroughly understand the require- 



GA. SAWY'ER, Receiver and Dealer in Mutton, Lamb, Ve.al 
and Poultry ; Basement, No. 3 Quincy Market.— The qiies- 
^ tion of food is one of the first with which the human family 
in all stages of existence has to grapple, and there is no 
branch of food supply that attracts more widespread attention, nor 
one in which more capital is employed than in the me.at business, 
the headquarters of which iu this city is Quincy Market. A leader 
among the commission merchants and wholesale dealers in meat 
supplies in this centi-al and popular market, is Mr. G. A. Savvyei-, 
who occupies the b.asement No. 3 Quincy Market. Mr. Sawyer 
started business twenty-two years ago, and has occupied his pres- 
ent premises for the past five years. The premises are spacious, 
and are provided with every convenience and facility for the suc- 
cessful prosecution of the business. The latest improvements in 
the; way of refrigerators, etc., can here be found in successful 
operation. Mr. Sawyer is a practical butcher and brings wide 
experience to bear on his enterprise. He is quick to recognize and 
supply the wants of his trade, and there is no better judge of meats 
in this city. He has a spacious, well equipped slaughter houses .at 
W.atertown, and in addition to his supplies therefrom he is in daily 
receipt of large consignments from the west and elsewhere, so th.at 
he has .at all times on hand a large stock from which to furnish the 
wants of his patrons. Mutton, l.ainb, veal and poultry form the 
commodities handled by this enterprising and prosperous house, 
and the tiiinsactions are limited to the fulfilment of wholes.ale 
orders. The trade extends throughout the city and New England, 
and is yearly growing in volume. 



132 



ILLUSTRATED BOSTON, 



METROPOLITAN STEAMSHIP COMPANY'S OUTSIDE 
LINE OF STEAMEKS, H. M. Whitney, Agent, No. 54 Cen- 
tral Wharf.— Boston enjoys superior transportation facili- 
ties both by rail and water and has largely increased her 
coniniereial and industrial importance and that of the large terri- 
tory tributary to her, by having direct lines of steamers to import- 
ant points, competing with and effectually keeping down extor- 
tionate railway freight rates. Tiie most important line of coast- 
wise steamships is unquestionably the Metropolitan forming a tri- 
weekly line direct to New York City by the outside route around 
Cape Cod, and through Long Island Sound. This line was Hrst 
established twenty-four years ago, and has had a large measure of 
patronage from the merchants and shippers of New York and 
Boston, and also of a large section of the United States, as con- 
nected with these cities by lines of steamboats, or railroads. The 
company is duly incorporated under the laws of Massachusetts, 
and has a large capital, held in strong hands and is under the 
ablest executive management. The president of the company is 
Mr. II. M. Whitney, too widely and favorably known in Boston to 
require any comment at our hands. Under his guidance, the com- 
pany is prosperous, its fleet large and of the highest type of modern 
steamships, and its rates and service deservedly popular. The 
company's fleet is composed as follows: S. S. "Herman Winter," 
captain, John M. Hullett; " H. F. Dunock," captain, C. F. Eld- 
ridge; "General Whitney," captain. Maynor Bearse, ( the above 
three are of iron); "Glaucus." captain, A. B. Coleman; and 
the "Neptune" and "Nereus" reserve ships not now in commis- 
sion. The company's steam.ships are of large size, fine models, 
carefully built for the outside route, full powered and make 
regular and speedy voyages in all weather. The rates are lower 
than by any other line; there .are unrivalled wharf accommo- 
dations at both enils of the route and no rehandling of goods is 
required by this line as by all inside routes. Close connection is 
made at each port with all railroad, steamship and transportation 
companies, and through rates and bills of hading are a specialty. 
The company makes a specialty of shipping either from New Y'ork 
or Boston, .as rates may favor, all goods for export, granting through 
bills of lading to London, Liverpool, Havre, Rotterdam, Hamburg, 
Bremen, West Indies, etc. Mr. Whitney the general manager has his 
offices at India Wharf, and where all further particulars can be 
obtained. We recommend the close attention of the merchants 
and manufacturers of Boston and New England to the unequalled 
advantages oBered by this line for shipping to or from New York 
and a large portion of the Union. The route is safe, economical 
and expeditious, and is well worthy of the success attending the 
company's operations. 

JW. IIUNNEWELL & CO., Wholesale Dealers of Refined Pe. 
troleum, Etc., Nos. 70 and 72 Commercial Street.— The 
rapid extension of the use of petroleum is one of the 
marvels of the present century. It is one of the most 
prominent articles ofexport of the United States to foreign 
countries, over two thousand manufacturing establishments, some 
of them of vast magnitude, are employed in its refining and purifi- 
cation, and towns and even cities are the outgrowth of its dis- 
covery. A prominent and old established house in Boston, en- 
gaged in the packing and sale of refined petroleum, is that of 
Messrs. J. W. Hunnewell & Company. Nos. 70 and 72 Commercial 
Street. This business was established in 1837 by Mr. J. Hunne 
well, who conducted It till 1870, when Messrs. George C. Goodhue 
and Kobert D. Archer succeeded to the management, the business 
being carried on under the old firm name of J. W. Hunnewell & 
Company. The firm's oil refinery is situated at E.ist Boston. The 
warehouse is a substantiiil four-story building, fully equipped 
with every appliance and facility for the successful conduct of the 
business. The firm deal largely in refined petroleum, spirits of 
turpentine, lard oil, etc., in patent cans for shipping, also in drugs, 
paints and oils. The petroleum of this responsible firm has no 
superior tor its entire safety, brilliancy of light and perfection of 
purification. The other speci.ilties of this house are unrivalled for 
quality, reliability and general excellence. Messrs. J. W. Hunne- 
well & Company fill .all orders either for the home trade or export 
at the lowest ruling market prices. They sell largely to ship 
ch.andlers in all sections of the United States, and export exten- 
sively refined petroleum to Canada, Mexico, South America, the 



West Indies, Europe, .\frica, India and Australia. Messrs. Good- 
hue & Archer are popular members of tlie Chamber of Commerce, 
where they are highly esteemed for their enterprise, promptness 
and integrity. As exponents of the wholesale refined petroleum 
triide, we know of no firm more progressive than J. W. Hunnewell 
& Company, who well merit the large measure of success which 
has attended their business career. 

NESS COUNTY BANK, Ness City, Kansas, A. E. Alvord, 
Eastern Manager, No. 40 Water Street.— No financial insti- 
tution of the west has h,ad a more creditable and prosper- 
ous career than the Ness County B.tnk of Ness City, Kan, 
It was established in 1885 to meet the imperative demand for first- 
class banking facilities in western Kansas, and on February 22d, 
1888, was duly incorporated with an authorized capital of $260,000, 
and whicli is held by leading capitalists of Kansas and New 
England. The board of directors comprises representative men ■ 
of Ness City, and the following eastern men: A. E. Alvord of 
Boston ; L. Cleaves of Rockport ; and L. J. Fosdick of 
Boston. Tlie officers are as follows: N. C. Merrill, president; 
J. G. Arnold, vice-president; E. C. Merrill, cashier; A. S. 
Hazen, asst. cashier; and A. E. Alvord, eastern manager. 
They possess special qualifications for the discharge of the impor- 
tant duties devolving upon them, and tlie bank luas proved a bless- 
ing to Kansas farmers iind merchants and affords the safest and 
most convenient channel for the investment of eastern capital in 
the finest class of farm and city mortgages ; the choicest bonds 
and county warrants, and a limited amount of gilt edge commer- 
cial paper. All loans are taken under the personal supervision 
and in tlie name of Mr. Merrill, the president, a pioneer in that 
section, who is intimately acquainted with both the applicant and 
his property, and no confidence is placed in local agents in the 
west to solicit loans. Tlieir $400 and $500 mortgages are on pre- 
cisely the same class of farms as ordinarily carry $700, $800 and 
$1,000. The rate of interest offered is the highest possible consist- 
ent with absolute safety and ranges from 6 to 7 per cent., accord- 
ing to time and character of the security. Mr. Alvord has most 
satisfactorily represented the bank's interests in the east. The 
b.ank pays twelve per cent, annual dividend and its stock has ap- 
preciated rapidly in value. Its last semi-annual statement is of a 
very flattering character, and indicates not only ability and in- 
tegrity of management, but also the rapid growth of the western 
section of the state. Those seeking absolutely sate invest- 
ments, and of the most remunerative character should apply to 
Mr. Alvord, at his office. No. 40 Water Street, who afways has on 
hand the best class of farm and city mortgages, and other desir- 
able securities. He is a popular and responsible young business 
man and gives the closest attention to the interests of all patrons 
of the bank, and has developed a growing connection of the most 
desirable character. 

CE. WHITMORE & CO., Brokers, Grain, Stocks and Bonds, 
No. 131 Devonshire Street.— The centralization of capital in 
the city of Boston, and the correspondingly marked degree 
of financial enterprise and activity, inherent in the money 
and stock markets, are to a great extent due to the conservative 
methods and ability of our leading bankers and brokers. Promi- 
nent among the number, is the reliable and newly established 
firm of Messrs. C. E. Whitmore & Co., whose offices are centrally 
located at No. 131 Devonshire Street. Tlie members of this co- 
partnership are Messrs. C. E. Whitmore and D. W. Coolidge, both 
of whom possess great practical experience, and an intimate and 
accurate knowledge of the money and stock markets. The fii m 
purchases and sells for cash or on margin all securities listed on 
the Boston and New York stock exchanges, likewise grain, provi- 
sions and petroleum. Messrs. C. E. Wliitmore & Co. are noted for 
obtaining early and accurate information as to the state of the 
market, and number among their customers many active operators 
and wealthy investors. The offices are well equipped and are 
connected by prlv.ate wire with New Y'ork and Chicago. The 
partners are popular members of the Boston Stock Exchange, and 
are highly regarded in financial circles for their prudence, energy 
and just methods. Their New York correspondent is Mr. W. M. 
Tewksbury, No. 11 Wall Street and at his hands patrons will ever 
be treated with courtesy. 



THE METROPOLIS OF NEW ENGLAND. 



133 



RUSSELL COUNTER COJIPANY, JIamifactureis of Water- 
proof Moulded Stiffenings, W. H. Itussell, President ; L. B. 
Kussell, Treasurer; No. 96V< Summer Street— This success- 
ful, reliable and representative company was duly incor- 
porated in 1S87 under the laws of Maine, with ample capital, and 
now carries on a trade which extends throughout the entire United 
states and Canada. This business was originally founded eighteen 
years ago by Mr. L. B. Russell, who conducted it Willi great suc- 
cess, till it was incorporated, as the Russell Counter Company 




The company's factory is at Woburn, and comprises twelve 
spacious buildings, which have an area of an acre. The various 
departments are fully supplied with the latest improved ma- 
chinery and appliances, necessary for the systematic and success- 
ful prosecution of the business. Here 100 operatives are employed, 
and the maeliinery is driven by steam power. The vvaterprool 
moulded slilti'uings manufactured by the Russell Counter Com. 
pany are unrivalled for durability, quality, strength and excel 
lence, and have no superiors in this or any other market. All 
orders are promptly and carefully filled, and all goods are fully 
warranted to be exactly as represented. 

E& A. H. BATCHELLER & CO., Manufacturer of Boots and 
Shoes ; Office No. 106 Summer Street.— Boston has long been 
J noted as being the leading centre of the wholesale boot 
and shoe trade of the United States, while the command 
of Large capital, coupled with the well-known energy and enter- 
prise of the representative members of this growing industry, lias 
permanently retained the supremacy. Prominent among the 
largest and most progressive houses, that give time and character 
to this trade, is that of Messrs. E. & A. I-L Batcheller & Co., whose 
office and sample rooms are located at No. lOG Summer Street. 
This extensive business was established sixty years ago by 
Messrs. Tyler & Ezra Batcheller, who were eventually succeeded 
in 1862 by Messrs. E. & A. H. Batcheller & Co. Mr. E. Batcheller 
died in 1870, and the business is now the property of Mr. A. H. 
Batcheller, who has latterly admitted his son, Mr. Francis Batch- 
eller, into partnership. Both partners are able and experienced 
.shoe manufacturers, fully conversant with every detail and fea- 
ture of this valuable industry, and the requirements of jobbers, 
retailers and the general public. The firm's manufactory, which 
is one of the largest and best equipped in America, and furnishes 
constant employment to over 1,200 operatives, is situated at North 
lirookfield, Mass. Messrs E. & A. H. Batcheller & Co., manufac- 
ture extensively brogans, mens', youths' and boys' heavy boots 
and shoes. Their goods are unrivalled for quality, durability, fin- 
ish and workmanship and have no superiors in this or any other 
market, while their prices in all cases necessarily attract the at- 
tention of careful and close buyers. The business of this success- 
ful and popular house, which is strictly wholesale, extends through- 
out all sections of the United States and Canada. Messrs. A. H. 
and Francis' Batcliellor are both natives of Massachusetts. They 
are higlily esteemed in trade circles for their skill and just meth- 
ods, and have built up a business and reputation alike creditable 
to tlieir industry, energy and enterprise. 



HCRIXE, Imijorter and Manufacturer of Fine Fur Garments, 
Tiinimings & Robes, Nos 1.5 and 17 Avon Street.— The 
I, keen, intelligent public of Boston, and adjoining towns 
and cities, are quick to perceive and prompt to patronize 
that tradesman who, by the exercise of skilled experience, sound 
judgment and untiring industry, facilitates the securing of the 
choicest honestly-made goods at the lowest prices. In the fore- 
most rank of manufacturing furriers, is Mr. H. Crine, of Nos. 15 and 
17 Avon Street, to whom the above remarks strictly apply. His 
has been a success achieved in the face of extreme competition, 
and one all the more creditable because, in every case, for every 
garment turned outliy him the public h.is gotthe full worth of its 
money. Mr. Crine was born in Germany, and came to New York 
in 1857, establisliing business there tlie following year. Subse- 
quently he removed to Georgia, where he enlisted in the 2d Geor- 
gia Rifles, serving three and one-half years, and was a portion of 
the time interpreter at the liead«iuarters of the Army of the Ten- 
nessee. After the war he returned to New York and resumed 
business, and in 1865 settled in this city. Here he occupies a 
spacious and eleg.ant store, situated in a business portion of the 
city, absolutely central, and convenient alike to the elite of the 
city and hotel sojourners. The results have been what might be 
expected, when we consider the sound judgment of the jiroprietor 
and his determination to excel all competition in this direction of 
tr.ade. As an extensive importer and manufacturer of fine fur 
■ garments, tiinimings and robes, Mr. Urine is now fast controlling 
the best American trade. As he selects his skins with the utmost 
care, the public can rely on securing here the finest sealskin 
j.ickets, dolmans, paletots and fur trimmings of all kinds in his 
showrooms, quoted at prices which cannot be duplicated else- 
where. Making a specialty of the richestseal and fur garments in 
all standard lengths, we would cordially recommend the public to 
inspect this splendid stock and get quotations before purchasing 
elsewhere. The elaborate finish, the perfect cut and symmetry of 
all Mr. Crine's work has become justly celebrated, conlirniing the 
general belief that merit tells, while Mr. Crine is inspired with'the 
laudable ambition to give the best value of any manufacturing 
furrier in America. 

J P. T. PERCIVAL, City Hall Pharmacy, No. S.'i School Street 
Cor. City Hall Avenue.— No department of business in Bos- 
ton is of more direct value and importance to the commu- 
nity at large than that in which the practical pharmacist 
brings to bear his professional skill and experience. In this con- 
nection special attention is directed to the establishment known 
as the City Hall Pharmacy, and conducted for so many years by 
Mr. .1. P. T. Percival, at No. 35 School Street, corner of City Hall 
Avenue. This house has been in existence for a iieriod of sixty 
years, the present proprietor succeeding to the control upward 
of twenty years ago. The store is located in anew and spacious 
building, and is one of the most attractive features of this busy and 
nmch-frequented thoroughfare. Here is always to be found a 
complete stock of pure fresh drugs and chemicals, all the reliable 
and standard medicines and family remedies, , and the latest nov- 
elties in perfumery, toilet articles and fancy goods of both domes- 
tic and foreign production. The goods are selected with scrupu- 
lous care and experienced judgment, and can be relied upon as 
the best that the market affords. The prescription department is 
perfect in every particular, being fully .supplied with the latest im- 
proved apparatus and appliances known to this important branch, 
and is presided over by Mr. A. K. Tilden and a corps of expert 
pharmacists, whose experience and ability thoroughly qualify 
them for compounding physicians'prescriptionsand family recipes 
in a careful and accurate manner. This house al.so handles the 
following preparations as specialties, viz: nerve tonic, cream of 
roses, glycerine lotion, tooth powder, extract ginger, Dr. Clarke's 
cough mixture, sarsaparilla, tomato bitters and calisaya bark- 
Any articles bearing the name of this house ,ire invariably 
accepted by the profession and the public as thoroughly genuine, 
posessing all the qualities cLainied for them by the manuf.actu- 
rers. All orders are given prompt attention, and the wants of all 
classes of patrons are ministered to with eminent success and 
satisfaction. Mr. Percival is a native of Hanover, Mass., and 
known and honored in this city as an .accomplished pharmacist 
and a tlioroughly responsible and representative business m.an. 



134 



ILLUSTRATED BOSTON. 



DIAMOND CUTTING.— The art oj cutting diamonds originated 
in Asia at a very early period, but was first introduced into 
Europe about the middle o£ the 15th century, tlie famous 
Sanci diamond supposed to have been tlie first one cut' 
The process was slow and tedious, being entirely done by Iiand. 
The Kegent or Pitt diamond required two years for its com- 
pletion. For many years diamonds were imperfectly cut, and 
the worlc was done almost entirely in Amsterdam. It was re- 
served for Boston to sliow tlie civilized world to what perfec- 
tion this most beautiful of all precious stones could be brouglit. 
In 1860 Mr. Henry D. Horse opened a small diamond-cut- 
ting factory, employing foreign help. He early conceived 
the idea of teaching Americans, but tlie secret of liow the worii 
was accomplislied was jealously guarded by tliose possessing it. 
Mr Morse, however, determined to wrest tlie coveted linowledge 
Irom tliem, and in order to do so, overcame what would have been 
to most men insurmountable oUstacles. After long and careful 
examination of the vvorls, he solved the theory by wliicli it was 
done, and fitting up a place outside liis factory, commenced putting 
the tlieory into practice. Several liouis each day were spent by 
him in his worlsshop, and wlien he came to a part tliat baffled his 
efforts, he paid a visit to his workmen, and wliile engaging them in 
conversation, carefully observed by what means the desired end 
was reached. He then retired to his shop and practiced what he 
had seen, until after a great amount of labor and perseverance 
he was able to completely polisli a diamond. When it is con- 
sidered that in a perfectly cut stone there are fifty-eight dis- 
tinct facets, each with a different grain, and that it is impossible to 
polish a facet except witli the grain, some faint idea may be ob- 
tained of tlie difliculties, under which he labored. A man of Mr. 
Morse's genius was not likely to stop here, and he immediately 
went to work to improve the art in every possible way. He im- 
proved tlie machines then in use, invented a cutting machine, also 
a gauge todetermine the angles giving the greatest refractivepower 
clearly demonstrating tiiat diamonds could be cut by a system 
based on scientific principles. Upon learning tliat Mr. Morse was 
teaching Americans, hisworknien left him and started in business 
for themselves. They engaged Mr. J. B. Humphrey to build their 
machines and fit up their factory. The new firm was not very pros- 
perous. In a short time one of the partners fled to Europe with the 
diamonds, leaving tlie other witli only tools and inacliiiiery. Mr. 
Humphrey, wlio had gained some insight into the business went to 
tlie deserted partner offering to furnish money and start tlie busi- 
ness anew. Tiie offer was accepted, but in a sliort time, the Dutch- 
man found tliat he would be expected to teacli Americans. This he 
refused to do and tlie partnersliip was dissolved. Mr. Humphrey 
viAS thus left with a factory on liis hands, but no workmen, nor 
could he hire any. But again •' Yankee " pluck and intelligence 
came to tlie rescue, and after four years of hard labor and indomit- 
able perseverance, he was acknowledged, with the exception of 
Mr. Morse, tlie finest diamond cutter in the world. The cleav- 
ing of diamonds is by tar tlie most difticult part of tiie whole 
operation, requiring superior judgment and very careful manip- 
ulation. Indeed there are but three or four cleavers in tliis 
country. In this department, however, Mr. Humphrey has also 
been very successful. About this time Randel, Baremore & Bil- 
lings of N. Y., offered him such fl.attering inducements to come 
tliere and start a factory for them, that he did so, remaining in 
tlieir employ nearly two years. After the decease of Mr. Morse he 
purchased the tools and machines left by him, returned to Boston 
and again engaged in business for himself. Wlien people began to 
realize how tlie value and beauty of a diamond were enhanced by 
superior cutting, a great demand for Boston cut diamonds sprang up 
and Mr. Humphrey is constantly in receipt of stones to be recut 
from many parts of the United States, many of them being lieir- 
looms of more than a local reputation. He is also largely engaged 
in cutting stones from the rough and is one of tlie largest importers, 
making repeiited trips to Europe mi order to personally select his 
stock, which lie always keeps full and complete. The polishing of 
a diamond must necessarily be interesting to the artisan. He 
sees the dull pebbly-looking stone gradually change to a sparkling 
gem, and feels that here is something over which time has no 
power, but may be enjoyed by geueration after generation for 
thousands of years, and still shine with the same brilliancy as 
when it first left liis hands. 



A P. FI.SHER & CO., Brokers in Grain, Stock and Petroleum, 
— Nos. 28 and 29 Equitable Building, No. 150 Devonshire 
I Street.— There is no more important interest to the finan- 
cial and mercantile community tlian that controlled by 
the several stocli exchanges of the country. New York, with its 
vast interests in railroads, steamship line,?, produce and oil, daily 
transacts an amount of business without parallel in the history of 
tiie country. Among the members of tlie New York Consolidated 
Stock and Petroleum Exchange engaged in business in Boston Is 
the firm of Messrs. A. P. Fisher & Co., who occupy eligible offices 
at Nos. 28 and 29 Equitable Building. This firm are brokers in 
grain, stock and petroleum, having some tliirty branches tlirough- 
out New England, and correspondents in New York and Cliicagc. 
Tiie business was originally established in 1883 by Messrs. C. J. 
Fisher & Co. in New York city, and was removed to Boston in Decem- 
ber, 1886, the present firm succeeding to the control in 1888. Thf 
f.acilities here possessed for covering every branch of the business 
are unsurpassed. This firm are perfectly prepared for the purchase 
and sale of all kinds of railroad and mining stocks, bonds and in- 
vestment securities, either for cash or on a margin on commis- 
sion. Orders are made at once and transfers executed, together 
with all business of this nature, as readily as could be done by 
personal attendance at tiie Exchange. Orders for tiie purchase or 
sale of stocks, grain, provisions and petroleum are filled on mar- 
gins of from one per cent, upward. The members of the firm give 
their personal attention to every item of business that passes 
througli their offlce, and the accuracy with which they estimate 
tlie value of the viirious securities has given them a distinction 
that has merited the confidence of an extensive and influential cli- 
entele, and given them a high reputation as financiers. As all 
business entrusted to tliem is dealt with promptly and in a man- 
ner which secures the greatest possible advantage to customers, 
their ollices are a favorite resort for investors. In this system of 
business, losses are limited to the amount of margin deposited, 
while profits are unlimited. Their otfices are open alike to the 
man of wealth and to those of limited means, and each receives the 
same consideration at tlie hands of the firm. Full quotations of the 
different markets are received, as well as tiie current gossip of 
Wall street and Chicago, and all sources of information are 
searcued as a guide to the market. The members of this firm are 
Messrs. A. P. Fisher, F. R. Tibbitts and L. B. Smith, all practical 
and expert brokers, of high repute in financial circles. 

WEMYSS CONCERT COMPANY', of Boston, Mr. Alex. J. 
Wemyss, Manager, Offlce No. 82 Canal Street.— The peo- 
ple of the country are naturally fond of amusements 
and appreciate high class talent and liberally support 
it. Such being the fact it is only natural that there sliould be 
many concert companies and troupes of acknowledged abilities to 
furnish the entertainment demanded. Among these companies 
one of the best known hailing from Boston is that of the Wemyss 
Concert Company, of which Mr. Alex. J. Wemyss, is manager. 
This company has been before the public several years, and pre- 
sents talent of acknowledged ability, recognized in their special 
fortes, the best in the country, all of whom have established repu- 
tations at home and abroad as artists of ability and worth. The 
personnel of the company comprises Miss Nellie Salome Thomas, 
soprano; Mrs. S. Wemyss Bradbury, reader ; Miss Fannie Pack- 
ard Hoyt, violinist; Mr. Percy J. J. Cooper, late leading tenor oi 
the C. D. Hess and Nuendorfl (irand Opera Company, soloist ; Mrs. 
Alex. J. Wemyss, pianoist and accompanist, .and Mr. Alex. J. 
W'eniyss, humorist, whose comic songs and droll sayings are one ot 
the features of the entertainments. The programme offered Is 
always varied and well arranged, and wherever the company ap- 
pears a large and appreciative audience greet the members, and 
as their repertoire is very extensive the efforts of the artists arc 
sure to give pleasure and satisfaction. Lodges and societies de- 
siring to furnish first-class entertainments for their friends should 
confer with Mr. Alex. J. Wemyss, the manager, whose office is at 
No. 82 Canal Street. Mr. Wemyss is a young man, an accomplished 
musici.an and humorist and is recognized as one of the best in the 
country. The Wemyss Concert Company is liighly endorsed by 
the press and comniPiulcd by all who li.ave had the pleasure of at- 
tending tlie unexcelled entertainments given by the celebrated 
artists composing it. 



THE METROPOLIS OF NEW ENGLAND. 



135 



FRINK & HAYES, Contractors and Builders of Gas and Water 
Works, No. 19 Exchange Place, Room 15. — One of the repre 
sent.itive lirnis of this city, and one controlling a vast busi- 
ness, is that of Messrs. Frink and Hayes, the well-known 
contractors and builders of gas and water works, who occupy elig- 
ibly located offices at No. 19 Exchange Place. The copartners are 
Messrs. \V. B. Frink and A. \V. Hayes, both young men of vast prac- 
tical experience in their business, and of excellent standing in this 
city. Mr. Frink was born in New Hampshire, and came to Boston 
in 1871, has had an experience of twenty years in the gas works 
line, and is thoroughly versed in all the details and requirements 
of the business. Mr. Hayes is a native of the state of Maine, and 
has resided in Boston for tlie past eighteen years. This firm under- 
take contr.acts for supplying entire plants for gas or water works 
in towns, villages and cities, and their services are in constant 
and influential demand throughout New England. They have 
supplied (he towns of Franklin, N. H , Pittsfleld, N. H., Farming- 
ton, N. H., and Stoiigliton, Mass., and in every case their work is of 
a substantial, permanent and praiseworthy character, forming 
their best possible recommendation to popular favor and public 
patronage. Oil g.as has a higher illuminating power than any 
other known substance with one exception (electricity) and con- 
tains no impurities such as sulphur, carbonic .acid, carbonic ox- 
ide, ammonia, etc., and therefore does not require any purifica 
tion. The gas is produced by the process known as destructive 
distillation, the oil being introduced into iron retorts five inches 
in diameter and heated a little above a cherry red heat, each re- 
tort contains a current breaking cylinder of wrought or cast 
iron, having its ends conical or pointed, and having set tliere in a 
series of radially projecting pins extending to the inner periphery 
of the inclosing retort or pipe, said pins being so set in said cylin- 
der as to present effective obstacles to a direct flow of the current 
of oil through said retort, thereby converting every particle of oil 
into gas. After the oil has been converted into gas in the retort 
it passes through a water seal and then through eight scrubbers, 
which divests the gas of aqueous vapors and tarry matters if any, 
and from tlie scrubbers the gas passes into the gas holder and 
is distributed through the mains. The retorts may be heated 
with coke, soft coal or wood. Gas plants are supplied by this firm 
for this givs, and the following is a list of testimonials as togas 
plants erected under their supervision. "Farmington, N. H., May 
12. 1888. To whom it may concern: This is to certify that I am a 
consumer of oil giis made by the Farmington Gas Light Company, 
and find that the light is of a superior character and costs to con- 
sumers moderate, ft is used in factories, shops, houses, and for 
streets in this town, and gives perfect satisfaction as I believe gen- 
erally. Respectfully, F. G. Tebbets & Co., merchants, and one of 
board of selectmen." " Farmington, N. H., May 12, 1888. To whom 
it may concern : This is tocertify that I am aeonsunier of oil gas made 
by the Farmington Gas Light Company, and find that the light is of a 
superior character and cost to consumer moderate. It is used in 
factories, shops, houses, and for streets In this town, and gives 
perfect satisfaction to tlie best of my knowledge. Respectfully, 
Ch.as. W. Talpey, Treas. Farmington Savings Bank." The sup- 
plies handled and furnished by this firm have a national reputa- 
tion for solidity, durability, and perfection of operation, while 
all contracts are finished in a thorough, workmanlike manner, 
reflecting the highest credit upon the skill, ability and care of 
the contractors. Estimates and terms are promptly furnished, and 
tlie firm are in a position to defy competition and to place all 
transactions upon a sound and substantial footing. 

ALLAN LINE OF ROYAL MAIL STEAMSHIPS, H. & A. 
Allan, Agents, Company's Wharf, Pier 6, Hoosac Tunnel 
Docks; Offices, No. 80 State Street. -The fame of the Allan 
Line of Royal Mail Line of steamships is world wide. The 
pioneer in opening regular steam communication between the St. 
Lawrence and England, it has materially contributed to develop 
the foreign commerce and prosperity of Boston and Portland, Me. 
As early as 1813, the company ran several of theirsteamships to 
Boston, whose unrivalled through transportation f.icilities from 
the west enabled cargoes to be laid down to a direct advantage 
over New York. The trade steadily enlarged, and in 1880 the Bos- 
ton agency was duly established by Messrs. H. & A. Allan. The 
company is the one running a direct line on the important route 



from Glasgow, Derry and Galway to Boston direct and it is of great 
importance to passengers to and from the west of Ireland and to 
and from Scotland that this line of Srst cl.ass steamships include 
this among their other routes. The full list is as follows: Liver 
pool and Quebec Service via Londonderry; Liverpool and Balti- 
more Service via Queenstown, calling at St. Johns and H.alifaxi 
Glasgow and Philadelphia service, via Londonderry and Galway ; 
Glasgow, Quebec and Montreal service : London, Quebec and Mon- 
treal service, and the one before mentioned from Glasgow to this 
city. To fully meet the requirements of this list of routes, the 
company has a fleet of twenty-nine of the finest steamships afloat, 
all specially constructed for the North Atlantic trade, having water 
tight compartments, fitted uji in the most admirable manner with 
all modern improvements, and unsurpassed for strength, speed 
and comfort. The line h.as become the most famous for quick pas- 
sengerservice of any on the Atlantic, making the trip from land to 
land in five days, the distance from Quebec to Liverpool is 500 miles 
shorter than from New York, while for 1,000 miles, the steamships 
pursue their course througli the magnificent scenery of tlie lower 
St. Lawrence, undisturbed by the roughness of the ocean and 
enabling the passengers to avoid seasickness and enjoy the varied 
beauties of tlie trip. This is the favorite route both with tourists 
and with business men. The fares are as low as by any other first- 
class line, while the accommodations are unsurpassed. The line is 
celebrated for liberality of management while the ships are under 
the command of experienced officers who enforce the strictest dis- 
cipline. Excursion tickets for first-class passage are sold from 
Boston for from $90 to $150, single cabin passages ranging from $50 
to 880. Intermediate and steerage tickets are sold at very low 
rates. This is the route for steerage passengers, they have super- 
ior accommod.ations, and the best and most liberal of treatment. 
The wants of female passengers .and of children are attended to by 
stewardesses, and in many other ways, this line's steerage is the 
best equipped of any in the Transatlantic service. The Allan 
Line is the popular one in New England. In winter its ships sail 
from Portland, and in summer the rail trip to Quebec is a sliort 
and pleasant one. In every way the Line is worthy of the patron- 
age of the public, and the residents of Boston and New England 
can obtain full particulars by calling at or communicating with 
the agents, Messrs. H. & A. Allan at their offices. No. 80 State 
Street, where Mr. John Bridgewater is the manager in charge of 
the passenger department, who has had lengthy experience in rep- 
resenting tlie .\llan Line, 

BAY ST.A.TE HOUSE. George Q. Pattee, Proprietor; No. 382 
Hanover Street.— When visiting Boston we would recom- 
mend the traveling public to stop at the old established 
and popular B,ay State House in Hanover Street. It is now 
under new and energetic management and is conducted upon the 
most approved principles and liberal methods. The house was 
first opened about thirty years, and after various changes of pro- 
prietorship, in October, 1887, passed into the hands of Mr. George 
Q. Pattee, one of the most widely and favorably known of Boston 
hotel men, and who w.as formerly clerk of the St. Nicholas House, 
Province Court. He lias refurnislied and renovated the Bay State 
House throughout, enforces a thorough system of organization 
and gives that close personal supervision so gratifying to the pat- 
rons of a hotel. The house has an excellent location in Hanover 
Street, and is a substantiiil brick building, four stories in height, 
and 50x175 feet in dimensions. All the modern improvements 
have been introduced, including gas, steam heat, electric bells, 
etc. On the first floor is the h.andsome office, and a spacious and 
well arranged dining room; on the second floor are the parlors, 
furnished in modern style. There 106 single and double rooms for 
guests, light, airy and most comfortably furnished, in a complete 
manner that invari.ably gratifies the p.atrons of the house, and 
whose interests are so carefully looked after by Mr. Pattee and 
his popular clerk, Mr. Frank Haidensett. The Bay State House is 
conducted on the popular American plan, rooms ranging in price 
from fifty cents to ?1 00 per day ; board SL-SO upwards per day. Mr. 
Pattee is noted for bis excellent table. He is a liberal purveyor, 
and all the delicacies of the season are served here in the best 
style, the kitchen being in cluarge of a competent cook and staff of 
assistants, while the attendance at table is polite and prompt 
in every particular. 



136 



ILLUSTRATED BOSTON. 



AMERICAN FIBE ALARM COMPANY, C. F. Blackwell, Presi- 
dent. J. D. Dexter, Treasurer, No. 71 Kilby Street, Factory 
No. 370 Atlantic Avenue.— Tills is empliatically an era of 
inogress, on every hand the ingenious Urain of tlie inventor 
is constantly at work, and many of our most useful contrivances 
.and discoveries are but a few years old. In this connection, special 
reference is made in this commercial review of Boston, to tlie 
representative and reliable American Fire Alarm Company, whose 
offices are located at No. 71 Kilby Street, Factory No. 370 Atlantic 
Avenue. This company was duly incorporated in 1881,under the laws 
of Maine, with a paid-up capital of $30,000. It has latterly purchased 
all the patent rights and business for the New England States, of 
the American Automatic Fire Alarm Associ.ation, consequently .all 
correspondence relative to business in said territory, must be di- 
rected to the offices of the American Fire Alarm Company. The 
comp.any's chief executive officers, who are highly esteemed by the 
community for their enterprise, skill and integrity are as follows: 
C. F. Blackwell, president ; J. D. Dexter, treasurer ; A. D. Wlieeler, 
snpt. The system of automatic fire alarm, as now carried out by 
this responsible company has been in practical operation in New 
England for sever.al years. It has full approval of the various in- 
surance companies, for wliich they grant a substantial reduction 
in rates, and is accepted by them as fully equivalent to watchmen 
and electric clocks. BrieHy stated the system is as follows: Ther- 
mostats set to give an alarm of fire on the temperature in the room 
or factory rising thirty degrees above the normal heat of the room, 
are placed fifteen feet apart on the ceilings, and in all closets and 
concealed spaces, throughout the building. These sensitive ther- 
mostats are connected by wires to an iron case annunciator or in- 
dicator, located on outside of building, which indicates the loca- 
tion of an alarm, by floors or other divisions that may be neces- 
sary to promptly locate a fire. These wires and thermostats are 
also connected to a gong on the outside of the building, also to one 
in the fire engine house, or in places remote from the fire depart- 
ment, two gongs are placed in two different houses adjacent to the 
premises protected. These gongs ring continually in case of fire. 
In order that the system may always be in perfect working order, 
and that owners and insurance comiianies may be certain of the 
fact, a recording testing instrument is placed in the office, from 
which perforated records must be taken daily of the condition of 
the entire system. These dials are d.ated and kept for reference. 
In making this test tlie batteries, instruments, gongs, and every 
inch of wire is used; .any disarrangement will show the location of 
trouble on the dial. The batteries used are simple and durable and 
will last for years. The work is done by contract, and prices vary, 
according to size and location of factory or building, from 8300 and 
upwards. The following is a parti.al list of parties, using this un- 
rivalled fire alarm: New York and New England R. R., Boston 
stor.age warehouse, Boston art museum. Masonic Temple, Steamer 
Bristol, Fall River Line, Steamer Puritan, Fall River Line. Steamer 
Pilgrim, Fall River Line, Boston, Mass. ; Eaton & Terry, Emerson 
Weeks & Co., F. E. White, H. T. Marshall, James Means. Charles 
Howard & Co., George G. Snow. I. A. Seals, Burt & Packard, Lilly, 
Brackett & Co., Brockton, M,ass.; Gardner Brothers. John Pilling, 
Goodrich & Porter, Griffin Brothers, Gage & Johnson, Fist National 
Bank, W. F. Endicott, Charles W. Arnold, Sanders Leather Com- 
pany, Perley A. Stone, Field, Th.ayer & Co., Johnson & Farrar, W. 
F. ,& J. A. Blake, Haverhill, Mass. : Bradford Academy, Bradford. 
M.ass. ; E. T. Smith & Co., Worcester, M. C. Dizer & Co., East Wey- 
mouth, Cluarles E. Tucker, Abington, Strauss & Kinsley, Braintree, 
French & Hall, Brocton, Geo. H. Burt & Co., Brookfield, M. F. 
Thomas, Campello, Churchill & Alden, Campello, Rugg Building, 
Haverhill, Mass. and C. B. Lancaster & Co, Barnstead, N. H. 

BAY STATE BOILER COMPOUND COMPANY, Manufac- 
turers of Bay State Boiler Compound, Etc., E. P. Parsons, 
President : H. T. Crocker, General Manager ; No. 31 Doane 
Street.— A representative and successful concern in Boston 
actively engaged in the manufacture of Bay State Boiler Com- 
pound, is th.at known as the Bay State Boiler Compound Company, 
whose offices are located at No. 31 Doane Street. This business 
was established in 1885 by Bradshaw, Crocker & Co., and eventu- 
ally was duly incorporated under the laws of Maine in 1887 with a 
capital of $80,000, of which $60,000 is paid up. The officers of the 
company are : E. P. Parsons, president ; E, H. Bradshaw, treasurer; 



H. T. Brocker, general manager. The company's factory, which 
is well equipped, is situated at Cambridge. The company niaiiu- 
faetures the famous Bay State Boiler Compound, and deals in oils 
and all kinds of mill and engineers' supplies. They are likewise 
sales' agents for Mayall's improved packing, .and tne Ellis cylinder 
oil cup. The B.ay State Compound is unrivalled for utility, relia- 
bility and efficiency, and is a general favorite with owners of 
steam boilers, wherever Introduced The compound is of a soft, 
mild nature, enters into, softens and goes with the steam through- 
out the interior of the boilers and all their connecting pipes, pre- 
serving the iron by preventing pitting and corrosion, so common 
to the interior of boilers and pipes. Among the first good results 
shown will be the softening of incrustation and corrosion, which 
collects on joints and gauge-cocks. Although it will finally remove 
all scales, incrustation and rust from interior of boilers and pipes, 
it is not a quick process, and takesaboutsix weeks to show decided 
results. Compounds that are sold with results to be shown in 
from one to three weeks are very liable to contain .acids which 
will have an injurious effect on the iron It being made from veg- 
etable products, it will not gum or stop up gauge-glasses or valves, 
and hiis no injurious effect on dyes, beers, ales or foods. To par- 
ties who have never given the matter much thought, we will say. it 
is an established fact, the conducting power of iron is from a to 40 
times that of scale, according to the nature of the scale ; thus, if a 
boiler has about an average thickness of 1-20 of an inch scale, it is 
equivalent to from 1 to 1'4 inches of iron to be heated In addition 
to the thickness of sheets tubes and flues. This being the case, it 
will be easily seen th.at a large amount of fuel must be wasted in 
keeping steam up to the desired pressure; if the boilers were per- 
fectly clean this could be easily att.ained. Inasmuch as the com- 
pany does not claim everything, to parties wishing clean boilers 
and free connecting pipes, it can show a vast amount of good done 
and also a large amount of repairs, labor and fuel saved. The 
company hereby claims for the Bay State Compound: 1. It is a 
preservative of iron 2. It can be adapted to any water used for 
steaming. 3 It will save fuel. 4. It will save labor and repairs. 
5 It will save blisters, ruptures and explosions. The Compound 
is put up in barrels, half and quarter barrel packages. The trade 
of the company is steadily increasing in all sections of the United 
States and Canada. Tlie officers are greatly respected for their 
enterprise and integrity in trade circles. 

MERCHANDISE NATIONAL BANK. Offices- Mason Build- 
ing, No. 70 Kilby Streek— One of Boston's representa- 
tive financial Institutions is the popular Merchandise 
National Bank. It was duly organized in IS"."! in response 
to the pressing demands of leading mercantile circles for enlarged 
facilities, and its capital stock of $500,000 was quickly taken by 
leading capitalists and business men. Their judgment proved 
correct, for the bank has proved a lieavy dividend payer, doing 
such a large and prosperous business, and maintaining its stock 
away above par. The directors include Mr. J. G. Whitney, the 
president; Mr. A. H. Ev.ans. president of the Five Cent Savings 
Bank; Mr. Nath. F. Tenney retired; Mr. Silas Potter, retired; Mr. 
Natli. P. Hamlin, commission merchant, and Mr. Thomas Apple- 
ton, cotton buyer. A more representative list could not have been 
gathered together, these gentlemen's names being synonymous 
with stability and integrity. Mr. J, G. Whitney has retained the 
presidency since the bank's inception. He Is a member of the old 
and representative house of J. Whitney Brothers, importers, and 
is a recognized exponent of those great cardinal principles, which 
underlie the fabric of the commercial world. Mr. Whitney pos 
sesses marked executive .abilities and regularly and readily dis 
charges a multiplicity of duties that would prove a heavy burden 
to many. He is a director of the Mercantile & M.anufacturers In- 
surance Co. ; of the China Insurance Company. ; and of the Boyls- 
ton Insurance Company. Under his sound practical guidance the 
Merchandise National Bank is one of the most popular in Boston. 
He has appreciated support from the cashier, Mr. Charles H. Kil- 
ham. who has been with the bank since it first opened, and as an 
able and clear headed financier. Tlie bank transacts a general 
business. It is a favorite depository with merchants and has on 
its ledgers the n.ames of the most eminent houses of Boston and 
New England and with its capital of $500,000 and large reserve 
funds, the bank has a handsome surplus of $38,000. 



HE METROPOLIS OF NEW ENGLAND. 



137 



AT. THOMPSON & CO., Manufacturers and Dealers in 
Stereoptieons, Lenses, Photographic Slides, Etc., No. 13 
Treniont Row.— There is probably not one among the 
many novel and ingenious devices combining the features 
of utility. Instruction and amusement th,at have taken a firnierhold 
on popular favor than the stereopticon. And this is true alike as 
to its application as an effective adverti.sing medium, in street dis- 
play, as an .adjunct to the lecture pl.atforni, or stage effects. Keep- 
ing pace with tlie march of progress in science and art, very marked 
improvement has been effected in these interesting and useful de- 
vices of late, a degree of excellence clo.sely akin to perfection itself 
having been attained in the articles mentioned by some makers, 
and among those can be named a. T. Tliompson & Co., manufaet- 
tu'ers of and dealers in stereoptieons, lenses, photographic slides, 
etc.. No. 13 Treniont Kow, this c.ty, whose productions are articles 




of excel t I 1 el t I i ^ I o I e e I e a w 1 1 i ^1 ^^ 

ing demand in the trade thioughcut the entire countiv Tlie tlec 
11 ic-light sttreopticon (which is the leading specialtj ,) patented and 
made only by tliis firm, is by common consent the most effective, 
perfect and altogetlier superior device ever invented as is amply 
attested by the extensive sale it is meeting with all over the United 
States. Mr. Thompson is a in.anof practical skill and ingenuityy, 
of long and varied experience in this line, and is tliorouglily con- 
versant with the business in all its branches. He established this 
flourishing business in 1871, .and from the first has been signally suc- 
cessful in his enterprise. The premisesoccupied at No. 13Treinont 
Row include a neat. compact office and salesroom on tliird floor, with 
commodious, well equiiiped factory on fourth floor, while some 
twenty expert hands are employed. The Ann manufactures and 
deals in stereoptieons of every description, lenses, photographic 
slides and kindred articles, and also makes slides to order in the 
most prompt and excellent manner, while lectures are illustrated 
likewise in llrst-class style, at reasonable rates. 

ERNEST F. STEVENS, Artistic Photography, No. 22 Treniont 
Row,— Tlie reliable and popular photographer, Mr. Ernest 
F. Stevens, although a young man has had quite an ex- 
tended experience in the profession, and li.as achieved .an 
enviable reputation as an artist of undoubted skill and ability. 
For .about six months he was a member of the firm of Stevens & 
Read whom he succeeded in November last and has since con- 
tinued the business with marked success, enlarged the facilities 
and materially added to the reputation of the studio by the su- 
perior excellence of his artistic work. The reception parlors 



which are handsomely furnished occupying the third floor, and the 
operating room the fourth. In this latter department every mod- 
ern appliance and improved apparatus known to the business is 
provided, and the best means are utilized for producing fine work 
in portraiture and beautiful effects. Two experienced operators 
are employed, and artistic photography in .all its branches is exe- 
cuted with marvelous skill and exactitude. Fine portraits are 
executed with skill .and finished in oil, water colors, pastile, etc. 

THE BARBODR BROTHERS COMPANY, Flax Thread Spin- 
ners; Works, Paterson, N. J., Boston Office, No. 21 High 
Street, F. G. King, Manager.— Boston h.as long been noted 

as the centre of the wholesale flax thread trade of New Eng- 
land, while the energy, skill and ability ot the prominent mer- 
chants engaged in tills industry are recognized throughout the 
length and breadth of the United States. Of such firms it 
is not necessary to speak any words of praise; their very 
existence is emph.atic evidence of the honorable position 
they occupy in the commercial world, and the long course 
of just dealing they have pursued. Such a house is tliat 
known as the Barbour Brothers Company, flax thread spin- 
ners, whose extensive works are located at Paterson, N. J. 
The company's Boston office and s.aIesroonis, which is under 
tlie able and careful management of Mr. F. G. King, is 
situated at No. 21 High Street. This business was es- 
tablished 105 years ago in Ireland, and the Boston office 
was opened in 1876. In Ireland tlie firm own and operate 
the extensive Hilden Thread Works, Lisburn, wliicli is car- 
ried on by Messrs. William Barbour & Sons. In their fac- 
tories at Paterson, N. J., and Lisburn, Ireland, andlOttensen, 
Germany, the firm employ 5,500 oper.atives, and their tr.ade 
extends to all parts of the civilized world. The Barbour 
Brothers Company manufacture iu vast quantities all kinds 
of linen thread for hand work and manufacturing purposes. 
Their goods have a world-wide reputation, and are unsur- 
p.assedfor finish, strength, reliability and uniform excellence 
by those of any other first-class house in America or Europe, 
while the prices quoted in all cases necessarily attract the 
attention of close and careful buyers. Mr. King promptly 
fills New England trade orders, and guarantees entire satis- 
faction to p.atrons. Having thus briefly sketched the facili- 
ties of this popular and representative company, it only 
remains to be added, that its business has ever been con- 
ducted on the enduring principles of equity, and rel.ations 

once entered into with it are certain to become not only 
pleasant for the time being, but profitable and permanent. 
The headquarters of the Barbour Brothers Company in tlie United 
States isat No. 218 Church Street New York. 

BOSTON PHOTOGRAVURE COMPANY, Fine Art Publishers, 
Etc., No. 27 Boylston Street.— The improvements that have 
been made in the last few years in all that appertains 
to fine art publishing through the gelatine processes, are 
nowhere more noticeable than in the work of the Boston Photo- 
gravure Company. By means of their various photographic 
methods, many of them their own invention, paintings, portraits, 
designs, woodcuts, 'plans, maps, etc., are reproduced with an 
.accuracy which but a few years ago was absolutely impossible, 
even by the hand of the most artistic engravers and etchers. Tills 
artistic industry is well represented by the Boston Photogravun- 
Comp.any, whose offices and workrooms are located at No.27Boyls 
ton Street. This business was originally established in 1885under tin 
title of the Lewis Company.'and under that name reproduced some 
of the best books ever published up to the present day. In 1886 it 
was reorganized with ample capital, and its name changed as at 
present. The establishment is one of the largest in the country, 
and is fully equipped with all the latest improved apparatus and 
appliances. The specialties ot the company are ; gelatine print- 
ing, or phototypes; half-tone engravings, photo-engravings from 
line work or prints, photographs on wood, photo-lithographs, 
as well as designs and drawings of every description. None but 
the most skilful and careful artists and operators are employed, 
and the whole establishment is under the direct and critical super- 
vision of the officers, who have earned a wide reputation among 
the leading publishers and printers for good work. 



138 



ILLUSTRATED BOSTON. 



WILLIAM L. LOCKHART, Manufacturer and "Wholesale 
Dealer in Coffins and Caskets and Undertakers'Supplies, 
OfBce, No. 119 Staniford Street.— The largest and most 
reliable establishment in Boston successfully engaged 
In the manufacture and sale of coUins, caskets and undertakers' 
supplies, is that of Jlr. William L. Lockhart, whose wareroonis are 
centrally located at the junction of Causeway, Staniford and Mer- 
limac Streets. The factories, which are fully equipped with all 
modern appliances and machinery, and furnish constant employ- 
ment to 120 skilled operatives, are situated on Bridge Street, East 
Cambridge. Tliis business was established in 1849 by Mr. Lock- 
hart, who has since built up liberal, influential and permanent 
patronage in all sections of the United States and Canada. Mr. 
Lockhart's new warerooms are the largest, finest, best adapted, and 
most completely equipped of any manufacturer of funeral supplies 
in this country. Situated in the business portion of Boston, their 
location is such that they are easily accessible from all parts of 
the city; being within five minutes walk of the Northern and 
Eastern Depots, and ten minutes' car ride of the Southern Depots. 
The building, sixstories in height, at the junction of three streets.is 
a most imposing structure, as it stands towering above its sur- 
roundings. It is most firmly and solidly constructed of brick, red- 
sandstone and iron, and is absolutely fireproof. The interior was 
designed and finished wiih the one idea of making this the model 
funeral furnishing house in America. No pains or expense has 
been spared in any detail. It will be noted, that light is received 
from three sides on account of the triangular shape of the build- 
ing, lighting up the most remote parts of the show rooms. It will 
readily be seen that this abundance of pure light is absolutely 
essential for the proper discrimination of the many different 
shades and qualities of cloths used in the manufacture of the 
widely known caskets and robes manufactured by this house. 
The different floors of the building, each containing about five 
thousand square feet of space, are divided as follows: 
second floor— offices and salesroom and casket hardware de- 
partment; third floor— show rooms; fourth floor— packing 
and shipping; fifth and sixth flours— storage. The second 
floor is occupied by the offlces, salesroom, and casket hardware 
department. The furniture and fittings are in cherry, while the 
walls and ceilings are relieved by frescoing in delicate tints, making 
a rich and artistic eflect throughout. On this floor are shown 
complete lines ofrobes for ladies, gentlemen and children ; casket 
linings of all qualities, samples of all the leading varieties of casket 
handles, shrine plates, thumb screws, society emblems, candela- 
bras. Lockhart's embalming board and instruments, undertakers' 
memorandum books for botli desk and pocket, in fact, every, 
thing of a miscellaneous nature that is required for a funeral di- 
rector's use. The show room occupies the whole of the third floor 
from the street entrance.aud contains upwards of two hundred and 
fifty different and distinct styles of caskets. This room is replete 
with new ideas and ingenious contrivances, adding much to its 
beauty and symmetry. Through the whole length and breadth of 
this vast floor, resting upon gilded frames, may be seen caskets of 
every variety and color, wliile about the sides beneath glass cases 
may be seen many different designs of white broadcloth and plush 
caskets, many with elegant hand-painted and tufted tops. At the 
extreme endof the show room, resting beneath a rich catafalque, 
may be seen one of Lockhart's patent caskets. This casket, which 
may be completely tufted, lets down upon the sides and ends, giv- 
ing the apiiearance of a sofa, when so arranged, thereby relieving 
the sonibreness and box-like effect of the ordinary casket. Here 
may ;ilso be seen casket and floral pedestals of every variety, and 
Italian wheat in all the latest and most appropriate designs. Mr. 
Lockhart is confident that all funeral directors will find this room 
to be the most complete in America. The fourth floor is used as 
the packing and shipping department, while on the fifth andsixth 
floors Mr. L'lckhart carries a complete duplicate line of all his 
goods, so that telegraph or telephone orders may be shipped im- 
mediately on receipt, day or night. It has been ever his desire to 
obtain every facility for the prompt execution of all orders that 
may be entrusted to his care, and he guarantees prompt service in 
all cases. Funeral directors are cordially invited to an early in- 
spection of these plendid warerooms, and to make Mr. Lockhart's 
offlces their headquarters while in the city of Boston. Mr. Lock- 
hart was born in Nova Scotia, but has resided in Boston for the last 



forty-flve years, where he is highly esteemed by the community for 
his enterprise, geniality of disposition and inflexible integrity, and 
is one of our progressive and public-spirited citizens. 

PERRY YARRINGTON & CO., Manufacturers' and Agents, 
Representatives of the -iutomatic Water Gas Company, 
Office, No. 23 Central Street.— A responsible and able mercan- 
tile house of Boston and New England, is that of Messrs. 
Perry Yarrington & Co., who have now been actively engaged in 
business for fifteen years as manufacturers' agents, introducing 
goods and specialties of the most practical, staple value. They are 
now introducing one of the greatest and most generally useful dis- 
coveries of the age, by which every man may have at nominal cost 
in his own house, factory or store, a complete system, safe and re- 
liable for automatically generating the great essential liglit, lieat 
and power. These are all obtained by the introduction of the 
automatic water gas generator, manufactured by Y'arrington's 
patent process, and for which Mr. Yarrington is the owner. 
These generators can be had of all sizes and to suit all require- 
ments, from a portable cylinder with one light attached, upward. 
The product is a hydro-carbon gas. intense in the amount of its 
heat, and the result is the strongest and most brilliant gas light in 
the world. The cost of making this gas is remarkably small, and 
merely nominal in use as compared with coal gas or other forms 
of water gas, being about K less cost for running gas engines, and 
% less for heating purposes. Purity and safety are combined. 
The processes are all chemical and the insurance underwriters 
permit its use in all buildings without extra cliarge for insurance. 
Mr. Yarrington has remarkable and convincing testimonials in his 
possession which will be furnished on application. Mr. F. H. 
Wheeler, Master Mechanic, American Arms Company, Bostoni 
estimated a saving of seventy per cent, cost in running by using 
water gas. Everybody interested should write to Mr. Yarrington 
for full particulars and estimates of cost of generators. He is 
already meeting with a heavy and widely extended demand for 
the new system, and we predict that it will entirely revolutionize 
the existing methods of lighting, heating and securing of gas 
engine motive power. Mr. Y'arrington is a native of Connecticut 
and a prompt honorable business man. 

THE AMERICAN LOAN AND TRUST COMPANY, Omaha, 
Nebraska, J. F. Rogers, Manager, Eastern Office, No. 101 
Milk Street.— The judicious and safe investment of capital 
is a most important question to the capitalist, as well as 
to the man of moderate means. In all the various openings, 
that present tliemselves for the use of surplus funds, there 
is not one that when prudently and carefully availed of, is 
so safe, sure and remunerative, as the loaning of money on the 
first mortgage security of fertile western farms and city property. 
The superiority of western farm mortgages to most other forms of 
security is readily apparent. The western farmer borrows to ren- 
der his farm more productive; he buys implements and stock, 
builds barns and houses, plants orchards, etc., and thus adds 
greatly to the original security. In the east money borrowed on 
bonds and mortgages, very seldom is expended on the security, 
but goes in some other way. In connection with these remarks, 
we desire to make special reference in this commercial review, to 
the reliable and substantial American Loan and Trust Company 
of Omaha, Nebraska, whose eastern office in Boston is located at 
No. 101 Milk Street. This progressive company was duly incorpo- 
rated under the laws of Nebraska in 1885, and already has ob- 
tained a liberal and influential Ipatronage in the east and west. 
Its paid up capital is $400,000, which has been further augmented 
by a surplus of $42,000. The following gentlemen are the officers: 
O. M. Carter, president; D. D. Cooley, vice-president; Philip 
Potter, secretary ; A. C. Powell, cashier. The American Loan and 
Trust Company deals in six per cent, debenture bonds, and six 
per cent, mortgage loans secured by first lien on improved real 
estate in Nebraska and Northern Kansas. The principal and 
interest due to investors are fully guaranteed, and are paid at any 
local bank in the eastern states. The company has also a savings 
bank department and pays five per cent, interest on deposits com- 
pounded semi-annually. In its loans on improved city and farm 
property, this responsible company loans only to the extent ol 
forty per cent, of a low valuation by reliable experts. 



THE METROPOLIS OF NEW ENGLAND. 



139 



A p. MARTIN & CO., Manufacturers and Commission Deal- 
ers in Boots, Shoes and Leatlier ; No. 14 High Street.— 
The name of Martin has for years been honorably identi- 
fled with the Industrial growth and public interests of 
Boston, to such a degree, indeed, as to place the house under 
review in a position far beyond the requirements of any praise 
which the.se pages could bestow. It will be sufficient for our pur- 
pose, therefore, to merely call the attention of the trade to some 
of the advantages an<l benefits accruing from the opening of busi- 
ness relations therewith, together with a brief account of its his- 
tory and present facilities. The business so succe.ssfully eon- 
ducted at the present day under the name and style of A. P. Mar- 
tin & Co., was founded some twenty-five years ago, by Messrs. Fay 
& Stone. The firm name was soon afterwards clianged to Martin, 
Skinner & Fay, which was succeeded by Martin & Skinner, and in 
18SI, Gen. A. P. Martin, the senior member of the firm for some 
years, succeeded to the sole control, and has since continued the 
business under its present firm name, and. by reason of his large 
experience, commanding ability and business integrity, has built 
up a trade of enormous magnitude. The house, under his guiding 
hand, has every essential which can conduce to its permanent 
prosperity and the steady development of a trade national in its 
extent. The firm name is widely prominent as representing the 
extensive manufacture of men's, women's, misses', boys' and chil- 
dren's kip, split, buff and grain polkas and polish boots and shoes. 
The factory is located at Hudson, Mass., and h.as had in the past 
month, a large addition built, and will give constant employment 
to two hundred skilled hands. The success of the house has been 
largely due to the great and systematic care used in every detail of 
manufacture. The goods are not made simply to sell, but, on the 
contrary, with an idea that they are to be worn, and must please 
the consumer. By this course an enviable reputation has been 
gained upon the policy that goods can be made to fit easily and 
still have durability and solid worth. The goods go to all parts of 
the west, south and soutliwest, and create for themselves a perma- 
nent demand wherever once introduced. Hon. Augustus P. Mar- 
tin, tlie honored proprietor, was born in the state of Maine, but 
has resided in Boston since his boyhood. No citizen of the Hub is 
better known to its people or more universally esteemed in both 
public and private life. His record as a city ofticial is one of tlie 
brightest pages in the history of tlie municipality. He was elected 
M.ayor of the city by a spontaneous uprising of the people, at a 
time when his true worth as an executive officer w;v> needed for 
the maintenance of the good name and fame of the city, and nobly 
did he respond to the call. As a soldier he was valiant and brave, 
as a Mayor he won the respect and esteem of all parties and 
classes, and as a manufacturer he stands in the foremost rank of 
the trade. 

NEW ENGLAND STEAM COOPERAGE COMPANY, Manu- 
facturers of Tanks, Casks and Kegs, Office No. 160 State 
Street ; Factory, East Boston.— One of the recently formed 
corporations of Boston, and one of the most vital import- 
ance to her commercial interests is the New England Steam Coop- 
erage Company. It is the outcome of the honored and successful 
career of the old house of Hill & Wright, wholesale coopers of East 
Bost(m. This firm w.as established upwards of tliirty years ago, 
and early took the lead in all those important and extensive lines 
of cooperage for brewers, malters. distillers, sugar houses, ex- 
porters and the trade generally. In January, 1888, the important 
iiiferfsts involved were duly capitalized under the name and style 
"f the New England Steam Cooperage Company, with Mr. Henry B. 
Hill as president, and Mr. William N. Hill as treasurer and mana- 
ger. Both gentlemen bring to bear the widest range of practical 
experience, coupled with connections of the most intluential, wide- 
spreail character. The company under their able and equitable 
executive management has made r.apid progress and has an 
equliunent, and factory at East Boston covering one and a half 
acres fitted up with all the latest improved machinery and ap- 
pliances of all kinds. Here 100 men are employed in the manu- 
facture of ale and beer kegs of all grades. Their facilities are 
unrivalled by any concern in America. Barrels, halves, quarters 
and eighths ; stock and storage casks ; mash and fermenting tubes, 
beer stills, hop jacks ; tanks, cisterns and vats of cedar, cypress, 
pine or oak for brewers, maltsters, distillers, sugar houses, vine- 



gar works, paper mills, chemical works, railroads, etc. Water 
casks for shipping, oil casks, reservoirs, etc. Other lines in stock 
or contracted for at prices difficult of duplication elsewhere, ara 
molasses and rum hogsheads, kegs and pails for white lead, 
buckets and oyster pails, ships' square tanks; also the best 
qualities of staves and heading. The company h.as a capital of 
$100,000 and controls large tracts of timber lands in the south- 
west, receiving tlieir staves direct from stump and at lowest 
cost. The great advantages thus enjoyed by tlie company are 
duly appreciated by its customers, to wliom prices are quoted 
that considering the high standard of all the company's work 
cannot be met elsewhere. The comjiany does a heavy and 
growing trade, with connections all over the United States and 
also export shooks, etc. All orders will receive prompt at- 
tention at the office. No. 160 State Street, which has telephone 
connections, wliile the company has first-class arrangements 
for shipping cooperage to any point. 

FURNESS LINE of Steamships, C. Furness, Proprietor; No. 85 
Water Street, London Agents: Thomas Ronaldson & Co., 
Leadenhall Street.— The Furness Line so deservedly popular 
with the commercial world, and which has developed an 
enormous freight traffic direct with London, England, to which 
port the fleet plies from Boston. The line w,as established six 
years ago by Mr. C. Furness of Hartlepool, England, one of the 
leading and most progressive steamship owners in the world. To 
his spirit of enterprise, Boston is materially indebted for this 
important feeder to her commerce, and to the popularity of the 
route to and from London. Mr. Furness removed his Boston head- 
quarters to No. 85 Water Street in March, 1888, and which are in 
charge of, and the business here generally under the able manage- 
ment of Mr. R. E. Burnett, who bring.t to bear ample experience 
;ind influential connections as a ship and freight broker and steam- 
sliip agent. The Furness Line fleet of steamships is composed as 
follows: Wethei-by, 2129 tons; Stockholm City, 26.S6 tons; Ripon 
City, 2141 tons ; Durham City, 3092 tons ; Boston City, 2334 tons ; 
Gothenburg City, 2526 tons; Washington City, 2296 tons; Damar.a, 
1779 tons, and Ulunda, 1789 tons. Tliese are all Al at Lloyds, full 
powered Iron steamships, of excellent model and great cargo 
capacity ; speedy, safe and seaworthy, and keep up a regular ten 
day service between Boston and London, eacli way, through bills 
of lading being issued to and from all the principal Baltic, Conti- 
nental, Mediterranean and Oriental ports, connecting at London 
with direct steamers. Freight room can be secured from Mr. Bur- 
nett at short notice for almost any tonnage required and at lowest 
current rates. This is a great convenience not only to our Boston 
merchants, but also to the thousands all through the west and in 
Canada, who can import and export on direct through bills of lad- 
ing via this line and connecting railroads. The Furne,ss ships take 
eastward full cargoes of grain, provisions, flour, meal, cotton, 
flax, butter, cheese, apples, etc., and discharge here full lines 
of merchandise, pig iron, metals, etc. Mr. Furness is doing much 
to build up Boston's foreign trade .and long may his flag continue 
to be seen flying from steamships in this harbor. 

KARL A. RYDINGSVARD, Architectural and Artistic Wood 
Carving, No. 76 Beverly Street.— For exquisite workman- 
ship, or originality and be:iuty of designs in the line of 
wood carving, not one in tlie business in Boston excels 
Karl A. Rydingsvard. He was born in Sweden, and has resided in 
this city about five years. He is a practical wood carver of long 
and varied experience in tlie exercise of his art and is a thorough 
nuaster of the same in all its branches. He started in business on 
his own account here in 1886, and soon established himself in favor 
and recognition, acquiring in a short time a very flattering patron- 
age. He occupies ample and well equipped quarters, (with J. 
W. Clark, manufacturer of desks, wood mantels and interior fur- 
nishings) and is prepared to attend to everything n the line of 
architectural and artistic wood carving, designs being made. Mr. 
Rydingsvard has been connected with some of the best firms in 
Stockholm and Boston, as designer and carver, and has taught in 
both cities. Mrs. Rydingsvard has studied under Herr Leonhardt 
Sturm, Dresden, one of Germany's most celebrated porcelain 
painters, and for several years has been a teacher in the Mass. 
Normal Art School. 



140 



ILLUSTRATED BOSTON. 



FOWLE, HIBBARD & CO., Produce Commission Merchants, 
Butter, Clieese, Beans, Peas, Evaporated Apples, Eggs, 
Poultry, Etc., Nos. 176 State and 7 Commerce Streets.— The 
facilities enjoyed by the City of Boston as a distributing 
point tor staple agricultural products have been such as to greatly 
promote the shipment to tliis market of general country produce, 
and the prosecution of the commission business. The enterprise 
of Messrs. Fowle, Hibbard & Co., of Nos. 176 State and 7 Com- 
merce Streets, in this direction of trade is a prominent one, and 
deserving of honorable mention in this review. The business was 
originally established in 1866, by Messrs. L. W. Fowle, S. P. Hib- 
bard and J. W. White, and in 1885 Mr. E. J. Whitman was also ad- 
mitted as a member of tlie firm. They occupy spacious and com- 
modious premises, consisting of a salesroom running through the 
block from State to Commerce Streets, also a basement and five 
upper floors, thus giving ample accommodations for landing and 
storing tlie immense and valuable stock and tor supplying the 
most extensive demand. The firm handle butter, cheese, beans, 
peas, evaporated apples, eggs, poultry, etc., and are widely known 
tliroughout the best producing sections of the country as among 
the most reliable and successful commission houses in Boston. 
They receive their supplies direct from producers and first hands, 
and the facilities possessed by this firm are sucli that consignments 
of goods, however large, are quickly placed and prompt returns 
made in all cases. Sales are made in wholesale lots only, all 
orders being filled with dispatch, while goods are also shipped di- 
rect from producers on orders, inducements being offered in this 
direction unsurpassed by those of any other house in the 'rade. 
The firm enjoy a generous jiatronage from the hands of all who 
have come in contact with tlie house in a business way, securing, 
as they do. the perfect confidence of the trade everywhere, and 
gaining friends in all their movements. In this way tlieir business 
Is maintained in a promising and healthy condition. and is broadly 
distributed throughout all the New England States. So much for 
enterprise, honesty and business push. Messrs. Fowle and White 
are Massachusetts men by birth and training, Mr. Hibbard is a na- 
tive of Canada, and Mr. Wliitman was born in the State of Maine. 
They are all gentlemen of high repute and wide acquaintance in 
commercial and trade circles, and are commended to shippers 
and dealers alike as worthy of every trust and confidence. 

GEO. TYLER & CO., Agricultural Machinery, No. 4.3 South Mar- 
ket Street.— A progressive and representative house in Boston 
extensively engaged in tlie sale of agricultural machinery, 
is that of Messrs. Geo. Tyler & Co., whose offices and sales- 
rooms are situated at No. 43 South Market Street. This business 
was established nine years ago by Mr. Geo. Tyler who conducted 
it till October, 1886, when he admitted his son Mr. F. J. Tyler into 
partnership under the firm name of Geo.Tyler&Co. The premises 
occupied comprise tour commodious floors 25x60 feet in area, fully 
equipped with every appliance and facility tor the successful prose- 
cution of the business. Messrs. Tyler & Co. keep constantly in stock 
mowjngmachines.hay tedders, hayrakes, sulky plows, swivel plows, 
spring tooth harrows, smoothing harrows, corn planters, ensilage 
cutters, horse powers, threshers and cleaners. They are agents for 
the famous Climax Disc Harrow and also keep in stock all kinds of 
repairs for mowing machines, horse rakes and road machines. 
Only the best and most reliable agricultural machinery is handled 
by the firm, and the prices quoted are as low as those of any other 
contemporary first-class house in the trade. Tlie firm employ three 
traveling salesmen, and their trade extends througliout all sections 
of New England and New York. Both Messrs. George and F. J. 
Tyler are natives of Connecticut. All their dealings are cliar.Tcter- 
ized by energyandintegrity, and they are highly esteemed in trade 
circles as able and trustworthy business men. 

THE GEO. E. READ Furniture Company, Manufacturers of 
Chamber Furniture and Sideboards, Nos. 89 to 95 Rich- 
mond Street.— The leading representative concern in Bos- 
ton devoted to the manufacture of the better grades of 
walnut, mahogany and oak chamber furniture, sidebosrds, ward- 
robes, etc., is the George E. Read Furniture Company of Nos .89 to 
95 Richmond Street. The business was established in 1873. and 
under Mr. George E. Read's skilled and enterprising proprietor- 
ship, rapidly developed to proportions of great magnitude, so 



much so that in 1884, the important interests involved were duly 
capitalized under the existing title, with Mr. H. Dunning as presi- 
dent, and Mr. G. E. Read as treasurer and general manager. The 
directors include Messrs. Dunning and Read, and Mr. William E. 
Litchfield, all prominent citizens, noted tor ability and enterprise. 
Mr. Re.ad is a native of Providence, R. I., and from early life has 
been actively identified with the manufacture of furniture. He 
is a leading authority in the line, and brings to bear every qualifi- 
cation, including thorough knowledge of the wants of the trade. 
The company's main premises are five stories in heiglit, 60x100 feet 
in dimensions, and in addition the second floor of adjoining build- 
ing is added. The latest improved machinery and appliances 
have been introduced, run by seventy-five horse engine with a 
seventy-five horse boiler. Upwards of sixty hands find steady em- 
ployment here in the manufacture of the newest and most popular 
styles of chamber furniture, sideboards, wardrobes, chiffoniers, 
etc., in the best quality of seasoned walnut, oak, mahogany, 
cherry, etc. Mr. Read, as general manager enforces a thorough 
system of organization, and selects materials with the utmost 
care, only skilled, experienced workmen are employed, the finish 
is elaborate and the company is justly celebrated throughout the 
trade as selling the very best goods that can be produced for the 
money ; both as to highest quality and lowest prices. Possessed of 
sound judgment, marked executive ability, and building up the 
reputation of this representative concern on the basis of merit, 
they are wortliy of the large measure of success achieved, and 
have permanently retained to Boston, a most important and val- 
uable branch of trade. 

MERCANTILE FIRE & MARINE INSURANCE COMPANY', 
Geo. R.Rogers, President, James Simpson, Secretary, Office 
No. 58 State Street.— Tlie Mercantile Fire & Marine In- 
surance Company, was duly incorporated under the laws 
of Massachusetts in 1823 witli a cash capital of $300,000, which 
amount was increased to $400,000 in 1877. The executive officers of 
the company are Geo.R. Rogers, president, and James Simpson, sec- 
retary. Tlie company undertakes all kinds of fire, marine and in- 
land risks, also insuring dwellings, stores and furniture in the city 
and country tor one, tliree and five years at the lowest possible 
rates, consistent with safety. The present strength ottlie Mercan- 
tile. Fire & Marine Insurance Company is best shown by its annual 
statement January 1st 1888, which is as follows: Assets— Invest- 
ments at market value, and secured loans, $606,408.66; cash, 
notes, interest, and all other items, $58,377.85; total assets, $664,- 
786.01. Liabilities— Unpaid losses, 829,813.05 ; reinsurance fund, 
(Massachusetts Standard) $105,564.46; all other liabilities. $8,647.- 
83. Total liabilities. S144,025.34. Capital stock paid in, $400,000.00. 
Net surplus, $120,760.67. We would observe, that the affairs of this 
responsible company have always been ably and prudently man- 
aged, and its surplus as regards policy holders now amounts to 
$520,760.67. 

AARON R. G4Y' & CO., Account Book Manufacturers, Sta- 
tioners, Etc., No. 122 State Street.— An old established and 
representative house in Boston, actively engaged in the 
manufacture of account books, stationery, etc., is that of 
Messrs. Aaron R. Gay & Company. This business was established 
in 1847 by Aaron R. Gay, who conducted it till 1859, when lie died, 
and was succeeded by the present copartners, Messrs. Samuel S. 
and Edwin W. Gay, who are now conducting the business under 
the old style and title of Aaron R. Gay & Company. The premises 
occupied comprise a commodious five-story building 25x42 feet in 
area. The manufacturing department is fully supplied with the 
latest modern machinery for the execution of their work. A good 
force of experienced workmen are employed, and the trade ex- 
tends throughout the eastern, middle and western states. The 
firm makes a specialty of all kinds of blank books, such as journals, 
ledgers, day and invoice books, etc. They likewise furnish 
promptly to order letter, note and bill paper, checks, drafts, 
receipts, bonds, certificates of stock, lithographic circulars and 
cards in the highest style of art at extremely low prices. The 
blank books inaiiufactured by this resjionsible firm are unrivalled 
for quality, finish and excellence, and are used by insurance com- 
panies, banks, bankers, etc. Mr. Samuel S. Gay is a native of Rox- 
bury, while Mr. Edwin W. Gay was born in Boston 



THE METROPOLIS OF NEW ENGLAND. 



141 



THE HAMMOND TYPE WRITER COMPANY, Manufacturers 
of the Hammond Type Writer, C. N. Hammond, Manager, 
Boston Office, No. 300 Washington Street.— The famous 
Hammond Typewriter manufactured by the Hanunond 
Typewriter Company, was duly Incorporated in 1881 witli ample 
capital, and since its organization has secured a liberal and per- 
manent patronage not only in all sections of the United States and 
Canada, but also abroad. The following gentlemen are the execu- 
tive offlcers of the company, viz: J. B. Hammond, president; W. 
C. Behrens, vice-president and manager; J. M. Bancroft, secre- 
tary ; Wm. T. Pliipjis, treasuier. The works, which are admirably 
equipped with special machinery, tools, etc.. are situated in New 




Yorli at Nos. 292-298 Avenue B. Here 150 skilled mechanics are 
employed, who turn out annually 4,000 typewriters. The Ham- 
mond Typewriter is unriv.alled for speed, perfect alignment, 
beauty strength, changeable type, uniform impression and dura- 
bility, and has no superior in tiie United States or Europe. This 
splendid typewriter has received the following awards and 
medals: American Exhibition, London, England, October, 1S87, 
the best typewriter for office work where speed is required. Me- 
chanics' Fair, Boston, December, 1887, awarded the only gold 
medal. American Institute, New York, special medals, 1885, 188". 
New Orleans Exposition, 1884-85, the only Gold medal awarded. 
The Hanunond writes in perfect alignment and use cannot change 
the same. The impression is always uniform, being independent 
of the touch. It writes the letters close together, as in print, 
therefore printing more letters to a line. Its keys are relatively 
so placed as to facilitate speed of lingering. The touch of the 
l<eys Is light, elastic, and firm. Its paper carriage moves more 
I .ipidly than any operator can manipulate the keys. Any width 
of paper can be used, and envelopes, cards, and narrow paper can 
be inserted as easily as large sheets. It is especially adapted for 
writing on library catalogue cards, and it is especially adapted for 
tabular work, large statements, etc., such as required in railroad, 
insurance and real estate offices. The type can be cleaned in a 
few seconds. Circulars, price lists, etc., and sample book of 
finest grades of linen papers are sent free on application at the 
company's offices, No. 300 Washington Street, Boston; No. 15 North 
Charles Street, Baltimore ; No. 510 West Main Street, Louisville ; No. 
206 La S,alle Street, Chicago ; No. 706 Olive Street, St. Louis ; No. 57 
West Fourth Street, Cincinnati; No. 133 Westminster Street, Provi- 
dence, R. I. The company's Boston office is under the able and 
careful management of Mr. C. N. Hammond. 



BOURNE & CO., General Commission Merchants and Dealers 
iu Fruits and Vegetables, No. 13 Faneuil Hall Market, North 
Side.— The importance of Boston as a great wholesale centre 
for the produce connnission trade is forcibly illustrated by a 
review of several of the leading concerns engaged in business here. 
One of the oldest-est.ablished and representative. among the num- 
ber is the widely and favorably known firm of Bourne & Co. It 
was originally established in 1852 by Mr. Benjamin Bourne and 
Mr. 0. M. Hatch, who actively conducted a large and growing 
trade, repeatedly Laxing their facilities to the utmost, and neces- 
sitating increased .accommod.ations. After an experience of eight 
years with liis father, eventually, in 1874, Mr. C. J. llatcii, son of the 
juuior partner of the old firm, succeeded to the sole proprietor- 
ship, retaining, however, the honored name and style, so familiar 
to the trade and public of Boston and New England. Mr. Hatch 
brings to bear every possible qualifica- 
tion, including perfected facilities, wide- 
spread, influential connections, and an 
intimate knowledge of the wants of the 
trade. A general commission business is 
transacted, they being regular receivers 
of large consignments from prominent 
shippers, growers and packers, having 
the best of facilities for the disposal of 
all choice growths of fruits and vegeta- 
bles at top prices. They have very com- 
modious and carefully fltted-up premises 
on the north side of Faneuil Hall Market 
and also sever.al large storehou.ses, where 
goods can be held till the best prices are 
piocured, and have, in season, all kinds 
of fiuits and vegetables, including ap- 
ples, pears, grapes, cranberries, cherries, 
^tlawberries, raspberries, etc., tropical 
Units, potatoes, carrots, turnips, cab- 
bages, celery, tomatoes, and every kind 
if foreign and domestic fruits. In win- 
lei they are leading handlers of Florida 
^-^' ureen stuff and oranges. They are of the 

' leading shippers of .apples in the winter 

and sell iu c.arlo,ad lots. They also do a 
°^^— - fine export trade, and are always fully 
prepared to promptly fill the largest 
wholesale orders. The house of Bourne 
& Co. has ever retained the confidence of leading commercial cir- 
cles, and has ever pursued a policy of equity and honor maintain- 
ing a leading position tor enterprise and energy, and has ever 
been, and is now more th.an ever, a vitally important factor in the 
promotion of Boston's produce trade. 

WM. B. BLAKEMORE, Real Estate, Mortgages and Insur- 
.ance. Room 33, Globe Building, No. 244 Washington 
Street.— One of the most reliable and responsible gen- 
tlemen engaged in dealing in the realty of Boston and 
vicinity, is Mr. William B. Blakemore. This gentleman li.as been 
established in business here since 1873, and makes a specialty of 
improved and unimproved property situate at West Roxbury. 
The finest tract of land that has ever been offered tor sale in West 
Roxbury is now placed upon the market for the first time. These 
lots, 400 in number, comprising in all about sixty .acres, are located 
seven to ten minutes' walk from Highland Station on the Provi- 
dence Railroad. They are high, with fine view, smooth and level, 
soil rich, and can be properly called " garden lots." Streets are 
forty feet in width; provided with city water, city schools, fire 
and police departments. Lots average 5,0C0 square feet in size. 
Pricj, from three to six cents per foot. Terms are either cash, 
part cash or monthly payments. Mr. Blakemore transacts a gen- 
eral real estate business, buying, selling, exchanging and renting 
properties, and is recognized as an accurate authorityon the pres- 
ent and prospective values of realty in this section, so that the ut- 
most reliance can be placed upon his judgment and advice 'oy in- 
tending investors. He is .also prominent as an insurance broker, 
and is prepared to promptly place the largest risks, quoting the 
lowest rates of premium, and guaranteeing a speedy and liberal 
adjustment of all losses. 



1-12 



ILLUSTRATED BOSTON. 



AMcARTHUR & CO., Furniture and Carpets, Crockery and 
Glassware, Bedding, Stoves, Etc., No. ISCorniiill.— Among 
J tlie le.xding furniture, carpet and liouse-furnisliing goods 
cstablislnnents of Boston, tliat of Messrs. A. McArtliur 
& Co., is wortliy of special mention by reason of the marked 
energy, ability and equity of tlie proprietors, their stock being the 
most thoroughly representative and quoted at the lowest prices 
obtainable anywhere. The business was founded by Mr. A. 
Mc. Arthur in 1877, who brought to bear wide experience and in- 
fluential connections, and early developed an active and growing 
trade. Five and a halt years ago Mr. Willard McLeod was admit- 
ted into copartnership, under the existing name and style, and the 
firm has gone on doing a business of increasing magnitude, and 
with the best people of Boston and New England generally. Their 
premises are most centrally located and very extensive, compris- 
ing six entire floors, 50x80 feet in dimensions. Here is a perfectly 
fitted up emporium of furniture, carpets, bedding, stoves, crockery, 
glassware, refrigerators, liouse-furnishing goods, baby carriages, 
etc. The furniture includes the finest and medium grades in 
mahogany . oak, cherry, ash, chestnut, ebonized, st.iined and painted 
parlor and chamber sets— the latest styles, and the stock is well 
and honestly made from the best materials. Tlie prices will 
astonish those who have in the past dealt with smaller concerns 
with limited facilities. Quality is the first consideration with 
Messrs. McArthnr& Co., and they permanently adhere tothesame 
high standard of excellence. In their carpet department they 
carry a large ,and most Judiciously selected stock, comprising all 
the best known makes of Axminster. Wilton's, Moquette's. body 
brussels, three-ply, ingrains, etc., also the finest imported rugs, all 
the choicest styles of lace curtains, cornices, poles, shades in pat- 
terns of various sizes, and in all colors and widths of cloth, also 
oil cloths all widths, cocoa, china and rubber matting A very 
large and desirable stock of crockery and glassware is displayed 
liere, direct from the most famous potteries and factories of Europe 
and America, also the best brands of stoves and ranges, refrigera- 
tors, tin ware, hollow ware, and a vast variety of useful and orna- 
mental house furnishings. This stock is one ihat cliallenges com- 
petition from any other in New England, and the firm's enormous 
patronage, requiring the services of twenty-five hands in their 
various departments indicates how ably and satisfactorily they are 
meeting the wants of the people of Boston and New England. 

RICHARD KOWE, Insurance Agent and Broker, No. 2 Mason 
Building, Liberty Square.— Among our most energetic and 
successful insurance agents and brokers, is Mr. Richard 
Rowe, of No. 2 Mason Building. Liberty Square, front- 
ing Kilby and Water Streets. Mr. Rowe has been identi- 
fied with the insurance business for the past twenty-seven 
yeai-s, and for twenty four years has been in business 
on his own account. From the first he has conducted the 
affairs of his house in a manner to win the approval of all 
classes of the community He has been located for the past six 
years in his present offices, which are handsomely fitted up and 
provided with every convenience that can promote the comfort of 
patrons and add to the enhancement of thef.icilities for the satis- 
lactory transaction of business. Mr. Rowe is a member of the Bos- 
tonUnderwriters' Association, effects fire and inland marine insur- 
ance on all classes of property, grain and merchandise, stores, 
dwellings and public buildings, etc.. and generally transacts an 
active and large heavy line of business as an underwriter. He re- 
presents many of the oldest, most substantial, liberal and honora- 
ble companies, both foreign and domestic, and among these may 
be named the London Association Company and tlie Sun Fire In- 
surance Conipany.ofLondon : North British Mercantile,of England; 
the Phenix, of Hartford, and the Fire Association, of Philadelphia; 
also the strongest of the inntual companies. Policies are issued on 
the very lowest terms compatible with security, and losses, asthey 
occur, are promptly adjusted and paid without quibbling. Mr. 
Rowe's business relations extend to all parts of the New 
England States, and his circle of patrons is large and influential. 
He is a native of New Hampshire, and has resided in Boston for 
the past thirty-seven years. He deservedly merits the high esteem 
in which he is held by insurance men and the mercantile commun- 
ity generally, while as an underwriter he is thoroughly prompt and 
efficient, and h.as no superiors in the business. 



CD. POTTER, Commission Merchant and Distillers' Agent for 
the sale of Pure Liquors, No. 35 Devonshire Street.— There 
, are probably few articles so dilficult to obtain pure and 
unadulterated as wines and liquors, and it is only by the 
greatest care in purchasing either by the retailer or consumer that 
quality can be assured. In this connection we desire to direct the 
attention of the members of this line of trade throughout New Eng- 
land to the enterpriseconductedin thiscity by Mr. C. D Potter, the 
well-known commission merchant, importers' and distillers' agent, 
whose office Is very centrally located at No 35 Devonshire Street, 
corner of State Street. This gentleman established his business 
here in 1874, and possesses unequalled connections and facilities 
for conducting all operations under the most favorable auspices. 
He acts as agent for importers of wines and liquors, and for Ken- 
tucky and western distillers, and also as a general commission 
merchant in goods of this kind, shipping direct to buyers from the 
manufacturers, and guaranteeing prompt and satisfactory fulfil- 
ment of all orders and commissions. Mr. Potter is agent for H. 
McKenna, distiller of Nelson County pure old line sour-mash 
whiskey, and wholesale liquor dealer, at No 245 Fourth Street, 
Louisville, Ky.; Wm. M. Collins & Co., distillers of hand 
made sour-mash whiskies, and wholesale whiskies, Nos. 104 
and 106 East Main Street, Louisville, Ky . Marion County Distillery 
Co , distillers of bourbon and rye whiskies. Nos 104 and 106 Main 
Street, Louisville, Ky , A. Heller & Bro , importers of fine wines, 
liquors, crown champagne, etc , Nos., 35 and 37 Broad Street, New 
York; and Felton & .Son, distillers of copper distilled pure molas- 
ses rum. No. 17 Broad Street. Boston Mr. Potter is also the origi- 
nator and sole agent for the sale of Potter's Semper Idem T. F C. 
whisky. All persons desiring pure distilled whiskies, whether for 
medicinal, mechanical or domestic purposes, should try Potter s 
semper idem, which is commended to the first-class trade of the 
country as a perfect whisky ; perfect in the material from which it 
is made, perfect in its scrupulous cleanliness, perfect in its process 
of distillation, and perfect in packages. Made from the best se- 
lected grains and purest spring water, carefully mashed in siiiali 
tubs by hand and distilled in copper, over an open wood fire (ihe 
old fashioned way), the product is as stated perfect in every single 
detail; it is heavily malted. m,ade from thoroughly ripe grain, and 
stored in warehouses heated and kept at an even temperature 
during the year; it therefore matures rapidly is very mellow and 
semper idem. Mr. Potter is a Massachusetts man by birth and 
training, in the early prime of life, and held in high esteem through 
out New England. 

CW. WHEELOCK & CO., New England Agency of The 
Adams and Westlake Oil, Gas and Vapor Stoves. No 13 
J Cornhill — The finest, safest, most reliable and economical 
oil stoves in the world are those manufactured by the 
Adams & Westlake Company of Chicago and New York. They are 
in use in the largest numbers of any make all over the United 
States, and here in Boston and New England are the popular 
favorites The general agents for New England are Messrs. C W. 
Wheelock & Co., and who now represent the A. & \\ Co.. 
and have developed a trade of great and growing magnitude. 
They carry a full line of oil and gas stoves, which are con- 
structed on approved scientific principles of the best mater- 
ials, and while economical in the consumption of oil are the 
most powerful and reliable for cooking and heating The 
company has recently brought out its new " No. 13. ' a magnilicent 
stove having three five inch tubes with grooved rollers for moving 
wick It has an extension top afl'oidiiig ample room and heat for 
two boiling places and also for baking in the extra large oven at 
same time; or there are four boiling places when the oven is re 
moved, with this stove, the largest family cm do all its cooking 
without dirt, ashes, smell or trouble of any kind. These stoves 
cook better and do prompter work than any others in the world, 
and are worthy of the proud preeminence attained. Mr. Wheel- 
ock also keeps full lines of new style oil and gas stoves for 
heating, at prices which put them within the reach of all. 
Those interested should send to him for illustrated descrip- 
tive circular and price list. He is a native of Boston, very widely 
and favor.ably known in leading mercantile circles, and is rapidly 
developing an important trade in these, the finest and most desir- 
able make of oil and gas stoves on the market. 



THE METROPOLIS OF NEW ENGLAND. 



143 



CHARLES H. WHITE <Si CO., Manufacturers of White's Hot Air 
Furnaces, and Automatic Furnace Regulators, Etc., No. 11 
Devonshire Street.— To tliose who are in need of a first-class 
furnace safe, economical, powerful and reliable, we 
would strongly recommend to purchase one of Mr. C. H. White's 
hot-air furnaces, fitted with his famous eclipse regulator and 
damper. The furnace has no equal for its embodiment of all ex- 
cellences .and improvements, while the automatic regulator Is a 
safeguard and benefit that once on, no one would |>erinit to be re- 
moved for many times its cost. It may be added right here, that 
White & C'o's., regulator can be re.idily applied to any kind of 
furnace, either brick-set or portable. Mr. Charles H. White, the 
founder of this business and inventor and patentee of this really 
wonderful regulator, was born in Boston and has been in business 
here for many years past. Ten years ago he put liisfurnaces on the 
market and tliey met with instant success and cordial approval 
from all who investigated or used them. Tliey are now the 
favorite and In use all over New England, and in many of the 
finest houses in Boston. Mr. Wliite had long made a study of the 
problem of an automatic regulation of the draft of furnaces, and 
finally solved the problem with his new eclipse furnace regulator 
duly patented on November 11, 1879. It is attached to the furnace 
in sucli a manner as to be governed by the cold or hot air current 
in the air chamber, causing it to automatically change the draft 
with a change of outside temperature. By tlms surely regulating 
the draft, it secures an even temperature In the rooms, absolutely 
prevents the possibility of overhe.ating or of fire, securing perfect 
safety, peace of mind, and whatisalsoofmuch importance, greatly 
Increased economy in the consumption of fuel. The regulator was 
awarded the silver medal at tlie thirteenth e.\hibition of the 
Mechanics' Charitable Association. Mr. White is in receipt of 
hundreds of the most convincing testimonials from leading citi- 
zens of Boston and elsewhere. One gentleman saved one-tliird on 
his winters coal bill by its use. Another praises it as perfect, after 
he had previously tried regulators of other makes. The best 
practical proofs are afforded that the eclipse has no equal any 
where, and it is now rapidly finding its way not only throughout 
the New England States, but right through to the west. Mr. White 
is a leading engineer as regards house heating, having vast exper- 
ience under the most diverse conditions. He will promptly furnish 
estimates for warming and ventilating public and private build- 
ings, or for the supply of furnaces, piping, elbows, registers, and 
all descriptions of tin and sheet iron work. 

LP. HATCH, Hats, Caps and Furs, Gloves, Umbrellas and 
Canes, No. 311 Washington Street.— One of the finest 
mercantile establishments on this great trade artery of 
the Hub is that of Mr. L. P. Hatch, dealer in hats, caps, 
furs, gloves, umbrellas, canes, etc., at No. 311 Washington street. 
This old time-lionored liouse was founded as far back as 1850 by 
Mr. F. Weis and originally and for many years was located at No. 
633 Washington street. In tlie subsequent years the proprietor- 
sliip underwent several changes, Mr. Hatch becoming a copartner 
in the enterprise in 1883 under the firm title of F. Weis & Co. In 
1886 the business was removed to the present site and on February 
1st, 1887, Mr. Hatch succeeded the firm and has since conducted 
tlie business in the thoroughly able and popular manner which lias 
ever been a leading characteristic of the hou.se. The premises 
consist of a store and basement 20x80 feet in dimensions and with 
its ornate plate glass front and sumptuous interior appointments 
tlie salesroom forms one of the attractive features of the street. 
The stock carried is large, comprehensive and complete, embrac- 
ing the choicest productions in the goods above enumerated 
which in each department are carefully selected from the newest 
novelties and latest fashionable styles. The house patronage is 
drawn from tlie high class town and nearby custom and a goodly 
force of clerks and salesmen is required in the transaction of the 
voluminous and prosperous general business. Mr. Hatch repre- 
sents an excellent type of the enterprising go-ahead nineteenth 
century Boston merchant. Beginning as clerk he acquired a 
practical knowledge of the business before assuming the re- 
sponsibility of a proprietor and now although still a young man 
he has become through his own well-directed efforts one of the 
representative and most highly respected merchants iu his line. 
Mr. Hatch is a native of Maine. 



AM. STETSON <Si CO., Coal, Wood and Lumber, Masons' 
Supplies, Stetson's Wharf, First Street: Oflice, No. H 
J Kilby Street.— One of the great representative mercan- 
tile houses of Boston is that of Messrs. A. M. Stetson & 
Co., the widely and favorably known retail dealers in coal, wood 
and all kinds of lumber. The business was founded away back 
in 1836 by Messrs. Collman & Stetson, succeeded iu 1838 by Messrs. 
A. Stetson & Son, the latter being Mr. A. M. Stetson. The trade 
has ste.adily grown, and the house is now and has ever been one 
of tlie most progressive in the business. In 1862 Mr. A. M. Stetson 
succeeded his father in tlie proprietorship, and in 1866 took into 
copartnership his son, Mr. John A. Stetson one of the best known 
and popular of Boston's young business men. In 1883 Mr. A. M. 
Stetson retired. As constituted, the house stands second to none 
In its branches of trade throughout tlie United States. As regards 
superior qualifications, perfected facilities and ample resources, 
we have yet to find a house its equal in Boston. The house gives 
close attention to the contracting for their immense stock and in 
regard to the prompt and efficient filling of all orders. Their prem- 
ises cover the great area of ten acres, extending from First Street to 
the water and having extensive wharves witli ample deptli of water 
to admit the coal and lumber vessels in to discharge. The magni- 
tude of the business done here may be gathered, when we state 
that the firm's coal shed has a capacity of 8,000 tons. They are 
direct receivers from the mines of the choicest anthracite and 
bituminous coals, warranted the best and most economical fuel in 
the market, for all purposes. They are also leading dealers iu 
hard and soft wood, for fuel and kindling; and have a large lum- 
ber yard connected with tlieir establishment full of choice sea- 
soned white pine, hard pine and hardwood lumber, specially 
adapted to the reqirements of the manufacturer and builder. 
Upwards of fifty men are employed in the various departments, 
and a fleet of vessels are kept busy freighting coal, wood and, 
lumber from the south and east, and the sales are annually enlarg- 
ing. The firm's offices are centrally located at No. 44 Kilby Street 
where all orders have prompt attention, and nowhere are such 
substantial inducements offered both as to price and quality as by 
this company 

CHARLES V.DASEY, Steamship Agent, Passage and Exchange 
Office, to Great Britain and Ireland, the Continent and the 
East, No. 7 Broad Street.— An established and responsible 
steamship agency in this city is the popular and well-known 
office conducted by Charles V. Dasey at No. 7 Broad Street (four 
doors from State Street), and than which no place of tlie kind 
in Boston bears a higher reputation for reliability, as few re- 
ceive a larger measure of public favor. This time-honored 
and prosperous agency was established some thirty years 
ago by the firm of Lawrence & Ryan, who conducted it 
up to about eight years ago, when it passed into control 
of the gentleman whose name heads the sketch, and under whose 
judicious management the business has since been continued 
with uniform success. The office, which is conveniently located 
on the second floor of No. 7 Broad Street, is commodious and 
well ordered, while three courteous and efficient clerks are in at- 
tendance. Tickets to and from England, Ireland, Scotland, Con- 
tinental Europe and in fact, all parts of the globe with which 
steamship communication is maintained, are sold .at lowest cur- 
rent rates, Mr. Dasey being psssage .agent for the Cunard Line, 
Allan Line, Guion Line, Inman Line, Anchor Line, Warren Line 
American Line, National Line to Great Britain and Ireland ; also 
for the Red Star Line, to Antwerp; Compagnie Gfinerale Traiis- 
Atlantique, to France; Netherlands Line, to Rotterdam and 
Amsterdam; Hamburg Line; Florio-Rubattino Line, to Mediter- 
ranean ports. Drafts for £1. sterling and upward, and also e.\- 
change payable in .all parts of the world, .are issued, while insur- 
ance likewise is placed with first-class fire companies at the very 
lowest r.ates consistent with absolute security; .and altogether, a 
large and active business is trans;icted here. Mr. D.asey, who is a 
man of about thirty-nine, and a native of this city, is a gentleman 
of agreeable manners and strict integrity in his dealings, as well 
as energy and excellent business qu.alities, and is a well-known 
member of the Insuran ;e Brokers' Association of Boston. Inquiry 
costs but the trouble of .asking and letters by mail are promptly 
attend -'d to and all information is clieerfully given. 



144 



ILLUSTRATED BOSTON, 



SHEPARD & MORSE LUMBER COMPANY, Wholesale Lum- 
ber Dealers, Office, Mason Building; Mills Ottawa, Out., and 
Burlington, Vt. ; Branch Office, No. 62 Wall Street, N. Y.— The 
leading, and largest lumber company ol New England, and 
one second to none on the continent in resources, facilities and 
connections is the famous Shepard & Morse Lumber Company of 
Boston, Mass. ; Ottawa, Canada; Burlington, Vt., and New York. 
The immense business developed by it was founded by the firm of 
Shepard, Hall & Co. in 1865, succeeded by Shepard, Morse & Co- 
in 1877, the important interests involved were duly incorporated 
and tlie company formed continued tlie business, until in 1884, it 
was reorganized with a capital of $700,000 and extended facilities. 
The directors are as follows: Mr. James Maclaren of Buckingham, 
Province of Quebec; Mr. George H. Morse of Burlington, Vt.; Mr. 
Otis Shepard of Boston, Mass.; Mr. W. A. Crombie of Burlington 
Vt.. and Mr. H. B. Shepard of Boston. A more representative 
body of capitalists and experienced lumber men could not be 
gathered together, and their guidance is of the ablest and judi- 
cious character. The company have large yards at Ottawa, Canada, 
also its shipping department. Many million feet of the choicest 
white pine lumber are annually shipped by barges via the Ottawa 
River, Chambly Canal and Lake Champlain to Burlington and 
thence by rail and water to Boston and New York and other lead, 
ing points of distribution. Mr. Maclaren who is one of the largest 
mill owners in Canada, attends to the cutting and shipping, while 
Mr. Geo. H. Morse and Mr. W. A. Crombie are in charge of tlie yards 
and large planing and moulding mill at Burlington, Vt. Mr. Otis 
Sliepard and Messrs. H. B. and H. S. Shepard are in charge of the 
company's Boston interest. Ihe company handles and sells an- 
nually all the way from eighty to one hundred million feet of 
lumber. It sells to leading dealers, shippers and exporters in car 
and cargo lots. A prominent specialty is made of lumber for ex- 
port in bond or free, and tlie trade thus developed from Boston is 
one of great and growing importance, large cargoes being sliipped 
at frequent intervals to the principal ports of South America, the 
West Indies, South Africa, Europe, etc. In Burlington the com- 
pany manufactures full lines of doors, frames, windows, sash, 
mouldings, etc.. also matched stuff for siding, flooring, etc. 
Quality is the first consideration, while substanti.al inducements 
are offered at all times as to prices. Tlie Messrs. Shepard are too 
widely and favorably known to require comment in this connec- 
tion. They have ever retained the confidence of leading commer- 
cial circles, and are worthy exponents of one of the greatest 
staple industries, and commercial interests of the United States. 

SAMUEL A PPLETON, Insurance, No. 28 Central Street.— The 
man who has his property covered by insurance in a sub- 
stantial and responsible company, experiences a feeling of 
comfort and contentment unknown to one who is in daily 
fear of a lire breaking out and consuming all his belongings. The 
insurance interests of Boston have attained proportions of the 
greatest magnitude, and maintain paramount importance in the 
community. A house which has secured an excellent connection 
In this line of business activity, is that of Mr. Samuel Appleton, one 
of the best known and esteemed men in insurance circles. This 
gentleman began business in 1885, is of middle age. full of energy and 
enterprise, and h.as within a comparatively brief period developed 
an extensive connection of a strictly first-class character. His 
facilities in the lines of fire, life, marine and accident insurance 
are absolutely unsurpassed, and he is in a position to quote rates 
that are absolutely unrivalled in the market. He is the agent for 
tlie Employers' Liabiliiy Assurance Company of London forMassa- 
chusetts, Rhode Island and New Hampsliire, is the local represen- 
tative for tlie Sun, of London ; Queen, of England and German- 
American, of New York, and is a general broker in fire, life, marine 
and accident insurance. He is also a member of the Boston 
Board of Underwriters. Mr. Appleton, who has a neatly appointed 
office at No. 28 Central Street, has evinced special talents for this 
line of business, coupled with executive abilities of the highest 
order, and has taken a creditable position in insurance circles. He 
is a native of this city, and is popular in all the walks of life. 



L 



YMAN & WHITE, Stationers and Printers, Stationery Store, 
No. 2 Union Street, Printing Office, No. 41 North Street.— 
Few houses enjoy a more extended popularity or a more 



prosperous trade, than that of Messrs. Lyman and White, the 
well-known stationers and printers, at Nos. 2 Union and 41 
North Streets. The business was originally established in 1879, by 
Luther B. Lyman, who was succeeded by the present firm, Lyman 
& White, in 1886. Tlie premises on North Street, used for a print- 
ing office, are spacious in size, and admirably equipped with the 
most modern machinery and appliances known to tlie trade, while 
steady employment is given to twenty-one skilled and expert 
hands. As practical printers and stationers, this firm are unex- 
celled in the trade, turning out work promptly and which, being 
up to the highest standard, elicits admiration from all who see it 
and proves conclusively their superiority as masters of the printer's 
art. The salesrooms of the firm on Union Street are stocked to 
repletion with new choice and desirable goods, which find a ready 
sale and a permanent demand among the leading mercantile insti- 
tutions of this city, banks, insurance companies and large corpora- 
tions. The firm cater tor first-class trade, executingall work in the 
highest style of the art, and undertake every description of fine 
letter-press and lithographic printing, keeping in stock constantly 
a very large line of mercantile stationery, and stationery goods in 
general. Orders by telephone, or otherwise, are given prompt and 
careful attention in all cases, and inducements are offered as re- 
gards terms and prices which challenge competition. 

J WILLIAMS BEAL, Architect, Mason Building, No. 70 Kilby 
Street.— The office of Mr. John Williams Beal, thu well- 
^ known and popular yonng architect, is located in the Ma- 
son Building, No. 70 Kilby Street. This gentleman was 
born in and still resides in Hanover, Mass. At an e.arly age he de- 
voted himself to the study of architecture, and determined that 
planning and superintending the erection of buildings should be 
his calling. His education and training were specially directed to 
fit him for his chosen profession, and he had a sound, practical tui- 
tion at the hands of some of the best known masters of the art. 
Nine years ago he launched into business on his own account, and 
from first to last his efforts liave been attended with marked 
success. Architecture in all its departments has in him an 
able exponent, and the designing and superintending of tlie erec- 
tion of buildings of every description receive the most careful at- 
tention. For the past two years Mr. Beat has been located in his 
present offices, which are equipped with all the necessary para- 
phernalia for the expeditious execution of all commissions, and a 
staff of competent assistants are kept busy. Mr. Beal has demon- 
strated .all over the city and the New England States, by the num- 
erous buildings which have been erected from his designs and un- 
der his directions, tlmt he knows his business thoroughly, and in 
proof of this we may mention that among such buildings are the 
following: Plymouth Court House: Bryant's Opera House, at 
Brockton; Post-office building, at Brockton; Rockingham House, 
Portsmouth : Rev. Dr. Plumb's church and Rev. Dr. Lyons' church, 
at Boston, and Fogg's bank building, at South Weymouth. 

ED. VER PLANCK, Commission Dealer in Sugar. Hemp and 
East India Products, No. 13 Exchange Place, Room 10.— 
For years the trade in the products of the East and West 
Indies and South American countries has contributed one 
of the most extensive and important branches of commercial ac- 
tivity in this city. The transactions in sugar, hemp and East India 
goods in Boston at the present day aggregate vast proportions in 
the course of a year, while the volume of business grows .apace 
annually ; the sales through the medium of broker and commission 
merchants alone representing millions of dollars. Among the 
younger merchants engaged in this line in the city, there is per- 
haps none better known, as few enjoy a larger measure of recog- 
nition, than the gentleman whose name stands at the head of this 
sketch. Mr. E. D. Ver Planck was born in Boston, where he is well 
and favorably known in commercial life, and prior to establishing 
himself in business, in 1883, had had several years' experience in 
the same line. He is a gentleman of entire probity and thoroughly 
responsible in all his dealings, as well as a young man of energy 
and excellent business qiualities, and is fully conversant witli the 
trade. Mr. Ver Planck handles sugar, hemp, manilla and East In- 
dia products generally, and acts as agent for foreign houses and for 
the markets of tlie United States. He does a strictly commission 
business, while his transactions are by cargo lots. 



THE METROPOLIS OF NEW ENGLAND. 



145 



AE. JEANEKET, Watchmaker and Manutacturei-, No. 235 
Wasliiiigton Street.— The trade of the watchmaker is 
well represented in this city by Mr. A. E. Jeaueret.who is 
' a practical mechanician and has acquired a wide reputa- 
tion for skill and dexterity, and enjoys in a marked degree the im- 
plicit confidence of the trade and the public. He is a native of 
Switzerland, and came to the United States in 1858 and has been 
established in business since 1876. His patronage is large, and in all 
his work he exercises the greatest care, and is pronounced one of 
the best fine watchmakers and repairers in Boston. He occupies a 
very desirable location, room U on the second floor of the building 
No. 235 Washington Street, and carries in stock a general assort- 



^^#M0 LUSrZ' , . 

' Manfr-d by v^fa-*-l^W; Boston, Mass- 

Tor Bold, Silver, Plated Ware, Nickel, and Glass^ 

€ damp sponge, and rennov« w 
I chamois skin or soft cotton ck 

PRICE 25 CENTS.^ 



nient of gold and silver watches of both foreign and American 
production and is conducting a large, prosperous business. Mr. 
Jeaneret is the president and largest stockholder in the company 
which was incorporated in 1888 for the manufacture of Diamond 
Luster for cleaning and polishing gold, silver, plated ware, nickel 
and glass, which is sold all over the country, and is pronounced the 
linest and best article for tlie purpose ever before brought to the 
notice of the public. It is the best selling article of the kind in 
the market and is far superior to any other preparation and is sold 
at retail at the low price of 25 cents per box. Many hundreds of 
testimonials have been received by Mr. Jeaneret all of which highly 
oommend the luster and endorse it as the best preparation ever dis- 
covered for polishing metals or glass, and as it is free from grit, acid, 
or any injurious corrosive substance, will not injure the most del- 
icate surface. It has been in use over six years and has given iier- 
fect satisfaction in every case. Jewelers and the trade are supplied 
by Mr. Jeaneret who will also furnish testimonials and circulars 
giving full information on application. 

GEORGE D. BROWN <!i CO., Wholesale and Retail Dealers in 
Mutton, La^b, V'eal and Poultry. Stall No. 15, New Faneuil 
Hall Market.— Brown's pickled lambs' tongues have at- 
tained international celebrity as a great popular nutritious 
delicacy, and the result of this branch of Boston's skilled indus- 
tries is that Mes.srs. Geo. D. Brown & Co. are the second largest 
bottlers of lambs' tongues in the world. Mr. George D. Brown es- 
tablished in business twenty-live years ago as a wholesale and re- 
tail dealer in mutton, Iamb, veal and poultry, and early developed 
a desirable connection and a growing trade in Boston and through- 
out New England. Upwards of twenty years ago, Mr. Brown, with 
characteristic enterprise, originated the idea of pickling lambs, 
tongues by wholesale, and of putting them up in bottles for the 
trade. He had the necessary energy to carry out his new depart- 
ure in its every delail, and pickling the tongues by a process th.at 
gives them an unrivalled flavor.and excellence, hespeedilycreated 
a new and flourishing branch of industry, and one that has now at- 
tained proportions of enormous magnitude. Mr. Brown now sells 
half a million tongues per annum. The raw tongues are received 
from Buffalo, Kansas City, Chicago and New England points, 
at No. 10 Faneuil Hall Square, 30x70 in size, where he has all ap- 
pliances at command, and employs a number of skilled hands in 
pickling and bottling. Tlie tongues are put up in pint, quart and 
two-quart gl.ass jars, and in kegs and barrels. It will reveal no 
private trade secret by our stating that Mr. Brown puts his lambs' 



tongues up in white-wine vinegar and boils them to a turn, spicing 
and specially preparing them before bottling. His is the oldest house 
engaged in this branch of trade ; he sends his tongues to all quar- 
ters of the globe, and has made the name of his house, and of Bos- 
ton, houseliold words at the extremities of the earth. Mr. Brown 
has by no means neglected to develop his trade in prime mutton, 
lamb, veal and poultry, and stall No. 15 New Fanueil Hall Market 
makes one of the finest displays in the city. He supplies numer 
ous large consumers in Boston, such as hotels, restaurants, etc., 
and sells to the trade within a radius of one hundred miles of the 
city, his meats giving unqualifled satisfaction. He supplies the 
leading hotels at Narragansett Pier, Newport, Crescent Beach, 
Magnolia, Cottage City and Martha's Vineyard. 

Th:e "CALIFORNIA INSURANCE CO., of San Francisco, 
„ Marine Agency for the Eastern States and British Pro- 
vinces, Nos. 41 and 43 Devonshire Street.— The clientage 
of this agency is of the best, and tew companies in the coun- 
try have warmer or more steadfast friends. Tills is owing to its 
broad and liberal methods and prompt settlements. The officers 
of the company are of the highest standing and its history is a credit 
to their management. The company was established in 1861, with 
a capital of $600,000 in gold. Its present cash assets are $1,300,000. 
It has received in premiums $6,000,000, and paid in losses over $3,000, 
000, besides dividends, etc. Tlie stock is largely owned by the 
directors, a guarantee of safety. The market value of the stock is 
fifty per cent, over par. It was this company, wiiich the Washing- 
ton Fire and Marine Insurance Co., of Boston, selected to reinsure 
all its marine risks. This reinsurance was taken by the Boston 
agents of the' California Insurance Co., in this city Messrs. E. 
Whitney i Co., who adjust and pay all marine losses in Boston. 
Foreign certificates are issued when required payable in Loudon, 
Liverpool or Paris. 

JEWELL & CO., Bankers and Brokers, No. 175 Washington 
street.— One of the leading Hrins of bankers and brokers in 
the city is that of Jewell & Co., No. 175 Washington Street. 
The business was established five years ago and the present 
elegant offices have been occupied since 1885. Messrs. Jewell & Co. 
deal in bonds, stocks and securities of every description, either 
outright or on account, and do a large business in railroad shares 
as well as in oil, grain and provisions. They have a wire direct 
from New York, and have correspondents in Chicago and tlie prin- 
cipal markets of the country enabling them to obtain the latest in 
formation on the fluctuations of the market. Mr. Jewell, who is a 
Massachusetts man, has had a long experience in the stock market 
and his judgment has been found unerring in important deals. He 
looks after his customers interests in tlie most faithful manner 
and during the four years he has been established has earned a 
flrst-elass name as a safe and conservative broker. 

THOMAS J. SMITH, Tea Broker; No. 34 Broad Street.— Of all 
the various articles comprehended in the food-supply trade 
there are none harder to procure in pure, fresh quality 
than te'as, and the greatest care should be exercised by the 
grocer in selecting his supplies from a reliable source. A repre- 
sentative broker in teas in this city is Mr. Tliomas J. Smith, who 
has been prominent in the business here since 1869, and who occu- 
pies eligible office quarters at No. 34 Broad Street. Mr. Smith is a 
Massachusetts man by birth and training, and has resided in Bos- 
ton since 1850. He was engaged in the grocery business from 1851 
to 1860, and is welland favorably known in Boston business circles. 
He brings to bear upon his present business the widest range of 
practical experience and an intimate knowledge of all the needs 
and requirements of the trade, while his influential connections 
with tne best source of supply enable him to supply the Boston 
market with teas of every grade and growth in quantities to suit, 
and at terms and prices which are rarely, if ever, duplicated else- 
where. All goods furnished through him are guaranteed to be 
strictly pure, fresh and reliable, and all orders of whatever magni- 
tude, are given prompt and careful attention. New season, fresh- 
crop teas of all grades are handled, including oolong, English, 
breakfast, Japan, young hyson, gunpowder, imperial Pekoe, Sou- 
chong, and other varieties, and the aim of Mr. Smith lias always 
been to meet every demand of this market. 



146 



ILLUSTRATED BOSTON. 



THE MASSACHUSETTS LOAN AND TRUST COMPANY, 
Stephen M. Crosby, President ; Frank W. Reynolds, Treas- 
urer, No. 18 Post Office Square.— Intimately connected witli, 
and indeed lorming an integral part of llic commercial and 
financial interests of tlie city of Boston, and equal to the largest 
banks in responsibility and practical necessity, are the various 
loan and trust companies. Prominent among these is the representa- 
tive and reliable Massacliusetts Loan and Trust Conipany,wlu)se offi- 
ces are centrally located at No. 18 Post Office Square. Tills corpo- 
ration was duly chartered In 1870, under the laws of Massachu- 
setts, with a paid-up capital of $500,000, and with liberty to increase 
to $1,000,000. Tlie management of this substantial company is in 
the hands of prudent and experienced business men, whose 
names are thorouglily familiar throughout financial and connuer- 
cial circles, as those of honoi-able and capable citizens. The list is 
as follows:— President, Stephen M.Crosby; treasurer. Frank W. 
Reynolds: directors, Samuel Atherton, Cyrus G. Beebe, Stephen 
M. Crosby, Isaac Fenno, Joseph H. Gray, Lyman Hollingsworth, 
Henry D. Hyde, Moses Kimball, Frank W. Reynolds, Henry A. 
Rice, Richard H. Stearns, Edward Whitney. All the usual rou- 
tine of a large general banking business is carried on, including 
the receiving of accounts of manufacturers, merchants and others 
subject to check at sight, wliile special rates of interest are al- 
lowed on money payable on fixed time. The company makes ad- 
vances on staple merchandise, foreign or domestic, on bills of lad- 
ing or warehouse receipts. The charter of the company gives au- 
thority to receive and hold, collect and disburse money, securities 
or property in trust or otherwise, from individuals, executors, ad- 
ministrators, guardians, trustees or, by the order of the court. The 
company likewise acts as trustee lor railroad and other corpora- 
tions, also as financial agent for any persons, societies, corpora- 
tions or municipal authorities. It is also agent for the payment of 
bonds, coupons, dividends, etc., and as transferagent for the stocks 
and bonds of incorporated companies. The following statement 
shows the condition of the Massachusetts Loan and Trust Company 
at close of business Nov. 30, 1888: Assets— Loixns on time, $1,751,- 
726.39; loans on demand, W19.072.63; total loan, 82.170,799.02; ex- 
penses, $8,351.87 : taxes, $6,003.25; cash,$163,632.09; total assets, $2,- 
348,786.23. Liabilities- Capital stock, $.500,000; surplus, $119,852.39: 
profit and loss, $38,520.03; undivided profits, $.39,698.29; bills and 
memo, payable, 5847,854.90: deposits subject to check, $802,4&5.03 ; 
dividends unpaid, $318: insurance. $.57.59. 

WJI GARRISON REED.Fire Insurance Agent and Brnker,No. 
25 Kilby Street.— Insurance is undoubtedly the right arm 
and main support of all businessenterprises.andassuch 
merits recognition and respect in this work. We have 
carefully watched the development of insurance ever since the 
great fires of Boston and Chicago, and especially have we traced 
the growth and success of the agency business. The insurance 
agent occupies an important position in the profession. He acts as 
the agent both of the company or companies he represents, and of 
the property owner who employs him to place his insurance. 
Usually he has a number of companies of good standing, and he 
will take the contract tor placing a line of insurance for a client 
and use his judgment in so doing. The insurance agent must 
necessarily be a thoroughly posted insurance man, that is, be com- 
petent to judge the nature and liability of a risk, and judge what 
an amount it should pay. The advantage to a property owner in 
employing such an agent is in the fact that he is relieved of 
much trouble and expense in placing his own insurance, espe- 
cially should it be a large line. Among the best known and 
most experienced insurance agents in Boston, is Mr. William 
Garrison Reed, of No. 25 Kilby Street. This gentleman, in partner- 
ship with his brother, the late Mr. T. Frank Reed, started business 
in 1868. and, since the death of his brother has continued the busi- 
ness alone. He was formerly located at No. 66 Devonshire Street, 
and in 1887 removed to his present address, No. 25 Kilby Street. 
Mr. Reed is a member of the Underwriters' Association and is the 
representative of the London Assurance Corporation, of England, 
and the Union Insurance Comp.iny of California. He effects in- 
surance at the lowest rates compatible with security, and has a 
large patronage both in and out of the city. The telephone con- 
nection is 1776. Mr. Reed is a native of this city, widely known and 
universally respected. 



WILLIAM W. LOWE, Real Estate, Mortgages and Insur- 
ance, Office: No. 31 State Street, Traveller Building.— 
Prominent among the most responsible and conserva- 
tive, real estate, loan and insurance brokers of Boston, 
is Mr. Wm. W. Lowe of No. 31 State Street. He has achieved an 
enviable reputiition for his enterprising yet sound and conserva- 
tive financial policy. Long active in commercial circles and famili- 
arized with the real estate market of Boston and its suburbs, he 
is a recognized authority thereon, and since establishing his office 
ten years ago, has developed an active trade, aiid a widespread, 
influential connection. He has carried through many important 
transactions in the sale and exchange of real estate, and those 
seeking remunerative investments can secure them to a certainty 
by negotiating through Mr. Lowe. He secures loans on bond and 
mortgage at reasonable rates of interest, and at lowest charges, 
and also offers the mortgages and debentures of the Kansas Mort- 
gage Investment Comi)any of Anthony, Kansas, of which corpora- 
tion he is the eastern agent. Tliese securities are the most desir- 
able of any offered to New England investors. The Company is 
managed most conservatively; it loans only to thirty-three per 
cent, of the value of the best farms and Kansas city property, and 
offers also the additional security of its own resources. Its in- 
vestors have never lost a dollar, and it has invested hundreds of 
thousands of dollars for eastern capitalists in western farm loans, 
in the best corn and wheat sections, saving all trouble, care or 
danger of loss. Those who seek the most remunerative invest- 
ment in this market, should write to Mr. Lowe for full details. 
Mr. Lowe is also prepared to place promptly and to bestadvantage 
full lines of fire insurance in the strongest companies. He con- 
trols the insuring of important business and residential property, 
and owners of city and suburban buildings, stocks of merchandise, 
can ,obtain lowest rates coupled with absolute security through 
him. He is a resident of Saugus, and has ever taken a hearty 
interest in securing public welfare and honest administration 
of affairs. He was this year nominated for •election as a mem- 
ber of the Legislature from the Essex District, and is a popular 
and respected citizen, whose honorable methods and sterling in- 
tegrity, render him specially qualified to conduct the large and 
growing business in which he is engaged. 

CHAPIN, TRULL & CO., Distillers of Pure New England Rum, 
No. 30 Central Street.— Recent improvements in the pro- 
cesses of distillation a.ssure the production of spirituous 
liquors, that are of the highest standard both in quality and 
purity. The representative, oldest and most noted house in Bos- 
ton, engaged in this growing and important industry, is that of 
Messrs. Chapin, Trull & Co., distillers of pure New England rum, 
whose office and salesrooms are located at No. 30 Central Street- 
The distillery, which is one of the largest and best equipped in the 
United States, is situated at Charlestown. This reliable house is up- 
wards of 100 years old and was carried on during tfiat period, under 
the firm names of Trull Brothers, Chase & Trull, and eventually in 
1877, the firm of Chapin, Trull & Co., was organized, and succeeded 
to the man.agement. On April 29th, 1886. Mr. Trull died after a suc- 
cessful and honorable career, and the business is now the property 
"of Mr. Nahum Chapin, who is a thoroughly qualified and practical 
distiller, fully conversant with every detail of this industry, and 
tlie requirements of the tr.ade and a critical public. The capacity 
of the distillery is about 3000 gallons daily, and the sales for the 
past year amounted to upwards of 1,000,000 gallons. Messrs. Chapin, 
Trull & Co., have always distilled their pure New England rum, 
fire copper,— entirely from superior molasses. In fact, the New 
England rum distilled by this popular firm is absolutely unrivalled 
for quality, flavor, purity and uniform excellence, while the prices 
quoted for it in all cases is regulated by the market. The trade of 
the firm extends throughout the entire United States and Canada, 
and large quantities are exported to Europe, South America 
Africa and Australia. The trade of this responsible house is stead- 
ily increasing, as consumers of this healthful liquor are becoming 
better acquainted with its merits. Mr. Nahum Chapin was born 
in Vermont, but has resided in Boston for the last forty-eight 
years, where he is highly regarded by the community for his 
energy, business ability and integrity. He is a piominent member 
of the Distillers' Association, aud one of Boston's public spirited 
and progressive citizens. 



THH METROPOLIS OF NEW ENGLAND. 



147 



MASSACHUSETTS REAL ESTATE CO., Geo. Leonard Gen- 
eral Agent. No. 24fl Washington Street.— This representa- 
tive company was duly incorporated in 1SS5, under the 
laws of Massachusetts, with an autliorized capital of $2,- 
000,000. It was organized for the purpose of investing its capital in 
the purchase of commercial real estate in the business centres of 
large and growing cities, not with a view to .speculation by selling 
when a profit can be secured, but tor the purpose of holding all 
property acquired as permanent assests of the corporation from 
which a steady and increasing income will arise in rentals to be 
applied to the payment of dividends on the stock. Since its or- 
ganization this company has earned over ten per cent, per annum 
on its capital invested up to the present day. The company issues 
shares of the par value of one hundred dollars each. The shares 
have coupons bearing interest at the rate of five per cent, payable 
semi-.anuu.ally, until J.an. 15, 1891. These coupons are payable on 
the twenty-fifth day of January and July of each year. The surplus 
remaining after the p.ayinent of the interest due according to the 
coupons will be accumulated tor a period of five years from the 
time the company was organized (that is, until Jan. 15, 1891), .and 
will be devoted to the purchase of real estate, thus increasing the 
assets and earning capacity of the company. After this date the 
full net earnings will be paid out to the stockholders, materially 
increasing their dividends. As the surplus being accunuilated en- 
hances the value of shares, persons purchasing shares must pay 
their v.alue ,as adjusted. Adjustments are made on the fifteenth 
days of January, April, July, and October of each year. The Mas- 
sachusetts Real Estate Company only purchases commercial real 
est.ate, by which is meant blocks and buildings in the centres of 
rapidly growing cities. It never buys farms, dwelling houses, or 
property of any kind, outside the business centre of a thriving city. 
All its buildings are fully insured as likewise the rent rolls, so that 
in case a building is destroyed by fire the company will continue to 
receive the rents until the building is repaired or rebuilt. All tlie 
titles of the company's real estate are insured in the Massachusetts 
Title Insurance (Jompany. In carrying out its plans, the company 
now owns a number of splendid buildings in Boston, Taunton and 
Providence, which are valued at over a million dollars. These 
buildings include such properties as the Advertiser Building, No. 
246 Washington Street. Boston; the Bertram Building which adjoins 
the Mutual Life Insurance Company's Building, near Post Office 
Square, Boston, and the Niles Building, near Dock Square, Boston, 
occupied by the John P. Lovell Arms Company; the Reed Building, 
Faneuil H.all Square. The following gentlemen are theofficersand 
directors: President. Porte W. Hewins, treasurer Boston Trust Co. • 
trea,surer, I,ames Y. Anthony, treasurer Antliony & Cushman T.ick 
Co.; directors, Hon. George F. Bemis of Boston; Hon. William S. 
Greene, ex-mayor of Fall River ; Col. Samuel C. Hart, New Bedford, 
firm of Hart & Akin ; Hon. George K. Phillips, chairman commit- 
tee of finance for the city of Providence, R. I ; Hon. William Reed, 
jun., pres.Taunton Board of Trade ; Judge William H. Fox, Taunton, 
trustee Bristol County County Savings Bank ; George A. Washburn 
Esq., treasurer City of Taunton ; James Y. Anthony, Esq. .Taunton • 
Porte W. Hewins, Esq.. Taunton; auditors: George A. W.asburn, 
Taunton ; B. C. Peirce, treasurer Presbrey Stove Lining Co, ; banks 
of deposit: Boston Safe Deposit and Trust Co., Boston, Mass.; 
M.aehinist N>ational Bank, Taunton, Mass. General Agent, George 
Leonard, clerk of corporation. Parke W. Hewins. The following is 
a summary of the financial affairs of the Massachusetts Real Estate 
Conipany, June 30, 1888: authorized capital, 82,000,000: capital paid 
in, $550,000; par value of stock, $100; price per share, $113.50; price 
of stock July 1, 1888, $1 14. The company's shares are recommended 
as an absolutely safe investment fortrustees or guardians. Further 
information and details are cheerfXilly given on application at the 
company's office, by Mr. Geo. Leonard, the general agent. 

THE AMERICAN INVESTMENT COMPANY of Nashua, N. 
H., No. 8 Congress Street.— In conse(|uence of the growing 
scarcity of remunerative and safe investments in the east, 
capitalists and others are now turning their attention to 
the desirable and profitable openings afforded by the farm mort- 
gages of the west. The first f.act connected with these western 
farm mortgages is that they are absolutely secure, if the loan is 
placed through organized and expert hands, and second, that the 
income is as sure and more than double what can be got from gov- 



ernment bonds, eastern loans or saving banks. To those desirous 
of investing in these western mortgages to advantage, we wouldl 
specially direct them to the reliable and progressive American In- 
vestment Company of Nashua, N. H., whose Boston office is cen- 
trally located at No. 8 Congress Street. This Company was duly 
incorpor.ated June 22d, ISS.i. under the laws of New Hampshire, 
with a paid up capital of SlOO.OuO,- which has been further aug- 
mented by a surplus of $30,000. The following gentlemen, are the 
officers and directors; D. R. Sortwell, president; C. J. Gleason, 
treasurer; W. M. Upham, assistant treasurer; W. W. Wick, west- 
ern manager ; Finance committee : D. R. Sortwell, Edwin Dresser, C. 
J. Gleason, Wm. C. Avery. Board of directors : D. R. Sortwell, presi- 
dent of Montpelier & Wells River Rail Road Company president 
of Cambridge National Bank, East Cambridge, Mass., firm of Sort- 
well & Co., East Cambridge, Mass. ; Blwin Dresser, president of 
National City Bank, Cambridgeport, Mass., director of Cambridge 
Savings Bank, Cambridge, Mass., president of Cambridgeport 
Diary Company; Wm. C. Avery, firm of Avery & Thayer, Norfolk. 
Mills, Dedham, Mass.; C. J. Gleiison, Attornay, Montpelier, Vfe, 
firm of Goss & Gleason, Vergennes, Vt. ; Wm. G. Ward. Lowell, 
M.ass., trustee of Mechanics Savings Bank, of Lowell; Daniel 
Marcy, Portsmouth, N. H., trustee of Portsmouth Savings Bank, 
director of New Hampshire National Bank. Portsmouth, director 
of Portsmouth Trust and Guarantee Company : Fred H. Buttrick, 
Lowell, Mass., treasurer of City Institution for .Savings of Lowell; 
John H Goodale, Nashua, N. H., ex-secretary of the st.ate of New 
Hampshire, vice president of Indian Head Insurance Company of 
Nashua; J. C. BulKard. East Cambridge, M.ass., cashier Cambridge 
National Bank. The company makes a specialty of western farm 
mortgages, and also deals in water company, school, county and 
town bonds. The f.arm mortgages bear four per cent interest in 
semi-annual payments, and the principal and interest are always 
fully guaranteed. The company's loans are on first mortgage only 
on farms of reputable and thoroughly responsible farmers; the 
security moreover must be worth three times the amount of the 
mortgage, while the terms are strict and explicit. The loans of 
this company are confined to the best sections of the fertile states 
of Kansas, Nebraska, Missouri and Minnesotia, where farms are 
constantly rising in value. The company is trans,acting a very 
safe business. 

GENERAL A. YBARRA, Coffee and Cocoa Importer, No. 7 
Exchange Place.— The finest cocoa in the world is th.at 
grown in the state of Caracas, Venezuela, and from which 
is manufactured the most delicious chocolate in the mar- 
ket. Among the largest plantation owners in that fertile re- 
gion, is the family of General A. Ybarra, whose estates are culti- 
vated with the utmost care, and upon the most improved methods. 
They are some of the largest and most successful growers of coffee 
and cocoa in Venezuela : and Ybarra coffee and chocolate are eag- 
erly sought for by the best class of trade in the United States, and 
the General's name has become a veritable trade-mark. The Gen- 
er.al is now .actively engaged in the direct importation of Ybarra 
coffee and chocolate, from a certain number of plantations. Gen- 
eral Ybarra controls' tlie most famous chocolate manufacturers of 
Caracas. It is made from the best cocoa grown in the world, and 
with .absolute purity, jthe only ingredients being pure Caracas 
cocoa and cane sugar, the natural products of the country. This 
chocolate is not only the purest, but the most fragrant .and deli- 
cious, it is more economical than any other brand, and is harmless 
to invalids and children, and can be used continuously .as an arti- 
cle of food, producing a mild tonic effect, fattening the body and 
strengthening the 'system against fatigue and disease. The Gen- 
eral h,as been estiiblished in business in Boston for eight years 
p.ast. and has developed a trade of great magnitude, selling to 
wholesale houses, jobbers and dealers. likewise to the trade at far 
distiint points. Both its to price and quality he offers substantial 
inducements, while his commercial policy is one of honor and in- 
tegrity. General Ybarra was long a general officer of the Vene- 
zuelan army and patriotically led the forces of his native land in 
defence of liberty. He is .as .able and popular a merchant as ho 
was a military commander, and has developed a trade of great 
and growing magnitude, and one of the utmosfvalue to Boston 
and the United Slates, where the best and purest food products are 
always in sucli demand. 



148 



ILLUSTRATED BOSTON. 



THE WM. H. BRETT ENGRAVING CO., Steel Plate Engravers 
and Printers, Reuben Carpenter, Manager, No. 30 Bromfleld 
Street.— Tlie steady and marvelous progress made in steel 
plate engraving and kindred brandies during tlie last 
'quarter of a century is one of tlie notable features that mark tlie 
period in which we live. With tlie inventions. Improvements and 
■ oilier .iccessories discovered, a degree of excellence akin to perfec- 
tion h.is been attained in this industry during the time mentioned. 
Among the foremost exponents and best known men engaged in 
the business is Mr. Reuben Carpenter, manager of The \Vm. H. 
Brett Engraving Co., at No. 30 Bromfleld Street, who sustains a 
most excellent and Al. reputation for fine work in this line : and 
• as a consequence is in jiossession of a very extensive and flattering 
patronage. Mr. Carpenter is an Englishman by birth, of about 
fifty years of age, and has been a citizen of the tinited States, and 
resident of Boston ever since 1868. This house was cstablisiicd 
"Originally under its present title by Mr. Win. H. Brett in 1879, and 
soon found its way into popular favor and confidence by the excel- 
lent character of its work. Mr. Brett was succeeded in 1884 by 
Messrs. Frizzell and Carpenter who still retained the large patron- 
age by maintaining the high character of the house's previous pro- 
ductions, and in February, 1S87, Mr. Carpenter assumed the entire 
control and nian.ageinent of the business, which has greatly in- 
creased under his direction. The premises utilized comprise two 
spacious and commodious rooms— oltice and showroom— which are 
very neatly and tastefully arranged, and supplied with every con- 
venience and all the latest improved appliances necessary for the 
production of the very highest class of work known in the profes- 
sion, also everything in new designs for all kinds of engraved 
work, and when desired originals are made to order. A number 
of skilled and first-class artists are kept in constant employment 
whose operations are conducted under the immediate supervision 
.of the proprietor, who havingserved a longand faithful apprentice- 
ship and many years of practical experience, permits no work to 
leave the premises that does not come up to the higliest standard 
*f artistic excellence. Mr. Carpenter is prepared to execute 
everything in the line of commercial steel engraving and printing, 
such as letter, note, and bill-lieads, business and visiting cards, 
steel plate folders for menus, orders of dancing, wedding invita- 
tions, condolence cards, crests, monograms, stamping, vignettes, 
etc.. and no pains are spared to render the fullest s.itisfaction, while 
liis prices are extremely reasonable, and none but first-class work 
is turned out from this establishment. 

R1CE& HOLWAY, Commission Merchants, for the Sale of But- 
ter, Cheese. Eggs, and Beans, Dressed Poultry, Game, Etc.; 
Domestic Fruit and General Produce ; Store and Office, Nos. 
15 North Market and 15 Clinton Streets ; Butter Department, 
Basement, No. 15 North Market Street.— For enterprise, drive and 
success, the firm of Messrs, Rice & Holway take a prominent place 
among the commission houses doing business in tliis market. Es- 
tablished in 1872 this house has continued to increase and develop 
its trade until now it has assumed a very important place in the 
commission business. The founders were Messrs. Gould, Rice & 
Co., wlio continued in partnership until 1876, wlien the firm was re- 
organized and became, as now. Rice & Holway, the present 
partners being Mr. A. Mellen Rice iind Mr. Thomas E. Holway. 
The former is a native of Maine and tlie latter was born on Cape 
Cod. Both are active and prominent members of the Boston Fruit 
and Produce Excliange and also of the Cliamber of Commerce, and 
have had v.ast experience in their line of trade. Tlie firm handle 
on commission, dressed poultry, game, domestic fruit and general 
produce of every description. They occupy commodious and well- 
appointed premises. As a salesroom and office the store running 
tlirougli from No. 15 North Market Street to No. 15 Clinton Street; 
and a three-story building at No. 15 Ferry Street is occupied for 
storage. Tlie establishment is provided with refrigerators and all 
other necessary appliances for facilitating the handling of the ex- 
tensive stocks carried and the prompt shipment of all orders. The 
firm are daily in receipt of fresh consignments, and their favorable 
relations with producers and shippers enable them to fill the 
largest orders with dispatch and at the lowest market quotations 
The transactions of the house are extensively of a wholesale char- 
acter and necessitate the employment of twelve assistants, and 
the standing of the firm in the trade is Al. 



DAVID W. LEWIS, New Elrgtand Agent for Akron Sevwr and 
Drain Pipe, Boston Office, No. 80 Water Street.— This busi- 
ness was established eigliteen years ago by Messrs. Lewia 
& Millett, who conducted it till 1872, when on the retire 
ment of Mr. Millett, Mr. Lewis became sole proprietor. Mr 
Lewis is the New England agent for the famous Akron sewer and 
drain pipe, land tile, fire elay chimney flue linings, terra cotta 
chimney tops, wind guards, stove linings mixture, etc. He also 
deals largely in Are brick. Highland stone vases and cement, 
and is New England agent for the celebrated "Akron Star 
Brand Cement." According to offlcral reports a very large per 
cent, of all fires from known causes, are from defective flues and 
chimneys. The importance of having a building perfectly safe 
from fire in connection with the chimneys was never more felt f lian 
now. To assure this, attention is ca?Ied to the Are clay chimney 
flue lining. It is claimed for this: 1. That it is made of pure fire 
clay, unglazed, and is warranted to stand the greatest heat, and 
consequently is as durable as the chimney itself. 2. It effectually 
protects the building against fires, which so frequently originate 
from defective flues. 3. It being smooth, the soot does not adhere 
as to rough mortar surface, and it rarely fails to secure perfect 
draft. It is easily encased in the brick, and made in size for any 
ordinary chimney. The cost is trifling compared with the results 
gained. In unlined chimneys the action of soot and e,ases will 
cause the mortar to crumble and fall out from between the 
bricks, leaving crevices through whieh the fire is liable to work its 
way. Where lining is used this great danger is avoided. The 
Akron sewer pipe is well known by experts to be iinriv,illed for 
conducting sewerage, and is so constructed that perfect connection 
can be made from one pipe to the other, so that no leakage w hat- 
ever can possibly occur. Mr. Lewis is also agent for Ctapp's sewer 
inlet caps, which have gained an excellent reputation for efficiency 
and durability. All orders for sewer and drain pipe, etc., are 
promptly and carefully filled at the lowest possible prices, and the 
trade of this responsible house, which is both wholesale and retail, 
now extends throughout all sections of New England. Mr. Lewis' 
yards, which are spacious and fully stocked, are situated at No. 41 
Boylstou Avenue, Jamaica Plain, corner Portl.ind and Cambridge 
Streets. Eiist Cambridge. Mr. Lewis is a nativeof Walpole, Mass., 
but has resided in Boston for the last eighteen years, where he is 
highly regarded in business circles for his promptness, enter- 
prise and just methods. The telephone call ol the house is ISVg. 

BALDERSTON & DAGGETT, Sole Agents for National India 
Rubber Company, Empire Rubber Shoe Company, Imperial 
Rubber Company, Nos. 28, 30, 32 and 34 Lincoln Street, near 
Summer.— As a source of supplies of every kind of manu- 
factured goods the city of Boston possesses advantages and facili- 
ties to meet the wants of the country equal, if not superior, to any 
other city in the union. Numerous and varied as are the indus- 
tries here carried on they are ever multiplying, happily as tlie city 
expands itself and the population increases One of the enter- 
prises which have gained a permanent establishment in our midst 
and assumed a leading position in its line, is that conducted by 
Messrs. Balderston & Daggett, the sole agents for the National 
India Rubber Company, the Empire Rubber Slioe Company, and 
the Imperial Rubber Company, located at Nos. 28. 30, 32 and 34 Lin- 
coln Street, near Summer Street. Founded in 1879, this concern 
has had a remarkably successful career, and vigilance, push and 
the highest commercial integrity have been its characteristics 
from the outset. Their premises form one of the most commodious 
and finest business establishments on the street. They comprise 
an entire building, containing five floors .and b.asement, the whole 
standing on an area of 40x100 feet. The fittings and equipments of 
the establishment are the best that skill and capital can produce, 
and there is tliroughout a neatness and method in the general 
arrangements which cannot escape the attention of a visitor on 
entering. The stock carried is immense and comprehensive, em- 
bracing, as it does, every conceivable article into the manufacture 
of which rubter enters. The firm, being the sole agents of the 
producers, .and receiving their supplies direct from the maunfac- 
tories, cannot be undersold in the market, while they are able to 
offer terms with which no other house can conqjete. The pro- 
prietors are aged respectively 55 and 38 years, both are natives of 
Boston and as a firm have gained a merited success. 



THE METROPOLIS OF NEW ENGLAND. 



149 



HARRINGTON & FREEMAN, Watches, Diamonds, Jewelry, 
Clocks, Silverware and Optical Goods. No. 59 Court Street. 
— One ot the most prominent and iiopular establishments 
in tlie jewelry trade in Boston is tliat of Messrs Harring- 
ton & Freeman, located at No 59 Court Street, opposite Adams 
Express. This firm are e.\tensive retail dealers in watches diii- 
monds, jewelry, eIocl<s, silverware and optical goods, and have 
been established in the business here since 1S79. The store is very 
desirably situated for trade purposes, elegantly fitted up, and per- 
fect in convenience of arrangement for inspection and sale. A 
very large stock is carried in every line and special effort has 
been made to preserve uniform excellence in quality and make. 
Tliis has been made fully possible by the splendid connections of 
tlie house with manufacturers and importersof the highest repute, 
and the contiuual activity ot the proprietors in exacting tribute 
from every source that promises increased usefulness and popu- 
larity. In American niid f.^viffn wnti-lic:. French and American 




clocks, bronzes, rich jewelry and charms, solid silver and plated 
ware, gold and silver ornaments, and optical goods, the .issort- 
ments are rarely equalled in the city. Precious stones of all kinds 
are kept in abundance, including a choice supply of diamonds, dis- 
tingnislied for purity, beauty and perfect sliape All tliese goods 
are selected with care and judgment, exhibiting a wide range in 
value and calculated to meet the wants of the greatest possible • 
number of buyers. A corps ot six assistants is employed, and the 
house is well prepared to give the best satisfaction in all its opera- 
tions, being consistent in all its determination to furnisli only 
tlrst-class goods and reliable work on the most advantageous terms 
that can be afforded. Ample capital is employed in the enterprise, 
and it is recognized as an important factor in the mercantile 
activity of the city. The members of the firm, Messrs. L. T. Har- 
rington and Geo. T. Freeman, are both practical jewelers and ex- 
perienced, progressive and successful merchants. Mr. Harrington 
is a native of New Hampshire, while Mr. Freeman was born in 
Roxbury, Mass. They operate a branch store at No. 102 Court 
Street, and enjoy the respect and esteem of the entire conimuity. 

CH. McKENNEY & CO., Manufacturers of Gas Fixtures, 
Electroliers. Fine Lamps and Fire Place Goods, Nos. 634 
and 636 Washington Street.— Tlie wonderful growth at- 
tained by the city of Boston during recent years, as a 
mercantile and manufacturing centre, is largely due to the energy 
and intelligent enterprise of the men wlio conduct our representa- 
tive houses in every branch of trade, while on every hand is seen 
the coloss.al results of their ability and perseverance. In this con- 
nection it is a pleasure to record the char.acter and career ot a 
thoroughly representative Boston concern, and one which in its 
particular line has distanced all competitors, and won the proud 
position of leader of the trade. We refer to the house of Messrs. 
C. H. McKenney & Co., manufacturers of gas fi.xtures, electroliers, 
fine lamps and fire place goods, at Nos. &34 and 636 Washington 
Street. This house was originally established in W!n, by Messrs. 
C. H. McKenney and C. H. McKenney, Jr., and from a modest 
beginning the operations of the firm steadily grew, until it had 
won in a few short years a national reput<ation for the artistic and 
superior excellence of its productions. The lamented death ot the 
senior partner in March, 1888, left his son as the sole proprietor, 
who now continues this immense business upon the same broad 
basis of energy and enterprise for which it had become so widely 



noted. The f.ictory, located on Beach Street, is admirably ar- 
ranged and e<|uipped in all its departments, while employment is 
furnished in tlie I.actory and workshop to seventy five skilled and 
expert hands. Each department is under the management ot a 
competent head, and the whole is regulated by a system and order 
that facilitates the transaction of business, and assures the 
prompt execution of orders. The splendid show rooms on Wash- 
ington Street, comprising three floors, 25x100 feet e.ach, and two 
floors of an adjoining building, make a magnificent display, and 
are a prominent attraction of;this busy thoroughfare. No other 
house in its line is its equal, while in the qualities of adaptability 
and true art this house possesses facilities in designing and manu- 
facture nowhere else to be found. Artists, both native and for- 
eign, are constantly employed in designing and modelling subjects 
to be produced in both real and iinit.ation bronze, as also in all 
ornamental and elegant styles of gas and electric-light fixtures. 
The immense stock here gathered together torins the best 
exponent of this line of goods ever presented to a discerning pub- 
lic. Business is brisk and lively at all seasons, and the house is an 
important and still growing factor in niaintaining the commercial 
supremacy ot this great metropolis. 

ARTHUR YOUNG & CO., Wholesale and Retail Dealers in 
Masons' Building Materials, Wharf, Albany Street, Corner 
Lehigh Street, Office No 54 Kilby Street.— One of the oldest, 
leading and best known concerns devoted to the handling 
of masons' materials in this city is tliat of Arthur Young & Co., 
(successors to C. Y'oung & Co..) wholesale and retail dealers in 
cement, lime, laths, pl.aster, brick, etc., whose office is located at 
No. 64 Kilby Street, with wharf on .'Albany Street, corner Lehigh 
Street, and which for upward of half a century has maintained a 
prominent position in its line in Boston. This flourishing business 
was established in 1838 by C. Young, who under the style of C. 
Young & Co. conducted the same for many years and was suc- 
ceeded by his sons Arthur and William B.. and under the firm 
n.ime ot Arthur Young & Co. it has since been continued with un- 
interrupted success: the senior partner recently assuming sole 
control. The wharf and premises at corner Albany and Lehigh 
Streets are spacious and well equipped, ample and complete facili- 
ties being at hand, while a very heavy, firstcl.ass stock is con- 
stantly carried including everything in the line of m.isons' build- 
ing supplies— cement, lime, hair, laths, plaster, brick, sand, drain 
pipe, fire brick, etc.. etc. A large |n umber of men are employed, 
while several teams owned by the firm are in steady service sup- 
plying customers. All orders by telephone or otherwise receiving 
prompt attention, and the trade of the firm, which is of a most sub- 
stantial character, extends all over the city and surrounding towns. 
Mr. Arthur Young, who is now the sole proprietor, is a man of entire 
responsibility in his business trans.ictions, .is well as a gentleman 
of energy and thorough experience in this line, and sustains an 
excellent reputation in the building trade. Half a dozen 
schooners or more are employed bringing different materials from 
the various points where they are manufactured. Messrs. Young 
& Co. are large importers of English Portland cement, buying 
direct of the manufacturers in London, England, their principal 
brand being the "Phoenix," which is well known all over the New 
England .States. 

JAMES E.WHITNEY, Importer E.ast India Good, No. 13 
Doane Street.— Mr. James E. Whitney, the widely and favor- 
ably known importer of East India goods, was born in New- 
buryport, and early in life bec.ime connected with Boston's 
leading commercial circles, and here niiide tlie rapid progress due 
to his superior qualifications. Over thirty yearsago he established 
in business upon his own account as direct importer of East 
India products, such as hides, skins, indigo, cutch and other dye- 
stuffs, saltpetre, etc., and early developed important relations 
throughout the United States. He has ever sustained an enviable 
reputation for his methods and the superior quality of his goods, 
which are directly imported from the most famous Calcutta and 
other houses, and are in staple demand as the best in the market, 
and concerning whose prices substantial inducements are manifest. 
Mr. Whitney always has a he.avy stock in the luiblic stores, and is 
prepared to promptly fill the largest orders from dealers, manu- 
facturers, mills, etc. 



150 



ILLUSTRATED BOSTON. 



BAY STATE MANITFACTUKING COMPANY. Egg Beaters, 
Etc., No. 30 Hanover Street.— The Bay State Manufacturing 
Company possesses a national reputation and widespread 
foreign connections as manufacturers of and dealers in 
wire, metal and glass specialties and novelties. Tlie business was 
originally established in 1880, by Mr. H. H. Rogers, who was suc- 
ceeded by Mr. S. H. Dillingliam in 1887, under the present title. 
The manufacturing department is equipped with ample steam 
power and every modern convenience. Among the leading speci- 
alties here manufactured is the Dexter egg beater, which is an ex- 
act fac-siinile of the Dover, the patent upon which expired May 
31st, 1887. For seventeen years past it has been considered by tlie 
trade all over the world as the best ever made. The peculiar 
inter-shearing action of the cutting blades makes it the most ef- 
fective and perfect egg beater, and probably its superior will never 
be invented. The Bay State egg beater, another specialty, has 
been the best seller in the past and will continue to be. It has 
been greatly improved by a new patent handle, formed flat on top 
and curved to tit the thumb and fingers. No egg beater has ever 
before been made with a reasonable handle, and shaped so that a 
lady can hold it firmly while turning tlie gear wheel. The Boston 
egg beater is like the Bay State, except in the cutting device. All 
the beaters made by this comjiany can be tipped at any angle on 
the spindle rest, wliiie the Dover strikes and stops if not held 
straight. The leading features in these beaters are covered by 
patents and patents applied for, while no otlier beaters are in- 
fringed by them. This company have dropped their prices to meet 
the low figures caused by recent infringements of some egg beat- 
ers. The New England egg beater is a new invention just intro- 
duced by this company. It has the handle and spindle ingeniously 
constructed ,trom one continuous rod of wire, the gear wheel and 
handle cast in one piece, and is altogether the simplest and best 
cheap egg beater ever put upon the market. The Bay State towel 
rack, (patented,) is the most ingenious and taking article recently 
put upon the market. The Bay State clothes rack, the Bay State 
two-liook clothes rack with hat hook, the trl-mountain clothes and 
Jiat rack, and the Bay State coat hanger are all important and 
valuable specialties. Special mention should also be made of the 
Bay State sugars, as being one of the most novel and meritorious 
specialties lately introduced. Every time the sugarbowl is tipped 
it will throw exactly a teaspoonful of sugar. The trade for fancy 
salts, peppers and mustards has been enormous. The electric 
fruit jar, manufactured by this company, is better than the Mason- 
Improved or Porcelain-lined, because the cover has an elastic 
spring lock, and acts equally well under expansion or contraction. 
Locke's automatic pie turner, lifter and fork combined is another 
most useful household article sold by this house. The little coffee 
steeper saves one fourth in amount of coffee used and greatly im- 
proves the quality and flavor. All these specialties, with other 
novelties introduced by this company, have a large and increas- 
ing sale not only in all parts of the United States, but throughout 
the West Indies, England, Germany, Australia, South America and 
other foreign countries. Mr. Dillingham is a native of Everett, 
Mass., and well known by the trade every where as an enter- 
prising, progressive and successful manufacturer. 

OH. ATESHIAN & CO., Direct Importers of Turkish and 
Persian Goods, Fine Carpets, Rugs and Portiers, Etc., No. 
, 68 Boylston Street.— One of the most attractive among 
tlie handsome stores for whicli Boston is noted, is that of 
O. H. Ateshian & Co., direct importers of Turkish and Persian 
goods. The business was established in 1886 at No. 44 Boylston 
Street, and two years later was removed to the eligible premises 
DOW occupied at No. 68 on that thoroughfare, which consist of a 
store 25x72 feet in dimensions, and a portion of the second floor, 
and a spacious basement. Throughout the establishment presents 
a novel and striking appearance, the richness and elegance of the 
goods at once attracting attention. The assortment is as inter- 
esting as it is unique and embraces fine Turkish and Persian car- 
pets and rugs and portiere, and art fabrics of every description, and 
also fancy goods, choice embroideries for draperies and interior 
decorations of both antique and modern designs and also a great 
variety of oriental costumes wliich are a specialty, and displayed 
in great profusion in silk and other fabrics. This firm is one of the 
largest importers of oriental goods in the country and exhibit 



many rare beautiful specimens of fancy articles and fabrics to be 
found in no other establishment. Of course a large business is 
carried on, tlie patrons including tlie best class of cultured and re- 
fined citizens. Mr. Ateshian. the head of the establishment, is a 
native of Constantinople, Turkey, and came here in 1882, and after 
a four years' course in Amherst, and Boston University, graduated 
with distinguished honors. He spends his snniineis in tlie Orient 
and visits both Turkey and Persia, where he makes his own selec- 
tions and is constantly receiving fresh invoices of beautiful goods, 
direct from those places and he and his three assistants will be 
found courteous and pleasant and take pleasure in displaying the 
various art fabrics and all the various oriental goods that have 
been brought together by the firm from those far off countries. 

SHILLINGS, WHITNEYS & B.^^RNES LUMBER COMPANY. 
David Wliitney, Jr., President; Henry L. Tibbetts, Treasurer. 
Eastern Office, No. 5 Kilby Street.— The representative and 
most enterprising house in the city of Boston in the lumber 
trade is that known as the Skillings, Whitneys& Barnes Lumber 
Company. This extensive business was originally established in 
1857 by Messrs. Chas. Whitney, D. N. Skillings, L. Barnes, and D. 
Whitney, Jr., as C. & D. Whitney, Jr., of Ogdensburg, N. V., and 
Lowell, Mass.; S. N. Skillings & Co., of Boston; and L. Barnes & 
Co., of Burlington, Vt. In 1878, these firms were consolidated, and 
the business was duly incorporated with a paid uu capital of $250,- 
000. The present offlcers of the company are David Whitney, Jr., 
president ; Henry L. Tibbetts, treasurer ; W. L. Proctor, Ogdens- 
burg manager; D. W. Robinson, Burlington manager. Mr. D. N. 
Skillings died in 1880, Mr. L. Barnes in 1884, and Mr. Chas. Whitney 
in 1887. The company ;have extensive steam planing mills at Og- 
densburg, N. Y'., and Burlington, Vt., where several hundred work- 
men are employed. A specialty is made of dressed and rough pine 
lumber, of which the company handle immense quantities, its trade 
extending not only throughout all sections of the Middle and Naw 
England States, but also to the West Indies, Mexico, Central and 
South America, Europe, Africa and Australia. The company have 
their own vessels on the lakes, and export to foreign parts from Bos- 
ton and New York. Their facilities and resources are such that the 
largest orders are promptly and carefully filled at the lowest rul- 
ing market prices, an advantage that the trade is quick to appre- 
ciate. Mr. David Whitney, Jr., the president, is a resident of De- 
troit, Mich. He is largely interested in banking, timber lands, etc., 
and has three large saw mills in Michigan. Mr. Henry L. Tibbetts, 
the treasurer, manages the Boston business. We would observe in 
conclusion, that the affairs of the Skillings, Whitneys & Barnes 
Lumber Company are placed in able and honorable hands, and it 
worthily maintains a prominent position in this important and val- 
uable industry, reflecting tlie greatest credit on all concerned. 

D WIGHT BRAJIAN & CO., Bankers and Brokers, No. 82 
Devonshire Street, Corner Water Street.— As a great in- 
vestment and speculative centre, Boston stands second only 
to New York, and has of recent years become one of the most 
active markets in the United States for sound desirable securities. 
Among the most active and enterprising firms of bankers and brok- 
ers in Boston and New England, is that of Messrs. Dwight Braman 
&Co., of No. 82 Devonshire Street. Mr. Braman is a native or Bos- 
ton, and though a young man, is old-experienced in banking and 
the stock market, and very widely and favorably known throughout 
New York and New England financial circles. He started in busi- 
ness upon his own account in 1879, and has been an active and per- 
manent membfer of the Boston Stock Exchange ever since that 
date. He has most desirable connections, and has correspondents 
on the New Y'ork, Pliihadelphia and Chicago Stock Exchanges. He 
transacts a general business in receiving deposits subject to check 
at sight; all securities listed or dealt in on the Boston, New York 
and Philadelphia Exchanges. Desirable investment securities are 
a specialty, and he offers stocks and bonds that pay a very hand- 
some and steady income at prices quoted. He numbers among his 
customers leading capitalists and operators of Boston and New 
England, and offers every Lacility, fullest .and latest information, 
prompt filling of all orders, and an honorable, equitable policy. 
He is a conservative and responsible member of financial circles, 
universally popular on 'Ch.ange, and is a worthy exponent of 
sound methods and able financial policy. 



THE METROPOLIS OF NEW ENGLAND. 



151 



GEO. D. OTIS & CO., Bonded Truckmen and General For- 
warders, No. 173 State Street. Stands: Nos. 61 Chatham 
Street. 35 and 48 Union Street, Boston, and Continental 
Sugar Keflnery, South Boston.— The coinmercLal supremacy 
of Boston is greatly aided by tlie facilities afforded trade by our 
leading truckmen and forwarders, like the firm of Geo. D. Otis & 
Co., wliose main office is at No. 173 State Street, with stands at Nos. 
61 Chatliam and 3.5 and 48 Union Streets, tliis city; and at the Con- 
tinental sugar Refinery, South Boston. This enterprise has been 
in successful operation for a period of tvventy-tliree years, and is 
managed by gentlemen who bring to bear the widest range o£ 
practical experience and whose connections and facilities are un- 
surpassed. Tlie firm are prepared to forward goods and merchan- 
dise to all portions of the globe, and are in a position to conduct 
all transactions under the most favorable conditions, to insure en- 
tire success and .satisfaction to all parties. They transact tlie 
leading business of this kind in the city, and have ever retained 
the confidence of the mercantile community. They give steady 
employment to thirty skilled and experienced hands to meet the 
exigencies of their business, and their patronage is especially 
large and active among leading importers, exporters and jobbers 
in this city, who confidently place in the hands of this firm goods 
of great value daily, relying upon the judgment, care and ability 
of tlie management to guard their interests safely and securely. 
The terms are invariably fair and equitable, and perfect satisfac- 
tion is assured in all cases. Mr. Otis, the active member of the 
firm, is a native of Lowell, iMass., and both as regards business 
ability and true American enterprise his house justly merits the 
splendid reputation and wide popularity which it has permanently 
attained. 

EDWIN M. FOWLE & CO., Foreign Sliipping and Commission 
Merchants, No. 34 India Wliarf.— Boston h,is ever main- 
tained a front position as a centre for the importation 
of foreign commerce, and it is here that are found the 
oldest and most enterprising firms engaged in tlie foreign shipping 
jind commission trade. One of the oldest established concerns of 
tlie kind is that of Messrs. Edwin M. Fowle & Company, of No. 34 
India Wharf. The history of this house dates back nearly a third 
of a century, the business having been founded under its present 
style In 1856 by Mr. Edwin M. Fowler, the present proprietor, who 
is one of the best known and most esteemed merctiants doing 
business at this port. Mr. Fowle was born at Jamaica Plains, 
Mass., fifty-seven years ago, and for the past thirty years has 
resided at Newton. Since 1875 he has been the consul at this port 
for San Domingo, an office which he has filled with great credit. 
Mr. Fowle occupies commodious premises that are in every way 
admirably adapted for the successful carrying on of his important 
.and extensive business, which consists of the importation of dye 
woods, sugar, coffee, and merchandise of every descrii>tion, and of 
the exportation of lumber, flour, ice, provisions and goods of all 
Tcinds. Mr. Fowle buys and sells products and manufactures of all 
kinds on commission both at home and abroad, and attends to 
shipments to and from domestic and foreign markets. He 
is rejiresented by agents in foreign ports, and has the best of 
facilities for carrying out all orders tlioroughly and satisfactorily. 
He is vigilant and zealous, has his large business systematically 
regulated and is always at the headotaffairs, seeing to the instruc- 
lions of his patrons being carried out to the letter. In his business 
<:areer he has won the respect of the mercantile community, and 
as held in the highest esteem by all. 

JORDAN, LOVETT & CO., Insurance, No. 60 State Street.— 
The development of the insurance interests of the city of 
Boston have been upon a scale of such magnitude, that the 
facilities afforded the community by our leading insurance 
brokers are of an exceptionally favorable character, both as re- 
gards low rates of premium, enormous combination of resources 
and absolute security for all risks taken. In this connection we 
desire to make suitable reference in this commercial review to 
the time-honored and responsible firm of Messrs. Jordan, Lovett & 
Company. This business was established in 1849 by W. H. S. Jor- 
dan and A. Lovett, fathers of the present members of the firm. 
They conducted the business till 1867 when they were succeeded by 
the present firm, the copartners being Messrs. L. S. Jordan and A. 



S. Lovett. They promptly effect insurance upon hotels, manufact- 
ories, mills, etc., carefully renew policies in proper season, and 
generally relieve the business community of all care and trouble in 
this important respect, while the rates ipioted by them are always 
as low as those of any other first-class house in the insurance busi- 
ness. The firm are Boston agents of the Greenwich Fire Ins. Co., of 
New York; Detroit Fire & Marine Ins. Co., of Detroit; Citizens Ins. 
Co., Cincinnati, Ohio; Fidelity Fire & Marine Ins., Co. Cincinnati, 
Ohio; and district agents of the Sun Fire Office, of England; Queen 
Ins. Co., of England ; Plienix Ins. Co., of New York; Massachusetts 
Mutual Ins. Co., of Boston ; Ins. Co., of North America, Phila. ; Penn- 
sylvania Fire Ins. Co., Phila., and others. Messrs. Jordan & Lovett 
are both natives of Boston, and her firm will always be fmind one of 
the best in the city, through which to advantageously obtain in- 
surance policies of every description, and with the least possible 
trouble or annoyance on the part of the insured. 

CHARLES L. DAVENPORT, Chelsea Salt Company, Salt of all 
Kinds, No. 170 State and No. 2 Commercial Streets.— A lead- 
ing house engaged in the wliolesale salt trade in Boston is 
that of Mr. Charles L. Davenport, located at Nos. 170 State 
Street and 2 Commercial Street. This house was originally estab- 
lished by the Chelsea Salt Company, who were succeeded by the 
present proprietor in 1874. The premises occupied for the business, 
consist of an office and salesroom on State Street, large storehouses 
at Caswell's and Mystic Wharf in Charlestown, and unsurpassed 
facilities are at hand for conducting the business upon the largest 
scale. Mr. Davenport has a wide reputation as an extensive im- 
porter and wliolesale dealer in salt of all kinds, and as the agent 
for Higgins' Eureka Fine Salt, supplying the trade In boxes, bags 
and by the ship load. His Caswell's wharf storehouses are con- 
nected by rail with all the railroads running out of Boston, thus 
enabling him to ship to all parts of the country without the expense 
of cartage. Tlie connections of the house with salt manufacturers 
of the highest repute places it in a position to command every fav- 
orable opportunity of the market and to offer inducements to the 
trade in quality and prices of goods which challenge comparison 
and defy successful competition. The business is broadly distrib- 
uted throughout the New England States, and is annually increas- 
ing in volume and importance under enterprising and reliable 
management. Mr. Davenport is a native and prominent citizen of 
Maiden, Mass., and is well and favorably known in this city as a 
merchant of rare business tact and ability, possessing a founda- 
tion understanding of all tlie requirements of his trade, and emi- 
nently popular and successful in meeting all its demands. 

PLUMER & CO., Commission Merchants in Flour, Grain and 
Hay, No. 173 State Street.— There is probably no single 
agency that has wielded a more healthful influence in favor, 
of the commercial advancement of Boston than the flour 
and grain trade, while the enterprise and activity of the houses 
engaged therein have been largely instrumental in securing an 
area of demand eo-exteusive with the limits of the country. 
Messrs. Pluiner & Co., at No. 173 State Street, operate one of the 
most prominent commission liouses for the sale of flour, grain 
and hay in the city, prosecuting a business of heavy proportions, 
and maintaining a most valuable reputation for adherence to the 
strictest principles of mercantile integrity in all transactions. 
The business was founded in 1.8.38 by Mr. Avery Flumer. His 
son, Charles A. Plumer, came into the concern in 1868, and 
formed the present firm in connection with Mr. Wm. L. Leavitt 
in May, 1887. The firm occupy two commodious offices at the 
above address, and carry a very large and valuable stock of 
the commodities dealt in at suitable warehouses on the line of the 
different railways centering in this city. This stock is uniformly 
superior in quality and is obtained from the most reliable sources 
of production. Thus orders of any magnitude are readily filled, 
and, owing to the excellent arrangements that tlie firm has effected 
with railroads, shipments are made to the remotest points at the 
lowest rates of freight. Messrs. Plumer &Co. offer unsurpassed 
advantages to producers, shippers and others, and consignments 
are disposed of without delay at the highest current prices. Re- 
mittances are made with promptitude and satisfaction. The co- 
partners are both natives of Massachusetts, of wide acquaintance 
and influential connections throughout New England. 



152 



ILLUSTRATED BOSTON. 



RR. HIGGINS & CO., Wholesale Dealers and Planters of 
Oysters, No. 35 Howard Street and Nos. 142 and 144 At- 
^ lantic Avenue.— Kepresentative In the wholesale oyster 
trade of New England is the widely and favorably known 
firm of Messrs. R. R. Higgins & Co., of No. 35 Howard .Street and 
Nos. 142 and 144 Atlantic Avenue. The public of New England and 
the provinces are great consumers of oysters and otiier shell fish, 
but their tastes are refined and their requirements exacting, and 
only the choicest growths find an extended market here. Realiz- 
ing tills fiict, Messrs. R. R. Higgins & Co. and their predecessors 
have ever devoted their attention solely to the best grades of Nor- 
folk ivnd Chesapeake, Providence River and native oysters, also 
clams, quahaugs, little necks and lobsters. This extensive busi- 
ness was founded in 1828 by the late Mr. John S. Higgins, a mer- 
chant of marked enterprise and energy, and who was the pioneer 
in opening up to Boston and New England this highly important 
branch of tr.ade. He developed it to proportions of great magni- 
tude, and upon his lamented decease, in 1866, he was succeeded 
by his sons, Messrs. R. R. and John S. Higgins, both of them 
thoroughly experienced in the business, they having been 
bronglit up in it from boyhood. Extending their connections, de- 
veloping their facilities, and giving their personal .attention to 
the filling of .all orders, the firm kept steadily enlarging their bus- 
iness until in 1S80 the untimely decease of Mr. John S. Higgins oc- 
curred. Mr. R. R. Higgins continued the business upon his own 
account until in 1887 he admitted into copartnership his nephew, 
Mr. Alfred S. Higgins, under the existing name .and style. The 
firm supply oysters in bulk, and at wholesale and retail, covering 
a territory of vast extent, including all New England, Northern 
New York, Quebec, etc. Their Boston trade is of the greatest 
magnitude, including leading dealers .and large consumers, such 
as oyster houses, restaurants, hotels, etc. They have largely in- 
creased their facilities, and have a large packing house in Nor- 
folk, Va., where they employ fully 125 hands, and open on an aver- 
age each season, 150,000 gallons. To supply that house they charter 
eight boats, each with a capacity of over 1,000 bushels. They thus 
are the leading New England honse engaged in the Chesapeake 
oyster trade ; they have another packing house at Drownville, R. 
I., where they pack the choice fancy oysters grown on their own 
beds in the Providence River, while at Nos. 142 and 144 Atlantic 
Avenue, this city, is their local packing house, and whence native 
oysters can be had in the shell, likewise the choicest hard and 
soft chams, little necks, and lobsters. The shipping office is at No. 
35 Howard Street. The firm ever maintains an enviable reputation 
lor dealing in the best qualities of stock, solid measure, .and the 
lowe.<!t market rates; their unflagging energy and enterprise have 
secured to Boston a highly beneficial branch of wholesale trade, 
and the partners are worthy of the substantial success attending 
their ably directed efforts. 

WOODBURY, SHAW & CO., Wlioles.ale and Commission 
Dealers in Lobsters, Oysters and Fish, Nos. 53 and 54 
Connnercial Wharf.— Recognized leaders in the lobster, 
oyster and fish trade of the city of Boston are Wood- 
bury, Shaw & Co., whose office and salesrooms are located at Nos. 
53 and 54 Commercial Wharf. This business was originally estab- 
lished by L. Ricliardson, who was succeeded by G. L. Young. In 
1888 Woodbury, Shaw & Co. became proprietors. The premises 
occupied comprise a very commodious five-story and basement 
building !5x60 feet in dimensions, fully supplied with every appli- 
ance and facility for the accommodation and presentation of the 
extensive stock. Woodbury, Shaw & Co. de.al only in the clioicest 
lobsters, oysters and fish, and guarantee the prompt and perfect 
fulfillment of all orders at the lowest market prices. They make a 
specialty of lobsters, and their trade now extends throughout all 
sections of New England and New York. They are also commis- 
sion merchants in all kinds of country produce, and consignments 
are solicited, and quick returns are guaranteed at the best market 
prices. Their resources are ample and their facilities for securing 
supplies are of a perfect character, while the substantial induce- 
ments they offer the trade are with difficulty duplicated else- 
where. Mr. Woodbury is a native of Vermont, but has resided in 
Chelsea for the last forty years. He is in the prime of life, and of 
excellent reputiition and standing in the social and business cir- 
cles of the eity. Tlie telejjhone call of the house is No. 2170. 



BOSTON CONSOLIDATED PRODUCE COMPANY, General 
Commission; C. H. Kimball, President; Gardner Chapin, 
Treasurer; No. 97 South MarketStreet.— This representative 
and progressive company was duly incorporated under the 
laws of Maine in 1887 with a capital of $400,000. The company has 
ten store houses at Aroostook, Maine, a large warehouse at Fitch- 
bury, besides .an extensive capacity in Commerchal Wharf and six 
branch stores in Boston. The following are the branch stores and 
the names of the firms that are managing them: Chas. Kimball & 
Co., corner Atlantic Avenue and Clinton Sti'eet; Chapin Brotliers, 
No. 97 South Market Street; Clark Bros. & Co., No. 112 Clinton 
Street; McKeever & H.all, Nos. 23, 25 and 27 Richnmnd Street; J. 
P. Brown & Co., No. 135 Atlantic Avenue ; T. P. Blake, Eastern 
R,ailroad. The company deals extensively in potatoes, eggs, beans, 
apples, onions, turnips, poultry, game, fish, sweet potatoes, Flor- 
ida oranges, watermelons, berries, and all kinds of southern 
truck. Special attention is given to all consignments by exper- 
ienced s.alesmen, while consignees ate at once notified on the 
arrival of their consignments of tlie same. Liberal advances are 
made on receipt of produce when required, while prompt sales 
and quick returns are guaranteed. The company always fully in- 
sures and stores all produce in frost proof warehouses. A full and 
complete stock is constantly carried in every line, spechal efforts 
being made to secure superior and clioice produce and to offer 
only such goods as are fresh and wholesome. The officers of the 
company are C. Henry Kimball, president, and Gardner Chapin, 
treasurer, both of whom are highly esteemed in trade cii'Cles for 
their executive ability, energy and integrity. The Boston Consoli- 
dated Produce Company refers by permission as to its commercial 
standing and reliability to the Bunker Hill National Bank, Boston^ 
Fourth National Bank, Boston, Bradstreets' Commercial Agency 
and Russell's Commercial Agency. 

GEORGE H. DICKERMAN & CO., Manufacturers of Paper 
Boxes, Nos. 32, 34 and .36 Green Street.— This concern is one 
of the oldest established, having been founded by Mr. Dick- 
erman in 1855. He early achieved an envi.able reputation 
by being tlie first to introduce to the trade in general the use of 
the paper box and for the superior character of workmanship, and 
uniform excellence of materials, and the growing demands of the 
trade taxed his facilities to the utmost, necessitating repeated 
enlargements. In 1875, Mr. Joseph L. Becknell was admitted into 
copartnership under the existing name and style. The firm occupy 
a very spacious brick six-story building on Green Street, 70x80 feet 
in dimensions. It is equipped throughout with the latest improved 
machinery and appliances run by steam power from an engine on 
the premises. Upwards of 250 hands find employment in the 
manufacture of paper boxes of every description, from the lightest 
.and tiuiest for confectioners and bonbons up to the heaviest for 
stationers, dry goods and furnishing goods. The trade done is al- 
most wholly wholesale on heavy contract orders from leading 
merchants and manufacturers, not only of Boston, but from all 
over New England. Anything in the shape of a paper box 
will be made here strictly to specification and .at lowest rates in. 
quantities to suit. Neatness, elegance of finisli, strength of mater- 
ials and lowest prices cominensur.ate with good work, characterize- 
all of Messrs. Dickerman & Co's. transactions. They are both na- 
tives of Norfolk County, Mass., and are honorable and respected 
businessmen. 

CURTIS & MOTLEY, Stock and Bond Brokers. Office: No. 62 
State Street.— Among the active and enterprising firms of 
stock and bond brokers in Boston is that of Messrs. Curtis 
& Motley. The copartnership was formed three years ago 
by Mr. Allen Curtis and Mr. E. P. Motley. The firm is represented 
on tlie Boston Stock Exch,ange by Mr. Motley. The earliest infor- 
mation is secured for their customers, and all orders are promptly 
filled both here and through the firm's correspondents in New- 
York. They transact a general stock and bond brokerage 
business, buying and selling strictly on commission, for cash or 
on margin, all securities listed on either Exciiange, also miscella- 
neous unlisted stocks, bonds, and mining sliares. Their wide- 
spre;id relations and energetic, prompt, business like manage- 
ment, m.aking their customers' interest paramount, are securing 
to them a very large and growing patronage. 



THE METROPOLIS OF NEW ENGLAND. 



15S 



He. LITCHFIELD i CO., Manufacturers, Iniporteis and 
Dealers in Fine Fisliing Tackle, No. 302 Wasliington 
^ Street.— Altliougli a comparatively young firm, as such, 
H. C. Litchfield & Co., manufacturers, importers and 
de.ilers in fine fishing tackle, cutlery, skates and dog collars. No. 
302 Washington Street, (tliird door north of old South church) 
have already establislied a business second to few engaged in this 
line in Boston, while their patronage grows apace. The secret of 
this firm's prosperity is not difficult to discover, either. Making 
and handling a very superior class of goods, prompt and thor- 
oughly reliable in their dealings, and being withal fully conver- 
sant with tlie business, the result could scarcely have been other 
than the well merited success they have attained. The premises 




occupied as salesrooms aro compact, neat, conveniently located 
and well lighted on the second floor, while an efficient assistant 
is in attendance also. A large and first-class assortment of every- 
thing in the line of fine imported and American fishing tackle, 
cutlery, etc., is constantly kept on hand, and the trade of the 
firm, is quite extensive ; all orders by mail or otherwise receiving 
immediate attention. Mr. Litchfield, who is the sole member, is 
a gentleman of middle age, and a native of Maine and has been 
m this line of business in Boston for twenty years. He is a man 
of energy, reliability and ample experience in this line having 
formerly been a member of the firm of Appleton & Litchfield 
from 1883 to November, 1887, wlien be established this thriving 
business, and prior to that had been for some years with another 
firm in same line. 

J P. SNOW, Railroad Lands, No. 7 Exchange Place.— At the 
present day no financial interest is of such paramount im- 
^ portance as tliat involved in real estate. Investments in 
real estate under the guidance of the sound judgment of 
an expert are sure to prove renumerative, as Imndreds of persons 
who have become possessed of realty in Florida and other states 
for small sums of money have in a few years in consequence of in- 
creased values realized a competency. In this connection, special 
reference is made in this commercial review of Boston to Mr. J. P. 
Snow, No. 7 Exchange Place, dealer in railroad lands for colonies 
or investor in large or small tracts. Mr. Snow has been engaged in 
the land business for the last quarter of a century, and has obtained 
an excellent reputation with patrons for his honorable methods 
and correct estimates of the values of all descriptions of country 
and city lands. He h.as now on his books 250,000 acres in twenty 
counties in Florida, and 3,000,000 acres in Mexico on the border below 
Brownsville, Texas— which are offered in suitable lots to investors 
and others at nominal prices. He is agent in Boston for the Mexi- 
can Development Company, Diston Land Company of Florida, 
Florida Land Company, of Florida, Florida Land and Improve- 
ment Company, Florida Railway and Navigation Company, etc. 
Mr. Snow also represents the Mallory Line of Steamers to Florida 
or Texas, and furnishes railroad tickets at special rates to any 
part of the south or west. He took the first colony to Nebraska in 
18.%, and also is noted as having been the importer of the first steel 
pen to the United States from Europe. Mr. Snow is a native of 
Williamsburg, Mass., but has resided in Boston for the last fifteen 
years, where he is highly regarded by tlie community for his 
energy, enterprise and integrity. Persons wanting a home among 
the orange groves of Florida can secure a block of ten acres from 
Mr. Snow near a railroad for 8100, payable either ten dollars a 
month or one dollar a week till paid without interest. 



WILLIAM RALPH EMERSON, Architect, No. 85 Water 
Street.— With the vast increase of population, refine- 
ment and wealth in the principal centres of tlie United 
States, has arisen a growing demand tor the blending of 
the artistic and the beautiful with the utilitarian in modern archi- 
tecture. The result has been extremely gratifying to the advo- 
cates of progress in this most vitally important profession. 
Among those who have acquired a national reputation for his great 
skill and artistic conceptions as an arcliitect is Mr. William Ralph 
Emerson, whose surname is becoming in architecture a reminder 
of Ralph Waldo Emerson's name in literature and philosophy. Mr. 
W. R. Emerson was born at Alton, 111., and early in life settled in 
Boston, where he acquired a thorough practical as well as theoret- 
ical knowledge of the science of architecture. In 1863 he became 
copartner witli Mr. Jon.ithan Preston, and in 1871 continued alone 
the practice of his profession. The steady increase of his commis- 
sions and widening field of effort resulted in March, '1888, in his re- 
moving to his present commodious offices in Water Street, where he 
enjoys every lacility for draughting, designing, making computa- 
tions, etc. Mr. Emerson's designs have become deservedly cele- 
brated, his fame rests on a long and successful career, engaged 
largely in supervising the erection of the most advanced classes of 
public and private buildings, among which are churches and villas, 
cottages and mansions at such fashionable centres as Newport, - 
Bar Harbor and such great metropolitan centres as Boston, Phila- 
delphia, Chicago and various large cities. It is needless to 
particularize in regard to the work of such a nationally famous 
architect as Mr. Emerson, but we might mention among his crea- 
tions in this city the beautiful building of the Boston Art Club; 
several of the handsomest city scliool buildings and while a very 
young man assisted in tlie making of the plans of the old Bos- 
ton Theatre, etc., Mr. Emerson attends faithfully to details; his 
plans are well digested and studied and his architectural efforts 
greatly tended to beautify the urban characteristics of the United 
States. Mr. Emerson is a member of the Boston Association of 
Architects and is held in the highest estimation in .social and 
professional circles for his honorable, able metliods. He is fully 
prepared with all the necessary facilities to design and supervise 
the erection of any building not only promptly, but %vith that Intel 
ligent apprehension of design which has ever caused his efforts to 
be so highly appreciated. 

THE CIGARMAKERS' COOPERATIVE ASSOCIATION, Sales- 
roem and Factory, No. 376 Atl.antic Avenue.— A recently 
organized enterprise, is tlie Cigarmakers' Co-operative As- 
sociation, and from its methods, able guidance and supe- 
riority of product is worthy of the patronage and support of all 
who appreciate pluck, integrity and tlie honest efforts of an asso- 
ciation of skilled workmen to produce the finest grade of hand- 
made cigars now in market. Tlie Cigarmakers' Co-operative Asso- 
ciation was duly organized and Incorporated under the laws of the- 
state, with a capital of $15,000, in the spring of 1888. The stock 
was promptly taken by about twenty-five of the most skillful and 
widely known cigarmakers of New England, and the association: 
has already developed a large and growing trade, under the enter- 
prising and skilled management of Mr.W. H. Batchelor, an old and 
experienced cigarmaker. Tlie association occupies two floors at 
No. 376 Atlantic Avenue, wliere from forty to fifty hands are em- 
ployed in tlie manufacture of the choicest grades of 5c. and 10c> 
goods. The association is sole proprietor of the C. C. A. brand, 
now the leading 10c. cigar on tlie market, and wliich is most care- 
fully made from choicest growths of Connecticut, Havana and Su- 
matra tobaccos. For delicacy of flavor, true fragrance, perfect 
workmansliip and select leaf, this cigar is rapidly distancing all 
competition. Their Co-operative No. 25, is an equally popular and 
reliable 5c. brand and cannot be duplicated elsewhere. The as.so- 
ciatlon is building up its trade on the basis of fine hand-made 
goods only, and is a worthy representative of honorable methods- 
and skilled workmanship. We cannot too strongly recommend ho- 
tels, restaurants and the trade generally to sample these splendid 
cigars, which give such universal satisfaction and will be found to- 
sell quickly, hold customers and give a good profit to the retailer. 
This association is a step in the right direction ; its members seek 
for themselves the benefits of producing the finest goods, and are 
worthy of confidence and support. 














T^ 




~_^-^ 






Bi III tmm 


■^ 


















. 




;^*^ 




"_" ""' " 


— in 




^' 




:s:aL.«B 




^aa 




- 




-^■"" 




■— 




^■BK 






^^ 


- 










,1 


_^j...^=LL. _ " """ 


Man 








- 




- 








JO^MM 




■^ 




^MonKi 




■" ■■" 


"'' ■ ' 


■~ 


W5M 


■f""^ ^ 


_.!' 






1 1 11 1 ■ 












-'^■■■M. .'JUlMBfe. 


— --> 


' - hekm- 



^jaarmmmnmBi- 




i 



T 



"rLnUVAC^afeTTSC T- 151; 'laH'- • ■.^■Lrr^ ^ 'Z'^^-^ - ^jr ! i..iinj^ i'.fn. : .-iJtw r ..:i:. -r-n-- --z ^iU.t " " ! li^ 






fr 



_i;2!,Cu.a. 



156 



ILLUSTRATED BOSTON. 



R A. PATTERSON & CO., Tobacco Manufacturers, Richmond, 
Va., P.H.Duke,Manager,Boston Offlee : No. 4 Central Wharf. 
J —One of the largest and leading tobacco manufactories 
of the United States is that of Messrs. K. A. Patterson & 
Co., of Richmond, Va. As the natural homeof the finest bright leaf 
tobaccos in the world, Virginia is especially favored as a region to 
engage in the manufacture of tobaccos for the markets of the 
country at large. It was in Richmond with its direct water com- 
munications to New England and rail connections with all parts of 
the United States, that in 1856, Messrs. E. A. Patterson & Co., be- 
gan to manufacture, and with marked success. No house has 
since the war, developed such a permanently large and flourishing 
trade north and east as they, and in response to the growing de- 
mand from New England they in 1882 opened a branch house;in this 
city, with Mr. P. H. Duke as manager. The results have fully 
warranted this new departure, as Mr. Duke has developed a trade 
of great and growing magnitude all over New England. The Arm 
are manufacturers of full lines and numerous styles of plug and 
twist chewing and smoking tobaccos. All these are carried in the 
heavy stock in Mr. Duke's salesrooms. No. 4 Central Wharf.and the 
trade is here offered substantial inducements both as to price and 
quality. In fact the Patterson brands are pronounced by experts 
to be the best in this market, and that they are ready sellers is 
shown by the large increase of orders received. Amongthe popular 
brands is the " Lucky Strike," the most famous and popular smok- 
ing tobacco in the market. It has received well merited testimo- 
nials from all over the United States and is a choice combination 
of the selected growths of finest Virginia and other tobaccos. Its 
fragrance and uniform high standard of excellence specially com- 
mends this brand to the trade. The firm of Messrs. R. A. Patterson 
& Co., is composed of Mr. R. A. Patterson, his son, Mr. R. F. Pat- 
terson, and Mr. T. M. Rutherford, all gentlemen of ability and ex- 
perience, of sterling integrity and personal worth and whose fac- 
tory, one of the most complete in the United States, and affords 
steady employment to upwards of 600 hands. Mr. Duke is a native 
of Richmond, Va., and is possessed of a thorough practical knowl- 
edge of the tobacco trade. He is a pusliing and able business man, 
universally popular and respected, and is a worthy representative 
of this great staple branch of trade. 

MANNING & BROTHER, Isinglass, Illuminating and Lubri- 
cating Oils, No. 10,1 Fulton Street. — Thirty odd years of 
unbroken prosperity sums up in brief the history of the 
widely known firm of Manning & Brother, dealers in isin- 
glass and oils. No. 105 Fulton Street. This thriving business was 
established in 1858 by Messrs. Charles B. and William H. Manning, 
and under the same style it has since been conducted with unin- 
terrupted success, although one of the members, (William) was re- 
moved by death some five years ago. The business premises at 
No. 105 Fulton Street, occupy a commodious store and cellar, while 
three in help are employed. The firm handles the entire product 
of C. Norwood & Son's isinglass factory, Ipswich, Mass., (the oldest 
concern of the kind in the United States) and sell the same in New 
York, Mr. Manning & Bro., being general selling agents. They 
al.so deal quite largely in illuminating and lubricating oils, the 
leading specialty, however, being isinglass, and altogether, they 
do a large and active business; the trade in isingla.ss extending 
throughout the entire country, and in oils all over the New Eng- 
land States. Mr. Chas. B. Manning, who is a gentleman in the 
prime of life, active, energetic and devoted to his business, was 
born at Waldboro, Maine, but has been a respected resident of this 
city many years, and is well and favorably known in commercial 
life. 

LENNON & COMPANY, Brass Founders and Finishers, Deal- 
ers in Plumbing Materials, No. 292 Washington Street.— 
Messrs. Lennon & Co. have a deservedly high reputation as 
brass founders and finishers, and as extensive dealers in 
plumbing materi.als, giving particular attention to jobbing mi 
plumbers' brass work in or out of town. The foundation of the 
business was laid in 1860 by Messrs. Curley and Lennon, and in 1876 
Messrs. M. T. F. O'Donnell and John .J. Murphy purchased the 
same and the business has since been continued under the present 
firm name. The business premises comprise two floors, 2-5x100 feet 
each, fitted up in the most approved style with new and improved 



machinery, operated by steam power, and furnishing steady em- 
ployment to ten skilled workmen. The supplies here manufact- 
ured are highly esteemed by the trade everywhere for their super- 
ior quality, thorough durability .and uniform excellence and wher- 
ever introduced and used they practically supplant all rival pro- 
ductions. Inducements are also offered, as regards reliability of 
goods and liberality of terms and prices, which are rarely dupli- 
cated by rival concerns. The copartners are both Boston men, 
born and bred, and experienced and accomplished masters of their, 
trade. Mr. Murphy is the first assistant assessor of Boston and 
has served his fellow citizens as a member of the State Legisla- 
ture, as City Councilman, and of various other positions of honor 
and trust. 

SAMUEL I. COY, Proprietor of Restaurant, Nos. 243, 245 and 
247 Atlantic Avenue.— The multiplication of shipping inter- 
ests, offices, wareliouses, etc., in the neighborhood of Atlan- 
tic Avenue has been the means of creating a great demand 
for all kinds of accommodations and facilities for those whose 
business relations lie in that part of the city. The spacious and 
elegantly appointed restaurant of Mr. Samuel I. Coy may be re- 
ferred to ;n Illustration of what is meant. This establislynent has 
long ranked as one of the best conducted and most popular dining 
places in this section of the city. The restaurant is very eligibly 
and conveniently located at Nos. 243, 245 and 247 Atlantic Avenue, 
and was originally opened some fifteen years ago under the style 
of Brock & Coy, who dissolved their partnership in 1881, when Mr. 
Coy took sole control of the business. That he is an accomplished 
caterer goes without saying, for tlie extensive patronage he en- 
Joys is a standing permanent proof of that fact. The dining-hall 
has a seating capacity for two hundred and fifty guests, and i» 
open for the supply of meals from three o'clock in the morning 
until eight o'clock in the evening. It is a model of cleanliness and 
order, and so systematized is the business that it runs with the 
regularity of clockwork. The culinary department is alike highly 
creditable and will bear the most rigid inspection by the most 
fastidious. It is furnished with all necessary appliances, and con- 
veniences, and here finest delicacies are cooked .and prepared in 
the most tempting style to order. The tables are liber.ally pro- 
vided with the finest edibles, and the service is prompt and cour- 
teous, while the charges are of a very reasonable character. 
Forty-five hands are employed in the various departments. Mr. 
Coy was born in Cambridge forty-six years ago, and personally is- 
very courteous and popular. 

HOUGHTON & COLBY, Grain and Feed Commission, No. 102 
State Street.— Its energetic, enterprising and progressive 
business methods have given the grain and feed com- 
mission house of Messrs. Houghton & Colby, at No. H)2 
State Street, a standing in the great thoroughf.ares of trade, rarely- 
excelled by its oldest and best known contemporaries. This firm 
are spechally prominent as selling agents for western grain 
houses, representing large dealers in Chicago, St. Louis, Peoria, 
Columbus, Burlington and established their business here in 1887. 
The copartners, Messrs. Chas. W. Houghton and Benjamin L. 
Colby, are gentlemen of wide acquaintance and large experience, 
thoroughly posted in all the wants and requirements of th& 
trade, and among the most active and efficient commission mer- 
chants and trade representatives of Boston. Messrs. Houghton 
& Colby command all the best opportunities of the market, and 
are enabled to render the most valuable service to such as com- 
mit their interests to their care. Consignments are disposed of 
without delay, the market prices are invariably obtained, and 
remittances are promptly made. The house is responsible in 
every way, and may be relied upon implicitly. Every facility 
and convenience is at hand for the transaction of business, and 
no similar house is more thoroughly prepared to Lake proper 
care of its extensive and growing interests. Its resources are 
ample and abundant, its facilities are complete and perfect, its eon. 
nections are wide-spread and influential, while the substantial in- 
ducements it offers to the trade are r.arely duplicated elsewhere. 
Mr. Houghton is a Western man and received his education in Penn- 
sylvania and Chicago, while Mr. Colby w.asborn in Maine, but re- 
ceived his business training in Boston, and both are prominent, pub- 
lic-spirited and popular business men. 



THE METROPOLIS OF NEW ENGLAND. 



15T 



BOSTON & LOCKPORT BLOCK CO., Sole Manufacturers of 
Self-Lubricating Metaliue Tackle Bloclis, Etc. ; Ambrose S. 
lieverly, President, No. 162 Commercial Street.— Tbe repre- 
sentative and uoted establishment in the United States 
engaged in the manufacture of tackle blocks is that known as the 
Boston & Lockport Block Company, whose offices and warehouses 
are located on Commercial and Fulton Streets, Boston. The com- 
pany's factories are situated in Boston, Mass., and Lockport, N. V. 
and two hundred skilled operatives are employed, and the trade 
of the house now extends not only througliout all sections of the 
United States, but liltewise to Canada, Me.tico, the West Indies, 
Ceutral and South America, Europe, India, Australia and New 
Zealand. The company has a branch at No. 33 South Street, New- 
York, and its principal agents are C. H. Gurney & Co., No. 247 Lake 
Street, Chicigo, and the Broderick & Bascom Rope Co., St. Louis, 
Mo. This business was originally establislied in 1840 by Bagnall & 
Loud, who were succeeded by tlie Bagnall & Loud Block Co. 
Eventually in 1887, it was duly incorporated under the laws of New 
Jersey, including the Bagnall & Loud Block Co., of Boston, and the 
Penfield Block Co., of Lockport, N. Y , with a paid up capital of 
$300,000. The following gentlemen being the officers, viz : Ambrose 




S. Beverly, president; E. O. Loud, vice president; Herbert Loud, 
treasurer; M. H. Tarbox, secretary. Tlie Boston & Lockport Block 
Co. are the sole manufacturers in the United States of self-lubri- 
cating metaliue and improved self-adjusting five- roll roller bushed 
tackle blocks, and star brand. These blocks are absolutely un- 
rivalled for safety, strengtli, utility, reliability and uniform excel- 
lence by those of any other first-class house in America or Europe, 
while tlie prices quoted for them in all cases are extremely moder- 
ate. The company owns thirty-five patents, which have been duly 
registered not only here, but also abroad. Tliey are also tlie sole 
manufacturers of au improved sanitary lead trap called the Mans- 
field Compressed Lead Trap, whicli is the simplest form of a trap 
in the market, and having a four-iiicli water seal absolutely pre- 
vents the escape of sewer gas into the house, and is highly in- 
dorsed by all first-class architects. They also manufacture the 
best differential hoist in America, being simple in form and far 
less liable to get out of order. In conclusion we would observe 
that the affairs of the Boston & Lockport Company are now placed 
in able and skillful hands, and it worthily maintains tlie leading 
position in this valuable and useful industry, reflecting the great- 
est credit on all concerned. 



JL. KENT & CO., Commission Brokers, Stocks, Bonds, Grain, 
Provisions and Oil, No. 14 State Street, Room 6.— Tliere is 
no more important interest to the financial and mercantile 
community than tliat controlled by tlie several stock ex- 
changes of the country. The city of Boston, with its vast interests 
in railroads, steamship lines, produce and oil, daily transacts an 
amount of business rarely equalled in the history of any country. 
A leading firm of commission brokers in tliis city is that of Messrs. 
J. L. Kent & Co., whose spacious office quarters are located at 
Room I), No. 14 State Street, with entrances also at Nos. 194 Wash- 
ington and 29 Devonshire Streets. Tlie facilities possessed by this 
firm for covering every branch of the business are unsurpassed. 
Stocks, bonds, grain, provisions and oil are handled, either for 
cash or on a margin, on commission, orders are made at once and 
transfers executed, together with all business of this nature, as 
readily .is could be done on Wall Street or Broadway. The firm 
give their personal attention to every item of business that passes 
through their office, and the accuracy with which they estimate 
the values of the various securities has given them a distinction 
th.at h.as merited the confidence of an extensive clientage and a 
marked success as brokers and financiers. As all business en- 
trusted to them is dealt with promptly and in a manner which se- 
cures the greatest possible advantage to customers, their office is a 
favorite resort for investors. Quotations are noted by the stock in- 
dicator, and every convenience is afforded that customers can de- 
sire, including private wires connecting with the various ex- 
changes, and a staff of assistants who contribute to the satisfac- 
tory operations of the house. Mr. Kent, the .active member of the 
firm, brings a wide range of practical experience to bear, coupled 
with superier facilities, in the management of the business, and 
has a high standing in business and financial circles. 

WF. ROBINSON & CO., Wholesale Dealers in Beef, Pork, 
Lard, Ham, Etc., Nos. 77 and 79 South Market and 38 
^ Commerce Streets.— The trade in provisions is un- 
doubtedly one of the most important of the industries 
of Boston, and the New England metropolis is well represented in 
this respect by a number of responsible and reliable houses, de- 
voted to this branch of commerce. Prominent among the number 
thus referred to, is that of Messrs. W. F. Robinson & Co., whose 
offices and salesrooms are situated on South Market and Commerce 
Streets. This business was established in 1854 by Mr. W. F. Robin- 
son. In 1856 Mr. Charles H. Robinson became a member, and in 
1873 Mr. L. G. A. Fanteaux w.as admitted into partnership. The 
premises occupied comprise a superior five-story building which is 
fully equipped with every appliance .and facility for the success- 
ful prosecution of tlie business. Messrs. W. F. Robinson & Co. are 
extensive wholesale dealers in beef, pork, lard, ham, tripe, tallow, 
dried beef, tongues, beans, cheese, pickles, etc. They are receiv- 
ers of Geo. C. Napheys & Son's famous pure leaf lard, which is care- 
fully put up in pails. The firm handle only the finest qualities of 
provisions and offer advantages in prices very difficult lo be 
secured elsewhere. They are now prepared to place on the mar- 
ket their Ferguson hams for whicli they are sole agents for which 
they claim to be the best quality in the country. They are care- 
fully cured in the most improved manner with granulated sugar, 
and cannot fail to satisfy the wants of the public who desire a fine 
and delicately cured ham. Every ham is branded with the name 
of this firm and none are genuine without it. They are also re- 
ceivers of Geo. C. Napheys & Son's, gold brand pure leaf lard, 
which is tlie finest and purest manufactured. Their tr.ade extends 
throughout the principal cities anil towns of Canada, New Eng- 
land and the Eastern States, and is steadily increasing owing to 
the superiority and excellence of their provisions, which have no 
superiors in this or any other market. Messrs. W. F. Robinson & 
Co. make liberal advancements on consignments of first-class 
provisions, and guarantee entire satisfaction to shippers and pack- 
ers. The partners are members of the Chamber of Commerce, 
where they are highly esteemed for their sound business princi- 
ples and integrity. Messrs. W. F. and Chas. H. Robinson were 
born ill Vermont, while Mr. L. G. A. Fanteaux is a native of Bos- 
ton. Their long experience in the provision trade gives them ex- 
cellent advantages, .and their high character is a sufficient assur- 
.ance, that all orders will receive faithful attention and will prove 
satisfactory to patrons in every instance. 



158 



ILLUSTRATED BOSTON. 



COMMONWEALTH LOAN & TRUST COMPANY, Eastern Of- 
fice: No. 131 Devonshire Street, Boston; Western Office: 
Commonwealth Buililnig, Kansas City. C. A. Paiks, Presi- 
dent iind Western Manager; W.W.Mason, E.astern Man- 
ager.— At the present day in all the vast array of openings, wliich 
present themselves for the use of surplus funds, there is not ons 
that when prudently availed of through the best channels is so 
sure, remunerative and legitimate, as the loaning of money on the 
mortgage security of productive western improved farms. The 
rapid growth of the fertile north-west in population and wealth 
would have been greatly hindered without the free borrowing of 
feastern capital, which has enabled farmers and stock raisers to 
improve tiieir farms, to purchase blooded stock, new and im- 
proved tools and implements, and to erect larger barns, stronger 
fences and set out orchards. These are all legitimate improve- 
ments, and for every dollar thus expended add two to the value of 
the farm. The loans on western farm mortgages are thus in the 
nature of things, the most secure of any that can be made. In 
connection with these remarks, we desire to make special refer- 
ence in this commercial review of Boston, to the substantial and 
reliable Commonwealth Loan & Trust Company, whose Eastern 
ofRce is located at No. 131 Devonshire Street. The com- 
pany's western office is situated in the Commonwealth Build- 
ing, Kansas City. This company was duly incorporated under 
the laws of Kansas with a cash capital of $100,000, and since 
its organization has obtained a liberal and Influential patronage. 
The following gentlemen are the officers and directors, viz: C. A. 
Parks, president and western manager; W. W. Mason, treasurer 
and eastern manager; E. I. Parks, secretary; E. W. Mason, assis- 
tant secretary: F. M. Hay ward, attorney. Directors, Oscar H. 
Bradley, Geo. M. Woodward, G. T. Baker, A. 0. Stilphen, Ed. B. 
Rogers, L.B. Smith, W.D.Smith, and George E.Thayer. Loans are 
only made to the extent of one third the value of the farm, subject 
to independent and critical appraisement, and the mortgages are 
drawn so as in every case to fully protect the mortgagee. These 
guaranteed first mortgage western farm and city loans are abso- 
lutely safe, and yield always 7 per cent, net to the investor. The 
company also offers to the public Its secured 6 per cent, debenture 
bonds, interest and principal pay.able at the company's Boston of- 
fice. The following is the statement of the condition of the Com- 
monwealth Loan & Trust Company, at the close of business, July 
31, 18S8: Resources, first mortgages on real estate, $267,374.03; lix- 
tures and furniture, $1,941.79; stocks in corporations, $2,000.00; 
cash on hand and in banks, $20,023.51 ; bills receivable, $4,415,00; 
total, $295,754.33. Liabilities, capital stock, $100,000.00; six per 
cent, debenture bonds, $8fi.9O0.00; accrued interest on .same, 
$434.50; bills payable, $23,000.00; funds and deposits held for cus- 
timiers, $46,419.04; Kansas City office, $20,066.53; undivided profits, 
$18,934.26. Further details as to the operations and methods of 
this substantial corporation may be obtained at the company's 
offices in Boston and Kansas City. 

J MORRILL, JR., & CO., Manufactursrs of Soap .and Candles, 
No. 8 Commercial Street.— Tliere is no branch of manutact- 
I uie of more vital importance to a community than that of 
soap and candles ; in this line the oldest house in New 
England is that of Messrs. J. Morrill, Jr., & Co., of Eoxbury and 
Boston, and whose product is pronounced the purest and the best 
by the trade and consumers. It is now ninety-two years since the 
grandfather of Mr. Morrill started the industry of soap manufact- 
uring upon a comparatively small scale. He achieved marked 
success, and was succeeded by his son, father of the present pro- 
prietor. It is now forty-four years ago since Mr. Morrill was 
taken into copartnership by his father, under the name and style 
of Morrill &. Son, and after a lengthy career, he eventually be- 
came sole proprietor and has been doing business for many years 
past under the existing name and style. He brings to bear the 
widest range of practical experience, coupled with perfected facil- 
ities, and has in operation at Roxburya large and fully equipped 
soap and candle factory. He is a resident of Roxbury, and ex- 
ercises close supervision over the processes of manufacture, liav- 
ing the reputation of being the most skillful soap manufacturer 
in the U. S. His product is absolutely pure and of the highest 
standard. Mr. Morrill selects his materials with the utmost care ; 
only the best of tallow and Al chemicals, etc., are permitted in 



these works, while skilled hands attend to the various processes. 
The candles produced have also become internationally cele- 
brated. The firm permanently maintain their enviable reputation 
and have a heavy trade of the most desirable character. Their 
depot and warehouse is at No. 8 Commercial Street, where is 
carried a large and complete stock. The firm sell strictly at 
wholesale to the grocery and export trade. Their brands o£ 
soap and candles are deservedly popular and are largely con- 
sumed in Boston and New England, while they find a mar- 
ket in New York and elsewhere; in the provinces, with a 
heavy export trade' to the West Indies and Central and South 
America. The Morrill soaps are the most effectual detergents of 
dirt known. They are strong and effectual, yet do not harm the 
most delicate fabric, and are the most economical and reliabla 
soaps in existence. Mr. Morrill is a popular and respected manu- 
facturer, and his concern is a valued factor in promoting Boston's 
commercial supremacy. 

RITCHIE & BROWN, Auctioneers, Real Estate and Commer- 
cial Brokers, No. 172 Washington Street.— The firm of 
Ritchie & Brown, No. 172 Washington Street, are well-known 
in Boston in connection with the business of real estate, 
while as auctioneers and commercial brokers they have come to 
the front within a comparatively recent period and shown an en- 
terprise .and ability which mark thein as one of the most success- 
ful houses in the city of the kind. The business was established 
twenty years ago by tlie senior partner of the house, W. K. Ritchie,, 
who is a justice of the peace and has always enjoyed the respect 
of the tr.ading community. A little over a year ago the present 
firm was formed by the admission of Mr. J. L. Brown, wlio had 
much experience in the different branches of the business, and 
was well qualified in every way to advance the interests of the 
house. Messrs. Ritchie & Brown as auctioneers, real estate and 
commercial brokers, do a large business in buying, selling and ex- 
changing all kinds of real estate, improved and unimproved, in 
town and country, disposing of all kinds of property at auction or 
private sale, sales being attended in all parts of the country, 
negotiating business properties, securing partners and capital, 
and having stocks, stores, markets, saloons and boarding houses 
on their list. Legal papers are drawn by Mr. Ritchie of the firm, 
and only the most moderate commissions are ch.arged by the house 
in every case. Both gentlemen are natives of Boston, and are ad- 
mittedly fine representatives of tlie commercial ability of the city. 

FP. ADAMS & CO., Proprietors of Kellogg's Flavoring Ex- 
tracts, Salad Cream, Etc., Manufactory aud Salesroom,. 
, No. 280 Dover Street.— The steady and growing demand 
that has become so manifest of late years for choice flavor- 
ing extracts, sauces and kindred table relishes has resulted, in the 
very nature of things, in placing upon the market some especially 
fine goods of condiments manufactured in this city. And while it 
is gratifying to note tliat very marked improvement lias been 
effected in tires'^ palatable articles, special mention ought here be 
made of the productions of F. P. Adams, proprietor of " Kelloggs" 
flavoring extracts, olives, catsup, salad cream, etc., manufactory 
and salesrooms at No. 280 Dover Street, which are goods of excep- 
tional merit. The articles put up by this widely known firm are 
noted for their purity, quality and flavor, and for general excel- 
lence are not surpassed by anything of the kind produced in the 
country, having taken an enduring hold on popular favor through- 
out the land, and as a consequence they are in wide and increasing 
demand in the trade all over the United States. The business 
premises occupy the whole of a 40x125 foot floor, which Is supplied 
witli ample and complete facilities, while some ten to twelve in 
help are employed, besides several traveling salesmen. The pro- 
ductions included besides "Kellog's" flavoring extracts (which 
are the leading specialty), also olives, maple syrup, catsup, salad 
cream, bay rum, French mustard, lemon and lime juice, and a full 
line of choice condiments; a large and complete assortment being 
carried constantly in stock, and all orders for the trade are 
promptly and reliably filled. They are the largest packers of 
olives in the north-east. Mr. F. P. Adams, who is the sole pro- 
prietor, is a man of middle age, active and energetic, and prior to- 
embarking in this flourishing enterprise in 1884 h.ad been engaged 
in the grocery business tor about fifteen years. 



THE METROPOLIS OF NEW ENGLAND. 



15^ 



HASKINS BROTHERS. Manufacturers and Dealers in Ameri- 
can Isinglass, Irish Moss, Cod Liver Oil, Curriers Oil, Fish 
Koe for Export, No. 175 Atlantic Avenue; Factories, 
Koeliport, Jeffries Point; Cable Address, " Haskins, Bos- 
ton."— Prominent among the representative manufacturers of 
specialties peculiar to their respective establishments in this city 
is the firm of Haskins Brothers, widely and favorably known as 
extensive manufacturers of and dealers in American isingUass, 
Irish moss, cod liver oil, curriers oil, and fish roe for export, whose 
main offices are at No. 176 Atlantic Avenue, in this city, with fac- 
tories at Rockport and Jeffries Point. This important enterprise 
has been in successful operation for a period of twenty years, and 
its influence and connections have become widely extended over 
al! portions of tlie civilized globe. Their factory at Jeffries Point 
is used for preparing salt fish and fish roe for export, and for the 
mannfactnre of cod liver oil and curriers oil; while their Rock- 
port factory is devoted exclusively to the manufacture of their 
celebrated American isinglass. They import fish sounds direct 
from Europe, Asia and South America tor tlie manufactureof their 
isinglass, and produce an article unequalled for durability and 
general excellence by any other house on this continent. Wher- 
ever introduced and tested it is preferred above all other makes, 
and is in permanent and increasing demand throughout the United 
States and tlie Canadas. Employment is provided for some fifty 
skilled hands, and the output is one of great magnitude and im- 
portance. In all branches of their business the Messrs. Haskins 
exercise the utmost care that all products shall be maintained at 
the highest standard of excellence, and as a result their oils are 
widely preferred on account of their salability and solid merits, and 
their trade is constantly increasing in its proportiiras. Orders are 
filled witli promptness and careinall cases, and goods are placed to 
the trade at prices difficult to be duplicated elsewhere. Tlie cop.art- 
ners, Messrs. Moses W. and Leander M. Haskins, are natives of 
Rockport, Mass., and, in addition to tlieir business as here briefly 
sketched, tliey are also active and prominent in this market as 
members of the firm of Haskins Bros. & Co., wholesale fish dealers, 
with lieadquarters at No. 18 T wharf. They are energetic and en- 
terprising in all their business methods, and have won success in 
all their undertakings by honestly deserving it. 

COMER'S COMMERCIAL COLLEGE, No. 666 Washington 
Street.— We desire to direct special attention in this review 
of the commerce and industries of Boston to that well- 
known and popular institution, famed far and wide under 
the name of Comer's Commercial College, wiiich is situated at No. 
666 Washington Street, coiner of Beach street. This splendid insti- 
tution was founded in IWO. and was the first commercial college 
established in America. Its founder was Mr. George N. Comer, 
who laid the foundations strong and deep for the good of coming 
generations, giv'ng it the benefit of his wisdom and sound manage- 
ment until 1877, when he was succeeded by his son, Mr. Charles E. 
Comer.the present efficient educator and scliolarly principal. That 
Mr. Comer, by long training under his father in all the depart- 
ments of the college, was peculiarly fitted for the position, is 
shown by the i-emarkable success of the institution under his prin- 
cipalship. Since its foundation Comer's Commercial College has 
graduated hundreds of young men who owe their success in lite 
to the instructions here imparted, wliile the leading merchants, 
brokers and business men of this city and throughout tlie country 
manifest their approval of its educational course and system by 
sending their sons and daughters to it. The building occupied has 
been fitted up with an especial view to its permanent occupancy 
as a business college. Here will be found tlie theoretical and 
the practical departments in full swing; the banks, with all the 
Daraphernalia for conducting a legitimate banking business, and 
otlier departments, all in charge of successful educators. It is the 
aim of the theory department to make the student thorouglily fa- 
miliar with tlie principles of arithmetic, writing, spelling, gram- 
mar, correspondence and book-keeping, tlius to establish a solid 
foundation upon which to build his subsequent knowledge, and 
which shall make him a thorough accountant, competent to prop- 
erly dispose of any transaction.no matter how complicated it may 
be, or how different from anything which he has before had to do. 
In the actual business department may be found the college bank, 
mercliaudise emporium, transportation department, and ofiices for 



conducting retail, commission and jobbing business. Through 
these houses, arranged after tlie best models, with necessary ap- 
pointments and equipments unsurpassed by any similar iustitution. 
in the country, business is conducted as in the great world of com- 
merce and trade. Every young man should take a course of study- 
here after leaving the public schools, and before going into busi- 
ness. It will prove of inestimable value to liini. That this cour.se 
of study meets the demands of the times for a business education 
is proved by the ability and success of its graduates in business 
and by tlie demand for them by the business men of this and other 
cities. Axworthy graduate of Comer's is always sure of employ- 
ment. It had in attendance last year over 4S0 students ; and tlie 
enrollment for the forty-eight years past amounts to over 25,000' 
students. The faculty is one of tlie best qualified ever brought 
togetlier in tlie various departments of a business college. Mr. 
Comer and his corps of assistants are gentlemen of the highest 
culture and training, and possess skill and experience in educat- 
ing tlie youth of this country not excelled, and rarely equalled. 

LB. SMITH & CO., Manufacturer of Small Machine Screws 
in Steel, Iron, or Brass, Screw Machine Work to Order, 
, No. 30 Hanover Street.— The increased attention given of 
late years to the [iroduction of an improved grade of ma- 
chine screws and kindred articles has resulted, as it is needless to- 
mention, in marked progress being made in this direction. A Bos- 
ton firm that has been notably successful in this line is that of L. 
B. Sinitli & Co., manufacturers of small machine screws in steel, 
iron and brass, whose oflice and works are located at No. 30 Han- 
over Street, and whose products are in steady and growing demand 
in the trade, owing to the general excellence of the same. The ar- 
ticles turned out in this concern are of a very superior character 
in every respect, alike in design, strength and efficacy, and taken 
altogether, are not surpassed by anything of the kind produced in 
or around this city. This thriving enterprise was started about 
fourteen years ago, and from its inception the venture proved a 
highly gratifying success. The office and salesroom of the firm are 
located on the second floor with commodious and well equipped 
factory on tlie fifth, while some dozen or more expert hands are 
employed on the premises. The productions include machine 
screws of every size, style .and variety, in steel, iron and bra.ss; 
also studs, rolls, taper pins, etc., while odd designs are produced, 
and screw machine work of every description is executed to order 
in the most prompt and excellent manner, and the trade of th& 
firm which extends throughout the city and state is of a very sub- 
stantial character. The copartnership consists of Messrs. L. B. 
Smith and W. E. Tlionuas. natives of New Hampshire .iiid Maine, 
respectively, and are men of energy, experience ana practical 
skill. 

CHAPIN BROTHERS, Wholesale Produce Commission Mer- 
chants, No. 97 South Market Street.— Among the widely- 
known and reliable produce commission merchants of this 
city, there are none having a better representation or con- 
trolling a more substantial business than Messrs. Chapin Brothers, 
wliose oflice and salesrooms are located at No. 97 South Market 
Street. This business was established in 1874 by Messrs. Gardner 
and Ira Chapman, both of whom have had great experience in the 
wholesale produce trade. Mr. Ira Chapin continued in the busi- 
ness until January 1. 1885, and in 1882 Mr. Preston V. Chapin, who 
has been with the concern since its inception, was admitted a 
partner. Their premises are commodious and are arranged vvitlia 
due regard for storage purposes and for business operations. The 
firm have infiuential connections in the best producing sections of 
tlie country, and are constantly receiving in season potatoes, 
eggs, beans, apples, onions, poultry, game, sweet potatoes, 
Florida oranges, watermelons, berries, and all kinds of fruit and 
produce, which are offered to customers at the ruling market 
prices. Liberal advances are made on consignments of first-class 
grades of fruit and produce, and shippers can always find a ready 
sale for their products througli the medium of this concern, and at 
tlie same time prompt and satisfactory settlements. Messrs. G. 
and P. V. Chapin are natives of Ogdensburgh, N. Y. Tliey are 
highly esteemed in trade circles for their promptness and integ- 
rity, and are popular members of the Boston Fruit & Produce Ex- 
cliange and Chamber of Commerce. 



160 



ILLUSTRATED BOSTON. 



CHICAGO, MILWAUKKE & ST. PAUL RAILWAY, Gen- 
eral OBices, Milwaukee, Charles A. Brown, New England 
Passenger Agent, H. D. Corbett New England Freight 
Agent, Office, Old State House, No. 210 Washington Street. 
— The great trunli route and fashionable line to the north-west is 
the famous and deservedly popular Cliicago, Milwaukee & St. 
Paul railway. The country tributary to it is tlie richest and most 
prosperous agricultural region in the world, with a vast and con- 
stantly enlarging population, and in spite of numerous lines of 
railroad which here and there exercise a competitive influence, 
the mighty St. Paul permanently maintains the lead as the great 
artery of inter communication between the fertile north-west in- 
cluding the continental regions across to the Pacific slope, and tlie 
east, south and seaboard. This is tlie favorite route with eastern 
travelers and shippers, and the most direct connections, fastest 
trains and lowest rates give it the lead and permanent supremacy 
over all other routes. A general eastern agency has for many 
years been maintained in Boston, and since 1885 tlie offices have 
been centrally located in the Old State House. The New England 
passenger agent is Mr. Cliarles A. Brown, wlio has been in cliarge 
since 1880, while Mr. H. D. Corbett is the New England freight 
agent. Botli gentlemen bring to bear tlie widest range of prac- 
tical experience, coupled witli influential connections, and abund- 
ant energy and enterprise. Mr. Brown is a native of Maine and 
tas from early youth been closely identified with tlie railroad busi- 
ness. He was formerly with the Wabasli railroad, and by reason 
of his qualifications, urbanity, and close attention to the promotion 
of the welfare and comfort of the traveling public, has become 
one of the most popular pas.senger agents in the United States. 
Mr. Corbett was born in Hingham, Mass., and has been with the 
company for four years. He has been actively engaged in the 
railroad business for tlie past thirteen years, and has acliieved an 
unviable reputation for the efficient manner in which he discharges 
the important duties devolving upon him. The Chicago, Milwaukee 
and St. Paul railway has through the energetic and ably directed 
efforts of Messrs. Brown and Corbett very greatly increased its 
New England business, and the substantial inducements offered 
cannot be duplicated elsewhere. Among the advantages are its 
direct lines to all the principal cities of the north-west and west ; 
the choice of four routeseither goingfrom or returningto Chicago; 
splendid vestibuled trains free of extra charge between Chicago 
and Milwaukee, St. Paul and Minneapolis; the finest dining cars 
In the world are run on this line ; its short line to Omaha is the 
favorite route between the great lakes and the Pacific railroads; 
it gives the best and most direct route to Sioux City and Yankton ; 
and is also the great connection between Dakota and Nebraska, 
etc. ; it has a new, easy grade line to Kansas City and St. Joseph ; 
it carries its emigrants on regular express trains in comfortable 
• cars, and stop-over checks are issued to all first-class passengers, 
enabling tliem to stop at any number of way points for fifteen 
days each; the track, rolling stock and equipment generally are 
kept up to the higliest standard ; the conductors and station 
agents are courteous and intelligent, the service is frequent and 
fast, and all who travel to and through the north-west will con- 
sult their best interests and comfort generally by purchasing 
tickets via the old, reliable and popular Chicago, Milwaukee & 
St. Paul railway. 

WISE, HARRIS & CO., Importers and Manufacturers of Fine 
Cigars, Dealers in Pipes, Tobaccos and Smokers' Articles, 
Sole Proprietors of the Celebrated Rising Sun Cigar, Nos. 
119 and 121 Hanover Street.— The manufacture of cigars 
and the trade in tobacco forma prominent feature in the commer- 
cial enterprise of Boston. Among those manufacturers of fine cigars 
who are noted for the superiority of their output is the firm of Messrs. 
Wise, Harris & Co., at Nos. 119 and 121 Hanover Street. This firm 
established their business here two years ago, and are fast acquir- 
ing a national reputation as extensive importers and manufactur- 
ers of flue cigars, dealers in pipes, tobaccos and smokers' articles, 
and as sole proprietors of the celebrated Rising Sun cigar, wliich 
they sell at $60 per thousand to the trade. Their facilities for 
rapid and perfect production are of the finest and most complete 
cliaracter, tlieir resources are ample and abundant, and their ex- 
perience as manufacturers lias given them a foundation under- 
standing of all the wants and requirements of the trade. In their 



manufacturing department only thoroughly seasoned and care- 
fully selected tobaccos are used and the best processes are em- 
ployed, the result being that the cigars here produced are widely 
preferred for their absolute purity, fine flavor, and even combus- 
tion. The Rising Sun is the best ten cent cigar in the m.arket to- 
day, wliile Cumberland and the P. Q., both five cent brands made 
by this house, are in great demand among dealers on account of 
their salability and solid merits. A complete stock of tliese special- 
ties is kept in store, and ordersof any magnitude are filled with 
promptitude and satisfaction on terms that are invariably fair 
and satisfactory to the trade. A fine retail trade is also enjoyed 
in cigars, tobaccos and smokers' goods, while the wholesale trade 
extends to all parts of New England and the west, and is rapidly 
increasing under enterprising and reliable management. The 
members of this popular firm are Messrs. Albert Wise and Henry 
B. Harris, both natives of Boston, and gentlemen of wide acquaint- 
ance, eminent popularity and high standing in the social and busi- 
ness circles of this city. 

EB. BARNES & CO., Manufacturers of Fine Gold and Bronze 
Frames, Ornamenters and Gilders, No. VSl Court Street.— 
J Among the leading and best known firms engaged in the 
production of ornamental and gilt work that have come to 
the front within recent years in Boston, may be mentioned the 
popular and prosperous firm of E. B. Barnes & Co., manufacturers 
of gold and bronze frames, etc., No. 127 Court Street. The work 
turned out by this Arm is of a very superior character, alike as to 
beauty of design, execution and finish, and as a consequence, tlieir 
productions are in steady and growing demand all over the New 
England States, with some trade also throughout other sections of 
the country. This thriving enterprise was started about three 
years ago, and the unequivocal success that has attended it from 
the first abundantly attests the excellence of the work produced. 
The premises occupied are ample and well equipped, a commodi- 
ous workshop being maintained also at No. 100 Sudbury Street, 
while from a dozen to fifteen expert hands are employed. Gold and 
bronze frames in every size, design and variety are manufactured; 
also mirror and looking-glass frames, while old frames are re- 
gilded in the most prompt and excellent manner at very reason- 
able rates, everything in the line of gilding and kindred artistic 
work being executed in the very highest style of the art. Mr. 
Barnes, who is the sole member, the "Co." being nominal, is a na- 
tive of England, but has resided in the United States for over 
twenty years. He is a practical and expert gilder himself of many 
years' experience in the exercise of his art, and is thoroughly 
conversant with the business in all its branches. 

SS. WOODCOCK, Architect and Landscape Gardener, No. 40 
State Street.— Tlie important and exacting profession of au 
architect is ably represented in Boston by Mr. S. S. Wood- 
cock, whose office and draughting rooms are eligibly lo- 
cated at No. 40 State Street. Mr. Woodcock conimenced the prae- 
tice of his profession in 1854, and is widely known as an accom- 
plished and expert architect and landscape gardener. He has de- 
signed and built upwards of forty churches, also a number of pub- 
lic buildings in Boston and the neighboring cities. His buildings 
are greatly .admired for their stability, finish and elegance, while 
the elaboration of detail and care bestowed upon every depart- 
ment of his work reflect the utmost credit upon his honorable and 
business-like methods. Mr. Woodcock is now superintending the 
construction of the Price Public Library, Kittery, Maine. His 
patronage extends tliroughout the entire United States and Can- 
ada, and he has also designed several extensive and important 
buildings for the Sandwich Islands. Mr. Woodcock is at .all times 
prepared tofurnish plans, specifications, and estimates for churches, 
chapels, houses, stores, cemetery enclosures, monuments, and the 
improvement of estates, .and likewise to superintend the construc- 
tion of the most elaborate and expensive buildings. He is a na- 
tive of Sidney, Kennebec County, Maine, but has resided in Bos- 
ton the greater part of his life, where he is higlily regarded by the 
community for his skill, ability and integrity. Mr. Woodcock is 
practically conversant with the growth and wants of Boston, and 
is fully competent to carry to successful completion all work per- 
taining to his profession a proof of which is the constant and con- 
stantly increasing demand for his services. 



THE METROPOLIS OF NEW ENGLAND. 



161 



WHITAKEK BROTHERS, Ecclesiastical Decorative Pain- 
ters, Etc., No. 630 Washington Street.— A representa- 
tive and prominent lirm in the City of Boston actively 
engaged as ecclesiastical decorative painters, and 
mannfacturers of stained glass, altars, etc., is that of Messrs. 
Whitaker Brothers, whose office, salesroom and workshops are 
located at No. 630 Washington Street. This business was estal)- 
(ished in 1878 by the present copartners, Messrs. Frank and Wil- 
liam Whitaker. Both partners after many years of experience 
have learned, that in order to have perfect harmony in interior 
decorations, the various parts of the work usually let out in a 
number of contracts, should be dealt with as a whole under one 
contract, thus saving the clergy a great deal of annoyance, which 
of necessity must be endured by different contracts. Messrs. 
Whitaker Brothers make a specialty of furnishing under one con- 
tract the frescoing, altars, veslment cases, confessionals, pews, 
windows, etc. The firm also keeps in stock altars and pas. 
chal candlesticks, candle holders, vases, stations of the Cross 




paintings, engravings, chromes, representing religious subjects, 
religious statues of oil composition, gas and kerosene fixtures, 
artificial flowers, baptismal and holy water fonts, crucifixes for 
altars, processional crosses, etc., and all kinds of church goods 
Tlie firm have done a large amount of work for many prominent 
Catholic churches, Convents and Protestant churches in New 
England, in every case giving entire satisfaction. All church goods 
handled by this reli.able firm are unrivalled for elegance of design, 
quality of materials and uniform excellence, and have no superiors 
in America or Europe, while the prices quoted in all cases are ex- 
ceedingly moderate. Both Messrs. Frank .and William Whitaker 
are natives of Boston, wliere they are highly esteemed by the 
community for their artistic skill, ability and just methods. They 
give special attention to tlie fitting up chapels, in Convents, and 
promptly furnish estimates and drawings upon application. 

NATHAN SAWYER & SON, Book and Job Printers, No. 70 
State Street.— In " the art preservative of all arts " it is sate 
to say that the firm of Messrs. N,athan Sawyer & Son, of 
No. 70 State Street, st.ands unexcelled in the city of Boston 
as an enterprising, practical and in-ogressive house. The senior 
partner, Mr. Nathan Sawyer, was born in Boston. Mass., in August, 
1819, and began to leai-n his trade in Portland, Me, in 1832. In 
1835, he came to Boston, and served his apprenticeship with Sam- 
uel N. Dickinson, at No. 52 Washington Street. January 1st, 1866. 
the present firm was organized by Mr. Sawyer and his son, Henry 
N. Sawyer, and they are now recognized as one of the oldest houses 
in this line of Boston. No house has been more successful in book 
and job printing, or produced a better class of work than that of 
Nathan Sawyer & Son. Their premises are admirably arranged 
and equipped for the business with all necessary presses, type 
and modern facilities with which to expedite the work in hand 



with wonderful ease and rapidity of execution. Work in book and 
commercial printing, both plain and ornamental, is performed 
with true artistic conception and with line effect. The p.atronage 
of the house is large, influential and permanent in this city and 
throughout all the New England States, and a competent force of 
expert printers are kept constantly busy. The prices which pre- 
vail are invariably fair and reasonable, and tlie judgment dis- 
played in designing new and appropriate styles, commend this 
firm to the favor and confidence of all. The Messrs. Sawyer are 
both practical printers of ripe experience and established reputa- 
tion. The senior partner is known far and wide as one of the 
oldest printers in the state and one of Boston's solid and substan- 
tial business men. The junior partner was born in this city, and 
is a member of the Masonic Order. 

BF. LAMB & CO., Lumber Merchants. No. 130 State Street.— 
It is an admitted tact that the lumbering interests of the 
^ United States form a very important item in the general 
aggregate of our country's business. The most important 
and essential branch of the lumber trade is that carried on by the 
firm of Messrs. B. F. Lamb & Co., the well-known lumber mer- 
chants. This firm deal in Miciiigan pine and hard woods from 
South Tennessee and Indiana, and have been established in the 
business here since 1882. They ship direct to buyers, carry stock 
at different railroad sheds— and the connections of the firm are of 
so important and influential a cnaracter that all orders and com- 
missions, of whatever magnitude, are promptly and satisfactorily 
filled. They have an immense permanent trade In this city, and 
are continually lengthening and strengthening their stakes, ex- 
panding tlieir commercial relations .and increasing their facilities, 
so that they are becoming widely recognized as leaders in the 
trade. But few houses in this line have h.ad the active experience, 
or possess the comprehensive knowledge with I'egard to the wants 
of contractors, builders and dealers as the case with the manage- 
ment of this house. The policy upon which the business is carried 
on h.as ever been characterized by liber.ality and a careful foster- 
ing of the interests of all patrons, so that transactions once begun 
are such as prove both pleasant, profitable and lasting. The co- 
partners, Messrs. Geo. A. Heywood and B. F. Lamb, are well and 
favor.ably known in this city .as energetic, enterprising and repre- 
sentative business men. Mr. Heywood is a native of Athol, Mass., 
while Mr. Lamb was born in New London, Conn., and both are 
gentlemen of high social and business standing in this commu- 
nity. 

J HENRY SEARS & CO., Shipping Commission Merchants, 
No. 9'2 State Street.— The business of the shipping and 
J commission merchant, when properly conducted, is an 
essential benefit to every commercial centre. In Boston 
there are a number of extensive and influential houses engaged 
in this line, and a leading and representative one is that of J. 
Henry Sears & Co., located at No. 92 State Street. This house 
w.as established twenty-five years ago by Messrs. J. Henry Sears 
and A. Nickerson. The latter gentleman retired in 1887, since 
which time Mr. Sears has continued the business under the origi- 
nal firm name. He owns his own vessels, and transacts an ex- 
tensive business in California, East Indies, Europe and all parts 
of the world. He deals in merchandise of all kinds, shipping 
direct to the export trade, and receiving important consignments 
daily, fresh from the hands of the manufacturer and producer, 
which are promptly disposed of at his hands. He has acquired 
a high reputation and the entire confidence of all who have been 
brought into business contact with his house. Honorable deal- 
ing, push and enterprise are the means tli.at have effected this 
result, and have served to give this house a prestige on both sides 
the water that could not be acquired in any other way. Mr. 
Sears is a native of Cape Cod, and has long been recognized in 
this city as a leader in his line of commercial activity. He gives 
his business the benefit of his large experience and close per- 
sonal application, .and is a thorough .and complete ni.aster of all 
Its details and various phases, besides being an .able and intel- 
ligent business man, fully competent to maintain and increase 
the splendid record of this distinguished establishment, and 
standing high in business, financial and shipping, as well as lu 
social circles. 



162 



ILLUSTRATED BOSTON, 



STEPHEN TILTON & CO., Sole Agents for P. H. Mayo & Bios'. 
Manufactured Tobaccos, No. 10 Central Wliarf.-Tliere are 
no manufactured tobaccos in the world which have attained 
the popularity and deserved pre-eminence of those of P.H. 
Mayo & Brothers. These goods are the standards in the New 
England market and as such their sales have attained proportions 
of enormous magnitude. The sole agents and representiitives are 
Messrs. Stephen Tilton & Co., one of the oldest established firms in 
Boston and New England, and the most prominent in the wliole- 
eale tobacco trade. It was founded fully fifty years ago by the 
late Mr. Stephen Tilton, one of Boston's old-time merchants and 
whose decease occurred in 1857. He was succeeded by his sons, 
Messrs. Stephen, Joseph B., and Charles T. Tilton. Their energy 
and enterprise resulted in a greatly increased development of the 
trade. Mr. Stephen Tilton died in 1871 ; Mr. Joseph B. in 1882, and 
Mr Charles T. in 1877, being succeeded by Mr. Charles H.Tilton, 
gon of Mr. Charles T. and by Mr. George H. Tilton, a son of the 
founder. As thus constituted the firm brings to bear every possi- 
ble qualification, including vast practical experience, perfected fa- 
cilities and influential connections. They have established most 
desirable relations with leading jobbers, retailers, etc., and also 
do considerable export trade in the world-famous Mayo tobaccos. 
Their establishment at No. 10 Central 'Wharf, comprises four en- 
tire floors, 25x75 feet in dimensions, and where is carried a very 
heavy stock of the choicest Virginia chewing and smoking tobac- 
cos, including among others, the following brands: Mayo's genu- 
ine U S. Navy, the great favorite for chewing and whose sales 
are as steady and staple as wheat: Clarence smoking, a brand 
that needs no praise here, for all lovers of the weed have personal 
knowledge of it: Holly, a delicious sweet chewing tobacco: Eglan- 
tine a bright brand, and Ivy, a standard dark brand. Other 
brands equally well known and all favorites are: Mayo's cut 
plug Royal, and Boston Ideal. Tobacconists carry Mayo's tobac- 
cos as their leading line and a standard product that competition 
fails to keep up to. The partners are members of the Chamber 
of Commerce, merchants of sterling integrity, who have ever re- 
tained the confidence of leading commercial circles, and are 
worthy representatives of one of the great staple branches of 
trade, and have largely contributed to. Boston's mercantile su- 
premacy. 

GO.SSLER & CO., Bankers and Imiwrters, No. 70 State Street. 
—A representative firm and one of the most important fac- 
tors in affording necessary facilities for the carrying on of 
an enormous foreign trade, are Messrs. Gossler & Co., the 
widely and favorably known firm of bankers and general commis- 
sion exporters and importers. The house here is a branch of the 
great Hamburg house of Messrs. John Berenberg Gossler & Co., 
of Hamburg, Germany. The concern here is one of Boston's oldest 
commercial establishments, dating away back to 1830. Through- 
out a series of copartnership changes the n.ime and style of Gos- 
sler & Co., has remained unchanged, and is synonymous with in- 
tegrity and stability. The present partners, Messrs. Arthur 
Donner and J. B. Schroeder, assumed control in 1882 and are 
too prominent and widely known in Boston's and New England's 
social and commercial circles to require any explanatory comment 
at our hands. Mr. Donner is the Consul here for the Empire of 
Austria-Hungary, and worthily performs the exacting duties of 
his office. Mr. Schroeder holds the equally responsible post of 
Consul for the Empire of Germany, and faithfully performs the 
onerous duties devolving upon him. Messrs. Gossler & Co. have 
direct trade and monetary relations with Europe of enormous 
magnitude. They annually ship and receive a long series of 
cargoes of natural products, and manufactured articles on com- 
mission account and numerous vessels are consigned to them 
from Hamburg, Bremen, Liverpool and other great European sea- 
ports. The firm's State Street oRices are commodious and hand- 
somely furnished in the most perfect manner, and every facility 
attends the transaction of business. Though young men. Messrs. 
Donner & Schroeder are old in practical experience and have 
achieved an enviable reputation for the thorough and honorable 
manner in which they carry through and conclude all transactions. 
Their trade is principally with South America and the West 
Indies and is constantly increasing extending in all directions and 
promises in the near future to be of immense proportions. 



CL. PERKINS, Manufacturer of Choice Chicag o Caramels,- 
and Fine Candies, No. 90 Court Street. Branches: No. 
631 Washington Street, and in New Haven.— For the 
" highest grades of pure confectionery, there is no estab- 
lishment in Boston or New England, where they are manufact- 
ured so carefully or can be so advantageously obtained, as that 
of Mr. C. L. Perkin's, of Nos. 90 Court Street, and 631 VVasliing- 
ton Street. The reputation of Mr. Perkin's Chicago Caramels is 
international in character; they are not duplicated for tlieir 
delicious qualities elsewhere, and their consumption here in Bos- 
ton has attained proportions of enormous magnitude. The 
business was founded by Messrs. Perkins & McDonald about ten 
years ago, and in 1882, Mr. Perkins and McDonald dissolved. His 
trade grew rapidly, and to adequately meet it he opened a sec- 
ond elegant establishment at No. 631 Washington Street. Both, 
are handsomely fitted up and decorated, reflecting the highest 
credit upon Mr. Perkin's sound judgment and good taste. He 
has a large soda fountain in each, and makes a specialty oi 
mineral waters of superior quality. For years Mr. Perkins man- 
ufactured nothing but his "Chicago Caramels," and had all he 
could do to cope with his orders, selling them not only all over 
the United States, but in England as well. His facilities were 
taxed to the utmost, and in enlarging he introduced the manu- 
facture of other choice lines of pure confections. Marked suc- 
cess attended his efforts, and he is to-day the leading confec- 
tioner here catering to fine trade, and makes the largest variety 
of bon tons or dip goods in the city, and has ready call at retail 
for all he can make, employing a large force of skilled hands, 
and'personally superintending the work of manufacturing. He 
caters to Boston's best citizens, and his fine candies have a repu- 
tation of their own. Mr. Perkins also does some jobbing trade in 
fancy confectionery throughout the United States, and dealers- 
will find his fine and fancy confections to excel tlieir most exacting 
standard. He holds the same prominent position in the fine con- 
fectionery trade of New Haven, as he does of Boston, and is an 
enterprising, able and honorable representative of the high class 
confectionery trade. 

CHARLES D. ELLIOTT, General Civil Engineer .and Sur- 
veyor, Room 5, No. 31 Exchange Street.-One of the best 
knowii, experienced civil engineers and surveyors in the 
city is Charles D. Elliott, whose office is room 5, No. 31 
Exchange Street. Mr. Elliott has been established for the long 
period of twenty-five years or more, and during that time 
has executed work of an important kind in the city and 
immediate neighborhood, his services having been in large 
demand, both in a public and private way. For a consider- 
able period he held the important position of city engineer 
of Somerville, and gave general satisfaction. In private under- 
takings he has been no less successful as an engineer and sur- 
veyor having carried out many important enterprises and laid 
out estates in a manner to elicit the highest praise from those 
who commissioned him to do the work. Mr. Elliott, apart from 
his eminent profession.al skill, is a gentleman of first-class scien- 
tific and general attainments, and takes a lively interest in the- 
current questions of the day. He resides in Somerville and so- 
cially is held in the greatest esteem. 

HH\ZELTINE & CO., Butter, Cheese and Eggs, No. 16. 
Blackstone Street.-Although a comparatively young^ 
firm, H. Hazeltine & Co.. receivers of and dealers in but- 
■ ter, cheese and eggs, have already attained a commercial 
standing and built up a business connection vouchsafed to but few 
among the older handlers of these staple food products in this 
vicinity This pushing and popular firm was established some- 
thing over two years ago. They handle nothing but prime goods, 
and all orders are promptly and reliably filled, the concern being 
conducted on strict business principles, while its management is 
characterized by energy, sagacity and integrity. The premises 
occupied are ample, neatly kept and well equipped, while several 
efficient salesmen are in attendance, and the trade, which is of a. 
wholesale nature exclusively, is large and active, extending al 
over the city and surrounding cities and towns. Mr. Hazeltine, 
who is the sole member, the "Co." being nominal, was born in 
Vermont, and has lived in Boston since 1870. 



THE METROPOLIS OF NEW ENGLAND. 



Wlf. H-"*''^^^'^''^'''^^^ COMPANY, Confectioners' 
tZT'rl' '"'■'^""''"•-'^t.'overings, Oxyline Chocolate 
&t cet ?^:';""t:^""^'-'''«- Ef-=- Nos. 23 and 26 Fulton 
f«„,- f "eet.-The leading representative of tlie trade in con 

fee .oners' supplies is generally recognized as the Waverly m u 
fac ur.ng Con,pany of Nos. 23 and 25 Fulton Street, irmanuact- 
mers of specialties peculiar to their house, this coinpanyoccuDTes 
a unique position in the industrial world, and it is safe to say tha 

ou,Urv"°Thr'""" ■'"''^'°'-^='"<l - Peersinthis 01 aiy'othe 
country. The company has a reputation and a trade co-extensive 
with he civilized world, as manufacturers of confectroneiV 
specialties, patented by them in 1874 and 1883, and endo sed by the 

wiU, new ;„?. fr^ , """"""^ ""•<'« *''="'i°»» """'S. equipped 
with new and improved machinery, operated by steam povver uid 

hand? "rCrT '■' ^"'=" '" '^ '"^<= '■<"'=<^ 0' Skilled and expert 
nanv ;. V ' P™"""«'>' specialties produced by this com 

lluL, '"''''"''' '"•"'"'"" '^"««'-- '="«'^<"i'' and albari 'e for 

c.inu}, cocoanut tatly, corn sheets and balls. These eoods arp 
Euarajiteed as having no deleterious substances used h?tl,.! 
>na.,ufactui-e. and are for sale by all confectio'i e s' snppl.hou 
The largest caramel and butter scotch specialty hou es m ti"«" 
country and Europe have adopted the carame buttei mide bv 

thete't r '''''•^'""''orized by this con.pany to guirai te« u 
ouiers. This company also manufacture Waverly Slab Dre>!,in^ 

birth ,nH,; deserving enterprise, is a Boston man bv 



163 

of securing and retaining the best trade. Their =tock of fre.l, p,v.„ 

h::-e':f trbrt""' "' '^'^^'='=" ■"-'"»"• -'" eommai 's : "^ 
ri^i^-nrgra™--^~--rH 

justly appreciated all over the west etc M,- i „ " 

better t„H '%^", •'"'"'"'■"y '" "^'^ ''™'«-" »f trade. There are na 

nections of the most influential wide-spread clai^cter The v' 

branrt!^f' "''°'^«ale grocers and wholesale dealers in the best 
biands of western flour, also produce and provisions Thev earlv 
developed a desirable, growine trade tLv ^l„ '"^5"=*"^ 
four-story building, appfopriitfly n«e"d up,ld"^j:e'ire:rra 
the choicest line of -staple as well as fancy groceries This firm 
are also the sole proprietors of the famous "Brunsw ck " b and ' f 

cated eisellie e ^rl" ■ T'''^ <^™-"e>-e<i, cannot bedupli- 
lishment and hve travelers on the road. In this connection «!„., 



SWAIN, EARLE & CO.. Teasrand ColTees. Importers and Alanu 
fa turers. No. 63 Commercial Street.-The leading rep esen 
tative firm of coffee roasters, and importers of teas ad co 
fees in Boston, is that of Messrs. Swain, Earle & Co oi No 

Earle, and Mr. B. T. Thayer formed the existingropartnersmp' 

el wlfeTe'ThreTr^L''" 

efl.rnf fL; ? *'t'""e practical experience, thorough knowl- 
edge of the best methods of roasting coltees, and the best niant nf 
command to do it; ample resources and faciliti h. the inlVa 
tion of full lines of teas and coffees. Messrs. Swain Et.Tercn" 

^^^ndSn=^-!r--rr'^^^ 

'n.uutain the lead, and should be handled by every firm desirous 



WA^ BATTEY, Commission Merchant and Wholesale 
of^rw" VTn'"- ^^°- ''' ''''' «treet.-The hout 
■ ','■ Y-' ^'''"''^"^■"istly accounted one of the most 
substantial and successful establishments in the vvlo"e 
iTsl ed bTbusreslT'' ';" """^ '" ""' "''■ "^^ P'-oP'-to.- eS- 
at tfe nhn ^ "■' '"""y ^''^''^ ""S"- He occupies two floor* 

stock While tt r''' '■""! "'"' ''•"^'""^ '^ P'ovided for handm g 
stock, while the transportation arrangements are unsurpassed 
Extensive storage accommodations are furnished in State stree: 
Block and an immense stock is constantly carried conipr sinf th^ 
best brands of western flour, roller ineai, corn flour herme^T 
pearl meal and kindred specialties. The proprietor halspecial a ' 
rangenieu s in force with leading millers an<l prod, cerr n aU 
parts Of the country, for the procurement of supplies and i thus 
enabled to secure the finest goods in everygiadeaudo fill the 
heaviest orders without delay. The house represents ^ a geL^'^ 
o he milling industry interested in Boston as a point of dTst.lbu! 
tio for Its products. The high reputation acquired by Mr 

wim,I r°"' '""n """""■""•* ^^'"> '"^ ««•"■ interereverywhfre 
with,,, the scope of its trade, is the best and most satisfactlT 

"TnauJe:; Att/T' Z'" "^ '''''" '"^ estabnLnne f 'h^ 
IS a native of Attleboro, Mass., and is known as one of the most 
capable exponents of the flourtrade in thissection of the city. 



164 



ILLUSTRATtD BOSTON. 



MT. QUIMBY & CO., Manufactuiiiig Jewelers, Importers 
ami Wholesale Dealers in Watches and Clocks, No. 14 
^ Hanover Street.— One of the oldest ■jstablisheil and 
leading' firms of manufacturing jewelers in Boston is 
that of Messrs. M. T. Quiniby & Co., of No. 14 Hanover Street. 
This extensive busine.ss was^ounded in lS5i) by Mr. M. T. Quiniby, 
a native of Vermont, aud who early in life learned the jewelry 
trade in its every detail. He early developed an active trade, and 
in 1867 admitted Mr. L. V. Quiniby into copartnersliip. The tirin 
thus continued until 1883, wlien Mr. L. V. Quiniby died, deeply 
regretted by the trade and the public. Since tlien Mr. M. T. 
Qnimby lias conliiuied the business and has greatly enlarged it. 
His factory ii at Piovidence, K. I., wliere he manufactures full 
lines of solid and plated cuff and collar buttons, rings, chains, 
bracelets, and general lines of gold and silver jewelry in sets, half 
sets and individual articles. His designs are among tlie most 
popular known to the trade. His jewelry is rich and elegant, .and 
commands a heavy sale all through New England, and the British 
Provinces. An equally important department of Mr. Quimby's 
business is his direct importations of hue Swiss watches, renowned 
for the e.xcellence of tlieir movenients and being reliable time- 
keepers. He also deals in W.altliam and other tine American 
movements, and can supply the trade with watclies of any style in 
nickel, silver or gold cases at prices which cannot be duplicated 
elsewliere. The attention of jewelers Is directed to tlie substan- 
tial inducements offered here to secure a stock of fashionable and 
readily salable jewelry and the best makes of watches. Mr. 
Quiniby Is a respected business man, and has ever retained the 
conliilence of leading commercial circles— a worthy representa- 
tive of a most important branch of tiiide. 

FA. SMITH & CO., Commission and Wholesale Paper Ware- 
house, Nos. 37 and 39 John Street.— The enormous con- 
^ sumption of paper in all departments of trade, as well as 
in the private affairs of life, lias led not only to the foun- 
dation of many huge paper manufactories in all parts of the coun- 
try, but to the establishment of extensive houses m most of the 
principal cities of the Union having for their object the diffusion 
of the products of the mills in wliolesale tiuantities. The concern 
of Messrs. F. A. Smith & Co., at Nos. 37 and 39 John Street, is one 
of this class, and in its line of trade has gained a prominence un. 
surpassed by but few other establishments. The business was 
first organized some twenty years .ago by Mr. P. C. Bacon, Jr., 
who subsequently formed a partnership with Mr. F. A. Smith, un- 
der tlie style of Bacon & Smith. In 1885 Mr. Smith purchased his 
partner's interest, and assumed entire control of tlie business un- 
der the style of F. A. Smith & Co. The premises occupied com- 
prise a building containing tour floors and basement, and 25x60 
feet in dimensions. The business is of a commission and wholesale 
character, and the firm are the selling agents for the Rensselaer 
Mills, Central Mills, Keuka Mills and sundry paper bag manufact- 
urers. The firm make a specialty of handling all kinds of wrap- 
ping and straw paper and paper bags of all strengths and sizes, 
and receiving supplies direct from the mills and offering them at 
manufacturers' prices, they have a very extensive and growing 
trade throughout the whole of the New England States. Mr. 
Smith is a native of Massachusetts, and a member of the Paper 
Tr.ade Association. He is widely known in mercantile circles, and 
Jis much esteemed .as he is well known. 

J A. STUBBS, Wholesale Dealer and Shipper of Extra and 
Common Oysters, Clams, Quahaugs, Etc., No. 1!J4 Atlantic 
I Avenue, He.ad of T Wharf.— Among the leading and old- 
est establislied wholesale oyster merchants and shippers 
of Boston is Mr. J. A. Stubbs, whose business card with its big gilt 
shell, and the men with their tongs fast to a mammoth oyster is 
typical of his sterling enterprise, .and big growing trade. Mr. 
Stubbs w.as born in Wellfleet, Cape Cod, Mass., and early in life be- 
came identified with the branch of trade in which he has achieved 
such success. He learned it thoroughly in every detail, and about 
twenty-five years ago, established in business upon his own ac- 
count. He devoted himself energetically to the various br.anches 
of the business and early became noted for the superiority of tlie 
oysters ho delivered. He has enlarged his fiicllities and they are 
now second to none in the wholesivle oyster trade of New England. 



Mr. Stubbs removed to his present directly convenient premises. 
No. 154 Atlantic Avenue, head of T wharf in 1886, and liere receives 
fresh every day direct from his own beds. He owns very exten- 
sive beds at Warren, R. I , also at Pocasset, Mass , planting a very 
select seed oyster, and securing a qu.ality of extras that are re- 
nowned in this market. Mr. Stubbs is also a regular receiver of 
cargoes of extra and common Virginia oysters, and ships by the 
package and in tlie shell all over New England, while in Boston he 
supplies retail dealers and leading restaurants, oyster liouses, ho- 
tels, etc. He employs upwards of 100 hands in getting the oysters 
from the beds, opening, sorting and shipping. He has his own 
fleet, including some of the fastest sloops in the business, and 
permanently maintains the lead for desirable, strictly fresh and se- 
lect shell fish, including large quantities of hard .and soft clams, 
lobsters, shrimp, etc. His trade is annually enlarging, and he 
ships hundreds of miles out of Boston to numerous customers 
along every line of railroad and by steamer. 

CN. CAKTER, Cloaks, Suits and Furs, No. 496 Washington 
Street.— One of the best known houses in the city engaged 
^ in the manufacture and sale of cloaks, suits and furs is 
that of C. N. Carter at No. 496 Washington Street. Mr. 
Carter has been engaged in tills business for twenty-seven years, 
and was located on Winter Street until last ye.ar when he removed 
to the premises now occupied, which consists of two spacious 
floors, each having .an area of 25x60 feet, affording ample opportu- 
nities for display and convenience of tlie patrons. Throughout, 
the est.ablishment is very .attractive and contains a large and val- 
uable assortment of the latest styles of ladies'cloaks and handsome 
suits and costumes in silk, velvet and other fabrics, and also seal 
sacks, pelisses and fashionable furs of the very highest quality. 
Mr. Carter is not only one of the oldest aud most reliable dealers 
in this line of goods, but is also a leader and is always the first to 
introduce the new styles and fashions, and always has the latest 
designs to place before the public. In the assortment, which is 
perfect and complete in every department, is exhibited everything 
that is new and desirable and in accord with the fashionable ideas 
of the day, and in such variety that no one, not even the most fas- 
tidious, need find any difficulty In making a selection. The pat- 
ronage of the house is large and fashionable, and Mr. Carter and 
his dozen lady assistants give their special attention and are 
prompt in looking after the wants of the customers who are af- 
forded every facility and advantage for inspecting the elegant 
goods that have been brought together expressly for their exami- 
nation. Mr. Carter is a native Bostonian and is an autliority upon 
the styles and fashions of ladies cloaks, costumes and furs, and 
can offer the Very best goods and unsurpassed inducements at all 
times. 

WILLIAM H. EDMANDS, Optician, No. 47 West Street.— 
Keeping p.ace with the march of progress in science 
and art. very notable improvement has been effected 
of recent years in the devices intended to increase the 
power of vision and restore impaired sight. What with invention, 
discovery and the marked development of skill, a comparative de- 
gree of perfection li.as been reached in optical goods. A gentle- 
man who has won an Al reputation for judgment and skill in this 
line is William H. Edmands, the well-known optician of No. 47 
West Street, who has attained a position in the front rank in his 
profession. Mr. Edmands who is a man of middle age and a na- 
tive of this city, is a thorouglily practical and expert optician of 
many years' experience in the exercise of his profession, and a 
thorough master of the .art in all its branches. He was formerly 
with the firm of Thaxter & Brother, and in May, 1888, succeeded O. 
H. Roth, who had conducted the business here since 1874. The 
store is compact, ample and very tastefully appointed— an elegant 
displ.ay being made— while competent assistants are employed. A 
large and first-class assortment Is constantly kept on hand, com- 
prising telescopes, microscopes, lenses, opera-glasses, field and 
marine-glasses, philosophical and scientific instruments, specta- 
cles, eye-glasses and optical goods in great variety, while repair- 
ing and .adjusting in all their branches are promptly and reliably 
executed at reasonable rates, all work being fully warranted, and. 
altogether, Mr. Edmands has a very fine and constantly increasing 
patronage. 



THE METROPOLIS OF NEW ENGLAND. 



165 



THE BOHTON TVPE-WlilTEK COMPANY, Nos. ISO and ISC 
Washington Street.— It can be stated williout fe.ai' of success- 
ful contradiction that the type-writer has done more to revo- 
lutionize tlje details of daily business life than any other one 
improvement, and as a result almost every house of any importance 
has one or more of the instruments in use. Being an accepted 
fact, it is only necessary to select always what is deemed to be the 
best, and ranking at the head for botli efficiency and economy is 
the Boston Type-Writer, manufactured by the Boston Type-Writer 
Company. This company was incorporated in 1881!. with Benjamin 
Dore, president; .lames H. Currier, treasurer and general man- 
ager; and are manufacturers of type-writers, copying presses, and 
dealers in general supplies. There has long been needed a good, 
cheap type-writer that would do all the work that could be done 
on the high-priced m.achines. There are thousands of persons who 
have wanted a type-writer but could not afford one on account of 
the price, or could not operate it should it be purchased, and not 
having a business that would require the continuous employment 
ot an operator have had to do without one. The Boston type-writer 
exactly tills the bill. It will do all kinds of work that can be done 
on any writer, and more than can be accomplished on some. It 
is simple in construction, easy of action and does pood work, while 
it is easier to learn to operate than other writers and any one can 
write with it without practice. Tlie alignment is perfect and 
straight ds print; it cannot get out of alignment by use, mistiikes 
can be easily corrected, and several copies can be written at one 
time. It has a stationary index plate, which does not tire the eyes 
as do those on other writers, which are constantly moving up and 
down. Tlie letters and characters are large and plain, and these 
used most frequently are nearest the centre, and many words fre- 
quently used are already formed as shown in di;igramof index. 




Familiarity with the posiiiMii nl thi> letters on the index is all that 
is necessary to produce rapid work. Metal and interchangeable 
type are important features of the Boston writer, as the operator 
can use a variety ot styles, if desired, at a trifling expense. It 
takes but a few minutes' time to change type, as tliey are fastened 
upon the type wheel with a set screw which can be easily turned. 
Should a type get injured it can be readily removed and another 
replaced at a trifling cost without trouble or inconvenience. The 
type can be cleaned with a stiff brush without being removed from 
the macliine, as they are always accessible. It writes on a flat 
surface, the paper lying in the same position as though using the 
pen, and on tliis account is superior to otlier writers in wliich the 
paper is wound around a roll as envelopes, cards, etc., can be 
written on as well as any kind of paper. The operator can at any 
time inspect all that has been written, correct any mistake, or in- 
sert omissions without removing paper from tlie machine. It is 
made with such accuracy that any part can be duplicated if worn 
or broken. It is Jight, strong and portable; is less complicated 
than any practical writer in the market, while the price places it 
within the reach of all who desire a type-writer. It is the best 
writer for the. money, and in quality of work equals the highest- 
priced writers. The latest improvement in copying presses is the 
Boston wall copying press, manufactured by this company. It is 
a combination press, table, water receptacle and brush holder, 
made to fasten upon the wall, thus leaving as much room on the 
floor for a chair or table as there would be if there was no press in 
the room. It can be adjusted to suit .any thickness of bonk, and 
all the parts are interchangeable and can readily be duplicated. 
They are in use in many of the largest mercantile houses, hotels, 
ofBces, markets, etc., throughout th« coinitry, and is universally 



acknowledged to be the most convenient and best working letter 
press extant, and far sui)erior to the old style. The Boston Type- 
Write Company is in a position to guarantee tlie prompt and per- 
fect fullillment of all orders for tliese important improvements, 
and offer inducements to purchasers tliat •::;mnot be duplicated 
elsewhere. Their trade is large, influential and steadily increas- 
ing throughout the United States, the Caiiadas and England, and 
agencies are established in .all the principal cities. The officers of 
the company are gentlemen of large experience and thorough 
knowledge of the business; are enterprising, progressive and prac- 
tical in all their methods of manufacture. 

W POUTER & CO., Agents of Quincy Mutual Fire Insur- 
ance Coini)aiiy, of Quincy. Traders and Mechanics 
^ Insurance Company, of Lowell, and General Insur- 
ance Brokers, Oftice, No. 27 St.ate .Street.— One of the 
best channels through which to effect fire insurance in this city 
is that afforded by Messrs. \V. Porter & Co., the agents of Quincy 
Mutu.al Fire Insurance Company, of Quincy, Mass., and Traders 
and Mechanics Insurance Company, of I.uwell, Mass., and promi- 
nent as Insurance Brokers, at No. 27 State Street. This agency 
was founded forty years ago by Mr. W. Porter, who died October 
30, 188:-', and was succeeded by Clias. II. Porter, his son, and W. P. 
Butler, who have continued the business under the origin;vl firm 
name. Without in any way reflecting on others' offices, it is but 
justice to say tliat these gentlemen have secured the leading posi- 
tion in their line, and have developed a connection and patron.age 
of a most influential and permanent cliaracter. This firm are 
placing risks with the above-named companies, and with all re- 
sponsible fire insurance corporations in the world, at remarkably 
low rates; their policies are clearly worded, explicit and devoid 
of technicalities, and all losses are promptly paid on ad- 
justment. They control the insurance of important lines 
of business, residential and manufacturing property, stocks 
ot merchandise, leases, rents, yachts and household effects, 
etc., and are steadily extending their patronage ;iiid influ- 
ence. The partners are recognized authorities in their 
line, and have an unrivalled knowledge ol the principal 
risks offering, rendering them safe as .agents for conserva- 
tive c<mipanies like tliose they represent. Mr. Porter is a 
prominent citizen ot Quincy, and a director of the Quincy 
■^ Mutual Fire Insurance Company. Mr. Butler resides in 
■ Cambridge, and has been connected with this house tor 
fhirly-two years. Both gentlemen are members of the 
Board of Underwriters and tlie Insurance Brokers' Board, 
and are noted for their excellent business methods and liberal 
policy, ever retaining the confidence of leading commercial and 
financial circles. 

FP. TRICKEY. Boarding, Baiting, and Sale Stable, No. 255 
Atlantic Avenue.— The well conducted boarding, baiting 
J and sale stable .at No. 255 Atlantic Avenue, is an import- 
ant and essential convenience to this community. It oc- 
cupies a fine location for the business, being close to pleasure boats 
landings, and al.so close to other steamer landings. It lias been es- 
t.ablished the past fifteen years and under the able management ot 
Mr. F. P.Trickey. the proprietor, it has become widely known and is 
liberally p.atronized. The lu-eniises have an area of 80x100 feet, con- 
taining stalls and accommodations for lOOhead of horses, every con- 
venience being provided for their care, and only those who are fa- 
miliar with the duties of stablemen are employed about the place. 
The .accommodation provided for boarding horses, of which there 
are a large number in tlie stable, are of asuperiorcharacter, and for 
baiting horses, every convenience is at hand. Thewholeest.ablish- 
ment is kept neat and clean and every provision is made for proper 
ventilation. Mr. Trickey also conducts a large business, juying and 
selling horses, and .always has a nnmber ot fine animals .suilable 
for driving or heavy draughting purposes. He is a correct, upriglit, 
honor.able gentleman to deal with and can .always be relied npon 
in al! transactions. A native of Dover. N. H., where he w.as born 
forty years ago, Mr. Tricljey has since 1861 been a resident of 
Boston where he has made many friends and is well-known as a 
popular horse dealer and the proprietor of an establishment 
wliich is admirably suited for the purposes for whicli it is main- 
tained. 



166 



ILLUSTRATED BOSTON. 



SEARS' PEOPLE'S DRUG STORE, No. 136 Hanover Street. 
—An old established and excellent Hanover Street pliar- 
ni.icy is Sears' People's Drug Store, whicli is eligibly located 
in tlie Blaclistone Banlc Building, corner of Union Street, 
and wliicli tor forty odd years has maintained an enduring liold on 
popular favor and confidence. It is one of the oldest and leadinfc 
establishments of the l<ind in tliis part of tlie city ; and has a large 
and flourishing trade. Physicians' prescriptions and family recipes 
are here compounded from absolutely pure and best quality ingre- 
dients, and in the most careful and accurate manner by thoroughly 
competent pharmacists, while bottom prices lil^ewise prevail at all 
times. Tlie store, which is open from 7 a. m. to 12 midnight, is com- 
modious, liandsomely appointed and complete in every respect, an 
elegant soda fountain, beautiful plate glass show cases and at- 
tractive fixtures imparting to tlie place a very inviting appearance. 
A large and first-class stock is always carried, embracing besides 
fresh and pure drugs, medicines and chemicals of all kinds, all the 
standard proprietary remedies, alcohol, spirits, acids, extracts, es- 
sences, flavors and druggists' sundries in great variety; also pure 
medicinal wines, liquors, and mineral waters, and a fine assort- 
ment of toilet articles, perfumery, fancy soaps, sponges, chamois, 
choice cigars, etc., while four experienced assistants are in attend- 
ance, the proprietor exercising close personal supervision over 
the prescription department. Mr. G. T. Sears, who is a man in the 
full prime of life and a native of this state, is a gentleman of 
agreeable manners and the highest personal integrity, as well as a 
pharmacist of judgment and skill, with long and varied experi- 
ence in the laboratory, and is a prominent member of the Drug- 
gists' Alliance, the Massachusetts Pharmaceutical Association and 
the Massachusetts College of Pharmacy. 

STEDMAN & KELLOGG, Bankers and Brokers, No. 8 Congress 
Street.— A widely known and representative house in Bos. 
ton, dealing largely in investment securities, stocks, bonds, 
etc., is that of Messrs. Stedman & Kellogg, whose oflices are 
located at No. 8 Congress Street. This business was established in 
1872 by Charles F. Emery, who was succeeded in 1883 by the present 
firm. The copartners, Messrs. C. L. T. Stedman and Geo. G. Kel- 
log, have long been identified with the leading financial circles of 
Boston, and are recognized authorities on the most reliable classes 
of investment securities and guaranteed dividend paying bonds. 
The firm buy and sell all kinds of investment securities, and make 
a specialty of guaranteed realestate mortgages. Messrs. Stedman 
& Kellogg are agents in Boston for the sale of bonds and mortgages 
of the Central Kansas Loan & Trust Co., of Russell, Kansas, also of 
the Charles T. Emery Real Estate Loan Co., of Kansas City, and 
the Union Investment Co., of Kansas City. They devote close at- 
tention to this branch of finance, and have an influential circle of 
permanent customers, numbering many wealthy capitalists and 
investors. Both Messrs. Stedman and Kellogg are natives of Boston. 
Mr. Stedman was for several years with the National Eagle Bank, 
and the American Loan & Trust Company of Boston. Mr, Kellogg 
w.as also connected with the American Loan &Trust Co., of Boston, 
and the Montpelier National Bank of Montpelier, Vermont. The 
firm of Stedman & Kellogg have ever conducted their business on 
the enduring principles of integrity, and are also always cogniz.tnt 
of the true position of ahouse, that holds the interests of its patrons 
in its hands. 

FOGG BROTHERS & CO., Bankers and Dealers in Commercial 
Paper, No. 48 Congress Street.— Tlie banking interests of 
Boston are of the greatest importance, not only to the city, 
but also to all sections of New England. Capital naturally 
seeks this city for investment, and here are found some of the 
most wealthy and enterprising financiers in the United States. 
Prominent among the number thus referred to, is the reliable and 
widely known firm of Messrs. Fogg Brothers & Co., bankers and 
dealers in commercial paper, No. 48 Congress Street. This busi- 
ness was established in 1865 by Fogg Brothers & Bates, who were 
eventually succeeded by Fogg Brothers & Co. In 1871 Mr. T. S. 
Fogg died after a successful and honorable career. The business 
Is now the property of Messrs. John S. Fogg, E. S. Bristol, A. S. 
Austin and A. B. Vining, all of whom are able financiers and rec- 
ognized authorities with regard to the values of stocks, bonds and 
first-class investment securities. They transact a general bank- 



ing business in all its branches, and make a specialty of dealing 
in high class commercial paper. Possessing a large capital, this 
responsible firm is well able to handle all business in a prompt 
and satisfactory manner, while their standing in financial circles 
gives the utmost confidence to their numerous patrons. Messrs. 
J. S. Fogg and A. B. Vining are natives of Weymouth, Mass., Mr. 
Bristol of Winthrop, and Mr. Austin of Salem. They have ever 
conducted their business on the enduring principles of integrity, 
and are always cognizant of the true position of a house that 
holds the interests of others in its_hands. The firm's New York 
correspondent Is Mr. H. L. Horton. 

ED. SAWYER, Civil and Mechanical Engineer, No. 60 Congress 
Street— The profession of a civil engineer is one of great 
responsibility, requiring the highest order of ability, skill 
and experience to secure success. One of the best-known 
and most popular and civil and mechanical engineers in Boston is 
Mr. Edward Sawyer, of No. 60 Congress Street. This gentleman 
established himself in the practice of his profession here in 1865, 
and has devoted his time and talents during all these years to 
manufacturing plants, mill work and sanitary engineering, secur- 
ing a reputation and a patronage that early placed him in the 
front rank of enterprise, popularity and success. The fidelity and 
accuracy of all his plans and engineering designs have been 
widely recognized and appreciated, and he has been entrusted 
with many important public and private commissions that have 
materially added to his prestige as an engineer and master work- 
man. Among the works executed by him may be named two 
mills for the Chicopee Manufacturing Company, at Chicopee Falls, 
Mass.; several mills for the Arlington Company at Lawrence, 
Mass. ; and other large cotton and worsted mills throughout New 
England. Mr. Sawyer was born in New Hampshire, and has re- 
sided in Boston for the past thirty years ; Is treasurer of the 
Sawyer Spindle Company of this city ; a member of the Boston 
Society of Civil Engineers, and is widely and prominently known 
to the trade and public as an eminent leader in his profession and 
a gentleman of large business capacity and thorough reliability, 
with whom it is always a pleasure to meet socially, professionally 
or in a business way. 

BALLANCE & SORRELL, Manufacturers of Boots and Shoes, 
No. 42 Lincoln Street.— Frequently have we spoken of the 
steady progress Boston has made in almost every branch of 
industry and department of trade, but probably in none 
has that progress been more visible than in the sale and manufac- 
ture of boots and shoes. For half a century this city has been 
recognized as the great boot and shoe mart of the Union. The 
quality of goods handled here is constantly growing in popular 
favor; consequently every portion of the country draws its supplies 
from Boston. This is in part, no doubt, due to tlie enterprise and 
energy of our wholesale houses. We have in Boston many firms 
engaged in the trade, that for wealth, standing and reliability, no 
city in the land can duplicate the -same. Worthy of mention 
among such is the concern of Ballance & Sorrell, with commodious 
quarters at No. 42 Lincoln Street. The firm are manufacturers of 
men's and women's machine and hand sewed boots and shoes at 
wholesale only. The business was organized in 1885 by Messrs. W. 
P. Ballance, I. \V. Ballance and M. W. Sorrell. Mr. Ballance is a 
native of North Carolina and has always been identified with the 
boot and shoe trade, in which he was formerly a salesman. Mr. 
Sorrell, in 1887, disposed of his interest in the business to Mr. J. M. 
Dunwoody, who is a native of Georgia, where he was formerly in 
the shoe trade, and subsequently was located for a time in New 
York City. The original style of the firm, that of B.allance & Sor- 
rell, has been retained, and the firm has gained a high reputation 
and a trade which extends to every section of the country. The 
premises occupied comprise the first floor and basement of the 
building which is 25x75 feet in dimensions, and are admirably 
fitted up and arranged. A very heavy stock is carried, and the 
firm control the products of factories in Lynn and Brockton, thus 
enabling them to fill all orders promptly and at the lowest prices 
ruling in the trade. Shipments are made to all sections of the 
country and the standing of the firm in the trade is of the highest, 
a position which they have gained by straightforward methods 
and first-class goods. 



THE METROPOLIS OF NEW ENGLAND. 



167 



FARMER'S LOAN & TRUST CO., T. O. MofTett, President; 
A. C. Goss, General EasternlAgent ; Western office, Anthony, 
Kansas; Boston Offices, No. &t Devonshire and 20 Water 
Streets.— The State of Kansas is the heart of tlie American 
■Continent. In a few years the face of the land has been trans- 
formed with orchards and osage hedge rows. Everywhere in this 
splendid and fertile state are evidences of culture, thrift and en- 
terprise; everywhere the promise of prosperity and greatness. 
City lots which tlve years ago sold in Antliony, Harper County, for 
seventy-five dollars, are worth to-day $3,500. In connection with 
these remarks, we desire to make special mention in this commer- 
cial review of Boston to the successful and progressive Farmer's 
Loan & Trust Co. of Kansas, whose office in this city is located at 
No. 84 Devonshire and No. 20 Water Streets. The company's West- 
ern office is situ,ated in Anthony. Kansas, and its Philadelphia 
branch at No. S07 Walnut Street. This company was duly incorpor- 
ated under the laws of Kansas in 1885 with a capital of $600,000, of 
which $500,000 has already been paid in ; $100,000 of the above capital 
has not yet been issued, but is reserved as treasury stock. All who 
■desire absolutely safe and profitable investments should investigate 
and compare the merits and records of this reliable company with 
the best corporations in the .same business. The company has been 
remarkably successful, and maint.ained its reputation for careful, 
conservative management, because its western members are com- 
posed of men whose reputation for Integrity and business ability 
is well known throughout Kansas. Most of them have been in this 
business from ten to twenty years, and are thoroughly familiar 
with real estate values. Being well known and trusted, farmers 
would naturally select them to place a mortgage on their homes. 
Among the eastern members are some of the strongest, most suc- 
■cessful, and best known business men of Boston and other partsof 
New England, New York, and Philadelphia, who keep a careful 
supervision overall the affairs of the comp.any, and send from their 
number each year one or more committees to make a thorough 
examinjitlon of all the affairs of the company. This commends the 
company to careful Investors. Able counsel with a thorough 
knowledge of Kansas law and the loan business have been retained 
by the company, to attend to all legal matters. The company's 
examiners are each paid a salary; their compensation does not 
•depend on the number of loans made, as It does where commissions 
are paid. The company issues seven per cent, guaranteed mort- 
gages, and six per cent, debenture bonds, based upon real estate 
mortgages, on the following plan: A series of $100,000 six percent, 
■coupon bonds are issued in sums of $500 and $1,000, payable in six 
years after date, coupons being payable quarterly. Principal and 
interest payable at office of Boston Safe Deposit and Trust Com- 
pany. Bonds of $200 and $300 to meet the requirements of small 
investors are also issued. Each series of these debentures is se- 
cured by $100,000 of this company's first mortgages on property 
valued at not less than two and one-half times the amount of the 
loan, by a pledge and assignment of the mortgages by this com- 
pany to the Boston Safe Deposit and Trust Company, of Boston, 
Trustee. Each bond bears the certificate of the Boston Sate De- 
posit and Trust Company, which holds the securities, setting forth 
plainly the terms of the trust. No bond can be issued un- 
til the mortgages required to secure It are duly assigned to 
the trustee, and no bond will be certified by the trustee until such 
security has been delivered to it by the company. This Is rapidly 
becoming the most popular form of Investment In ■western securi- 
ties. The following gentlemen, who .ai'e highly regarded in finan- 
cial and commercial circles for their prudence, executive ability 
and just methods are the officers and directors: T. O. Moffett, 
president ; Col. Wm. H. Long, vice-president ; J. K. Wilson, 2d vice- 
president; J. M. Bent, secretary; W. R. Stivers, assistant secre- 
tary; S. A. Darrough, treasurer; E. H. Goss, 'assistant treasurer. 
Directors: T. O. MolTett, president of Ashland Bank, Kan. ; J. M. 
Bent, capitalist, Anthony, Kan. ; S. A. Darrough, president of First 
National Bank, Anthony, K.an.; John F. Reese, real estate, 
Wichita. Kan.; Frank Evans, Wichita, Kan. (Examiner for Co.) ; 
J. K. Wilson, Anthony, Kan. (Ass't examiner for Co.) ; Jas. G. 
Woods. Bluff City, Kan.; O. F.Casteen. treasurer Harper Co., Kan.; 
J. M. Pollock, capitalist, Wichita, Kan. ; W. R. Tucker, retired 
mercliant, Wichita, Kan. ; J. M. Russell, director of First National 
Bank. Anthony, Kan. ; Max Tandler, merchant, Anthony, Kan. ; J. 
J. Bancroft, M.D., treasurer Insane Asylum, Concord, N. H., also 



director N. H. .Savings Bank.; J. A. Wright, of Peter Wright & 
Sons,Pliiladelphia, P.a. ; Albert Bromer, clothing manuf., Schwenks- 
ville. Pa ; J. L. H. Cobb, capitalist, and trustee Bates College, 
Lewiston, Me. : Col. Wm. H. Long, Jordan, Marsh & Co., 
Boston ; Herbert Nash, of Nash & Co., tea Importers ; Moses 
S. Page, of .Moses S. Page & Co., Boston ; Levi S. Gould, of F. M. 
Holmes Furniture Co., Boston ; A. C. Goss, Gen. Eastern Agent of 
the company, Boston ; Chas. II. Bond, of Waitt & Bond, Boston. 
Mr. A. 0. Coss, the General Eastern Agent of the company has 
control of the Boston offices, and will be glad to give any imforma- 
tlon relative to the real estate mortgages and securities of this suc- 
cessful corporation. 

C BLAKE FURNITURE CO., Manufacturers of Desks, Hall 
Stands. Etc., Office and Warerooms, No. 100 North .Street.— 
Prominent among the numerous houses of enterprise and 
refinement in the city of Boston, extensively engaged in 
the manufacture of desks and fancy cabinet ware. Is that known 
as the C. Blake Furniture Company, whose offices and warerooms 
are located at No. 100 North .Street. This business was established 
in 18,50 by Mr. C. Blake, who conducted It till April, 188", when he 
retired, and was succeeded by his son Mr. .J. M. Blake, and Mr. C. 
F. W. Schllmper, the business being carried in under the style and 
title of the C. Blake Furniture Company. The factory of the 
company which is fully supplied witli latest improved wood work- 
ing machinery, tools and appliances, and furnishes constant em- 
ployment to 100 skilled cabinet makers .and operatives, is situated 
on Dorchester Avenue, Soutli Boston. The C. Blake Furnltiu-e 
Company manufacture to order or ortherwise desks, hall stands, 
book cases and fancy cabinet furniture of every description. Many 
of the rarest woods are utilized, and the furniture Is carved In the 
most workmanlike and artistic manner from unique and original 
designs and patterns. Their goods are unriv.alled for elegance, 
finish, quality of materials and workmanship and have no superiors 
in this country, while the prices quoted in all cases are as low as 
those of any other contemporary first-class house in the trade. The 
company's resources and facilities are such, that the largest orders 
are promptly filled, and Its trade now extends throughout all sec- 
tions of the United States. Messrs. Schlimper & Blake are natives 
of Boston. They are highly esteemed for their Integrity and sound 
business principles, the exercise of which in all tr.ansactions has 
won for them an excellent reputation with the trade, and been in- 
strumental in the achievement of their business success. 

JT. DYER & CO., Gents' Furnishers, No. 12 Bowdoin Square.— 
The firm of J. T. Dyer & Company has been for the past 
eigliteen years prominently identified with the trade in tlie 
finest grades of gentlemen's furnishing goods. They estab- 
lished their business originally in 1870, at No. 19 Green Street, and 
in 1880 they opened their i)resent main headquarters at No. 12 
Bowdoin Square, under the Revere House, which has since con- 
tinued as a leading representative of all that is styli.sh, original 
and refined In gentlemen's furnishings. Both stores are now 
operated on a large scale, maintaining the early reputation of the 
firm, and controlling the very best class of fashionable trade. The 
stock displayed Is the most complete and comprehensive In Its 
character, embracing a magnificent line of the newest shades and 
patterns in fall and winter hosiery ; a most beautiful assortment 
of stylish ties and cravats possessing the most tasteful and correct 
combinations of colors; white and ornamental colored linen hand- 
kerchiefs; silk, merino and lamb's wool underwear; shirts and 
collars, gloves and suspenders, canes and sticks, the best 
makes of imported and domestic umbrellas, and all the choic- 
est Importations In fine furnishings and outfittings. These 
goods have been selected with an experienced eye and a keen ap- 
preciation of the popular want, and are calculated to meet the 
tastes and the demands of the greatest possible number of patrons. 
They are placed to customers at prices which are eminently fair 
and equitable, and competition is challenged as regards both 
quality and novelty of goods and liberality of terms and prices. 
Mr. J. T. Dyer, the senior partner of this firm, is a native of Cape 
Cod, Mass., while Mr. R. H. Gardner, the junior member, was born 
in Maine. Both are well and favorably known In the social and 
business circles of this city, and have won their large measure ot 
success by honestly deserving it. 



ILLUSTRATED BOSTON. 



BOSTON ICE COMPANY, No. 76 State Street, H. O. Bright, 
President; James H. Eeed, Treasurer.— Ice, wliicli was 
formerly but little used for any pui'pose, lias become within 
recent years a staple commodity and an indispensable ne- 
cessity. Tliere are few families so poor in the great cities of the 
United States, that they do not patronize the ice man, during the 
heated term at least, and in a great city like Boston, the quantity 
used for various purposes is simply innnense. Among the enter- 
prising firms and corporations engaged in the ice trade of this 
city, the Boston Ice Company, which was duly incorporated in 
1866, is in all respects the leading company. The operations of 
this popular company are extensive, requiring the services of 400 
operatives and eighty teams. They own immense ice houses, and 
draw their supplies of ice from various large lakes in the state, as 
in case one location fails to furnish it, a larger quantity can be cut 
and housed where it is thick, clear and free from snow. The com- 
pany controls 500 acres of surface, and its ice is absolutely unri- 
valled for quality, purity and uniform excellence. During the ice 
cutting season, the company often employs 1200 hands. The head- 
quarters of the company is at No. 76 State Street, Telephone 565, 
while its sub-ofBces and depots are in East Cambridge at Prison 
Point Bridge, Telephone 6453, and in Charlestown on Front Street, 
Telephone 6154. The cliief executive ofBces of the company arc Mr. 
H. O. Bright, president, and Mr. James H. Reed, treasurer. Tlie 
coinpany makes a specialty of supplying the retail trade with tlie 
best ice at lowest rates, also families, hotels, stores, etc. The 
charges for supplies of ice are reasonable, as shown by the sub- 
joined tariff of rates: May to October 1st, twelve poimds daily, 
six doU.ars; eighteen pounds 'daily, nine dollars; twenty-four 
pounds daily, twelve dollars; thirty-six pounds daJy, seventeen 
dollars. By weight, fifty pounds for fifteen cents; twenty-five 
pounds for ten cents. Monthly prices (for other than season 
time): twelve pounds daily, per month, one dollar and fifty cents; 
eighteen pounds daily, per month, two dollars and twenty-tlve 
cents; twenty-four pounds daily, pf r month, three dollars ; thirty- 
six pounds daily, per month, four dollars and twenty-five cents. 
Customers are supplied before aiul after the season at proportion- 
ate rates, and the company can always be relied upon for prompt 
and effective service. The trade of the Boston Ice Company ex- 
tends throughout all sections of the city and its vicinity, and it 
also transacts an e.vtensive wholesale trade. Mr. Bright, the presi- 
dent, is a native of Belmont, Mass., while Mr. Reed, the treasurer, 
was born in Boston. Mr. Reed is also president of the National 
Wax Thread Sewing Company. 

ROBERT F. CLARK, Stock Broker, No. 40 State Street.— The 
importance of Boston as a great financial centre is gener- 
ally recognized. She is in f-ict the most prominent point 
for the disposal of desirable investment securities, and the 
purchase and sale of active stocks and bonds, and the Stock Ex- 
change of this city ranks second only to that of New York in point 
of volume of trade and number of members. Representative 
among the number is Mr. Robert F. Clark, the widely and favora- 
bly known banker and broker, of No. 40 State Street. Mr. Clark 
was born in Boston, and has long been actively identified with the 
Interests of investors, having been established in business since 
18C5, and has developed an excellent reputation for executive abil- 
ity, and accurate knowledge of every phase and feature of the 
stock and money markets. He has long been an influential mem- 
ber of the Boston Stock Exchange, ever according a conscientious 
support to all mea.sures and regulations for the benefit of this use- 
ful institution, and to secure increased facilities to the public. He 
has been repeatedly called on to serve in executive capacities, and 
is now the vice president of the Exchange. The responsibilities 
and duties of the Vice Presidency are onerous, and no one could 
more ably and faithfully perform same than Mr. Clark who has 
filled the office several times and is universally popular and re- 
spected and spoken of in the highest terms on 'Change and in the 
street. He conducts a general commission business in the pur- 
chase and sale, for cash or on margin, of all stocks, bonds and 
miscellaneous securities as listed by this Board, or listed on the 
New York Exchange. His New York correspondents are Messrs. 
Hallgarten & Co., of No. ;;.s Broad Street. He occupies two central 
and commodious offices fitted up in the most thorough manner, 
with tickers, one for Boston stock quotations and news, the other 



for New York quotations. Every convenience is afforded custom- 
ers, who include leading capitalists and active operators. His fa- 
cilities for obtaining the latest reliable in formation as to the course 
of the market, are of the most perfect kind ; and no one is better 
qualified to fill orders for country capitalists or city operators and 
investors, eitlier for investment or speculative purposes. He 
is a recognized authority on the market, intimate with the 
records of railroads and other corporations, while his methods are 
truly conservative, his .standing and reputation are of the highest 
character, and he is a faithful exponent of the enduring princi- 
ples of equity which are the substantial foundations of the busi- 
ness and influeuce of the Boston Stock Excliange. 

ALBION MILLING COMPANY, Merchant Millers and Ship- 
pers of Mill Feed, Corn, Oats, and Choice Michigan Pro- 
duce, Beans, Butter, Eggs, Etc., No. 130 State Street.— There 
is not, as it goes without saying, among the great staple 
food products entering into general consumption, any one that 
comes within measurable distance of flour in point of interest and 
importance, and it is in the nature of things, therefore, that the 
production and sale of this and kindred articles should constitute 
one of the principal branches in commercial activity in every cen- 
tre of trade and commerce. Among the flourishing concerns in 
this line that have come into prominence of recent years in Bos- 
ton can be named that of the Albion Milling Company, merchant 
flour millers and shippers of mill feed, grain, and choice Micliigan 
produce, with nulls and warehouse at Albion, Mich., and Eastern 
headquarters at No. 130 State Street, this city. This widely known 
and responsible concern was established some fifteen years ago, 
at Albion, Mich., the Boston office being opened in May, 188S, and 
from its inception the enterprise has proved a higlily gratifying 
venture. Producing and handling a very superior line of goods, 
liberal and honorable in their dealings, and being withal men of 
energy, sagacity and excellent business ability, Messrs. W. B. 
Knickerbocker and Joshua S. Ingalls, the proprietors, have been 
enabled to secure the hold on public favor and to build up the ex- 
tensive connections they enjoy. Besides a fine and very superior 
grade of family flour ol their own production, they also handle 
corn, oats, and everything In the line of mill-feed; also prime 
creamery butter, eggs, beans, and choice IMichigan produce of all 
kinds, and transact a wholesale business exclusively. The office 
and salesroom in this city, which are under the efficient manage- 
ment of Mr. Ingalls (Mr. Knickerbocker being the resident p.art- 
ner at Albion), are ample and commodious, all orders for home or 
export trade (cable address "Bates") being promptly and relia- 
ably filled, and the business of the Boston branch, which is chiefly 
with the New England States, is of a most substantial character, 
and grows apace. 

BF. GREEN & CO., Tailors, No. 1.59 Court Street.— For a 
period extending over twenty-eight years the well-known 
J firm of B. F. Green & Co., merchant tailors. No. 159 Court 
Street, have maintained an enduring hold on popular 
favor. They are, in fact, among the oldest and foremost exponents 
of the tailoring art in this quarter of the city, and fully sustain to- 
day their well earned reputation for fine work, promptness and 
reliability. The business was formerly located on Wasliington 
Street, whence It was moved to the present commodious quarters 
some three years ago, and has here been conducted since with un- 
interrupted success. The premises here occupied are spacious, 
neatly appointed and well ordered, a large and AI assortment 
of imported and domestic suitings being constantly carried, in- 
cluding the Latest novelties In cassimeres, cloths, checks, cheviots, 
serges, meltons, stripes, plaids and fashionable woolens and wors- 
ted in quite a variety, while as many as twenty first-class hands 
are employed in the busy season. Fine tailoringis the specialty.the 
garments leaving this reliable establishment being noted for their 
general excellence, alike as to design, put, fit, finish and f;ibric. 
and the patronage which extends throughout the city and 
environs Is of a very substantial and influenthal character. Mr. 
Green, who is the sole member, is a gentleman in the prime of 
life and a native of England, but has resided in Boston some thirty 
odd years. He is a practical and expert cutter and general work- 
man himself, of long and varied experience in the exercise of his 
art, and is conversant with the business in all its branches. 



THE METROPOLIS OF NEW ENGLAND. 



169' 



CHARLES C. BEALE, Author, Publisher and Teacher of Sinipli- 
lied Phouograpliy, Nos. 180 and 186 WasliinRton Street.— The 
Beale School of shortliand, typewriting and business corres- 
pondence was formed Ave years ago, by Messrs. Charles C. 
Beale and L. E. Lovejoy, but soon merged into the control of Prof. 
Beale, under whose management it has ever since remained. From 
its inception it met witli almost phenomenal success, thus pioving 
the need of a reliable and well conducted institution of the Icind. It 
has accomplislied a great worlv in training young men and women 
for the duties of tlie stenographic amanuensis and reporters, and 
to-day its graduates filling responsible and lucrative positions, 
probably outnumber those of all tlie similar schools in Boston, 
combined. Nearly two hundred and fltty of its working gradu- 
ates attest the thorough and practical manner of instruction. 
Much of this success is owing to the fact that Prof. Beale, after 
long study and research in stenographic literature, as well as after 
preparing himself by long actual practice In every branch of the 
profession, succeeded involvniga system of shoithand, preserv- 
ing the salient featuiesof tlie previous systems but so harmoniz- 







ing and simplifying tlie det.ails as to make it comparatively sim- 
ple of acquisition. Tlie school has been constantly growing until 
now it has prob.ibly the largest and best appointed quarters of 
any shorthand school in the country. It is centrally located at 
Nos. 180 and 186 Washington Street, and visitors, who are always 
welcome, are impressed by the quiet elegance of its appointments. 
On account of its superior facilities, simplicity of system taught, 
thoroughness of instruction, and moderate price, this school offers 
unrivalled inducements to the intending student of these most 
useful studies. The unprecedented success which his improve- 
ments in stenography met, induced Professor Beale to publish a 
complete series of works on shorthand and kindred subjects, 
necessitating a large and well fitted printing ofBce, which forms 
a by no means small department of his business. He is the author 
and publisher of the complete series of works on Simplified Pho- 
nography, the name appiopri>ately given to his system of shorthand, 
.as well as being editor and publisher of Stenography, now in its 
third ye;ir, the most influential journal of its class in the world. 
Professor Beale became deeply interested in Volapuk, the interna- 
tional commercial language, so useful to business men throughout 



the world, and was one of the pioneers in its introduction in this 
country. Ue is publisher of a series of text-books on the subject 
and editor and publisher of "Volapuk," the first magazine pub. 
lished in this country devoted to this wonderful language. He 
has also published various other educational works. We append 
herewith a complete list of his publications, with prices: Phono- 
graphic— All about stenography, 10 cents; advantages of simpli- 
fied Phonography, 5 cents ; Manual of Simiilified Phonogr.Tphy, 
$1.00; Te.\tBook of Simplilied Phonography, $3.00; Reading Book 
of Simplified Phonography, 25 cents; Pocket Reading Book of 
Simplified Phonography, 25 cents ; Book of Wordsigns and Con- 
tractions, 50 cents; Book of Business Letters, 50 cents: Stenography, 
Vol. I, bound, $1.50; Stenography, Vol. II, bound, $1.50; Sten- 
ography, monthly, per year, $1.00; Annual catalogues, 1885, 1886, 
1887 1888, 1889, tree ; Complete catalogue of publication, free ; Short- 
hand in a Nutshell, 10 cents. Nutshell Series.- Typewriting in a 
Nutsliell, Spelling in a Nutshell, Shorthand in a Nutshell. Punctua- 
tion in a Nutshell, Volapuk in a Nutshell. Memory Culture in a 
Nutshell, 10 cents each. Volapuk.— All About Volapuk, 5 cents ; 
Volapuk in a Nutshell, 10 cents; Stilwell's Volapuk Grammar. 35 
cents; Volapuk Dictionary, $2.00; "Voliipuk," a monthly maga- 
zine, per year, $1.00. Miscellaneous.— Sylvester's Cipher Code. 50- 
cents. Mr. Beale. is well known by the business community, and 
highly esteemed for his ability, professional skill and integrity, 
justly meriting the signal success achieved by him in his school 
and publishing business, as well as for the efforts he has made to 
place art of stenography on a higher plane, and to smooth the 
diftieulties and obstacles formerly .abounding in the study of this 
profession, while hundreds of his graduates thank him for the aid 
he has given them towards securing a liveliliood. 

NK. FAIRBANK & CO., Lard Refiners, Chicago; S. W. 
Andrews, Wholesale Agent for New England ; Office, No. 
5 CentraljWharf.- The largest and oldest established lard 
manufactures in tlie world are Messrs. N. K. Fairbank & 
Co. It was in 1863 that Mr. N. K. Fairbank beg.an the manuf:icture 
pf the purest, highest grade of refined lai'd known. He had mas- 
tered every problem attending the production of a perfect qual- 
ity of a lard for general use, that would remain sweet and good in 
any climate and stand transportation to any part of the world. 
From small beginnings tlie business lias grown to proportions of 
colossal magnitude, upwards of 1,000 tierces a day now being man- 
factured, rend.ring it the largest industry of the kindon the globe. 
In addition the firm manufacture a pure, edible refined subsiance 
for culinary purposes from cotton seed oil, known as Cottolene and 
which has every desirable quality of pure leaf lard, coupled with a 
flavor and uniformity of strength and quality that is rendering it a 
great popular favorite. The evidence of themosieminent chemist* 
and experts goes to show that cotton seed oil is a healthful 
and nutritious article, and when duly refined by the elabor- 
ate methods in the Fairbank refinery, and the product 
known as Cottolene is prepared, it is absolutely tlie most 
healthful, whole some and desirable article in existence 
for culinary use. Tlie firm also manufacture immense 
/quantities of lard oil, neat foot's oil, tallow, gold dust, the 
famous wasliing powder, and Santa Claus soap, tlie best and most 
economical laundry and bath soap in the world. The firm has ex- 
tended its trade relations all over the world .and has itsown depots 
and branches throughout the United States. Here in Boston is 
the headquarters for Massachusetts, the agency having been 
established here in 1877 by Mr. S. W. Andrews, who came direct 
from Chicago in that year to take cliarge of this branch house. 
He is the recognized aufhority on lard and its kindred products, 
is an active member of the Chamber of Commerce. Mr. Andrews' 
office is at No. 5 Central Wharf, where all wholesale orders are 
promptly filled, shipments being made direct from Chicago to 
wholesale grocers, jobbers, oil men, etc. We advise the people of 
New England to secure the interesting pamphlet, entitled " Facts 
About Lard," demonstrating and proving th;it Fairbank's lard 
is made strictly from the choicest of the hog product, with suffi- 
cient refined cotton seed oil and beef suet added to place it far 
ahead of all other lards, etc., as regards the essentials of positive 
purity, freedom from anything deleterious or unwholesome, sweet- 
ness, richness and economy as the best article for cooking in the- 
known world. 



170 



ILLUSTRATED BOSTON. 



JF. HUTCHINSON & CO., Wholesale & Commission Dealers 
in Butter, Cheese, Eggs, Poultiy, Game, Beans, Etc., Nos. 
103, 105, and 107 South Market Street.— The character and 
magnitude of the wholesale produce connnlsslou trade of 
Boston is lorcibly illustrated by a review of the leading houses 
engaged therein, represent! ve among the number being that of 
Messrs. J. F. Hutchinson & Co., of Nos. 103, 105 and 107 South 
Market Street. It was in 1875 that Mr. Hutchinson founded the 
present business, and which under wise and honorable manage- 
ment has been developed to proportions of such magnitude. In 
1878 to secure increased acconuiiodation, the firm removed to their 
present eligible premises, Nos. 103 to 107 South Market Street, 40x50 
feet in dimensions, carefully fitted up to meet their requirements, 
and which is crowded to its utmost capacity with high grade but- 
ter, cheese, eggs, poultry and country iiroduce generally. The 
firm ranks among leading receivers of dairy butter, and best 
makers of New York State and western creamery, and are also 
extensive buyers of same in open market, thus rendering their 
stock specially attractive both to the city and New England trade; 
as also to exporters. Their annual sales of butter alone have at- 
tained extended proportions. In eggs they are also large re- 
ceivers and buyers of the freshest lots, direct from shippers and 
packers in Ohio, Pennsylvania, New Jersey and New England, 
while they handle the best brands of New York State and western 
■cheese. Liberal advances are made on consignments, and prompt 
account sales are rendered the firm's high standard being practi- 
■cally demonstrated by reference to its nifluential trade connections. 
Mr. .1. F. Hutchinson isa native of Brookline, and has been a per- 
manent resident of Boston since boyhood. He is still a young man, 
though old in experience, and has ever retained the confidence of 
leading commercial circles. He is an active and respected mem- 
ber of the Boston Chamber of Commerce, and ol the Fruit and 
Produce Exchanges, alfording his customers the facilities enjoyed 
by meeting all the leading dealers on the floors of these Institu- 
tions, and ever according a hearty support to all measures best 
calculated to advance the welfare of Boston Produce trade. Mr. 
J. F. Hutchinson has just been elected a member of Legislature. 

NEW ENGLAND & SAVANNAH STEAMSHIP COMPANY, 
Boston Agents, Richardson & Barnard, North Side Lewis 
Wharf.— One of the most reliable and comfortable line of 
steamers plying from Boston to the Gulf States and Cuba, is 
the famous New England & Savannah Steamship Company, in con- 
nection with the Ocean Steamship Company's vessels. Average 
passage by these steamers from Boston is seventy-two hours, and 
from New Y'ork flfty-flve hours. These steamers being provided 
with electric head-lights, during the night can be navigated in the 
Savannah River, avoiding all delay. Close connections are made 
at Savannah with the various routes diverging from that city. A 
steamer leaves north side of Lewis Whiirf, Boston, every Thursday 
at 3.00 P.M. First-class tickets include berth in state-room .and 
meals on all steamers, except on St. Johns River and Tampa Bay. 
Intermediate ticket entitles holder to all the privileges of regular 
first-class ticket, except location of state-room and first table. In- 
termediate accommodations being limited berths should be en- 
gaged when ticket is purchased. Children under four years, free ; 
between four and twelve, half rate, unless requiring accommoda- 
tions wanted for adults. Rates named are limited and include 
transportation of KO pounds of baggage. Richard & Barnard, 
agents. North side Lewis Wharf, Boston ; A. DeW. Sampson, agent, 
C. R. E., No. 201 Washington Street, Boston ; O. G. Pearson, agent, 
Sav., Fla. & W. R'y., No. 211 Washington Street, Boston. The 
steamers of the New England & Savannah Steamship Company are 
fitted with every possible convenience and luxury. The table is 
equal to that of any hotel, and what is far more importance than 
this, everything that is possible is done to insure the safety of the 
ships and passengers. The officers are among our best known navi- 
gators, selected for their particular fitness for their positions. The 
passages of the company's .steamers are speedy, and the line is very 
popular toth in Boston and the South. This is now the favorite 
route from New England to Florida, Georgia, Alabama, Mississippi, 
Louisiana, Texas and Cuba. Messrs. Richardson <Si Barnard were 
previously the company's agents in Savannah, and assumed the 
management of the Boston branch in 1886, and since then have 
materially increased the patronage of the line. 



DAVID LEVY, Manufacturer of Clothing, No. 735 Washington 
Street.— One of the most popular and successful concerns in 
the city engaged in the wholesale manufacture of custom 
and ready-made clothing, and one deserving of special 
mention in these pages, is that of Mr. David Levy, whose estab- 
lishment is very centrally located at No. 735 Washington Street. 
This enterprise was started in 1878 by Messrs. Levy Brothers, and 
on the dissolution of their partnership in 1885 Mr. David Levy took 
control of the business, and by bringing to bear upon it energy, 
ability and integrity, has developed a trade of great magnitude 
and a most desirable and wide-spread connection. It is needless 
to add that Mr. Levy has an intimate, practical knowledge of the 
clothing trade, and vast practical experience in every detail. 
Thus constituted the house is the most competent to afford the 
fullest satisf.action to the numerous wholesale clothiers who now 
form the patrons of the establishment. For the purposes of the 
business the third floor of the building is occupied, and this has an 
area of 30x100 feet. It is admirably equipped with all necessary 
appliances and conveniences for the business and permanent em- 
ployment is provided for some sixty skilled and expert hands. 
The house has fiom its inception enjoyed a steady run of business, 
and undertakes the making of every necessary description of male 
attire, a specialty being made of fine custom order work. Style, 
make and fit are guaranteed, and the charges are warranted to be 
as low as those of any other house in the trade. Mr. Levy is a 
native of Germany, and a gentleman of fine business ability and 
honorable methods. 

SCANLON & DILLON, Wholesale and Retail Dealers in Fruit, 
Vegetables, Poultry, Eggs, Etc., No. 78 Blackstone Street.— 
Few among the many prosperous fruit and produce firms 
that have come to the front of recent years in this vicinity 
have been more fortunate than that of Scanlon & Dillon, wholesale 
and retail dealers in domestic fruit, vegetables, poultry, eggs, etc., 
whose commodious and well-kept stand is located at No. 78 Black- 
stone Street. This popular and responsible firm was established 
in 1884 and from its inception the business has been conducted 
with uniform and gratifying success. Handling a reliable and 
excellent line of goods, upright and straightforward in all their 
dealings, and withal prompt and courteous in attending to the 
wants of customers, Messrs. Scanlon and Dillon have been enabled 
to gain the hold on public favor and to build up the substantial 
patronage they deservedly enjoy. They occupy a spacious and 
nicely ordered basement store, with ample and excellent storage 
facilities, and carry constantly on hand a large and carefully as- 
sorted stock, including domestic fruits, nuts, berries and vege- 
tables of every variety in their season ; also poultry and game, 
fresh eggs, and country produce generally, while several capa- 
ble assistants are employed likewise ; all orders both wholesale 
and retail, receiving immediate and siitisfactory attention. The 
individual members of the firm are E. Scanlon and James J. Dil- 
lon, natives respectively of Ireland and Nova Scotia, but resi- 
dents each of the United States many years. 

CHAS. H. MORE & CO., Importers and Manufacturers of Gran- 
ites, Main Office, No. 14 State Street.— This business was es- 
tablished m.any years ago, the copartners being Messrs. 
Chas. H. More and A. L. Rhinehart, both of whom are prac- 
tical and experienced granite manufacturers, fully conversant 
with every detail of this growing and important industry and the 
requirements of patrons. The firm have branch offices and works 
in Aberdeen, Scotland ; Barre, Vermont and Quincy, Mass. At 
Barre they employ sixty experienced and skilled stone cutters in 
their own sheds besides giving employment to fully as many more 
by subletting contracts to other manufacturers. The same is true 
in Quincy, Mass., where they have lately purchased a plant and 
are thus in position to take advantage of the market in regard to 
time and class of work that others in the same line cannot who 
have no sheds, and their trade covers the whole of the United States 
and Canada. Messrs. Chas. H. More & Company import and deal 
largely at wholesale in Scotch, Swedish, German and American 
granites, which are offered to customers at the lowest possible 
prices. They keep constantly in stock granite suitable for monu- 
mental and cemetery work and promptly furnish estimates. 
Messrs. More & Rhinehart were born in Roxbury, N. Y. 



THE METROPOLIS OF NEW ENGLAND. 



171 



THE MERCHANTS NATIONAL BANK of Boston, No. 28 State 
Street, Franklin Haven, President; Alonzo P. Weelts, 
Cusliier. — In no respect has tlie City of Boston developed a 
greater degree of influence and progress tlian in that of her 
banking facilities, which are in every way of a thoroughly repre- 
sentative and conservative character. In this connection we de- 
sire to make special reference is this commercial review to the old 
established and reliable Merchants National Bank, whose banking 
olTices are centrally located at No. 28 State Street. It was origin- 
ally organized as the Merchants Bank in 1S31, and eventually be- 
came a National Bank in 1864. The paid up capital of the bank is 
$3,000,000, which is further augmented by a surplus of $1,000,000. 
Its management has always been signally prudent and sagacious, 
and the financial crises that have smitten the country from time 
to time since Its organization, have never affected its strength or 
overshadowed its standing and reliability. Its board of directors 
is composed of gentlemen, who are prominent and influential in 
commercial and social circles, whose names are synonymous with 
strict probity and stability, and there is no fiscal institution in 
Boston, which challenges and enjoys a greater conlidence with its 
numerous customers. Tlie Merchants National Bank transacts a 
general banking business, receiving the accounts of banks, bank- 
ers, corporations, manufacturers, merchants and others upon 
favorable terms, and affords every possible facility and conven- 
ience for monetary transactions. The bank has always paid semi- 
annual dividends, and has issued no bill for less than five dollars 
since 1835. The present building is the property of the bank, and 
was purchased by it in 1835 from the United States Bank. Tlie 
area of the site is 9,000 square feet. The president, Mr. Franklin 
Haven, Jr., is confessedly one of our most able financiers, and an 
energetic exponent of the soundest principles governing banking 
and finance. He is treasurer of the Massachusetts General Hos- 
pital, a director of the Bay State Trust Company, and also of the 
New England Trust Company, and other institutions. From 1868 
to 1879 Mr. Haven was assistant treasurer of the United States at 
Bo.ston. Mr. Alonzo P. Weeks, the cashier, is highly esteemed as a 
prompt and faithful bank officer, with every qualification for his 
responsible position. 

HS. McKAY. Architect, No. 28 Beacon Street.— A rising 
and popular young Boston architect is H. S. McKay, 
^ who by skill and reliability is rapidly pushing his way to 
the front ranks In his profession. Mr. McKay was born 
in Canada, but has resided in this city a number of years. He is a 
thoroughly practical and expert drauglitsman and general archi- 
tect, of ample experience, and is a complete master of the art in all 
its branches. Mr. McKay was formerly a member of the firm of 
Silloway & McKay, established in 1883, and about three years ago 
assumed sole control. Plans tor all classes of buildings are exe- 
cuted in the most reliable and excellent manner, and designs and 
estimates are cheerfully furnished on any proposed work, while 
construction is judiciously superintended always in person. 
Among the more notabis pieces of work executed on Mr. McKay's 
plans may be mentioned the Prospect Hill church at SomerviUe 
the Medford Opera House, Worthen Street, Baptist church, Lowell' 
and the Methodist church at Marion, Ohio. 

EH. WAKEFIELD, Real Estate, Mortgages, Etc., No. 194 
Washington Street.— Tlie house of Mr. E. H. Wakefield, 
J dealer in real estate and mortgages, at No. 194 Washing- 
ton Street, is one of the oldest and best-known in its line 
-11 the city. The proprietor has been engaged m the business here 
(or the past thirty years, and has developed a solid business con- 
nection in all branches of realty. He negotiates mortgage loans 
and business paper of all kinds, buys, sells, rents and leases 
property, invests money, collects rents, and takes the entire man- 
agement of estates. He has the fullest confidence and esteem of 
leading capitalists, investors and property owners, and owing to 
the wide range and superior character of his connections he is 
prepared to promptly dispose of realty at fair values, while offer- 
ing to conservative investors the best possible bargains that are 
guaranteed to produce a steady income and a prospective increase 
in values. His varied experience, keen appreciation of value, and 
large acquaintance with business men, combine to render his 
services peculiarly valuable to parties dealing in realties and 



those in need of loans, and any business entrusted to his care is 
always faithfully and honorably attended to in every particular. 
Mr. Wakefield is a native of New Hampshire, a resident of Boston 
for many years, in high standing in the re.al estate circles of the 
city, and commands the confidence of all with whom he comes in 
contact in a business way. 

RWARNEK & CO., Manufacturers and Wliolesale Deal- 
ers in Wooden Ware, Brooms, Brushes, Baskets, Mats, 
^ Etc., Nos. 36 and 38 Commercial Street.— Boston Is a 
mo.st important centre for the wholesale woodenware 
business, willowware, basket, broom and brush trade, and in the 
above lines the oldest, most enterprising and one of the largest Arms 
in Boston is that of Messrs. R. Warner & Co., of Nos. 36 and 38 Com- 
mercial Street. The business was established in 1843 by Mr. R. 
Warner, a native of Massachusetts, and one of the representative 
members of Boston's financial and commercial circles. From its 
inception, under his able management the business rapidly grew, 
and in 1846 he permanently removed to his present central stand, 
and here has continued a trade of the highest importance, both 
domestic and export. The premises comprise two buildings each 
five stories in height, 2.5x100 feet in dimensions, and where is car- 
carried the most complete stock of woodenware, willowware, etc., 
in Boston. Messrs. Warner & Co. are manufacturers on the most 
extensive scale, owning and operating a large factory in Concord, 
Mass. They began manufacturing fully thirty years ago, and have 
ever maintained the reputation of producing the most reliable and 
handsomest goods of this kind on the market. Their factory is 
fitted up with the latest improved machinery and appliances, run by 
steam power and where upwards of forty hands are employed in the 
manufacture of full lines of woodenware. The firm's stock Includes 
all standard sizes of tubs, pails and buckets, washboards, clothes 
horses, step ladders, meat safes, refrigerators, etc. ; all kinds of bas- 
kets, painted tubs, brooms and brushes for all purposes, mats, etc. 
Manufacturing themselves so extensively and contracting direct 
witli many factories for special lines in the largest quantities ; alsti 
selling extensively to jobbers, exporters, etc., this house positively 
quote.s prices that are not duplicated elsewhere. Both as to styles, 
quality and finish its goods compare favorably with any others, 
and the concern is thoroughly representative in every respect. 
Mr. Warner is a respected and public spirited citizen. He has 
been a director of the Faneuil Hall National Bank for thirty-five 
years past, and has ever pursued a policy of equity and honor, 
likewise ever according a hearty support to all measures best cal- 
culated to advance the permanent welfare and prosperity of the 
city of Boston. 

SNOW & HIGGINS, Provisions, Groceries, and General Ship 
Stores, No. 253 Atlantic Avenue.— The establishment of 
Messrs. Snow & Higgins, dealers in provisions, groceries and 
generalship stores is one of the most prominent in the section 
of the city in which it is located. Mr. J. M. Snow and Mr. R. S. 
Higgins, the copartners, have quite an extended experience in 
this line of trade, the former having been engaged in it eighteen 
years and the latter fifteen years previous to tlieir becoming 
associated in 1876. Their business connections are of the most 
satisfactory character and have established a trade and a reputa- 
tion for integrity and fair dealing which has given their house a 
wide-spread prominence. The dimensions of the premises are 
25x75 feet and complete in their arrangements and here purchases 
may be made under the most advantageous circumstances both 
with reference to quality and price. The stock embraces every- 
thing in the line of provisions and staple and fancy groceries and 
general ship stores and to assist them in the business the firm em- 
ploy two clerks and supply a large demand derived from the city 
and from vessels and make a special business of furnishing ships, 
for large or short voyages and also coasting and fishing vessels 
with supplies. They also furnish yachts with their supplies during 
the summer season and do a larger business in this line than any 
other house in Boston. Both members of the firm are natives of 
the old Bay State, are middle-aged gentlemen and as popular 
representative citizens enjoy the confidence and esteem of all 
who have dealings with their house and connections once estab- 
lished with them are sure to continue and always prove profitable 
and pleasant to all concerned. 



172 



ILLUSTRATED BOSTON. 



CLARK & HALEY, Commission Merchants, Flour and Pro- 
duce, Clieese, Butter, Etc., Nos. 78 and 80 Uoinniercial 
Street.— As a centre of the wholesale commission produce 
trade, Boston is second to no other point In tlie United 
States, and oilers one of the finest mari<ets in tlie woiid for all 
kinds of fruits, vegetables, poultry, game, butter, clieese, etc. 
Among the leading ttrms and one of the most active and enter- 
prising of those devoted to flour, butter and cheese, is that of 
Messrs. Clark & Haley, with warehouse centrally located at Nos. 
78 and 80 Commercial Street. The business was founded by Mr. J. 
Foster Ciaric and Mr. Charles B. Haley in 1883, botli partners bring- 
ing to bear tlie widest range of practical experience, coupled with 
perfected facilities, and influential connections. Tliey speedily 
developed a desirable and growing trade, and have during the in- 
tervening period manifested special abilities in the securingof tlie 
choicest of all kinds of supplies for the New England market. 
They make a specialty of western flour, receiving direct from sev- 
eral of the most famous roller mills, and handling our standard 
and other brands of fancy patent flour, which are specially popu- 
lar with the New England public. They also are regular receivers 
of large consignments of butter, cheese, eggs and poultry. They 
are the receivers of tlie justly celebrated Cloverdale Creamery 
butter in demand with the choicest trade; also Franklin County 
Dairies. They handle the finest factory brands of cheese direct 
from the New York State and Canada markets, fresh eggs and 
poultry in season. They are prepared to promptly dispose of tlie 
largest consignments of flrst-class produce. ren<ieriiig account 
sales .at the earliest possible moment, they are are a responsible, 
honorable and one of the most desirable with which buyers and 
shippers can enter into commercial relations witli. Mr. Clark is a 
native of Chester, Vt. He has had a varied and successful career. 
For a period of fifteen years he was .actively engaged in the Penn- 
sylvania oil trade, and since 1876 h.as been a resident of Boston. 
He is a popular member of the Chamber of Commerce and a bul- 
wark of Boston produce trade. Mr. Haley was born in Cam- 
bridge, Mass., and from early in life h.as been .actively identified 
witli this branch of trade. He was for four years member of tlie 
firm of C. L. Cotton & Co., and is an able exponent of this branch 
of commerce. The liouse is conducted on the principles of equity ; 
its stock is worthy the attention of the best class of trade, and it 
has before it a wide sphere of activity and usefulness. 

CAPE ANN GRANITE COMPANY, Granite, Building and 
Monumental Work. Offices: No. 40 Water Street. Quar- 
ries: Bay View, Gloucester.— Tlie finest veined granites in 
the world, and the best adapted for building and monumen- 
tal work, flagging, paving, etc., is that furnished by the nationally 
celebrated Cape Ann Granite Company, of Boston. Tlie business 
Is very old established, having been founded many years .ago by 
citizens of Boston and Gloucester. In 18f>9 the important interests 
Involved were duly capitalized at $100,000, and the company incor- 
porated, with increased resources and facilities and the business 
has attained proportions of enormous magnitude, and the company 
not only supplies thousands of tons annually throughout Boston 
and New England, but ships to New York, Philadelphia, and 
other large centres in the middle states. The quarries are situ- 
ated at Bay View, Gloucester, and are operated upon the most 
extensive scale, having steam cranes and every improvement, 
also large shops for the sawing to dimensions and for polisliing 
of blocks, slabs, and shafts. This granite from its fineness of tex- 
ture, hardness and susceptibility to polish, is specially ad.apted to 
secure the finest architectural effects, and for monumental pur- 
poses. It has the endorsement of leading architects and builders, 
proprietors of monument works, etc., .and those seeking a build- 
ing material alike of great strength and beauty should place or- 
ders for Cape Ann granite. It is likewise unrivalled for flagging 
and paving purposes, and is the popular stone for the broad pave- 
ments in front of new buildings. Mr. Jonas H. French, the pres- 
ident of the company, is a capitalist and business man of the high- 
est standing, both in Gloucester and Boston, and all over tlie 
country. He is a director of the Maverick National Bank, an en- 
ergetic exponent of the soundest business principles, and has 
ably guided the company in its career of usefulness and prosper- 
ity. Mr. H. H. Bennett is the coinp.any's treasurer, and resides at 
Bay View. He is an experienced business man, possessed of the 



highest order of executive abilities, and faithfully discharges the 
onerous duties devolving upon him. The superintendent is Mr. 
Clias. W. Foster, practically experienced in the most adv,anced 
methods of quarrying, and who enforces a thorough system of or- 
ganization. The Cape Ann Granite Company is the leading expon- 
ent of this important branch of industry, and they are fully pre- 
pared to enter into the heaviest contracts for the supply of granite 
by the cargo for public buildings, private structures, and to man- 
ufacturers of, or dealers in all kinds of monumental work. 

JAMES HALL & SON, Fine Carriages. Etc., No. 21 H,awkins 
Street.— This business was established thirty-seven years ago 
by Mr. James Hall, who eventually In 1866 admitted his son 
Mr. Jiimes Hall, Jr., into partnership. In August, 1885, Mr. 
James Hall, Sr., died after a successful and honorable career. Ho 
was succeeded by his son, who is now conducting the business 
under the old firm name of James Hall & Son. The premises oc- 
cupied comprise a .spacious five-story brick building, fully sup- 
plied with every facility and convenience for the successful prose- 
cution of this useful industry. Mr. Hall manufactures to order or 
otherwise all kinds of fine carriages, buggies, etc., from a coach 
down to a trotting wagon. He employs thirty-five skilled work- 
men, and turns out nothing except first-class hand work, while 
the prices quoted for them are extremely moderate. Mr. Hall ob- 
tained medals at the centennial, Philadelphia, and at the Massa- 
chusetts Charit.able Mechanics Association for tlie superiority and 
excellence of his vehicles. He is a native of Boston. 

FRANCIS FRENCH, Proprietor of The Old Original Nova 
Scotia Employment Company, No. 298 Washington Street.— 
The largest and leading employment agency in the city is 
the widely and favoiiibly known old original Nova Scotia 
Employment Company of No. 298 W,ashington Street. Botli by 
re.ason of its f<acilities in securing tlie best class of help and suc- 
cess in placing applicants, it is thoroughly representative and en- 
joys the confidence and patronage of the best tamilies of Boston 
and New England. The business was establislied in 1868 by Mr. 
A. W. Winkfield, to whom Mr. Francis French succeeded as sole 
proprietor in 1876. He is possessed of vast practical experience 
and influenti.al connections and h.as achieved an enviable reputa- 
tion for the accuracy of all statements and the tliorough good 
character of all servants and employees hired through liiin. The 
steady growth of patronage resulted in 1888 in the removal of his 
office to its present most central stand in W.ashington Street, 
where he has splendid accommodations both for male and female 
help, and for the public to call and niivke engagements. The enor- 
mous amount of business done here indicates tlie popularity of 
Mr. French's office. A large number of persons, male and female, 
secure situations through his agency, which is by far the best place 
in town to get good, reli.able help just from the Provinces, also the 
best cl.ass of help of all nationalities, including skilled and ex- 
perienced hands for every branch of employment. Mr. French is 
a native of M.assachusetts. a business man of the highest standing 
.and responsibility and is ably and faithfully discharging his duty 
to the community in supplying it with honest, efflcient help at rea- 
sonable rates of wages. 

CHAS. D. BLAKE & CO., Music Publishers, No. 488 Washington- 
Street.— One of the best-known houses in the music publish- 
ing tr.ade is th.at of Ch.as. D. Blake & Co., No. 488 Washing- 
ton Street. Tills popular firm was establislied in 1883, Mr. 
Charles D. Blake, the sole partner has been identified with the 
business for many years and is generally acknowledged to have 
no superior in his line. The firm occupy a commodious store and 
show room, 30x40 feet in dimensions in which tliey carry an excel- 
lent line of upright, square and grand pianos of the leading mak- 
ers, handling chiefly however the celebrated Schubert Piano Com- 
pany's eleg.ant upright pianos for which they are the New England 
agents. These instruments are conceded to be the most perfect- 
toned instruments m.ade and are in wide demand all over the 
country. As mnsic publishers tlie firm of Ch.as. I). Blake has a 
rcpntatiim second to none, as a gl.ance at the catalogue of their 
publications .sent on application will convince anyone. Mr. BUake 
who is a Boston man, in the prime of life, h.as built up a splendid 
business by the exercise of ability .and energy. 



THE METROPOLIS OF NEW ENGLAND. 



173 



J SMITH & CO., Manufactui-eis of Fine Harness, Interfer- 
ing Boots, ana Horse Clotliing, No. 26 Sudbury Street.— 
For strictly the finest grade and mostskillfully made lines 
of fine carriage harness, gentlemen's road and sulliy in- 
terfering boots and hor.se clothing, the American public as well as 
many foreign customers have learned to place their orders with 
the old responsible honse of Messrs. .1. Smith & Co.. of No. 26 Sud- 
bury Street. He established in bu.siness upon lus own account in 




1857 and bringing to bear natural inventive ability, sound judgment, 
keen observation and marked enterprise, he speedily created for 
his work the reputation of being the best on market. He has the 
distinguishe<l honor of being tlie first to make horse boots, and has 
introduced to the horsemen of the world the most improved and 
perfect lines of interfering boots, toe weights, etc. Mr. Smith has 
been at his present location for twenty-seven years past, and has 
every facility at command. He employs a numerous force of 
skilled hands, and turns out by far the tinest track, road and car- 
riage harness in the market at lowest prices, quality considered. 
Selecting his materials with the utmost care, Mr. Smith personally 
supervises all the work, the trimmings and mountings are the best 
obtainable, and the harness of his make are renowned alike for 
elegance and synunetry, and strengtli and durability. He manu- 
factures every description of horse boots for elbows, breasts, arms, 
knees, shin and ankle, elastic supporting boots, quarter boots, and 
toe weights and full lines of horse clothing, muzzier bandages, 
scrapers, brushes, etc., of the finest materials and most skillful 
design. Mr. Smitli's interfering boots are the neatest and most 
perfect fitting of any. The original introducer of these goods, he 
is the leading maker and fully maintains the lead of all competi- 
tors. He sells to fine trade and leading horse owners all over the 
United States and Canada, and has customers iu all parts of the 
world. 

GILLETTE & HENNIGAN, Receivers of and Wholesale Deal- 
ers in Apples, Oranges, Lemons, Banan.as, Domestic Fruits 
and Produce, No. 125 Clinton Street.— Among the leading 
and most enterprising produce commission houses of New 
Engl.aud is that of Messrs. Gillette & Hennigan. They are direct 
commission receivers from every section of the continent that in 
tlie season contributes vegetables, fruits, etc., to the markets, while 
their connections in the line of .sales are equally influential. The 
business was founded in 1877 by the present proprietors, Mr. George 
A. Gillette and Mr. P. Frank Hennigan. Both gentlemen bring to 
bear the widest range of practical experience. Their si)acious 
warehouse on the wharf has seven floors, suitably fitted ui) tor the 
Arm's piu'poses, and where they always carry a heavy and com- 
prehensive stock of sweet potatoes, apples, and all domestic fruits 
and vegetables in season, while a specialty is made of tropical 
fruits such as oranges, lemons and bananas direct from the West 



Indies, Centr.al America, Florida and the Mediterranean. Quality 
is their first consideration. They ship no fruit or green stuff not in 
prime condition and can be fully relied on by parties at a distance 
to till all orders promptly and at lowest rates. They now do a 
tradethat covers a vast area, including New Kngland, Nova Scotia, 
New Brunswick, and west and south. They employ a number 
of hands and are in daily receipt of consignments and handling 
promptly and to best advantage and make prompt returns. Mr. 
Gillette Wits born in New York State, and has resided in Boston for 
twenty-three years. Mr. Hennigan was born in Massachusetts 
and has resided here for fully twenty-five years past. They are 
popular and influential members of the trade and we strongly 
recommend both consignors of fruits .ind produce, and dealers 
and retailers to order through this able and responsible old 
house. 

THOS. W. EMERSON & CO., Growers and Jobbers in Garden, 
Field and Grass Seeds, Nos. 74 and 7G South Market Street. 
—A representative and old established liouse in Boston, ex- 
tensively engaged in growing and jobbing garden, field and 
grass seeds, is that of Messrs. Thos. Emerson & Co., wliose office 
and warehouse are located at Nos. 74 and 715 South Market Street. 
This business was established in 1839 by H. Blanchard, who was 
succeeded in 1863 by Bl.anchard & Emerson. Eventually in 1864 
Mr. Thos. W. Emerson became sole proprietor, and is now conduct- 
ing the business under the firm name of Tlios. \V. Emerson & Co. 
The premises occupied comprise a spacious five-story building 
2.5x100 feet in area, equipped with every facility and appliance 
for the systematic conduct of this growing and important business. 
Mr. Emerson grows and deals largely in garden, field and grass 
seeds, also iu beans and peas of every description for cooking pur- 
poses. His seeds are always carefully prepared lor the market, 
and are absolutely unrivalled for reliability and uniform excel- 
lence and have no superiors in this country. He constantly keeps 
on hand an inunense stock, and quotes prices that necessarily at- 
tract the attention of close and prudent buyers. Mr. Emerson 
employs a number of agents In New England, the Eastern States 
and Provinces, and his patronage is steadily increasing owing to 
the superiority of his productions and seeds, which are general 
favorites with intelligent farmers and agriculturists. Forty em- 
ployees, assistants, etc., are required in his wareliouse to attend to 
his extensive trade. Mr. Emerson was born in New Hampshire. 
He is a popular member of the Boston Chamber of Commerce and 
has served on several of the committees with credit. He is highly 
esteemed in business circles .as a liberal, .able and honorable mer- 
chant, fully meriting the signal success achieved in this useful 
and valuable industry. 

HE. WOODWARD & CO., Wholesale Dealers in Salt and 
Pickled Fish, Fort Hill Wharf, Nos. 416 to 454 Atlantic 
Avenue.— One of the oldest, if not the oldest house in 
Boston, devoted to tlie wholesale trade in all kinds of 
salt and pickled fish is that of Messrs. H. E. Woodward* Co., of 
Fort Hill WharL The firm has ever been a leading representa- 
tive in this branch of commerce, and h.as contributed very materi- 
ally to the development of Boston's exi)oit and southern coast- 
wise trade. It is about fifty years ago that Mr. W. R. Clark 
started this business, Mr Harrison E. Woodward coming into co- 
partnership in 1848. under the name and style of Clark &. Wood- 
ward. It thus continued, a steadily enlarging trade being devel- 
oped until in 1873 tlie present firm w.as formed by Mr. Woodward, 
and who brings to bear the widest range of practical experience, 
perfected facilities and influential connections. His extensive 
premises are centrally located on Fort Hill Wharf, and where 
they have maintained their identical location for over fifty years 
past. Here in their warehouse, 30x150 feet and two stories in 
height, the firm carry a large and complete stock of all kinds of 
salt and pickled fish packed in every style of pack.age, as specially 
adapted to the wants of southern and foreign trade. Many car- 
goes eacli season leave Fort Hill Wharf, shipped by them to West 
Indies, Baltimore, New Orleans, Mobile, Galveston, etc. They 
also do a heavy New England trade with wholesalers and fish 
dealers. Mr. Woodward is an active member of the Fish Associa- 
tion and a popular, respected merchant, who has ever retained 
the confidence of leading commercial circles. 



174 



ILLUSTRATED BOSTON. 



MERCHANTS & MINERS TRANSPORTATION CO., Boston, 
Baltimore and Norfolk Steamship Line, George E. Smal- 
ley. Agent, Central Wharf.— The leading and largest 
coastwise steamship line, making Boston its eastern 
terminus Is that of the Merchants and Miners Transportation Co., 
which was duly incorporated in 1858 by leading capitalists of Bos- 
ton, Baltimore and Norfolk. The line has ever been ably managed 
and a public spirited policy has characterized its operations, its 
fleet being composed of some of the fastest, strongest and most 
seaworthy iron steamships afloat. The line is equally popular for 
passengers and on every trip there is a long list inward and 
outward from Boston. The annually incrsasing travel to the 
southern states can find no such comfortable and pleasant a route 
as this, which takes passengers direct via the Atlantic Ocean and 
Chesapeake Bay to Norfolk, Baltimore and by connecting river 
steamer direct to Washington. The fare is nmcli lower than by 
rail, being only nine dollars first-class to Norfolk, and ten dollars 
first-class to Baltimore, including meals and berths, second-class 
tickets to above points are only seven dollars and also include 
meals and berth. The steamers connect with the splendid railroad 
systems of the south and west via Baltimore and Ohio Railroad 
from Baltimore, and Norfolk and Western and Chesapeake and 
Ohio from Norfolk. There is sleeping car and palace car service 
to Cincinnati, Louisville, Memphis. Baton Rouge, New Orleans and 
West, The company's steamships make sure connections, and 
both going and returning offer most substantial inducenientstothe 
traveling public of New England and the British provinces. The 
company enjoys an enviable reputation for its successful and effi- 
cient service during the past thirty years and it has built up an 
enormous and steadily enlarging traffic. It now has a fleet of ten 
first-class steamsliips of which the following are devoted to the 
regular tri-weekly passenger service between Boston and Norfolk 
and Baltimore: "Chatham," 2,800 tons, captain, F. M. Howes; "U. 
H. Miller," 2,296 tons, captain, J. C.Taylor; "Berkshire," 2,300 
tons, captain, J. S. March, Jr.; and "Allegheny," 2,300 tons, cap- 
tain, D. P. W. Parker. These ships have large and roomy saloons 
and cabins, elegantly furnished, light and airy state-rooms, and 
every convenience and accommodation for first and second-class 
passengers. They are the equal of any steamships afloat as regards 
coastwise Atlantic service, are under the commands of able, exper- 
ienced captains and have had immunity alike from accident and 
detention. The public cannot do better than travel by this line 
when bound south on business or pleasure, and thus secure the 
invigorating breezes and pleasure of an ocean voyage, instead of 
the cramped seats or stuffed berths of the cars on the dusty and 
tedious railroad route from New England to Virginia. The com- 
pany's officers are, George J. Appold, of Baltimore, president, 
and Henry A. Whitney, of Boston, vice-president. Both are 
possessed of vast practical experience, and manifest marked 
executive ability in the management of the line. The Bos- 
ton agent is Mr. George E. Smalley, who has energetically and 
efficiently represented the company here for four years past, he is 
a popular member of Boston's business circles, and is a genial and 
courteous representative of the Company, of whom all information 
can be obtained as to rates, time of sailing, length of voyage, con- 
nections, etc. The company has largely contributed to the pros- 
perity of Boston and has opened the most direct and popular route 
for shipments of iron, cotton and tobacco from the south, and of 
New Eugland maimfactured goods from the east. 

BOYCE BROTHERS, Wholesale and Retail Dealers in Furni- 
ture, Carpets, Etc., No. 739 Washington Street.— There is 
no branch of industry in which such rapid progress and 
improvement have been made in recent years, as in the 
production of artistic household furniture and upholstery goods. 
One of the oldest established and representative houses in Boston 
actively engaged in this important trade is that of Messrs. Boyce 
Brothers, wholesale and retail dealers. No. 739 Washington Street. 
This business was established in 1848 by Boyce Brothers and 
Squire, and after some changes in the firm, in 18fi2 Messrs. C. 
B. and Wm. Boyce succeeded to the management under the style 
and title of Boyce Brothers. The salesrooms of the firm are spa- 
cious, and are fully stocked with a superior assortment of parlor, 
library, dining-room, drawing-room, hall, chamber and kitchen 
furniture, carpets, mirrors, bedding, upholstery goods, etc. The spe- 



cialty of the house is fashionable furniture, much of which is 
made from mahogany, cherry, French walnut, rosewood and 
ebony, which, from the finenessof grain and richness of color main- 
tain always such a fine finish. The upholsterers of this popular 
house are the admiration of experts, the richest stuffs of all de- 
sirable shades and textures being used. In the carpet depart- 
ment, the firm keep constantly in stock the latest p.atterns in Wil- 
tons, body Brussels, velvets, tapestries, ingrains, also oil cloths, 
linoleum, mats and matting, all quoted at extremely low prices. 
Messrs. Boyce Brothers promptly furnish estimates for furnishing 
completely all sizes of houses and fiats, and guarantee entire sat- 
isfaction to patrons. They sell either for cash or on the install- 
ment plan, which latter method permits those of moderate cir- 
cumstances to obtain what they want for housekeeping safely and. 
easily. Messrs. C. B. and Wm. Boyce are natives of Vermont, but 
have resided in Boston since boyhood. They are highly esteemed 
by the comnuinity for their enterprise and just methods, and are 
among Boston's substantial .and public-spirited citizens. 

BARNES & CUNNINGHAM, Bankers and Brokers. Offices: 
No. 60 StateStreet.— Among the solid financial houses of Bos- 
ton, and recognized as a leading representative firm of bank- 
ers and brokers is that of Messrs. Barnes and Cunningham. 
The partners, Mr. W. Howard Barnes and Mr. Stanley Cunninghata 
are very widely and favorably known in financial circles, and are 
valued factors in promoting the importance of Boston as an active- 
market for tlie purchase and sale of all descriptions of securities. 
The business was established in 1878 by Messrs. Barnes, McBirney 
& Co., succeeded in 1883 by the present firm. Mr. Barnes is an ac- 
tive member of the Boston Stock Exchange, while Mr' Cunning- 
ham is a member of the New York Stock Exchange. The house 
by this double connection affords unexcelled facilities to its 
customers for the filling of all orders direct on the floors of the 
two leading exchanges on the continent. The firm transact a gen- 
eral business as bankers and brokers, receiving deposits and al- 
lowing interest on daily balances; buying and selling on commis- 
sion, for cash or on margin, all descriptions of stocks, bonds, and 
miscellaneous securities, making a specialty of those listed on the 
Boston and New York Exchanges. Their connections are infiuen- 
tial and wide-spread ; they have the most perfect facilities for the 
receipt of the earliest information as to the course of the market,, 
having in their offices the tickers of the Boston and New York 
Exchanges, also a private wire direct to New York, Philadelphia 
and Chicago. They number among their customers leading cap- 
italists and operators, and have carried through to a successful is- 
sue many important transactions. No firm offers better facilities 
to corporations for the placing of their bonds, and none have a 
more enviable reputation with the public as to sales of remunera- 
tive and safe investment securities. Messrs. Barnes & Cunning- 
ham are prominent and popular In the leading financial and 
social circles of Boston, New York and elsewhere. 

TAMARACK MINING COMPANY, No. 246 Washington Street- 
— This representative and successful copper mining corpor- 
ation was duly incorporated under the laws of Michigan in 
1882, and has a capital stock of $1,260,000 in 50,000 shares of 
$25 each, 40,000 shares issued, 10,000 shares in the treasury. The 
following gentlemen are the officers and directors: President,. 
Joseph W. Clark ; Secretary and treasurer, A. S. Bigelow. Direc- 
tors, John N. Denison, Franklin Fairbanks, Joseph W. Clark, 
Nathaniel Thayer, Edward S. Grew, George F. Bemis, and John 
D.aniell, of Michigan. The result of last year's mining relative 
to cost, has never before been equalled by any copper mine 
in the world. The promise made by the management of 
producing copper at a cost of six cents a pound has been real- 
ized. The company owns 1,160 acres of rich copper lands and last 
year its mine yielded 10,389,867 pounds of refined copper for which 
it realized $1,-148,943.88. The works of the Tamarack Mining Com- 
pany are equal in all modern appliances and machinery to any- 
thing in the United States or Europe. This extensive property i& 
now held by the company without debt or incumbrance, and is 
now paying dividends at the rate of $20 per share annually. The 
officers and directors are able business men, and experts in mining 
matters. The company's Boston office is centrally located at 
No. 246 Washington Street. 



THE METROPOLIS OF NEW ENGLAND. 



175- 



BROWN, RILEY & CO., Bankers and Brokers, Nos. 9 Congress 
Street, and 4 Congress Square.— One of the best known 
representative houses wliieh has materially contributed to 
the importance and stability of the Huston stock and money 
markets is that of Messrs. Brown, Kiley & Co., of No. 9 ,Congre.ss 
Street, and No. 4 Congress Square. Messrs. A. L. Brown and W. J. 
Kiley formed the existing copartnership in 1S73 and have developed 
a trade of great magnitude, coupled with a wide-spread, influential 
connection. They transact a general business as bankers and 
brokers, deposits are received, and interest allowed on balances; 
collections are made and exchange bought and sold. The tlrm 
make a specialty of the purchase and sale on commission for cash 
or margin, of all securities dealt in at the Boston and New York 
Stock Exchange including petroleum; also cotton futures and 
spot cotton, grain, lard, pork, etc. They enjoy unsurpassed facili- 
ties, bringing to bear ample resources, vast practical experiences 
and influential connections. Mr. Brown is an active member both 
of the Boston Stock Exchange and the New York Stock Exchange; 
while Mr. Riley is a member of the Boston Stock Exchange, and of 
the New York Cotton Exchange. The latter connection affords un- 
usual opportunities to Boston capitalists for direct dealings and 
quick turns in the cotton market. The firm have a private wire to 
New Y'ork, their correspondents there being Messes. Edward 
Sweet & Co., of Broad Street. They have elegantly fitted up and 
most centrally located offices with every convenience for custo- 
mers, and receive the earliest accurate information as to the course 
of the market. They number among their customers leading capi- 
talists and operators of this city and New England, and have con- 
ducted several of the most important movements in this market. 
Both gentleman have ever extended a hearty and valued support 
to all measures best calculated to advance the welfare and pros- 
perity of the Boston Stock Excliange, and rank among the most 
conservative houses, whose advice and judgment can at all times 
be relied on, so that their extensive business is the result of the 
exercise of legitimate commercial principles based on sterling in- 
tegrity and the highest order of executive ability. 

RH. EDDY, Former Associates and now Successors, W. H. 
.Singleton and S. N. Piper, Solicitor of Patents, No. 76State 
J Street.— The first regular solicitor to appear before the 
United States Patent office in behalfof an inventor, was Mr. 
R. H. Eddy, whoesl.ablished himself in the practice of his^rofession 
In Boston in 1832. He steadily and successfully followed the prac- 
tice of patent law until his death, which occurred in May, 1887. 
The business has since been continued by Mr. W. H. Singleton, 
Counsellor-at-lavv, and Mr. S. N. Piper, meelianical expert, former 
associates of Mr. Eddy and now his successors, at No. 76 State 
Street, in this city, with an office also in the St Cloud Building, 
opposite the Patent office, Washington, D. C. Mr. Singleton had 
been the Washington correspondent for Mr. Eddy for many years, 
and still resides in th.at city .and personally attends to the business 
of this office before the Bureau of Patents. His reputation has 
long been firmly established as an able, scientific and successful 
solicitor, and as a clear-headed, reliable counsellor in patent 
causes. No attorney is better known at the Patent Officp, and 
none can secure fairer treatment or more prompt consideration of 
their cases. Mr. Piper had been .an assistant in Mr. Eddy's office 
since 1865, and is now the resident manager of the business in this 
city. He is an experienced solicitor of patents, accomplished and 
practical as a mechanical expert, and his papers, filed in the in- 
terest of his clients, are models of accuracy, wisdom and perfect 
understanding of the case in hand, The f.acilities here possessed 
for securing patents are unsurpassed by those of any office in the 
country. The practice here relates to the preparation and prose- 
cution of applications for patents, including the making out of 
specifications, drawings, caveats, assignments, reissues, designs, 
trade marks, labels and copyrights ; the m.aking of preliminary 
examinations .as to the patentability of an invention, and to exam- 
inations as to the scope and validity of patents; to cases in inter- 
ference, upon appeal and before the courts, and to every other 
item of service necessary to the complete success of the applica- 
tion down to the time the patent is granted and issued by the com- 
missioner of patents, and patents are also procured in all foreign 
countries for citizens here. Messrs. Singleton and Piper are both 
gentlemen of thehigliest personal integrity. 



A PORTER, Optician, No. 333 Washington Street.— 
Among the well-known and prominent opticians in 
J this city there are none more thoroughly compe- 
tent than Mr A. Porter, whose experience extends 
over forty years in the profession, and in 1871 he estab- 
lished business on his own account, fully conversant and 
equipped in every particular, and familiar with all the details con- 
nected therein. He occupies a vei'y handsome store 30x40 feet 
in area, at No. 333 Wasliington Street, and keeps in stock a gen- 
eral assortment of all kinds of spectacles, and eye-glasses and 
optical goods. Mr. Porter is highly recommended for his skill and 
knowledge as an optician, and he is very careful with oculists' 
prescriptions which are correctly set and every attention is given, 
to all orders. Spectacles and eye-glasses are manufactured in the 
very best manner, and in fitting glasses to suit the sight of the eye, 
he is probably tlie most practical expert in the city. Particular atten- 
tion is given to repairing spectacles, eye-glasses, opera-glasses and 
optical goods generally, and everything coming from the establish- 
ment is fully guaranteed to be as represented. Two skilled assis- 
tants are employed and those who have dealings witli Mr. Porter, 
will not only receive the very best class of goods and satisfactory 
work but manifest advantages in prices. He is a native of tlie 
state of New Hampshire, where he was born about sixty-five years 
ago. He however has passed most of his life in this city where he lias 
not only become well known as one of the best among the leading 
opticians, but is held in high esteem in professional and in social 
circles. 

JF. AMSDEN&SON.Bankers, No. .W Congress Street. —One of 
the most favorably known.substantial and enterprising firms 
^ of bankers in the city of Boston, is that of Messrs. J. F. Ains- 
den & Son, whose handsome offices are centrally located at 
No. SOCongress Street. This business was established twelve years 
ago by Mr. J. F. Amsden, who admitted his son, Mr. H. F Amsden, 
into partnership. This house has long held an honorable position in 
financial circles, and numbers among its permanent customers 
many wealthy capitalists, operators, and Investors. Messrs. J. F. 
Amsden & Son transact a general banking business, receiving de- 
posits subject to check at sight, making collections on all available 
points, and acting as correspondents for a number of banks and 
bankers. As brokers, they promptly fill all orders for the purchase 
or sale of all stocks, bonds. Government and miscellaneous securi- 
ties as listed on the Boston and New York Stock Exchanges, strictly 
on commission. They likewise make a specialty of the purchase 
of municipal bonds, western mortgages and other dividend-paying 
securities. Mr. H. F. Amsden represents the house on the floor or 
the Boston Stock Exchange. Their correspondents in New York 
are Messrs. H. L. Horton & Co. Both partners are highly regarded 
in fln.ancial life for their integrity, promptness and .ability, as 
well as social worth, and have made themselves prominent in a 
field of monetary business of the greatest importance to all who 
desire a good and safe income with absolute security for their In- 
vestments. 

FRANCIS H. LINCOLN, Real Estate and Insurance, No. 60- 
Devonshire Street.— Mr. Francis H. Lincoln, the well-known 
real estate broker .and insurance agent, is a prominent citi- 
zen of Hingham, Mass., his native town, and opened his 
office in this city in 1873. He has proven his thorough knowledge 
of the various details embraced in real estate and insurance, and 
gives his attention to the purchase, sale and renting of prop- 
erties, both improved and unimproved, in the city and country; 
collects rents, manages estates, and negotiates loans on bond and 
mortgage. Special attention is given to flre insurance, and Mr. 
Lincoln is especially prominent as agent for the Hingham Mutual 
Fire Insurance Co. for Boston and vicinity. This company was 
incorporated in 1826. and its sixty-second annual statement, made 
April 1, 1888, shows the following facts and figures, viz: amount at 
risk. $23,751.7.'i3.00; cash assets. $.'?44,993.76 : liabilities, 8186,002.37;, 
surplus over liabilities. $l.'i8.991.39. Seventy thousand dollars in 
dividends have been paid b.ack to policy-holders the past year. 
Mr. Lincoln is also prepared to place the largest risks in any of 
the desirable companies, quoting the lowest rates of premium, and 
guaranteeing a prompt and liberal adjustment of all losses. Mr. 
Lincoln is highly esteemed in insurance circles. 



176 



ILLUSTRATED BOSTON. 



BROWN, DeLORIEA & CO., Commission Mercliants, and 
Dealers in Butter, Cheese, Eggs, Etc., Nos. 89 and 91 Soutli 
Marlcet Street, and No. 60 Commerce Street.— Among the 
most active and enterprising firms of produce commission 
mercliants in Boston is that of iMessrs. Brown, DeLoriea & Co. 
whose establishment is so centrally located at Nos. 89 and 91 
South Market Street, and No. 60 Commerce Street. The business 
was foundedinl880bytlie present proprietors, Messrs. A. C. Brown 
and J. F. DeLoriea. They brought to bear perfected facilities, 
ample resources and wide experience. Every element essential 
to the advancement of the interests of consigners and the public 
has been controlled by this popular house, and whose trade is en- 
larging at such a rapid ratio. The premises occupied are un- 
usually extensive, comprising five floors each 25x100 feet, and 
suitably fitted up for trade purposes. They aie direct and regular 
receivers of staple lines of produce, including the choicest of 
western and New York State creamery and dairy butter; New 
York and Western cheese, fresh eggs, peas, beans, dried apples 
and peaches, lard, etc., etc. The firm offer substantial induce- 
ments to buyers, growers and shippers all over the country, and 
handle the largest consignments quickly, rendering prompt ac- 
count sales. Their selling trade is heavy and one of a very desira- 
ble character, as they cater to the leading houses of Boston and 
all the cities and towns of New England. The copartners are 
very widely and favorably known. Mr. Brown is a native of 
Winslow, Maine, and has been a permanent resident of Boston for 
twenty-three years past. He is an active member of tlie Chamber 
of Commerce, and a popular member of the trade; so is Mr. De- 
Loriea, who was born in Woburn, Mass., and tliough a young man 
is old in experience. He also is a popular member of the Chamber 
-of Commerce. 

BS. MOULTON & CO., Art Gallery, Engravings, Water Colors, 
Etchings, Paintings, Etc., No. 42 Hanover Street.— For 
J strictly high class works of art, engravings, paintings, 
water colors, etchings, etc., we strongly recommend an 
appreciative public to inspect the magnificent display in the art 
gallery of Messrs. B. S. Moulton & Co., so centrally located at No. 
42 Hanover Street, near the American House. The business was 
established about twenty years, by Mr. B. S. Moulton, a gentleman 
who both by tastes, direct practical experience and skill was quali- 
fied to cater to the wants of the public in this branch of trade. He 
has had his gallery in its present location for fifteen years. It Is 
28x110 feet, handsomely furnished and fully stocked with the high- 
est class of steel engravings, water colors and oil paintings by 
artists of renown ; etchings, photographs and art goods. There is 
here the widest range forselection while the prices are remarkably 
reasonable. Mr. Moulton has a large picture frame depot and 
gilding room up-stairs. and is prepared to promptly fill all orders 
for any style of frame ; old frames are also here regilt in tlie high- 
est style of the art, and at moderate prices. Mr. Moulton does a 
heavy trade in Boston and all over New England, also has many 
customers in nearly every section of the Union. He has even filled 
orders from as far away as Buenos Ayres, and those living at a 
distance, seeking adornments for the house, cannot do better than 
communicate with Mr. Moulton, who has all the facilities and the 
ability to suit them. He employs nine salesmen and assistants, 
and is doing one of the finest trades in this line in Boston. He is 
an honorable business man, and is a worthy member of art circles 

STORY & STEVENS, Wholesale and Commission Dealers in 
Fresli and Frozen Fish, Nos. 35 and 36 Commercial Wharf 
—Boston justly feels a sense of pride in her wholesale fisli 
trade, the most prominent and extensive of any in the 
United States, and which reflects such credit on the leading 
houses engaged therein. There is none more representative than 
that of Messrs. Story and Stevens, of Nos. 35 and .36 Commercial 
Wharf. They deal in fresh and frozen fish at wholesale and re- 
tail, and started in business about ten years ago, bringing to bear 
the widest range of practical experience, perfected facilities and 
nifluential connections. From the start they offered to the trade 
superior qualities of carefully selected fresh and frozen fish, and 
have always made a specialty of the famous Phillips beach cod, 
pronounced the finest in the world by competent experts. The 
demand for this catch of cod is always active, and the firm's facil- 



ities are taxed to the utmost. They occupy most centrally located 
and admirably fitted up premises at Nos. 35 and 36 Commercial 
Wharf, where they are daily receivers of all fish in season, includ- 
ing Phillips beach cod, halibut, herring, mackerel, smelts, sal- 
mon, blue fish, etc. They also handle lake and southern fish, and 
are prepared to promptly lill the largest orders. They sell all 
through Boston and suburbs, Massachusetts, Connecticut, New 
York City and State. Philadelphia, etc , and offer substantial in- 
ducements to proprietors of fish markets to place orders here. They 
handle and ship several tons of fish a day, and are authorities in 
the market. Both partners are natives of Rockport, Mass , and 
have long been identified with the wholesale fish trade of Boston. 
Their policy is an equitable one. They have ever retained the 
confidence of leading commercial circles, and are worthy of the 
large measure of success attending their ably directed efforts. 

WHITON, BROTHER & CO., Agents tor the Woodberry Cot- 
ton Duck Mills, Nos. 91 and 93 Commercial Street.— 
Prominent among the great manufacturing establish- 
ments of tlie United States, which liave by permanently 
locating a branch in Boston, added so materially to the city's in- 
fluence as a source of supply, are the Woodbury Cotton Duck Mills, 
of which Messrs. Wliiton, Brother & Co., Nos. 91 and 93 Commercial 
Street, are the popular agents. This agency was established 
originally in 1830 by A. Fearing & Co., who were succeeded in 1835 
by Fearing, Tliatcher & Whiton. In 1861 Mr. Whiton retired and 
organized the present firm of Whiton, Brotlier & Co. The present 
partners are Messrs. E. J. Whiton and Walton Hall, both of whom 
became members of the firm in 1879 on the death of Mr. L. C. 
Whiton. The Woodberry Cotton Duck Mills are situated in Balti- 
more, Md. They are among the largest and best equipped in the 
country, and one-third of tlieir product is handled by the Boston 
agents, Messrs. Whiton, Brother & Co. The firm occupy spacious 
premises and always keep in stock full supplies of the famous 
Woodberry Cotton Duck, which is absolutely unriv.alled for quality, 
dur.ability, strength, finish and excellence, and has no superior in 
the American or European markets. They give special attention to 
packing the cotton duck in waterproof packages for export, and 
promptly fill all orders at the lowest possible prices and their trade 
now extends not only throughout the United States and Can,ada,but 
also to Europe, South America, India, China and Australia. Mr. 
Whiton \fa.s born in Boston, while Mr. Hail is a native of Marsh- 
field, Mass. They are popular members of the Cotton Duck Deal- 
ers' Association, and are highly esteemed in trade circles for their 
enterprise and integrity, and are accounted among Boston's public 
spirited citizens. 

CASWELL, LIVERMORE & CO., Wholesale Dealers in Smoked, 
Salt and Pickled Fish; Store, Snow's Arch Wharf; Nos. 
416 to 428 Atlantic Avenue; Smoked Fish Works, Wales 
Wharf.— One of the oldest established and most important 
concerns in the wholesale fish trade of Boston is that of Messrs. 
Caswell, Livermore & Company, of Nos. 416 to 428 Atlantic Avenue 
(Snow's Arch Wharf). The extensive business conducted here 
was founded nearly sixty years ago by James Perkins, and after 
various firm changes, in 18S0, Messrs. Caswell, Livermore & Com- 
pany bought out the heirs of K. and S. A. Freeman, actively con- 
tinuing the trade, and making a specialty of high grade smoked 
fish of their own preparation. Mr, G. K. Livermore retired in 1887, 
and since then Mr. A. S. Caswell has actively carried on the busi- 
ness and with marked success. He is a native of Maine, and a 
practical man, having from boyhood been identified with the cur- 
ing and smoking of fish. His premises here are extensive, com- 
prising three floors, 90x100 feet each, and large smoke house at- 
tached, where French cod, mackerel, herring, salmon, halibut, etc., 
are smoked, boned <and packed upon the most approved methods. 
Upw.ards of twenty-five hands are employed, and the product is in 
constantly growing demand both witli the New England and ship- 
ping tr.ade. Mr. Caswell deals in full lines of salt and pickled 
fish, and offer substantial inducements both as to price and 
quality, and his is the only house here dealing in French cod fish, 
in which they have a large trade. It is to such ably and honorably 
conducted houses as these that Boston owes her supremacy in the 
wholesale trade in salt and smoked fish, and Mr. Caswell, Is tp 
be congratulated upon the success rewarding his efforts. 



THE METROPOLIS OF NEW ENGLAND. 



177 



Wl'. PHILLIPS, Manufacturer of Lubricators, Boiler 
Trimmings and General Brass Work; No. 71 Sudbury 
J Street.— In the vitally important lines of lubricators 
for steam engines, shafting, etc., and in the manufac- 
ture of tlie best grades of improved steam users' supplies, 
Mr. W. P. Phillips, of 
Boston, has achieved a na- 
tional reputation. He 
started in business upon 
his own account about six 
years ago and is developing 
a large trade in steam 
users' supplies, and in his 
specialties of great magni- 
tude. His lubricators are 
tlie best in tlie world, rem- 
edying the inherentdefects 
of old style methods for 
the bearings of high speed 
engines, continuous service 
and providing automatic 
and perfected methods that 
have secured the heartiest 
er.dorsement of steam 
users. Mr. Pliillips has a 
large and fully equipped 
machine shop largely de- 
voted to the manufacture 
of the best class of brass 
fittings and various lines 
of steam users' supplies- 
One of his prominent speci- 
alties is an improved water 
gauge, of which large num- 
bers are now in use. It is 
a vast improvement over 
old style gauges, and cou- 




VP PHjLiii 
■Mi> 




pies the easiest and most securely of any 
in the world. To all interested in the 
best type of boiler trimmings— and no- 
where are they so needful and such a 
safeguard as in the boiler room— send 
to Mr. Phillips for his elegant illustrated 
circular describing his various devices. 
Mr. Phillips is unremitting ni his attention to business and gives 
conscientious care to accurate filling of all orders. He has 
a deservedly high reputation with builders and engineers. 

EYELET TOOL CO., G. W. Robbins, Agent, No. 40 Lincoln 
Street.— The founder of this concern, Mr. G. W. Robbins, is 
an old, well-known, popular Bostonian, who was born in this 
city in 1816. His business career has been an extended one. 
In 1840 he established a music and umbrella store on Court Street, 
and continued this until he founded his present enterprise, the 
manufacture of tools, in 1861. The enterprise has been attended 
by the most marked success, and the premises now in use have 
been occupied since 1878. The workshop has an area of 28x100 feet, 
and is equipped with all necessary steam power machinery and 
other appliances, while constant employment is afforded to from 
six to eight skilled artisans. The tools made here include eyelet 
punch and set combined, 8-inch eyelet set, paper punch, burr 
set, drive or belt punch, sample tubes for spring punches, 8-inch 
spring punch, 6-incli and other sizes of spring punches, etc. 
These tools are regarded as standard goods in the trade, because 
of their being always in working condition and thoroughly re- 
liable. The house has a fine business connectionvvith all sections 
of the United States, and has an excellent financial standing. 



FG. BARNES & SON, Auctioneers, Real Estate, Mortgage and 
Insurance Brokers, No. 27 State Street.— This lirni liave 
J long been prominent botli as auctioneers, real estate, 
mortgage and insurance brokers, and have largely con- 
tributed to the development of the real estate interests of 
the city and its suburbs. Tlie business was originally es- 
tablished in 1857, by Mr. F. G. Barnes, the present style 
being adopted in 1874. The founder of the business died May 31, 
1888, the son continuing the business under the same firm name. 
Mr. Barnes conducts an extensive real estate business in all its 
branches; buying, sellnig, renting and exchanging properties of 
all kinds; negotiating loans on bond and mortgage, taking the 
entire management of estates, collecting rents, and selling private 
city and country property at auction. He has made the study of 
real estate a specialty, and can be engaged with implicit confi- 
dence in all matters pertaining thereto. He handles a class of 
houses and lots in Newton and other suburban towns, such as the 
average buyer wants, either for a home or investment. He is also 
prepared to place insurance risks in any of the leading con\panies, 
securing payment for all losses promptly and without litigation, 
and quoting the lowest rates of premium. By the careful and able 
manner in which he conducts his iiffairs, Mr. Barnes has estab- 
lished a reputation and developed a clientele in this city and else- 
where that assures his continued success and permanent pros- 
perity. He is a Massachusetts man by birth and training. 

FJ. O'HARA & CO., Wholesale and Commission Dealers In 
Fresh Fish and Lobsters, Oysters, Clams, Etc., Nos. 112 
, and 116 Atlantic Avenue.~A representative house in its 
special line of trade, is thutof F. J.O'Hara&Co., the well- 
known wholesale and connnission dealers in fresh fish and lob- 
sters, cod liver oil for medicinal purposes, oysters, clams, etc 
This house is one of tlie largest of its kind in the city, and has been 
in successful operation since 1877. Mr O'Hara, the active mem- 
ber of the firm, is a merchant of large experience and established 
reputation, and has long enjoyed a national reputation in the sale 
of live and boiled lobsters, fresh fish, oysters and clams. He occu- 
pies two spacious and commodious stores, thoroughly equipped in 
every particular. The trade is carried on at both wholesale and 
retail, and orders are filled with the utmost despatch, coming from 
all parts of the United States. As a commission merchant, Mr. 
O'll.ara has a wide and infiuential connection with fishermen along 
the coast, and is daily in receipt of the choicest lobsters, fish, 
oysters and clams to be found in this market, while quick sales and 
prompt returns are the invariable rule with this establishment. 
Employment is furnished to twelve skilled and expert hands. Mr. 
O'Hara has resided in Boston since his boyliood. 

ARCHER & PANCOAST MANUFACTURING CO., Gas Fix- 
tures, Warren D. Kinny, Manager ; No. 12 West Street.— In 
1880 this widely known company opened an establishment 
in Boston, located at No. 12 West Street. This house is 
under the experienced management of Mr. Warren D. Kinny, who 
has been connected with the company in New York for a number 
of years, and succeeded to the control of this establishment in 
October, 1887. He is intimately conversant with every require- 
ment of the public in this direction of trade, and has proved him- 
self eminently popular and successful in meeting promptly all its 
demands. The spacious show rooms at tlie above address are 
models of elegance, taste and beauty, the goods shown making a 
magnificent display, and forming one of the most attractive fea- 
tures of this fashionable thoroughfare. Here can be seen all that 
inventive genius and mechanical skill have been able to produce 
in the way of artistic illuminating apparatus, while the assortment 
of fine metal work is unsurpassed in the city. Tliis house has fitted 
up with gas fixtures and electric light apparatus some ofihe larg- 
est and finest public edifices in this section of the country. Hun- 
dreds of Boston's palatial private residences and extensive com- 
mercial buildings also bear evidence of their artistic products. It 
is such concerns as the Archer & Pancoast Manufacturing Com- 
pany that are the acknowledged exponents of our capacity and 
enterprise as a manufacturing and commercial centre, and there 
is none more deserving of special mention. Mr. Kinny, the man- 
ager, has made many friends in this city by his promptness and 
reliable business policy. 



ILLUSTRATED BOSTON. 



THE GREAT ATLANTIC AND PACIFIC TEA COMPANY, 
Importers, Coffee Boasters and Retailers ol Teas and 
Coffees, No. 92 Court Street, and Five Branch Stores.— Tlie 
people of the United St.ates are under great obligations to 
the spirited and honorable policy of The Great Atlantic and 
Pacific Tea Company, the largest concern of its kind in the world 
and the pioneer in importing direct for the benefit of retail custo- 
mers. The company import teas and coffees by the ship load, and 
holding in great warehouses in New York and Boston millions of 
pounds of the choicest fresh crop teas and select coffees in order 
to meet the wants of its hundreds of thousands of consumers, and 
who are served in the company's chain of 2flO branch stores. The 
first store was opened in Boston in 1875 and there are now four 
others in this city and one in Clielsea so great has been the in- 
crease of trade. The headquarters for the enormous business done 
in Boston and New England is at No. 92 Court Street, where is a 
splendid store and salesroom, .30x81) feet in dimensions, fitted up in 
most elaborate manner. Here are a series of mannnoth pictures 
illustrating the growing of teas and coffees, etc. There is every 
modern convenience here, including the cash railway system, two 
large coffee grinders run by a gas engine, etc. A large staff of 
experienced and courteous clerks are employed and the store is 
thronged with customers. On a Saturday night the stores of The 
Great Atlantic & Pacific Tea Co. are brilliant with light and full of 
the bustle and activity incident to thousands purchasing their 
weekly supplies of te,as. coffees, sugars, etc. The company's inter- 
ests have been rapidly advanced in Boston and New England and 
the public have come to realize that nowhere can such pure choice 
and fresh teas and coffees be purchased at such remarkably low 
prices as in The Great Atlantic and Pacific Tea Co.'s chain of stores 
and the location of which are as follows: Heiidquarters, No. 92 
Court Street. Branches, No. 20 Eliot Street, and No. 1078 Tremont 
Street; No. 292 Broadway, Chelsea; No. 109 Meridian Street, East 
Boston; No. 305 West Broadway, South Boston. 

GEO. B. APPLETON & CO., Importers and Dealers in Cutlery, 
Fancy Hardware, Skates and Fishing Tackle, No. 304 Wash- 
ington Street.— The most progressive firm engaged in the im- 
portation and sale of cutlery, leather goods, fancy hardware, 
fishing tackle and skates, in this city,-is that of Messrs. Geo. B. 
Appleton & Co. Their methods, character and quality of stock 
bear no comparison with the average dealer in this line. Every 
class in the community finds it pleasant and profitable to buy here, 
where is carried the finest assortment in this line in town. The 
business of this enterprising house w.as originally established Jan- 
uary 1, 1883, by Messrs. Appleton & Litchfield, who were succeeded 
by the present firm on November 15, 1887. The store is spacious 
and attractive, and the proprietors bring to bear ample resources 
and perfected facilities in collecting together from the four corners 
of the earth such a bewildering, yet charming display of the 
unique and the useful, the novel and the beautiful, in the lines of 
cutlery, fancy hardware, fishing tackle, etc. The stock embraces 
the products of the most celebrated makers both in Europe and 
America. In cutlery the assortments include the best ivory 
handled knives, forks, carvers, slicers, steels, knife-rests, spoons 
of solid silver and heaviest electro-plate ; also, beautiful sets of 
knives, forks and spoons in satin-lined cases, admirably suited for 
wedding and holiday presents. In fancy hardware Messrs. Apple- 
ton & Co. show one of the largest and most serviceable varieties 
in America, while as regards fishing tackle the assortment is un- 
equalled anywhere for material, design and novelty. It is simply 
impossible to particularize, or to attempt an enumeration of the 
goods in stock. It is safe to say they keep everything. The 
copartners, Messrs. Geo. B. Appleton and Charles Z. Bassett, are 
both natives of Boston and gentlemen of large experience, emi- 
nent business ability and strict integrity. 

JW. TUTTLE & SONS, Wholesale Commission Merchants 
for the sale of all kinds of Country Produce, Nos. 16 and 18 
J Clinton Street.— An honorable and successful career of 
forty-five years has given the house of Messrs. J. W. Tuttle 
& Sons, the well-known wholesale commission merchants, a high 
standing in the great thoroughfares of trade. The business was 
founded in 1843, by Mr. J. W. Tuttle. In 1S48 Mr. Geo. W. Tuttle 
was admitted to partnership, followed in 1874 by the admission of 



Mr. Charles Jones and in 1875 by the admission of Mr. Chas. H. 
Tuttle, and in 1883 Mr. Herbert A. Tuttle, who had been connected 
with the house five years, also became a member of the firm. The 
founder of the house retired from active business in 1885, and the 
remaining partners have since continued the enterprise under the 
present firm name. These gentlemen are recognized as merchants 
of wide and mature experience; tiioroughly posteil in all the wants 
and requirements of the commission interest, and as among the 
most [active and efficient trade representatives of Boston. They 
command all the advantages naturally accumulated by long years 
of identification with a particular industry, and are in a position 
to render the most valuable service to such as commit their inter- 
ests to their care. The lines handled embrace butter, cheese and 
eggs, beans, apples and potatoes, poultry, fresh meat and dressed 
hogs, maple sugar and syrup, and all kinds of country produce. 
The populous and fertile section of which this city is the centre 
gives her great importance as a point of distribution for these prod- 
ucts, and the commission merchant and dealer is the recognized 
medium through which such goods are placed upon the market 
Every facility and convenience is at hand here for the transaction 
of a large and active trade. Consignments are received daily in 
vast quantities, fresh from the hands of the producer, and are dis- 
posed of without delay, the highest prices being invariably 
obtained, and remittances are promptly made. A large and com- 
plete stock is always kept on hand, from which orders are filled 
with the utmost satisfaction. The house is responsible in every 
way, and can be relied upon implicitly. The copartners are all 
Massachusetts men, born and bred, members of the Chamber ot 
Commerce and the Fruit and Produce Exchange, and highly 
esteemed in social, business and financial circles. 

JDOOLING, Caterer and Confectioner, Nos. 11 and 13 Temple 
Place.— The business of the caterer and confectioner is an 
^ important one and is well represented by Mr. J. Dooling 
who has had many years' practical experience aud enjoys 
the distinction of being one of the most proficient in the city. He 
has been established in the business since 1861 and was formerly 
on Washington Street — south end— but during tlie past four years 
he has occupied the very eligible and commodious premises at 
Nos. 11-13 Temple Place which have dimensions of 30x90 feet and 
are attractively fitted up in modern style with ornamental fixtures, 
plate glass cases and marble tile flooring. Mr. Dooling furnishes 
parties, weddings and dinners with all the delicacies and dainties, 
fancy cake, ices and ice cream and confections of every kind and 
also table ornaments and personally looks after all orders himself. 
His establishment is well equipped for meeting all demands 
promptly and he numbers among his patrons many of the leading 
families in the city and vicinity and throughout the New England 
States. Lunches, dainties and delicacies are furnished to the 
public and patrons in the commodious saloon parlors adjoining the 
store and ladies and gentlemen will find here a great variety from 
which to make a selection of something delicious and appetizing. 
Mr. Dooling was born and brought up in this city and is one of the 
most expert and we may say " prince of caterers" whose skill in 
preparing tempting dishes and choice confections is not surpassed 
by any other in Boston. 

ROBERT JUDGE, Merchant Tailor, Boylston Building, Wash- 
ington and Boylston Streets.— The merchant tailoring trade 
has many and able representatives in Boston but none 
better known or more jiopular than the gentleman whose 
name appears in the above heading. Mr. Judge is a native of 
Boston where he early served his apprenticeship and became an 
expert tailor. As far back as 1860 he began business for himself 
and in the interval has built up an enviable reputation and 
secured the substantial regard of the local trade. The present 
premises which liave been occupied for the past four years are 
very desirably located in the Boylston building, Washington and 
Boylston Streets. In the attractive salesroom is .shown a carefully 
selected line ot imported and domestic suitings, trouserings, over- 
coatings, etc., which are made up in the highest degree ot artistic 
and mechanical excellence by a corps of experienced tailors. 
Mr. Judge counts among his many patrons some of the leading 
society and business men of the town and is generally respected 
as one of the ablest city exponents of his art. 



THE METROPOLIS OF NEW ENGLAND. 



179 



JF. BUMSTEAD & CO., Importers o£ Paper Hangings ami 
Textile Fabrics for Interior Decoration, No. 148 Tremoiit 
, .Street and Nos. 40 and 46 West Street.— By far the oldest 
established in its line, and one of the oldest in New Eng- 
land is the famous house of Messrs. .J, F. Bumstead & Co., tlie 
leading importers and dealers in high art paper hangings. The 
business was founded by the late Mr. Josiah Bumstead, grand- 
father of the present proprietor, in 1790. It was the pioneer and 
exponent of the most advanced skill of old world manufacturers, 
and continued ever in the van of progress. About 1830, Mr. Bum- 
stead took his son, Mr. Josiah F. Bumstead, into copartnership 
under the style of J. Bumstead & Son. the junior partner being 
tlie father of the present proprietor. In 1845 Mr. Josiah Bumstead 
retired, and In 1859 Mr. J. F. Bumstead formed a copartnership 
with Mr. N. Willis Bumstead, his .son, under the existing n.ime 
and style of .1. F. Bumstead & Co. The lamented decease of the 
senior partner occurred in 1868, since which date Mr. N. Willis 
Bumstead has remained sole proprietor. The concern's original 
location was in Cornhill, later on having been rcnmved to the 
site of the present Herald building on Washington Street. In 1845 
it was removed to the large store corner of Spring Lane and Wash- 
ington Street. Steady growth of trade necessitated further 
enlargement and in 1868 they removed to their present splendid 
premises on Tremont and West Streets, having an area of 30 feet 
by 100 by 60. extending through an L into West Street. Mr. N. 
Willis Bumstead is the leading authority on foreign and the best 
of domestic paperhangings and also on curtains, and the rich and 
beautiful textile fabrics used for interior decorations. Here he 
carries the largest, most elaborate and artistic stock of paper- 
hangings in tlie city; lie is an expert in regard to .shades and 
effects, and to the patterns which will best serve the purposes of 
harmonious designs in household decoration. In rich draperies he 
is in regular receipt of the latest novelties, and from this innnense 
stock the most exacting taste can be satisfied and secure shades 
and patterns of papers and fabrics adapted to any of the numer- 
ous styles of interior decorative treatment. He numbers among 
his customers the leading families of Boston and New England. 
Mr. Bumstead was born in Boston and is a veteran officer of the 
war of the rebellion, having gone to tlie front as captain of the 
Forty-Fifth Massachusetts volunteers, gallantly leading them dur- 
ing numerous battles and engagements throughout the war- He 
is a director of the Louisville, EvansviUe and St. Louis Railroad; 
and of the Pueblo Reftniugand Smelting Company, ever ably and 
faithfully discharging the onerous duties thus devolving upon 
him. 

JL. BROCKWAY & CO., Wholesale Grocers, Country Produce, 
Etc., No. 29 Norman Street. Branches: Harv.ard Square, 
^ Brookline, and No.350 Broadway, Chelsea.— One of the most 
popular, ably conducted and largely patronized firms of 
wholesale grocers in Boston and suburbs is that of Messrs. J. L. 
Brockway & Co., with main warehouse at No. 29 Norman Street. 
The business was established about twenty years ago by Mr. J. L. 
Brockway who brings to bear perfected facilities, influential con- 
nections and the widest range of practical experience. In his ex- 
tensive Norman Street establishment he carries a heavy and com- 
prehensive stock of staple and fancy groceries, including the choic- 
est of teas and colTees,puie sugars, spices and condiments, all far- 
inaceous products, and the most desirable stock of canned goods 
in Boston. This is demonstrated by reference to the brands, being 
those only of old established responsible packers. Messrs. Brock- 
w.ay & Co. are direct receivers of country produce, including choic- 
est creamery butter, high gr,ade cheese, strictly fresh eggs, and 
choice cured hams, b,acon, etc. So great became the demand for 
the firm's superior lines of groceries and produce that to meet it 
Mr. Brockway in 1879 opened a large retail branch at No. 350 
Broadway, Chelsea, and in 1885, a still more extensive establish- 
ment in Harvard Square, Brookline. Both places are under able 
management, and afford to the residents of those sections, unri- 
valled and duly appreciated opportunities tor the purchase of the 
best and purest food products in the market. Mr. Brockway's 
laudable ambition is to excel in quality and reasonable prices, and 
his heavy and constantly growing trade all over New England 
shows how ably and satisfactorily he is purveying to the wants of 
the public. 



JL. HAMMETT, Dealer in School Furniture and Scliool Ap- 
paratus, No. 24 Cornhill.— Mr. Hammett established this 
I business twenty-four years ago in Brattle Street, and 
eventually in 1871 removed to his present convenient prem- 
ises. He occupies a commodious five-story building and two 
floors of the adjacent warehouse. These are completely stocked 
with a well selected and valuable .assortment of school furniture 
and apparatus, blackboards, maps, charts, globes, slates and 
school supplies, also Bradley's kindergarten gifts and occupation 
m.aterial. He handles only the finest and most reliable gr.ades of 
goods, while his prices in all cases are as reasonable ,as those of 
any other first-class house in the trade. The businftss is both 
wliolesale and retail, extending not only throughout all sections 
of the United States and Canada, but also to Turkey, China, In- 
dia, Japan, Ceylon and S,andwich Islands, in which countries Mr. 
Hammett supplies a number of missionary stations. Mr. Ham- 
mett is the New England agent for the Albemarle Sl.ate Pencil 
Company, Va., and the Hyatt Slate Company, Bethlehem, Penna., 
manufacturers of superior school slates and slate black-boards. 
The proprietor is a native of Rhode Island, but has resided in 
Boston for the last twenty-seven years. There is no better author- 
ity on school furniture and supplies than Mr. Hammett, and- those 
of our readers who enter into business relations with him, can 
always rely on securing advantages in goods and prices not ob- 
tainable elsewhere. Mr. Hammett issues annually a very superior 
illustrated catalogue and price list of school furniture and appa- 
ratus. 

PATTERSON <Si LAVENDER, Manufacturers of Show Cases, 
Counters, Desks, Etc., Nos. 43 and 45 Cornhill Street.— The 
most justly celebrated manufacturers in the United States 
of high class show cases, store and office counters, desks, 
and fixtures are Messrs. Patterson & Lavender. The extensive 
business conducted here is very old established, having been 
founded upwards of thirty yearsagoby the present proprietors, Mr. 
J. Patterson and Mr. S. Lavender. They early developed an active 
trade, since developed to proportions of great magnitude, and 
bring to bear special qualifications including marked skill and 
originality: vast practical experience, coupled with perfect facil- 
ities and influential connections. Their factory is situated in 
Roxbury, and is of large size, equipped with the latest improved 
machinery and appliances, and where an average force of from 
twenty to thirty skilled cabinet-makers are steadily employed. 
The firm are the designers and manufacturers of the most stylish 
and elaborate show cases in the market, among the woods used 
being black walnut, mahogany, cherry, ebony, rosewood, etc., etc. 
All work is guaranteed, while the trimmings, plating, glass, etc., 
are strictly first-class. They also make all popular styles of 
counters, desks and fixtures, and enjoy the perfect facilities, that 
enable them to promptly fill the largest and most difficult orders 
for the fitting up of stores and offices. Many of the finest estab- 
lishments in Washington and Tremont Streets have secured their 
outfit here, while their customers are found in every cityand 
town throughout New England and here and there all over the 
United States. The firm occupy an entire five-story and basement 
building, 30x40 feet in dimensions, as warerooms and office. 

LBEEBE & CO., Cotton, No. 9 Merchants Row.— This busi- 
ness was established forty years ago by Mr. L. Beebe who 
J eventually .admitted his sons Messrs. Cyrus G. and Fred- 
eric Beebe into partnership, the firm being known by 
the style and title of L. Beebe & Co. In 1884 Mr. L. Beebe, the 
founder died after an honorable and successful career, the business, 
however, is still conducted by his sons under the old firm name. 
Both partners are recognized authorities relative to the qualities 
and grades of all kinds of cotton and a test by them is always suffi- 
cient to definitely determine the value of any particular lot. They 
buy largely in the South, and make liberal advances on con- 
signments, and at the same time always secure the highest market 
quotations, while the firm have ever been noted for their prompt- 
ness in making returns. Messrs. L. Beebe & Co. own and oper.ate 
cotton mills in Taunton and Fall River, Mass., where they manu- 
facture print cloths. They supply several of the Largest New Eng- 
land mills with cotton. Both Messrs. Cyrus <;. and Fred K. Beebe 
are natives of Boston. 



180 



ILLUSTRATED BOSTON. 



J WHITNEY BEALS, Jr., Timber Land Investments, No. 4 
Post Office Square, Room No. 15.— The great and Rrowing 
^ importance of tlie product of tlie forest, as a commercial 
factor, together with the steady and materially increasing 
demand therefor, imparts to the timber lands of the United States 
a peculiar interest. Especially so as a field of financial invest- 
ment. And right here it may be observed, that there are few, if 
any, features of realty tliat offer more certain or substantial re- 
turns for capital ; and none, toward which the shrewd and saga- 
cious investor is so steadily leaning, as to timber lands located in 
the south and southwest. The sales of Alabama and Mississippi 
timber lands in Boston are conducted on an extensive scale, while 
the transactions afford evidence of constant and notable increase 
annually ; and in this connection special mention ought here to 
made of J. Whitney Beals, Jr., with office at No. 4 Post Office Square 
(Room No. 15), who carries an extensive and very desirable line of 
investment property of the kind referred to, and none engaged 
in this particular sphere of activity in tliis city is more widely 
or honorably known, or enjoys a larger measure of public favor and 
confidence. Mr. Beals, who also has a branch office in Chicago, 
(No. 195 La Salle Street,) is agent for and dealer in Alabama and 
Mississippi timber lands of which he has for sale upwards of 500,- 
OOO acres ; and does a large and active business, numbering among 
his clientage some of the most solid citizens in the community. 
He has been engaged in this line some three years, and by strict 
integrity, energy and sagacity has built up the excellent patronage 
he deservedly enjoys. Mr. Beals, who is a young man, and a na- 
tive of this city, is well and favorably known alike, in commercial 
and social life, and is a member of the old Beals' family, whose 
name has long been associated with the Boston Post. 

BANGS & HORTON, Agents for the Lehigh and Wilkes-barre 
Coal Co., Maryland Coal Co., and Despard Gas Coal Co., No. 
60 Cougress Street, Howe Building.— The excellent position 
of Boston as regards ecouomical transportation facilities, 
render it the most convenient distributing point in New England, 
for that Important element in the commercial and manufacturing 
greatness of the country— coal. In this connection special refer- 
ence is made to the old established and reliable firm of Messrs. 
Bangs & Horton, No 60 Congress Street, agents for the Lehigh 
and Wilkes-barre Coal C:o.,Maryland Coal Co.. and the Despard Gas 
Coal Co. This agency was established a quarter of a century 
ago by Messrs. Geo. P. Bangs & Chas P. Horton: the present 
members of the firm being George P. Bangs, Charles P. Horton 
and Bobt. C. Heaton. The firm have superior facilities for the 
prompt delivery of the above-named companies' coals in cargo lots, 
shipments being made direct from Philadelphia, Baltimore, Port 
Johnston, etc. They also have packets at Mystic Wharf, Charles- 
town, and Boston and Maine Wharf, Somerville, with facilities for 
storage and the delivery of coal in car load lots or greater quanti- 
ties to manufacturers and dealers on the lines of the eastern and 
western and Lowell divisions of the Boston and Maine railroad. 
The prices quoted are always regulated by the market. All coals 
handled by Messrs. Bangs & Horton are extremely rich in the ele- 
ments producing the most intense heat andcomplete combustion,and 
are universally recognized as of very superior quality, beinggreat 
favorites with manufacturers, railroad companies and dealers. They 
are guaranteed to maintain in every respect the highest standard of 
excellence as regards care in their preparation for the market, com- 
jug as they do from some of the best equipped collieries in America. 
Messrs. Bangs & Horton are natives of Boston, while Mr. Heaton 
was born in Philadelphia. The partners are highly regarded in 
business circles for their promptness and integrity, and their pat- 
ronage now extends throughout the principal cities of New Eng- 
land. 

SIMPSON BROTHERS. Asphalt Floors, Concrete Walks and 
Driveways; Offices, No. 22 Milk Street.— The famous Swiss 
and French rock asphalts have manifested their superiority 
to all other materials for smooth, hard, dry, fire and water 
proof floors and linings that have rapidly come into use all 
over the United States, and to a very great extent in Boston and 
New England, where the public is so appreciative of the most im- 
proved and reliable materials and methods. It was in 1870 that 
Messrs. Frederick and James Simpson commenced the importation 



and application of Neuchatel and Seyssel rock asphalt. They 
early developed a lively trade, as the merits of these natural as- 
phalts became known to owners, architects and buihlers, and have 
filled large orders for leading citizens and corporations all over 
Boston and New England. They carry a heavy stock of the pure 
rock asphalt specially intended for their trade, and employ up- 
ward of forty skilled hands in the work of preparation and appli- 
cation. It is specially popular for the floors of basements, kitch- 
ens, laundries, stables, water-closets, dwelling-houses, cellars, 
breweries, manufactories, warehouses, hospitals, courtyards, 
walks, driveways, etc ,— in fact any and every place where a hard, 
smooth, clean, dry, fire and water proof, odorless and durable cov- 
ering is required in basement or upper stories, laid either ovev 
cement, concrete, brick or wood, in one sheet without seams; it is 
also the best coating for roofs. As a sanitary agent nothing is so 
valuable as this impervious rock asphalt, which permanently 
excludes all d.ampness, odors, malarious exhalations and ver- 
min. As a material for public and private driveways, walks, 
plazas, squares, etc., it is unquestionably far superior to any other 
article in the world, and has long been so recognized by architects 
and engineers. The firm use only the natural rock asphalt, free 
flom coal tar and all artificial substances ; it hardens immedi- 
ately, and is ready for use within a few hours after being laid. 
Messrs. Simpson Brothers are prepared to promptly estimate for 
the covering of any surface, large or small, and refer to work 
done in the largest buildings in Boston, including Institute of 
Technology, Wells Memorial Institute, Harvard Medical School, 
Bay State and Standard Sugar Refineries, Masonic Temple, Young's 
Hotel, Mutual Insurance Building, United States Hotel, Boston Ad- 
vertiser Building,and many others toonumerous to mention. Work 
has also been done for F. L. Ames, H. H. Hunnewell, and others. 
Those contemplating building operations or repairs should investi- 
gate the superiority of natural rock .asphalt, samples of which will 
be shown and prices quoted at the firm's office, No. 22 Milk Street, 
while work in use can be readily seen in almost every quarter of 
the city. The Messrs. Simpson are members of the Master 
Builders' Exchange, and of the Mechanics' Exchange. 

COLLINS & CO., Real Estate Agents and Agents for the Florida 
Fruit and Investment Comp,any, No. 15 Kilby Street.— The 
consumption of fruit grows ai)ace with the ever increasing 
population, and the demand for southern fruit in all parts of 
the country has developed fruit growing into a very profitable busi- 
ness, and opens the way for the lucrative investment of capital. 
Facilities for this are afforded by the Florida Fruit and Investment 
Company, of Mayfleld, Alachua County, Florida, through its 
agents, Messrs. Collins & Co., the well known real estate firm of 
No. 15 Kilby Street, Boston. This company was incorporated un- 
der the laws of New Hampshire, and its president is Dr. J. A. Mc- 
Donald, No. 116 Main Street, Charlestown, Mass., and the treasurer 
is Mr. G. H. Sutherland, of Gainesville, Florida. The company has 
a capital of $100,000. and its purpose is to raise on a scientific plan, 
fruits for which Florida has become famous. They have 640 acres 
of land at Mayfleld, five miles northwest of Gainesville, and 
through this the line of the Florida, Savannah and Western Kail- 
road runs. The company's land is very fertile, and fertilizers of 
only known merit are used, and a class of fruits are to be raised, 
such as oranges, peaches, pears, plumbs, persimmons, grapes, etc- 
as will mature in rapid succession so as to secure continuous crops 
of fruits from early spring until the oranges are marketed in 
November, December and January. The cost of maturing an acre 
of trees to four years old and having everything in the best work- 
ing condition is $200, and the value of each acre will then be $1,000. 
while in ten years' time the value will be 82,000, thus paying lOO 
per cent, yearly on the outlay. Fifty-thousand fruit trees have 
already been planted. The company's stock is issued at a 
par value of $50 per share, the first payment being $20, the 
balance being spread over two or three years. A profitable 
field of enterprise is here offered to investors, who can obtain the 
most detailed information from Messrs. Collins & Co. They con 
duct a general real estate business, buying and selling, exchanging 
and leasing properties in town and country, collecting rents, nego- 
tiating loans, and taking management of estates. Mr. W. P. Col" 
lins, the head of the firm, is a native of New York State and has 
resided in Boston for the past eighteen years. 



THE METROPOLIS OF NEW ENGLAND. 



181 



WS. HIXON & CO., Manufacturers of Soapstone, No. 14 
Marshall Street.— The old soapstone works of W. S. 
J Hixon & Co., manufacturers of soapstone articles of 
every description, has long maintained a hold on pop- 
ular favor throughout the country, owing to tlie general excel- 
lence of its productions. The goods turned out in this widely 
known concern are of a very superior character, being all hand 
m.ade and first-class in everyfeatureof merit— in design, workman- 
sliip, finish and durability— and, as a consequence, are in steady 
and extensive demand in the trade all over tlie United States. 
Tliis thriving enterprise was established in 1860 by 0. W. Gushing 
& Co., who conducted it up to about five yeai s ago, wlien they were 
succeeded by the piesent piopuetois who hne snice carriedon 




the business with uninterrupted success. The works and ware- 
rooms occupy commodious and well equipped premises, ample 
manufacturing and storage facilities being at hand, while sixteen 
skilled workmen are employed. The productions include sinks 
and wash trays, register and funnel stones, griddles, fire places 
and soapstone stoves : also soapstone slabs and in short, every- 
thing that can be manufactured from soapstone, a large and first- 
class assortment being constantly carried on hand, and, alto- 
gether, the firm does a flourishing Inisiness. Mr. Hixon, who Is the 
sole proprietor, was born in New York State, and has resided In this 
city some twenty-two years. He is a man of experience, energy 
and skill in this line, and is thoroughly conversant with the bus! 
ness in all its branches. 

JOSEPH W. HOMER, Real Estate Broker, No27 KllbyStreet, 
and No. 24 Exchange Place.— Among the young representative 
real estate and insurance brokers in this community, there 
are none more prominent than Mr. ,Joseph W. Homer, who is 
well-known in business circles, and enjoys a wide reputation for 
promptness .and reliability In his transactions. He has been est.ab- 
lishedin the business the past seven years, and has a large influential 
connection in this city and vicinity, numbering among his clients 
many of the substantial citizens. He is familiar with the valuation 
of real estate in this section, and during his business career has 
been conspicuous as a broker in many of the operations that have 
been going on. Mr. Homer also makes a leading specialty of the 
negotiations of mortgage loans, and effects insurance In tlie lead- 
ing substantial companies at the lowest ratesof premium. He is a 
native Bostonian and a gentleman of experience, high standing and 
popularity. 

AS. MITCHELL, Auctioneer and Appraiser, Real Estate and 
Mortgages, No. 113 Devonshire Street (RoomSI).— Of the 
_ many successful real estate brokers that have come to the 
front in this city of recent years, few have been more 
fortunate i est.abllshing a reputation for integrity and reliability 
than Mr. A. S. Mitchell, who is a native and a respected resident of 
the historic town of Lexington, Mass., where he fills the office of 
constable with cftlelency. He is a gentleman of entire probity in his 
dealings, and is thoroughly conversant with everything connected 
with the handling, transfer and management of realty. Mr. 
Mitchell h.as been actively engaged in this line since 188.'!, and from 
the first he has enjoyed a very flattering measure of merited recog- 



nition, numbering among his clientele some of the solid citizens of 
Boston .and environs. Mr. Mitchell, whose office is at No. 113 
Devonshire Street (Room 51), conducts a gener.al real estate busi- 
ness, buying, selling and exchanging city and country property of 
all kinds on commission, and gives personal attention .also to the 
collection of rents and the care of estates, real estate sales at 
auction being a specialty, and loans are negotiated likewise, and 
investments judiciously placed, while Insurance Is effected In first- 
class fire companies .at the lowest rates compatible with absolute 
security. 

GEO. A. KENDALL, Feathers and Mattresses, Curled Hair 
Ticking, Etc., No 14 Friend Street.— The attention that h,as 
been directed of late years to the production of mattresses 
and bedding of every description in this country has 
developed the fact that American skill and inventive genius are 
quite as successful in this branch of enterprise as they have proved 
in many others. Of the marked improvement made In this depart- 
ment of Industrial .activity no more convincing proof is to be found 
in the city of Boston than by visiting the esUibllshinent of Mr. 
Geo. A. Kendall, the well-known manufacturer and dealer in 
feathers and mattresses, curled hair, ticking, etc., located at No. 
14 Friend Street. The enterprising proprietor h.as been eng.aged 
in the business since 1870. .and established his present house in 
January, 1887 He occupies four floors, 30x120 feet e.acli, and pos- 
sesses the best possible facilities tor conducting the enterprise 
under the most favorable conditions and upon tlie largest scale. 
The methods of manufacture in vogue are the most enterprising 
and progressive character, resulting in the production of a class 
of specialties that are rarely equalled in this country embracing 
utility, reliability, elegance and uniform excellence. The house 
bears the nnniistak,able marksof judicious and conscientious man- 
agement, and exercises an Influence that extends f.ar beyond the 
limits of this city, Its trade being broadly distributed throughout 
New England and New York, and annually increasing in volume 
and value. A force of fifteen skilled hands contribute to the satis- 
factory operations of the hou.se, while .all the details of the business 
are conducted under the personal supervision of the proprietor, 
thus Insuring to the trade only such products as will withstand 
the most critical tests, both as regards materials used in their 
construction and the workmanship employed. A splendid stock 
is constantly carried, and orders are filled with promptness and 
care in all cases. Mr. Kend.all is a native of Boston, a pr.actic.al 
leader In his line of trade, and occupying a position in the busi- 
ness circles of this city only accorded to those whose operations 
are conducted on the enduring principles of equity and honorable 
dealings. 

BEALS & CO.. Wholesale Dealers and Exporters of All Kindsof 
Leather Remnants, and Manufacturers of Leather Shoe Laces 
and Sheep Skins: Boston Oftice: Nos. 31 and33.?outh Street.— 
Among the many flourishing industries developed by the v.ost 
growth of the boot and shoe interests In the United States during 
the past quarter of a century, not the least important is the 
branch devoted to the production of leather shoe laces and 
kindred articles for the trade. Engaged in this line are some 
really noteworthy firms, the oldest and Largest of which Is that of 
Beals & Co., wholesale dealers In all kindsof leather remnants, 
and manufacturers of leather shoe laces, whose Boston office and 
salesroom are located at Nos. 31 and 33 South Street, with factory 
within ten miles from Boston, and whose business extends through- 
out the entire country This enterprising and widely known firm 
was established twenty years .ago, and they operate a commodious, 
well equipped factory, and employ a large force of hands, and 
in 1873 opened an oflice in thisclty, on Federal Street, whence they 
subsequently moved to No. 59 South Street, occupying the present 
commodious quarters since 1885. They occupy here a 30x100 foot 
floor and carry constantly on hand an extensive and first-class as- 
sortment of leather remnants and shoe laces ; all orders being 
promptly and reliably attended to, and the trade of the firm, which 
extends to all parts of the United States, besides h.aving a large ex- 
port trade to foreign countries, is large and active. Messrs. J. M. 
Beals and, J. O. Guild, who compose the firm, are both men of energy 
enterprise and practical skill in this line, and are thoroughly con- 
versant with the wants of the trade. 



182 



ILLUSTRATED BOSTON. 



AM. BATES, Dealer in Carriages, Harness and Sleiglis 
Kos. 25 and '27 Haverhill Street.— The leading head- 
quarters in Boston for carriages, harness, sleighs, 
blankets, and robes of all kinds, is the establisliment of 
Mr. A. M. Bates. This is one of the widely known and justly 
famous business houses that have added so much to the name and 
fame of this city, both at home and abroad, as a great commercial 
centre. It has been in successful operation since 18152, and well 
deserves the title of "leader of the trade. ' Mr. Bates deals very 
extensively at boti wholesale and retail, in both new and second- 
hand carriages and kindred articles, and also sells on commission. 
His large double building, four stories high and 60x80 feet in 
dimensions, is completely filled at all times with a class of vehicles 
suited to the requiremeuts of all sorts and conditions of buyers. 
A general line of Hne carriages for pleasure and family use is 
noticed, besides sleighs of new and original designs; carriages in 
many styles, shapes and patterns, from an ordinary no-top road 
wagon to an elegantly finished coach, besides coupes, victorias, 
landaus, phaetons, rockaways, etc., while a leading specialty is 
made of the Tindiin spring carriages, which are unexcelled in this 
or any other mai-ket for strength, lightness, durability, ease of 
draft and elegance of finish. The line of harness is also worthy 
of the attention of close and careful buyers, being kept up to the 
highest standard of excellence, and are placed upon the market 
at prices which are safe from successful competition. The trade 
of this responsible house is large and influential not only through- 
out the entire United States, but also in Africa, South America 
and other foreign countries. Mr. Bates is a native of Sutton, Mass. 

JOHN N. ROBERTS, Collateral Banking Rooms, No. 666 Wash- 
ington Street.— One of the prominent and well-known city 
business men in his important branch of commercial activ- 
ity is Mr. John N. Roberts, proprietorof the collateral bank- 
ing rooms at No. 666 Washington Street. Mr. Roberts has been 
engaged in his present enterprise since 1868, eleven years at the 
present site— and in the interval has reared what may well be 
termed a representative business in his line. The commodious 
and attractive business offices are fitted up in bank style and 
all requisite facilities are supplied for the advantageous 
prosecution of the enterprise. A general collateral banking 
business is done, money being advanced upon bonds, mortgages 
and other collateral security, funds are also placed by the same 
methods, care being exercised to insure the customer a safe as 
well as profitable investment. Mr. Roberts by his sound financial 
Judgment and upright, honorable dealing has won the substantial 
regard of local capitalists and investors generally and secured a 
clientele which distinguishes him as one of the foremost exponents 
of his line of business in his native town. 

HARRISON ALDRICH &C0.. Wholesalers and Jobbers in Eggs. 
Butter and Cheese, Nos. 208 State and 47 Commerce Streets. 
—Among the most enterprising and popular commission 
merchants and wholesale dealers in eggs, butter and 
cheese in this city is the firm of Messrs. Harrison Aldrich & Co. 
The business was originally established in 1879 by Mr. Harrison 
Aldrich, and in 1887 Mr. Charles B. Osgood was admitted to part- 
nership. The business premises comprise a fine six-story building, 
25x100 feet in dimensions, fronting on both State and Commerce 
Streets, supplied with every modern facility for the preservation 
of perishable articles and for the convenient handling of the large 
and valuable stock here carried. This firm are possessed of every 
qualification for the business, including vast practical experience, 
influential connections and perfected facilities. Consignments of 
goods are arriving daily from the dairies of Vermont and the best 
producing sections of New England, and the most substantial in- 
ducements are offered to shippers, including quick sales at highest 
rates and prompt returns. It has become fully recognized among 
shippers, jobbers and leading retailers that this flrm deliver the 
choicest butter, cheese and eggs in prime condition, and readily 
command the highest market prices. Their egg department is 
well worth a visit, where many egg-chandlers are constantly em- 
ployed in examining and assorting eggs. The credit of the house 
is Al in the trade, ample capital being employed therein. Mr. 
Aldrich is a native of Vermont, while Mr. Osgood was born in 
Boston, Mass. 



CHAS. E. KAMES, Druggist and Apothecary, No. 396 Hanover 
Street.— The popular establishment of Mr. Chas. E. Eames, 
the well-known druggist and apothecary is probably the 
oldest of the kind in the city and as we have been reliably 
informed its foundation dates back over a hundred years. It has 
been under the control of Mr. Eames since 1871 and conducted 
hy him with rare tact, skill and ability. The store is of ample 
dimensions and the interior fittings and fixtures are of a character 
which reflects the greatest credit upon the taste of the proprietor. 
Drugs and chemicals and proprietary preparations of the highest 
standard quality are kept in stock also a great variety of toilet 
articles and all the specialties pertaining to the business. Mr. 
Eames is a practical apothecary and peculiarly well qualified 
to compound and disjiense medicines and exercises that intelligent 
care necessary and requisite in this special department. He em- 
ploys two skilled assistants who are under his immediate super- 
vision and every attention is given to filling physicians' prescrip- 
tions and difficult formulas. A native of Wakefield in this state 
Mr. Eames has lived in Boston many years and is held in high esti- 
mation in professional and social circles as an accomplished drug- 
gist and apothecary, and as a useful popular citizen. 

EF. RITZ, Photographic Artist, No. 58 Temple Place.— In no 
department of the arts are the improvements of the past 
quarter century so conspicuous as in photography and one 
need only contrast the exquisite productions of our mod- 
ern artists with the crude portraiture in vogue even twenty years 
since to fully comprehend the great progress that has been made 
in this direction. In this connection as a leading and representa- 
tive Boston photo-artist is mentioned the gentleman whose name 
appears in the caption of this sketch. Mr. E. F. Ritz, was born In 
Sweden, although has lived nearly all his life In this country. At an 
early age he served his time and acquired the degree of knowledge 
then attainable in his profession, and in 1866 opened a photographic 
establishment in Boston with a copartner under the flrm name of 
Ritz & Hastings, and thus continued for many years, building up 
in the meantime a reputation for superior work, second to none in 
his profession. Since 1884, Mr. Ritz lias been alone, and for a like 
period has occupied the present eligible site at No. 58 Temple 
Place. The premises consist of two floors, one fitted up in the 
most sumptuous and tasteful style, and occupied as a reception 
parlor— while above are the operating and ante-rooms. The stu- 
dio is supplied with all the newest and best improved photographic 
methods and appliances; several experienced assistants are em- 
ployed and everything pertaining to modern portraiture is exe- 
cuted in the highest degree of artistic and mechanical excellence. 
Mr. Ritz counts among his numerous patronage the high class 
town and suburban custom and has long been reflected as a lead 
ing and prominent city photo-artist whose success is but a just 
tribute to his indefatigable and able efforts in its promotion. 

BARRELLE & CO., Auctioneers, Real Estate, Collection and 
Business Agents, No. 1,57 Washington Street.— In reviewing 
the real estate and kindred interests of Boston and envi- 
rons, more than passing notice should be given the popular 
and responsible flrm of Barielle & Co., auctioneers, real estate, 
collection and business agents, who numbers among its extensive 
clientele some of the most solid citizens aad wealthy property 
owners in the community. A general real estate business is trans- 
acted, city and suburban property of every description, improved 
and unimproved, being handled on commission, while rents are 
collected and est.ates judiciously managed also; special attention 
being given sales at auction, leasing and business chances. Loans 
are effected and mortgages negotiated likewise, while investments 
are desirably placed also; In short, everything appertaining to 
the purchase, sale and transfer of realty is attended to in the most 
reliable and satisfactory manner. Mr. T. W. Barrelle, who is the 
sole member, is a gentleman of middle age, and a native of this 
state, having his residence now at South Framingham. He Is a 
capable and experienced attorney-at-law and was formerly en- 
gaged in the practice of law in Iowa. Returning to Boston In 1873, 
he established himself in his profession here, and devoted his at- 
tention exclusively to the same for about three years, when he 
added the real estate business in which he has been signally suc- 
cessful from the first. 



THE METROPOLIS OF NEW ENGLAND. 



18g 



AMERICAN MANUFACTURING COMPANY, Manufacturers 
of the Allen Fertilizer and Beddine, Robert C. Wiggin, 
General Agent, No. 19 Exchange Place.— A representative 
house in Boston, engaged in the manufacture of fertilizers, 
etc., is that known as American Manufacturing Company, whose 
office is located at No. 19 Exchange Place. This business was es- 
tablished in 1884 by Mr. L. Allen, and eventually was duly incor- 
porated in 1885 with a capital stock of $200,000. The works of the 
company which are spacious and fully equipped with the latest 
improved machinery, apparatus and appliances, are situated at 
Westville, N. H. The company makes a specialty of manu- 
facturing the Allen fertilizer, a complete high grade fertilizer 
for all crops, also the Allen special fertilizers lor potatoes and 
corn, and Allen's top dressing and lawn dressing. They also 
deal in nitrate soda, sulphate annnonia, ammonia, muriate 
potash, dried blood, etc., at the lowest market prices, compounded 
from the very best chemicals, and prepared with the greatest 
care and with the most improved machinery. The Allen fertil- 
izer will be found to be rich in all the elements of plant food in 
an available form, and the chemical analysis .appears upon 
eacii package and the percentages of ammonia, phosphoric acid 
and potash contained in this fertilizer are derived from the very 
best sources which supply these three great requisites for satis- 
factory crops. On most farms the success of the crop depends 
largely upon the yearly use of manures, audit is of the greatest un- 
portance that the distribution should be even. This is especially 
true of a manufactured fertilizer where the small amount used 
cannot be evenly applied unless it is in good mechanical condition. 
The Allen fertilizer is in the very best condition as to fineness and 
dryness, so that it will work to the very best advantage in the 
drill. In bulk the Allen fertilizer will be found to go much farther 
than any high grade fertilizer in the market. It is a general fer- 
tilizer for all crops, and it may be used in connection with stable 
manure or alone, and will be found to be a valuable help to the 
growth of crops throughout the season, since its fertilizing ingre- 
dients are in a soluble condition and are ready to act at once, and 
continue with the growth of the plant. The Allen fertilizer con- 
tains fifteen times the amount of available plant food contained in 
one ton of fresh stable manvire. A better crop of potatoes can be 
raised on a good fertilizer than on stable manure. The crop will , 
ripen earlier, will be free from disease, and will be of better quality. 
The Allen fertilizer for potatoes will give these results, as it con- 
tains not only the ammonia and phosphoric acid but a large per- 
centage of potash. The American Manufacturing Company has 
latterly introduced '• Beddine," a very superior article for bed- 
ding in stables, for horses, cows, etc. It is cheaper than straw 
and much better, and is packed in medium sized bales of 200 
pounds each being free in the bale and not hard, hence it is as 
available as straw. Beddine makes a soft and elastic bed, giving 
an easy bed to horses with sore feet. It absorbs all urine and will 
not burn, hence it is a safeguard against fire. When thoroughly 
used up it becomes a valuable fertilizer, containing from three to 
eight per cent, ammonia, making it worth to the farmer at least 
$10.00 per ton. The officers of this reliable company are highly 
esteemed in trade circles for their enterprise, energy and just 
methods, and their patronage now extends throughout the entire 
eastern and middle states, owing to the superiority, reliability and 
excellence of their productions, which are general favorites with 
farmers wherever introduced. 

BRUNSWICK-BALKECOLLENDER CO., Manufacturers of 
Billiard and Pool Tables, Nos.44 to 48 Hanover Street.— The 
world-wide renowned concern of the Brunswick-Balke-Col- 
lender Co. .which manufactures more billiard and pool tables 
than any other establishment on the face of the globe, had its be- 
ginning in 1860 at Cincmnati, when it was established by Brunswick 
Brothers. The firm afterwards became J. M. Brunswick & Co., and 
in 1872 this firm amalgamated with .Julius Balke of Cincinnati, who 
had then been in the business some years. The style was then 
changed to J. M. Brunswick & Balke Co. In the same year the con- 
cern consolidated with the Collender Manufacturing Co., of New- 
York, and then the present title of the Brunswick Balke-CoUender 
Co. was adopted. The company was incorporated in 1882 under the 
laws of Ohio with a capital stock of $1,500,000. Mr. John M. Bruns- 
wick died In 1886 at Cincinnati, and his interest in the business is 



represented by Mr. Ben ai. Brunswick. Since Mr. Pirunswick's 
death, Mr. H. W. Collender, of New York, has been the president, 
and Mr. A. F. Troescher, of New York, Secretary and Treasurer. 
The directors are Messrs. M. Bensinger and Leo Schmidt, ot 
Chicago. The company have factories in New York, Cincinnati, 
Chicago, St. Louis and San Fr,1ncisco, and branch establishments 
in Boston and all the principal cities in the country. They maim- 
facture billiard and pool tables, billiard merchandise of every de- 
scription, saloon fixtures and beer coolers, ten-pin alleys, office, 
bank and drug store fixtures, mirrors, bar tables, chairs, etc., in 
the production of which many hundreds of workmen are employed. 
The Boston branch was founded in 1882 and has proved eminently 
successful. The premises occupied here comprise a fine office 
and show room 40x60 feet in dimensions, and here a splendid 
showing is made of samples of tlie manufactures of the company. 
Through this branch the whole of the New England trade is con- 
trolled and the business is under the efficient management of Mr. 
Henry Beeny, Jr., who is a native of New York City. 

GA. WALKER MACHINE COMPANY, Manufacturers oC 
Band, Jig and Circular Saw Machinery. Cabinet Bench 
Vises. Etc., No. 35 Sudbury Street.— This concern was 
founded twenty-five years ago by the late Mr. G. A. 
Walker, and are making marked advances in the manu- 
facture of band, jig and circular machinery, cabinet bench 
vises, etc. Upon his decease in July. 1888. he was succeeded by the 
following: Messrs. I. S. Craig. S. K. Gould. J. P. Craig, C. G. Smith, 
and C. W. Brown, gentlemen who had previously carried on the 
work of manufacturing in Mr. Walker's shops, and who had 
become recognized authorities in every detail of pianoforte and 
general machinest work. They began operations as the G. A. 
Walker Machine Company, in September, 1888. and have retained 
the patronage and h ide-spread connections of the old concern. 
They have a first-class shop on Sudbury Street. 40.x60feet in dimen- 
sions, well equipped with lathes and other machinery, run by steam 
power, and where they carry in stock and are prepared to promptly 
manufacture to special order all styles and sizes of the most im- 
proved .and reliable hand, jig and circular saw machines. The 
reputation of the Walker sawing machinery is too well known to 
require comment here. They are not only in use in the leading 
and largest piano-forte shops ot New England, but have been in- 
troduced all over the United States, as also the improved cabinet 
bench vises. The company also executes general machine work 
of every description and is the representative in its line. Mr. 
Craig is a native of New Hampshire, Mr. Gould was born in Bos- 
ton, Mr. J. P. Craig in New Hampshire, Mr. Smith in Waltham, 
and Mr. Brown in New Hampshire, and they are all able and 
respected business men. 

LB. GATCOMB & CO.. Manufacturers of Banjos and Guitars, 
Music Publishers. Etc., No. 30 Hanover Street.— Very 
marked improvement has been effected in banjos of recent 
years, a degree of excellence akin to perfection having 
been attained by L. B. Gatcomb & Co.. manufacturer of banjos and 
guitars. The productions of this firm are articles of exceptional 
merit, being Al in every respect— in fullness and sweetness of tone, 
beauty of design, construction and finish— and for general excel- 
lence are unsurpassed by any instruments of the kind produced 
to-day in this country, as is amply attested by the steady and in- 
creasing demand that has grown up for them all over the United 
States. This enterpriping and widely known firm was established 
about five years ago, and the positive and permanent success that 
attended the venture from the start abundantly attests the super- 
iority of the instruments manufactured as well as the energy and 
ability displayed in the management of the business. The prem- 
ises occupied, including neat office, salesroom and factory, are 
commodious and well equipped in all respects, while eight or 
more expert hands are employed. The firm also publish and deal 
quite extensively in music and general musical merchandise, and 
are prepared to furnish anything in this line in the most prompt 
and satisfactory manner at lowest rates. Lessons are given on the 
banjo, guitar, etc.. by such competent and experienced instructors 
as Messrs. B. E. Shattuck and A. A. Babb; biinjos and banjo in- 
struction being specialties and their goods have always given 
satisfaction to customers. 



184 



ILLUSTRATED BOSTON. 



LABaN heath & CO., Importers & Manufacturing Opticians, 
No. 48 Hanover Street, Room 25.— One of the most valuable 
specialties liere manufactured is Heath's patent adjustable 
microscope, designed for tlie use of banlcers, botanists, miner- 
alogists, geologists, physicians, jewelers, miners, mechanics and 
otliers. This microscope has two double convex lenses, 1% inches in 
diameter, embracing a very large Held of vision ; handsomely nickel 
plated and embossed and having the patent adjustment of focus 
which admits of use at any angle. They are substantially built, 
neat in design, and e.asy of comprehension ; they can always be at 
hand and ready for immediate use ; their great simplicity prevent- 
ing them being put out of order except by extreme violence. 
They are admirably adapted for examining bank notes, engrav- 
ings, photographs, minerals, or any object wliere a high power is 
not required. The focus is easily adjusted to any point or angle, 
by simply opening or closing tlie frame. As an aid in detecting 
counterfeit money tliese microscopes are peculiarly adapted ; the 
lenses being of the correct power for tliat purpose, and the 
mechanism of tiie frames is such as to make tiiem exceedingly con- 
venient to use. The Practical Microscope, or No. 14, has two 
double convex lenses, each 1% inches in diameter, giving a large, 
clear field of vision, and magnifying 125 times. This microscope is 
intended to accommodate that large class of people who are de- 
sirous of possessing an instrument having a wide range of vision, 
easily managed, of good reliable power, and iit a moderate price. 
It will be found very useful in the various branches of trade and 
agriculture, in determining the qu,ality and composition of various 
articles, and detecting adulteration, while in solving the practical 
day wants of society this microscope is unrivalled. The Botanical 
Microscope, No. 16, lor botanists, mineralogists, geologists, physi- 
cians, jewelers and others, magnifies 20O times, and meets a want 
long felt by that large class of investigators who wish to possess a 
really good and reliable microscope at a moderate price. This in- 
strument has two double convex lenses, 1 5-16 inches in diameter, 
admitting of wide .application. Its portability admits of being car- 
ried in the pocket, and the botanist will find it an indispensable 
companion. The Vest Pocket Microscope, No. 18, meets a growing 
demand for a good pocket microscope, of high power, and afford- 
ing a large field of vision. It embraces all the qualities of a flrst- 
class microscope, and is simply invaluable to handlers of cloth and 
other text.le fabrics, being regarded as the best linen prover in the 
market. The Bankers' Microscope, No. 24, is used lor examining 
banl{ notes, engravings, photographs, etc. A great feature of tlris 
microscope is the large size of the lenses, giving a field of vision 
covering nearly the whole face of a bank note. It is also a very 
useful ornament for the parlor table, for exanuning photographs, 
engravings, paintings, etc. This firm are also especially well 
known as publishers of '• Heath's Infallible Government Counter, 
feit Detector at Sight," twenty-five years on the market and issued 
by authority from the U. S. Treasury Department, and the only re- 
liable text-book for the student who desires to become an expert in 
the art of detecting, at sight, counterfeit bank and treasury notes. 
A new set of plates, of both United States and National bank notes, 
from the original dies engraved at tlie United States Treasury De- 
partment, have been made expressly for this work. It is recog- 
nized as the most elegant and complete work of the kind ever be- 
fore offered to the world. Mr. Heath, the active member of the 
firm and moving spirit of this enterprise, eminent as an author, in- 
ventor and manufacturing optician, was born in the state of New 
Hampsliire. 

ROBERT M. DIAZ & CO., Importers and Wholesale Dealers 
in Cutlery and Fancy Hardware, No. 292 Washington 
Street.— The leading headquarters in this city for cutlery 
and fancy hardware is the establishment of Messrs. Robert 
M. Diaz & Co. This firm ■are widely prominent as wholesale deal 
ers and extensive importers of this class of goods, and have been 
established in the business here since 1882. They occupy spacious 
and attractive quarters in the very heart of the city, and possess 
unequalled facilities for conducting the business under the most 
favorable auspices. The firm is given a prestige in this special 
line of trade as the New England agents for the following cele- 
brated manufacturing concerns, viz: Ulster Knife Company. 
American pocket knives; J. Wlss & Son, shears, dental and tin- 
ners' snips, tailors' paper and pruning shears, straight and bent 



trimmers, ladies' and pocket scissors ; Jos. Barnard & Sons, pocket 
knives and scissors; Ben]. F. Badger, genuine Emerson razor 
strops; Medford Fancy Goods Company, dog collars; J. Russell 
Cutlery Company, table cutlery, etc. ; Tuck Manufacturing Com- 
pany, fine steel tools, knives and tempered springs ; Rogers Bros. 
Al silver plated ware; and, in addition to these goods, the firm 
also carry a full and complete line of Jona, Crookes & Son's pocket 
knives; Geo. Wostentohn & Son's and Joseph Rodgers & Son's 
pocket knives, razors, etc.; Wade & Butcher's, Frederick Rey- 
nolds' and Bengal razors, Engstrom's Swedish razors and hunting 
knives, and Robert Murphy's corkscrews and steel goods. The 
razors carried are of tlie firm's own importation, each of which is 
thoroughly tested before being sent out, and are fully warr,anted, 
besides barbers' shears and strops, toilet clippers, and all kinds of 
cutlery and fancy hardware, and a splendid line of dog collars. 
Fine goods are handled exclusively. The trade is immense and 
infiuential throughout New England and the west. Mr. Diaz, tlie 
active member of the firm, was born in Plymouth, Mass., was 
trained In tills line of business as a clerk for Messrs. Bradford & 
Anthony for a period of eighteen years. 

HINCKLEY BROS. & CO., Cordage, Chains, Anchors, Chand- 
lery and Stores, Nos. 56, 58 and 60 Commercial Street.— One 
of the oldest established and representative houses in 
Boston, extensively engaged in the sale of ship chandlery 
and stores, is that of Messrs. Hinckley Bros. & Co., whose office 
and store are located at Nos. 66 to 60 Commercial Street. This 
business was established in 1839 by Howland, Hinckley & Co., who 
were succeeded in 1866 by the present firm of Hinckley Bros. & Co. 
The copartners, Messrs. Gnstavus Ryder and S. B. and D. F. Hinck- 
ley have had great experience, and possess a thorough knowledge 
of the ship chandlery trade and the requirements of captains and 
ship owners. They have a well equipped oar factory at Claire, N. 
Y., where they employ forty skilled workmen. The Boston ware- 
house is a spacious four-story building 25x100 feet in area, fully 
supplied with every appliance and facility for the successful con- 
duct of their steadily increasing business. Messrs. Hinckley Bros. 
& Co. deal largely in chandlery and stores, cordage, cliains, 
anchors, oakum, duck, wire rope, boats and skiffs, asli and spruce 
oars and sculls and English sheathing felt. They are agents in 
Boston for the Mount Vernon Cotton duck, Suffolk Cordage Com- 
pany and the Brorierick Bascome Manufacturing Company, St. 
Louis, (wire rope), and are part owners of several vessels, trading 
to the New England ports and all over the world. The firm 
handle only the best grades of ship chandlery and stores, and fill 
orders promptly at the lowest possible prices. Mr. S. B. Hinckley 
was born in Cape Cod, Mr. D. F. Hinckley in Boston, and Mr. 
Ryder in Chatham, M.ass. Tlie partners are popular members of 
the Vessels Owners' Association, and are highly regarded in trade 
circles for their promptness, enterprise and Integrity, fully mer- 
iting the liberal and permanent patronage secured in this valuable 
industry. 

DYKE, SHUTE & CO., Weighers, No. 4 Central Wharf.— The 
leading representatives of the weighing trade in Boston is 
tlie firm of Messrs. Dyke, Shute & Co. The business so 
successfully prosecuted by this tlrm w,as established nearly 
fifty years ago, by Mr. J. W. Livret, and in 1868 Mr. George E. 
Dyke became a member of the firm of Livret & Dyke, wlio were 
succeeded by the present firm in 1882. The members of this firm 
all bring special qu<alifications to bear upon the man,agement, and 
have established wide, and influential connections on change and 
among shippers, exporters and de.alers in all descriptions of mer- 
chandise. They give steady employment to a large force of skilled 
assistants, and pl.ace their tariff of charges at the lowest point of 
moderation. Possessed of superior and perfected facilities, this 
firm are In a position to guarantee satisfaction in all their transac- 
tions and thorough accuracy in all weights. The copartners are 
Messrs. George E. Dyke, Henry L. Shute and George D. Dyke. 
The Messrs. Dyke, father and son, are natives of this city, while 
Mr. Shute v/as born in South Scituate, Mass. All are gentlemen 
of large experience and tried ability, and are regarded as valua- 
ble and responsible members of the field of mercantile and com- 
mercial activity named and their n.ames are synonymous with 
honorable, straightforward business matters. 



THE METROPOLIS OF NEW ENGLAND. 



185 



CHARLES H. NORTH & CO., Packers and Cuiers of Pork, 
Beef, Lard, Hams, Etc., Nos. 33 and 34 Nortli Market Street. 
—All historical review of Boston's principal commercial and 
manufacturing interests would be incomplete without spe- 
cial mention of the old established and representative house of 
Messrs. Charles H. North & Co., packers and eurers of pork, beet, 
hams, bacon and manufacturers of strictly pure lard, etc., 
and whose office and salesrooms are centrally located at 
Nos. 33 and 34 North Market Street. Their slaughtering, curing 
and packing houses are among the largest and best equipped in 
tlie United States, and are situated at Medford Street, Somerville, 
Mass., covering about eight acres of ground. Here 350 men are 
employed, and the machinery is driven by steam power. The 
number of hogs slaughtered and packed daily is 1,500 to 2,000 and 
upwards. This business was established thirty years ago by 
Nortli, Merriman & Co., who conducted it till 1874, when the pres- 
ent firm succeeded to the management. The copartners, Messrs. 
Charles H. North and S. Henry Skilton, have had great practical 



feet class of work known to the trade. He is prepared to fill the 
largest orders tor ornamental and plain japanning,